Skip to main content

Full text of "Centennial history of Rush County, Indiana"

See other formats


3 1833 00097 8558 

Cc 977.201 R89s v. 2 
Gary, Abraham Lincoln, 1868- 
Centennial history of Rush 
County, Indiana 



C entennial History 

of 

Rush County. Indiana 



Edited t>g 

A. L Gary and E. B. Thomas 

Rushville, Ind. 

In Two Volumes 
Illustrated 

VOLUME II 



1921 

HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY 

INDIANAPOLIS 



Biography is the only true history. — Emerson. 



A people that take no pride in the achievements of remote an- 
cestors will never achieve anything worthy to be remembered with 
pride by remote generations. — Macaulay. 



1435530 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX 



Abernathy, Richard E 420 

Addison, Charles T 36 

Addison, Henry F 197 

Addison, Mrs. Elizabeth C 218 

Addison, Thomas J 218 

Adkins, Edward 315 

Aiken, Edson L 374 

Alexander, Elmer E 345 

Allen, Lawrence L 257 

Amos, Joseph J 40 

Amos, J. M 40 

Amos, Willard H 92 

Anderson, Lyle H 279 

Anderson, James W 264 

Anderson, John W 53 

Anderson, Samuel B 387 

Apple, McClelland 290 

Applegate, Oscar 52 

Arbuckle, James W 59 

Archey, Clyde 469 

Archey, Hugh C 327 

Archey, James P 160 

Archey, Mrs. Elizabeth H 161 

Armstrong, Anderson 260 

Arnold, Dr. John 456 

Arnold, Harvey M 451 

Arnold, James 291 

Arnold, John 456 

Arnold, William 410 

Austen. Jacob D 49:1 



Ball, D. D 254 

Ball, Ephraim W 307 

Ball, Jonathan 440 

Ball, Merrill S 118 

Barber, D. D 299 

Barnard, David E 175 

Barnes, Allen S 421 

Barnes, Shelton M 428 

Barton, Mrs. Viroqua S 192 

Barton, William W 192 

Beale Bros 482 

Beale, Fred R 482 

Beale, John S 482 

Beall. Harold 406 

Beaver, Birney 278 

Beaver, Charles 507 

Beaver, John M 75 

Beaver, Samuel 495 

Beaver, Thomas 364 

Bebout, Clata L 124 



Beher, Dr. Carl Frederick 159 

Beher, T. L 3J0 

Bell, Fred B 380 

Bell. George H 239 

Bell, W. C '_[[ 380 

Benning, Charles 44 

Benning, John C 437 

Berry, Rush 215 

Bever, James Madison 282 

Bever, John W 266 

Billings, George F 500 

Billings, W. A 322 

Bishop, Josiah 98 

Bitner, Leroy 293 

Bitner, Walter .." 114 

Ulacklidge, Amos H 190 

Blacklidge, Mrs. Leonora A. 190 

Blount, Raymond L 245 

Bosley, William M 22 

Bowen, Dr. Joseph F 224 

Bowles, William 26S 

Bowles, John T 187 

Bowling, John 347 

Boys, Charles 439 

Braden, Arthur 209 

Branam, Albert 455 

Branam, James W 362 

Brodie, George Walter 316 

Brooks, Mrs. Alice A 168 

Brooks, Don C 244 

Brooks, Horrie 42 

Brooks, James M 279 

Brooks, Jesse C 46S 

Brooks. Melvin 168 

Brooks, William M 395 

Brown, Harvev F 503 

Brown, H. R 373 

Brown, James A 121 

Brown, Jacob R 4S4 

Brown, John H 333 

Brown, Leslie B 468 

Brown, Ollie N 398 

Brown, William J 94 

Brown, Wilbur C 330 

Brownell, Mrs. Augusta L 513 

Budd, Rush G 403 

Bussell, Guy 415 

Bussell, John T 155 



Caldwell, Frederick 
Caldwell, James E. 
Callahan, John \V. 



Cameron, George E 439 

Cameron, W. A 294 

Carmony, D. Ezra 154 

Carney, Charles G 70 

Caron, Charles J 247 

Carr, Goldia 99 

Carr, William McCoy 414 

Casadv, E. R 196 

Catt, Fred E - 95 

Catt, Wesley S 255 

Chambers, Edward J - 448 

Chappell, Herbert W 274 

Clark, Lewis M 258 

Clifton, James D 331 

Coffin, Mrs. Ella J 112 

Coffin, Frank M - 112 

Collins, John H 349 

Colter, Willard 460 

Colter, W. Riley 486 

Conaway, Henry G - 246 

Cook, R. B 391 

Cook, Oliver J 200 

Coon, Jasper N 491 

Cowan, Samuel E 119 

Cox, Miles S 485 

Cox, Robert Stewart 484 

Cox, Robert W 484 

Crane, Claude R 147 

Crane, William B 463 

Creed, Jesse E 23 

Cross, Chase G 24 

Cross, Chester F 32 

Cross, James M 130 

Cross, John F 77 

Culbertson, William C 167 

Custer, Charles F... 492 

D 

Darnell, Mrs. Ella B 252 

Darnell, George W 252 

Darnell, Samuel 153 

Daubenspeck, H. E 62 

Daubenspeck, Paul L 91 

Daubenspeck, Philip S S9 

Davis, Charley 39 

Davis, Larkin 256 

Davis, James Henry 163 

Davis, John S 314 

Davis, Robert Simpson 27 

Davison, Elbert C 378 

Dean, Dr. Donald H 84 

Dearinger, David M 365 

Dearinger, Herbert M 357 

Dearinger, John R 375 

Dillon, Mrs. Cora Wright 505 

Dillon, Dr. Otto Parvin 504 

Dolan, Edward 204 

Downey, Jacob F 72 

Downey, John P 352 

Downey, T. J 510 

Draper, James 122 

Draper, Osro M 329 



Draper, Waldo 110 

Dyer, L. E 56 

E 

Eakins, Delbert W 487 

Ellison, Alonzo P 168 

Ellison, Elmer E 243 

Ellison, James M 136 

English, John L 370 

Ertel, Charles W 398 

Ertel, J. B 385 

Ertel, Thomas H 379 

F 

Fair, William C .'. 361 

Fancher, Mrs. Hettie A 134 

Fancher, Johnson A 131 

Farlow, Joseph M 427 

Farlow, Richard M 479 

Farthing, Birney D 516 

Farthing, Edward A 272 

Finlaw, Dr. Fred H 150 

Fisher, James 107 

Fisher, William 328 

Fey, Joseph 212 

Fleener, John D 36 

Foster, Charles 363 

Foster, Glen E 317 

Foster, Paul 471 

Foust, Charles H 210 

Frazee. Charles A 43 

Frazee, William 269 

Frazier, John J 442 

Fry, W. H 180 

Fulton, John 423 

G 

Gahimer, August 68 

Garris, Edd 300 

Gartin, William R 197 

Gary, Abraham Lincoln 440 

Gary, Rev. Thomas B 440 

Geise, William Curtis 48 

Glendenning, William H 47 

George, Arthur H 443 

George, C. M 185 

George, E. 332 

Gilson, Peter 115 

Gloshen, Monroe 194 

Goddard, Fred 284 

Gosnell, Perry 437 

Gowdy, John Kennedy 17 

Gray, George W 495 

Gray, James 334 

Gray, John A 511 

Gray, Jesse G 23 

Gray, Morton P 491 

Gray, William H 368 

Green, Dr. Charles S 21 

Green, Dr. Frank H 21 

Green, Dr. J. W 20 

Green. Joseph 304 



Green, Dr. Lowell M 61 

Green, Thomas M 61 

Gross, Fred 83 

Gross, Henry 10 

Gruell, Charles M 222 

Gruell, Newton 1 312 

Guffin, Henry E 351 

Guffin, Lincoln 38 

Guffln, Mrs. Minnie G. 352 

Gunning, James O... 135 

Gwinnup, Sylvester 148 

H 

Hackleman, Dr. Frank G. 408 

Hackleman, Oliver C 408 

Hackleman, Pleasant A 408 

Hagen, Dewey 116 

Hall, James B 434 

Hall, Oliver A. J 370 

Hall, William A 97 

Hammond, John G 55 

Harcourt, Lewis Edgar 34 

Hardesty, George W 338 

Hardin. Joseph E 88 

Harrison, John E..._ 292 

Harton, Charles H 71 

Harton, Orpheus M 387 

Heaton, John 270 

Heaton, Thomas 29 

Heeb, John H 37 

Henley, Howard E 376 

Henley, Jesse 263 

Henley, Milton 237 

Henley, Mrs. Orah Dill 141 

Henley, Reuben B 294 

Henley, Robert B 376 

Henley, Thomas Benton 141 

Henley, William J 49 

Henley, William P 376 

Herkless, William L 177 

Hill, Amos L 226 

Hill, Hon. Rowland H 81 

Hilligoss, Cyrus 389 

Hilligoss, Dora A 28 

Hinchman, A. Burl 494 

Hinchman, Earl 478 

Hinchman, Marshall 513 

Hinchman, O. P. Morton 388 

Hinchman, Roland Leslie 508 

Hite, Albert M 288 

Hite, Birney E 236 

Hite, David Fisher 336 

Hite, Ira B 465 

Hite, Jacob Winfield 267 

Hite, Lewis E 273 

Holden, Herbert 258 

Holden, Theodore F 208 

Holmam, Edward 104 

Hood, Van 297 

Hooten, Henry 466 

Hooten, Mrs. Jennie S 467 

Hougland, Dr. Charles S 170 



Howard, John H 

Howell, William A.. 

Huber, Frank 

Hufferd, William T... 



320 
176 

21 53 



Hugo, Charles 


64 


Humes, O. E 


146 


Humphrey, Theodore 


251 


Hungerford, Dayton 


162 


Hungerford, Ira 


343 


Hungerford, John 


475 


Hunt, Claude B 


182 


Hunt, Geston P 


502 


Hunt, S. L 


505 


Hurst, Alba 


149 


Hutchinson, Elmer 


113 


Hutchinson, Robert 


113 


Innis, Alexander 


424 


Innis, Perry T 


33 


Innis, Robert A 


424 


Innis, William W 


33, 424 


Inlow, Cyrus E 


165 


Inlow, Dr. John J 


165 


J 

Jackman, Allen 


105 


Jackman, Dora 


460 


Jackman, John 


202 


Jackson, Edward V 


374 


Johnson, Charles 


155 


Johnson, Lafayette 


500 


Jones, Benjamin F 


163 


Jones, Ezekiel M 


244 


Jones, Harrie 


13 


Jones, Hubert R 


465 


Jones, Robert 


226 


Jones, Samuel D 


132 


Jones, William G 


195 


Junken, Alvah T 


326 



K 

Katsaros, George 

Katsaros, Michael 

Keisling, George T 

Keisling, Leo W 

Kellam, Elmer 

Kelso, Charles H 

Kennedy, Robert 

Kennedy, Dr. R. O 

Kenner, Charles B 

Kerrick, Rev. N'imrod 

Kessler, Edward 

Kessler, Frederick 

Kincaid, Charles E 

King, Ted C 

King, William P 

Kinsinger, Dr. Joseph B. 

Kirkpatrick, Elijah A 

Kirkpatrick, John E 

Kiser, Corydon E 

Kiser, Donald V 



239 
181 
480 
361 



164 
102 
230 
277 
490 
■189 



Kaey, Jacob H 


71 


Medd, Thomas Edward 


....... 232 


Kney, Michael 


. 142 


Megee, John D 


139 


Kramer, Harry A 


151 


Mercer, James W 


305 


Krug, John F 


296 


Metcalf, Dr. Henry P 


241 


Kuhn, George M 


377 


Meyer, George H 


372 


Kuan, Walter H 


373 


Miles, Franklin D 


430 


Kuntz, George W 


.... 89 


Miller, Angus C 


512 


Kuntz, Peter 


95 


Miller, Dwight 


300 




Miller, Grant 


355 


L 


174 


Miller, Harry T 


283 


Lampton, Dr. W. T 


Miller, Henry J 


292 


Lee, Thomas R 


1S4 


Miller, Jesse F 

Miller. Leslie 


86 


Lee, William Rush 


213 


473 


Lefforge, Jesse I 


223 


Miller, Melvin 


467 


Lefforge, Mrs. Luella M 


223 


Miller, Otis L 


477 


Lefforge, Philander 


444 


Miller, Pleasant A 


142 


Lefforge, Roscoe 


470 


Miner, Flovd H 


46 


Leisure, Jesse A 


45 


Mitchell, Mrs. Irma W 


246 


Lightfoot. Fred W 


452 


Mitchell. William C 


246 


Lindale, John W., Sr 


428 


Moore, Earl B 


447 


Lines, Leroy 


454 


Moore, Edd 


461 


Linville, Roscoe 


451 


Moore, Frank C 


262 


Logan, Edgar E 


191 


Moore, George B., Sr 


53 


Logan, Dr. Henry V 


Ill 


Moore, Glenn E 


303 


Logan, Jesse 


131 


Moore, Xoah O 


96 


Logan, John W 


295 


Moore, William 


302 


Logan, Jonas W 


461 


Moore, William T 


172 


Logan, Mrs. Sarah I 


462 

449 


Moran, Mrs. Jane 


265 


Logan, Thomas Ora 


Moran, Patrick 

Morgan* Frank 


265 


Logan, Thomas ^V 


101 

499 


44?. 


Looney, J. Arthur 


Morgan, Wallace G 


31 


Lord, Dr. J. Levi 


285 

235 

340 


Morris, Dr. C. E 


450 


Lord, William A 


Morris, Douglas 


131 


Lower, Ora T 


Morris, John B 


436 


Lower, Thomas W 


47S 


Mull. Cyrus 


401 






Mull Family, The 


400 


M 




Mull, Jacob 


401 


Macy, Lloyd M 


319 


Mull, Omer P 


173 


Macy, Orlando C 


56 


Mull, Thomas K 


402 


Maffett, U. S 


445 


Mull. William A 

Murphy. Charles 


341 


Manche, Maurice W 




12.-, 


Mansfield, Robert E 


17 


Murphy, George 


157 


Mansfield. Walter S 


103 


Murphy, Jesse 


206 


Mahin, Adolphus T 


287 


Myers. William 


473 


Mapes. John F 


407 






Martin. Loren 


123 


Mc 




Martin. Benjamin Franklin... 


514 


McBride, Frank 


199 


Martin, Eli E 


426 


McCann Bros 


447 


Martin. Thomas J. 


323 


McCann, Israel 


446 


Martin, William B 


224 


McCarty, Mrs. John B 


431 


Martin, W. D 


..... 230 


McDaniel, Leon C 


91 


Martin, William R 


280 


McCorkle, Frank 


73 


Matlock, Mrs. Martha E 


..... 159 


McCorkle, John H 


'".'.'.'... 80 


Matlock, Noah 


159 


McCoy. Francis H 


203 


Matney. Edward 


186 


McCoy, Joseph G 


27 


Mauzy, Abram Gooding 


416 


McCoy, John 


149 


Mauzy, Charles A 


416 


McCoy, Thomas E 


12 


Mauzy, Chase P 


333 


McCrory, Mrs. Fannie H 


346 


Mauzy, Greeley P 


169 


McCrory. Perry 


345 


Mauzy, Henry Louis 


... . 417 


McCrory, William S 


109 


Mauzy, Hugh E 


417 


McFatridge, Harry F 


60 


Mauzy. James \V 


325 


McKee, John F 


15 



McKee, William S 199 

MeMichael, Albert 431 

McMichael, Albert N 225 

McMillin, Harry A 488 

McMillin, John T 57 

McMillin, William H 57 

N 

Nash, Homer M 497 

Neeb, George 379 

Nelson, Mrs. Elizabeth A 157 

Nelson, William H 156 

Newhouse, Alva 212 

Newhouse, Lewis J 353 

Newhouse, Pleasant A 100 

Newhouse, Samuel R 12 

Newsom, Alva E 201 

Newsom, Samuel L 313 

Nickel, Peter 383 

Nixon, Robert W 238 

Norris, James W 415 

Norris, W. A 217 

O 

Offutt, Frank 143 

Offutt, O. M 135 

O'Keefe, Daniel 453 

Oldham, Charles R 249 

Oneal, Sherman 426 

Orme, Arnold 79 

Orme, William M 459 

Osborn, Berton T 450 

Osborn, Lucien B 275 

Osborn, Milton W 207 

Owen, Benjamin 411 

Owen, Benjamin L 354 

Owen, Charles 411 

P 

Parson, Harmoney L 140 

Parsons, Dr. Charles H 30 

Patterson, Darius 228 

Patterson, Normal V 202 

Patton, C. 454 

Patton, Walter E 286 

Payne, Edwin 9 

Payne, Earl H 9 

Perkins, A. .1 110 

Peters, Jesse W 434 

Phillips, Robert E 396 

Pierson, Omer 472 

Pike. Joseph H 324 

Poe, Jesse M 198 

Poe, William B 198 

Posey, Frederick W 481 

Poston, Mrs. Mary E 13S 

Poston, Sanford M 137 

Posz, Conrad D 90 

Power, Emory J 240 

Power, John H 420 

Power, Ray 476 

Price, Elihu 82 



Price, Nathan 1 242 

Price, Noah E 60 

Priest, Earl F 214 

Prine, William H 439 

R 

Redenbaugh, Elbert M 348 

Reed, Albert 386 

Reed, John T 214 

Rees, Justus 481 

Rees, Oscar H 474 

Reeve, Ben F 309 

Reeve, Elder Benjamin F 309 

Reeves, Al A 179 

Renegar, Luther G 269 

Retherford, Edward D 301 

Retherford, Levi R 298 

William F 227 

W. Riley 271 

Rider, George 359 

Rich, Mrs. Hettie P 153 

Rich, Joseph H 152 

Richey, Adam A 366 

Richey, Weston C 126 

Ricketts, John 12S 

Riggs, A. L 412 

Rigsbee, Albert W 24 

Rigsbee, Marshall B 127 

Robinson, Albert M 35 

Rotan, Ira 367 

Ruby, Edgar V 219 

Ruff, Earl W 506 

Ruff, Russell 429 

Ryman, Philip S 377 

Ryon, S. L 311 



Saxon, Mrs. Emma Kirkpatr 


ick.. 362 




.... 362 


Scholl, Joseph H 


389 


Schrader, Henry W 


311 


Schrichte, Anthony H 


146 


Scott, Joseph E 


339 


Scull, Clarence 


321 




303 


Sefton, Charles M 


368 


Sefton, Monet O 


84 


Sexton, Dr. Horatio G 


25 


Sexton, Dr. John Chase 


25 


Sexton, Dr. Marshall 


26 


Sexton, Dr. Marshall C 


26 


Sharp, Fred C 


384 


Shauck, Dr. Albert G 


360 


Shauck, John L 


360 


Shelton, J. A 


193 


Shropshire, Micajah S 


106 


Siler, John 


349 


Siler, Oliver M 


229 


Smelser, W. H 


77 


Smith, Ben L. 


144 


Smith, Mrs. Bessie J 


158 


Smith, Donald L. 


144 



Smith, George 486 

Smith, James M 496 

Smith, Oliver W 158 

Smith. Ora V 30S 

Smith, Walter E. 394 

Smith, William P 184 

Smullen, Dr. Charles L 464 

Somerville, Ira A 221 

Spencer, Charles V 270 

Spilman, George N 220 

Stager, Harry E 250 

Stevens, Ben 14 

Stewart, David S. 356 

Stewart, M. L 98 

Stewart, Mrs. Missouri R 356 

Stiers, John K 501 

Stiers, Joseph 509 

Stiers, Wilbur 206 

Stoten, John W 266 

Sullivan, Thomas 7S 

Sutton, Luther 261 

Swain, Capt. Franklin F 192 

T 

Tarplee, Firman B 318 

Tarplee, William Edwin 234 

Tevis, Clarence L. 357 

Thomas, Edgar 11 

Thomas, Ernest B 432 

Thomas, Grant 462 

Thomas, Dr. Samuel C 432 

Thrall, James T 382 

Titsworth, Ernest R 503 

Todd, Jacob D 178 

Todd, Joseph W 322 

Tompkins, C. H 104 

Tompkins. Rush W 211 

Trabue, Samuel L 233 

Trowbridge, Charles M 255 

Tweedy, Earl M 205 

V 

Vandament. Joseph S 457 

Vandament, Dr. Walter T 313 

VanDeventer, Emory 404 

VanOsdol. Dr. Dawson D 117 

Vansickle, W. R 268 

Vernon, John H 422 

Vickrey, Erban B 438 

W 

Waggener, Roy 4S 

Wagoner, Argus D 319 

Wagoner, Billy W 369 

Wagoner, Franklin P 371 



Wagoner, W. E 136 

Walker. William L 306 

Wallace. George M 475 

Wallace, John C 475 

Walther, Dr. J. E 397 

Wamsley, Orin P 66 

Ward, John R 92 

Ward, Scott 417 

Webb, Alva 471 

Webster, David H 337 

Webster, William B 106 

Weeks, Mrs. Martha M 65 

Weeks, Hon. Nathan 65 

Weingarth, George 329 

Weir, John R 289 

Whisman, George 129 

White, William P 341 

Whiteman, Horace G 413 

Whiteman, Jacob 413 

Whiteman, William Seward 50 

Whitinger, Frank 418 

Whitinger, James 422 

Wikoff, Garrett D 125 

Wikoff, Harley 331 

Wilk, Phil 171 

Wilkison, Mrs. Ethel P 344 

Wilkison, Willard 344 

Wilkinson, Augustus William 282 

Williams, Augustus N* 216 

Williams, Floyd M 179 

Williams, John 93 

Williams, William 231 

Wilson, Charles B 189 

Wilson, Charles F 498 

Wilson, Hiram B 405 

Wilson. James F 259 

Wilson, J. Frank 189 

Wilson, William H 188 

Winkler, Jesse 54 

Winship. Albert Locke 392 

Winship, Cliff N 395 

Winship, Earl B 509 

Winship, Mrs. Gertrude H 85 

Winship. Joseph S 85 

Winship, Lewis Erwin 393 

Wissing, Jacob, Sr 108 

Wissing. Jacob A., Jr 402 

Wissing, John M. 120 

Y 
Young, George W 399 

Z 
Zorne, Rolla E 458 



BIOGRAPHY 



EDWIN PAYNE, who died at his home in Rushville in the 
spring of 1907, was for many years recognized as one of the fore- 
most figures in commercial circles in this part of Indiana. Enter- 
ing upon his career as a banker in 1S70, Mr. Payne became identi- 
fied with the banking business of the county just at the period 
which began to mark the general commercial expansion of the state 
and so continued for many years an influential factor in that devel- 
opment. As the founder of the Peoples National Bank of Rushville 
he left an enduring memorial in the community in which he had 
resided since the days of his young manhood and his will long be a 
continuing influence in the commercial life of the city in which he 
elected to make his home. Born on November 1, 1840, in New 
Trenton, Franklin county, Indiana, the son of William J. and Lou- 
isa (Sloan) Payne, Edwin Payne located at Rushville When he 
was twenty-six years of age, and immediately began to make his 
presence felt in his new home. He was appointed a deputy under 
E. H. M. Berry, county treasurer, not long after taking up his resi- 
dence in Rushville and later served in the same capacity under Ben- 
jamin F. Johnson, the county auditor. He then for a short time 
was connected with the A. G. Mauzy department store, and in 1870 
entered upon the banking career in which he eventually attained 
such prominence. In that year (1870) Mr. Payne was elected 
cashier of the Rushville National Bank. For twenty-seven years 
thereafter he fulfilled his duties with that institution with accuracy 
and ability. In 1897 he retired, but a life of inactivity was not to 
his liking, and on October 10, 1900, he opened the doors of the 
Peoples Bank, which he founded as a private bank. Almost from 
the first day his bank prospered under his watchful eye, operating 
under its original charter until September 1, 1904, when it was 
nationalized under the name of the Peoples National Bank. How- 
ever, long years of unremitting application to the arduous duties 
entailed in his chosen field of endeavor caused Mr. Payne's health 
to fail, and he presently retired from active participation in the 
affairs of the institution, leaving his two sons to control the des- 
tiny of the bank. On March 29, 1907, he bowed his head to the 
inevitable and died mourned by all who knew him. On May 12, 
1870, Edwin Payne was united in marriage to Mary Frances Mauzy, 
daughter of Abram G. and Emily (Jameson) Mauzy, and to that 
union were born two sons, Earl II. and Ralph, the former of whom 



10 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

is president of the Peoples National Bank and the latter, president 
of the Peoples Loan and Trust Company. These two institutions 
have been enlarged in the scope of their activities by the efforts of 
the sons of the founder, and in memory of their father they have 
erected a modern and well-arranged building on the northwest cor- 
ner of Main and Second streets at Rushville. Ralph Payne was 
married on June 13; ]898, to Jennie Wallace, and they have four 
children: William Wallace, Lawrence Wesley, Frances Evelyn and 
Virginia. Fraternally, he is a member of all Masonic bodies save 
the Thirty-third degree, and in politics holds to the principles of 
the Republican party. 

HENRY 0. GROSS, cashier of the Manilla Bank, and one of 
the prominent men in Rush county's financial circles, is a native of 
of the county, having been born at Manilla, January 22, 1878, the 
son of John and Katherine (Ottman) Gross, both natives of Germany. 
Realizing that there were greater opportunities for advancement in 
America, John Gross came to this country in his early manhood prior 
to his marriage, while his wife came with her father when she was 
yet a girl. His first occupation in this country was in the capacity 
of a wagon maker and cabinet worker, being an expert in all lines 
of wood working. He later founded the general store in Manilla 
which is now operated by his son Fred, although it still retains the 
name of the founder. To him and his wife were born eight children, 
seven of whom are now living: Katherine, Emma, Jacob. Caroline, 
George W., Fred, Henry O.. and Charles F., who died at the age of 
about twenty-four .years, and is buried at Shelbyville, this state. 
Henry 0. Gross received his education in the common schools and 
the high school at Manilla, which he attended for two years, and a 
short term at the Nelson Business College some time later. After 
leaving high school, he and his brother, Fred, took charge of their 
father's store, the duty devolving upon them at their father's death, 
and together they conducted the business for two yeai - s. At the 
end of that time, Fred joined the army, and for the succeeding two 
years, Henry managed the affairs of the establishment by himself. 
On his brother's return from the army, he turned over the business 
to him and went to Cincinnati, where he took his short business 
course. Following this he went to Indianapolis and worked in the 
wholesale grocery establishment of the Indianapolis Fancy Grocery 
Company for a short time, and then, having been offered a position 
with the Mauzy & Denning Company, moved to Rushville, where he 
remained for four months. He was then, April 1. 1901, made cashier 
of the Manilla Bank, the responsibilities of which office he has 
since discharged with credit to himself and with profit to the bank. 
On September 26, 1005, Mr. Gross was united in marriage with Miss 
Clara Fox. the daughter of Jacob G. and Amy E. (Blackford) Fox. 
both natives of Shelby county, Indiana, lie being a miller by trade 
and now employed by she Mull Grain Company at Manilla. Mrs. 
Gross was born in Shelby county, and was educated in the schools 
there and at Morristown. hid. To Mr. and Airs. Fox three children 
have been born, all of rhom ire now living, Blanche, Ralph, and 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 11 

Clara. Mr. Gross is a popular member of the Masonic fraternity, 
being affiliated with Manilla Lodge, No. 34, and in addition is well 
known as a member of the Modern Woodmen. In his political 
beliefs, he is counted among the supporters of the Democratic party, 
but he has never sought political office at the hands of his fellow 
citizens. 

EDGAR THOMAS, president of the First National Bank of 
Milroy, this county, and for years recognized as one of the leading 
business men of that part of the county, has been a resident of Rush 
county all his life and has ever had a hearty interest in the develop- 
ment of the commercial and industrial activities of his home com- 
munity. He was born on a farm in Anderson township on August 
28, 1866, son of William and Ann E. (Wood) Thomas, both of whom 
also were born in Rush county, members of old families here, and 
who spent all their lives here, the latter dying in May, 1893, and the 
former in June, 1899. William Thomas was born on a pioneer farm 
in Anderson township, the son of Amos Thomas, who had come up 
into Indiana with his father, a "local" Methodist minister, from 
Bourbon county, Kentucky, about the year 1821, the year in which 
Rush county was organized as a separate civic unit among the coun- 
ties of the Hoosier state, the family settling on a farm of "Congress 
land'' in Anderson township. On that pioneer farm Amos Thomas 
grew to manhood and in time established his home in the same neigh- 
borhood, and in his turn William Thomas also established his home 
there after his marriage to Ann E. Wood, who was born in Orange 
township and whose parents also were of pioneer stock. William 
Thomas remained on the farm until about 1894, when he moved into 
Milroy, where he spent the remainder of his life, his death occurring, 
as noted above, in 1899. He and his wife were the parents of four 
children, those besides the subject of this sketch being Nettie, wife of 
John H. Parker; Elgie, of Rushville, and Bertha, wife of Morton E. 
Riehey. Reared on the home farm in Anderson township, Edgar 
Thomas supplemented the schooling he received in the local school-* 
by a course in a business college at Danville, this state, and was then 
engaged, until he was twenty-six years of age, in carrying on the 
operations of the home farm. On his father's removal to Milroy he 
accompanied him and was there engaged in the buggy business and 
later for a couple of years in the general hardware business, after 
which he resumed farming; that is, overseeing farms in which he was 
interested, and is still the owner of a fine little farm of forty acres 
in Anderson township. From the time he was eighteen years of age 
Mr. Thomas has made a specialty of acting as clerk at local public 
farm sales and there is probably no one in the county who has thus 
acted at more sales hereabout than he, this service giving him a wide 
and popular acquaintance throughout the whole countryside. Mr. 
Thomas was one of the active spirits in the organization of the First 
National Bank of Milroy and was elected president of the same upon 
its organization, a position he still retains, his service in that con- 
nection having done much in the popularizing of the institution in 
the early days of its establishment and in the stabilizing of it since. 



12 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

The bank was opened for business on August 30, 1920, and has 
become recognized as one of the sound financial institutions of the 
county. In 1900 Mr. Thomas was united in marriage to Zena Miller, 
daughter of James M. and Melissa Miller, also of this county, and he 
and his wife have a very pleasant home at Milroy and are ever helpful 
in promoting the social activities of their home community. Mr. 
Thomas is a Republican and has ever taken an interested part in 
local political affairs, but has not been a seeker after office. 

SAMUEL R. NEWHOUSE, of Jackson township, was born in 
the township in which he now lives on December 19, 1857, the son of 
Lewis J. and Mary (Hackelman) Newhouse, both of whom were born 
in Rush county. Lewis Newhouse followed farming during his active 
life, mostly in Jackson township, and at one time was the owner of 
320 acres of land in this township. Of the nine children born to 
himself and wife, but five are now living, namely : Pleasant A., 
Alfred M., Harvey M., Alice M. and Samuel R., the immediate 
subject of this sketch. Samuel R. Newhouse received his education 
in the Kining school in Jackson township and then for three years 
worked on the home farm. Upon his marriage, in 1881, he bought 
140 acres of land in Center township, on which he located and 
farmed it for eight years. He then sold that place and moved 
to the farm where he now lives and which comprises 195 acres. 
He has also bought the old home farm of 219 acres, thus giving him 
total real estate holdings of 414 acres. Of this, he cultivates all but 
120 acres, which he rents. He carries on a general line of farming 
operations, raising all the crops common to this locality, and als^ 
gives considerable attention to the fattening of hogs for market, 
feeding about 200 head annually. He is thoroughly practical and 
up-to-date in his methods and keeps his property in first-class repair, 
its general appearance indicating the owner to be a man of industry 
and good taste. On March 1, 1881, Mr. Newhouse was married to 
Mary I. Kirkpatrick, a native of Rush county and the daughter of 
James B. and Malinda (Newhouse) Kirkpatrick. Her father was a 
lifelong farmer and a substantial and influential man in his com- 
munity. He was the father of eight children, of which number five 
are living, Amanda, John E., Samuel, William and Mary I. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Newhouse have been born seven children, namely : Lewis B.. 
a farmer in Jackson township, who married Jennie Brooks; Oscar E., 
who is a farmer in Rushville township and who married Josie Brooks, 
who died in February, 1920, leaving one child, Roscoe; Goldic M. 
Carrie (deceased), Essie M., Clarence W. and Richard S. Mr. New- 
house is a Republican in his political views and, fraternally, he is a 
member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows at Rushville. 

THOMAS E. McCOY. of Posey township, was born in Rushville 
township on March 12, 1871. and is the son of Thomas and Mary 
(Moran) McCoy. These parents were both natives of Ireland, whence 
they came with their respective families to the United States, the 
father at the age of three years and the mother when thirteen years 
of age. They settled in Niagara county. New York, where Thomas 
and Mary were married, soon after which event they came to Indian.! 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 13 

and located in Rush county, where they spent the remainder of 
their lives. Their son, Thomas E., was educated in the schools of 
Rushville No. 7, Posey No. 7, and Walker township, attending in 
District No. 6, and after completing his studies he went to work on 
the home farm, where he remained as his father's assistant until the 
latter 's death. However, for several years prior to that time he 
had rented land from his father, and now he inherited eighty acres 
of land, comprising the land on which he now resides. His brother, 
William H., also owns eighty acres adjoining and they operate these 
tracts together. Mr. McCoy keeps the place in fine repair and has 
made a number of substantial improvements thereon. He carries 
on a general line of farming and also raises live stock, feeding and 
marketing about one hundred head of hogs each year. Politically, 
Mr. McCoy has been a lifelong supporter of the Democratic party. 
He is a member of St. Mary's Roman Catholic church at Rushville 
and is also a member of Council No. 769, Knights of Columbus, at 
Rushville. 

HARRIB JONES. There is no county in the United States 
that has won more fame for its fast harness horses than Rush, and 
few men have been here engaged in horse dealing and training who 
have won more far reaching renown than Harrie Jones, of Rushville. 
He was born in that city, August 23, 1872, the son of W. A. and 
Laura M. (Oglesby) Jones, both natives of Ohio, the former of Har- 
rison, the latter of Sidney. When he was eighteen years of age, W. 
A. Jones came to Rush county, walking from his home in Harrison, 
and located at the county seat. His first employment was found in 
a restaurant where he worked for a short time at a small wage, leav- 
ing there to enter the boot and shoe business for a brief period. He 
then engaged in the hotel business, and bought the Windsor hotel in 
about 1870. This he conducted successfully for about three years, 
then selling out and going to Cincinnati where he bought the Gait 
House. After a little more than a year in that city, he returned to 
Rushville, buying the Windsor hotel again. However, he sold out in 
a short time to engage in the harness horse business. He then bought 
back the hotel and in addition a farm adjoining the city of Rushville, 
known as Riverside Park. Here he constructed a mile track and a 
racing stable where he trained and bred many of the finest speed 
horses in the country. For many years he gave an annual race 
meeting on his track, but in 1902 he retired from active racing inter- 
ests to devote his entire time to the management of his 242 acre farm. 
Among the most notable of his horses were: "Florence M.," 2:22%, 
which won forty-nine out of fifty-three races in Indiana, Illinois, 
Ohio, Michigan, and Kentucky; "Raven Boy," 2:15i/j, which held 
several track records over the country, and "Harrie Jones," 2:18%. 
William A. Jones was born in Dearborn county, Ohio, October 2, 1845, 
the seventh of thirteen children born to Thomas H. and Emily 
(Wilkins) Jones, who moved to Hamilton county, Ohio, settling near 
Harrison, where the boy's youth was spent on the farm. On May 5, 
1869, he married Laura M. Oglesby, who was born on September 1, 
1850, daughter of Jacob H. and Mary (Fielding) Oglesby, and to 



14 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

their union were born three children : Carrie, Harrie, and Freddie. 
Harrie Jones received his education in the public schools of Rushville, 
upon leaving which he engaged in the harness horse business with 
his father with whom he was associated until 1902, when he engaged 
in business for himself. He had one of the best equipped "plants" 
to be anywhere found, including a barn 300 feet long, every stall 
box 12x12, 210 acres of ground, good pasture for brood mares and 
colts and other attractive features. During the fall, winter, and 
spring he devoted his time to preparing horses and colts for the 
coming season's campaign, as well as preparing them for sales. He- 
sold several animals for from $1,000 to $8,500, and among the list 
of horses he marked while racing and in his stable may be mentioned : 
"Alcyfras," 2:03i/i, which held the world's record for mares on a 
half-mile track; "George Gano," 2:02; "Fay Richmond," 2:033,4; 
"Harry the Ghost," 2:04%; "John Ward," 2:05 1 / 4; and ninety-six 
others in 2 :20 and better, too numerous to be here enumerated. Mr. 
-Jones raced on the Grand Circuit and the Great Western Circuit, and 
in 1907 had sixty-six horses in his care, and employed from twenty- 
five to thirty men on his place. In 1918, he retired from the harness- 
horse game to devote his attention to farming, in which he is at 
present occupied, but in 1921 he became engaged in the horse business 
again. In 1895 Mr. Jones was united in marriage to Mayme Mauzy, 
a daughter of G. G. and Lydia (Wolf) Mauzy, and he and his wife 
are popular members of Rushville society. Fraternally, Mr. Jones 
holds membership in the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks 
and the Knights of Pythias, in the affairs of which he takes an 
active interest. His political views incline him toward the Demo- 
cratic party, which he supports. 

BEN STEVENS, who was formerly one of the active and enter- 
prising farmers of Noble township, is now practically retired from 
active work and is enjoying the fruits of his former years of labor. 
He is a member of one of the old pioneer families of this section and 
has enjoyed an enviable standing in the community where he has 
spent his entire life. Mr. Stevens was born in Noble township ou 
January 24, 1862, and is a son of Mack and Phoebe (Sutton) Stevens, 
both also natives of Rush county. Mack Stevens was the son of 
Isaac Stevens, who came to Rush county in an early day, entered 
land and remained here during the rest of his life. He received a 
common school education and after his marriage he acquired a farm, 
which he operated up to the time of his death, which occurred in 
1865. To him and his wife were born three children, Clara, Jesse 
and Ben. After the death of Mr. Stevens, his widow became the 
wife of Levi Bartlett, to which union were born three children : Ida. 
Rhoda, and John. Ben Stevens received his educational training at 
the old Pinhook school house, and then turned his attention to farm 
work, being employed by the day lip to the time of his mother's 
death, at which time he inherited a part of the home place. He then 
bought out the other heirs, giving him possession of thirty-two acres 
of land, which he cultivated for about a year. He then sold the home 
place and bought another farm of fifty acres, to which he devoted 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 15 

his labors until 1904, when he bought the place which he now owns 
and which comprises 108% acres of fine, fertile land. He put many 
good improvements on this place and cultivated it successfully until 
1910, when he retired from active work and rented the farm. Among 
the improvements on the farm are two sets of farm buildings and in 
other ways the place ranks as among the good farms of the township. 
Ben Stevens was married to Laura C. Logan, the daughter of Thomas 
and Sarah 0. (Le Forge) Logan. They have one child, Roscoe, who 
married Alma Dearmond and has one child, Lloyd Wallace. Mr. 
and Mrs. Stevens are active members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church at New Salem, and both occupy official positions in that 
organization, Mr. Stevens being a steward and trustee and Mrs. 
Stevens being president of the Ladies' Aid Society. Politically, Mr. 
Stevens gives his support to the Democratic party. 

JOHN F. McKEE, cashier of the New Salem State Bank, is a 
native son of Rush county, having been born in Noble township on 
March 6, 1875. He is the scion of sterling old pioneer ancestry, his 
paternal grandparents having been John F. and Hester Ann (Mor- 
row) McKee, natives of Pennsylvania, but who emigrated, first to 
Kentucky, whence, in 1832, they came to Indiana. Locating in Noble 
township, this county, Mr. McKee bought forty acres of land, which 
was densely covered with the primeval timber. Clearing three acres 
of this land, he built a log cabin and then went ahead with the task 
of creating a homestead, where he spent the greater part of his life. 
To him and his wife were born six children, namely : Elizabeth. 
Charles H., John F., Malissa J., Samuel Simpson and William. Of 
these, Charles was the father of the subject of this sketch. He was 
born in the Noble township home and there grew to manhood, 
receiving his educational training in the common schools of that 
neighborhood. He followed the vocation of farming and stock raising 
during all his active life. As a dealer in live stock he was particu- 
larly active, being at one time one of the heaviest stock buyers in 
Rush county. At one time he owned 320 acres of land, all of which 
was located in Noble township. He took an active part in all move- 
ments for the upbuilding of the community and for nine years served 
as trustee of his township. He married Catherine Simonson, a native 
of Franklin county, Indiana, and to them were born ten children, 
nine of whom are living, as follows: Ella, wife of L. Beaver; Carrie 
B. and Elizabeth, who remain unmarried; Hester, wife of William 
P. Sipe, of Orange, Ind. ; Martha L., wife of C. Moore; John F., the 
immediate subject of this review; Margaret, wife of Albert May: 
William S., who lives in Noble township, and Nelle G., wife of O. P. 
Wamsley, proprietor of the Scanlan hotel at Rushville. John F. 
McKee received his elementary education in the common schools of 
Noble township and then attended the high school, at Orange, Ind., 
after which he took a course in a business college at Indianapolis, 
lie then formed a partnership with his father and together they 
bought ninety-five acres of land which they farmed until his brother, 
William S., attained his majority, when the latter entered the part- 
nership and they purchased 120 acres more. This they farmed 



16 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

jointly until the father's death, when John F. and William S. divided 
the land and the former began farming for himself on seventy acres 
of land. He was successful in this work and eventually was enabled 
to add to his land holdings until they amounted to 240 acres, all of 
which was located in Noble township. Mr. McKee gives persona! 
direction to the operation of this land, which he devotes to general 
farming and stock raising, putting 100 acres to corn and 100 
acres to small grain. He feeds about 700 head of hogs annually. 
In August, 1917, Mr. McKee took an active part in the organization 
of the New Salem State Bank and was elected cashier of that institu- 
tion, a position which he is still filling with entire satisfaction to 
the stockholders and patrons of the bank. Mr. McKee was married 
to Georgia Gregg, a daughter of Walter S. and Sarah A. (Carter) 
Gregg, and they are the parents of two children, Kathleen and John 
F., Jr. Mr. McKee and family are members of the Little Flat Rock 
Christian Church, of which he is a deacon. Politically, he gives his 
support to the Republican party, while, fraternally, he is a member 
of the Masonic order, in which he has attained the degrees of the 
chapter and council, and the Improved Order of Red Men. Mr. 
McKee is a man of kindly disposition and generous impulses and is 
deservedly popular in his community. He is essentially a man of 
affairs, being a leader in all public movements in his locality and 
giving his support to every enterprise for the advancement of the 
public welfare. 

JOHN W. CALLAHAN, for many years an industrious farmer 
in Walker township, was born in Fleming county, Kentucky, August 
22, 1856, a son of Edward and Percell Callahan, and died on his 
farm in Walker township, December 17, 1900, his burial being in 
East Hill cemetery. After his school days were over Mr. Callahan 
left Kentucky and came to Indiana, locating in Rush county, where 
he found work as a farm hand and made many friends through his 
honest and pleasant manner. After his marriage in 1881 he began 
farming on his own account. When his father-in-law died his wife 
inherited 100 acres of land which he operated very successfully for 
many years. A few years later he bought a tract of sixty-one acres 
adjoining Mrs. Callahan's property, and this 161 acres comprises 
the family estate. February 17, 1881, Mr. Callahan married Mada- 
line Mull, born in Walker township. Rush county, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Elizabeth (Jones) Mull. Five children were born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Callahan : Mazy A., Dossie M., Vernie E., William H. and 
Daisy N. Mazy A. married Clem Gardner, a farmer in Walker town- 
ship, and they have three children: Von, Ruth and Ruby. Dossie M., 
who is a farmer in Walker township, married Bertha Hiner and they 
have three children, Hubert, Harold and Lowene. Hubert now at- 
tending school at Homer. Vernie E. died at the age of thirty-four 
years. He married Gertrude Ilolzyder and they had five children, 
four living: Lowell. Norma J., Iris M. and Mauetta. William H., 
a farmer in Walker township, married Bertha Lower and they have 
two children : Doletta and Estel. Daisy N. married Noah Webb, a 
farmer in Rushville township, and they had two children, Mary and 




JOHN K. GOWDY 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 17 

Rita, the latter of whom died at the age of three years and six months. 
Mr. Callahan had many friends and acquaintances at Homer, where 
he belonged to the order of Odd Fellows and had passed the chairs 
in the lodge. He was always interested in the welfare of his neigh- 
borhood and the country and was a sturdy Republican in his political 
life. 

JOHN KENNEDY GOWDY, son of Adam McConnell and 
Nancy (Oliver) Gowdy, was born at Arlington, in this county on 
August 23, 1843. In 1849 the family moved from Rush to Jasper 
county, Indiana, where John K. received his education in the public 
schools. His father, who was a public speaker of ability, attained 
prominence in politics and was elected a delegate to the second 
state constitutional convention which met at Indianapolis in Octo- 
ber, 1850, and a member of the legislature for the legislative dis- 
trict then composed of Jasper, White and Pulaski counties. Re- 
sponding to the nation's call when Civil war threatened the life of 
the republic, John K. Gowdy enlisted in Company L, Fifth Indiana 
Volunteer cavalry, at Lafayette, July 17, 1862, at the age of eight- 
een. He served with his regiment in the pursuit and capture of 
John Morgan, the notorious raider, and in Kentucky during the 
spring and summer of 1863 ; with General Burnside in the East 
Tennessee campaign during the fall and winter of 1863-64; with 
General Sherman in the Georgia campaign until after the evacu- 
ation of Atlanta, and then with General Thomas at Nashville, Tenn. 
After three years and three months of service he was mustered out 
with his company at Pulaski, Tenn., October 5, 1865. After the 
close of the war he returned to Rush county. On January 24, 1867, 
Mr. Gowdy was married to Eve E. Gordon, daughter of one of the 
pioneers of Rush county. To this union were born two children, 
Latta Theodore, who died in infancy, and Fanny Alice, who was 
married to Robert E. Mansfield, American consul general to Chile, 
on April 17, 1906. In 1870, Mr. Gowdy was elected sheriff of Rush 
county, to which office he was re-elected two years later. In 1879, 
he moved from the farm to Rushville. In 1882, he was elected to 
the office of auditor of Rush county for a term of four years, at the 
end of which time he was renominated by his party by acclamation, 
and again elected, serving eight years as auditor. He also served 
his party as chairman of the R\ish county Republican committee for 
ten years, 1879 to 1889. In the capacity of chairman of the county 
committee, and in the management of local political affairs, Mr. 
Gowdy showed such genius for organization and displayed such 
splendid executive ability that it brought him into prominence and 
made him a potent factor in state politics. In 1890, Attorney Gen- 
eral Louis T. Michener resigned as chairman of the Indiana Re- 
publican state committee, and Mr. Gowdy was chosen to succeed 
him. In 1892, when the state committee was re-organized he was 
elected chairman. His ability as a leader enabled him to create and 
maintain for many years one of the most efficient political organ- 
izations ever effected in Indiana. In 1894, Mr. Gowdv was again 
2 



18 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

chosen chairman of the committee, and the success of the party in 
Indiana in that campaign, when the entire Republican state ticket 
and thirteen representatives in Congress were elected, the first 
time in the history of the state that one party secured a full Con- 
gressional delegation, added to the reputation that Mr. Gowdy had 
already gained as an organizer. In 1896 when the Republican state 
committee was reorganized Mr. Gowdy was chosen chairman for 
the third time, and it was in the great campaign of that year, when 
William McKinley was elected President, and the free coinage of 
silver at the ratio of sixteen to one was made the paramount issue 
by Mr. Bryan, that the executive ability, resourcefulness and splen- 
did political judgment of Mr. Gowdy were demonstrated. The 
party was confronted with a new and dangerous issue and dis- 
turbed by internal dissension, but under his leadership achieved 
one of the most notable political victories in the history of he 
state. During that memorable campaign Mr. Gowdy made the ac- 
quaintance and won the friendship of many men of national prom- 
inence, including Major McKinley, the presidential candidate, and 
Mark Ilanna, chairman of the Republican national committee. His 
conduct of the contest in Indiana, which early took an advanced 
position in favor of the gold standard, received the enthusiastic 
support of the managers of the national campaign, and focused upon 
the state the political attention of the entire country. It was dur- 
ing that great contest that Mr. Gowdy 's friends bestowed upon him 
the sobriquet of "Oom Jack," comparing him with Oom Paul 
Kruger, the great, strong, fighting character of South Africa. 
The term was one of affection and endearment used by Mr. Gowdy 's 
friends and admirers. Soon after the inauguration of President 
McKinley in March, 1897, Mr. Gowdy was appointed consul general 
to Paris, where he achieved the honor and distinction of being one 
of the most efficient and popular officials who ever represented 
the United States Government at the French capital. Consul Gen- 
eral Gowdy 's official residence in Paris covered a most interesting 
period, and a series of historic events, including the Spanish-Amer- 
ican war, the meeting in Paris, after the war, of the commission 
which arranged the terms of peace between the United States and 
Spain, and the Paris exposition in 1900. Mr. Gowdy was the recip- 
ient of many honors and compliments from various societies and 
organizations in Paris, and from the French government he re- 
ceived the decoration of Officer of the Legion of Honor, being the 
first American consular officer to have that distinction bestowed 
upon him. He also received as a mark of esteem from the Amer- 
ican Chamber of Commerce in Paris, a beautiful, hand-illumined 
certificate of commendation and appreciation for honorable serv- 
ices rendered that association personally and officially. Among 
other special and distinguished acts was his assistance in locating 
the body of John Paul Jones, the American naval hero, whose re- 
mains were found in a Paris cemetery, disinterred and returned to 
his native country under uaval escert, and buried at Annapolis 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 19 

with naval honors. On July 3, 1900, Consul General Gowdy deliv- 
ered the address presenting the statue of George Washington, at 
Place d'lena, Paris, a gift of the American people to the French 
government. It was also his pleasant duty, as consul general, to 
certify the signature of the signers of the deed of transfer of the 
Panama canal property by the French government to the United 
States. After eight and a half years of official residence abroad 
Mr. Gowdy resigned his position as consul general, and returned 
with his family to his home in Rushville, to resume his business, 
and to live among his neighbors and friends. His homecoming was 
made a gala day by his old friends and neighbors, and many admir- 
ing friends throughout the state, who gathered at Rushville in large 
numbers to receive, and to extend a welcome to him and his fam- 
ily, the reception being characterized by a warmth of greeting and 
enthusiastic demonstration that testified to the affectionate regard 
in which he was held by the people in his home and in his native 
state. Mr. Gowdy represented the best type of American citizen- 
ship. Born in Indiana in 1843, his early impressions, education 
and training were received and character formed during that period 
of the nation's history when patriotism was the dominant note, and 
loyalty to the Government and its institutions characterized public 
sentiment. The best estimate that can be obtained of a man's 
character and personal worth is the concensus of opinion in the 
community in which he lives; an estimate based upon an intimate 
knowledge of his home life. Judged by this standard the memory 
esteem and affections of the people of Rushville, and of Rush county 
that evidenced a very high regard for him as a citizen, a neighbor 
and a friend. Endowed with a strong, but genial personality, a 
kindly disposition and a charitable nature, he impressed those with 
whom he came in contact as a man of high ideals and compelling 
purpose, a leader of men. Positiveness of character was one of 
Mr. Gowdy 's chief characteristics. When once he made up his 
mind to do a thing, decided upon a plan of action, he pursued it 
with a determination that never hesitated until the object was 
achieved, or every resource at his command exhausted. To this 
fixity of purpose was largely due his success as an organizer. Men 
believed in and co-operated with him, knowing that once he entered 
upon a project and, believing he was right, that he would pursue 
it industriously and determinedly to a conclusion. In 1866, Mr. 
Gowdy joined the Methodist Episcopal church, of which he remained 
a consistent and devout member. Although prevented by ill health 
from attending services, or participating actively in the work for 
many years, he never lost interest in the progress and welfare of 
his chosen church, and his Christian faith continued always to be a 
comfort and a consolation. He was a charter member of the Rush- 
ville post of the Grand Army of the Republic, a Freemason and an 
Odd Fellow. His charities, which were general and extensive, 
were conducted so quietly and unostentatiously that few except 
those who were beneficiaries of his bounty knew to what extent his 



20 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

hand went out to the poor, the needy and distressed. Like his 
daily life, his charities were inspired and directed by generous, 
Christian impulses. Although exercising a wide influence for good, 
personally, morally and socially in the community, and throughout 
the state, all his private and public acts were characterized by ex- 
treme modesty. He was essentially a home person, preferring al- 
ways the quiet and comforts, the pleasure and intimate associations 
of the home to the formalities of social life, or the discomforts, and 
the promiscuous associations encountered in travel and in public 
places. His love for children was reciprocated, as shown by the 
affectionate regard in which he was held by all the little folk in 
the neighborhood of his home. In the summer time crowds of 
youths of both sexes were wont to gather under the big white tent 
under the trees in the rear of his home, where he spent most of the 
days during the hot weather, reading and conversing with the vis- 
iting children, and exchanging greetings with passing friends and 
neighbors. "While observing the actions of the children, and lis- 
tening to their conversation and candid comments on the actions of 
each other, he frequently remarked: "The hope of the American 
nation is in these boys and girls, and if properly educated and 
trained in the ethics of government, the future of the republic is 
secure." Mr. Gowdy endeavored to inspire the children who came 
within the sphere of his influence with high ideals, pure motives 
and patriotic sentiments. And many Indiana men of the younger 
generation testify to the inspiration and encouragement they re- 
ceived through his kindly, good advice, and from his patriotic 
example. Mr. Gowdy died at his home in Rushville on June 
25, 1918. 

J. W. GREEN, M. D., the first in three generations of Rush county 
physicians and one of the early medical practitioners in the county, 
was born here on February 5, 1S25, the son of Lot and Anna 
(Cooper) Green, pioneers. They came to Rush county in 1824, lo- 
cated in Posey township, and here J. W. Green grew to manhood. 
He had early become interested in the medical science, and by dili- 
gent application to such works on anatomy and other branches as he 
could obtain, trained himself to minister to the ills of his fellow 
beings. He was generous to a fault, and during the Civil war never 
accepted any remuneration for services rendered to the families of 
soldiers, his kindness and sympathetic nature winning him a legion 
of warm friends. On May 18, 1846, he married Mary J. Gowdy, of 
Arlington, and they were the parents of twelve children : Lot, Nancy, 
Ann, Preston S., Adam W., Mary L., John, Thomas, William Lewis, 
Nellie R., James and Charles. Dr. Lot Green was born in Arlington, 
where his father, Dr. J. W. Green, practiced medicine, July 29, 1847, 
and after completing his preliminary schooling entered Butler Uni- 
versity at Irvington, Ind., and was graduated from the medical de- 
partment of that institution in 1881. He came to be a very suc- 
cessful member of the profession, was an ardent worker in various 
medical associations, and for several years was county health officer. 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 21 

In addition to his professional interests lie was the owner of a fine 
farm in Jackson township. In 1872, he married Cordelia J. Barnard, 
a daughter of Brasilia G. and Rachel (Roberts) Barnard, residents 
of Posev township, this county, and to them were born five sons: 
Lucien L., Hallie W., Prank H., Charles S., and Derby B. Dr. 
Frank H. Green was born on July 20, 1S76, at Arlington, the third 
son of Dr. Lot Green, and after attending the common schools of 
Jackson township and the high schools at Gings Station and Rush- 
wile he was matricidated at Indiana Medical College at Indianapolis, 
from which institution he received his M. D. degree on March 31. 
1897. Return to Rushville, he began to practice with his father, 
with whom he continued until February 21, 1905, when he began to 
practice for himself. He took post-graduate work for three months 
in 1901 at the New York Post-Graduate Hospital and again in 1917. 
For fifteen years he ably assisted Dr. John C. Sexton, having been 
a member of the Sexton Hospital staff for that length of time. On 
October 3, 1918, he entered the military service of the country as a 
-captain in the medical corps, was stationed first at Ft. Oglethorp, 
Ga., for three months, and then at Camp Sheridan at Montgomery, 
Ala., where he was discharged in January, 1919. While at Ft. 
Oglethorp Captain Green completed a three-months course in X-ray, 
further perfecting himself for civilian practice. On returning to 
Rushville, he opened a private hospital, making it possible for him 
to enlarge the scope of his work as well as enabling him to discharge 
more efficiently the duties entailed by his large clientele. On No- 
vember 23, 1898, Doctor Green was married to Kate R. Kiplinger, a 
daughter of Daniel F. and Maude H. Kiplinger. They have had one 
child, a son born in 1900, who died in infancy. Although almost his 
entire time is occupied by his professional duties, Doctor Green gives 
some attention to the 146-acre farm in Rushville township, which 
he and his brother Derby own. He is well known in fraternal bodies 
in Rushville, being a member of the Masonic order, Knights of 
Pythias, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and the Improved 
Older of Red Men. Politically he is a Republican, and has never 
failed with his support in any worthy cause either in the realm of 
politics or in civic welfare. Doctor Charles S. Green, the fourth son 
of Doctor Lot Green and one of the county's leading dental surgeons, 
was born in the town of Occident, Jackson township, this county, 
December 2, 1883. True to a family tradition, he decided on a 
career of professional practice, though in a slightly different branch 
of the medical science than that followed by his forebears, and after 
completing the course of study prescribed in the common schools of 
Jackson township and the high school at Rushville, he entered Indiana 
Dental College, from which he received the degree of D. D. S. in 190(3. 
He returned to Rushville to enter upon the practice of his profession, 
and has won many supporters by the excellent character of the work 
he does, as his clientele all know that there is no improvement, inven- 
tion, or scientific discovery made in dentistry of which Doctor Green 
does not take instant advantage. He married Elma H. Retherford, 
a daughter of Robert and Lila Retherford, and they are the parents 



22 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

of two children: Frank H., Jr., and Justine. He is a member of 
the Masonic order, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
and the Knights of Pythias, in all of which he enjoys unusual popu- 
larity. The principles of the Republican party coincide most nearly 
with his political views, and it is there that his support is given. 

WILLIAM M. BOSLEY, proprietor of the grain elevator at 
Milroy and who also is engaged in the coal and seed business at that 
place, a progressive and well known business man of this county, 
was born at Milroy and has lived there all his life. For ten years 
he was a member of Rush county's excellent teaching staff and then 
took up work at the elevator, presently buying the same and for 
nearly twenty years past has been proprietor of the plant, the busi- 
ness of which during that time he has greatly enlarged. Mr. Bosley 
was born on July 17, 1873, son of Samuel H. and Nora (Smith) 
Bosley, both of whom spent their last days here, the latter dying in 
1911 and the former in 1918. Samuel H. Bosley was born in Ander- 
son township, son of Elijah Bosley, a Kentuckian, who had come to 
this county and settled in the Milroy neighborhood in the early 
days. Some time after coming here Elijah Bosley moved up into 
Boone county but did not remain long there, presently returning to 
this county and locating at Williamstown, where for many years ho 
was engaged in the general merchandise business. Samuel H. Bosley 
was reared in Anderson township, received his schooling there and 
as a young man became engaged as a carpenter and wagon maker, 
which trade he followed all his active life. When the Civil war 
broke out he enlisted his services in behalf of the Union and went, 
to the front as a member of K Company, Fifty-fourth regiment. 
Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and upon the expiration of that term 
of enlistment re-enlisted and returned to the front as a member of E 
Company, One Hundred and Twenty-third regiment, Indiana Vol- 
unteer Infantry, serving about three years, and was thus with ' ' Pap ' ' 
Thomas on that general's memorable campaign South and took part 
in the battle of Atlanta. Upon the completion of his military service 
Samuel H. Bosley returned to his home in this county, resumed 
his activities as a builder at Milroy and here spent the remainder of 
his life, a well known and useful citizen. He and his wife were th- 
parents of five children, of whom the subject of this sketch was the 
second in order of birth, the others being as follows: Frances, wife 
of W. 0. Fishback; George C, of Richmond; Maude, wife of L. E. 
Berner, and Nell, wife of J. L. Parsons. William M. Bosley was 
reared at Milroy and received his schooling in the excellent schools 
of that place. He prepared himself for teaching and for ten years 
was occupied during the winters as a teacher in the schools of this 
county. In the meantime during the summers he had been more or 
less engaged about the elevator at Milroy and in 1903 bought the 
elevator, which he ever since has been operating and which he has 
enlarged in every way. The Milroy elevator has a capacity of 15,000 
bushels and is the center of the grain trade of a considerable area 
about Milroy. Mr. Bosley also does quite an extensive business in 
coal and seeds and has for years been recognized as one of the leading 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 23 

business men of that part of Rush county. In 1899 William M. 
Bosley was united in marriage to Laura Bowling, daughter of Hiram 
and Alzina Bowling, and to this union two children have been born, 
William, who died in 1914, at the age of six years, and Catherine, 
born in December 2, 1906. Mr. and Mrs. Bosley are members of the 
Christian church and take an active interest in church work, Mr. 
Bosley having been an office bearer in the church since 1896 and an 
elder from 1898 to January, 1921. In his political views Mr. Bosley 
is a life-long Republican, and takes a proper part in local civic 
affairs. He is a York-Rite Mason, a member of the Milroy blue lodge, 
and of the commandery, Knights Templar, at Rushville, and is also 
a noble of the Ancient Arabic Order, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, 
affiliated with Murat Temple, Indianapolis. He also is a member of 
the local lodge of the Knights of Pythias at Milroy and in the affairs 
of these several orders takes a warm fraternal interest. 

JESSE E. CREED, hardware merchant at Manilla, Ind., was 
born in Shelby county, Indiana, September 19, 1866, one of a family 
of »ine children born to Smith and Laura (Henderson) Creed. The 
father was born in Shelby county and the mother in Rush county. 
Six of their children are living : Flora B., Lianna, Jesse E., John N., 
Theodore B. and Herman. Jesse E. Creed was reared on his father's 
farm of sixty acres in Shelby county and obtained a public school 
education in Liberty township. Instead of becoming a farmer like 
his father, he learned the blacksmith trade under his brother, the 
late William H. Creed, and followed the same for twenty-three years. 
About 1906 he embarked in the hardware business at Manilla, at his 
present location, and has built up a very satisfactory trade, handling 
farm implements as well as a full line of dependable hardware. On 
June 16, 1891, Mr. Creed married Martha M. Shook, who was born 
at Manilla, daughter of Joseph and Mary (Bell) Shook, who had a 
family of seven children, the following surviving : Robert M., Charles 
C, Amanda, Ida and Martha. Mr. Shook followed the shoemaking 
trade at Manilla. Mr. and Mrs. Creed had one child, who died in 
infancy. They are members of the Christian church at Manilla. In 
polities Mr. Creed is a Democrat and while residing in Walker town- 
ship, he served four years in the office of assessor. He is a past 
noble grand of Homer Lodge, No. 471, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. 

JESSE G. GRAY, a well known farmer of Jackson township, 
residing on rural mail route No. 8, out of Rushville, is a native son 
of Rush county, having been born in Jackson township on November 
6, 1876. His parents, James and Polly A. (Cross) Gray, were also 
natives of this county and here the father followed farming through- 
out his active life, being the owner of 141 acres of land in Jackson 
township. To him and his wife were born three children, all of whom 
are living, namely : Frances C, Emma J. and Jesse G. Jesse G. 
Gray attended the Downey school, district No. 4, and then turned his 
attention to the cultivation of the home farm, remaining with his 
father until about thirteen years after his marriage. He then moved 
onto the place where he now lives, comprising eighty acres, which he 



24 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

operates for his mother. He carries on general farming operations, 
raising all the crops common to this locality and also giving some 
attention to the raising of hogs, feeding and marketing about one 
hundred and fifty head a year. Mr. Gray was married on April 30, 
1899, to Lola A. Havens, a native of Posey township and the daughter 
of John and Adonia (Able) Havens. Mr. and Mrs. Gray have a son, 
Wilbur, born on October 39, 1900, who attended the Osborn school, 
in his home township. Politically, Mr. Gray is a staunch advocate 
of the Democratic party and takes a deep interest in public affairs, 
especially as pertaining to his county and township. Fraternally, 
he is a member of Ivy Lodge, No. 27, Knights of Pythias, at Rushville. 
Personally, he is genial and companionable and his friends are in 
number as his acquaintances. On October 19, 1919, his nineteenth 
birthday, Wilbur Gray enlisted in the marine corps and served for 
five months. In the spring of 1921 he became a Freemason, taking 
the degrees in Phoenix lodge at Rushville. 

CHASE G. CROSS, one of the successful young farmers of Jack- 
son township whose capable management of his own business inter- 
ests and his sound judgment have brought him prosperity, was born 
in that township on September 18, 1892, the son of John F. and 
Olive (Powell) Cross, who are mentioned specifically elsewhere in 
this work in the sketch of John F. Cross. The subject was educated 
in the schools of Rushville and immediately after quitting his studies 
he began working with his father, for whom he worked until his 
marriage. He then engaged in farming on his own account, renting 
two hundred and forty acres of land from his father and he has 
continued successfully to follow the vocation of farming, meeting with 
pronounced success. Besides the cultivation of the soil, Mr. Cross 
gives considerable attention to the raising of live stock, raising about 
400 hogs and a carload of cattle each year. He is« up-to-date in his 
ideas and has demonstrated his efficiency and capability in no uncer- 
tain manner. On October 25, 1911, Mr. Cross was married to Jennie 
M. Osborn, who was born in Shelby county, Indiana, but who was 
reared and educated in Rushville township, this county, graduating 
from the Rushville high school in 1908. She is the daughter of Lucian 
B. and Harvina (Gruell) Osborn. To Mr. and Mi's. Cross have been 
born three children, Olive, Mary Ellen and Annabelle. The 
first named is now attending school at Henderson. Politically, Mr. 
Cross gives his support to the Democratic party. Genial and com- 
panionable in disposition and courteous in manner, Mr. Cross enjoys 
a marked degree of popularity among all with whom he associates. 

ALBERT W. RIGSBEE, a leading citizen and representative 
agriculturist of Posey township, has spent practically his entire life 
in that locality. His has been an active and useful life and he is 
thoroughly in sympathy with any movement looking toward the ad- 
vancement of the best interests of his community. Mr. Rigsbee was 
born in Posey township on September 23, 1882, and is a son of 
Alveron and Clara E. (Swain) Rigsbee, both of whom also are 
natives of Posey township, Mr. Rigsbee having here followed agri- 
cultural pursuits during all of his active years. Of the two children 




Dr. John C Sexton 



Dr Cullen Sexton 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 25 

born to him and his wife, the subject of this review is the only sur- 
vivor. Albert W. Rigsbee received his educational training in the 
common and high schools of Posey township and after completing 
his studies he turned his attention to the farm where he now lives 
and which is owned by his mother, with whom he lives. His father 
died when the subject was but two years of age. The home farm 
comprises eighty acres and in addition to this Mrs. Rigsbee owns 
thirty-two and one-half acres in Posey township and Mr. Rigsbee 
twenty acres in the same township and sixty acres adjoining just 
across the line in Hanover township, Shelby county, which he rents, 
confining his personal efforts to his mother's land. He carries on 
general farming and also raises some live stock. He has put exten- 
sive repairs on the place and has erected some new buildings, placed 
new fencing and done a good deal of tiling, with the result that this 
farm now compares favorably with the best in the community. Mr. 
Rigsbee is a Republican in politics and stands high in the esteem of, 
all who know him. He and his mother are charter members of the' 
Indiana Society of Mayflower Descendants, attaining their member- 
ship by right of descent from John Howland, who came over in the 
"Mayflower" in 1620. 

JOHN CHASE SEXTON, M. D. The outstanding name in 
the medical profession of Rush county is that of Sexton, four of the 
name having been prominent practitioners whose services have ex- 
tended over a period covering nearly one hundred years. Dr. 
Horatio Gates Sexton, the grandfather of Dr. John C. Sexton, was 
among the earliest pioneers of the county. He was born in Wil- 
braham, Mass., January 21, 1796, a son of David Sexton of that 
city, and when a young man decided that there were greater op- 
portunities for advancement in the western states of Ohio or Indi- 
ana than in the older settled parts of the country. Accordingly, 
he made his way toward the West, and while engaged in teaching 
at Harrison, Ohio, began the study of medicine under a Dr. Cruik- 
shank. He had a natural talent, as a doctor, and in about 1820 was 
far enough advanced in his studies to warrant his entering the 
ranks of the profession for himself, which he did, locating at 
Springboro, "Warren county, Ohio. In 1822, he came to Indiana 
and located at Rushville, which at that time was nothing but a 
collection of modest cabins in the wilderness. His ability was soon 
recognized, and the confidence of the people resulted in his winning 
a fortune second to none in the county. He was one of the charter 
members of the Rush County Medical Society (1846), and took a 
keen interest in the welfare of that organization. He was also one 
of the founders of the Presbyterian church in Rushville, and re- 
mained one of its most ardent workers until the time of his death, 
June 13, 1865. He had married, in 1822, Hannah Pugh, of Spring- 
boro, Ohio, and to this union were born twelve children, of whom 
Marshall and Leonidas were two. The latter of these two sons 
came in later years to be one of the most prominent men of the 
state of Indiana — lieutenant governor of the state and represents- 



26 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

tive in the forty-fifth Congress of the United States. Following 
the death of the mother of these children Doctor Sexton married 
Lucretia Cramer, and to that union was born one child, a son, 
Cramer Sexton, who is still living, now a resident of Tennessee. 
Dr. Marshall Sexton was horn at Rushville, January 29, 1823, and 
after receiving his preliminary education in the schools there 
spent two years at Hanover College. He then began to study 
medicine with his father, and in the year 1842, was matriculated 
at Ohio Medical College from which he received the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine in 1844. For ten years thereafter he practiced at 
Rushville with his father, continuing alone until the outbreak of 
the Civil war, in which he served as surgeon of the Fifty-second 
regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry, until the spring of 1863, ill 
health then making it imperative that he resign his commission. 
He returned to civilian life at Rushville, where he remained until 
the long years of his successful practice were terminated by his 
death, January 9, 1892. He had been married in Wilmington, 
Ohio, in May, 1844, to Miss E. S. Brooks. They became the parents 
of five children, Horatio G. ; Louise, afterward Mrs. George Ha- 
vens; Mrs. Ruby H. Frazer, of Xenia, Ohio; Sally M., widow of 
Dr. Charles II. Parsons, of Rushville, and John Chase Dr. John 
Chase Sexton was born on January 21, 1859, at Rushville, and his 
early career was almost identical with that of his father. After 
being graduated from the Rushville high school in 1876, he entered 
Hanover College, and after nearly three years at that institution 
commenced the study of his profession under his father. In 1880 
he went to Cincinnati to attend the Ohio Medical College, from 
which he was graduated in 1882 with the degree of Doctor of Med- 
icine. He took up active practice in partnership with his father, 
but wishing to have further training along medical lines he later 
took post-graduate work at Philadelphia, New York, and Chicago. 
He was then equipped to take a commanding position in the pro- 
fession, and he quickly became recognized as one of the ablest 
practitioners in the state. He is looked upon as an authority in 
gastro-intestinal surgery and was made professor of that chair at 
the Indiana University Medical College. In 1902 Doctor Sexton 
instituted the only hospital within the boundaries of Rush county, 
and at this building, which is located on Sixth street between Main 
and Perkins, he carries on his practice. On September 27, 1882, 
Doctor Sexton was married to Hannah Cullen, the only daughter 
of Judge William A. Cullen, who was for years one of the leaders 
in Rush county legal and judicial activities. To them have been 
born two children: Frances E. and Dr. Marshall Cullen Sexton, 
the latter of whom passed the state medical examination in 1920 
with a high grade, after completing his medical course at Miami 
Medical College, and is now associated with his father iu practice. 
Dr. John C. Sexton has always been active in the work of the med- 
ical associations and is an ex-Fellow of the American Association 
of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, a member of the American 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 27 

Medical Association, a member of and ex-president of the Indiana 
Sate Medical Society, and a member of the Rush County Medical 
Society and the Union District Medical Society. The series of por- 
traits accompanying this review portray the four generations of 
the Sexton family who have maintained a continuing practice in 
Rushville, with the dates of the respective service of each of the 
doctors, beginning with Dr. Horatio G. Sexton, whose practice con- 
tinued from 1822 to 1865; Dr. Marshall Sexton, 1844-1892; Dr. 
John C. Sexton, continuing since 1882, and Dr. Cullen Sexton, 1920. 

JOSEPH G-. McCOY, a successful farmer of Posey township, 
was born in Rushville township, this county, on April 26, 1866, and 
is the son of Thomas and Mary (Moran) McCoy. Both of these 
parents were born in Ireland, but come to this country, he when 
three years of age and she at the age of thirteen years. Their 
families located in Niagara county, New York, where they were 
reared and married. Immediately after the latter event they came 
to Indiana, and engaged in farming in Rush county. He met with 
splendid success and at the time of his death was the owner of 465 
acres of land. This worthy couple became the parents of eight 
children, all of whom are living, namely: John, Frank, Joseph G., 
Rose, Thomas, Mary, William and Elizabeth. Joseph G. McCoy 
received his educational training in the public schools of Walker 
township and Rushville. He early turned his attention to farming 
and remained under the parental roof until his marriage. He then 
went to work on his own account and rented a farm from his father, 
which he continued to operate as rented land for thirteen years, or 
until his father's death, when he inherited the land and it is still his 
home. He carries on a general line of farming and also handles some 
live stock, raising about eighty head of hogs annually. On October 
24, 1899, Mr. McCoy was married to Elizabeth Schattner, who was 
born in Cincinnati, Ohio, the daughter of Henry and Mary Schattner, 
both of whom were born in Germany, coming to the United States in 
their childhood. He became a cabinet maker by trade. To Mr. and 
Mrs. McCoy have been born six children: Thomas, John, George, 
Joseph, Edith and Stella, all of whom are living. Politically, Mr. 
McCoy is an ardent supporter of the Democratic ticket. Religiously, 
he is a member of St. Mary's Roman Catholic church at Rushville. 
Mr. McCoy is a member of Council, No. 769, Knights of Columbus, 
at Rushville, to which his sons, Thomas and John, also belong, the 
former holding the office of outer guard. 

ROBERT SIMPSON DAVIS, a successful farmer of Rush 
county who conducts his agricultural operations in Richland town- 
ship from his home in Rushville, was born in Anderson township, this 
county, on August 14, 1859, the son of Samuel H. and Mary E. 
(Henry) Davis, both natives of Maysville, Fleming county, Kentucky. 
Samuel H. Davis was born on June 3, 1831, the son of Robert and 
Elizabeth (Henry) Davis, both natives of Fleming county, Kentucky. 
Robert Davis, familiarly known as "Uncle Bobby," became one of 
the most widely known men in Rush county, having come here in 
an early day and acquired 120 acres of land. He left Kentucky when 



28 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

his son Samuel was six years of age, located in Richland township, and 
here the boy grew to manhood. He received his education in the 
primitive schools of the times aud then took up farming. When he 
engaged in business for himself it was on a farm of 240 acres in 
Anderson township that his wife had inherited. "When he moved onto 
the place it was almost a virgin forest, but he cleared the land, living 
the while in a log cabin, and as the years passed brought it out of 
its wild state into a well-improved farm. He increased his holdings 
to 580 acres, all lying in Anderson and Richland township, and on 
his farms he did a general farming and stock raising business. He 
was oue of the pioneers of the sheep industry in this county, entering 
extensively into this department of stock raising, and having as high 
as 1,200 head on hand at a time. He also would feed out between 
seventy-five and 100 head of hogs, usually ran a car load of cattle a 
year, and in addition dealt largely in fine horses. His thrift and 
industry were well rewarded, but he did not allow his prosperity to 
blind him to the needs of others. He gave largely to the poor, and 
was one of the best beloved and most highly respected men of the 
entire community. To him and his wife were born six children- 
Henry, who is living at Milroy, this county; Robert Simpson, Eliza- 
beth, Mrs. Ed Spradling, of Rushville, John, Mae, Mrs. John W. 
Anderson, and Charles, living at Milroy. Robert Simpson Davis at- 
tended No. 4 school house in Richland township, and also the old 
Richland Academy, a far-famed institution of learning of the time, 
after leaving which he took up farming with his father. He then 
for a time engaged in business for himself as a renter, and then 
was able to buy a farm of 116 acres in Richland township. In 1896, 
he went into the livery business in Rushville, and for nineteen years 
continued to be successfully engaged in that capacity. He was the 
owner of a fine string of from ten to fifty horses, but when it 
became evident to him that the automobile was to supersede the 
horse he sold out and went into the meat business, conducting an 
excellent market for some time. This he kept but also returned to 
his first calling, farming, buying a farm of eighty acres in Richland 
township, and the management of this together with the cares of his 
meat business keep him busily employed. He was united in matri- 
mony to Ida Margaret, the daughter of Freeman and Lucinda Ellston. 
Mr. Davis has always been counted among the strong supporters of 
the Republican party, and while he has never sought political prefer- 
ment for himself, he takes a keen interest in all local and national 
affairs. In his fraternal connections he is a member of the Knights 
of Pythias. Mrs. Davis is a member of the Christian church. 

DORA M. HILLIGOSS, a well known farmer of Rushville 
township, living on rural mail route No. 4 out of Rushville, was 
born in that township on August 22, 1863, son of Ira C. and Elizabeth 
(English) Hilligoss, both of whom were born, reared and educated 
in that same township. The father followed farming all his life in 
that locality and became the owner of 240 acres of land in Rushville 
and Walker townships. To him and his wife were born two children, 
the subject of this sketch and Joanna, who is deceased. Dora M. 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 29 

Ililligoss received his education in the Webb school, district No. 10, 
Rushville township, and thereafter he applied himself to work on 
the home farm up to the time of his marriage. He then engaged 
in farming on his own account on a farm of eighty acres which he 
had inherited from his father some time prior to his marriage. He 
also rented more land from his father-in-law. During the subsequent 
years he has been successful in his labors and is now, with his wife, 
the owner of 340 acres of land in Rush county. He and his son 
operate 206 acres of this land, the balance being rented out. Mr. 
Hilligoss carries on general farming operations and also gives some 
attention to the raising of live stock. His farm is well improved and 
is rated as one of the best farms in Rush county. On January 10, 
1884, Mr. Hilligoss was married to Emma Ramsey, who was born in 
Anderson township, this county, the daughter of Eugene and Ann M. 
(Tyler) Ramsey, the former a native of Cumberland Gap, Va., and 
the latter of Anderson township, this county. Mr. Ramsey came to 
Rush county in an early day and here spent the remainder of his 
days, being engaged in farming. He owned 160 acres of land in An- 
derson township. To him and wife were born two children, Emma 
(wife of the subject) and one who died in infancy. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Hilligoss have been born three children, Leona May, born August 
13, 1885 ; Lavon Estel, December 11, 1886, who died on June 2, 1908, 
and Elsa Mivard, born on January 31, 1893. Leona May Hilligoss 
married Casper Johnson, son of Lafayette Johnson and a farmer of 
this county, and has three children, Viola Lavon, Chlorine Bernice 
and Dora Lafayette. Lavon Estel Hilligoss married Bert Osborn, 
son of L. B. Osborn, also a farmer of this county. To this union one 
child was born, a son, Lowell Marshall. Mrs. Osborn was a noted 
horsewoman and drove at many of the horse shows given in this 
section of Indiana. Elsa Mivard Ililligoss married Nellie Logan, 
daughter of Ora Logan, and is farming on the Hilligoss home place. 
He and his wife have two children, Lavon Estel and Harold Eugene. 
Mr. and Mrs. Ililligoss are earnest members of the Main Street 
Christian Church in Rushville. Mr. Ililligoss is a staunch supporter 
of the Democratic party, while, fraternally, he is a member of Ivy 
Lodge No. 27, Knights of Pythias, at Rushville, and Lodge No. 1307, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. Mrs. Hilligoss is a mem- 
ber of and holds official position in the Pythian Sisters. Since 1908 
the Hilligoss family has been holding an annual reunion, the organ- 
ization having been perfected by Mrs. Hilligoss and the late Levi 
Hilligoss, of Foley, Minn. Mrs. Dora M. Hilligoss is secretary of the 
association, and has been for ten years. In 1913 Levi Ililligoss pub- 
lished a history of the Hilligoss family, a profusely illustrated book 
of more than 200 pages. 

THOMAS HEATON, for nearly three-quarters of a century an 
honored resident of Rush county, and for the greater part of this 
time a successful agriculturist of Noble township, is widely and favor- 
ably known to the people of this community. He was born in Noble 
township, December 27, 1848, a son of Joseph and Elizabeth (Arm- 
strong) Heaton, the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter 



30 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

of Rush county. Joseph Ileaton was three years old when he was 
brought from the Keystone stale by his parents, John Ileaton and 
wife, who settled in Rush county and entered land in Noble town- 
ship, on which they spent the balance of their honorable and well- 
ordered lives. Joseph Heaton grew to manhood in this community, 
where he followed in his father's footsteps and adopted farming as 
his life work, a vocation which he followed throughout his career, 
and in which he attained marked success, accumulating 305 acres. He 
and his wife were the parents of six children, of whom three are 
living: John, Thomas and Sanford. Thomas Heaton received his 
education in the public schools of Noble township, after leaving which 
he associated himself with his father in the cultivation of the home 
place, and remained with the elder man until his marriage. He then 
struck out for himself, and for the next thirty years or more was occu- 
pied in farming as a renter. In 1900 he purchased the property on 
which he now resides, a tract of eighty acres, on which he carries 
on general farming and feeds out about fifty hogs annually. He is 
practical and progressive in his aims and methods, and is accounted 
one of the well-informed men of his locality, not alone upon the 
subject of farming, but along other lines. In politics Mr. Heaton 
is a Democrat, but has not sought political preferment or public 
office. He married Mary, daughter of William Willis, and they 
have two children: Thornton, who married Maud Benedict, and 
Myrtle, who married Ellis Culbertson and has two children, Helen 
and Bethel. 

CHARLES H. PARSONS, M. D., who died at his home in Rush- 
ville in the spring of 1921, was one of the oldest and best known 
physicians and surgeons in this section of Indiana, a member of one 
of the old families of Rush county, for many years a recognized leader 
in the social and civic life of his community, a man whose good 
works and useful achievements had endeared him in the hearts of 
his fellowmen, and at his passing left a memory which will long 
endure in the community in which his life of faithful endeavor had 
been passed. It thus seems fitting that there should here be carried 
some brief memorial of this useful life in this volume commemorative 
of a centenary of civic organization in Rush county. Doctor Parson* 
tvas a native son of Rush county and had ever held the interests of 
his home county as the uppermost motive of his activities. He was 
born on the old Parsons homestead place in Rushville township, a 
short distance northeast of the city of Rushville, January 28, 1855, 
a son of Mathias and Mary (Dill) Parsons, both of whom were mem- 
bers of pioneer families in this county and whose last days were 
spent here. The Doctor's early schooling was received at Rushville 
and following his graduation from the high school he entered the 
old Northwestern Christian University (now Butler College) at 
Indianapolis, from whence, after a course in the "humanities," he 
went to Cincinnati and entered the Ohio Medical College, where he 
spent one year. In 1876 he went to New York and there entered the 
Bellevue Hospital Medical College, from which institution he was 
graduated in March, 1878, with the degree of doctor of medicine and 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 31 

surgery. Thus admirably equipped for the practice of the noble pro- 
fession to which he had devoted his life, Doctor Parsons returned to 
Rushville and entered upon a professional career which was marked 
with much success, continuing actively engaged in practice until a 
few years prior to his death, his later years being marked by a 
retirement from his professional duties, save such as he felt in duty 
bound to continue as "the old family physician," and in these later 
years he found much relaxation in looking after the affairs of the 
Parsons farm northeast of the city. Doctor Parsons was a busy man 
and was not content to be idle; the "leisure" of his practice being 
occupied much of the time in attention to public affairs and had 
served variously in positions of public trust and responsibility. He 
was an ardent Democrat, for years regarded as one of the leaders of 
that party in this county, and for four years served as a member of 
the Rushville city council, his term of service in that connection 
expiring in December, 1913. It is recalled in this connection that the 
Doctor was very sincere in his efforts to perform a real public service 
and his incumbency was marked by much valuable service to the 
city. Doctor Parsons was for years a member of the local pension 
board and during the period of America 's participation in the World 
war also rendered valuable service as a member of the medical advisory 
board for the physical examination of men registered for service. The 
Doctor was a faithful member of the Main Street Christian Church and 
had for years been an office bearer in the same as well as an earnest 
teacher in the Sunday school, for several years teacher of the men's 
Century class and in recent years teacher of a woman 's class. Doctor 
Parsons died at his home, 410 North Main street, at 12 :15 p. m., 
;Saturday, March 5, 1921, and his widow is still making her home 
there. The only other close family survivor is the Doctor's sister, 
Mrs. Mary Parrish, of Indianapolis. Mrs. Parsons also is a member 
of one of the old families of Rush county and has lived here all her 
life. She was born in Rushville, Sallie Sexton, daughter of Dr. Mar- 
shall Sexton and his wife Elizabeth, of excellent memory and further 
and fitting mention of whom is made elsewhere in this volume, together 
with portraits of four successive generations of Doctors Sexton who 
have practiced their profession in this county. She was united in 
marriage to Doctor Parsons on December 17, 1878, and to this union 
one child was born, a son, John Parsons, who died in 1893. 

WALLACE G. MORGAN, attorney-at-law at Rushville and one 
of the best known lawyers in the Sixth district, was born in this 
county and has lived here all his life, a practicing attorney since the 
days of his young manhood, formerly associated in the practice of 
law with his father, the late David S. Morgan, and now associated 
in practice with Gates Ketchum. Mr. Morgan was born on a farm 
in Richland township on May 8, 1866, son of David S. and Mary E. 
(Mcllwain) Morgan, the latter of whom years ago was a teacher in 
the old Richland Academy. David S. Morgan was a Kentuckian by 
birth who at the age of eighteen years came to Indiana with his 
parents, Samuel Morgan and wife, the family locating in Richland 
township, this county. David S. Morgan completed his schooling in 



32 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

the Richland Academy and thereafter for many years taught school 
in that township, teaching during the winter seasons. In the mean- 
time he took up the study of law, was presently admitted to the bar 
and in 1881 moved to Rushville, where he opened an office for the 
practice of the profession to which he had devoted his talents and 
there continued in practice the remainder of his life, his death occur- 
ring in 1905. David S. Morgan and wife were the parents of five 
children, sons all, three of whom are still living, the subject of this 
biographical sketch having two brothers, Samuel and William O. 
Morgan. The deceased were Rosco and Bert Morgan. Wallace G. 
Morgan was about seventeen years of age when his parents moved 
from Richland township to Rushville and he completed his schooling 
in the Rushville schools. Under the able preceptorship of his father 
he early entered upon the study of law and upon his admission to 
the bar formed a partnership with his father in the practice of that 
profession and this mutually agreeable association continued until the 
death of the elder Morgan in 1905. Not long after the death of his 
father Mr. Morgan formed a partnership with Douglas Morris and 
this firm had a wide practice. One of Mr. Morgan 's legal connections 
of considerable consequence is that as attorney for the Dollings In- 
vestment Company of Indianapolis. Mr. Morgan's wife, nee Mary 
McLaughlan, also was born in Rush county, a member of one of the 
county's old families, and she and Mr. Morgan ever have taken an 
interested part in the general social activities of the community, 
helpful in promoting and furthering all movements having to do with 
the common good hereabout. In his political affiliation Mr. Morgan 
is a Democrat and for many years has been regarded as one of the 
leaders of that party in Rush county and throughout the Sixth dis- 
trict. Fraternally, he is affiliated with the Masonic lodge at Rushville. 
CHESTER F. CROSS, one of the conspicuous figures in agri- 
cultural circles in Jackson township, is essentially a man of affairs, 
of sound judgment, keen discernment and far-seeing in what he 
undertakes, and his extensive interests are but the legitimate fruitage 
of consecutive effort, directed and controlled by good judgment and 
correct business principles. Mr. Cross is a native of Jackson town- 
ship, born there on August 25, 1883, the son of John F. and Olive 
(Powell) Cross, who are represented in a personal sketch elsewhere in 
this work. The subject was educated in the Osborn school and on 
completing his studies he devoted himself to the work of the home 
farm, remaining with his father up to the time of his marriage. He 
then engaged in farming on his own account on the land where he 
now lives and has continued here to the present time. He now owns 
160 acres in this farm, and 100 acres elsewhere in Jackson township, 
making his total holdings 260 acres. He keeps his farms up to the 
highest standard of excellence, both as regards buildings and the 
condition of the soil, and is regarded as a thoroughly up-to-date and 
progressive farmer. Mr. Cross gives considerable attention to live 
stock, raising from 400 to 500 hogs each year, in addition to which 
he buys about 250 head, so that altogether he feeds about 650 head a 
year. He also feeds about two car loads of cattle annually. On 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 33 

March 20, 1904, Chester F. Cross was married to Carrie J. Northam, 
who was born and reared in Posey township, the daughter of Jasper 
N. and Kate (Coffin) Northam. Her parents were both natives of 
Rush county, the father having cultivated a farm in Posey township 
for a number of years. They became the parents of five children, 
all of whom are living, namely: Carrie, Russell, Merrill, Thelma and 
Katherine. Mr. and Mrs. Cross have one child, Tracy, born in 1904, 
who is now a student in the Rushville high school. Mr. Cross is a 
staunch supporter of the Democratic party, and is a member of the 
Free and Accepted Masons, holding membership in all the bodies of 
that order at Rushville up to and including the commandery of 
Knights Templar; he is also a member of Murat Temple of the 
Ancient Arabic Order of Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, at Indianap- 
olis, and Lodge No. 1307, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
at Rushville. Personally, Mr. Cross possesses to a marked degree 
those qualities which win friendships and he is a popular member 
of the circles in which he moves. 

PERRY T. INNIS, president of the Milroy Bank at Milroy 
and long recognized as one of the most progressive and substantial 
business men of Rush county, has been a resident of this county all 
his life and has ever been interested in community betterment and 
advancement. He was born on a farm in Anderson township on 
January 12, 1855, son of "William "W. and Jennie (Buchanan) Innis, 
the former also a native of this county and the latter of Bourbon 
county, Kentiicky, well known and influential residents of the 
Milroy neighborhood in their generation and whose last days were 
spent here. William W. Innis, who was the founder of the Innis- 
Pierce Furniture Company at Rushville and whose name ever will 
be inseparably associated with that concern, was born on a farm in 
Anderson township, son of Alexander and Christina (Kirkpatriek) 
Innis, the latter of whom also was born in Indiana, a member of 
one of the pioneer families of this region. Alexander Innis was a 
Pennsylvanian who left his home in the old Keystone state in the 
days of his young manhood and came to Indiana, locating in Rush 
county, where he married Christina Kirkpatriek and established his 
home on a farm in Anderson township, developing a fine piece of 
property there and there spending the rest of his life, a helpful 
factor in the development and prosperity of that community. He 
and his wife were the parents of six children, those besides William 
W. having been James, Andrew, Eliza, Ellen and Lucinda. Reared 
an a farm, William W. Innis for a time after starting out " for him- 
self" was engaged in farming in his home township, but presently 
left the farm and moved to Rushville where he became engaged in 
the coal and lumber business, later becoming associated with Will- 
iam M. Pierce in the manufacture of furniture at Rushville under the 
firm name of the Innis-Pierce Furniture Company, built up an 
extensive plant and a fine business and was thus engaged the rest 
of his active life, one of the most influential factors in the develop- 
ment of the industrial activities of the city of Rushville. William 
3 



34 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

W. Innis was for years an elder in the United Presbyterian church 
and he and his wife were ever concerned in community good works. 
They were the parents of five children, those besides the subject of 
this sketch being Elizabeth, Mary Ellen, Robert and Arie. the latter 
of whom died in infancy. Perry T. Innis "grew up" on the home 
farm in Anderson township and supplemented the schooling 
obtained in the Milroy schools by a course in the old Richland 
Academy, after which he became engaged in farming on his father's 
place, later engaging in the same vocation on his own account and 
became the owner of a fine farm of 160 acres in the vicinity of 
Milroy on which he established his home and on which he was ac- 
tively engaged in farming and live stock raising until his retire- 
ment from the farm to become engaged in banking. It was in 1904 
that the Bank of Milroy was organized and at the first meeting of 
the stockholders for organization Mr. Innis was elected president 
of the institution, a position which he ever since has held and in the 
exercise of which office he has made himself a strong figure in the 
commercial life of this section of the state. In 1906 Mr. Innis 
moved from the farm to Milroy and shortly afterward began to 
give his whole time to the affairs of the bank and is still thus en- 
gaged, he and his associates having built up a strong and continually 
growing banking institution there. On January 1, 1S78, Perry T. 
Innis was united in marriage to Flora Tompkins, daughter of G. 
W. and Eliza Tompkins, of this county, and to this union two chil- 
dren were born, sons both, Harry Innis, now a resident of Indianap- 
olis, and Rex A. Innis, who married Mary Hammond and makes 
his home on a farm in Rushville township. Mrs. Flora Innis died 
on September 23, 1918. Mr. Innis is a member of the United Pres- 
byterian church at Milroy, in the general activities of which con- 
gregation he has for years taken an earnest interest and has long 
served the congregation as a member of the church session. lie is a 
Republican and in his fraternal relations is a Mason. 

LEWIS EDGAR HARCOURT, a member of the advisory board 
of Anderson township and a substantial retired farmer of that town- 
ship now living at Milroy, was born in Rush county and has lived 
here all his life. He was born on a farm in Orange township on 
October 16, 1862, son of James A. and Harriette (Kealer) Harcourt, 
who in their generation were among the best known and most influ- 
ential residents of that community, and whose last days were spent 
in this county. James A. Harcourt was born in Rush county of 
pioneer parents and grew to manhood on the old home farm in Orange 
township, in time becoming a farmer on his own account and as 
his affairs prospered became the owner of two farms, one of 120 
acres, a part of the old home place, and another of 240 acres. He 
is well rememhered hereabout as the patentee and manufacturer of 
the Harcourt Hoosier grain drill, a device which had a wide popu- 
larity throughout this region in the days before the one-way drill was 
introduced. For some time after patenting the Hoosier drill he 
manufactured the device on his farm, his little shop being operated 



1435530 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 35 

by horse power, and lie would turn out ten or twelve machines a 
year simply for the use of the neighbors, but as the popularity of the 
drill extended and demands began to come in from other sections he 
bought the old Scull woolen mill on Big P'lat Rock, two and a half 
miles north of Moscow, and equipped the plant for the manufacture 
of 1,000 or more of the drills a year. This manufacture he kept up 
until the improved drills entered the general market, when he 
abandoned the business and retired to his farm in Orange township 
and was there engaged in farming the rest of his life. James A. 
Hareourt and wife were the parents of nine children, five of whom 
are still living, those besides the subject of this sketch being Alonzo 
Hareourt, of Orange township ; Melissa, wife of John Hungerford, of 
that same township ; Elmazie, wife of John Hardick, of Rushville, and 
Wilbur Hareourt, the well known blacksmith. Lewis E. Hareourt 
was reared on the home farm in Orange township, received his school- 
ing in the excellent schools of that neighborhood and until he was 
twenty -three years of age was engaged in work in his father's drill 
factory. He then rented his father's farm in Anderson township 
and thus occupied that place until after his father's death. In the 
distribution of the estate he received a tract of forty acres, to which 
by purchase he added an adjoining "forty." This place he presently 
sold and then bought the old Rickets farm of 117 acres, moved to 
the same and there made his home for fourteen years, at the end of 
which time he retired from the active labors of the farm and moved to 
Milroy, where he has a very pleasant home and where he and his 
family are quite comfortably situated. Mr. Hareourt is an ardent 
Republican, as was his father before him, and has ever given his 
earnest attention to local civic affairs, at present and for some time 
past serving the public as a member of the advisory board of Ander- 
son township. In 1886 Lewis E. Hareourt was united in marriage to 
Martha C. Hodges, who also was born in this county, daughter of 
Alfred Hodges, and to this union five children have been born, Faud, 
Ertel, Callie, Clifford and Jewel (deceased). Faud Hareourt mar- 
ried Nellie Whiteman, who died leaving one child, a little daughter, 
Lois. Ertel Hareourt married Grace Kiplinger and Clifford Har- 
eourt married Carrie Brown. Mr. and Mrs. Hareourt are members 
of the Methodist Episcopal church and have ever taken an interested 
and active part in church work, Mr. Hareourt now and for some 
time past serving as a member of the board of trustees of the church. 
ALBERT M. ROBINSON, plumber, an enterprising business 
man of Manilla, Ind., was born there January 1, 1868, a member of 
old Rush county families, both parents having been born and reared 
in this part of Indiana. They were John T. and Martha U. (Titus) 
Robinson, and had two children, Albert M. being the only one now 
living. John T. Robinson was an engineer and also a carpenter and 
was well known at Manilla. Albert M. Robinson attended the God- 
dard and Homer schools in Walker township, until old enough to 
become self-supporting, when he began farm work and for five years 
was engaged as a farm hand. Following this he cut timber for W. 
E. Talbert, for about ten years and then went into the plumbing 



36 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

business at Manilla, sonic nineteen years ago, in which business he 
has continued ever since. On October 24, 1892, Mr. Robinson married 
Catherine E. Hey, born in Shelby county, Indiana, daughter of 
Jacob and Amanda (Ross) Hey, and one of their two children. Mr. 
and Mrs. Robinson have had five children : William E.. who is a 
farmer in Shelby county, married Lucy Kuhn ; Evon E., who married 
C. P. Hale, freight agent for the Pennsylvania railroad at New 
Albany, Ind. ; Flo and Loren, who reside at home, and Dorothy, who 
died at the age of seven years. Mr. Robinson and his family are 
members of the Christian church at Manilla. Although never very 
active in politics, Mr. Robinson has always been a sturdy Democrat 
and takes a good citizen's interest in public affairs. He is a member 
of the Masonic lodge at Manilla and belongs also to the Modern 
Woodmen. 

JOHN D. FLEENER, who died at his home in Jackson township 
on April 3, 1917, and whose widow still lives there, having a pleasant 
home on rural mail route No. 8 out of Rushville, was born in that 
township on November 25, 1843. His parents were Drury and Sarah 
M. (Dill) Fleener, the former a native of North Carolina and the 
latter born and reared in Rush county. John D. Fleener received his 
educational training in the local public schools in Jackson township. 
After completing his studies he continued to live on the home place 
with his father, assisting him in the operation of the farm up to the 
time of his marriage. He then began farming on his own account on 
the place where his widow now lives, and which comprises eighty-five 
acres of land, a part of which land he inherited and a part of which 
he bought. He successfully carried on farming operations for many 
years and won a high reputation as a wide-awake, up-to-date and 
enterprising farmer. On April 6, 1865, Mr. Fleener was united in 
marriage to Sarah M. (Downey), who was born in Jackson township, 
and attended the Downey school, the same which her husband at- 
tended. She is the daughter of James and Rebecca (Hinton) Downey, 
both of whom were natives of Kentucky. They came to Rush county 
soon after their marriage and entered the land where he spent the 
remainder of his days, the place comprising eighty acres. He and 
his wife were the parents of nine children, five of whom are living, 
namely : David E., Ezekiel, Martha, May and Sarah M. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Fleener was born one child, Nolen D., on March 21, 1888, but 
who died at the age of eleven years, seven months ond twenty-two 
days. Mr. Fleener was an earnest and consistent member of the 
Christian church, to which his widow now belongs. Politically. )v 
was a life-long Democrat, though never an aspirant for public office. 
He was one of Jackson township's most substantial and highly 
esteemed citizens and the many beautiful tributes to his high stand- 
ing as a man and citizen attested to the abiding place he had in the 
hearts of his friends throughout this loealitv. 

CHARLES T. ADDISON, who has been prominently identified 
with the agricultural life of Posey township for years, was born in 
Hancock county, Indiana, on February 19, 1879, and is a son of 
Thomas J. and Elizabeth M. (Cathon) Addison, the former a native of 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 37 

Shelby county, Indiana, and the latter born and reared in Rush county. 
Thomas J. Addison was a farmer by vocation throughout his active 
life, mostly confining his operations to Hancock county, though he 
was the owner of 327 acres of land in Shelby, Rush and Hancock 
counties. To him and his wife were born five children, all of whom 
are living, namely: William A., Delphina, Orlando F., Charles T. 
and Ruth A. Charles T. Addison received his education in Rush 
county, attending the Clark school. He remained at home, assisting 
his father in the farm work, until his marriage, when he rented a 
tract of land from his father and began work on his own account. 
At the time of his father's death, the subject inherited forty acres of 
land and he also bought fifty-two acres, giving him a total of ninety- 
two acres, all located in Posey township, and to the cultivation of 
this land he has since devoted his attention, meeting with splendid 
success. He is progressive and up-to-date in his methods, keeping 
the place in good repair, and carries on a diversified system of farm- 
ing, raising the crops common to this locality. He also gives some 
attention to live stock, raising and marketing about 150 head of hogs 
annually. On December 12, 1900, Mr. Addison was married to Beu- 
lah D. Collins, a native of Rush county, and the daughter of Eli and 
Nannie May (Beekner) Collins, and to their union have been born 
three children, Delphina M., Mary M. and Eli F., all of whom are 
attending the public school at Arlington. Mr. and Mrs. Addison are 
earnest members of the Friends church at Riverside. Politically, Mr. 
Addison gives his support to the Democratic party. He takes a keen 
interest in public affairs and gives his support to every movement 
for the advancement of the general welfare. 

JOHN H. HEEB, of Noble township, is representative of the 
progressive agricultural element of Rush county. He was born in 
Fayette county, Indiana, April 19, 1863, a son of Philip P. and Julia 
A. (Thompson) Heeb, the latter a native of Rush county. Philip P. 
Heeb was born in Germany and was a child of seven years when 
brought to the United States, the family coming on out to Indiana 
and first settling in Franklin county. There the youth acquired his 
educational training in the country schools, but when he was fourteen 
years of age removed to the home of his brother-in-law at Orange. 
While residing there he became apprentice to the trade of wagon and 
buggy making, after mastering which he followed that vocation for a 
number of years. Later he turned his attention to farming near 
Glenwood, in Noble township, where he purchased 150 acres, and 
continued to carry operations thereon until his death in 1904. He 
was a man of industry and good judgment, and a citizen who had the 
respect and esteem of those among whom he spent his life. He and 
his worthy wife, who was a native of Rush county, were the parents 
of three children: John H., Walter S. and Elizabeth Mertie, who 
married Oscar Churchill, who is deceased. John H. Heeb acquired 
his educational training in the public schools of Orange, lnd., and 
Noble township, and on leaving school applied himself to learning all 
the particulars of the business of farming, under the able direction 
of his father. He remained with the elder man until the time of his 



38 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

marriage, when he embarked upon operations on his own account, 
taking over the ownership, with his wife, of his present farm of 
sixty-five acres, located in Noble township. Mr. Heeb is a general 
farmer and a grower of live stock, in both of which departments he 
has made a success. On December 22, 1886, he was united in mar 
riage to Elizabeth, daughter of Isaac J. and Elizabeth (Gregg) Har- 
rell, and to this union there have been born three children: Bon W., 
who married Lula Pullman and has three children, Newell W., Mary 
Elizabeth and Helen B. ; Earl, who married Olive Stevens and has 
one child, Ruth Lorene, and Hazel T., who married Ed. P. Moore 
and has one child, "William Wallace. Mrs. Heeb was born on the 
property on which she is now making her home, her parents being 
respectively natives of Harrison, Ind., and Rush comity. Isaac J. 
Harrell came to Rush county in young manhood and engaged in 
farming, and here resided the rest of his life. He married Elizabeth 
Gregg, daughter of Judge John Gregg, who came to Rush county at 
an early day from Kentucky and entered land in Noble township 
from the Government, on which he erected a log cabin. He became 
widely and favorably known as a man of influence in his community. 
Two children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Harrell, Elizabeth and 
George. Mr. Heeb is a Democrat, but is not a politician. He and his 
wife are generous supporters af various movements, educational, reli- 
gious and civic, and are held in high esteem in the community in 
which they have spent so many years. 

LINCOLN GUPFIN, proprietor of the Guffin Dry Goods Com- 
pany's Store at Rushville, and one of that city's popular and pro- 
gressive business men, is a native of Rush county, having been born 
in Noble township, September 23, 1864, a son of Andrew and Clara 
(Brooks) Guffin, both of Rush county. Andrew Guffin spent his 
entire life in the county, owning 300 acres of land in Noble township, 
and was recognized as one of the shrewd and able agriculturists of 
the community until the time of his death in 1903. He and his wife 
reared a family of nine children: Alice, who married Dr. W. T. 
Cooper; 0. F., Lincoln, Nellie, who married 0. J. Myers; Lucy, who 
married Alonzo Keisling; Andrew, Claude, Maude, who married 
John K. Stiers, and Theodosia, who married Claude B. Hunt. Lin- 
coln Guffin was educated in the common schools of the county and 
at- Little Flat Rock Seminary, from which he was graduated in 1884. 
Thereafter he taught school and assisted his father about the farm. 
teaching for three years at the Hinchman school and then at New 
Salem. lie then gave up the profession of educator in favor of 
farming, continuing on the land until the spring of 1893, when he 
removed to Rushville, being first employed as a clerk by William 
Bliss. After one year in this position, he clerked for six years for 
Frank Wilson, leaving him to go into partnership in the clothing 
business with W. G. Mulno. He continued successfully in this busi- 
ness for eleven years and then sold out his interests to Mr. Mulno to 
open up his present dry goods establishment with his sister-in-law as 
his able assistant. Mr. Cuff in says that the present volume of his 
business is largely due t<> her ability as a business woman and dry 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 39 

goods specialist. Mr. Guffin was married on November 20, 1890, to 
Nettie Myers, a daughter of John S. and Mary (Holman) Myers, 
and it was after her death in March, 1893, that he moved to Rushville. 
He was married to Leora Truster on November 29, 1896. Both Mr. 
and Mrs. Guffin are devout members of the Christian church, in 
which Mr. Guffin was at one time a deacon and also an elder, as well 
as chairman of the official board. Mr. Guffin has the distinction 
of being the first president of the Rush County Chautauqua, which 
ranks second only to that at Winona. Fraternally he is Mason and 
a Knight of Pythias, and in his political views, holds to the princi- 
ples of the Republican party. 

CHARLEY DAVIS, a substantial farmer of Anderson town- 
ship, now living at Milroy, to which pleasant village he moved upon 
retiring from the active labor of the farm a year or two ago, who 
for the past ten years has rendered efficient public service as a mem- 
ber of the county council and in other ways has manifested his 
intelligent interest in public affairs, has been a resident of Rush 
county all his life and is warmly devoted to the county's best inter- 
ests. Mr. Davis was born on a farm and has been a farmer all his 
life, having during the active period of his career as an agriculturist 
developed an excellent piece of property and has also gained some- 
thing more than a local reputation as a breeder of live stock. He 
was born in Anderson township on November 29, 1875, son of Samuel 
H. and Mary E. (Henry) Davis, both of whom were natives of Ken- 
tucky, the parents of seven children, six of whom are still living, 
those besides the subject of this sketch being J. Henry, Robert S., 
Elizabeth, John S. and May Davis. Reared on the home farm, 
Charley Davis completed his schooling at Richland and from the days 
of his boyhood was engaged in the work of the farm and thus grew 
up to be an excellent farmer under the careful direction of his 
father. Upon starting out "for himself" he bought a tract of 120 
acres of the home place and there established his home. In addition 
to his general farming Mr. Davis gave considerable attention to the 
raising of live stock and has been accustomed to feed out about 300 
head of hogs a year and a car load of cattle. His affairs prospered 
and in 1918 he bought an additional tract of 160 acres of the old 
home place and thus has now a farm of 280 acres and one of the 
best equipped farm plants in that part of the county. In December, 
1919, Mr. Davis moved from the farm to Milroy, at which place he 
some time before had bought a house pleasantly situated and he and 
his family are now living there, though he continues to give his farm 
a proper measure of his personal attention, keeping a close super- 
visory eye over the operation of the same. Mr. Davis is an ardent 
Republican and has for years given his thoughtful attention to local 
public affairs. In 1910 he was elected a member of the county council 
from his district and has since been retained in that office, to th« 
discharge of the important duties of which he has given his most 
earnest attention, and is thus widely and popularly known through- 
nut the county. On December 17, 1902, Charley Davis was united in 
marriage to Mildred B. Meek, who was born in Decatur county. 



40 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

daughter of John T. and Florence Eugenia (Bonner) Meek, natives 
of Kentucky, and to this union one child has been born, a daughter, 
Florence Louise. Mr. and Mrs. Davis are members of the Methodist 
church and have ever given their interested attention to church af- 
fairs as well as to the general social affairs of their home neighbor- 
hood, helpful in promoting all causes having to do with the advance- 
ment of the common good hereabout. Mr. Davis is a thirty-second 
degree Mason, affiliated with the local blue lodge and with the Ancient 
Accepted Scottish Rite, Valley of Indianapolis, and is likewise a No- 
ble of the Ancient Arabic Order, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, affil- 
iated with Murat Temple at Indianapolis. He also is a member of 
the Rushville lodge of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks 
and in the affairs of these several fraternal organizations takes a 
warm interest. 

J. M. AMOS was born on the farm upon which he now lives in 
Noble township, March 4, 1854, and has ever maintained the stand- 
ards there set in their respective generations by his father and his 
grandfather, thus projecting the usefulness of his family into a 
later and more progressive period. Mr. Amos is a grandson of 
Joseph J. Amos, who came to Rush county about 1822 and entered 
land near where Milroy came to be located, proved up on it and 
then returned to his native Kentucky, where he engaged in the mer- 
cantile business at Ruddles Mills. A strong anti-slavery man, in 
1842 he decided to leave a community which countenanced the 
purchase and sale of human beings, and accordingly returned to 
Indiana and settled in Rush county, purchasing the farm in Noble 
township that is now the property of his grandson, on which he 
lived until his death in 1S90, when he was eighty-six years of age. 
Through business ability, wise investment and a shrewd apprecia- 
tion of values, he became one of the leading landholders in the 
county, and at one time owned 2,200 acres. A man of education, 
he gave thought and study to the serious things of life, and was one 
of the active members and liberal supporters of the Methodist 
Protestant clrareh, and assisted to build several houses of worship 
of that denomination in this community. He was likewise a great 
friend of education and endowed a chair at Adrian (Mich.) 
Normal School, for $22,500. Mr. Amos was the father of four chil- 
dren: Johanan, Van Buren, Aeretta and Mary. J. Amos, father of 
J M. Amos, was about fifteen years of age when brought from his 
native Bourbon county, Kentucky, to Rush county, in 1842, and 
here he completed his schooling in the district schools. As a young 
man he engaged in farming, but was more interested in trading 
and gradually developed into one of the leading traders in mules 
in the county, particularly during the Civil war. With a promis- 
ing career before him, he was called by death when still a com- 
paratively young man. in his thirty-seventh year, January 16, 1864. 
Mr. Amos married Amanda Hildreth, also a native of Bourbon 
county. Kentucky, and they became the parents of five children: 
laffard Kossuth, Johanan Mazzini, Willard Hildreth, Anna 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 41 

Rebecca and Joseph J. J. M. Amos received his education in the 
district schools of Noble township, after leaving which he took up 
farming on the home place, where he has always resided and oper- 
ated as a general farmer and grower of live stock. He is now the 
owner of 606 acres, in Rushville and Noble townships, the improve- 
ments on which are all of his own building. He and his son, Will- 
iam, who is his associate, feed about 700 hogs annually, and raise 
about 200 acres of com and 175 acres of wheat. His modern im- 
provements include three sets of buildings and the latest and most 
highly approved machinery of every kind. During the heyday of 
horseracing in this country, Mr. Amos gained much more than a 
local reputation as a breeder of fast horses, and bred and owned 
thirty horses that had a record of better than 2 :30. Among these 
was "Legal Tender," a pacer, 2:27, and sire of "Alhambra," 
2:08*4, the fastest horse ever bred in Rush county, which paced a 
quarter of a mile in 27 seconds. Mr. Amos is one of the liberal- 
minded and progressive men of his community, has various other 
interests aside from his farm, and is a director of the Co-operative 
Telephone Company, of Rushville, and of the Rushville National 
Bank. He is a Republican, and a member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. He has always demonstrated his willingness to 
discharge the duties of good citizenship and for three years served 
in the capacity of county ditch commissioner. On December 23, 
1873, Mr. Amos married Estella J. Poston, daughter of George W. 
and Nancy (McNeal) Poston, and to this union there have been 
born five children: William M., who married Mildred Moore and 
has four children, Elizabeth, Anna Louise, Robert and Margaret; 
Ethel, who married George Nicoll and has two children, David 
Amos and William ; Luella, who married Albert Capp and has two 
children, Ellen and Fred; Georgia, who married George Donley, 
and Clorine, who married J. Kennard Allen. 

R. O. KENNEDY, M. D., although one of the latest additions 
to the medical fraternity of Rushville, has already made remarkable 
progress in gaining the confidence and support of the citizens of the 
community. He was born March 28, 1879, in Hendricks county, 
Indiana, on a farm south of Lizton, the son of R. E. and Susan 
(Overstreet) Kennedy, the former of near Paris, Ky., the latter of 
Hendricks county. R. E. Kennedy moved to Hendricks county when 
he was four years old with his parents. There he received his 
education in the public schools and grew to manhood. For his entire 
active life he followed agricultural sursuits, moving to Lizton when 
he retired. Jacob Kennedy, the grandfather of the subject of this 
sketch, was one of the pioneers of Hendricks county and became 
known as a prominent nursery man and breeder of thoroughbred 
Berkshire hogs, Shropshire sheep, and Percheron horses. R. E. Ken- 
nedy and wife were the parents of three children: Elmer W., R. 
O., and Vangie. Dr. R. O. Kennedy attended the public schools of 
Hendricks county and was graduated with the first class to receive 
diplomas from the Lizton high school. He then took up the profes- 



42 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

sion of teaching, continuing in it for nine years and augmenting his 
learning by attendance at the Central Normal School at Danville, 
Ind., and the Indiana State Normal at Terre Haute. However, after 
mature reflection and careful observation, he decided upon a career 
as a doctor of medicine, toward which he had always felt an attrac- 
tion. Accordingly he attended Indiana Medical College at Indian- 
apolis where he found his long years of teaching and study a decided 
advantage. He was graduated in 1913 with his M. D. degree, and 
immediately thereafter located in the town of Milroy, this county. 
During the seven years of his practice there he made a host of warm 
friends, who had every confidence in his ability. Believing that 
Rushville presents a larger field for his endeavors, Doctor Kennedy 
moved to the latter place in May, 1920, and has established himself 
in an increasingly more profitable practice. He married Pearl Edith 
Thompson, a daughter of A. M. and Amanda Thompson, and they 
are the parents of one child, a daughter, Rowena Winnifred. Doctor 
Kennedy is a worker in the Christian church, and politically is found 
in the ranks of the Republican party. He is also well known in fra- 
ternal and professional organizations, being a member of Masonic 
bodies up to and including the Scottish Rite and Shrine. He also 
is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and the 
Knights of Pythias. He is affiliated with the American; state and 
county medical association. 

HORRIE BROOKS, a well known agriculturist, of Noble town- 
ship, is occupying the same property which was the scene of his 
birth. Mr. Brooks, however, has not spent his entire life on this 
farm, as his career has been a somewhat varied one and his expe- 
riences have taken him to various parts of the state. He was born 
on June 10, 1874, a son of James and Frances (Stevens) Brooks. 
James Brooks was born in Adams county, Ohio, where he grew to 
manhood and during the Civil war enlisted in the Sixty-second regi- 
ment, Ohio Volunteer Infantry. At the close of that struggle he 
migrated to Indiana and engaged in farming in Noble township, this 
county, on the farm a part of which is now owned by his son. After 
spending a number of years in this locality he removed to Union 
township, where he rented a farm, and there continued his operations 
until he retired from active life, since when he has lived quietly at 
Rushville. Mr. Brooks married Frances Stevens, who was born in 
Rush county, a daughter of A. J. and Mary (Gregg) Stevens, natives 
of Noble township and members of early families of this locality. 
This is said to be the oldest homestead in Noble township, the land 
having been entered by John Gregg, who came hither from Bracken 
county, Kentucky, as early as 1821, and entered a large tract of land, 
to which he added from time to time, at his death being the possessor 
of 1,300 acres, which he devoted to general farming and the raising 
of live stock. On this land, in 1826, he erected the old home that is 
still standing, in which was born Mary (Gregg) Stevens, the mater- 
nal grandmother of Horrie Brooks, and in which Mr. Brooks, who 
was also born here, now lives. Three children were born to James 
and Frances Brooks, Horrie, Charles and one who died in infancy. 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 43 

Horrie Brooks received his education hi the public schools of Noblf 
and Union townships, and upon leaving school took up farming. 
Later he became interested in racing horses and for a time operated 
a racing stable and entered his horses in various meets all over the 
state, the star of his performers being "John D.", with a record of 
2 -.O^y^. Later he trained race horses at Rushville and for six years 
had charge of a stock farm and racing barn at Clinton, Indiana. 
About 1916 Mr. Brooks retired from the racing game and returned to 
the more prosaie business of farming, after three years spent at 
Indianapolis. He is the owner of a property consisting of fifty 
acres, and is renting sufficient land to make his operations cover 
activities on 100 acres, which he is devoting to general farming and 
stock raising. He is capable, energetic and entirely trustworthy and 
therefore forms a useful and honorable factor in the life of his com- 
munity. Mr. Brooks was united in marriage in 1905 to Mrs. Ella 
N. (Templeton) Shaw, daughter of James W. and Prances (Stout) 
Templeton. They have no children. Mrs. Brooks was born in 
Shelby county, Indiana. Her father was born in Franklin county 
and her mother in Decatur county, this state. After their marriage 
Mr. and Mrs. Templeton resided for a time in Shelby county, but 
later removed to Decatur county, where Mr. Templeton died in 
1901. His widow still survives him and is a resident of Indianapolis. 
They had five children : Flora, Mrs. Brooks, Harry, Grace and Eliza- 
beth. Mr. and Mrs. Brooks are members of the Christian church 
at Rushville. In politics he is a stalwart supporter of the Republi- 
can party. 

CHARLES A. FRAZEE, treasurer of Rush county and former 
postmaster of Rushville, former chairman of the Rush county Repub- 
lican central committee and for many years actively identified with 
civic affairs in this county, one of the best known public men in 
the Sixth district, was born in Rush county and has lived here all 
his life. He was born on a farm in Rushville township on December 
11, 1875, son of Aaron and Sarah (Brooks) Frazee, natives of the 
state of Kentucky, whose last days were spent in this county. Aaron 
Frazee came from Kentucky to Indiana in the days of his young 
manhood and bought a farm in Noble township, this county, where, 
after his marriage, he established his home. Some time later, how- 
ever, he sold that place and bought a farm in Rushville township 
which he developed into a fine piece of property and on which he 
spent the remainder of his life, his death occurring there on May 1, 
1896. His widow survived him more than two years, her death 
occurring on August 23, 1898. Aaron Frazee and wife were the 
parents of four children, those besides the subject of this sketch 
being Ora, wife of W. W. "Wilson, William M. Frazee and Mrs. Myrtle 
Bonner, the latter a resident of Greensburg, this state. Charles A. 
Frazee was reared on the home farm and finished his schooling in 
the Rushville high school. As a young man he continued on the 
farm assisting his father in the operation of the same until the 
latter 's death and for about ten years thereafter continued in active 
management of the same. In February, 1909, Mr. Frazee received 



44 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

from President Roosevelt the appointment as postmaster of Rush- 
ville and continued to serve the public in that important capacity 
until the expiration of his commission in 1913, after which he was 
appointed deputy county treasurer. For four years he served in 
that capacity and then in 1918 was elected county treasurer, leading 
the county ticket in that election. Mr. Frazee is an ardent Republi- 
can and has for years been recognized as among the leaders of that 
party in this part of the state. From 1903 to 1909, thus serving 
three terms, he served his party as chairman of the county central 
committee and in that capacity did much to strengthen and solidify 
the party's interests in this county, his appointment as postmaster in 
the latter year and his subsequent election to the office of county 
treasurer having been property regarded in the community as but 
fitting rewards for the effective service rendered in behalf of the 
committee and the party at large. On August 24, 1899, Charles A. 
Frazee was united in marriage to Georgia McBride. daughter of 
William and Sarah McBride, and to this union has been born one 
child, a daughter, Helen K. The Frazees have a pleasant home in 
Rushville and have ever taken an interested part in the city's general 
social activities and have been helpful in promoting movements look- 
ing to the common good. Mr. Frazee is a thirty-second degree 
Mason, a member of the local lodge of the Free and Accepted Masons 
at Rushville, affiliated with the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite. 
Valley of Indianapolis; is a noble of the Ancient Arabic Order, 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, affiliated with Murat Temple at India- 
napolis, and a member of the Rushville lodge of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. 

CHARLES BENNING, a retired farmer of this county, now 
living at Milroy, where he has quite a snug piece of property adjoin- 
ing his home, was born in the neighboring county of Franklin but has • 
been a resident of Rush county since he was twenty years of age, and 
thus, of course, has long felt "perfectly at home" here. He was 
born on January 14, 1864, son of Charles and Catherine (Brinkman) 
Benning, both of whom were born in Germany but who had come 
to this country with their respective parents in the days of their 
childhood, both the Benning and the Brinkman families coming out 
into Indiana and settling in Franklin county where they established 
their permanent homes and where both families are still represented. 
The senior Charles Benning grew to manhood on a farm in Franklin 
county and after his marriage to Catherine Brinkman became 
engaged in farming on his own account and in time became the owner 
of a fine farm of 160 acres on which he spent his last days. He and 
his wife were the parents of eight children, of whom three are still 
living, the subject of this sketch having a brother, John, and a sister, 
Catherine. Reared on the home farm in Franklin county, Charles 
Benning, Jr., received his schooling in the schools of his home neigh- 
borhood and was from boyhood trained to the ways of the farm. In 
1884 he came over into Rush county and was here engaged in farm 
work until his marriage in 1892 when he rented a farm in Orange 
township and began operations "on his own." For fifteen years he 





ff J 1^^5* 


" 


i. 


W * 









HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 45 

continued as a renter and then bought a small tract of fifteen acres, 
to which in the same year he added an adjoining tract of sixty acres, 
and continued to farm there for several years, at the end of which 
time he sold that place and a year later bought a farm of forty-nine 
acres in Rushville township, on which latter place he continued to 
make his home until he sold it and in 1919 moved to Milroy, where 
he bought a home and eight lots adjacent, thus giving him ample 
garden space, and has since resided there, he and his wife being 
fixed very comfortably. They are members of the Methodist church 
and have ever taken an interested part in church work. Mr. Ben- 
ning is a Democrat, but has never taken a particularly active part in 
political affairs. It was on August 18, 1892, that Charles Benning 
was united in marriage to Ella Campbell, who was born in the 
adjoining county of Shelby, daughter of William and Sarah (Land) 
Campbell, both of whom were born in Jefferson county, this state ; 
members of pioneer families there. William Campbell and his wife 
moved from Jefferson to Shelby county shortly after their marriage 
and located on a farm, where Mr. Campbell continued engaged in 
farming until after his wife's death when he sold his farm and 
returned to Jefferson county. They were the parents of seven chil- 
dren, those besides Mrs. Benning being John, William, Morton, 
Robert, Ida and Bertha. 

JESSE A. LEISURE, who occupied a prominent place in the 
esteem of the people of his section of the county, not only because 
of his business success, but because of his sterling qualities of char- 
acter, is a worthy representative of one of the excellent old families 
of the county, members of which have figured more or less promi- 
nently in the affairs of the community, and this review of his career 
in connection with other representative citizens of Rush county 
therefore is timely. Jesse A. Leisure is a native son of Rush county, 
having been born in Ripley township on December 29, 1858. He is 
the son of John and Jane (Green) Leisure, both of whom also were 
born and reared in Rush county, the father in Posey township and 
the mother in Ripley township. John Leisure followed farming 
throughout his active life and was successful in his business affairs, 
becoming the owner of 1,120 acres of land in Ripley township. To 
him and his wife were born four children, of whom three are living, 
namely, Sarah L., Cora A. and Jesse A. The subject received his 
educational training in the Ernest school in Ripley township, and 
after finishing his studies he went to work for his father on the 
home farm. Two years later he was married and then began farm- 
ing on his own account. Going to Jackson township, he bought 160 
acres of land, which he operated for four years, and then sold that 
and moved to his present location in that same township, buying 
330 acres. Persistent industry and good management characterized 
his efforts and as he prospered he increased his land holdings until 
he became the owner of 1,400 acres of excellent farm land. How- 
ever, he has since given 460 acres of land to his two sons, so that 
his present holdings amount to 940 acres. Mr. Leisure cultivates 



4G HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

practically the entire place, carrying on a general line of farming, 
and in connection he raises considerable live stock, marketing about 
500 head of hogs and about 100 head of cattle each year. The im- 
provements on his farm are all of a permanent, substantial and 
attractive character, the general appearance of the place indicating 
the owner to be a man of good taste and sound judgment. On Octo- 
ber 20, 1881, Jesse A. Leisure was married to Hannah J. Gilson, a 
native of Center township, Rush county, and the daughter of John 
M. and Sophrona (Fry) Gilson, both of whom also were born and 
reared in Rush county, Mr. Gilson having been a successful farmer 
in Center township. Mr. and Mrs. Leisure have two children, 
Harry R. and Orville G. Harry R. Leisure, who is engaged in 
farming in Ripley township, married Effie Linville and to them 
have been born six children, of whom four are living, Mabel M., 
George, Harry, Jr., and Eugene. Orville G. Leisure, who farms in 
Jackson township, married Mabel Linville, and of the three children 
born to them, two are living, Jesse S. and Edith L. Politically, Mr. 
Leisure has always been a stanch supporter of the Democratic 
party and has taken a keen and intelligent interest in public affairs, 
especially as relating to his own county and community, invariably 
giving his earnest support to every movement for the advancement 
of the general welfare. He is an active member of the Church of 
Christ at Little Blue River and has been an elder in this church 
for twenty-five years. He is counted one of the leaders in thought 
and action in his community and enjoys to a marked degree the 
confidence and respect of all who know him. 

FLOYD H. MINER, superintendent of the township school at 
Manilla, has been engaged in educational work since the outset of his 
career, and during the comparatively short period of his allegiance 
to his profession has made rapid strides toward high preferment. 
He is a native of Rush county, born on a farm in Ripley township. 
May 17, 1890, a son of Edward N. and Mary E. (Hill)' Miner, the 
former a native of the neighboring county of Hancock and the latter 
of Rush county. Edward N. Miner is a carpenter by trade and has 
followed that vocation during the greater part of his life, although 
he has given some attention to farming in Ripley township. He and 
his wife reside in Carthage. They have two children, the subject of 
this sketch having a sister, Florence F., a graduate of the high school 
at Carthage. Floyd H. Miner attended the high school at Carthage 
and early evidenced inclinations toward a career as an educator. He 
was but eighteen years of age when he began teaching in Ripley 
township. After three years of teaching there he decided he needed 
further preparation and accordingly pursued a course at the Indiana 
State Normal School at Terre Haute, where he received his degree of 
Bachelor of Arts. He later became principal of the high school at 
French Lick, Indiana, a position which he held during 1914 and 
1915. His next location was at Hackensack, N. J., where he taught 
in the junior high school for two years. While in Hackensack, he 
spent a year in Columbia University doing special work in educa- 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 47 

tion. In the fall of 1917 he returned to Indiana and became superin- 
tendent of schools at West Baden, where he remained three years. 
In the fall of 1920 Mr. Miner came to Manilla, as superintendent of 
the township school, having about 140 pupils and nine teachers under 
his superintendency. Mr. Miner has been very successful in his 
chosen calling. Aside from his instructive ability, and the executive 
capacity necessary for the management of his charges, he possesses 
the ability to secure and hold the good will of pupils and parents. 
He is constantly striving to further prepare himself for valuable 
work in his profession, and is a close and careful student and a lover 
of literature of the best kind. He holds membership in the Forum 
Society of the State Normal School, and is a thirty-second degree 
Mason, belonging to the Blue lodge at French Lick and the Scottish 
Rite at Indianapolis. Following in the footsteps of his mother, he 
belongs to the Society of Friends. On August 30, 1919, Mr. Miner 
was united in marriage to Mary A. Alexander, who was born in 
Fountain county, Indiana, but was reared and educated in Mont- 
gomery county, this state. Mrs. Miner is a graduate of the high 
school at New Market, Indiana, and attended the State Normal School 
at Terre Haute, and Mrs. Blaker's Teachers' College at Indianapolis. 
She is a daughter of Daniel A. and Josephine Alexander, farming 
people of Montgomery county, where Mr. Alexander is still the owner 
of a valuable property. Mrs. Miner has a younger sister, Nioma. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Miner there has come one child : Rosemary, born on 
September 12, 1920. 

WILLIAM H. GLENDENNING, a well-known farmer and 
representative citizen of Posey township, was born in that township 
on November 16, 1890, and is the son of George W. and Margaret F. 
(Powell) Glendenning. He attended school in districts Nos. 1 and 
6 and also received three years of high school work in the Arlington 
school. On leaving school Mr. Glendenning devoted himself to the 
work of the home farm, working for his father until the latter \s 
death, and then continuing for his mother about three years. Since 
then he has been operating the home farm as a renter and has met 
with a gratifying measure of success. The farm comprises 343 
acres of land, all located in Posey township, and there the subject is 
carrying on general farming, raising all the crops common to this 
section of the country, and also giving some attention to live stock, 
handling about 150 head of hogs each year. The place is well 
improved and ranks among the best farms of Posey township. On 
June 12, 1917, Mr. Glendenning was married to Beulah Metsker, who 
was born in the state of California, but was educated in Benton 
county, Indiana. She is a daughter of Luther and Emma (Bowman) 
Metsker, both of whom were born and reared in • Warren county, 
Indiana, where the father followed the vocation of farming. Luther 
Metsker and wife were the parents of six children, all of whom are 
living, namely: Mary, Robert, Beulah, Arnett, Lena and Lucile. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Glendenning have been born two children, Lloyd 
V., born on May 23, 1918, and Georgia, who died in infancy. Mr. 
Glendenning has been a staunch and life-long supporter of the 



48 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Republican party and is now serving a term as a member of the 
county council. He and his wife are earnest members of the Method- 
ist Episcopal church at Arlington. 

WILLIAM CURTIS GEISE, a substantial grain grower and 
live stock dealer, of Noble township, was born in Payette county, 
this state, December 15, 1882, a son of Henry and Frances (Breiten- 
bauch) Geise. Henry Geise was born in Pennsylvania and was a 
small child when brought by his parents from the Keystone state to 
Indiana, the family settling in Payette county, where he was given 
a public school education. Reared to agricultural pursuits, on reach- 
ing years of manhood he adopted the tilling of the soil as his life 
work and engaged therein in Fayette county until 1894, in that year 
renting a farm in Union township, Rush county. This property he 
farmed until 1908, when he moved back to Fayette county and 
purchased a tract of 120 acres, on which he is still carrying on suc- 
cessful operations as a general farmer and grower of live stock. He 
and his worthy wife, a native of Fayette county, have been the 
parents of sixteen children, of whom thirteen survive: Edward. 
Joseph, Mollie, John, Stella, William Curtis, Quincy, Cleve, Vina, 
Emma, Hazel, Ben and Bernice. William Curtis Geise received hi3 
educational training in the public schools of Payette and Rush 
counties, and when ready to embark upon his career engaged in 
farming in association with his father. This connection continued to 
be maintained until Mr. Geise was married, at which time he rented 
the place on which he is now living, and there has developed a hand- 
some property. His operations have extended somewhat since the 
early days of his experience and at this time he is renting 145 acres, 
in addition to which he operates also 143 acres belonging to him, 
and all of it is under a high state of cultivation. Mr. Geise operates 
his property according to the latest approved methods of agricultural 
science, and is practical, efficient and thorough. He has eighty 
acres in corn and fifty acres in wheat, and feeds out on an average 
of 200 hogs each year. Mr. Geise has large and substantial buildings, 
and makes use of the latest equipment and machinery. In 1906 Mr. 
Geise was united in marriage to Ethel Wilson, daughter of John and 
Nora Wilson, and to this union there have been born five children. 
Esther, Ruth, Richard, Harlan and Betty. Mr. and Mrs. Geise are 
members of the Little Flat Rock Christian Church, in the faith of 
which the children are being reared. In his political allegiance Mr. 
Geise is a Democrat. 

ROY WAGGENER, who is discharging with marked ability the 
multifarious duties connected with his important position as secre- 
tary, treasurer and manager of the Park Furniture Manufacturing 
Company of Rushville, was born in Franklin, Ind., March 14, 1881, 
the son of Robert and Nancy (Yelton) Waggener. Robert Waggener 
was a prosperous contractor of Franklin, doing a general business 
in that line as well as being proprietor of a planing mill and lumber 
yard. Roy Waggener received his earlier education in the common 
and high schools of Franklin, after completing which he attended 
Franklin College. Upon leaving scholastic halls behind him, he began 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 49 

working for the Greer Wilkinson Lumber Company of Franklin, 
remaining with them off and on for six years. His initial association 
with this firm was in the capacity of a machine hand, as he wished 
to learn all phases of the business. His advancement was rapid, and 
when he severed connections with the company he was serving it as 
manager of the mill department. Then, in 1908, he came to Rush- 
ville, accepting the position of superintendent of the J. D. Case 
planing mill, remaining with this firm until January, 1919, when he 
became secretary, treasurer and general manager of the Park Furni- 
ture Manufacturing Company, and although he has met with many 
serious and difficult problems on account of the post-war unsettled 
conditions of all business, he has successfully overcome them all. Mr. 
Waggener married Edith Mullendore and three children have been 
born to their union, Mary Elizabeth, Roy, Jr., and Nancy Jane. Mr. 
"Waggener is a communicant of the Baptist church, and politically is 
known as a strong Republican. In fraternal circles he is a Knight 
Templar Mason and holds membership in the Rotary Club. 

WILLIAM J. HENLEY, former judge of the Appellate Court 
of Indiana and for many years a member of the bar of the Rush 
Circuit Court, now living at his old home at Carthage, this county, 
where he is the owner of valuable farming property, was born at 
Carthage on October 15, 1S64, a son of Thc.nas W and Hannah C. 
(Williams) Henley, natives of Greensboro, N. C. Elias Henley, 
father of Thomas W. Henley, was born in North Carolina and in 
1827 brought his family to Indiana, settling on a part of the prop- 
erty on which his grandson, Judge Henley, now makes his home. 
He followed farming and was a man of influence in his community. 
Thomas W. Henley was a child when brought by his parents to 
Rush county, where his subsequent career was passed as a tiller of 
the soil. He was successful in his operations and at the time of his 
death was the owner of 600 acres of valuable land. He and his 
wife were the parents of six children, R. Edgar, Abbie J., Eunice, 
William J., Annie W. and Thomas B. (deceased). William J. Hen- 
ley received his early schooling in the schools of Carthage, and after 
his graduation from the high school with the class of 1881 decided 
upon a career in the law. Accordingly, for two years he read law 
in the office of Mellete & Bundy, at New Castle, Ind., and when 
about twenty years of age went to Rushville, where he served for 
one year as deputy clerk of the court. At the age of twenty-one 
he formed a law partnership with Ben L. Smith, at Rushville, the 
firm being known as Smith & Henley. This association was dis- 
solved after several years and Mr. Henley formed a connection 
with Lot E. Griffin, as Henley & Griffin. In 1896 Mr. Henley was 
elected to the office of Judge of the Indiana State Court of Appeals, 
representing the First district, the youngest man ever elected to 
that high office. After serving eight years on the bench. Judge 
Henley resigned, although he had been elected for a third term. 
In 1903 Judge Henley accepted the position of president and gen- 
eral counsel of the Chicago & Western Indiana railroad and retained 
4 



50 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

that post for nine years, following which he went to Indianapolis 
and became a member of the law firm of Henley, Fenton & 
Joseph. He remained with this concern until 1917, when, acting 
upon the advice of his physician, he retired to the farm upon which 
he now makes his home at the southwest edge of Carthage. Judge 
Henley is a Republican and is a birthright member of the Carthage 
Meeting of Friends. He is a member of Phoenix Lodge, No. 62, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Rushville, and Rushville Lodge No. 
1307, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. In 1912 Judge 
Henley was united in marriage to Myrtle Robinson, who was born 
at Marion, Indiana, daughter of William A. and Anna Robinson, 
and to this union there has come one child, Mary Elizabeth, born 
on November 6, 1913. By a former marriage Judge Henley has 
three children : Mrs. Gladys Mauzy, of Rushville ; William J., Jr., 
and June. 

WILLIAM SEWARD WHITEMAN, a well known retired 
farmer of this county, now living at Milroy, where he has made his 
home for nearly twenty years past, was born in that part of Rush 
county, a member of one of the pioneer families thereabout, and has 
been a resident of this county all his life. The Whitemans have been 
residents of this county for more than a century, the first of the 
name to settle here having been Jacob and Mary Whiteman, who came 
over here from Ohio in 1819 and established their home on a tract 
of "Congress land" two miles southwest of where the village of 
Milroy presently began to have its being, and were thus among the 
real pioneers of this region, that having been in the days before 
Rush county had a separate civic identity. Jacob Whiteman was a 
Pennsylvanian and his wife was a native of South Carolina. They 
developed a farm out of the wilderness in which they had settled and 
there spent their last days, the results of their labors persisting in 
the present generation, and the land which they entered from the 
Government still is in the possession of the family. One of their 
sons, William Whiteman, eventually came into possession of the 
quarter section tract and on that place, on which he was born, he- 
spent all his life, living to the ripe old age of eighty years. William 
Whiteman was born on June .">, 1829. He married Emily Warriner, 
who also was born in Indiana, and established his home on the old 
home place, later increasing his land holdings to 188 acres. He and 
his wife were the parents of six children : Clara, who married Daniel 
Power; Horace G. ; William S., the subject of this sketch, and Mary, 
Martha and Emma. William S. Whiteman was born on June 5, 1862, 
on the place which his grandparents had entered from the govern- 
ment and there grew to manhood, receiving his schooling in the 
schools of that neighborhood, and continued farming with his father 
until after his marriage in 1886 when he rented a farm in Orange 
township and began operations for himself. Four years later he 
returned to Anderson township and bought a farm of eighty acres 
a mile and a half west of Milroy on which he established his home. 
He developed this place in excellent shape and as his affairs pros- 
pered added to his holdings until he became the owner of 188 acres 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 51 

which he still holds. There he remained until 1902 when he retired 
from the active labors of the farm and moved to Milroy, where he is 
still living, continuing, however, to give pretty close supervisory 
attention to the affairs of the farm. It Avas on September 9, 1886, 
that William Seward Whiteman was united in marriage to Clara 
Crane, who also was born in this county, daughter of Isaac and 
Belinda (Camerer) Crane, and to this union one child was born, a 
daughter, Nellie, who married Faud E. Harcourt and who died on 
April 12, 1915, leaving a little daughter, Lois Catherine. Mr. and 
Mrs. Whiteman have a pleasant home at Milroy and have ever taken 
an interested part in the general social affairs of their home com- 
munity. They are members of the Methodist church and for some 
years Mr. Whiteman has been a member of the board of trustees of 
the church. In his political views Mr. Whiteman is a Republican, as 
was his father, and has ever given a good citizen's attention to local 
civic affairs, but has not been a seeker after office. He is a Mason, 
a member of the local blue lodge, and takes a proper interest in the 
affairs of that ancient fraternal organization. 

FREDERICK KESSLER, a retired farmer and substantial cit- 
izen of Walker township, was born in Germany, March 29, 1850, a 
son of Frederick and Barbara (Nicholas) Kessler. They had eleven 
children, the two survivors of the family being Mike and Frederick. 
The parents spent their lives in Germany where the father followed 
the wagon-making trade. Frederick Kessler, the younger, remained 
in his native land until he was twenty years old, going to school in 
boyhood and later helping his father. He was determined, however, 
to emigrate to the United States and took advantage of the first 
opportunity that came his way to secure passage across the Atlantic. 
After being safely landed in the port of New York, he made his way 
to Shelbj-ville, Ind., where an acquaintance by the name of John 
Leafes was established in the drug business, with whom he remained 
for seven weeks, going then to Cincinnati, where he secured a position 
in a bakery and remained there eight months. At this time sickness 
fell upon him and he returned to his friend in Shelbyville. When 
ready to begin work again, he went on a farm and for the next four 
years worked as a farm hand for Andrew Kuhn and later for Daniel 
Kuhn. In 1876 he married and began farming on his own account 
and for the next sixteen years rented land in Rush county, then 
bought his first piece, a tract of eight acres. This was his beginning 
in the acquirement of a large and valuable estate, Mr. Kessler now 
owning 450 acres of land all in one body. For many years he carried 
on general farming and stockraising, each year feeding two car loads 
of hogs. When he felt ready to retire from active work on the farm 
lie found no difficulty as he has strong, sturdy and capable sons 
who are now very successfully carrying on the various industries, 
April 12, 1876, Frederick Kessler married Elizabeth Hatchel, who 
was born in Germany, daughter of Christian and Salome (Bair) 
Hatchel, and who died on July 8, 1912. Mr. Kessler and his wife 
bad eleven children, nine of whom are living: Sarah, Mary, Elizabeth, 
< arrie, John, Jacob, Edward, Frank, Michael, Frederick and William. 



52 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Elizabeth married Gary McKay, a farmer in Rush county, and they 
have four children, Mary, Nella, Dorothy and Thelma. Carrie, who 
died on October 12, 1918, was the wife of Walter Melser, a farmer 
in Rush county, and left two children, Mary and Robert. John, who 
is a farmer in Rush county, married Berta Bebout, who died August 
8, 1917, leaving two sons, Harold and Herman, the latter of whom 
died February 10, 1918. Edward, who is a farmer in Walker town- 
ship, Rush county, married Nora Thebold. and they have one son, 
Raymond. Frank, who is also a farmer in Walker township, married 
Laura Shower, and they have one child, Masella A. William, who is a 
farmer in Decatur county, married a Miss Melser. Frederick, the 
youngest of the family, was an overseas soldier in the World war, 
a member of the second company in the sixth provisional advance 
department, when he was stricken with influenza and died from 
this malady, far from home and kindred. He was a member of the 
Red Men. Mr. Kessler is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church at Manilla. In politics he is a Republican and has always 
been a useful citizen, well known over the county and a member 
of the Masonic lodge at Manilla. 

OSCAR APPLEGATE, a well-known farmer and stock raiser 
of Noble township, is numbered among the substantial citizens of his 
section of the county. Mr. Applegate was born on November 27, 
1852, on the farm where he now lives, and he is a son of John and 
Ann (Kerr) Applegate, the former a native of Ohio and the latter 
of Fayette county, Indiana. John Applegate was brought by his 
parents to Fayette county, Indiana, in his boyhood and there he 
remained until 1845, when he came to Rush county, locating on the 
farm now occupied by the subject of this sketch. Here, in addition 
to farming the land, he followed his trade, that of a wagon, buggy 
and carriage maker, in which he won considerable renown for the 
high quality of his work. In 1855 he won a silver cup at Louisville, 
Ky., for building the finest carriage that was exhibited there that 
year. He died in 1870 and was survived many years by his widow, 
whose death occurred in 1894. They were the parents of two chil- 
dren, Oscar and Rhoda. Oscar Applegate received his education 
in the common schools of Noble township, and after completing his 
studies he remained on his father's farm and, after the deatli of the 
latter, he acquired title to the place and has continued to reside there 
to the present time. The farm comprises 227 acres, all in one body, 
and here Mr. Applegate has been engaged in general farming and 
stock raising. He puts about forty acres to corn, the same amount 
to small grains and also gives some of the land over to pasturage, 
keeping a herd of fifty sheep the year round. He also feeds from 
fifty to sixty head of sheep annually. In 1882 Mr. Applegate was 
married to Nan Blacklidge, the daughter of Martin and Augusta 
Blacklidge, and they have become the parents of four children, 
namely: Arnest, who married Hazel Murphy; Rhoda, who became 
the wife of Clarence Khmer and they have one child, Marcellus: 
Arthur and Charles are deceased. Politically, Mr. Applegate gives 
earnest support to the Republican party. Personally, he is a man 




J. W. ANDERSON 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 53 

of many splendid qualities of character and is deservedly popular in 
his community. 

JOHN W. ANDERSON, better known throughout this region 
as "Trim" Anderson, one of the substantial agriculturists of 
Anderson township, but whose operations as a general farmer, 
feeder of stock and large landowner cover an area extending into 
Decatur county, was born on a farm in Richland township, Rush 
county, September 29, 1869, a son of John Samuel and Priscilla 
(Hopkins) Anderson, the former a native of Decatur county and 
the latter of Kingston, this state. John Samuel Anderson received 
only limited educational advantages, but was a youth of ambition 
and industry, and when still young in years became the owner of 
an extensive property, in both Decatur and Rush counties. He 
moved to the latter county shortly before his death, which occurred 
when he was yet a young man, in 1869, his widow surviving him 
only one year. They had two children : John W., and a child who 
died in infancy. John W. Anderson was an infant when left an 
orphan by the death of his mother, and at that time was taken into 
the home of his uncle, James W. Anderson, who furnished him with 
a public school education. When he laid aside his school books 
he began farming with his uncle, whose associate he was until the 
time of his marriage. He then moved to the property on which 
he now lives in Anderson township, his home being situated on 
R. F. D. No. 1 out of Milroy. Mr. Anderson is now farming about 
600 acres of the home place, and is the owner of about 1,700 acres 
of land in Rush and Decatur counties. All of his property has 
received the benefit of his inclination toward improvements of a 
modern character, and the general prosperity which surrounds his 
farms is demonstrative evidence of the presence of able and ener- 
getic management. As an operator in live stock, Mr. Anderson 
feeds out about 120 head of cattle each year and in the neighbor- 
hood of 1,000 hogs. Politically he adheres to the principles of the 
Republican party and has always supported its candidates. He is 
a faithful member of the Methodist Episcopal church at Milroy and 
is a member of the board of trustees of the same. On February 14, 
1895, John W. Anderson married May Davis, daughter of Samuel 
H. and Mary E. Davis, and to this union have been born five chil- 
dren: Lois, Leland, Alice, Marjorie and John Samuel, all unmar- 
ried and living with their parents. Mr. Anderson is justly ac- 
counted one of the substantial men of his community, and a citizen 
who has kept thoroughly informed as to current events and faith- 
fully discharged all the duties pertaining to an enlightened citizen- 
ship. 

GEORGE B. MOORE, SR., a retired farmer of Posey township 
and a well-known citizen of Rush county, was born in Posey township 
on August 20, 1844, and is a son of James and Mary (Haywood) 
Moore, the former a native of Ohio and the latter of Tennessee. James 
Moore was a farmer by vocation and for many years followed that 
line of work in Posey township, where he owned eighty acres of 



:>i HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

laud. He was the father of four children, John W., Martha A., both 
of whom are deceased, Ileury W. aud George B. The subject of this 
review received his elementary education in the Offutt school house 
iu Posey township, and on the completion of his studies he devoted 
his energies and activities to the home farm, working for his mother 
until her death. He then bought out the interests of the other heirs 
in the home farm and has since continued to make that his home, 
being thus numbered among the oldest continuous residents of Posey 
township. He gave his active attention to the operation of the farm 
until 1902, when he retired from labor and moved to Rushville, hav- 
ing rented the farm. He remained in Rushville until after the death 
of his wife in 1913, when he moved back to the farm and is now living 
there. On November 28, 1891, Mr. Moore was married to Lillie 
Poster, a native of the state of Illinois, but who was educated in the 
schools of Rushville township, this county. She was the daughter of 
William and Margaret (Wheid) Poster and her union with Mr. 
Moore was a most happy and congenial one. Her death occurred on 
May 8, 1913, and her remains lie in the Arlington cemetery. Mr. 
Moore is a member of the Christian church at Arlington, while in 
politics he is a firm supporter of the Democratic party. He has 
always been known as a man of excellent qualities of character, who, 
by years of indefatigable labor and honest effort, not only acquired 
a well-merited prosperity, but also richly earned the highest esteem 
of all with whom he has been associated. 

JESSE WINKLER, the progressive proprietor of a flourishing 
grain elevator business at Rushville, was born in Johnson county, 
Indiana, April 14, 1877, a son of George and Lorinda (Jamison) 
Winkler, natives of Estill county, Kentucky. His father, an agri- 
culturist by vocation, followed farming throughout his life in John- 
son and Rush counties and was a man held in high respect and 
esteem. There were ten children in the family, of whom six are 
living: Lona, Orie, Lennie, Girtha, Delbert and Jesse. Jesse 
Winkler received his education in the public schools of Henry county, 
Indiana, where his boyhood was passed, and entered upon his inde- 
pendent career in the capacity of a farm hand. Industrious and 
thrifty, he accumulated sufficient means with which to establish 
himself as a renter, and after two years was able to buy forty acres 
of land, which he subsequently sold. For a number of years he 
bought and sold different properties, and at one time had accumu- 
lated through industry and good ability 204 acres of valuable and 
well-cultivated land in Rush county, principally in Noble township. 
Mr. Winkler continued to be engaged in farming until 1914, in which 
year he traded his farm for the grain elevator which he now owns 
at Rushville, which he operates as the Winkler Grain Company, and 
which has a capacity of about 25,000 bushels. Mr. Winkler deals 
in grain, coal and flour, and has built up an excellent business, his 
patronage extending all over the territory surrounding Rushville. 
December 9, 1900, Mr. Winkler married Laura M., daughter of Frank 
and Emma (Webster) Trennepohl, farming people of Rush county. 
Mrs. Winkler was born in this county and is the eldest of four ehil- 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 55 

dren, the others being Raye, Opal and Francis. Four children have 
been born to Mr. and Mrs. Winkler, Merle C, Loren and George, 
who are attending school at Rushville, and Robert J. Mr. Winkler 
is a member of the Odd Fellows and Red Men's lodges at Arlington 
and the Elks lodge at Rushville. He is a Republican in his political 
allegiance and he and Mrs. Winkler belong to the Christian church. 
Mr. Winkler's operations have met with deserved success and he is 
justly regarded as a thorough, reliable and progressive business man. 
JOHN G. HAMMOND, a substantial landowner, real estate 
dealer and retired stock buyer, of Milroy, this county, is a native son 
of the neighboring county of Franklin, but has been a resident of 
Rush county for about twenty years and has no cause to regret the 
step which caused him to move over here, for he has done well in his 
operations since coming here. He was born on a farm in Franklin 
county on June 29, 1848, son of John and Charlotte (Davis) Ham- 
mond, the latter of whom also was born in Indiana, a member of one 
of the old families of Washington county, and both of whom spent 
their last days in Franklin county. John Hammond was a Ver- 
monter who left the Green Mountain state when thirty years of age 
and came to Indiana, where he married and established his home in 
Franklin county. He started there on a tract of "Congress land" 
to which he had entered a claim and as he developed that tract added 
to his holdings until he became the owner of a well improved place of 
300 acres on which he and his wife spent their last days, substantial 
and influential residents of the community in which they lived. 
They were the parents of seven children, of whom but four are now 
Jiving, the subject of this sketch having two brothers, William P. and 
Robert Hammond, and a sister, Sarah. Of these children John G. 
Hammond is the only one to make his home in Rush county. Reared 
on the home farm in Franklin county, John G. Hammond received his 
schooling in the local schools of his neighborhood and when he grew 
to manhood engaged in farming and presently also became engaged 
in the business of buying live stock, a business in which he continued 
interested for thirty-five years, during which time he was an exten- 
sive buyer of cattle and hogs throughout Franklin, Decatur and 
Rush counties and of horses all over southern Indiana. In 1904 Mr. 
Hammond moved to Rush county and located at Milroy, where he 
since has made his home. In 1914 he abandoned the live stock busi- 
ness and has since given much of his time to the sale of farm lands 
and a general real estate business in which he has been quite suc- 
cessful, but his chief attention is devoted to the direction of his 
fine farm of 200 acres, on which, besides carrying on general farm- 
ing he raises about three car loads of hogs annually. Mr. Hammond 
is a Republican, has ever given considerable attention to local civic 
affairs and during his residence in Franklin county served for some 
time as trustee of his home township. In 1872 John G. Hammond 
was united in marriage to Marie Matthews, who also was born in 
Franklin county, and to this union have been born five children. 
Marshall, Katie, who married Albert Ross; Ella, who married Otis 
Murray and has one child, Marshall M. ; Cora, who married Scott 



56 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Dawson, and Mary, who married Rex Innis and has three children, 
Robert Perry, Jeannette and Esther Virginia. Mr. and Mrs. Ham- 
mond are members of the Methodist church and have ever taken an 
interested part in church work, Mr. Hammond having served for 
years as a member of the official board of the church. 

ORLANDO C. MACY, a well known retired farmer of Walker 
township, was born in that township, August 2, 1858, a son of 
Tristram and Dorcas (Gardner) Macy, who were born in North 
Carolina and were young people when they came to Rush county. 
His father entered eighty acres of land from the Government and 
developed this pioneer tract into a fine farm, subsequently acquiring 
additional tracts and at the time of death he owned 550 acres situated 
in Rush and Shelby counties. Orlando C. Macy is one of the three 
survivors of a family of six children, having one brother, Erasmus 
D., living in Shelby county, and another brother, Thomas B., living in 
Hancock county. Orlando C. Macy attended the district school near 
his father's farm in Walker township during boyhood and afterward 
assisted his father at home until ready to start out for himself. 
When he married he rented one of his father's farms containing 
eighty acres, contracting to meet the rent problem by paying the 
taxes and keeping the entire farm in repair, a contract that both 
he and his father lived up to, and when his father died the farm 
became his property. Until he retired and rented out the farm Mr. 
Macy carried on the usual farm industries and gave much attention 
to raising poultry. On October 16, 1881, he married Mary Adams, 
born in Rush county, daughter of Garland B. and Flora (Miller) 
Adams. The father of Mrs. Macy was born in Henry county, Indiana, 
and the mother in Ohio. Mr. Adams owned a farm of eighty-five acres 
in Rush county. They had three children, all now deceased. Mrs. 
Macy died on March 4, 1919. On October 19, 1919, Mr. Macy 
married Ella Wilson, who was born in Johnson county, Indiana, 
daughter of William L. and Margaret F. (McCollum) Wilson, who 
had a family of six children, John D., Mrs. Mollie Wilhelm, Mrs. 
Etta Worden, Mrs. Ella Macy, Eunice and Lilly, the two youngest 
being deceased. Mr. Wilson was an undertaker. Mr. Macy is a 
member of the Christian Union church at Homer. In polities he is 
a Republican. 

L. E. DYER, superintendent of the Ripley township consoli- 
dated school, is one of the younger members of the educational pro- 
fession in Rush county who is making rapid strides in his calling. 
Mr. Dyer was born in Greene county, Indiana, November 25, 1894, a 
son of Charles F. and Delia (Breeden) Dyer, natives of that county, 
and for a number of years engaged in agricultural pursuits there. 
The early education of L. E. Dyer was secured in the public schools 
of Worthington, Ind., and after his graduation from the high school 
at that place he took a course in the Central Normal School at Dan- 
ville, Ind., from which he was duly graduated. Since that time he 
has done post-graduate and educational work at DePauw and Colum- 
bia Universities, and one summer was instructor in agriculture in 
Central Normal College. In 1917, after two years of teaching in 




W. II. McMILLIN 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 57 

rural schools, Mr. Dyer was appointed principal of the Carthage 
high school, a capacity in which he served for two years, following 
which he was appointed superintendent of the consolidated school 
of Ripley township. In this position he has done much to vindicate 
the faith reposed in his abilities and has brought his school up to a 
high grade of educational efficiency. Under his supervision are 
twelve teachers and 350 pupils, among all of whom Mr. Dyer is 
popular. On September 22, 1916, Mr. Dyer married Estella Dayhoff, 
who was born in Greene county, Indiana, and educated there in the 
graded and high schools. Later she attended DePauw and Columbia 
Universities, where she took special teacher's work. Mr. and Mrs. 
Dyer are members of the Carthage Methodist Episcopal Church. In 
political matters he is a Republican. 

WILLIAM H. McMILLIN, former auditor of Rush county and 
who for years has been regarded as one of the most substantial far- 
mers and stockmen of Union township, where he is now living, was 
born in this county and has lived here all his life. He was born on 
a farm in Union township on Christmas day, 1866, son of John T. 
and Nancy B. (Pentecost) McMillin, the latter of whom was born 
in Union county, this state, daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth 
(Bishop) Pentecost. Thomas Pentecost was born in Union county 
in 1805, son of John and Jemima Pentecost, and his last days were 
spent in Henry county. His wife was born in 1808, daughter of 
William and Elizabeth (Freel) Bishop, the latter a daughter of 
John and Elizabeth (Wood) Freel. William Bishop, who was a 
soldier in the War of 1812, was born in Maryland, son of Robert 
and Rachel Bishop, also natives of Maryland, and his last days were 
spent in Preble county, Ohio. John T. McMillin was a member of 
one of the pioneer families of Rush county. He was born on a farm 
in Union township, in the immediate vicinity of the place on which 
his son, William II. McMillin, now resides, August 30, 1831, son of 
John and Susanna (McConnell) McMillin, the latter of whom was 
born in what is now Brown county, Ohio, in 1800, daughter of 
Thomas and Mary (Downing) McConnell, both natives of Pennsyl- 
vania, of Colonial stock, the latter a daughter of John and Susan 
(Ellis) Downing. Thomas McConnell was born in 1772, a son of 
Arthur and Elizabeth (Wilson) McConnell and grew to manhood 
in Pennsylvania, leaving there after attaining his majority for 
Mason county, Kentucky, where he married Mary Downing. Not 
long afterward he moved over the river into Brown county, Ohio, 
and was living there when the War of 1812 broke out, He enlisted 
his services and was commissioned a captain, his company becom- 
ing attached to the command of General Hull and was with that 
general at the time of the latter 's inglorious surrender at Ft. De- 
troit. John McMillin, the Rush county pioneer and grandfather of 
William II. McMillin, was born in Washington county, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1793, son of Thomas and Mary (Young) McMillin, who 
had come to this country from Ireland and who were the parents 
of six children. When he had passed his majority John McMillin 
left Pennsylvania and went to Brown county, Ohio, where in the 



58 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

summer of 1824 he married Susanna McConnell and almost imme- 
diately afterward he and his wife came over into Indiana and set- 
tled on a farm in Union township, this county, locating on a tract of 
land he previously had entered in section 13 of that township, and 
there he spent the remainder of his life, his death occurring on May 
29, 1850. He was successful in his operations and at the time of his 
death was the owner of 600 acres of land in Union township. His 
widow survived him for more than thirty years, her death oceur- 
ing in 1885. Reared on the home farm in Union township, John T. 
McMillin continued to reside there after his marriage, farming a 
portion of his father's broad acres, and in time became the owner 
of a fine farm of 260 acres in section 12, besides two other farms 
in the county and was accounted one of the leading farmers of the 
county. "When the Rush County Agricultural Society was organ- 
ized in 1857 he was one of the directors of the association and after- 
ward served as president of the same and later as a member of the 
executive board, his efforts in that behalf having done much to 
make of the Rush county fair one of the best annual events of the 
sort in Indiana during that period. He took an active interest in 
the breeding of horses in the days of Rush county's supremacy in 
the line of horse flesh and did much to develop the heavy draft 
strain hereabout. He was a member of the Christian church, was 
an elder in the same until his death, and from the days of the organ- 
ization of the Republican party was a staunch Republican. John 
T. McMillin was twice married. On November 25, 1852, he was 
united in marriage to Sarah Buzan, daughter of Wills and Maria 
(Kendall) Buzan, of Union township,, and to that union there were 
born three children, Clara A., Laura B. and Sarah Belle. The 
mother of these children died in January, 1857, and in November of 
the following year Mr. McMillin married Nancy B. Pentecost, 
whose lineage is noted in the introductory paragraph of this sketch. 
To this union were born five children: Emma J. (deceased), who 
was the wife of John L. Shauck; John A. (deceased); Ora M. ; 
William H., and Lyda 0. William H. McMillin was reared on the 
home farm in Union township and from the days of his boyhood 
maintained an active interest iu the development of the place, after 
his marriage continuing to farm the place in association with his 
father until the latter 's death on October 3, 1900. For some time 
prior to that date he also had been operating the grain elevator at 
Ging's Station, which his father owned, and he continued to oper- 
ate the same until in 1905, when he sold the elevator and bought 
the old home place, a well improved farm of 260 acres, of which he 
since has sold off an "eighty," and is now making his home there. 
From the days of his boyhood Mr. McMillin has been interested in 
the breeding of live stock and of late years has given his particular 
attention to hogs, feeding out about 250 head a year. For years 
Mr. McMillin has been regarded as one of the leaders of the Repub- 
lican party in Rush county and in 1916 was elected county auditor. 
During his period of public service he still maintained oversight of 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 59 

his farm interests and upon the completion of his term of office 
returned to the farm and has since devoted his entire attention to 
the operations of the same. On October 14, 1885, William H. Mc- 
Millin was united in marriage to Cora A. Bell, who also was born 
in this county, daughter of Joseph and Melinda Bell, and to this 
union three children have been born, namely : Edith B., who mar- 
ried Walter E. Smith, and who died on April 12, 1915; Nellie J., 
who married Prank Logan and has three children, Russell W., 
Wayne and Wava; and Ruby May, who married Ross Logan, and 
died on February 26, 1920, leaving one child, a son, William J. 
Mr. and Mrs. McMillin are members of the Plum Creek Christian 
church. Mr. McMillin was a member of the first board of trustees 
of this church, has been an elder for twenty-one years and is 
assistant secretary of the Sunday school. lie is a thirty-second de- 
gree Mason, affiliated with the blue lodge at Rushville and the con- 
sistory at Indianapolis and is also a noble of the Ancient Arabic 
Order of Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, affiliated with Murat Temple 
at Indianapolis. Mr. McMillin also is an Odd Fellow, in which 
order he is a past noble grand, and is also affiliated with the 
Knights of Pythias. 

JAMES W. ARBUCKLE, one of the leading business men of 
Homer, this county, where he is engaged in the manufacture of tile, 
has spent practically his entire life in this community where he stands 
high in the confidence of the residents. He was born in Orange 
township, Rush county, February 23, 1867, a son of Nathan and 
Martha (Lawrence) Arbuckle, natives of Rush county, where the 
father followed farming and tile making all of his life. There were 
three children born to the parents, all of whom survive: Fred, Ida 
and James W. James W. Arbuckle obtained his early education in 
the public schools of Walker township, following which he took a 
preparatory course in a school connected with DePauw University. 
He next attended the university, and graduated therefrom in 1892. 
Mr. Arbuckle not only made a good record as a student, but was 
prominently known in college athletics, being a member of the foot- 
ball and baseball varsity teams in 1891 and 1892. On leaving college 
he came to Homer and was employed by his father for several 
months, following which he went to Windfall, Ind., and becames 
superintendent of a drain tile factory of that place. After one year 
he returned to Homer and began teaching school, and after one year 
was made principal, a position which he retained two years more. 
He then rejoined his father in the manufacture of drain tile at 
Homer, which has a capacity of one carload of tile per day, in the 
production of which four kilns are used and employment is given to 
twelve persons. In 1908 Mr. Arbuckle and his father built a tile 
factory at Williamstown, on the southern border of the county, which 
is operated under the same management. The business is now a 
flourishing one, and Mr. Arbuckle is numbered among the substan- 
tial men of his commmunity, being likewise known as a man of sound 
business judgment and keen foresight. He is a member of the 



60 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Masonic lodge at Manilla, a thirty-second degree Mason and Shriner, 
and holds membership also in the lodges of the Improved Order of Red 
Men and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, at Homer; and 
Elks Lodge, No. 1307, of Rushville. "With his family, he belongs to 
the Homer Baptist church. His political support is given to the 
Democratic party. On April 7, 1892, Mr. Arbuckle was united in 
marriage to Julia Robertson, who was born and educated at Homer, 
daughter of James T. and Delilah (Cassady) Robertson. Mr. and 
Mrs. Arbuckle have one daughter: Ruth, born in March, 1894, a 
graduate of Shortridge high school, Indianapolis, now the wife of 
Harry M. Carr, of Indianapolis, with two children, Virginia R. and 
William H. 

HARRY F. McFATRIDGE, the well knowTi farmer whose name 
forms the caption to these paragraphs, was born in Posey township, 
this county, on October 11, 1883, and is the son of James W. and 
Jessie (Conaway) McFatridge, both of whom also were born, reared 
and educated in that same township. The father followed agricul- 
tural pursuits all his active years in Posey township, operating the 
land now owned by the subject, and at the time of his death he was 
the owner of 200 acres of good farm land. To him and his wife were 
born five children: Fred, Charles, Golda, Evelina and Harry. The 
subject of this sketch received his education in the common schools 
of his native township, attending the Beaver Meadow school. From 
his boyhood days he followed farming and remained on the home 
place up to the time of his marriage. He then started out on his 
own account, buying eighty acres of land adjoining the home farm, 
and thereafter he devoted himself to the operation of both farms. 
Mr. McFatridge carries on general farming operations, raising all 
the crops common to this section of the country, and also gives some 
attention to live stock, feeding about 200 head of hogs annually. On 
June 23, 1913, Mr. McFatridge was married to Anurice Tarbet, who 
was born, reared and educated in Rush county, the daughter of John 
and Mary (Scott) Tarbet, both natives of Rush county. Of the six 
children who were born to Mr. and Mrs. Tarbet, four are living. 
Anna, Charles, Anurice and James. Mr. and Mrs. McFatridge are 
the parents of three children, James, "Wesley and Ralph. Mr. McFat- 
ridge is a wide-awake, progressive man, keeping in close touch witli 
the trend of public affairs, and gives his support to every movement 
for the general welfare. He is a good business man and has made a 
success of his vocation. In addition to his local farm holdings, he 
is the owner of 200 acres of land in Perkins county, South Dakota, 
which is mainly devoted to the raising of wheat. Mr. McFatridge 
gives his support to the Republican party and he and his wife are 
members of the Methodist Episcopal church at Arlington. 

NOAH E. PRICE, a representative of one of the early families 
in Rush county and owner of a well improved farm eligibly located 
in Posey township, was born in that township on May 23, 1882, and 
is the son of Elihu and Mary (Reddick) Price, who are represented 
elsewhere in this work. Mr. Price received his educational training 
in district school, No. 2, Posey township, and after completing his 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 61 

schooling devoted himself to work on the home farm, where he 
remained until his marriage. He then rented the farm from his 
father and has continued to operate it to the present time. The farm 
comprises 230 acres of fine land, on which Mr. Price carries on a 
diversified system of farming, raising all the crops common to this 
locality, and he also gives some attention to live stock, raising about 
two carloads of hogs annually. He is thoroughly up-to-date in his 
methods and is numbered among the progressive farmers of Posey 
township. On January 22, 1904, Mr. Price was married to Laura 
Abercrombie, who was born in Franklin county, Indiana, the daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Mary (Thatcher) Abercrombie, both of whom also 
were born and reared in Franklin county. Mr. Abercrombie followed 
farming during the greater portion of his life, being the owner of 
100 acres of land. To him and his wife were born six children, four 
of whom are living, Louis, Laura, Harry and Eugene. Mr. and Mrs. 
Price have had two children, Donald L., born on May 10, 1907, and 
Mary, who died in infancy. Mr. Price gives his support to the 
Democratic party. He is a member of Beech Grove Lodge, No. 399, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, at Arlington, and also belongs to 
the encampment. He is public spirited and lends his support to any 
cause that has for its ultimate object the betterment of his locality in 
material, civic and moral lines. Mrs. Price is a member of the 
Methodist church at Arlington. 

LOWELL M. GREEN, M. D., one of the best known members 
of the medical profession at Rushville, was born in that city on 
April 15, 1882, a son of Hon. Thomas M. Green, who was also a 
native of this county, born at Milroy, on September 16, 1853. 
Thomas M. Green was the son of Samuel and Elizabeth (McKee) 
Green, residents of Rushville, and lived upon a farm in this county 
until he was eighteen years of age, when he was matriculated at In- 
diana State University. At this institution he pursued his studies 
for two years, then entering as a student the law office of John A. 
Holman, at Indianapolis. Ill health forced him to return to the 
farm in Rush county after eighteen months spent in preparation for 
the legal profession, but in a few months he once more attempted 
his chosen calling. He was admitted to the Rush county bar, and 
entered the office of Sleeth & Study, but the condition of his health 
forbade his continuance as a lawyer, and in two years he was com- 
pelled to give up his cherished ambition. He accordingly inter- 
ested himself in the stove and tinware business, in 1870 forming a 
partnership with M. C. Kitchen, which lasted for four years. In 
1886 Mr. Green was elected on the Republican ticket as representa- 
tive from Rush county to the state legislature. Thomas M. Green 
was married on June 5, 1879, to Anna D. Foxworthy, daughter of 
James II. and Cynthia A. (Barrett) Foxworthy, natives of Rush 
county, and they became the parents of four children: Paul D., 
Lowell M., Myron R. and Alma M. Lowell M. Green received his 
preliminary schooling in the public schools of Rushville and was 
graduated from the high school with the class of 1S99. He then 



62 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

attended Indiana University for two years, taking the pre-medical 
course, and thereafter took a four-years course at Indiana Medical 
College, from which he received the degree of Doctor of Medicine in 
1906. Upon receiving his diploma Doctor Green began the practice 
of his profession in Indianapolis, but in the fall of that same year 
returned to Rushville where he opened an office, and has there 
continued in practice. On July 19, 1917, Doctor Green volunteered 
for service in the World war and was commissioned a first lieuten- 
ant in the Fourth regiment (infantry) of the Indiana National 
Guard. He recruited a medical unit of thirty-three men, thirty-one 
of whom were residents of Rush county, and on August 5, 1917, this 
unit was mustered into the Federal service as the Infirmary of the 
One Hundred and Thirty-ninth Field Artillery. After a month's 
training at Camp "Wolfe, Rushville, the company was ordered to 
Fort Benjamin Harrison, at Indianapolis, and on September 28, 
1917, was sent to Camp Shelby, Hattiesburg, Miss. After months 
of training and weary waiting, the division of which this unit was 
a part was sent overseas to France. Returning to this country in 
the spring of 1919 the organization was discharged. Doctor Green 
was discharged from the service on January 20, 1919, with the rank 
of captain in the Medical Corps, United States Army. Doctor 
Green is a member of Rush Post, No. 150, American Legion, and 
was chairman of the first executive committee of that patriotic or- 
ganization. He is a life member of the American Red Cross and 
a member of the Rush County Medical Society, the Sixth District 
Medical Society, the Union District Medical Society, the Indiana 
State Medical Society and the American Medical Association. He 
is a thirty-second degree Mason, affiliated with Phoenix Lodge, 
No. 62, Free and Accepted Masons, at Rushville ; Rush Chapter, No. 
24, Royal Arch Masons; Rush Council, No. 41, Royal and Select 
Masters, and Rushville Commandery, No. 49, Knights Templar, and 
with the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, Valley of Indianapolis, 
and is a noble of the Ancient Arabic Order of Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine, affiliated with Murat Temple at Indianapolis. He is a 
member of the college fraternities Beta Theta Pi and Phi Chi and 
is likewise affiliated with the Knights of Pythias, the Beuevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks and the Fraternal Order of Eagles. 
He is a Republican and he and his wife are members of the United 
Presbyterian church. On September 15, 1910, Dr. Lowell M. Green 
was united in marriage to Maud B. Fargo, an alumnus of DePauw 
University and a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Louis W. Fargo, natives 
of Virginia, and to this union two children have been born, both 
sons, Thomas M. Green, Jr., and Lowell M. Green, Jr. 

H. E. DAUBENSPECK, one of those farmers of Rush county 
whose success is directly attributable to astute and careful manage- 
ment, conducts large farming operations in Union township from his 
home in Rushville. He was born on September 20, 1858, in Union 
township, the son of Harvey and Margaret (Hinchman) Dauben- 
speck, the former a native of Kentucky, the latter of Rush county. 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 63 

Harvey Daubenspeck came to this county on September 12, 1827, 
when two years of age, with his father Jacob, who entered and bought 
land in Union township, farming and trading throughout his entire 
life. He was an intensely religious man, was a preacher in the 
Christian church, and was one of the founders of Ben Davis Creek 
Church. At one time during his life he owned about 700 acres in this 
county and died full of honor and years at the advanced age of 
ninetj r -seven. Harvey Daubenspeck received his education in the 
public schools of the township, and grew to manhood on his father's 
farm. He then rented land from his father and began farming for 
himself, and in 1849 he bought 160 acres in Union township where 
he lived until 1865. At that time he bought an additional 160 acres 
in the same section, to which he moved. Here he continued success- 
fully, acquiring in all 510 acres, all in Union township, before death 
called him in 1918 at the age of ninety-two years. He was one of the 
most extensive stock raisers of the county, feeding out all his own 
grain and buying other, feeding out as an approximate average 200 
head of hogs and from fifty to seventy-five of cattle. He and his 
wife were the parents of eleven children, nine of whom are now living, 
those besides the subject of this sketch being Emely, widow of O. M. 
Smith, who lives at the corner of Ninth and Harrison streets in 
Rushville; Elizabeth, now Mrs. Anthony Kline; Rebecca, now Mrs. 
James M. Smith, of Union township, this county ; Jacob C, who lives 
in Idaho ; Effie, now Mrs. A. C. Haskett, of Union township ; Philip 
S., who is farming the home place in Union township; Iva, who is 
making her home with Mrs. A. C. Haskett, and Miles of Fayette 
county. H. E. Daubenspeck was educated in the schools at Glenwood 
and upon leaving school he farmed with his father until he was 
able to buy eighty acres from him. Since then he has steadily added 
to his possessions until he now owns 605 acres, all in Union township. 
He has done a general farming and stock raising business, and on 
the home place of 2S5 acres, which he has greatly improved by the 
addition of modern buildings and equipment, he would feed out about 
600 head of hogs and thirty of cattle. On February 21, 1883, he was 
married to Jessie Blackledge, a daughter of Clinton and America 
(Amos) Blackledge, and their union has been blessed with four 
children: Clarence, Paul, Ruby, and Wayne. Clarence married 
Laura Ging and has two children, Veril and Mary Ella. Paul mar- 
ried Hazel Hinchman and has two children, Robert and Marion. 
Ruby married Ernest Staida and has two children, June and Edgar 
Neal. Wayne is unmarried and lives at home with his parents. Mr. 
Daubenspeck has been one of the most earnest workers in the cause 
of the Christian church, and has held nearly all the lay offices, 
being now an elder. He is an ardent frateraalist, being a thirty- 
second degree Mason and a member of the Shrine, Murat Temple, 
Indianapolis, a Knight of Pythias and a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. The principles of the Republican party coin- 
cide most nearly with his own political views, and he is consequently 
counted among its supporters, taking an active interest in all ques- 
tions both local and national. 



64 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

CHARLES HUGO, one of Rushville 's retired citizens, was born 
in Switzerland county, Indiana, August 1, 1849, the son of Charles 
and Charlotte (Banza) Hugo, both of whom came to this country 
from Germany prior to their marriage, settling in Cincinnati. Charles 
Hugo, Sr., worked in that city at his trade of plasterer for some 
time, moving to Vevay, Ind., where he continued in the same occu- 
pation. About the year 1855, he removed to Indianapolis where he 
remained until his death, which occurred in 1861. He and his wife 
were the parents of six children, of whom two are now living, Charles 
Hugo having a sister, Sophia, who married T. W. Brown and resides 
in Indianapolis. Charles Hugo, Jr., received his education in the 
excellent schools of Indianapolis, and when he finished took up 
teaming which he followed during the war. He then was engaged 
in carpentering and later was employed as a fireman on a switch 
engine on the Pan Handle route until 1S73. He next was a member 
of the Indianapolis fire department for three years. Thereafter, he 
spent five years in the South, near San Antonio, Tex., but in 1882 
he came to Rushville where he has since resided. For twenty-five 
years he was engaged actively in business in this city, at the end of 
that period selling out his business and retiring. He realized that a 
safe investment lay in land, and he put part of his earnings into a 
farm of 246 acres which lies in Jackson and Rushville townships, 
this county. He has greatly improved this property, taking great 
pride in the general appearance of his buildings and equipment. Mr. 
Hugo was married in 1886 to Emma Posey, a daughter of Harrison 
and Sarah (Gardner) Posey, and after her death married Fannie 
Posey, her sister. Mr. Hugo adheres to the tenets of the Methodist 
Episcopal church, in the cause of which he is an earnest worker, and 
in his political views is known as one of the strong supporters of the 
Republican party. Mrs. Hugo's father, Harrison Posey, was born 
in this county in 1825, a son of Armstead and Catherine (Miller) 
Posey, the former a native of Virginia and the latter of Ohio, who 
were married in the latter state and in the early '20s of the past 
century came to Indiana, locating in this county where they spent 
the remainder of their lives. Armstead Posey and his wife were the 
parents of nine children: Alfred, Louise, Eliza, Susan, May, "William. 
John, Harrison, and one who died in infancy. Armstead Posey's 
father, Zephaniah Posey, who was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, 
spent his last days in this county, dying in 1826, and was buried 
in Hopewell cemetery. Harrison Posey grew up to the life of the 
farm in this county and became a successful farmer, at the time of 
his death being the owner of 400 acres in Rushville township. Har- 
rison Posey's wife, Sarah Jane Gardner, was the daughter of Landon 
and Mary Gardner, the former one of the early farmers of Walker 
township, the owner of 900 acres of land. He was a Kentuckian by 
birth, and he and his wife were the parents of nine children, those 
besides Mrs. Posey having been Mary Ann, William, Amanda, Marion 
F., Robert, Emily, Louisa and Lucinda. Harrison Posey and wife 
had eight children, those besides Emma and Fannie being William 
A., Mrs. Louisa Wertz, James K. and Mrs. Minnie Moffett. 




XATIIAX WEEKS 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 65 

HON. NATHAN WEEKS, an honored veteran of the Civil 
war, who died at his home in Rushville in the spring of 1911 while 
serving as representative from this legislative district in the lower 
house of the Indiana General Assembly and who had previously 
rendered service in the public behalf as treasurer of Rush county, 
left a good memory and in the memorial annals of Rush county 
there are few names held in better remembrance than his. Mr. 
Weeks was a native Hoosier, a fact of which he never ceased to be 
proud, and ever held the interests of the state close to heart. 
Though but an adopted son of Rush county, for he was not born 
here, he entered at once upon taking up his residence here into the 
spirit of things and ever took an earnest and active interest in 
public affairs, promoting in such ways as he could the cause of 
good citizenship and better local government. Upon the outbreak 
of the Civil war he enlisted his services in behalf of the cause of the 
Union and in the battle of Shiloh received a wound from the effects 
of which he suffered all the rest of his life. Mr. Weeks was born 
on a farm in the neighboring county of Henry on March 19, 1841, 
son of Benjamin and Winnie Weeks, who spent their last days in 
that county and of whose children Nathan Weeks was the only one 
to take up his residence in Rush county. Reared on a farm in 
Henry county, Nathan Weeks received his schooling in the schools 
of that county and as a young man learned the trade of harness 
making, presently becoming engaged in that business on his own 
behalf in the village of Greensboro in his home county, later estab- 
lishing a buggy shop in that same village. When the Civil war 
broke out he enlisted his services and went to the front as a member 
of D Company, Thirty-sixth regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry, 
and was serving with that command when at the battle of Shiloh 
he received a serious wound and was invalided home as unfitted for 
further military service and was presently given his honorable dis- 
charge on account of incapacity due to this wound. He continued 
operating his harness-making and buggy shop at Greensboro until 
in the early '70s, when he came down into Rush couuty and opened 
a retail meat shop at Carthage, his first experience in that line. 
This initial experience convinced Mr. Weeks that he had a certain 
natural capacity for that business and he presently moved to Rush- 
ville, seeking a larger market, and opened a butcher shop in that 
city. He was a Republican and from the beginning of his residence 
here had taken an active interest in political affairs and presently 
was elected treasurer of the county. Upon entering the treasurer's 
office he discontinued his retail meat business and upon the com- 
pletion of his four years' term of service in the court house bought 
a farm of 280 acres in the vicinity of Rushville and there estab- 
lished his home, operating the farm thereafter until his death on 
May 29, 1911. In the election of 1910 Mr. Weeks was elected rep- 
resentative from this district to the Indiana legislature and was 
serving in that honorable capacity at the time of his death. As 
5 



66 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

noted above Mr. Weeks was a Republican and was for years recog- 
nized as one of the able leaders of that party in Rush county. He 
was a member of the Methodist church, an active member of the 
local post of the Grand Army of the Republic and was also affili- 
ated with the local lodges of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and of the Knights of Pythias, in the affairs of which several or- 
ganizations he ever took a warm interest. In 1865 Nathan Weeks 
was united in marriage to Martha Macy, of Henry county, daugh- 
ter of Lorenzo and Rachel Macy, and who survives him, and to that 
union were born three children, two sons and a daughter, Ulysses, 
George and Ella, all of whom are dead except the latter, who is 
unmarried, continuing to make her home with her mother at Rush- 
ville. Mrs. Weeks is a member of the Methodist church, as was her 
late husband, and has ever taken an earnest interest in the work 
of the church as well as in all proper movements having to do with 
the betterment of conditions in her home community. 

ORIN P. WAMSLEY, proprietor of the Hotel Scanlan at Rush- 
ville, president of the Hotel Keepers' Association of Indiana and one 
of the best known hotel keepers in the country, is a native son of 
Rush county and has done much in his way to reflect credit upon 
the place of his birth, his popularity among the leaders of his calling 
in Indiana culminating in his election in 1920 to the responsible 
position of administrative head of the state association to which he 
had long given his earnest and helpful attention; a fitting recogni- 
tion of his managerial ability as well as an unsought testimonial of 
the high esteem in which his associates hold him. Barring a period 
of several j r ears during which he lived in Indianapolis gaining val- 
uable experience in the hotel business Mr. Wamsley has always lived 
in this county and his acquaintance is county wide, even as it is 
state-wide among hotel men. He was born at the pleasant old village 
of New Salem in Noble township on May 26, 1882, a twin, but was 
bereft by death of his mate, Earl, when eight weeks old. He is a son 
of William C. and Eliza A. (Boling) Wamsley, the former of whom is 
still living, connected with the management of the Hotel Scanlan 
and familiarly and lovingly known as "Dad" to hundreds of trav- 
eling men throughout the middle West who make Rushville on their 
rounds and whose favorite stopping place there is the Scanlan. 
William C. Wamsley is a native of the old Buckeye state, but has 
been a resident of Indiana and of Rush county since the days of his 
boyhood and there are few men in this county who are better known 
then he. He was born at Oxford, Ohio, September 4, 1847, son of 
William B. and Mary (Ingram) Wamsley, the latter of whom was 
born in the state of New Jersey. William B. Wamsley was born in 
Boone county, Kentucky, son of George W. Wamsley and wife, pio- 
neers of that county, who later came across the river and settled in 
Hamilton county, where George W. Wamsley was killed by a log 
falling upon him and crushing his head during a pioneer "barn 
raising" in the neighborhood in which he lived. William B. Wamsley 
grew to manhood in Hamilton county and after his marriage located 
at Oxford, in Butler county, whence he presently moved to Cincin- 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY (17 

nati and was serving as sheriff of Hamilton county at the time of 
his death there in 1851. His widow survived him but a few months, 
dying in 1852, leaving four children, William C. Wamsley having had 
three sisters (all now deceased), namely: Amelia, who married John 
Plough, of Rush county, and had five children, all of whom are now 
deceased save Mrs. Robert Downing, of Detroit, Mich.; Mary Eliza, 
Avho married John Mitchell, of Decatur county, this state, and hat) 
two children, Edward, who made his home in Decatur county, and 
Minnie, who married Newton Casey, of Rush county and died leaving 
two children, one of whom, Edward, of Decatur county, is still 
living, and Elizabeth, who married William F. Rhinehart, of this 
county, who died in Grant county leaving six children, all of whom 
are living, though none is a resident of this community, some of them 
living in Grant county and others in Oklahoma. Bereft of his 
parents when but a small child, William C. Wamsley was taken care 
of by his maternal grandparents who were then living in Dearborn 
county, this state, for three years and thereafter by others until he 
was thirteen years of age when, his eldest sister meanwhile having 
married, he joined her at Richland in this county, and was living here 
when the Civil war broke out. Though but thirteen years of age he 
volunteered his services to go to the front as a soldier. This patriotic 
offer was promptly rejected by the recruiting officers but the lad 
was bound to get into the war some way and he presently succeeded 
in entering the service of the Government as a horse boy to help in 
the work of moving cavalry horses from Indiana to points needed in 
the army, and in this capacity he served for two years and two 
months. Upon the completion of this service he rejoined the family 
of his sister at Richland and for awhile was engaged there in farm 
work, but presently (in 1872) opened a harness shop at Richland. 
In the following year he moved his shop to New Salem, where he 
established his home after his marriage in 1875, and was there en- 
gaged in business when in February, 1877, his establishment was 
destroyed by fire, entailing a complete loss of his business and more 
than $1,000 in cash which he happened to have on hand at the time. 
After this fire Mr. Wamsley resumed farming for a time and then 
took up the trade of carpenter and continued thus engaged, building 
in and about New Salem, until his retirement in 1913 and removal 
to Rushville to enter upon his present connection with the manage- 
ment of the Hotel Scanlan, of which popular old hostelry his son. 
Pearl, meanwhile had become the proprietor. It was on February 
17, 1S75, that William C. Wamsley was united in marriage to Elizn 
A. Boling, who was born in Anderson township, this county, July 
12, 1854, daughter of Gordon and Sarah (Trees) Boling, both mem- 
bers of pioneer families in this region, the former born in 1817 and 
the latter in 1818. Mrs. Eliza Boling Wamsley died on January 6, 
1898. By her union with William C. Wamsley three sons were born, 
Charles W. and the twins, Pearl and Earl, mentioned above. Charles 
W. Wamsley was born on September 27, 1876, and has always lived 
at New Salem, where he is now engaged as a rural mail carrier, a 
position he has occupied for years, he and his wife, who was Estella 



68 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Geise, who also was born in this county, having a pleasant home 
there. 0. P. Wamsley spent his boyhood at New Salem, where he 
was born, received his schooling there and remained there until he 
was sixteen years of age, when he went to Rushville and became 
connected with the old Grand hotel, learning there the rudiments 
of the business in which he has since achieved a distinctive success. 
Not long afterward he left Rushville and went to Indianapolis, where 
he further extended his hotel experience and where he was married, 
continuing to reside there save for a brief period spent at Conners- 
ville, until 1912 when he returned to Rushville and took over the 
management of the Windsor hotel. In the next year (1913) he 
became the proprietor of the Hotel Scanlan and has since been very 
successfully conducting that popular old hostelry. Mr. Wamsley 
has for years taken an active interest in the affairs of the Indiana 
Hotel Keepers' Association and in 1920 was elected president of the 
association. He and Mrs. Wamsley and "Dad" give their personal 
attention to the operation of the Scanlan and thus have imparted to 
it that delightful ' ' home ' ' atmosphere that has made it so widely and 
popularly known among the traveling men who make this region. 
The Scanlan 's dining room has a justly wide reputation, the cuisine 
commending itself to all who enjoy that rarest of features about the 
modern hotel known as "home cooking" and which is found at the 
Scanlan in its highest development. On May 6, 1906, 0. P. Wamsley 
was united in marriage to Nelle G. McKee, who also was born in 
Rush county, daughter of Charles and Catherine (Simonson) McKee, 
members of old families in this region, and further mention of whom 
is made elsewhere in this volume, and to this union two children have 
been born, Charles William Gordon, born at Indianapolis, who died 
at the age of five years, and Catherine, born on December 12, 1912. 
Mr. Wamsley is a Republican, as is his father. The latter is a 
member of the local lodge of the Red Men, and of the Pocahontas. 
0. P. Wamsley is chancellor commander of the local lodge of the 
Knights of Pythias and chaplain of the uniform rank of that order. 
Mrs. Wamsley is excellent junior of the local lodge of the Pythian 
Sisters and both take an active interest in lodge affairs. They are 
members of the Methodist Episcopal church and Mr. Wamsley is 
leader of the choir in the same. Prior to her marriage Mrs. Wamsley 
had been for some time engaged as a teacher in the schools of Rush 
county. 

AUGUST GAHIMER, farmer and thresher in Walker township, 
was born in Orange township, this county, February 20, 1871, a son 
of William and Kate (Leatherman) Gahimer. Both parents were 
born and reared in Rush county and the father has been a prosperous 
farmer here for many years, now owning 414 acres of good land. 
His children are August, Julius, George and John. August Gahimer 
attended the public schools in Orange township, assisted his father 
on the home place and all his life has been engaged in farm pursuits. 
Following his marriage he began farming for himself on a fifty-acre 
tract belonging to his father, and still lives on the same, paying grain 
rent. Mr. Gahimer is a thorough-going farmer, keeps everything iu 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 69 

good order and raises grain and as much stock as the place will 
support. He also owns and operates a threshing outfit. On August 
18, 1895, he married Maggie Hauck, who was born in Shelby county, 
Indiana, a daughter of Peter and Kate (Henry) Hauck. The parents 
of Mrs. Gahimer were born in Germany and were young when they 
accompanied their respective parents to the United States. Mr. 
Hauck was a cooper by trade and had a shop at Blue Ridge, Shelby 
eounty. Of his family of seven children four are living, Prank, Kate, 
Rose and Maggie. Mr. and Mrs. Gahimer have one child, Goldie E., 
who is the wife of Albert Lestenberger, a farmer in Shelby county. 
They have two children, Lawrence E. and Leland A. Mr. Gahimer 
and family are members of the Christian church at Manilla. He has 
always voted with the Democratic party. 

CHARLES H. KELSO, former member of the board of county 
commissioners, one of the best known and most highly esteemed 
citizens of Rush county, a venerable retired farmer of Richland 
township, who has done his full share in the development of his 
section of the county, which he has honored by his citizenship for 
more than a half century, has ever given his support to all measures 
for the public good and his name has been synonymous with hon- 
orable dealings in all the relations of life. Mr. Kelso is descended 
from an old pioneer family of Indiana, the Kelsos having located in 
Dearborn county as early as 1812, Kelso township in that county 
having been named in honor of this family, particularly for John 
Kelso, the subject's paternal grandfather. The subject's parents 
were Henry and Catherine (Carroll) Kelso, the former a native of 
Dearborn county and the latter born in Ireland. Henry Kelso was 
reared to manhood, secured his education and was married in Dear- 
born county. He followed farming and remained in that county 
until a few years prior to his death, from which time he made his 
home with his son, Charles II. He was a farmer during all his 
active yeai*s, owning forty acres of land. He and his good wife 
died practically at the same time and were buried on the same day. 
They were the parents of eight children, of which number four are 
now living, Hester, Elizabeth, Mary and Charles II. Charles H. 
Kelso received his educational training in the common schools of 
Dearborn county and soon after completing his studies he enlisted 
in defense of his country, becoming a private in Company H, 
Eighty-third regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry, which became 
a part of the Fifteenth corps of the Army of the Tennessee. Mr. 
Kelso took part in many of the stirring campaigns and hotly-con- 
tested battles of that great struggle, in which he served nearly 
three years, being in the battles of Chickasaw Bluff, Arkansas 
Post, Vicksburg, Jackson, Missionary Ridge and other noted bat- 
tles, and then was captured at Atlanta, Ga., and was confined in 
the notorious prison pens at Florence and Andersonville from 
August 1, 1864, to December. 1865. On his release, he received an 
honorable discharge and returned home. During the following two 
years Mr. Kelso was engaged in teaching school in Dearborn 



70 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

county, but in 1867 he came to Rush county and for a time was em- 
ployed as a farm hand. He then rented farm land, which he oper- 
ated up to 1884, when he bought the place on which he now lives, 
his first purchase comprising eighty acres, to which he later added 
until his holdings now amount to 142 acres, in Richland township. 
He here carried on general farming and stock raising up to the 
time of his retirement in 1915, since when he has rested from his 
labors in quiet enjoyment of the fruits of his former toil, his farm 
being now rented. Charles H. Kelso was married to Mary E. King, 
the daughter of Charles and Alvira King, and they had ten chil- 
dren, seven of whom are now living, namely : Kenneth, who mar- 
ried Ella Barber and has two children, Fred and William ; Fred, 
who married Jessie Krammes, and has three children, Lewis, Max 
E. and Louise; Charles, who married Catherine McKee and has one 
child, Mary Alice; Seth C, who married Mrs. Effie Hill and has 
one child, Easter Mary ; James P., who married Ethel Simonson and 
has two children, Celia and Elmer; John M„ who married Cornelia 
Inman; Thomas G., who married Blanche Hildreth and has three 
children, Carter, Alma and Hubert, and Rayburn, who married 
Amy Harget and has one child, Robert Charles. Mr. Kelso has 
been a life-long supporter of the Republican party. He is a mem- 
ber of the Free and Accepted Masons and of the Grand Army of 
the Republic. He and his wife are earnest members of the Chris- 
tian church, at Andersonville, of which Mr. Kelso is an elder. Quiet 
and unassuming in disposition, Mr. Kelso's life of over a half cen- 
tury in this community has been such as to gain for him the univer- 
sal confidence and esteem of all who know him. In 1904 he was 
elected a member of the board of county commissioners from his 
district and by re-election served the public in that important 
capacity until 1911. 

CHARLES G. CARNEY, one of the substantial farmers of 
Noble township and a worthy representative of one of the highly 
honored families of this county, is a native of this locality, having 
been born in Rushville on July 26, 1881, and is the son of H. S. and 
Eva G. (Downey) Carney, the former a native of Ripley county. 
Indiana, and the latter born and reared in Noble township, this 
county. H. S. Carney was brought by his parents to Rush county 
in his young boyhood, and was here reared and educated, and here 
lie and his wife spent their lives, the mother dying on October 30. 
1920. Mr. Carney was a veteran of the Civil war, having served 
his country for four years as a member of the Fifty-second regiment, 
Indiana Volunteer Infantry. They became the parents of three chil- 
dren, those besides the subject of this sketch being Harriet, Ellen and 
Zora. Charles G. Carney received a good practical education in 
the common schools of Noble township, and after the completion of 
his studies he remained with his father on the home farm until his 
marriage, when he began farming on his own account on the place 
where he now lives. At the same time he rented 115 acres of land 
from his father, and has increased this until at present he is farming 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 71 

about 300 acres. Energetic, discriminating and of sound judgment, 
Mr. Carney has proven himself a man of more than ordinary caliber 
and is numbered among the successful farmers of Noble township. 
He keeps his place well improved and attractive and its genera) 
appearance reflects great credit on him. He puts in about 120 acres 
to corn and practically the same amount to small grain, and also 
gives some attention to live stock, feeding out about 100 head of hogs 
a year. In 1902 Mr. Carney was married to Grace Wilson, the 
daughter of Edward and Florence Wilson, and they are the parents 
of three children: Dwight W., Florence 6. and H. S., Jr. Mr. and 
Mrs. Carney are active members of the Little Flat Rock Christian 
Church. Fraternally, Mr. Carney is a member of the Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, while his political affiliations are with the Republi- 
cans. A man of strong and forceful individuality, Mr. Carney has 
stood at all times for the best interests of his community and enjoys 
the respect and confidence of the entire community. 

JACOB II. KNEY, a well known general farmer in Walker 
township, was born in that township on June 19, 1864, a son of 
Michael and Margaret (Wissing) Kney. His parents were born in 
Germany and both came to the United States when young. Of their 
family of seven children the following are living: Minnie, Louise. 
Emma, Rosa and Jacob H. Jacob II. Kney lived on the home farm 
until his marriage, attending district school No. 5 in boyhood and 
afterward helping his father with the farm industries. After mar- 
riage Mr. Kney rented land from his father and operated it for 
himself, and when his father died he inherited forty acres. Shortly 
afterward he bought the forty acres adjoining and since then has 
added until he now has 100 acres of fine land. He carries on general 
farming and raises some stock. 'September 27, 1888, Mr. Kney mar- 
ried Ella Branson, born in Shelby county, daughter of James B. 
and Elizabeth Branson. The father of Mrs. Kney was born in 
South Carolina and the mother in Kentucky. They had nine chil- 
dren, five of whom are living: Robert, Lawrence, Augusta, Anna 
and Ella. Mr. and Mrs. Kney have two children : Earl and Lavanche. 
The family are members of the Christian church at Manilla. In 
politics Mr. Kney is a Democrat. 

CHARLES H. HARTON, who for thirty years or more has been 
engaged in business at Milroy, proprietor of a grocery and notion 
store, has been a resident of Rush county all his life. He was bore 
on a farm in Richland township on July 27, 1866, son of Joseph and 
Emily (Brooks) Harton, both of whom also were born in this county, 
members of pioneer families, and who were the parents of nine chil- 
dren, six of whom are still living, those besides the subject of this 
sketch being W. E., O. M., Margaret, Ida and Ollie. Reared on the 
home farm in Rushville and Anderson townships, Charles H. Harton 
received his schooling in the excellent schools of his home neighbor- 
hood and during the days of his boyhood was a valued assistant to 
his father in the labors of the farm. He became familiar with the 
butcher business and as a young man went to Rushville, where for 
two years he worked as a butcher. He then took up the confectionery 



72 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

line there and after a year in that line of trade located at Milroy. 
where he opened a confectionery store and also put in a small stock 
of groceries. That was about 1890. The business grew and in 1905 
Mr. Harton bought the building in which he is now located, put in a 
larger stock of groceries, adding to his line a stock of general notions, 
and has since been engaged in business at that location and has done 
well, long having been recognized as one of the leading merchants of 
Milroy. His store room is 28 by 70 feet in dimensions and be carries 
a complete and well selected stock in the two lines. In 1892 Charles 
H. Harton was united in marriage to Myrtle Mausfield, who also 
was born in this county, daughter of Prank Mansfield, and to this 
union one child has been born, a son, Russell Harton, who married 
Leona Thomas. Mr. Harton is a Republican and takes a proper 
interest in local political affairs. In his fraternal relations he is a 
member of the local lodge of the Knights of Pythias. He and his 
wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church and have ever 
taken an interested part in the work of the church, Mr. Harton 
being a member of the board of stewards of the same. 

JACOB F. DOWNEY, cashier of the Arlington Bank, at Arling- 
ton, is a native son of Rush county, having been born in December 
15, 1859, and is the son of James H. and Lucinda L. (Price) Downey, 
both of whom were also born and reared in Rush county. The sub- 
ject's paternal grandfather, Jacob Downey, was a native of Ken- 
tucky, but in an early day came to Rush county and entered land 
in what is now known as Jackson township. On this tract of eighty 
acres he established a comfortable home and there he reared his 
family of seven children, two sons and five daughters: William. 
James H., Sarah, Mary, Elizabeth, Deborah and Rebecca. James H. 
Downey was educated in the Concord school of Jackson township and 
thereafter for some years he was successfully engaged in teaching 
school. Later he devoted his attention to farming, mostly in Posey 
township, where he owned 100 acres of land. To him and his wife 
were born two sons, John P. and Jacob F. Jacob F. Downey secured 
his elementary education in the common schools of Posey township, 
attending in districts Nos. 2 and 5, and then attended the norma! 
school at Carthage, walking six miles every morning and evening in 
order to secure this higher training. After completing his studies. 
Mr. Downey engaged in teaching school, and followed that vocation 
for sixteen years, fifteen years in Posey township and one year in 
Jackson township. During this same period Mr. Downey was also 
engaged in farming, cultivating his land during the summer seasons 
and teaching during the winter months. After he quit teaching he 
farmed and followed the carpenter trade for about ten years, when 
he was selected for the position of cashier of the Ai-lington Bank, of 
which he is still the incumbent. The Arlington Bank has been an 
influential factor in the business prosperity of this section of Rush 
county. Mr. Downey is the owner of 230 acres of land in Posey 
township. On September 27, 1882, Mr. Downey was married to Mary 
I. Collins, who was born in Posey township, the daughter of William 
and Martha (Bentley) Collins. Mr. Collins was a successful farmer 





5^ 


^ 1 1 


V 


1 x*~ 


v ^mB 


>. 




'Sim ^^i*'' ' 







FI5AXK McCORKLE 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 73 

in Posey township, where he owned 123 acres of land. He and his 
wife became the parents of four children, namely: Eli B., Mary I.. 
Mrs. Downey, and Omer, who died at the age of eighteen years. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Downey have been born three children, Clarence E.. 
who is a bookkeeper in the Arlington Bank and also operates a part 
of the home farm, married Golda Hank and they have two children : 
Helen and Buford C. ; Blanche became the wife of George J. Carwein, 
a farmer in Posey township, and they have three children: Cedric 
L., Carl D. and Lois R. ; Forest G., who is discount clerk in the 
Indiana National Bank at Indianapolis, Indiana, married Hazel Field 
and they have one child, Frederick G. Forest is a veteran of the 
World war, having served a year, ten months of that time overseas, 
as a member of the band of the Three Hundred and Ninth Engineers. 
Mr. Downey is an active member of the Christian church at Arlington 
and in politics he maintains an independent attitude, preferring to 
vote for the men and measures which most nearly meet with his 
approval. Personally, he is genial and companionable and enjoys a 
large following of warm and loyal friends. 

FRANK McCORKLE, trustee of Anderson township, a sub- 
stantial landowner of this county and the local agent for the sale 
of the Ford automobiles at Milroy, at which place he has made his 
home since retiring from the active labors of the farm about ten 
years ago, is recognized as one of the "live wires" of that section 
of Rush county and during the period of his incumbency as town- 
ship trustee has been, able to do much in the way of advancing 
public improvements thereabout. Mr. McCorkle is a native son of 
Anderson township and has lived there all his life. He was born 
on a farm in the vicinity of Milroy on October 22, 1877, son of 
John H. and Mary (Young) McCorkle, both of whom also were 
born in this county, members of pioneer families, and who for the 
past three or four years have been living retired at Milroy. John 
H. McCorkle is a son of John and Jane (Howe) McCorkle, both 
of whom were born in Fleming county, Kentucky, who located on 
a farm in Anderson township, this county, shortly after their mar- 
riage and here spent the remainder of their days, John McCorkle 
dying on January 16, 1S50. His widow survived him for years and 
continued to maintain the farm home, directing the operations of 
the farm with skill and energy. John McCorkle was the son of 
Joseph and Hannah (Scott) McCorkle, both natives of Kentucky, 
the former of whom was the son of James McCorkle, a native of 
Scotland, who had come to this country in colonial days and upon 
the outbreak of the Revolutionary war had joined his forces with 
those of the colonists and while serving as a soldier of the Revolu- 
tion was seriously wounded at the battle of Cowpens. Upon the 
creation of the republic he accepted a land grant in what then was 
Kentucky county, Virginia, and settled on the same, thus becoming 
one of the real pioneers of the commonwealth of Kentucky. John 
McCorkle, the grandson of this Revolutionary hero and the grand- 
father of the subject of this sit etch, settled on a quarter of a sec- 



74 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

tion of land in Anderson township upon coming np here from Ken- 
tucky and that tract is now one of the most vahiable thereabout. 
He and his wife were the parents of three children, John H. Mc- 
Corkle having two sisters, Sallie and America. John H. McCorkle 
completed his schooling at the old Richland Academy. His father 
having died when he was but a boy and he being the only son, he 
was from the days of his boyhood a mainstay of his mother in the 
operations of the home farm and after his marriage continued farm- 
ing and was so engaged until his retirement from the active labors 
of the farm in January, 1918, and removed to Milroy, where he 
and his wife are now living and where they are very comfortably 
situated. He has a good farm of 250 acres and is regarded as one 
of the substantial citizens of the Milroy neighborhood. His wife, 
who was Mary H. Young, also is a member of one of the old families 
of Rush county. They have three children, the subject of this 
sketch having two sisters, Jessie, who married Casli Redmon, and 
Maude, wife of Hugh Cowan. .Frank McCorkle was reared on the 
farm and received his schooling at Milroy and at the Richland high 
school. From the days of his boyhood he was trained to the ways 
of the farm and after his marriage at the age of twenty-three be- 
came engaged in farming on his own account, renting a tract of 
640 acres, which he continued to operate for twelve years and on 
which in addition to his general farming, he gave considerable at- 
tention to the raising of live stock, feeding six or eight car loads 
of hogs a year and also going in quite extensively to the breeding 
of fine horses. In 1912 Mr. McCorkle retired from the farm 
and moved to Milroy, on the edge of which village he bought a 
tract of ninety-five acres, which he later increased to 185 acres, 
and platted twenty acres of this to town lots, the same being known 
as the New Addition. Upon moving to Milroy Mr. McCorkle se- 
cured the local agency for the sale of Ford automobiles, his terri- 
tory covering Orange, Anderson, Richland, the south half of Noble 
and the south half of Rushville townships, and has been highly suc- 
cessful in the distribution of this popular car. In 1914 Mr. Mc- 
Corkle was elected trustee of Anderson township and so highly 
appreciated were his services during the first term of his incum- 
bency that he was re-elected and is now serving his second term. 
During this period of service Mr. McCorkle has done much toward 
the general consolidation of the schools of Anderson township and 
in other ways has demonstrated his interest in the betterment and 
development of public conditions, long having been recognized by 
the people of that township as "the right man in the right place.'" 
It was in the year 1900 that Frank McCorkle was united in mar- 
riage to Inez M. Cowan, who also was born in this county, daughter 
of John A. Cowan, and to this union two children have been born . 
Gertrude Louise and Charles Wilbur. Mr. and Mrs. McCorkle are 
members of the United Presbyterian church and take an active 
interest in the work of the church as well as in all local good 
works. Politically, Mr. McCorkle is a Republican and has long 




JOHN .M. BEAVEK 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 75 

been recognized as among the leaders of that party in his section of 
the county. He is a thirty-second degree Mason, affiliated with the 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, Valley of Indianapolis, and is a 
noble of the Ancient Arabic Order, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, 
affiliated with Murat Temple, Indianapolis, as well as a member 
of the local lodge of the Knights of Pythias at Milroy and of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks at Rushville, in the affairs 
of all of which fraternal organizations he takes an earnest interest. 
JOHN M. BEAVER, who died at his home in Union township 
in the fall of 1918 and whose widow is still living there, was for 
years one of the well known and influential men of the Glenwood 
neighborhood and at his passing there were many expressions of 
regret on the part of his hosts of friends. It is therefore but fitting 
that in this volume of biography relating to the old families of 
Rush county some modest tribute should be paid to his memory, for 
the Beavers are one of the real pioneer families of the county, hav- 
ing been represented here since the year Indiana was admitted to 
statehood and five years before Rush county was erected a separ- 
ate unit among the counties of the Hoosier state. The first of the 
name to come here was Michael Beaver, who left his home in the 
vicinity of Georgetown, Ky., in 1816 and with his family came up 
into Indiana, later "entering" a tract of land in what afterward 
became Noble township in Rush county, where he established his 
home in the then wilderness, one of the first permanent settlers in 
that vicinity. His son, Elijah Beaver, father of the late John M. 
Beaver, was born in the Georgetown neighborhood in 1808 and was 
thus but eight years of age when he came here with his parents in 
1816. He "grew up" on the pioneer farm in Noble township and 
in due time became a farmer on his own account and a man of 
substance, the owner of an excellent farm and living in a way that 
gave him a position of influence in the community. In 1831 there 
came into that community in Noble township the Rhodes family 
from Virginia, John and Margaret (Knox) Rhodes and their chil- 
dren, who had left their home in the Old Dominion and had come 
down the Ohio with their belongings on the flatboats of that period, 
stopping at Cincinnati, whence they outfitted with teams and 
wagons and came on up into Indiana, settling in Noble township, 
this county. One of the children of this Virginia family was Ann 
Elizabeth Rhodes, who was born in 1816 and was thus a girl of 
fifteen when she came here with her parents. Not long after her 
arrival she and Elijah Beaver met and it was not long until there 
was mutual recognition of the romance that had come into their 
lives through this meeting. They presently were married and after 
their marriage established their home on a farm in Noble township, 
where they reared their family and spent the remainder of their 
lives, both living to a "ripe old age," Elijah Beaver having been a 
resident of this county eighty years at the time of his death. The 
late John M. Beaver, son of Elijah and Ann Elizabeth (Rhodes) 
Beaver, was born on the farm in Noble township above referred to, 



76 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

on January 19, 1842, and there grew to manhood. He received his 
schooling in the neighborhood schools and remained at home assist- 
ing his father in the development of the home farm until his mar- 
riage at the age of twenty-five years. For a year after his mar- 
riage he made his home in Wabash county, this state, and then 
moved down into Fayette county, locating on a farm in Fairview 
township in that county, where he remained until 1876 when he 
returned to Rush county with his family and located on the farm 
on which his widow is still living in Union township and there spent 
the remainder of his life, his death occurring on October 31, 1918, 
he then being in his seventy-seventh year. In addition to the farm 
of eighty acres in Union township of which he died possessed, Mr. 
Beaver owned a farm of eighty acres over in Fayette county. He 
was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church at Glenwood, as 
is his widow, had served for some time as a member of the board of 
trustees of the church and was generally active in community good 
works. Mr. Beaver's first presidential vote was cast for Abraham 
Lincoln and he remained an ardent Republican, ever interested in 
the success of the party to which his youthful allegiance had been 
given, an allegiance which continued steadfast throughout his life. 
It was on October 23, 1867, that John M. Beaver was united in mar- 
riage to Mary E. Stewart, who was born in the neighboring county 
of Franklin, and to this union were born four children, namely: 
Orphia E., who married 0. J. Cook, and has four children, Willard, 
Wallace, Emma and Evalyn; Hugh, who married Adaline Gray; 
Chester, who married Blanche Murphy, and has five children, Lu- 
cille, Belva, Hall, Calvin and Mary Elizabeth; and Raymond, who 
married Edna Tinder, and has three children, Robert, Margaret and 
Marjorie. Besides her twelve grandchildren here enumerated, Mrs. 
Beaver has one great-grandchild, her granddaughter, Emma Cook, 
who married Ray Compton, having one child, a daughter, Mary 
Estelle. Since the death of her husband Mrs. Beaver has continued 
to make her home on the place where she has resided for forty-five 
years and where she expects to continue to reside. This house is 
located on R. F. D. No. 1 out of Glenwood and is very pleasantly 
situated. Mrs. Beaver also is a member of a pioneer family in 
Indiana, the Stewarts having come over here from Ohio about the 
year 1829. She is a daughter of James and Ann Elizabeth (Waites) 
Stewart, the latter of whom was born in Missouri. James Stewart 
was born at what is now known as Goshen, Ohio, in 1817, and was 
twelve years of age when he came with his father, Samuel Stewart, 
to Indiana, the family settling in Franklin county near Mt. Carmel. 
James Stewart's mother, who was a McClearney, died in Ohio and 
his father later married Margaret Earheart. James Stewart grew 
to manhood in Franklin county and was there married to Ann Eliza- 
beth Waites, who was born in the vicinity of Lexington, Mo., and 
who was left an orphan at the age of twelve years. In 1855 James 
Stewart moved with his family to Wabash county and the rest of 
his life was spent there, his death occurring in 1888. His widow 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 77 

survived him until in April, 1897, her death also occurring in Wa- 
bash county. 

JOHN F. CROSS is one of the extensive landowners of Rush 
county and his home farm of 120 acres in Rushville township is 
under his own supervision, and is conducted according to modern 
methods. He was born in Jackson township, this county, Novem- 
ber 2, 1855, a son of Jacob and Jane (Harter) Cross, natives of 
Greene county, Pennsylvania, and Kentucky, respectively Both 
were brought to Indiana at an early day by their parents and were 
reared and educated in Rush county. With the exception of a year 
spent in Iowa, Jacob Cross spent his life in Rush county, and de- 
voted himself to agricultural pursuits. He and his wife had eight 
children, six of whom survive, namely : Polly A., Elizabeth, Ma- 
linda, -John F., Laura, and Harvina T. John F. Cross attended the 
schools of Jackson township and was a student of the Downey 
school. After the completion of his schooldays he was engaged in 
farming with his father, with whom lie remained until his mar- 
riage, at that time moving to his own farm of ninety acres which 
his father had given him when he reached his majority. Here he 
continued to live until 1902 and then moved to Rushville; but in 
1910 resumed his agricultural operations, locating on his present 
farm of 120 acres in Rushville township. He also owns his father's 
homestead of 500 acres which he rents to his sons, Chester F. and 
Chase G. Cross. On his own homestead Mr. Cross is doing general 
farming and raises about 200 head of hogs annually. Mr. Cross 
has been twice married. On January 17, 1878, he was united in 
marriage to Olive Powell, daughter of John M. and Mary E. 
(Porter) Powell, natives of Kentucky and Rush county, Indiana, 
respectively, the former of whom was a farmer. Mr. and Mrs. 
Powell had three children, but only one, Homer, survives. Mrs. 
Olive Cross was born in Jackson township, this county, and was 
here educated. She died on May 10, 1900, and her remains were 
laid to rest in East Hill cemetery. She bore her husband three 
children, of whom two survive : Chester F. and Chase G., Nora 
having died at the age of ten years. On February 20, 1910, Mr. 
Cross married Lula Smith, daughter of William P. and Frances E. 
(Porter) Smith, and who died on May 8, 1921. Mr. Smith was a 
machinist of Jackson township, where his daughter was born. Mr. 
and Mrs. Smith had eight children, of whom five are now living, 
Laura, Mila A., Charles, Cassius, and Hazel M. Mr. Cross is a 
Democrat. The two sons of Mr. Cross are married. Chester F. 
Cross married Carrie Northam and has one child, Tracy. Chase G. 
Cross married Jennie Osborn and has three children, Olive, Mary E. 
and Annabelle. These, young men are numbered among the alert 
young farmers of Jackson township and are very successful in their 
work of conducting the old Cross homestead in that neighborhood. 

W. H. SMELSER, one of the favorably known and representa- 
tive citizens of Rush county, in which he has spent his life, has a 
fine farm in Noble township. He was born in Jackson township, this 



78 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

county, on May 3, 1851, the son of Boone D. and Malissa (Morris) 
Smelser, the former a native of Union county, Indiana, and the latter 
of Rushville township, this county. Boone DeHaven Smelser, grand- 
father on his mother's side, was a relative of the DeHaven that loaned 
George Washington $50,000 at Valley Forge to carry on the Revolu- 
tionary war. The Smelser family comes of sterling old Kentucky 
stock. The subject's grandfather, John Smelser, came in an early 
day to Union county, Indiana. Sometime later he came to Rush 
county and bought a large tract of land in Jackson township. His 
son, Boone D. Smelser, was but three weeks old when the family 
came to Rush county and he was reared to manhood on the Jackson 
township farm, securing his education in the schools of that neigh- 
borhood. After his marriage, he devoted his attention to farming, 
which he followed during the remainder of his life. He was success- 
ful and at one time was the owner of 600 acres of land in Jackson 
township. Selling that land, he bought 720 acres of land in Mont- 
gomery countj T , which he operated for four years. He then went to 
Alabama, but a short time later he came back to Rush county and 
bought 160 acres in Union township, where he was engaged in farm- 
ing up to the time of his retirement. He carried on general farming 
operations, giving special attention to the raising of wheat, and also 
raised considerable live stock. He and his wife are both deceased, his 
death occurring in 1914 and that of his wife in 1895. They were the 
parents of eleven children, of whom seven are now living, namely : 
W. H., Fannie, John, Laura, Edward, Bert and Mattie. W. H. 
Smelser received his education in the common schools of Jackson 
township, and after completing his studies he worked for his father 
on the home farm up to the time of his marriage. He then started 
farming for himself in Union township, renting land for a number 
of years, and then, in 1900, he bought the place on which he is now 
living in Noble township, comprising 110 acres. He has placed all 
of the improvements on this place, has always maintained it in the 
best possible condition and has met with excellent success in his 
operations. Besides carrying on a general line of farming, he feeds 
from fifty to sixty hogs a year, giving special preference to the 
Poland China breed. In 1875 Mr. Smelser was married to Sarah 
Ilinchman, the daughter of Andrew and Mary Hinchman, and they 
have become the parents of five children: Cora, Charles, Albert. 
Chester and Chase. Cora became the wife of O. D. Green and they 
have seven children : Marie, Maude, Anna, Florence, Frank, Earl and 
Harvey. Albert married Opal Sims and they have one child, Murine. 
Chester married Bessie Smith and they have one child, Josephine. 
Politically, Mr. Smelser gives his support to the Democratic party. 
THOMAS SULLIVAN, one of Rush county's prominent retired 
business men, was born on March 16. 1859, in Wayne county, Indiana, 
the son of Jeremiah and Nora (O'Brien) Sullivan, the former a 
native of County Clair, Ireland, the latter of County Kerry. They 
were married in Ireland, where Mr. Sullivan followed the occupation 
of florist, but realizing that there were far greater opportunities for 
success awaiting them in America, they made their way hither about 






HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 79 

the year 1856. They first located in Pennsylvania where he followed 
his trade of florist, but later came to Indiana and he was employed 
as a farmer in "Wayne county until the outbreak of the Civil war. 
Then, though so recent an arrival in the United States, he could not 
bear to think of the flag he had come to love go down to destruction, 
and he immediately volunteered in the Eighth Indiana Volunteer 
Infantry regiment under Colonel Benton, serving throughout the 
war. He was in three armies, the Potomac, the West, and the Gulf. 
and saw some of the hottest fighting of the great struggle, partici- 
pating in the battles of Shiloh, Pea Ridge, Wilderness, Fort Donald- 
son, Gettysburg and Stone River. When discharged from the service, 
he returned to Wayne county where he passed the remainder of his 
days. He and his wife became the parents of thirteen children, four 
of whom are now living : John, Hannah, Maggie, and Thomas. One 
son, Jerry, volunteered in the Union army, though but sixteen year 1 ; 
old, and laid his life upon the altar of freedom, being killed in th" 
first engagement in which he was engaged. Thomas Sullivan was 
educated in Wayne county, and after leaving school worked in a 
machine shop for several years. He then took up the molding trade 
at Richmond, Ind., and in 1871 removed to Indianapolis where he 
was employed in the Quaker City Machine Works until 1876. At 
that time he came to Rushville to work in the Nolan-Madden foundry 
where he helped make the first casting ever done in Rushville. For 
the next twenty years he was engaged off and on at the foundry, and 
then conducted a transfer business for several years. Next he became 
the proprietor of a saloon, and after seven years sold out to devote 
his time to farming in which he has been successful, having acquired 
140 acres of land lying in Rushville township. In 1878, he was mar- 
ried to Catherine Ryan, and to their union have been born four 
children: Francis, Jerry, Mae, and Anna. Francis married Viola 
Gordon and died on August 29, 1915, leaving his wife and six chil- 
dren survivors: Margaret, Frank, Thomas, Richard, Dick, and Den- 
nis. Jerry and Mae are both unmarried, and Anna married Doctor 
Dragoo. The entire family are communicants of St. Mary's Catholic 
Church in Rushville. 

ARNOLD ORME, member of the firm of Ball & Orme, operating 
a grain elevator at Rushville, is an enterprising business man at that 
city. He was born in Walker township, this county, September 4, 
1878, a son of William and Amanda (Lower) Orme, also natives of 
Rush county. His father was a farmer and owned 160 acres of land 
in Walker township. There were four children in the family and 
all are living: Lon, Dessie, Russell and Arnold. Arnold Orme 
attended the public schools in Walker township, in the meanwhile 
assisting on the home farm, afterward renting eighty acres of land 
in Rushville township, where he carried on farming for four years. 
He came then to Rushville and embarked in the elevator business and 
has occupied his present location for thirteen years, the business 
being conducted under the firm name of Ball & Orme. The firm 
handles grain, flour and seed, the capacity of their elevator being 
about 35,000 bushels. On October 25, 1899, Mr. Orme married Pearl 



80 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Ball, who was born at Rushville, daughter of Ephraim and Belle 
(Frazer) Ball, and they have five children: William. Thomas, Fern. 
Frank and Fay. William and Thomas have completed the public 
school course but the others are yet in school. In politics Mr. Orme 
is a Democrat and served three years as a member of the city council. 
He is a Mason, belonging to blue lodge, council and chapter; is a 
member of the grand lodge. Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
belongs also to the Knights of Pythias and the Modern Woodmen. 
Mr. Orme is well known over Rush county and his reputation is that 
of an upright and reliable business man. 

JOHN H. MeCORKLE. a well known and substantial retired 
farmer of Anderson township, now living at Milroy, was born in this 
county, a member of one of the pioneer families, and has lived here 
all his life, having thus been a witness to the amazing changes tkar 
have taken place in conditions here during the time of the com- 
munity^ progress away from the primitive state of things which 
faced the pioneers seventy-five years ago, and has thus many inter- 
esting stories to tell of the manner of doing things which prevailed 
in the days of his boyhood. The McCorkles are of colonial stock, the 
first of the family in this country having been a Scotsman, James 
MeCorkle, who came to America in colonial days and settled in 
Virginia. When the colonists found it imperative upon them to issue 
their Declaration of Independence James MeCorkle added his weight 
to the force of this declaration and joined the Continental army, 
serving as a soldier of the Revolution until incapacited for further 
service by a serious wound received at the historic battle of Cowpens. 
In recompense of his service he accepted a land grant from the state 
of Virginia to a tract of land in the then western county of the Old 
Dominion and located on the tract, thus becoming one of the pioneers 
of Kentucky and a force in the community when Kentucky county 
was raised to statehood. He and his wife reared their family there, 
in what is now Fleming county. One of their sons. Joseph MeCorkle 
married Hannah Scott and reared a family in Fleming county. John 
MeCorkle, one of the sons of this latter pair, married Jane (Howe} 
Hillis, who also was born in Fleming county, and soon after his 
marriage came up into Indiana with his bride and settled on a quarter 
of a section of land in Anderson township, this county. On that 
place John MeCorkle died on January 16, 1850, leaving his widow with 
three small children, a son, John H., the subject of this sketch, and 
two daughters, Sallie and America. The Widow MeCorkle was a 
woman of true pioneer spirit and she continued the operations of 
the farm, overseeing the continued improvement of the same, and 
thus maintained her family there, the place being developed in time 
into an excellent piece of property, and it was there that John II. 
MeCorkle grew to manhood, later established his own home whei: 
he married and there continued to reside, carrying on the operations 
of the farm very successfully until his retirement from active labor 
in January, 1918, and removal to Milroy, where he and his wife are 
uow living. Mr. MeCorkle has a well improved farm of 250 acres 
over the operations of which he continues to keep a supervisory eye. 




(Prom I 



1921) 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 81 

John H. McCorkle has been twice married. It was in 1877 that he 
was united in marriage to Mary H. Young, who also was born in this 
county, a member of one of the pioneer families, and to this union 
three children were born, a son and two daughters : Frank, Jessie 
and Maude. Frank McCorkle, a landowner of Anderson township, 
trustee of the township and dealer in Ford automobiles at Milroy. 
married Inez M. Cowan and has two children : Gertrude and Wilbur. 
Jessie McCorkle married Cash Redmon and has two children : Howard 
and John David, and Maude McCorkle married Hugh Cowan and 
has one child, Maurice. Mrs. Mary H. McCorkle died in 1906 and 
in 1918 Mr. McCorkle married Mrs. Anna Somerville Bosley, daugh- 
ter of Watson Somerville and widow of Alonzo Bosley. Mr. and 
Mrs. McCorkle are members of the United Presbyterian church and 
in his political views Mr. McCorkle is a Republican. 

HON. ROWLAND H. HILL, of Carthage, state senator from 
this district and prominent among the men whose inherent ability, 
great industry, accurate forethought and sound and reliable judg- 
ment have added to the character, wealth and good government of 
Rush county, and more particularly of the community of Carthage, 
is a native Hoosier and has lived in this state all his life. Senator 
Hill was born in Hancock county, Indiana, June 5, 1878, son and 
only child of Samuel B. and Mary R. (Hadley) Hill, both also 
Hoosiers, the former a native of Wayne county and the latter of 
Hendricks county. For a number of years Samuel B. Hill was 
engaged in agricultural operations in Hancock county, but even- 
tually came to Carthage, where, with his son, he was the owner 
and operator of a dry goods store for about twelve years. He 
stood high in business circles of his community, where he was 
recognized generally as a man of high principles, while as a citizen 
the manner in which he discharged his responsibilities left no doubt 
as to his public spirit. Rowland II. Hill was but a child when 
brought by his parents to Carthage, and his primary education was 
acquired in the graded schools of that place. After graduating 
from the high school he pursued an academic course at Earlham 
College, and in 1898 became his father's partner in the conduct of 
a dry goods business at Carthage. This they carried on with suc- 
cess until 1908, when they sold out, and Rowland II. Hill at that 
time became a traveling salesman. He was a representative on the 
road for the Geddes-Brown Shoe Company, of Indianapolis, until 
1914, when he returned to Carthage and purchased the grain ele- 
vator and coal yard which he now owns and operates. The elevator 
has a capacity of 5,000 bushels, and the coal yard is one which 
covers a large area. Both ventures have prospered greatly under 
the owner's capable and energetic management. In addition, Mr. 
Hill is the owner of a large and productive farm in Rush county 
and is an extensive dealer in hogs, buying and feeding off on an 
average of 2,000 each season. In business circles he is known as a 
man of the highest integrity and possesses in the fullest degree the 
esteem and respect, as well as the confidence, of his associates. 



82 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

He has for years been interested in public affaire and in 1920 was 
elected a member of the Indiana state Senate on the Republican 
ticket. His work in that body has been constructive and beneficial 
and has marked him as one of the working members. In October, 
1900, Senator Hill was united in marriage to Verna Sutermeister, 
who was born at LaPorte, Ind., where she was reared and primarily 
educated, later pursuing a course at Earlham College. She is a 
daughter of Constantine and Rachael (Denham) Sutermeister, the 
former a native of Scotland, and the latter of the state of Indiana, 
Mrs. Hill's parents being farming people throughout their lives. 
They had two children: Verna and an infant, deceased. Senator 
and Mrs. Hill are members of the Carthage Meeting of Friends. 
Senator Hill is well known in fraternal circles, being a Mason and 
Shriner, belonging to the lodge at Carthage and the Mystic Shrine 
at Indianapolis. He also holds membership in the Elks lodge of 
Rushville, the United Commercial Travelers and the Columbia Club 
of Indianapolis. During the World war period Senator Hill was 
one of the most active war workers of this locality and served as a 
member of the Rush County Council of Defense and as a director 
of the Red Cross Society of Rush county in its various drives. 

ELIHU PRICE, a venerable and honored citizen of Arlington, 
now living in retirement after a long and busy life, spending his 
later years in quiet and in plenty as a result of his earlier years of 
strenuous endeavor, has been a life-long resident of the county 
having been born in Posey township on October 5, 1843. He is the 
son of John and Mary (Cotney) Price, both of whom were bom 
and reared in Kentucky, whence they came to Rush county in about 
1830. Here John Price devoted himself to agricultural pursuits, 
mostly in Posey township, and that he was successful is evidenced by 
the fact that he became the owner of 500 acres of land in Rush 
county. John Price was married twice and became the father of 
sixteen children by the two unions. Four of these children are now 
living, namely: Sarah, Elihu, Nathan and Jane. Elihu Price re- 
ceived his elementary education in the common schools of Posey town- 
ship and then completed his studies in the normal school at Lebanon. 
Ind., where he attended two years. During the following eight 
years Mr. Price was engaged in teaching school, seven years in Rush, 
county and one year in Jasper county, Illinois. He then turned his 
attention to farming in Posey township and devoted himself inde- 
fatigably until 1909, when he relinquished the active duties of the 
farm and removed to Arlington, where he now resides. His first, 
efforts as an independent farmer were on rented land, but he later 
bought 160 acres, which was eventually increased to 230 acres. Since 
his retirement from the active management of the farm, it is being 
operated by his son Noah. The place is well improved. Here Mi-. 
Price carried on general farming and stock raising and as a farmer 
has always been held in high repute. On August 17, 1871, Mr. Price 
was married to Mary Reddick, who was born in Ripley township, this 
county, the daughter of John and Catherine (Ruby) Reddick, both 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 83 

of whom were natives of the state of Ohio. Mr. Reddick was a 
farmer by vocation and was the father of ten children, of whom the 
following survive : Lewis, Mary, Amanda, Elizabeth, Noah, Frank 
and Jesse. To Mr. and Mrs. Price have been born six children, all of 
whom are living, namely: John J., Mary C, Amanda, Jesse F., 
Sarah J. and Noah. John J., who is a farmer in Posey township, 
married Flora Jamison, who died on August 11, 1908. Mary C. 
became the wife of Jesse Nelson, a farmer of Shelby county, Indiana, 
and they have three children, Bessie married Rowland Earnest, a 
farmer of Posey township, and they have four children: Howard. 
Dallas, Katheryn and Robert; Braynard, farmer in Shelby county, 
married Alta Pitts and they have one child, Margarie, and Warren, 
a farmer of Shelby county, married Lillian Jordan. Amanda became 
the wife of Hugh Birt, a farmer of Posey township. Jesse F., who 
also is a farmer in Posey township, married Lillian Green and they 
have two children : Everett C. and Charles E. Sarah J. became the 
wife of Earl Mull, a farmer in Walker township, and they have one 
child, Leoto, who married and is the mother of one child, Geonie. 
Noah, who lives on the home farm, married Laura Abercrombie, and 
they have one child, Donald. Politically, Mr. Price has been a life- 
long supporter of the Democratic party and has held several public 
offices, having served four years as trustee of Posey township and 
eight years as justice of the peace. He and his wife are members of 
the Christian church at Arlington and, fraternally, he is a member 
of Beech Grove Lodge, No. 399, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
at Arlington. 

FRED GROSS, merchant, and proprietor of the leading general 
store at Manilla, this county, was born in Walker township, Rush 
county, March 29, 1875. His parents were John and Catherine 
(Ottman) Gross, who were born in Germany and came to the United 
States when young, after their marriage settling in Walker township, 
Ihis county. For some years John Gross followed the cabinet making 
trade at Manilla, but in 1861 became a merchant, establishing a store 
on the location that has never been changed, although there has been 
a considerable amount of expansion. He continued active as a mer- 
chant during the rest of his life. Of his eight children, the following 
survive: Kate, Emma, Caroline, Jacob, William, Fred and Otto. 
Fred Gross was educated at Manilla, where he was graduated from, 
the high school, following which he began assisting his father in the 
store. In 1895 he and his sister, Caroline, jointly inherited the store 
business, and since that time Mr. Gross has managed the business very 
profitably, demonstrating excellent judgment and commercial fore- 
sight. On April 12, 1907, he married Vivian Barnum, who was born 
at Manilla, daughter of Dr. William E. and Lavancha Barnum. Th" 
father of Mrs. Gross has practiced medicine at Manilla for forty-five 
years. She has one brother, Dr. Emerson Barnum. Mr. and Mrs. 
Gross have two children, Fred, Jr., and Katherine. In political life 
Mr. Gross is a Democrat and has served four years as township 
trustee, having been elected on the Democratic ticket. He is quite 
active in fraternal life, being a Mason, belonging to the blue lodge 



84 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

at Manilla and chapter, council and commandery at Rushville, and 
is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America at Manilla and 
of the Knights of Pythias at Blue Ridge, over in Shelby county. Mr. 
Gross is accounted one of the representative business men of Rush 
county. 

MONET 0. SEFTON, a successful farmer and enterprising 
citizen of Noble township, is a native son of Indiana, having been 
born in Decatur county on September 5, 1867, and is the son of 
George W. and Julia (Lanham) Sefton, both of whom also were 
born and reared in Decatur county. George W. Sefton was educated 
in the public schools of his native county and he then took up the 
vocation of farming, his first employment being as a farm hand. 
Eventually he bought land of his own and in the course of time became 
the owner of 160 acres. He was a veteran of the Civil war, having 
enlisted in the Seventh regiment of Indiana Volunteer Infantry, with 
which command he served for three years and three months. He 
took part in some of the great battles of that war, including the 
battles of Gettysburg and of the "Wilderness. After the war he 
returned to Decatur county, where he remained until his death, which 
occurred on May 2, 1918, at the age of seventy-six years. His wife 
had died in 1869. They were the parents of five children : Julia, 
Emma, Mary, Stella and Monet 0., the last named being the only 
resident of Rush county. Monet 0. Sefton attended the common 
schools of Decatur county, and then applied himself to the cultiva- 
tion of the home farm up to the time of his removal to Rush county 
in 1894. For three years he was employed by his uncle, James Miller, 
and then for seven years he was engaged in the operation of a farm 
of 160 acres in Richland township which he rented, followed by a 
three-year rental of a farm of 204 acres. He then bought his present, 
fine farm of 160 acres, located in Noble township, and which he has 
improved and developed into one of the best farms in this section 
of the county, the place being devoted to general farming and stock 
raising. He raises fifty acres of corn and fifty acres of wheat every 
year and feeds practically all of his corn on the place, feeding from 
150 to 200 hogs a year. Mr. Sefton was married to Maude Humes, 
the daughter of Israel and Mollie (Cooper) Humes, and they have 
become the parents of two daughters, Myrtle, who is taking the 
domestic science course at Purdue University, and Marion, who is 
taking music at DePauw University. In religion, Mr. Sefton and his 
family are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, of which 
Mr. Sefton is a member of the board of trustees. Politically, he 
gives his support to the Republican party. 

DONALD EL DEAN, M. D., who has by his ability and attention 
to the progress of his profession built up an enviable reputation 
for himself, was born near Columbus, in Bartholomew county. 
Indiana, the son of Jeremiah L. and Amanda (Heager) Dean, the 
former of Corydon, Ind., the latter of near Columbus. Soon after 
his marriage, J. L. Dean moved to a farm near Columbus and there 
his five children were born: Donald H., the subject of this biogra- 
phy; J. H., D. D. S., of Franklin, Ind.; G. D., an attorney at Indian- 




Joseph s. wixsii 



HISTORY OP EUSH COUNTY 85 

apolis, and Frances and Ella, both living in Franklin. When his 
children were yet young, J. L. Dean moved to Columbus, retiring 
from active farming, in order that his children might have the ad- 
vantages of the public schools of that place. After completing the 
public school curriculum, Donald H. Dean entered Franklin College. 
from which he was graduated in 1885. Having decided upon a pro- 
fessional career, and after careful consideration of the merits of the 
various medical colleges, he was matriculated at the Chicago Home- 
opathic Medical College, from which institution he received his 
degree in 1889. For two years thereafter, Doctor Dean practiced at 
Columbus, Ind., in partnership with Dr. A. Rice, who had been a 
fellow student of his. At the expiration of this period, he came 
to the conclusion that there were greater opportunities awaiting him 
in a different field, and he accordingly located in Rushville. Here, 
though at first a stranger, his success was never in doubt, and he has 
gradually attracted to himself an extensive and profitable practice. 
His modern offices are situated in the Logan building at the corner of 
Main and Fourth streets, where he is able to meet the demands of his 
constantly growing clientele. On January 1, 1894, Doctor Dean 
was married to Mary A. Irvin, of Rush county, and they have become 
the parents of three children: Phyllis, who is teaching in the Fair- 
view high school; Janet, who is attending Butler College; and Donald, 
the youngest, who is a student in the Rushville schools. Doctor Dean 
is a member of various societies in which he enjoys a deserved popu- 
larity, and in his political affiliations aligns himself with the Re- 
publican party. 

JOSEPH S. WINSHIP, in whose passing Rush county lost one 
of its representative citizens, left a good memory. As the day, with 
its morning of hope and promise, its noontide of activity, its eve- 
ning of complete and successful efforts, ending in the grateful rest 
and quiet of the night, so was the life of this honored man. Through 
the long years of his residence in this locality he was ever true to 
every trust reposed in him and his reputation in a business way was 
unassailable, so that he left the strong impress of his individuality 
upon all whom he met. Mr. Winship was a native son of Indiana, 
having been born in Boone county on June 22, 1847, and his death 
occurred at his home in Richland township on January 11, 1918, he 
having passed the Psalmist's allotted span of three score years and 
ten. He was the son of Jabez and Jane (Milligan) "Winship, both 
of whom also were natives of Indiana and former residents of 
Boone county. Later they moved to Rush county and located in 
Anderson township, where they spent the remainder of their years. 
Joseph S. Winship was reared to manhood in Anderson township, 
receiving his educational training in the common schools of that 
community. After leaving school he continued to assist his father 
on the home farm, where he remained until his marriage, when he 
located in Richland township, where he bought 160 acres of land, 
comprising the farm on which his widow now resides. He later 
increased his land holdings to 188 acres and here he carried on 



86 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

general farming operations with success and profit during the 
remainder of his active years. He made all the improvements on 
the place, these being of a substantial character, and brought the 
place up to a high standard of excellence. His attractive and con- 
veniently arranged home is one of the best in this locality. Mr. 
Winship's active career was characterized by indefatable indus- 
try, persistency and sound business judgment, and he was num- 
bered among the progressive and enterprising farmers of Richland 
township. Mr. Winship was married to Gertrude Hunt, the daugh- 
ter of Morgan and Sallie C. (Brooks) Hunt. Mrs. Winship was born 
in Rush county, but when she was but six months old her parents 
moved to Franklin county, where she was reared .and educated 
and where she continued to reside until her marriage. Her parents 
remained there until the father's death, in 1887, when the widow 
moved to New Salem, where she lived until her death, which oc- 
curred in 1908. They were the parents of four children, Gertrude, 
Elizabeth, Edwin and Clara. Mrs. Winship is a member of the 
Christian church. Mr. Winship was a Democrat in his political 
views, though he was never an aspirant for public office. Mrs. 
Winship is a lady of many kindly qualities of character, which have 
endeared her to all who know her. 

JESSE F. MILLER, one of the substantial farmers of Anderson 
township, now living at Milroy, was born on the farm he owns in that 
township and has been a resident of Rush county all his life. He was 
born on November 11, 1859, son of Augustus and Celia (Winship) 
Miller, both of whom were born in that same township, members of 
pioneer families. Augustus Miller, who for many years was a well 
known farmer of Anderson township and for some time a member of 
the board of county commissioners of Rush county, was born on a 
farm in Richland township on February 16, 1827, son of Michael and 
Sarah (Thompson) Miller, Virginians, who settled in this county in 
the spring of 1823, two years after Rush county had been created a 
separate civic unit in the growing list of counties in the then new 
state of Indiana. Michael Miller was born in that section of the 
Old Dominion now comprised in West Virginia on February 28, 1801, 
and was reared there. At the age of twenty-two years, January 9, 
1823, he married Sarah Thompson and in the March following he 
and his bride came to Indiana and located in Rush county, where 
the young pioneer had entered a quarter section tract of "Congress 
land" in Anderson township, the grant to the land, which is still 
in the possession of the family, bearing the signature of President 
Monroe. As an interesting sidelight on the subject of comparative 
land values it will be informative to the present generation to know 
that this pioneer paid the government $1.25 an acre for that quarter 
section. As in all that section of Rush county in its primitive state, 
this tract was covered with hard timber and the task the young 
pioneer faced in clearing the place and fitting it for cultivation was 
one that now would seem well nigh insuperable, but he and his bride 
buckled down to the task of creating a home for themselves and those 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 87 

who should come after them and in proper time they had a fit abiding 
place there and a productive farm. In the log house they erected 
for their first dwelling place in the wilderness their three children 
were born : Christian, Augustus and Mary. Michael Miller continued 
to prosper and in time added to his farm an adjoining quarter sec- 
tion, which he also proceeded to improve, and on that place he resided 
until his retirement in 1852 and removal to Richland, where he died 
in 1878, he then being seventy-seven years of age. His widow sur- 
vived him for twelve years, her death occurring at the home of her 
daughter in 1890, she then being eighty-six years of age. In the 
cabin home above referred to Augustus Miller was reared. From 
the days of his boyhood he was a helpful assistant in the labors of 
improving and developing the pioneer farm and he remained with 
his parents until his marriage to Celia Winship at the age of twenty- 
four, after which he established a home of his own, buying a farm 
in the neighborhood, and as he prospered in his affairs added to his 
holdings until he became the owner of an excellent farm of 400 acres 
and came to be regarded as one of the substantial and influential 
men of the community. Mr. Miller took an active interest in local 
political affairs and for two terms served as a member of the board 
of commissioners of Rush county for his home district. In 1881 
he disposed of some of his interests in this county and moved to 
Greensburg, in the neighboring county of Decatur. He continued 
his political activity in his new place of residence and not long after 
moving there was elected to represent his district on the board of 
commissioners of Decatur county. He also continued to extend his 
land interests and at one time owned farms in Howard and Madison 
county besides his holdings in Rush and Decatur counties. Augustus 
Miller was twice married. By his first wife, Celia Winship, he had 
six children, of whom the subject of this sketch was the fourth in 
order of birth, the others being Louis Irwin, who died in infancy; 
Michael S., who died at the age of eleven years; Lucien B., now 
living in Rushville; Oscar G., who for years has been engaged in 
business at Greensburg, and Anna B., who met with a fatal accident 
when four years old. It was prior to the removal of Augustus 
Miller to Greensburg that the mother of these children died and in 
1894 he married Sarilda Lanham. Jesse P. Miller was reared on 
the home farm in Anderson township and from the days of his boy- 
hood was trained to effective farm ways. He supplemented the 
course secured in the local schools by a course in the normal school 
at Danville, Ind., and remained at home, a valued assistant to his 
father in the labors of developing the farm, until his marriage at 
the age of twenty-five, after which he rented a tract of land from his 
father and established a home of his own. Later his father appor- 
tioned to him a tract of 112 acres and to this he presently added an 
adjoining "forty." On this farm he and his wife continued to 
make their home until 1913, when they moved to Milroy, where they 
have since resided and where they are very comfortably situated. Mr. 
Miller, however, continues to oversee his farm operations and has 
lost none of the activity of former days, though living "retired," 



88 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

and it is but proper to state that these farming operations are car- 
ried on in strictly up-to-date fashion, his son, Donald E. Miller, 
being a valued factor in the continuing operations of the old home 
place, which has thus been operated by four generations of the 
Miller family since the original grant to the pioneer, Michael Miller, 
nearly a century ago. It was in 1884 that Jesse F. Miller was united 
in marriage to Minnie E. Elstun, who also was born in this county, 
daughter of Freeman and Lucinda Elstun, and to this union has 
been born one child, a son, Donald E., who is unmarried and who is 
referred to above as carrying on the continuing farm operations of 
the Millers in his generation in this county. Mr. and Mrs. Miller 
are members of the Methodist church and have ever taken an inter- 
ested part in church work, Mr. Miller having been for some time a 
member of the board of trustees of the church. In his political views 
Mr. Miller is an ardent Republican, as was his father, but has not 
been an office seeker. He is a Mason, affiliated with the local lodge 
of that order at Milroy, and is also a member of the local lodge of 
the Knights of Pythias, in which latter lodge he has been "through 
the chairs." 

JOSEPH E. HARDIN, a well known farmer and stock dealer 
of Posey township and one of the substantial and enterprising citizens 
of Rush county, was born in Guilford county, North Carolina, on 
the 10th day of October, 1860, and is the son of Christopher V. and 
Sibbey J. (Faust) Hardin, both of whom were born and reared in 
North Carolina. The subject's father was a farmer by vocation 
and owned 200 acres of land. To him and his wife were born 
nine children, seven of whom are living, namely: John L., Cicero C, 
Peter A., Bettie, Joanna, Maude and Joseph E. Joseph E. Hardin 
was educated in the public schools of his native state and remained 
at home until he had attained his majority, when he came to Indiana, 
settling at Knightstown, where for four years he was employed as a 
farm hand. At the time of his marriage, in 1885, he rented forty 
acres of land in Hancock county, but two years later he returned to 
Henry county, where for ten years he operated a rented farm. He 
then went to Greene county, Indiana, where he engaged in the butch- 
ering and stock business, and he also became the owner of sixty acres 
of land there. Fifteen years later Mr. Hardin sold his interests there 
and came to Rush county. After operating rented land here for seven 
years, he bought the farm on which he now resides, comprising eighty- 
five acres of fine, tillable land, on which Mr. Hardin carries on gen- 
eral farming operations, in which he has been very successful. Mr. 
Hardin is also extensively engaged in the business of buying and 
shipping of live stock, handling large numbers of cattle and hogs. 
He is an indefatigable worker, a good business man and enjoys to a 
marked degree the confidence and good will of all with whom he has 
dealings. On January 15, 1885, Mr. Hardin was married to Rebecca 
A. Sexton, who was born and reared in Greene county, Indiana, the 
daughter of Joel B. and Mary (Lamb) Sexton, both of whom also 
were natives of that county. To Mr. and Mrs. Hardin have been born 
nine children, of whom seven are living, namely: Carl V., who is a 




PHILIP S. DArBEXKPECK 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 89 

farmer in Hancock county, married Elizabeth Maneke and they have 
tkree ckildren, Herckel, Lewis and Russell, Josepk B., who also is a 
farmer in Hancock county, married Eunice Gardner and they have 
three children, Harold, Wilbur and Joicey ; Robert B. ; Edith is the 
wife of Raymond Higgins, a mechanic in Indianapolis, Ind. ; Edna, 
Blanche and Levonne. Politically, Mr. Hardin is a staunch sup- 
porter of the Republican party, while his religious faith is that of the 
Wesleyan Methodist church. 

PHILIP S. DAUBENSPECK, a well known and substantial 
farmer and stock man of Union township, proprietor of an excel- 
lent farm there, was born in that same township and has lived on 
the farm all his life with the exception of a period of twelve years 
when he was engaged in the grain business at Glenwood. He was 
born on June 25, 1866, son of Harvey and Margaret (Hinchman) 
Daubenspeck, and grew to manhood on the home farm in Union 
township, receiving his schooling in the neighborhood schools. 
Prom the days of his boyhood Mr. Daubenspeck was well trained 
in the ways of the farm and after completing his schooling he re- 
mained on the farm, assisting his father in the operations of the 
same for about ten years, at the end of which time he became en- 
gaged in the grain business at Glenwood and was for twelve years 
thus engaged. In 1900 he returned to the farm to take up the 
operation of the same in his father's behalf and has since remained 
there, having taken over the farm after his father's death in April, 
1917. Mr. Daubenspeck has a well kept and well improved farm of 
230 acres, and his operations are carried on in up-to-date fashion. 
He for years has given special attention to the breeding of hogs, 
in connection with his general farming operations, and is accus- 
tomed to feed out from 500 to 800 head of hogs a year, thus long 
having been recognized as one of the leading feeders in this section. 
He also feeds a hundred or more head of cattle anmially and has 
done well in his live stock operations. He has an excellent farm 
plant, with spacious barns and feeding pens, the plant including a 
cattle barn 70x160 feet and three others 40x60 feet and two 100-ton 
silos, and keeps things up about the place in real "ship-shape" 
style. In 1915 Philip S. Daubenspeck Was united in marriage to 
Anna Cook, daughter of Wilson and Louise Cook, and he and his 
wife have a very pleasant home on rural mail route No. 2 out of 
Glenwood, where their friends are ever sure of a hospitable wel- 
come. In his political leanings Mr. Daubenspeck is a Republican 
and has ever given a good citizen's attention to local civic affairs, 
though not what may be called an "active" politician in the sense 
in which that term generally is used. He does, however, take an 
active interest in general community affairs, movements that have 
to do with the advancement of agricultural interests hereabout, 
and his influence in that behalf has been an ever widening one. 

GEORGE W. KUNTZ, a general farmer and life-long resident 
of Walker township, was born on his father's farm on February 19, 
1874. His parents were Frederick and Elizabeth (Weber) Kuntz, 



90 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

both of whom were born in Germany. Frederick Kuntz came to the 
United States in boyhood and later, in Cincinnati, married Elizabeth 
Weber, who had accompanied her parents to America in childhood. 
They had eight children born to them and four of these survive: 
Jacob, John, Conrad and George W. Frederick Kuntz was a farmer 
all his life and owned 176 acres in Walker township, this county. 
George W. Kuntz attended school in district No. 3, Walker township, 
in boyhood, helped on the farm during this period and afterward 
farmed for his father, and at the time of the latter 'a death, inherited 
forty acres of the old homestead. Later he bought thirty additional 
acres from his brother, Jacob, and now profitably operates a farm 
of seventy well improved acres. He feeds from fifty to seventy-five 
head of hogs yearly. On April 25, 1900, Mr. Kuntz married Jennie 
Cross, who was born in Shelby county, this state, daughter of Edmund 
and Sarah (Hauk) Cross. The parents of Mrs. Kuntz were born 
in Shelby county and her father was a farmer there all his life. 
They had four children: Frank, Vern, Clara B. and Jennie. Mr. 
and Mrs. Kuntz have two children : Opal P. and Voyd G. Opal P. 
Kuntz was born on October 29, 1906, and is a member of the fresh- 
man class in the high school at Manilla. She has musical gifts of a 
high order and is organist of the Methodist Episcopal church at 
Manilla, to which the family belong. Voyd G. Kuntz was born on 
January 17, 1911, and is attending school at Manilla. In politics 
Mr. Kuntz has always been a staunch Democrat. He is a member 
of the Masonic lodge at Manilla and belongs also to the Modern 
Woodmen lodge at Manilla. 

CONRAD D. POSZ, farmer and stockraiser in Walker township, 
was born in Union township, Shelby county, March 7, 1869, a son of 
Valentine and Margaret (Backer) Posz. Both parents were born in 
Germany. The father was eighteen years old when he came to the 
United States but the mother of Conrad Posz was only four years old 
when she accompanied her parents to this country. Both families 
came to Indiana and settled in Shelby county. Valentine Posz fol- 
lowed farming there during all his active life. Of his family of 
eight children there are seven living: Catherine, Adam, Emma, 
Conrad D., Maggie, George and Barbara. Conrad D. Posz attended 
school in boyhood in Union township, Shelby county, and grew to 
manhood on his father's farm. When he married and started out 
for himself, he began as a renter in Shelby county, where he remained 
for fourteen years, then moved to Rush county and bought the farm 
in Walker township on which he still lives. lie has 118 acres of well 
improved land, having put up substantial buildings and done a 
great deal of fencing and ditching. He has been quite successful as 
a general farmer and has given much attention to raising Duroc 
Jersey hogs, usually marketing about 150 head a year. On January 
15, 1896, he married Louisa Kuhn, who also was born in Union 
township, Shelby county, daughter of Daniel and Louisa (Haehl) 
Kuhn. The father of Mrs. Posz was born in Germany and the 
mother in Shelby county. They had six children, three of whom are 
living: Herman, Curtis and Louisa. Mr. and Mrs. Posz have two 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 91 

daughters, Ethel and Julia, both of whom reside at home, Julia still 
attendiug school at Homer. Mr. Posz and his family are members 
of the Christian Union church at Homer. He is interested to some 
degree in politics and has always voted the Democratic ticket. Mr. 
Posz is well known at Homer and belongs to the Odd Fellows' and 
Red Men's lodges at that place. 

LEON C. McDANIEL, a well known farmer of Posey township 
and a man of high standing and influence in the western part of 
Rush county, was born on October 17, 1887, in Posey township, and 
has been a resident of that township all his life. His parents were 
Lee and Mary (Cowger) McDaniel, the former of whom was born in 
Georgetown, Ky., and the latter in Posey township, Rush county. 
The father was brought to Rush county in childhood and in the 
schools of this locality he received his educational training. He was 
a farmer and stock raiser, giving a good deal of his attention to 
cattle and sheep. He was married twice, being the father of three 
children by his first marriage and one, the subject of this sketch, by 
his union with Mary Cowger. Leon McDaniel attended the common 
schools of Posey township, followed by attendance at the Rushville 
high school, where he was graduated. He then entered the agricul- 
tural department of Purdue University, at Lafayette, where he was 
graduated with the class of 1911. He then devoted his attention to 
the home farm, which he operated for his mother until her death, 
when he inherited it and has since continued to operate it. Mr. 
McDaniel is the owner of eighty acres of land, which he devotes to 
general farming and stock raising, feeding about eighty head of hogs 
each year. On February 26, 1914, Mr. McDaniel was married to 
Bertha Woliung, a native of Rush county and the daughter of 
William and Ella (Gilson) Woliung. Mr. Woliung, who was a car- 
penter by trade, became a prosperous contractor. To him and his 
wife were born two children, Jesse and Bertha. Mr. and Mrs. 
McDaniel are the parents of one child, Mary Ellen, who was born on 
January 13, 1916. Politically, Mr. McDaniel gives his support to the 
Republican party, while fraternally, he is a member of the Knights 
of Pythias and the Improved Order of Red Men at Rushville. He 
is also a member of the college fraternity, Delta Upsilon. He and 
his wife are earnest members of the Christian church of Arlington 
and Rushville respectively. 

PAUL L. DAUBENSPECK, who, starting upon his independent 
career as a renter at the time he had attained his majority, has 
advanced himself within the short space of eleven years to a place 
among the substantial general farmers and stock raisers of Noble 
township. Mr. Daubenspeck was born in Union township, Rush 
county, November 4, 1889, a son of II. E. and Jessie (Blacklidge) 
Daubenspeck. His success has been achieved on the basis of a com- 
mon school education, a careful home training which stimulated a 
desire to be of use in the world, and the quality of perseverance 
which assures the accomplishment of any task undertaken. After 
his graduation from the high school at Glenwood, in 1907, he took up 
farming with his father, whose associate he continued to be ixntil he 



92 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

reached his majority. At that time he married and entered upon 
his independent career as a renter, which was his status for about 
eight years, in the last year of which he was operating a rented 
farm of 500 acres. In 1918 he purchased his present property of 
160 acres, located in Noble township, where he has made numerous 
improvements, including the erection of two sets of modern build- 
ings and the installation of numerous appurtenances and appliances 
indicative of present-day progressiveness. In addition to being a 
general farmer, he gives much attention to stock raising, and at this 
time is shipping about 300 hogs annually. Mr. Daubenspeck has an 
understanding of scientific agriculture that has secured the best 
results from his land, and its disposal is arranged with a view to the 
greatest economy of expenditure, as well as the largest rewards from 
various side lines. He is a member of the Christian church at Little 
Plat Rock, and gives liberally to religious movements, being also a 
generous contributor to charities and social demands. He is a Knight 
Templar Mason and an Elk, and gives his political support to the 
Republican party. Mr. Daubenspeck married Hazel, daughter of 
Robert N. and Sarah J. Hinchman, and to this union there have 
been born two children, Robert H. and Marion H. 

WILLARD H. AMOS, a prosperous farmer and stock raiser of 
Rushville township, was born in that township on February 26, 1856, 
a son of Johanan J. and Amanda (Hildreth) Amos. J. J. Amos 
was born in Bourbon county, Kentucky, September 30, 1803, the 
fourth child of Nicholas and Ann (Jones) Amos, natives of Maryland. 
In 1823, he came to Rush county to live with his uncle, Abraham 
Jones, but returned to Kentucky, not returning to Rush county until 
1839, wheu he located on a farm near New Salem, and became very 
successful as a farmer, at one time owning 2,000 acres of land. 
Williard H. Amos was reared on his father's farm, receiving his 
schooling in the schools of Noble township. He then engaged in 
farming operations on the home farm until his marriage when he 
went into business for himself on a farm of seventy acres. Since that 
time he has rapidly increased his holdings until he now owns 350 acres 
in the county. In 1900 he moved to Rushville and has conducted his 
various enterprises from that city since that time. He married on 
October 22, 1879, Ann Elizabeth Poston, a daughter of George W. 
and Nancy (McNeal) Poston, of Noble township, and to their union 
there has been born one child, Mary, the wife of Luke Duffy. In 
fraternal circles Mr. Amos is a well known member of the Masons 
and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and politically he aligns 
himself with the Republican party, in the councils of which he has 
long been regarded as a leader and for sis years rendered public 
service as a member of the board of county commissioners from his 
district. 

JOHN R. WARD, a well known and substantial farmer of this 
county now residing at Rushville, is a native of Rush county, having 
been born here on September 21, 1860. His parents came to Indiana 
and located in Jackson township, this county, where the subject grew 
to manhood and where he remained until his removal from the farm 




JOHN 0. WILLIAMS 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 93 

to Rushville about 1910, where he since has made his home, he and 
his family being very pleasantly situated at 1230 North Main street. 
Mr. Ward's parents, George and Mary J. (Lee) Ward, were the 
parents of nine children, of whom but two are now living, Mr. Ward 
having a brother, Leonard Ward. George Ward, the Virginian, was 
first engaged as a cabinet maker when he came to Rush county, but 
some time later became engaged in the practice of medicine, to which 
he had been schooled in his native state. Having been but a lad 
when he came to this county, John R. Ward received his schooling 
in the schools of Jackson township and as a young man became 
engaged in farming in that township, where, after his marriage, he 
established his home and in time bought a place of eighty acres. As 
his affairs prospered Mr. Ward added to his holdings until he became 
the owner of an excellent farm of 550 acres, which he continues to 
operate from his home in Rushville. It was in 1880 that John R. 
Ward was united in marriage to Harvina Cross, who was born in 
Jackson township, this county, daughter of Jacob and Martha J. 
(Harter) Cross, well known residents of that section of the county 
in their generation, and to this union were born two children, Mrs. 
Effie W. Abbercrombie and Roscoe, the latter of whom died at the 
age of twenty-four years. 

JOHN 0. WILLIAMS, former county treasurer, whose life 
history is closely identified with the history of Noble township, for 
there he has spent practically his entire life, a life of unceasing 
activity, was born in that township on December 13, 184S, and is 
the son of John and Elizabeth Williams. He received his education 
in the schools of his locality and then was employed as a farm hand. 
Later he rented on shares until he was about thirty years of age, 
when he married. During the following two years he operated 
rented land and then he bought eighty acres of the old home place, 
to the operation of which he devoted himself. Energetic and prac- 
tical in his work, he was prospered and eventually accumulated an 
estate of 243 acres, all located in Noble township and comprising 
one of the choice farms in that section of the county. Here during 
his active years he carried on general farming operations and stock 
raising, but he is now retired from active labor and is residing in 
New Salem. On January 9, 1879, Mr. Williams was married to 
Ocea E. Matney, the daughter of Elijah and Adah (Roberts) Mat- 
ney. To this union have been born three children, Chester O., 
Ada and Elmer, the last named of whom died on July 4, 1913. 
Chester 0. Williams married Bessie Stone and has three children, 
Thelma, Letha and John 0. Mrs. Ocea Williams was born in Noble 
township. Her father was born and reared in Payette county, 
Indiana, and after his marriage came to Rush county, locating in 
Noble township, where he carried on farming operations during the 
remainder of his life, owning at one time 220 acres of land. To him 
and his wife were born eight children, six of whom are living, 
namely: William F., John, Elijah, Dora, Mary and Ocea. The two 
deceased are Edward and Malissa. Mr. Williams is a member of 



94 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

the Christian church and in his political faith he is a Republican. 
He has ever given his support to those things which have been for 
the upbuilding of the community and his course has been such that 
he has earned and enjoys the universal respect of the entire com- 
munity. In the fall of 1914 Mr. Williams was elected treasurer of 
Rush county and in that capacity served the county for two terms. 
He also has rendered service to the public in other capacities; was 
trustee of Noble township for five years and for some time super- 
visor of roads in his home district. 

WILLIAM J. BROWN, a substantial retired farmer of Orange 
township, this county, now living at Milroy, was born in the neigh- 
boring county of Shelby but has been a resident of Rush county for 
many years, having moved to this county and established his home 
not long after his marriage. He was born on a farm in Union town- 
ship, Shelby county, August 30, 1850, son of William W. and Nancy 
vLinville) Brown, both of whom also were born in that county, mem- 
bers of pioneer families, and who spent their lives there. William 
W. Brown was the youngest of the nine children born to Robert and 
Catherine (Cotton) Brown, who were among the pioneer settlers of 
Union township, Shelby county. Robert Brown in his day was known 
far and wide as a mighty hunter. He cleared the land on which he set- 
tled and effectually "blazed the way" for succeeding generations of 
the family on that place and as his nine children mostly married and 
reared families of their own the Brown family of that connection in 
this region is no inconsiderable one in the present generation. Will- 
iam W. Brown established his home in that section after his marriage 
and became the owner of an excellent farm of 110 acres which he 
improved and on which he spent his last days. He and his wife 
were the parents of five children, four of whom are still living, those 
besides the subject of this sketch being Franklin P., David E. and 
Electa, wife of John Linville. Reared on the home farm in Shelby 
county, William J. Brown became a farmer on his own account and 
after his marriage at the age of twenty years established his home as 
a renter in his home county, but presently came over into Rush 
county and for twenty-seven years thereafter made his home on a 
rented farm in Orange township. He then bought a farm of eighty 
acres in that township but some time afterward sold that place and 
bought the farm of 110 acres which he still owns there and on which 
he made his home until his retirement from the farm and removal 
in 1904 to Milroy, where he is now living and where he and his 
family are very comfortably situated. Mr. Brown is a Democrat and 
has ever given a proper degree of attention to local civic affairs, 
but has not been a seeker after office. He and his wife are members 
of the Christian church and have for years been interested in the 
work of the same as well as in all neighborhood good works. It was 
in 1870 that William J. Brown was united in marriage to Missouri F. 
Hume, daughter of Benjamin Hume, a member of one of the old 
families of Rush county, and to this union four children have been 
born, Wilbur C, Harvey P., Stella and Clarence, all of whom are 
still living and the first two named of whom are grandfathers in 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 95 

their own right, thus giving their parents the distinction of being 
great-grandparents. Wilbur C. Brown married Myrtle Paulus 
and has two daughters, Mary, wife of Earl Harcourt, who has one 
child, a son, Robert Lincoln, and Carrie, wife of Clifford Harcourt. 
Harvey P. Brown married Rena Paulus and has one child, a daughter, 
Marie, who married Glenn E. Foster, assistant cashier of the Peoples 
National Bank of Rushville, and has one child, a son, Charles. Stella 
Brown married Owen Harcourt, who died leaving her with one child, 
a daughter, Cannie, who married William Ward. Mrs. Harcourt 
later married Edward Barlow. Clarence Brown, the unmarried son, 
is the cashier of the Milroy State Bank and has long been looked 
upon as one of the progressive and enterprising business men of 
that part of the county, ever interested in movements having to do 
with the advancement of the commercial and industrial activities 
of his home neighborhood, and, as his friends say of him, is "a 
mighty fine fellow," which every one. must allow. 

PETER KUNTZ, for many years a highly respected citizen and 
prosperous farmer in Walker township, this county, was born in 
that township on July 4, 1861, and died on his farm there on July 
19, 1910. He was a son of Frederick and Elizabeth (Weber) Kuntz, 
both of whom were born in Germany and who came to the United 
States in youth and were married at Cincinnati. Frederick Kuntz 
was a well known farmer in Rush county and owned 176 acres of 
fine land in Walker township. Peter Kuntz with his brothers 
attended school in district No. 3, Walker township, after which he 
faithfully assisted his father on the home farm until his own mar- 
riage. He rented land from his father at first and later received 
from him the forty-two acres on which Mrs. Peter Kuntz now resides. 
Mr. Kuntz operated this farm very profitably, growing grain and pro- 
duce and also raising stock. It was in August, 1894, that he married 
Anna (Porten) Brooks, who was born in Decatur county, Indiana, 
daughter of Henry and Mary (Mack) Porten. The father of Mrs. 
Kuntz was a stonemason by trade. Her parents had five children and 
she is one of the three survivors, having one sister, Mary, and one 
brother, Nicholas. Mr. and Mrs. Kuntz had one child, Frank, who 
died when nineteen years old. Mr. Kuntz was a member of the 
Lutheran church in Shelby county. He belonged to the order of Red 
Men and attended lodge at Arlington, where he was well known and 
had many friends. He was never willing to accept a political office 
but was always a staunch member of the Democratic party. By a 
former marriage Mrs. Kuntz had one son, Albert Harry, who died at 
Columbus, Ohio, barracks, having joined the army in 1913, passing 
away shortly thereafter. 

FRED E. CATT, one of the best known farmers and most suc- 
cessful veterinary surgeons of western Rush county, a resident of 
Posey township, is a native son of Rush county, having been born 
in Center township on August 23, 1S79, and is the son of Harvey and 
Abbie (Henley) Catt, the former a native of Hancock county, 
Indiana, and the latter of Rush county. They were the parents of 
five children, of whom those now living are Frank, Fred E., Walter 



96 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

and Florence. The subject of this review attended the common 
schools of Ripley township and the high school at Carthage. He then 
entered the Indiana Veterinary College, at Indianapolis, where he 
was graduated, after three years' study, in 1916, with the degree of 
Veterinary Surgeon. After completing his professional course, he 
returned to Posey township and continued to farm and practice his 
profession. After his marriage in 1901 the subject engaged in farm- 
ing on his own account, first renting land for about three years. He 
then bought his grandfather Henley's farm of eighty acres, which 
he operated for about three years, when he sold it and moved to 
Arlington, where he remained about a year. He then bought the 
splendid eighty-acre farm where he now lives in Posey township, and 
he has made many permanent and substantial improvements on the 
place, including the erection of new buildings, which have rendered 
the place very attractive and comfortable. Mrs. Catt also inherited 
a part of the farm where they live, so that the place now comprises 
170 acres of land. Doctor Catt carries on general farming opera- 
tions and also raises from 100 to 150 head of hogs annually. As a 
veterinarian he has won an enviable reputation throughout this 
section of the county and enjoys a large and successful practice. 
On the 23d day of October, 1901, Doctor Catt was married to Nelle 
Suitz, who was born in Franklin county, Indiana, and is the daughter 
of Frank and Mary (Reeves) Suitz. To Doctor and Mrs. Catt have 
been born one child, Leroy S., who is now a farmer in Posey township 
and who married Ruth Handy and has one child, Wilfred Nigh. 
Politically, Doctor Catt gives his support to the Republican party. 
Fraternally, he is a member of Beech Grove Lodge, No. 399, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, at Arlington. 

NOAH O. MOORE, a well known farmer of Posey township, was 
born in the township now honored by his citizenship, on February 18, 
1876, and is the son of John F. and Rachel A. (Leisure) Moore, 
both of whom also were born, reared and educated in Rush county. 
John F. Moore, after completing his studies in the Arlington school, 
turned his attention to farming and became the owner of ninety-seven 
acres of land in Posey township. Of the four children born to him 
and his wife, the subject of this sketch is now the only one living. 
Noah 0. Moore received his educational training in the public school 
at Arlington, and then he took up the vocation of farming, working 
for his father on the home place until his marriage, after which he 
began farming on his own account, renting 320 acres of land from his 
father-in-law in Posey township. He operated this farm with success 
for nineteen years, and then moved onto the place where he now lives 
and which he received by inheritance. On this place he has placed 
many permanent and substantial improvements, bringing it up to a 
high standard of excellence, and here he has met with splendid siiecess 
as a general farmer and stock raiser, so that some time ago he was 
enabled to retire from active work and now has the farm rented. He 
and his wife together own 204 acres of land in Posey township. On 
March 9, 1900, Mr. Moore was married to Fannie P. Nelson, a native 
of Rush county and the daughter of William H. and Elizabeth 




m 



h* 



"- : ' 



FBSTUS HALL AND WIFE 




HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 97 

(Adams) Nelson, and to them have been born two children, Wildean 
0. and John L. Politically, Mr. Moore is a staunch supporter of the 
Democratic party, while, fraternally, he is a member of Beech Grove 
Lodge, No. 399, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He and his wife 
are active members of the Methodist Episcopal and Christian 
churches respectively. 

WILLIAM A. HALL, one of the most substantial farmers of 
Ripley township, who is still carrying on operations of an extensive 
character on his valuable property not far from Carthage, has been 
a typical representative of the best and highest class in the agricul- 
tural element of Rush county. Mr. Hall was born on the farm 
which he now owns and operates, March 2, 1853, a son of Festus 
and Maria (Abernathy) Hall, natives of the state of Ohio. Festus 
Hall was engaged in agricultural pursuits throughout a long and 
active career, principally in Rush county, where he was the owner 
of 400 acres of valuable and productive land. He was also a man 
of prominence and influence in his community, and in 1858 was 
elected as representative of his district to the state legislature, in 
which he served capably for one term, during which there was a 
special session of the House. He at all times discharged faithfully 
the highest duties of citizenship and friendship, and was accord- 
ingly greatly esteemed among his fellow citizens. He and his wife 
were *he parents of five children, three of whom survive, J. Chal- 
me Frank L. and William A. Two died in infancy. J. Chalmers 
Hi. j is identified with the Abernathy Furniture Company, of Kan- 
sas City, Mo., manufacturers of and wholesale dealers in high-class 
furniture. He married Elizabeth Barton, and is the father of one 
son, Barton. Frank L. Hall is also identified with the same fur- 
niture house, and is a member of the board of trustees of DePauw 
University. He is unmarried. William A. Wall was given excellent 
educational advantages in his youth, first attending the common 
schoolhouse in Ripley township, later the high school at Knights- 
town, and finally DePauw University, where he spent two years. 
He then began farming on the home place, and in 1879, because of 
the enfeebled condition of his father's health, assumed its man- 
agement. After his father died, in 1880, he continued to operate 
the farm as part owner and manager for his mother, and after the 
death of the latter, October 27, 1896, bought out all the heirs to 
the estate, and now is sole owner of the farm of 416 acres, one of 
the largest and best in that part of Rush county. Although he is 
now sixty-eight years old, he continues the operation of the land 
with hired help, and in addition to carrying on farming in a suc- 
cessful way has been a large grower of cattle, shipping about three 
carloads annually, in addition to about 200 head of hogs. The 
greater part of his agricultural work is done by tractors, as Mr. 
Hall is a believer in the efficacy of modern inventions and the use 
of up-to-date methods. Intelligent, practical, systematic, diligent, 
persevering and provident in his farming operations, his career as 
a farmer has reflected credit upon that vocation. Mr. Hall is a 
7 



98 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Republican. During his attendance at DePauw University he was 
made a member of the Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity. 

M. L. STEWART, a worthy native son of Rush county, one of 
the best known citizens of Noble township and the scion of one of 
the pioneer families of Rush county, was born in Richland township 
on July -5, 1860, and is the son of Samuel and Amanda (Limpus; 
Stewart, the former a native of Rush county and the latter of Fayette 
county. Samuel Stewart was the son of Harvey and Mary (MeKee) 
Stewart, the former a native of Kentucky and the latter of Virginia. 
They came to Rush county in their young days and were married 
here, being numbered among the earliest settlers in this part of Rush 
county. Samuel Stewart was reared to manhood in Noble township 
and secured his educational training in the common schools of that 
locality. In young manhood he went to Iowa, where he worked as a 
farm hand for about three years, and during which time his marriage 
took place. At the end of that period he returned to Rush county 
and rented a farm, to which he devoted himself until his death, which 
occurred in 1866. To Samuel and Amanda Stewart were born four 
children, James, M. L., Edgar and Samuel. M. L. Stewart received 
his education in the common schools of Noble township and on the 
completion of his studies he went to Warren county, Iowa, where 
he worked as a farm hand one year and then for two years operated 
rented land. He then went to Scott county, Kansas, and pre-empted 
160 acres. After remaining on this land three years, Mr. Stewart 
returned to Rush county and rented a farm in 'Noble township, 
which he operated until 1899, when he bought the place where he 
now lives, his first purchase amounting to 100 acres, which he has 
greatly improved in various respects, so that it is today numbered 
among the up-to-date farms of Noble township. Here he has carried 
on general farming and stock raising and has gained a reputation 
as an enterprising and progressive agriculturist. Mr. Stewart was 
married to Luella Kemptner, the daughter of William and Rebecca 
Kemptner, to which union have been born three children, Paul, Ruby 
and Samuel S. The mother of these children died on December 2, 
1920. Paul Stewart married Anna Holton. Mr. Stewart is an 
active member of the Little Flat Rock Christian Church and was 
formerly a deacon. Fraternally, he is a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, while his political affiliations are with the 
Republican party. 

JOSIAH BISHOP, a retired farmer, now living at Rushville. 
was born in Union township, this county, December 15, 1842, and is 
the only survivor of his parents' family of eight children. His 
father, Purnel Bishop, was born in Maryland, and his mother, Julia 
(Kiser) Bishop, was a native of Kentucky. They came early to 
Rush county, traveling by wagon, and spent the rest of their lives 
in Union township. By the time Josiah Bishop was old enough to 
go to school, the Hinchman schoolhouse, near his father's farm had a 
competent teacher, and after his school period was over he assisted 
his father for a time, then bought the home place and conducted it. 
himself during the last years of his father's life. In the course of 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 90 

many years of agricultural activity, Mr. Bishop became the owner of 
219 acres in the home place, 180 acres of this being in Union township 
and thirty-nine acres in Jackson township, and another farm of sixty 
acres in Union township. In addition to general farming, Mr. Bishop 
was very successful in growing stock, raising cattle, hogs and sheep 
quite extensively. On March 3, 1868, Josiah Bishop married Mary 
E. Cline, who was born in Jackson township, this county, daughter of 
Conrad and Sarah J. (Smith) Cline. The father of Mrs. Bishop 
came alone from Kentucky to Rush county, while the mother was 
brought here from the same state by her parents. Mr. Cline owned 
a farm of 161 acres in Jackson township. Of his four children three 
are living, Lewis J., Rachel and Mary E. Mr. and Mrs. Bishop have 
had six children, as follows: Alma, who is the wife of Greeley P. 
Mauzy, of Rushville, a farmer of Jackson township, who had two 
children, Chase and Grace, by a former marriage; Woodson C, a 
farmer in Rushville township, who married Mary McGee; Thomas, 
a farmer in Union township, who married Cora Webb, and has three 
children, Laverne, Robert and Thomas; Estel C, an accountant resid- 
ing at Indianapolis, who married Louise Ginn; Rice, who married 
Mary J. Gray and rents his father's land and very successfully 
operates it, and Rachel M. (deceased), who married Alonzo McGinn, 
also now deceased, as is also their only child, Alma, who was born 
on January 25, 1873, and died on June 18, 1917. Mr. Bishop has 
never cared for political office, although for many years a vigorous 
supporter of the principles of the Republican party. He is one 
of the older members of the Ben Davis Christian Church. 

GOLD I A CARR, who is engaged in the garage and transfer 
business at Milroy, one of the best known business men in that part 
of the county, was born in Rush county and has lived here all his 
life with the exception of a period of about three years when, shortly 
after his marriage, he was a resident of the neighboring county of 
Decatur. He was born on a farm in Rushville township on July 28, 
1884, son of Leander and Callie (Parson) Carr, the former of whom 
also was born in this county, a member of one of the old families of 
the county, and both of whom are still living. Leander Carr is a 
son of George Carr, a Pennsylvanian, who established his home in 
this county many years ago and became a substantial farmer. Reared 
in this county, Leander Carr became engaged in farming on his own 
account after his marriage to Callie Parson, who was born in Wabash 
county, this state, and has continued farming, now the owner of a 
well kept farm of eighty acres in Anderson township. To him and 
his wife, four children have been born, two of them are living, the 
subject of this sketch and Urmston Carr. Reared on the farm, Goldia 
Carr received his schooling in the schools of Anderson township. 
After his marriage he bought a small farm in Decatur county and 
was there engaged in farming for about three years, at the end of 
which time he returned to this county and rented a farm in Anderson 
township. A year later he moved to Milroy and was for five years 
thereafter engaged in the garage of Logan Parson. He then started 
a garage of his own in a building 20 by 40 feet, giving special atten- 



100 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

tion to repair work, and his business grew so rapidly that in the 
following year he found it necessary to seek larger quarters. He then 
moved into the old Mercer livery barn, a building 41 by 87, remodeled 
the same to suit his needs and has ever since been engaged in business 
at that location, doing a general garage, repair and transfer business. 
Mr. Carr started with one truck and now has five trucks and employs 
eight men in his business. Goldia Carr has been twice married. In 
1905 he was united in marriage to Lena Fidler, who died in 1913. 
leaving one child, a son, Leonard. In 1917 Mr. Carr married Bertha 
Ray, daughter of Louis Ray, and to this union one child has been born, 
a daughter, Thelma. Mr. and Mrs. Carr are members of the Christian 
church and take a proper interest in the work of the same. In his 
political views Mr. Carr is a Republican. Fraternally, he is affil- 
iated with the local lodges of the Masons, the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, the Modern Woodmen of America and the Knights of 
Pythias, and in the affairs of these several organizations takes an 
active interest. 

PLEASANT A. NEWHOUSE, former county commissioner and 
one of those farmers of Rush county who have gained the respect 
and friendship of their fellow citizens, is a native of Rush county, 
having been born in Jackson township, May 30, 1861, the son of 
Lewis J. and Mary (Hackleman) Newhouse. Lewis J. Newhouse 
was also born in this county, in Union township, May 23, 1824, the 
son of Samuel and Polly (Kitchen) Newhouse, natives of Virginia. 
Samuel Newhouse, who was the son of John and Elizabeth Newhouse, 
came to Rush county from Franklin county in 1821, entering eighty 
acres of timbered land in Union township. In 1837 he sold his farm, 
and bought a larger one of 240 acres in Jackson township where he 
spent the remainder of his days. Lewis J. Newhouse grew to man- 
hood amid pioneer surroundings, and at the age of twenty-one began 
farming for himself. On April 17, 1849, he married Mary A. Hackle- 
man, a daughter of Richard and Hannah Hackleman, pioneers of this 
county, and to their union were born five children : Hannah M. 
(deceased) ; Marshall E. (deceased) ; Elbert O., Samuel R., who is 
living in Jackson township, and Pleasant A. Lewis J. Newhouse had 
started out with eighty acres of land, most of which was paid for 
by ditching for twelve hours a day, and before his death he had 
increased his holdings to 400 acres by constant application to business. 
After the death of his first wife, he married Nancy Pouge and they 
became the parents of five children, Alfred M., who is living in 
Illinois; Harvey M., who is living in Center township, this county; 
Almeda, Schuyler C, who is living in West Virginia, and Erasmus 
T. (deceased). Pleasant A. Newhouse was educated at the Kinning 
school house in Jackson township, upon leaving which he took up 
farming in association with his father until his marriage. He then 
engaged in agricultural operations for himself in Washington town- 
ship, where he remained for four years, when he moved back to 
Jackson township and bought eight acres of land. By careful atten- 
tion and modern methods he has made a splendid success, having 
increased his property to 230 acres lying in Jackson and Noble town- 




THOMAS W. LOGAN 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 101 

ships, where he does a general farming and stock raising business, 
feeding out from fifty to 100 head of hogs per year. In 1881 Mr. 
Newhouse was married to Maggie Mauzy, a daughter of Peter and 
Jane (Wilson) Mauzy, and they are the parents of one child, a son, 
Charles L., who married Anna Caldwell. In his fraternal affiliations 
Mr. Newhouse is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and the Masons. Politically he is one of the leading Republicans in 
the district, and in 1914 his services to the party and his exceptional 
managerial ability were rewarded by his election to the office of 
county commissioner of Rush county, in which capacity he served two 
terms, his term of service expiring on December 31, 1920. 

THOMAS W. LOGAN, in whom the business of general farm- 
ing and stock raising, under the favorable conditions offered in 
Richland township, has an enthusiastic and successful follower, is 
a member of a family which has been represented in agriculture in 
Rush county for many years. Mr. Logan was born in Richland 
township on October 10, 1863, a son of James W. and Hester 
(Welman) Logan, also natives of this county. James W. Logan 
received his education in the public schools, and upon entering upon 
his independent career chose as his life vocation the occupation of 
farming, which he followed with much success, at one time being 
the owner of 871 acres, all located within the boundaries of the 
county. He was a man of thrift and industry, qualities which he 
had inherited from his parents, James and Elizabeth Logan, na- 
tives of Scotland, who had emigrated to Noble township, 
Rush county, at an early date, being married soon thereafter. 
James Logan entered 160 acres of land from the Government 
at the time of his arrival, and he and his wife completed use- 
ful and honorable careers here. James W. Logan was not only a 
man of prominence because of his material success, but because of 
his recognized qualities of integrity and public spirit, which caused 
his fellow citizens to elect him township trustee two terms. He 
and his wife were the parents of three children, Thomas W., Edgar 
E. and Jesse. The educational advantages of Thomas W. Logan 
were acquired in the district schools of Richland township, after 
leaving which he took up farming and remained as his father's 
associate on the home place for nearly four years. He was then 
married and commenced farming on a part of his present property, 
in the same township, and to this he has added from time to time 
until he now has 225 acres. Mr. Logan is engaged in general farm- 
ing and stock raising, shipping about 150 hogs annually. He is 
intelligent, progressive and enterprising in his methods and the 
success which has attended his efforts is the direct result of his 
own efforts. On March 15, 1898, Mr. Lognn married Leah Ella, 
daughter of Mahlon and Caroline Brooks, and they have one child, 
Clifton Warder, who resides with his parents on the home farm 
and acts as his father's assistant. The family is affiliated with the 
Methodist Protestant church at New Kalein and Mr. Logan takes an 
active part in the work thereof, being steward mid treasurer of the 



102 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

church and treasurer of the Sunday school. He is a Democrat. 
Mrs. Logan was born in Richland township, her parents having 
settled there upon coming over into this country from Franklin 
county. Mahlon Brooks, her father, was a substantial farmer and 
the owner of a quarter of a section of land. He was twice married 
and by his first marriage had one child, a daughter, Emily. By 
his second wife, Caroline, he had three daughters, Mrs. Logan and 
her sisters, Eva and Cora. The Brookses were members of the 
Methodist Episcopal church. 

JOSEPH B. KINSINGER, D. 0., city health officer at Rush- 
ville and one of the best known osteopath physicians in Indiana, is a 
native of Iowa, but has been a resident of Indiana long enough to 
feel thoroughly adjusted to his Hoosier environment and to enjoy the 
same very much indeed. He was born on July 9, 1868, son of Daniel 
and Mary (Miller) Kinsinger, the latter of whom was a native of the 
Dominion of Canada. Daniel Kinsinger was born in Germany but 
came to America at the age of fourteen years. He grew to manhood 
in the state of Iowa and there became successfully engaged in farming. 
He and his wife were the parents of eleven children, all of whom are 
still living save one, Daniel; the others, besides the subject of this 
biographical narrative, being Phoebe, Christopher, William, John, 
Michael, Edward, Anna, Katherine and Rebecca. Reared on a farm 
in Iowa, Doctor Kinsinger supplemented the schooling he received 
in the common schools by a course of two years at the Southern Iowa 
State Normal School and two years at Drake University, majoring in 
pharmacy, and for six years thereafter was engaged in the practice 
of pharmacy at Bloomfield, Iowa. In the meantime his attention had 
been powerfully attracted to the practice of human healing as exem- 
plified by the osteopathic school and he presently entered the Ameri- 
can School of Osteopathy at Kirksville, Mo., from which he was 
graduated after a four years' course. Thus admirably equipped for 
the practice of the profession to which he had devoted his talents 
Doctor Kinsinger opened an office at St. Joseph, Mo., but after six 
months of residence there determined to seek a wider field and in 
pursuit of this determination came to Indiana and located at Indian- 
apolis. A year later he moved to Rushville, opened an office there 
and has ever since been engaged in practice at that place, where he 
has done very well. The Doctor is a Republican and lias been serv- 
ing as city health officer since 1917. In 1897, at Kirksville, Mo., Dr. 
Joseph B. Kinsinger was united in marriage to Belle Honser, who was 
born at that place, and to this union have been born three children, 
Brenda and Marion, who are now (1921) students in the Rushville 
high school, and Richard, who died at the age of nine years. Doctor 
and Mrs. Kinsinger are members of the Christian church and take a 
proper interest in church work as well as in the general social activi- 
ties of their home town, helpful in promoting all local movements 
having to do with the advancement of the common good. The Doctor 
is a member of the American Osteopathic Association and of the 
Indiana Society of Osteopathy and in the activities of both these pro- 
organizations takes a warm interest. Fraternally, he is a 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 103 

York Rite Mason, past eminent commander of Rushville Commandery, 
No. 49, Knights Templar, and is also a member of the local lodges 
of the Knights of Pythias and of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. 

WALTER S. MANSFIELD, proprietor of the leading general 
store at Milroy and long recognized as one of the most progressive 
business men of that place, was born at Milroy and has lived there 
most of his life. He was born on December 2, 1872, son of Frank S. 
and Susan (Early wine) Mansfield, the latter of whom was born iu 
Nicholas county, Kentucky, and had come here with her parents in 
the days of her girlhood. Frank S. Mansfield was born at Dunkirk, 
N. Y., and grew to manhood there, becoming an expert spinner. As 
a young man he came to Indiana and became engaged as a spinner 
in the old woolen mill at Milroy. When that institution was closed 
down on account of the more general distribution of the products of 
the greater mills of the East he became engaged as a carpenter 
hereabout, spending the "off" seasons running a huckster wagon 
throughout this region and thus became widely known throughout this 
whole country side. Frank S. Mansfield married not long after 
coming to Rush county and he and his wife spent their last days at 
Milroy. They were the parents of seven children, four of whom are 
still living, the subject of this sketch having two sisters, Myrtle and 
Mary, and a brother, William Mansfield. Ella, Carl and John 0. 
are deceased. Reared at Milroy, Walter S. Mansfield received his 
schooling in the excellent schools of that village and as a young man 
became engaged in "railroading," a vocation he followed for two 
years, at the end of which time he located at Anderson, Ind., and 
was for eight years there engaged in the employ of the American 
Steel Wire Company. All the time, however, the call of the old 
home town was ever sounding in his ears and upon leaving the wire 
company's employ he returned to Milroy and opened a grocery store 
there, a business he maintained for twelve years, at the end of which 
time he sold the store and became engaged in the restaurant business 
at Milroy. Two years later he sold the restaurant and in 1917 opened 
the general merchandise store which he since has been very success- 
fully conducting. Mr. Mansfield has a well-stocked store, carrying 
the only line of general merchandise in Milroy and conducts his 
store along up-to-date lines, ever striving to keep up with the growing 
demands of the local trade. His store room is 60 by 100 feet in 
dimensions and is admirably equipped and well stocked. In 1896 
Webster married Hallie M. Mull, who was born in Walker township, 
ter of the late James P. Archey, further mention of whom is made 
in this volume, and to this union two children have been born, 
Carlos and Camilla. Carlos Mansfield married Ina McGuire 
and has one child, a daughter, Marie. The Mansfields have 
a pleasant home at Milroy and have ever taken an interested part in 
the general social activities of their home town. Mr. Mansfield is a 
Republican and takes a proper interest in local civic affairs. Fra- 
ternally, he is affiliated with the local lodges of the Modern Wood- 
men of America and of the Red Men. 



104 HISTORY OF EUSH COUNTY 

EDWARD HOLMAN, an enterprising citizen and substantial 
agriculturist of Rush county, was born in Noble township on Feb- 
ruary 14, 1869, and is the son of Joseph and Martha (Wellman) 
Holman, the latter being also a native of Noble township. Joseph 
Holman was bom in the state of New Jersey, the son of James and 
Frances Holman, who brought their family to Rush county in an 
early day, settling in Noble township. Here Joseph Holman grew 
to manhood and received his education in the common schools of this 
community. He followed the vocation of farming all his life and 
became the owner of 240 acres of good land. To him and his wife 
were born three children, Lot, John and Edward. Edward Holman 
was reared under the paternal roof and attended the schools of Noble 
township. After leaving school he worked on the home farm until 
his marriage, when he rented a part of his father's farm and culti- 
vated that until his father 's death, at which time the farm was divided 
and Mr. Holman received eighty acres of land. To the operation 
of this land he has since devoted himself and has met with a gratify- 
ing measure of success. He carries on general farming operations 
and also gives some attention to live stock, feeding about 150 hogs 
a year. He has put many permanent and substantial improvements 
on the farm, which is numbered among the good farm homes of this 
locality. Mr. Holman is energetic and a good manager and enjoys 
the respect and confidence of all who know him. In 1899 Mr. Hol- 
man was married to Frances Stark, the daughter of Henry and 
Amanda Stark. Mr. and Mrs. Holman are active members of the 
Methodist Protestant church at New Salem, and, politically, he gives 
staunch support to the Republican party. 

C. H. TOMPKINS, a well known business man of Rushville. 
dealer in implements and local agent for the Oldsmobile Automobile 
Company, was born in Milroy, this county, June 2, 1878, the son of 
J. W. and Palma (Stewart) Tompkins, the former of this county, 
the latter a native of Kentucky. J. W. Tompkins grew to manhood 
and was educated in the public schools in the county, and then took 
up farming operations and stock buying, becoming well known 
throughout the community as a man in whom trust could be placed. 
He was elected sheriff and served the county in that capacity for two 
terms, at the completion of which he commenced the implement busi- 
ness that his son is proprietor of today. This enterprise prospered 
under his astute management for over thirty years, or until the time 
of his death. In his younger years he had for a considerable perioil 
been engaged in carrying the mail from Rushville to Greensburg, 
there having at that time been no rail connection between the two 
towns. He and his wife were the parents of six children, four of 
whom are now living, Nellie, R. L., A. W., and the subject of this 
biography. C. H. Tompkins attended the common schools at Milroy 
and the high school at Rushville, and upon finishing his education 
worked in a grocery store until the time of his marriage. He then 
engaged in farming in Jackson township for a period of ten years 
at the expiration of which he located in New Mexico for three years. 
Returning to Rushville, he worked with his father, and upon the 




RESIDENCE OP ALLEN JACKMAN 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 105 

latter 's death became proprietor of the implement business. Since 
that time he has added to it considerably, carrying a general line of 
farm implements and harness, as well as being the local agent of 
the Oldsmobile automobile, of which he has sold a goodly number. 
He married Jessie Kennedy, a daughter of E. L. Kennedy, a leading 
contractor of Rushville, and to this union has been born one child. 
John K. Mr. Tompkins has been through all the chairs of the Knights 
of Pythias lodge and is also a member of the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks. The principles of the Republican party coin- 
cide most nearly with Mr. Tompkins ' political views, and he is counted 
among the supporters of that party. 

ALLEN JACKMAN, one of the best known and most substan- 
tial retired farmers of Anderson township, this county, now living 
at Milroy, where he has made his home for more than a quarter of 
a century, is a member of one of the old families of Rush county 
and has lived here all his life. He formerly and for years was 
engaged in cattle buying throughout this section and has a wide 
acquaintance hereabout. Mr. Jackman was born on the place on 
which he is now living in Milroy on May 6, 1849, son of John and 
Caroline (Tompkins) Jackman, the latter of whom was born in 
this county, member of one of the pioneer families of the Milroy 
neighborhood. John Jackman was a blacksmith who came over 
here from Franklin county and set vip the first blacksmith shop in 
the then budding village of Milroy. He followed that trade there 
for several years and then bought a farm and thereafter devoted 
himself to farming and live stock raising, becoming the owner of a 
fine farm of 268 acres, and was long regarded as one of the most 
substantial residents of that section. He and his wife were the 
parents of six children, of whom but two are now living, Mr. Jack- 
man having a sister, Bessie, wife of Oliver Smith. Reared at Milroy, 
Allen Jackman received his schooling in the little old log school- 
house which served the village children in those days and as a lad 
became a valued assistant to his father in the labors of developing 
the home farm. He married at the age of twenty and then started 
farming on his own account, presently becoming the owner of a 
small farm, the acreage of which he gradually increased as his 
affairs prospered until he became the owner of a fine farm of 172 
acres in Anderson township, which place he still owns, and there 
he remained, engaged in farming and cattle buying, until in 1893, 
when he retired from the active labors of the farm and moved to 
Milroy, resuming his home on the place where he was born, and has 
ever since resided there, he and his family being comfortably 
situated. It was on November 18, 1869, that Allen Jackman was 
united in marriage to Frances Winship, who also was born in An- 
derson township, this county, a member of one of the old families, 
and to this union two children have been born, Dora F., who mar- 
ried Nellie Patton and has one child, a son, Lawrence, and John, 
who married Mary Tompkins and has two children, Frank and Ned. 
Mrs. Jackman 's parents, Jesse and Esther (Murphy) Winship, also 



106 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

were born in Rush county, their respective parents having been 
among the real pioneers of the county. Jesse Winship was a son 
of Jesse Winship, Sr., who was one of the early settlers of the Milroy 
neighborhood and a man of much influence hereabout in his gen- 
eration, as is set out elsewhere in this volume, together with further 
details of the Winship family in this county. The younger Jesse 
Winship, father of Mrs. Jackman, became a substantial farmer, 
the owner of an excellent farm of 320 acres and also exercised a 
helpful influence upon the community in his generation. He and 
his wife were the parents of seven children, of whom but two are 
now living, Mrs. Jackman having a brother, James Winship. Mr. 
and Mrs. Jackman are members of the Christian church and Mr. 
Jackman has for years been an elder in the church, and for some 
years was treasurer of the board of trustees. He is an ardent Re- 
publican and has ever taken an interested part in local political 
affairs, but has not been an office seeker. 

WILLIAM B. WEBSTER, a well known general farmer of Walker 
township, this county, was born in that township on August 4, 1877, 
a son of John L. and Annetta (Linville) Webster. His father was a 
farmer in Rush county all his life. His mother was born in North 
Carolina. They had five children, Mary, Augusta, Elizabeth, Will- 
iam B. and Jacob II., all living except the latter. William B. Webster 
attended school in district No. 3, Walker township, then worked 
with and for his father on the home farm until his own marriage. 
At that time he rented land and operated it for twelve years, at the end 
of that time buying his present excellent farm of eighty acres. Here 
he follows diversified farming, keeps from six to eight cows and raises 
annually about seventy-five head of hogs. On December 5, 1900, Mr. 
Webster married Hallie M. Mull, who was born in Walker township, 
this county, daughter of Omar and Ada (Lines) Mull. Mr. and Mrs. 
Webster have two children, Harry W. and Donald M., both of whom 
are attending school at Homer. Mr. Webster and his family attend 
the Christian church at Manilla. He is a member of the Masonic- 
lodge and also the Modern Woodmen at Manilla. Politically he is a 
Democrat. 

MICAJAH S. SHROPSHIRE, who died at his home in Rush- 
ville in the summer of 1915 in the eightieth year of his age, was in 
his day one of the best known men in Rush county and it is but 
fitting that in this volume of biography relating to the old families 
of this county some modest tribute should be thus paid to his memory. 
Mr. Shropshire had served for a time as deputy sheriff of Rush 
county and in other ways had rendered efficient public service. As 
a blacksmith for many years in the days when a smithy was some- 
thing more than a place for shoeing horses he had worked faithfully. 
a skilled craftsman in iron working, and his industry and skill 
brought to his place a trade covering a wide territory about Rush- 
ville, so that he had a wide and influential acquaintance hereabout. 
Mr. Shropshire was a Kentuckian by birth, born in the Blue Grass 
state on March 30, 1836, son of Moses Aaron Shropshire, who was 
also born in Kentucky, a member of a pioneer family in that state. 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 107 

Micajah Shropshire came to this county in 1850 and took up the 
blacksmith trade. In due time after acquiring the trade he opened a 
shop of his own in Rushville and there continued actively engaged 
in the business as long as his physical strength would permit. After 
his retirement Mr. Shropshire continued to make his home in Rush- 
ville and there spent his last days, his death occurring on August 
11, 1915, and he was buried in East Hill cemetery, beside the three 
children who had preceded him to the grave. Mr. Shropshire was an 
ardent Democrat and for many years gave his earnest attention to 
local political affairs. He served for one term as deputy sheriff of 
Rush county years ago and had many interesting stories to tell of 
incidents that came to his official notice during that term of service. 
He was a member of the Christian church and, fraternally, was 
affiliated with the P. 0. S. of A. On July 13, 1882, Micajah Shrop- 
shire was united in marriage to Mary A. Matlock, who was born in 
this county, daughter of Thomas S. and Mary (Alexander) Matlock, 
and to that union were born three children, Blount, Lee and Noah, 
all of whom died in infancy. 

JAMES FISHER, a substantial farmer of Richland township, 
who died at his home in that township in the fall of 1916 and whose 
widow is now living at Milroy, was one of the most widely known 
men in Rush county in his day. For many years he had operated 
a threshing machine in season throughout this region, thus acquiring 
a wide acquaintance among the farmers and for some time also he 
had served the public as trustee of his home township, this official 
service tending further to extend his acquaintance and as "Squire" 
Fisher he was widely known hereabout, and in his passing left a good 
memory, for he had many friends who will not soon forget him. 
Mr. Fisher was born on a farm in Richland township on March 17, 
1853, son of Jacob and Elizabeth Fisher, both of whom also were 
born in this county, members of pioneer families in the Richland 
neighborhood, and who were useful and influential members of the 
community of which they were life-long residents. Jacob Fisher, 
the pioneer, and his wife were the parents of nine children, of whom 
the subject of this memorial sketch was the second in order of birth, 
and as most of these reared families of their own the Fisher con- 
nection hereabout in the present generation is a no inconsiderable one. 
Reared on the home farm in Richland township, James Fisher com- 
pleted his schooling in the old Richland Academy and from the days 
of his boj'hood continued actively interested in agricultural pursuits. 
After his marriage he bought a farm of seventy-five acres in Anderson 
and Richland townships, west of Richland, and on that place estab- 
lished his home, remaining there until his death on October 21, 1916. 
When he was fourteen years of age James Fisher began to "follow'* 
a threshing outfit and the work had a fascination for him that kept 
him at it during each successive season until he became a man when 
be bought an outfit of his own and was thereafter engaged during 
seasons in threshing throughout this part of the state, his operations 
carrying him over into Franklin and Decatur counties besides the 
considerable territory covered by him in Rush county. In addition 



108 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

to his general farming he also gave considerable attention to the 
raising of live stock and did well in his operations, so that at the 
time of his death he had quite a snng piece of property. Mr. Fisher 
was an ardent Republican and ever gave close attention to local 
political affairs, serving for some years as trustee of Richland town- 
ship and bringing to the duties of this office an intelligent apprecia- 
tion of the public needs in respect thereto. In his fraternal affilia- 
tion Mr. Fisher was a Mason and took a warm interest in the affairs 
of the local lodge of that ancient organization. On September 20. 
1876, James Fisher was united in marriage to Elizabeth Glass, who 
also was born in Richland township, a member of one of the old fami- 
lies there, and to this union two children were born, Maude, who 
married George Keisling and has one child, a son, Howard Fiske'/ 
Keisling, and Wilbur, who married Grace Clark and has two chil- 
dren, Helen and Hazel. Since the death of her husband Mrs. Fisher 
has made her home at Milroy where she is very comfortably and very 
pleasantly situated. As noted above, she is a member of one of the 
old families in that neighborhood, her parents, George D. and Mary 
(Caskey) Glass, having been but children when their respective 
parents came to Rush county and settled in Richland township, the 
Glasses coming from Kentucky and the Caskeys from Virginia. 
George D. Glass and Mary Caskey were married in Richland town- 
ship and there spent their last days, useful and respected residents 
of the community in which they established their home after their 
marriage. They were the parents of six children, of whom four are 
still living, those besides Mrs. Fisher being Jennie, Emma and Joseph. 
JACOB WISSING, Sr., farmer and stockraiser in Walker town- 
ship, this county, was born in Germany on November 18, 1844, a son 
of George and Barbara (Becker) Wissing, who came to the United 
States in 1856. Of their five children two are living, Lena and Jacob. 
Jacob Wissing was twelve years old when he accompanied his parents 
to this country and before that had attended school in Germany. 
Like his father he became a farmer, working on different farms by 
the year until 1866 when he was married and for ten years after 
that he operated rented land. He then bought eighty acres of his 
present farm in Walker township and to his first purchase kept add- 
ing until he had 333 acres, and has long been considered one 
of the substantial farmers of his township. He has always carried 
on general farming and has also turned off many head of stock every 
year. On November 18, 1866, Jacob Wissing married Caroline Hert- 
zel, who was born in Rush county, daughter of Christian and Salome 
(Bayer) Hertzel. Mr. and Mrs. Wissing have had eight children, 
Jacob A, Henry C, John M., George E., Frederick W., Elizabeth, 
who died at the age of twenty-three years, and two who died in child- 
hood. Henry C. Wissing, a farmer in Rush county, married Lena 
Soble and has a daughter, Margaret. John M. Wissing, a farmer in 
Rush county, married Dena Webster and has four children, Howard. 
Leslie, Annetta and Ellis. George E. Wissing, a farmer in Rush 
county, married Lena Kney. and has three children, Helen, Carolina 
and Wallace. Frederick W. Wissing, a farmer in Henry county, 




WILLIAM s. McCRORY 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 109 

married Ida Phillips, and has three children, Minna, Owen and 
Elmer. Jacob Wissing is a member of Zion church. Politically, he 
has always been a Democrat. 

WILLIAM S. McCRORY, an honored veteran of the Civil war 
and a substantial farmer and landowner of Union township, who 
died at his farm home in that township more than twenty years ago 
and whose widow is still living there, is still well remembered by 
the older generation in that community and it is fitting that there 
should be earned in this volume of biographies relating of the old 
families of Rush county some modest tribute to his memory. Mr. 
McCrory was a Hoosier, born, and all his life was spent in this state. 
He was born on a farm in the Glenwood neighborhood over in the 
neighboring county of Fayette on November 25, 1832, a son of 
Robert and Salina (Saxon) McCrory, the latter of whom was born 
in the state of Georgia, and who was but a small girl when she 
came to Indiana with her parents in pioneer times hereabout. Rob- 
ert McCrory was a native of Ireland who came to America with his 
parents when he was but a lad, the family locating in Pennsylvania, 
where he grew to manhood. As a young man he came out to Indi- 
ana and located in Fayette county, where he presently married and 
established his home, one of the pioneers of the Glenwood neighbor- 
hood, and on their farm there he and his wife spent the remainder 
of their lives. Of the eleven children born to them all are now 
dead, but their descendants in the third and fourth generation are 
numerously represented hereabout. William S. McCrory "grew 
up" on the home farm over in Fayette county and received his 
schooling in the somewhat primitive local schools of that period. 
As a young man he continued farming with his father arid was 
living on the home place when the Civil war broke out. He en- 
listed his services in behalf of the cause of the Union and went to 
the front as a member of L Company, Second Indiana Cavalry, with 
which gallant command he served for more than two years. Among 
the numerous engagements in which Mr. McCrory participated 
was the battle of Stone River in December, 1862, in which 1,730 
Union soldiers were killed, 7,802 wounded and 3,717 listed as "miss- 
ing," this having been accounted one of the bloodiest battles in 
the history of warfare, the above figures not taking into account 
the losses on the Confederate side, which also were enormous. 
Upon the completion of his military service Mr. McCrory returned 
home and resumed his place on his father's farm, remaining there 
until his marriage at the age of thirty-five, after which he came 
over into Rush county and established his home on the farm in 
Union township on which his widow is still living. He started there 
with ninety-three acres but later increased his holdings to about 
160 acres and was long accounted one of the substantial farmers 
of that vicinity. On that place Mr. McCrory spent his last days, his 
death occurring on August 12, 1899. He was an active member of 
the local post of the Grand Army of the Republic and was also a 
member of the local lodge of the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 



110 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

lows, in the affairs of both of which organizations he took a warm 
interest. It was on November 19, 1868, that William S. McCrory 
was united in marriage to Adaline Wikoff, who was born in this 
county, a daughter of Garrett and Nancy (Groves) Wikoff, mem- 
bers of pioneer families in this part of the state, and to this union 
were born two daughters, Lina and Nannie, the latter of whom is 
unmarried and continues to make her home with her mother. Lina 
McCrory married Samuel J. McClure, a well known farmer of Union 
township, and has four children, Grace, Velma, William and Helen, 
the first named of whom married Harvey Arnold and has one child, 
a son, Harvey, Jr., Mrs. McCrory thus having a great-grandchild 
to help gladden the pleasant "evening time" of her life. 

WALDO DRAPER, a farmer of Rush county who has achieved 
success along steady lines of action, was born in Posey township, this 
county, on March 5, 1888, and is the son of James and Millie V. 
(Nelson) Draper, both of whom also were born and reared in Posey 
township. Mr. Draper has followed farming throughout his active 
life. The Draper farm contains 159 acres of land in Posey township. 
To James Draper and his wife were born nine children, all of whom 
are living, namely: Ollie, Cora, Nellie, Waldo, Pearl, Alphonzo. 
Ozro, Millie and Emerson. Waldo Draper attended the Beaver 
Meadow school in Posey township and secured a good practical edu- 
cation. He has been identified with farming operations from his 
boyhood days and he remained on the home place, assisting his father, 
until about three years prior to his marriage, and during this inter- 
vening period he was employed in the neighborhood as a farm hand. 
After his marriage, Mr. Draper went to Shelby county, where he 
rented a farm, which he operated for a time, but subsequently he 
returned to Rush county and located on the farm which he now 
cultivates, and which he rents from his mother. The farm consists 
of 159 acres, the land being well adapted to general farming pur- 
poses, and in addition to the raising of field crops, Mr. Draper also 
gives considerable attention to the breeding and raising of registered 
Poland China hogs and also some grades, handling about seventy-five 
hogs annually. Mr Draper is enterprising and up-to-date in his 
farming methods and is meeting with pronounced success. On Sep- 
tember 10, 1911, Mr. Draper was married to Fannie E. Lightner. 
who was born in Floyd county, Indiana, the daughter of Pleasant 
and Josephine (Robinson) Lightner, the former a native of Pennsyl- 
vania and the latter of Floyd county. Mr. and Mrs. Lightner had 
two children, Charles and Fannie. To Mr. and Mrs. Draper have 
been born three children, Glenn F., Beatrice M. and Leonard W. 
Politically, Mr. Draper is a staunch supporter of the Democratic 
party. Though he has no aspiration for public office, he is an intel- 
ligent supporter of every movement having for its object the advance- 
ment of the general welfare. 

A. J. PERKINS, a native son of Rush county, where his entire 
life has been passed, and one of the representative citizens of the 
vicinity, a worthy scion of one of our sterling pioneer families, who 
is now engaged in the general mercantile business at New Salem, Ind., 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 111 

was born in Noble township, this county, on March 30, 1881, and 
is a son of Henry and Sarah (McComas) Perkins, the former also a 
native of Rush county, and the latter born in Hancock county. 
Indiana. Henry Perkins was the son of Jehu and Pollie (Lyons'! 
Perkins, who became settlers in Rush county in an early day. Henry 
Perkins was reared to manhood in Noble township and on attaining 
mature years he took up the vocation of farming, which he followed 
throughout his active life. Of the five children who blessed the 
union of himself and wife, four are now living, namely : Dean Fore, 
Charles, A. J. and James. A. J. Perkins received a good practical 
education in the public schools of Noble township and after leaving 
school devoted his efforts to teaming until 1906, when he obtained 
employment as a clerk in a general store at Orange. At the end of 
a year he engaged in business for himself at that place, continuing 
it for four years. Then, selling this store, in 1911, Mr. Perkins 
moved to New Salem and bought the A. P. Wellman general store 
In February, 1912, Mr. Perkins enlarged the scope of the business 
by adding a hardware and implement department, in which he has 
put a large and well selected stock of both shelf and heavy hardware 
and allied lines. Every department of his store receives the same 
careful attention and, because of his strict adherence to the highest 
standards of business ethics in his relations with the buying public. 
Mr. Perkins enjoys a large and constantly growing trade as well as 
the confidence and esteem of the people generally. Mr. Perkins was 
married to Clara Medd, the daughter of Frank and Elizabeth Medd, 
and they have one child, Carl. Mr. and Mrs. Perkins are earnest 
members of the Methodist Protestant church, and in politics Mr. 
Perkins gives his support to the Republican party. Genial in manner 
and generous in disposition, Mr. Perkins is deservedly popular in the 
circles in which he moves. 

HENRY V. LOGAN, M. D., a well known physician of Rush- 
ville, who served during the period of America's participation in 
the world war as first lieutenant stationed at Ft. Riley, Kans., is a 
native son of Rush county, a member of one of the county's old 
families, and has lived here all his life. He was born on a farm in 
Noble township on February 4, 1873, son of Samuel H. and Martha 
A. (McKee) Logan, both also born in this county and the latter of 
whom is still living. Samuel H. Logan also was born in Noble town- 
ship, son of James and Elizabeth Logan, the former of whom was a 
native of Ireland who had come to this country with his parents when 
a boy and who, as a young man, acquired a quarter of a section of 
land in Noble township, this county, where he established his home 
and where he and his wife spent their last days, honored pioneers of 
that community. James Logan and wife were the parents of eight 
children, Thomas, John, Oliver, Wai-der, Samuel, Jonas, Alice and 
Abigail, and as most of these remained in this county the Logan 
connection hereabout in this generation is a no inconsiderable one. 
Samuel II. Logan completed his schooling in the old Richland Acad- 
emy and as a young man began farming on his own farm of 160 
acres in Richland township, continuing there for five years, at the 



112 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

end of which time he bought the old George Street homestead place 
of 260 acres, where he established his permanent home and where he 
spent the remainder of his life, his death occuring in 1918. Samuel 
H. Logan and wife were the parents of four children, three of whom 
are living, the Doctor, his brother, Wilbur Logan, and his sister, 
Mary E. Logan, who for the past thirty years has been engaged as ft 
missionary in India, acting under the direction of the Presbyteriar. 
board of missions. The other son, James "Walter Logan, died at the 
age of twenty- three years in 1902. Wilbur Logan is still living on 
the old home place in Noble township. He married Nellie Wilson, 
daughter of John and Nora Wilson, of that township, and has two 
sons, Alfred and Russell, the former of whom is married and is 
living on the home place. Doctor Logan was reared on the homi' 
farm in Noble township, receiving his early schooling in the excellent 
schools of that neighborhood and early turned his attention to the 
study of medicine. He completed his studies in the medical college 
of Indiana University and upon receiving his degree opened an office 
for the practice of his profession in the pleasant village of New 
Salem. That was in 1897 and Doctor Logan remained there for 
thirteen years, or until 1910 when he moved to Rushville, where he 
opened an office and where he has ever since been engaged in prac- 
tice. Following the entrance of the United States into the World 
war against Teutonic arrogance in 1917 Doctor Logan enlisted his 
services in the medical corps of the national army, was commis 
sioned a first lieutenant and was assigned to duty in connection with 
the operations of the base hospital, located at Ft. Riley, Kans. In 
1896 Dr. Henry V. Logan was united in marriage to Bertha Carney, 
who also was born in this county, daughter of William and Sarah 
(Guff in) Carney, of Noble township, and to this union three children 
have been born, but one of whom is living, Olive Louise, born in 1909. 
Doctor and Mrs. Logan are members of the Christian church and 
have ever taken an interested part in church affairs as well as in 
the general social affairs of their home community. The Doctor is 
a Democrat and has ever given a good citizen's attention to local 
civic affairs. Fraternally, he is affiliated with the local lodges of 
the Masons, the Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias at Rush- 
ville and takes a proper interest in the affairs of these organizations. 
FRANK M. COFFIN, who was for many years a resident of 
Carthage, where he was identified with commercial affairs, and who 
for eight years was engaged in engineering work on forts for the 
United States Government, was born in Shelby county, Indiana, 
March 31, 1855, a son of Elihu and Nancy (Jessup) Coffin, natives 
of North Carolina. Not long after their marriage, the parents of 
Mr. Coffin removed to Shelby county, Indiana, later to Hancock 
county, where they rounded out long and honorable careers in the 
pursuits of farming, and where both passed away. Frank M. Coffin 
was educated in the public schools of Shelby county and remained 
on the home farm with his father until he reached the age of twenty 
years, when, in 1875, he went to Carthage, this county, and became a 
salesman in the grocery of a brother, E. T. Coffin. From that time 




KOI'.KKT IIITCIIIXSOX 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 113 

forward until his death, which occurred on May 21, 1912, he was 
connected with business affairs there, particularly pertaining to the 
grocery business, and established a substantial reputation for integ- 
rity and high business principles. He was a Scottish Rite Mason 
and a Republican in politics, and his religious faith was that of the 
Friends, the Meeting of which he attended at Carthage. On May 24, 
18S3, Mr. Coffin was united in marriage to Ella J. Cox, who was 
born at Carthage, and who after completing her early education 
here in the public schools attended DePauw University. She is a 
daughter of Rice P. and Eunice (Henley) Cox, natives of Carthage. 
One child was born to Mr. and Mrs. Coffin, Hazel E., the wife of L. 
Douglas Cooper, a farmer of Ripley township, this county. 

ELMER HUTCHINSON, owner of a prosperous grain elevator 
at Arlington, was born in Posey township, this county, on August 
31, 1873, and is the son of Robert and Margaret (Moore) Hutchin- 
son, both of whom were natives of Indiana, the former of Franklin 
county and the latter of Rush county. Robert Hutchinson was 
educated in the state of Ohio, whither his parents had moved with 
their family when he was but a child. The subject's father sub- 
sequently came to Rush county, where he followed farming during 
the remainder of his life, becoming the owner of 160 acres of land 
and, later, he and his son, Elmer, became joint owners of 250 acres 
in this county. In 1885 Robert Hutchinson engaged in the grain 
business at Arlington, and remained so engaged up to the time 
of his death. From 1901 up to the time of his death he served as 
the secretary of the Arlington cemetery, which today stands as a 
monument to his personal interest and care. As a result of the 
persistent efforts on his part, this cemetery is generally acknowl- 
edged to be one of the most beautiful and best kept cemeteries in 
the state of Indiana, and in the accomplishment of this result Mr. 
Hutchinson earned the gratitude and appreciation of the entire 
community. Of the three children who were born to him and his 
first wife, Elmer is the only one now living. He married second 
Ida Ridenbaugh, and to this union one child, a daughter, Essie, was 
born. She died at the age of thirty-five years. Elmer Hutchinson 
received his educational training in the common schools of Posey 
township, and he also attended two courses, of ten weeks each, at 
the National Normal University, at Lebanon, Ohio. On the com- 
pletion of his studies, Mr. Hutchinson became identified with the 
grain business at Arlington and on January 1, 1895, he entered into 
a partnership with his father in the grain business, a relation 
which was maintained until the death of his father, in 1911. He 
then continued the business alone until January 17, 1920, at which 
time his son, Ross M., become a partner of his father. Elmer 
Hutchinson is a good business man and has made a distinctive suc- 
cess of this business. He is also the owner of a good farm in this 
county, on which, however, he performs no personal work beyond 
a general oversight. He has taken an active part in the larger 
realms of business life and has become closely identified with the 



114 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Grain Dealers' National Association, of which he is now a director, 
a member of the executive committee and for two years has been 
chairman of the appeals arbitration committee. In February, 1895, 
Elmer Hutchinson was married to Nellie Miller, who was born, 
reared and educated in Posey township, the daughter of Joseph 
and Mary (Davis) Miller. To Mr. and Mrs. Hutchinson was born 
a son, Ross M., born on May 2-i, 1896. Ross M. Hutchinson attended 
the Arlington public schools, including four years of high school, 
and then a year in the high school at Rushville, where he was 
graduated. He then entered Purdue University, but two years 
later he enlisted in the United States Marines, serving for twenty- 
six months during the World war. Iu 1917 he married Dorothy 
Wright, who was born and reared in Rush county, and they have 
one child, Margaret, bom on June 9, 1919. Mrs. Nellie Hutchinson 
died on April 1, 1898, and is buried in the Arlington cemetery. On 
August 28, 1898, Elmer Hutchinson was married to Bessie L. Rucker. 
a native of Posey township and the daughter of Henry L. and 
Susan A (Siler) Rucker, both also natives of Rush county, and the 
former a successful merchant in Arlington. To Mr. and Mrs. Hutch- 
inson have been born three children, namely : Lowell, born on 
January 28, 1901, now a student in Earlham College; Zelda, born 
September 11, 1906, now a student in the Arlington High School, 
and Glen, deceased. Politically, Mr. Hutchinson is independent, re- 
serving the right to vote in accordance with the dictates of his 
own judgment, regardless of party lines. He is a member of the 
Christian church at Arlington, of which he is a trustee. Frater- 
nally, he is a member of Phoenix Lodge, No. 62, Free and Accepted 
Masons, at Rushville ; the commandery of Knights Templar at Rush- 
ville; Indianapolis Consistory of the Ancient Accepted Scottish 
Rite, and to Murat Temple, of the Ancient Arabic Order of Nobles 
of the Mystic shrine. He is also a member of the Columbia Club 
and the Board of Trade at Indianapolis. Personally, Mr. Hutchin- 
son is companionable and genial, being a popular member of the 
various circles in which he moves, and because of his high charac- 
ter and business success he has won and holds the confidence and 
respect of the entire community. 

WALTER BITNER, an influential farmer and representative 
citizen of Center township, was born in Howard county, Indiana, on 
the third day of October, 1873, and is a son of Benjamin F. and Char- 
ity (Rich) Bitner. Both of these parents were natives of Rush county, 
the father having been born on February 9, 1839, and the mother 
on November 5, 1836, and their marriage occurred on February 5, 
1860. Mr. Bitner was a farmer through all his active life, being the 
owner of 326 acres of good land in Center township, this county. Of 
the eight children born to him and his wife, seven are living, namely . 
Albert, Mary C, Minerva, Ida I., Walter, Leroy and Lucinda. The 
subject of this sketch was reared under the parental roof and secured 
a good common school education, having attended the Mays school. 
He early became his father's assistant in the work of the home farm 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 115 

and remained with him until his marriage. After that event he 
began farming on his own account and for seven years he operated 
rented land, renting from his father for six years and one year from 
Bert Cohee. He then purchased eighty-nine acres of the home farm, 
where he now lives, and he has here established as complete and 
attractive home as can be found in the vicinity. He erected a new 
house, barn and other buildings and has kept everything in the best 
of repair, and all of the conveniences about the premises are of the 
most modern type, the house containing bathroom, hot and cold 
running water, and other desirable features. Mr. Bitner has also a 
supply of natural gas on his place. He carries on general farming 
operations and raises all the live stock the farm will support. On 
October 12, 1898, Mr. Bitner was married to Eva J. Poust, a native 
of Ripley township, and the daughter of Carl and Mary J. (Branden- 
burg) Foust. Five children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Foust, of 
whom three are living, Lora, Charles W. and Eva J. (Mrs. Bitner). 
James A. died at the age of thirteen years and Mrs. Ida A. Gilson died 
at the age of twenty-eight years. Politically, Mr. Bitner is a Demo- 
crat and he takes an intelligent interest in the trend of public events, 
giving his support to every movement for the advancement of the 
general welfare. He is a member of Raleigh Lodge, No. 640, F. & 
A. M., at present (1921) the senior warden of the lodge. 

PETER GILSON, one of the influential and highly esteemed 
citizens of Jackson township, takes his lineage from old Virginia. 
That section of the country which was associated with so much of 
our early national history became the home of his ancestors in an 
early day, and of Rush county, Indiana, they also were pioneers, the 
first member of the subject's immediate family to locate here having 
been his grandfather, who came from the Old Dominion state and 
located in Rush county. Among his children was William Gilson. 
who born in Virginia, was brought to Indiana in his early youth, 
followed farming here during the most of his active life, and who 
married Sallie Bruce, a native of Rush county. Among their chil- 
dren is Peter Gilson, the immediate subject of this review, whose 
farm is located in Jackson township. He was born on January 1, 1844, 
was educated in the schools of his home neighborhood and remained 
on the home farm, assisting his father until his marriage, in 1878, 
when he took up farming on his own account, renting land for sev- 
eral years, but eventually he bought the land in Jackson township 
where he now lives. The place comprises eight}' acres of fine tillable 
land, which is well improved and has returned abundant crops for 
the labor bestowed upon it. Mr. Gilson here follows a general line of 
farming and stock raising and is meeting with the success that always 
rewards industry, persistency and the exercise of good business judg- 
ment. On March 28, 1878, Mr. Gilson was married to Nancy Rogues : 
who was born and reared in Jackson township, the daughter of Atlas 
and Susan Rogues, who were farming folk in Jackson township and 
in whose family were the following children: James K., Marshal] 
F.. Ida May and Nancy. To Mr. and Mrs. Gilson were born three 
children, of whom two are living, William F., and Iona Bell, who 



116 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

became the wife of Charles G. Mauzy, of Rush county. Fraternally, 
Mr. Gilson is a member of the Improved Order of Red Men, at Rush- 
ville, and politically, a Democrat. 

DEWEY HAGEN. In the history of journalism in Rush county 
there have been few instances to parallel the enterprise displayed by 
Dewey Hagen, of Milroy, publisher of the Milroy Press and Laurel 
Review as well as of other publications. When he took charge of his 
present establishment, but a few years ago, it was a typical country 
town print shop, with out-of-date equipment and obsolete methods. 
Today it is an enterprise that boasts of the latest improved machinery 
of the trade and its affairs are thriving and flourishing in a degree 
that the former owner hardly would have considered possible. Mr. 
Hagan was born at Sailor Springs, Clay county, Illinois, July 11, 
1898, a son of Everett and Katie M. (Hulen) Hagen, the former a 
native of Richland county, Illinois, and the latter of Clay county 
that state. In his earlier years, Everett Hagen followed the trade of 
carpenter, but later turned his attention to farming, and at the 
present time is the owner of about 120 acres of good land in Clav 
county. Six children were born to the parents : Dewitt, Grace, John. 
Dewey, Bessie and a child who died in infancy. Dewey Hagen re- 
ceived his early schooling at Sailor Springs, following which he 
spent two years in the high school at Flora, 111. Seeing an oppor- 
tunity at the latter place to learn the printing business, for which 
he had always had an inclination, he left school and became a printer 's 
"devil" in the establishment there, and during the following two 
years learned much about the business. So much, in fact, that he 
was able to take charge of the weekly newspaper shop of the Repub- 
lican, at Louisville, 111. After two years of service in that capacity 
he severed his connection and came to Milroy, where he invested his 
small capital in the Milroy Press. At the time of his arrival things 
looked anything but propitious for success. The newspaper itself 
was in precarious state of health, old-time methods prevailed in the 
shop, and all the matter was set by hand. Mr. Hagen, however, with 
characteristic energy, set about to change conditions. During the 
first year of his stay he put in a linotype machine, with a single 
magazine, with which he worked four years. This was then dis- 
posed of in favor of another of larger capacity, this being of four 
magazines and two keyboards, the only one of its type in Rush county 
and one of the few to be found in Indiana. Another machine has 
just been added to this equipment. Mr. Hagen has shown his enter- 
prise further by putting in a Ludlow typograph machine, the only 
one of its kind to be installed in a country town office in the United 
States. His present press, recently installed, has a capacity of 2,500 
impressions an hour, and other equipment throughout the shop is 
proportionately modern and complete. When Mr. Hagen took charge 
of affairs, a single helper was sufficient to conduct the affairs of 
the plant, while now employment is given to four assistants. Mr. 
Hagen is publishing two weekly papers, the Milroy Press and the 
Laurel Review, the former of which has a circulation of 600 and the 
latter 400 readers. He also publishes school papers for the schools 




YAXOXDOL. M. D. 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 117 

at Milroy, Carthage, Manilla and "Waldron. His readers are given 
United Press Association news, as his papers belong to this news 
bureau. The columns of his publication are ever at the service of 
worthy civic movements, and his news matter is clean and reliable 
and presented in an interesting way. Politically Mr. Hagen is a 
Republican, and fraternally he is a member of Milroy Lodge, No. 
139, Free and Accepted Masons. On September 9, 1915, Dewey 
Hagen was united in marriage to Vera W. Kepp, who was born and 
educated at Ingraham, 111., a daughter of Cornelius and May (Pugh) 
Kepp. To this union there have been born two children, Jules Con- 
rad and a child who died in infancv. 

DAWSON DWIGHT VANOSDOL, M. D., one of the foremost 
medical practitioners of Rushville, is a representative of one of the 
pioneer families of Indiana, and of old colonial stock. His great- 
great-grandfather was one of three brothers who came to America 
from Holland prior to the Revolution. Doctor VanOsdol's great- 
grandfather, Benjamin VanOsdol, was born in this country on 
August 9, 1777. On January 23, 1816, he entered into a contract 
with one Hugh Espey whereby in return for certain labors he was 
furnished with a flatboat and $100 to transport his family to "a 
place called the Rising Sun in the Indiana Territory." He later 
settled in New Hope, Ohio county, Indiana, and died there on Sep- 
tember 12, 1848. He married Rebecca Reese, who was born on 
April 11, 1779, and died at New Hope on March 5, 1844. To this 
union there were born six children, of whom Nathan Allan Van- 
Osdol was the youngest. Coming from Fayette county, Pennsylvania, 
with his parents, he first was employed as a farm laborer, but later 
took up flatboating, a business which he followed until the year 
1837. Leaving the river, he bought a farm near New Hope, Ind., 
where he spent the remainder of his life in the pursuits of agricul- 
ture and in the cooperage business. On June 30, 1836, he married 
Elizabeth Crowley, a native of Clark county, Virginia, where she 
was born on September 26, 1818. To Nathan Allan VanOsdol and 
his wife were born a large family, in which John Winchester Van- 
Osdol was the fifth child. He was born on December 13, 1845, 
received his early training on a farm, and when the Civil war broke 
out, volunteered in Company I, One Hundred and Thirty-ninth 
Indiana Volunteer Infantry, with which organization he rose to the 
rank of sergeant. After being honorably discharged from the 
service he resolved to become a member of the medical profession, 
and accordingly attended the Miami Medical College at Cincinnati 
for two years, the prescribed course in those days. On September 
15, 1868, Dr. John W. VanOsdol was married to Mrs. Sophia Orten- 
tia Downey, and to them five children were born : Dawson Dwight, 
VanOsdol, the subject of this review ; Dr. L. E. VanOsdol, a prac- 
tising dental surgeon, of Peru, Ind.; Dr. Nathan Wilford VanOs- 
dol, doctor of dental surgery, of Indianapolis; Mary Elizabeth, 
who married Dr. Jesse Frank Coffield, of Ohio county, Indiana, 
and Fred Arthur, who died when he was but four years of age. 



118 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Dr. John W. VanOsdol passed his declining years in Rushville, 
where he passed away on November 2, 1903. Dawson Dwight Van- 
Osdol was born on July 30, 1860, at Allensville, Switzerland county, 
Indiana. After completing the common school curriculum, he at- 
tended the Edinburg high school for one year, and subsequently 
the Miami Medical College at Cincinnati, from which he was grad- 
uated on April 4, 1894. For three years following his graduation 
Doctor VanOsdol practiced at Allensville, and then, on October 12, 
1897, he married Myra Jane Gary, daughter of the Rev. T. B. Gary, 
of Rush county, lie then moved to East Enterprise, Ind., and on 
August 1, 1899, located at Rushville, where he has since remained. 
To Doctor and Mrs. VanOsdol two children have been born : Dwight 
Gary, born December 13, 1898, at East Enterprise, Switzerland 
county, Indiana, who was graduated from the Rushville high school 
and in the fall of 1917 entered Indiana University with a view to 
entering the medical profession, and Max Ball, born on May 17, 
1904. Doctor VanOsdol has always kept abreast of the progress 
made in his profession, and is a member of the various local, state 
and national medical associations, in the affairs of which he takes 
an active interest. He is a Royal Arch and Scottish Rite Mason 
and a noble of the Ancient Arabic Order of Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine, affiliated with Murat Temple at Indianapolis, and is also 
affiliated with the local lodges of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows and the Knights of Pythias. He is a Republican and a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal church. 

MERRILL S. BALL, a former member of the board of county 
commissioners of Rush county, who is now engaged in the dry-clean- 
ing business at Rushville, member of the firm of Ball & Bebout, is a 
native son of Rush county and has lived here all his life with the 
exception of a period during the days of his youth when the family 
lived at Knightstown in the neighboring county of Henry. He was 
born in Posey township on November 14, 1875, son and only child of 
Caleb and Carrie M. (Stuart) Ball, the former of whom was born in 
Pennsylvania but was but a child when he came to Indiana with his 
parents, Jonathan and Asenath Ball in 1835, the family locating in 
Tosey township, this county. Jonathan Ball was a man of much 
force and was one of the best known and most influential among the 
pioneer settlers of that section of the county. He became the owner 
of 2,300 acres of land in Posey township and did much to promote 
the advancement of social and economic conditions thereabout in the 
formative period of that now prosperous and well developed com- 
munity. Caleb Ball grew to manhood in Posey township and as a 
young man became engaged in farming with his father. After his 
marriage he for some time made his home in Knightstown, where he 
became engaged in the hardware business, but later returned to the 
old home place in Posey township, where he resumed farming and 
where he spent the remainder of his life, his death occurring there in 
1881. Caleb Ball was twice married. His first wife, Harriet Fer- 
guson, was born in Henry county, as was his second wife, Carrie M. 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 119 

Stuart, mother of the subject of this sketch. Merrill S. Ball received 
his early schooling in the schools of Knightstown and supplemented 
the same by a course of two years at Earlham College at Richmond. 
Upon leaving college he resumed his place on the home farm in Posey 
township, which he had inherited, and there remained for twelve 
years, or until 1911, when he moved to Rushville and opened a garage. 
For two years he was engaged in this business and then, in the fall 
of 1913, he formed a partnership with Clata L. Bebout, under the 
firm name of Ball & Bebout, and opened a dry-cleaning, pressing 
and tailoring establishment at Rushville, a business in which he has 
since been quite successfully engaged. Mr. Ball is a Republican and 
has for years taken an active interest in local political affairs. He 
served one term as member of the board of county commissioners 
from his home district and has in other ways given of his time and 
attention to civic matters. In 1898 Merrill S. Ball was united in 
marriage to Mary E. Rash, who was born in the neighboring county 
of Hancock, daughter of W. R. Rash, a former merchant of that 
county, now living retired, and to this union two children have been 
born, Margaret C. and Richard S., the former of whom is now (1921) 
a student at the University of Indiana at Bloomington. Mr. anil 
Mrs. Ball are members of the Methodist church and have ever taken 
an interested part in church affairs as well as in the general social 
activities of their home community. Mr. Ball is a Mason, a member 
of the local lodge of that order at Rushville, and is a Knight Templar, 
a member of the Rushville commandery. He also is affiliated with 
the local lodges of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and in the affairs of all 
these organizations takes a warm fraternal interest. 

SAMUEL E. COWAN, who died at his home in Noble township 
in the fall of 1911 while serving as a member of the county council 
of this county was a man of much public spirit and in his official 
capacity had rendered excellent service. Diligent in his own business 
he had a no less intelligent appreciation of the public business and his 
acts as a member of the county council were ever measured by his 
high sense of values as related to the general good of the common- 
wealth. Mr. Cowan was born in this county and here spent his life, 
a useful citizen and a faithful and intelligent public servant. He 
was born on a farm in Richland township on March 4, 1870, a son of 
John A. and Sarah E. (Meek) Cowan, the latter of whom was born 
in the neighboring county of Decatur and both of whom spent their 
last days in this county. John A. Cowan was born in Rush county, 
a member of one of the old families here, and all his life was spent 
in the county, a helpful force in the community in which he long 
resided, southeast of Richland. He and his wife were the parents 
of five children, three of whom are still living, Anna, of Rushville; 
Inez, wife of Frank McCorkle, of Milroy, and William Cowan, of 
Indianapolis. Reared on the old Cowan home farm in Richland 
township, Samuel E. Cowan received his schooling in the excellent 
schools of that neighborhood and from the days of his boyhood was 
well trained in the ways of farming, a vocation he followed all his 



120 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

mature life. He remained at home, a valued assistant in the labors 
of his father's farm, until after his marriage when he rented a farm 
southwest of Richland and was there engaged in farming for several 
years, at the end of which time, in association with his father, he 
bought a farm of 175 acres in Noble township, proceeded to improve 
and develop the same and at the time of his death ten years later had 
an excellent farm and one of the best equipped farm plants in that 
part of the country. Mr. Cowan was a Republican and had from 
the days of his young manhood given his earnest attention to local 
public affairs, ever advocating movements promotive of better gov- 
ernment, and at the time of his death had for some time been serving 
as a member of the county council, a position of responsibility re- 
quiring well poised judgment and a comprehensive knowledge of 
local conditions, and to the duties of that office had given his most 
thoughtful attention and consideration. Mr. Cowan's death occurred 
on September 9, 1911, he then being forty-one years of age — at a 
time generally regarded as the very prime of life, when the capacity 
for useful service is on the increase, and his early passing was widely 
mourned throughout the county, a good memory being had of him 
in the community in which his whole life was spent. It was in 1894 
that Samuel E. Cowan was united in marriage to Mary Louise 
Nesbit, who was born in Decatur county, daughter of John and Mary 
(McHargh) Nesbit, both of whom also were born in that county. 
members of pioneer families there. John Nesbit was a farmer and 
live stock buyer and was widely known throughout this section of 
the state by reason of his extensive live stock operations, his buying 
for the horse and mule markets particularly giving him a wide 
acquaintance among the farmers of the region. He and his wife 
were the parents of five children. Since the death of her husband 
Mrs. Cowan has made her home in Milroy and is looking after the 
operations of the farm which she owns and is directing in admirable 
fashion, and has made numerous improvements since the place has 
been under her direction. She is a member of the United Presbyterian 
church, as was her husband, and has ever taken an earnest and 
helpful interest in church work as well as in the general good works 
of her neighboi-hood. 

JOHN M. WISSING, a well known farmer and stockman of 
Walker township, was born in that township on February 27, 1876, 
a son of Jacob and Caroline (Ilertzel) Wissing. His father was 
born in Germany in 1844 and was twelve years old when he accom- 
panied his parents to the United States, and during the greater part 
of his subsequent life has lived in Rush county. The mother of Mr. 
Wissing was born in Rush county, a daughter of Christian and Salome 
(Bayer) Hertzell. John M. Wissing attended school in district No. 
8, Walker township, and afterward assisted his father on the home 
farm until his marriage. For six years afterward he rented land 
from his father, then bought fifty-three acres in Walker township 
and to this first tract has added until he now owns 135 acres. He 
carries on general farming but gives his chief attention to live stock, 
being one of the most extensive feeders in this section, usually having 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 121 

fifty head of cattle and often as many as 1,000 head of hogs yearly. 
On March 19, 1902, Mr. Wissing married Mary D. Webster, who was 
born in Rush county, daughter of Jacob L. and Annetta (Linvill) 
Webster. The father of Mrs. Wissing was born in Rush county and 
the mother in North Carolina. They had five children, Mary D., 
Augusta, Elizabeth, William and Jacob H. (deceased). Mr. and Mrs. 
Wissing have four children, Howard W., Jacob L., Annetta C. and 
Alice M., the three elder now attending school at Manilla. Mr. Wis- 
sing and his family are members of the Evangelical church, in Shelby 
county. He has always supported the principles of the Democratic 
party but has never accepted a political office. He is a member of 
the Masonic lodge at Manilla and also belongs to the Modern Wood- 
men body there. 

JAMES A. BROWN, a substantial retired farmer of Anderson 
township, now living at Milroy, is a Kentuckian by birth, but has 
been a resident of Rush county since he was twelve years old, and 
thus very properly feels that he "belongs" here quite as much as 
though "native and to the manner born." He was born on a farm 
in Bath county, Kentucky, August 3, 1854, son of Abraham and 
Elizabeth (Hencey) Brown, both of whom were born in Nicholas 
county, Kentucky, members of pioneer families in that part of 
that state. In 1864 Abraham Brown left Kentucky with his family 
and moved across the river into Clermont county, Ohio, where he 
made his home for two years, at the end of which time he came 
with his family over into Indiana and located in this county, first 
renting a farm in Walker township, but presently moving to Rush- 
ville township where not long afterward he died, his death occur- 
ing in 1870. His widow survived him and kept the family of chil- 
dren together on the farm. There were five of these children, two 
of whom are still living, the subject of this sketch having a brother, 
Samuel Brown. As noted above James A. Brown was but a boy 
when he came to Rush county with his parents and his schooling 
was completed here. This schooling, however, was confined to 
brief terms of two or three months a year. He was but sixteen 
years of age when his father died and he thus early assumed mature 
responsibilities, helping to carry on the farm operations in his 
mother's behalf until he was twenty-one when he rented a piece of 
land and began operations on his own account. He married at the 
age of twenty-three and then established a home on his rented farm 
and continued there until 1890, when he moved onto an "eighty" 
of timber land which belonged to his wife and proceeded to clear 
and develop the same. He cleared the place, got it under cultiva- 
tion and as his affairs prospered added an adjoining "eighty" and 
now has a well improved farm of 160 acres. On that place he con- 
tinued his active labors until his retirement and removal to Milroy, 
where he and his family are very comfortably situated. Despite 
his "retirement" Mr. Brown continues to take an active interest in 
his farm and keeps a pretty close supervisory eye on operations 
there. It was in 1877 that James A. Brown was united in marriage 



122 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

to Carrie Lowden, who was born in this county, daughter of George 
and Mary Jane (Plough) Lowden, and to this union five children 
have been born, namely : Lola, who married Clair Johnson and has 
three children, Carl, Fay and Ruth; Leslie B., who married Myrtle 
Hasty and has two children, Lois and Donald ; Jacob, who married 
Jessie Palmer and has three children, Wilma, Thelma and Weldon; 
Pearl, who married Charles Fisher and has one child, a daughter, 
Margaret ; and Mary, who married Clifford Senior and has two 
children, Fred and Lester. Mr. and Mrs. Brown are members of 
the Methodist church at Richland and have for years taken an 
active interest in the work of the same, Mr. Brown formerly having 
served as a steward of the church and is now a memlber of the 
board of trustees of the same. In his political views he is a Re- 
publican and has always taken an interested part in local civic 
affairs. He has been a member of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows for more than forty years and has been "through the 
chairs" of the local lodge, in the affairs of which he has ever taken 
a warm interest. 

JAMES 0. DRAPER, a progressive farmer of Posey township 
and one of the worthy native sons of Rush county, was born in 
Posey township on February 17, 1862, and is the son of J. T. and 
Saphrona (Lower) Draper, the former a native of Virginia and the 
latter of Ohio. These parents were reared and educated in their 
respective native localities, but were married after moving to Rush 
county, where they spent the remainder of their lives. Mr. Draper 
was the owner of 140 acres of land in Posey township. To him and 
his wife were born six children, all of whom are living, namely: 
Francis, Henry, George, Charles, James and Elma. James 0. Draper 
was reared under the parental roof and secured his education in 
district No. 9. He remained on the home farm until after his mar- 
riage, when he took up farm work on his own account beginning as a 
renter, but he was energetic and a good manager and about ten years 
after his marriage he bought sixty acres of land in Posey township. 
Five months later he sold that farm and bought an eighty-acre tract 
in Rushville township, where he remained about three years. Selling 
that place, he then bought ninety-nine acres near Carthage, which he 
cultivated for about five years. He then moved onto the farm of 159 
acres in Posey township which Mrs. Draper inherited, where the 
family lives, and here he has since remained, engaged in general 
agricultural operations. He raises all the crops common to this 
locality and also gives some attention to the raising of live stock, 
handling about 100 head of hogs each year. The farm is well im- 
proved and is returning a satisfactory income. In February. 1SS3. 
Mr. Draper was married to Viola Nelson, a native of Posey township 
and the daughter of W. H. and Elizabeth (Adams) Nelson. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Draper have been born nine children, all of whom are 
living, namely: Olive, Cora, Nellie, Waldo, Pearl, Alphonso, Ozro, 
Millie, and Emerson. All of these children are married excepting 
Millie, who is engaged (1921) in teaching in the Washington town- 
ship school at Raleign. In addition to his general agricultural opera- 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 123 

lions, Mr. Draper has been interested in the breeding of speed horses 
<md among the good horses which he has raised are the following. 
"Robert Axworthy," trotter, trial mile 2:2014, sire, "Morgan Ax- 
worthy," dam, "Martha MacJay;" "Elizabeth Hall," bay trotter, 
trial mile 2:36, sire, "Bingen Hall," dam, "Lou C. McGregor;" 
"Lady Blacklock," pacer, record 2:24%, sire, "Blacklock," dam, 
"Zuleka. " Politically, Mr. Draper is a strong supporter of the 
Democratic party, while in religious belief he and his family are 
identified with the Christian church at Arlington. 

LOREN MARTIN,, county clerk of Rush county and one of the 
most popular young officials about the court house, was born in this 
county and has lived here all his life save for a period of a few 
vears during the days of his boyhood when the family made their 
home in the neighboring county of Decatur. He was born on a farm 
in Richland township on January 12, 1890, son of Ralph Erastus 
and Carrie (Price) Martin, both of whom were born in Decatur 
county and the latter of whom is still living. Ralph E. Martin was 
reared in Decatur county and began his active career as a farmer, a 
vocation he maintained all his life. He was married in Decatur 
county and not long afterward moved over into Rush county and 
began working on a farm in Richland township. A year later he 
returned to Decatur county, where he remained for nine years, at the 
end of which time he returned to Rush county and bought a farm 
of fifty acres in Noble township on which place he made his home 
for about two years, at the end of which time he sold that place and 
rented a farm in Anderson township. Fourteen years later he left 
that place and moved to a farm in Rushville township where he 
spent the remainder of his life, his death occurring there on Feb- 
ruary 1, 1918. Ralph E. Martin and wife were the parents of eight 
children, seven of whom are still living, those besides the subject of 
this sketch being Charles, Clyde, Ralph, Hugh, Bertha and Walter. 
Loren Martin "grew up" in Rush county, assisting in the labors 
of the farm, and was graduated from the New Salem high school. 
In 1910 he took a course in the normal school at Marion, Ind., and 
thus equipped for teaching entered the ranks of Hendricks county 
school teachers and was engaged in teaching for two or three years, 
alternating the winter terms of school with the summer courses at 
Indiana University. He then became connected with the Indiana 
State School for the Blind at Indianapolis and was thus engaged in a 
supervisory capacity when the United States entered the World war 
in the spring of 1917. He enlisted his services in behalf of our arms 
and on May 14 following the declaration of war entered the officers' 
training corps at Ft. Benjamin Harrison and was there engaged in 
preparation for expected service until July 3, when he received an 
honorable discharge on the ground of physical incapacity and returned 
to his home on the farm, continuing there engaged in looking after 
matters for his father until the latter 's death early in the next year. 
On August 1, 1919, Mr. Martin was appointed to fill an unexpired 
term in the office of the county clerk and is still serving in that 
capacity. On October 30, 1919, Loren Martin was united in marriage 



124 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

to Helen Norris, daughter of W. A. Norris, and has since made his 
home in Rushville. Mr. and Mrs. Martin are members of the Meth- 
odist church and take an interested part iu church work, as well as in 
the general social affairs of their home town. Politically, Mr. Martin 
io a Republican and from the days of his boyhood has taken an 
active interest in local political affairs, coming to be regarded as 
one of the leaders of his party in Rush county. Fraternally, he is 
affiliated with the local lodge of the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks at Rushville and takes a proper interest in the affairs of thai 
popular fraternal organization. 

CLATA L. BEBOUT, former sheriff of Rush county, former 
mayor of the city of Rushville, at one time postmaster at Manilla, 
for many years actively identified with the general civic affairs of 
the county, at one time chairman of the county Republican central 
committee and now and for some years past engaged in the dry- 
cleaning business at Rushville, is a native son of Rush county and 
has lived here all his life. He was born in Rushville township on 
April 8, 1872, son of James H. and Mary E. (Lowden) Bebout, both 
of whom are still living. James H. Bebout also was born in Rush- 
ville township and there grew to manhood. After his marriage he 
became engaged in farming but not long afterward turned his at- 
tention to carpentering at Manilla and was thus engaged as a 
building contractor until his retirement from business in 1920. Clata 
L. Bebout received his schooling in the schools of Walker township 
and from the days of his youth evinced an active interest in public 
affairs. For three years he served as postmaster at Manilla and 
later and for some time was engaged on the local section of the 
Pennsylvania Railroad Company's line at Manilla. In 1900 he served 
as census enumerator for Walker township. In the meantime he had 
become engaged in the carpentering business and for sixteen years 
followed that vocation. In 1908 Mr. Bebout was elected sheriff of 
Rush county and has since then made his home in Rushville. He was 
re-elected to the office of sheriff, thus serving two terms, and in 
1913 was elected mayor of the city and for four years held that 
office. In September of that same year Mr. Bebout organized the 
company of Ball & Bebout, dry-cleaners and pressers, in Rushville. 
and is still engaged in that business, having a well-equipped plant 
for carrying on the company's operations. Years ago Mr. Bebout 
became engaged in the fire insurance business and still maintains a 
local agency in that behalf. He is a Republican and for years has 
been recognized as among the leaders of that party in this county, for 
some time having served as chairman of the county committee. In 
1892 Clata L. Bebout was united in marriage to Katherine Heifner, 
who also was born in this county, daughter of John and Alice Heif- 
ner, the former of whom is a retired farmer of Walker township, and 
to this union two children have been born, Dr. Yerl A. Bebout and 
Gladys K., wife of Edwin H. Hughes, Jr., of Boston, Mass., now resid- 
ing at Tulsa, Okla. Mrs. Hughes completed her schooling at DePauw 
University and Dr. Yerl A. Bebout was graduated from the Indiana 
Dental College at Indianapolis. He married Ruth Aldridge, who 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 125 

also was born in this county, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Albert L. 
Aldridge, of Rushville, and has one child, a son, Stewart A., born in 
1916. Mr. Bebout is a member of the Baptist church at Homer, and 
his wife of the Methodist Episcopal church at Rushville. Mr. Bebout 
is a Mason and a member of the local lodge of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks at Rushville, and of the Tall Cedars of 
Lebanon, the Modern Woodmen and the Royal Neighbors at Manilla. 

GARRETT D. WIKOFF, a retired farmer and landowner of 
Union township and one of the best known men in Rush county, 
was born on the place on which he is now living and has lived 
there all his life. His father, Garrett "Wikoff, who was born in 
Monmouth county, New Jersey, February 3, 1799, was one of the 
early settlers of Rush county. He was a son of Arthur W. and Eleanor 
(Conover) Wikoff and was seventeen years of age when he came 
West with his parents, the family settling near Middletown, in Butler 
county, Ohio. In 1820 he married Nancy McClellan and soon after- 
ward came over into Rush county, and ' ' entered ' ' a quarter of a sec- 
tion of land in what later came to be organized as Union township. He 
was a man of energetic action aud a good judge of land values and 
came to be the owner of better than 2,000 acres of land in this county. 
It was he who introduced "Short-horn" cattle here and he became an 
extensive breeder of live stock. The senior Garrett Wikoff was 
twice married. By his marriage to Nancy McClellan he had six 
children, Sarah J., Adaline, James M., Arthur W., Samuel C. and 
Benjamin S. His second wife, the mother of the subject of this 
sketch, was Nancy Groves, who was born in Kentucky on April 9, 
1820, and who had come here with her parents, Donovan and Sarah 
(Hicks) Groves, in pioneer days. To that union there were born four 
children, the subject of this sketch and his sisters, Nancy A., Eleanor 
G., and Mary Anna. The father of these children died on November 
24, 1886, and his widow survived until 1894. Reared on the old home 
farm in Union township, Garrett D. Wikoff completed his schooling 
in Fairview Academy and from the days of his boyhood has been 
engaged in farming on the place on which he still is living. His father 
gave him a tract of ninety acres on which he established his home after 
his marriage, and in the years that have elapsed since that time has 
brought the place up to a high standard of cultivation and has made 
improvements of a substantial character. In addition to his general 
farming Mr. Wikoff has been accustomed to feed out about 200 
bead of hogs a year and has done well in his operations. It was in 
1877 that Garrett D. Wikoff was united in marriage to Julia Par- 
rish, who died in 1903. She was a daughter of John and Emmaline 
Parrish. Mr. Wikoff has a pleasant home on rural mail route No. 
1 out of Glenwood, and has ever been hospitably interested in the 
community's general social activities. He is a Royal Arch Mason, 
a member of the blue lodge at Fairview and of the chapter at Rush- 
ville. In his political views he is an "independent" Democrat. 

CHARLES MURPHY, one of the substantial farmers of Noble 
township now living at New Salem, where he has a pleasant modern 
home, was born in Noble township, this county, September 4, 1858, a 



126 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

son of John and Anna (McCrory) Murphy, and a grandson of Jesse 
Murphy. John Murphy was born in Butler county, Ohio, and was a 
child when brought by his parents to Rush county, the family settling 
in Union township, where he was educated, adopted farming and was 
married to Miss McCrory, a native of Fayette county, Indiana. Later 
he moved to Noble township, where he bought a farm, and so suc- 
cessful was he in his operations that at the time of his death he was 
the owner of 232 acres of valuable land. He and his wife were the 
parents of eight children, of whom five are living, George, Charles. 
Jesse, Roy and Ida May. Charles Murphy received his education al 
the old Applegate schoolhouse in Noble township, and upon the com- 
pletion of his schooling joined his father in the cultivation of the 
home acres. This association continued until the death of the eldc- 
man, when Charles Murphy secured a part of the estate as his 
inheritance and began operations on his own acount on a tract of 
i>inety-two acres. There he continued as a general farmer, adding to 
his means each year and bettering the improvements on the farm, 
until 1920, when he turned the labors of the property over to younger 
hands and retired to his comfortable home at New Salem. In 1880, 
Mr. Murphy married Maggie Fay, who was born in Fayette county, 
daughter of Michael and Hannah Fay, natives of Ireland, the former 
of County Roscommon and the latter of County Galway. Mrs. Mur- 
phy's parents were young people when they emigrated to the United 
States and settled in New Jersey, where they met and were married. 
Following their union they came to Indiana and located in Fayette 
county, where Mr. Fay was engaged actively in farming until he 
moved to Howard county, where he is now living at the advanced age 
of ninety-three years. His wife passed away in 1917. They were the 
parents of eight children, of whom four are now living, John, William, 
Mary A. and Maggie. Two children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Murphy, Elsie, who married Clifford Stamm and has two children. 
Cecil and Margaret, and John, who married Jessie Colvin and has 
bad two children, Esther and Gilbert, the latter of whom is deceased. 
Mr. and Mrs. Murphy are members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, of which Mr. Murphy was formerly a steward and trustee 
In politics he is a Republican. 

WESTON C. RICHEY, a substantial retired farmer of Ander- 
son township and for years an extensive dealer in live stock at Milroy, 
where he has resided for more than twenty- five years, was born in 
this county and has lived here all his life. He was born on a farm 
in Anderson township on July 20, 1856, son of William and Cynthia 
(Henderson) Richey, the latter of whom was born in Ohio, having 
come here with her parents in the days of her girlhood, and both 
of whom spent their last days in this county. William Richey was 
born in Kentucky and was but a child when his father, Adam Richey, 
left that state and with his family came up into Indiana and settled 
on a farm in Anderson township, this county, where he and his wife 
spent the remainder of their lives, useful and influential pioneers of 
that community. William Richey grew up on that pioneer farm and 
in turn became a farmer on his own account, a vocation in which he 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 127 

continued engaged until his death. He became the owner of an 
excellent farm of about 100 acres and in addition had long been 
accustomed to operating a considerable extra acreage of rented lands. 
He and his wife were the parents of eleven children, of whom seven 
are still living, those besides the subject of this sketch being Jerusha, 
wife of Frank Nadal; Arkansas, wife of Ira Tompkins; Catherine, 
wife of Sol Smith; Martha, wife of Maurice Maxey; Missouri, widow 
of David S. Stewart, and Morton Richey. Reared on the home farm 
in Anderson township, Weston C. Richey received his schooling in 
the schools of that neighborhood and continued on the farm, working 
with his father until his marriage after which he rented a farm and 
started operations for himself. Several years later he bought a tract 
of eighty acres in Anderson township, later increasing that acreage to 
189 acres, but afterward sold eighty-five acres of this and is now 
the owner of a well improved farm of 104 acres.. On this place he 
continued general farming until 189-1 when he moved to Milroy and 
there became engaged in the retail meat business. Several years later, 
however, he sold his butcher shop and began to confine his operations 
to dealing in live stock, a business he had begun to develop profitably 
while carrying on his butcher business, and has since then been thus 
engaged, for the past twenty years having been regarded as one 
of the leading live stock dealers in this section, buying extensively 
hereabout and shipping to the leading markets. In addition to this 
Mr. Richey keeps up his interest in his farm and has a fine farm 
plant. Weston C. Richey has been twice married. By his first wife, 
Emma Crawford, he has six children, Edith, Clarence, Anna, Mabel, 
Clyde and Ruth, all of whom are married and have children of their 
own, Mr. Richey thus having thirteen grandchildren, in all of whom 
he takes much pride and delight. Edith Richey married Worth 
Kelly and has two children, Ralph and Ray. Clarence Richey mar- 
ried Mary Wolforst and has three children, Clifford, Chester and 
Marshall. Anna Richey married Riley Coulter and has one child, 
a son, Charles. Mabel Richey married Harvey Ray and has four 
children, Vivian, Helen, Opal and Weston. Clyde Richey married 
Gertrude Crume and has two children, Gerald and Lillian, and Ruth 
Richey married Paul Glisson and has one child, a daughter, Mildred. 
The mother of these children died and Mr. Richey married Georgia 
Mae Tarkington. Mr. and Mrs. Richey are members of the Methodist 
church. In his political affiliation Mr. Richey is a Republican and 
has ever given a good citizen's attention to local civic affairs, but has 
not been a seeker after public office. He and his wife have a pleasant 
home at Milroy and take a proper part in the general social activities 
of the community. 

MARSHALL B. RIGSBEE, a well known general farmer resid- 
ing in Walker township, belongs to one of the early families of this 
county and a part of his present farm has been in the Rigsbee name 
for eighty-seven years. He was born in Posey township, this county. 
September 7, 1855, a son of Madison and Mary (Barnard) Rigsbee. 
who had four children, two of whom survive, Mrs. Flora Swain, of 
Shelby county, and Marshall B., who owns his father's old homestead 



128 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

of 133 acres. Marshall B. Rigsbee attended the district schools in 
both Posey and Walker townships in boyhood, during that time mak- 
ing himself useful to his father and later, after his marriage, worked 
the farm on shares with his father. In 1834 his grandfather entered 
eighty acres that are now included in the home farm, from the govern- 
ment, and it has always been Mr. Rigsbee 's aim to keep this farm in 
the family. When his father died he bought out the other heirs. He 
keeps the property in fine repair and carries on general farming and 
stock raising, annually feeding about eighty head of hogs. On Sep- 
tember 7, 1879, Mr. Rigsbee married Emily Miller, who also was born 
in Posey township, daughter of James and Useba (Swain) Miller, 
who had a family of nine children, Lena, Cassa, Edwin, George, Pres- 
ton, Emily and three deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Rigsbee have had nine 
children, Pearl (deceased), Arlie, Ertle, Clayton, Claude, Emerson, 
Edith, Nella and Mary. Arlie Rigsbee, who is now residing at Indian- 
apolis, connected with the insurance department of the Fletcher 
Savings and Trust Company of that city, married Delpha Hester and 
has two children, Catherine and Maxine. Ertle Rigsbee, who is now 
residing at Portland, Ind., where he is employed in the service of 
the Schlosser Bros, creamery of Indianapolis, married Stella Ash 
and has four children, Merle, Marshall, Lowell and Denzel. Clayton 
Rigsbee, who is in the insurance business at Indianapolis, married 
Kate Vanwinkle, and has had two children, Robert, and one that 
died in youth. Claude Rigsbee, who is agent for the Watkins prod- 
ucts in northern Rush county, married Reba Fall and has one son, 
Paul, the family home being at Carthage. Edith Rigsbee, who mar- 
ried the Rev. Francis Eddy, a minister, at Fairmount, Ind., has five 
children, Gerald, Lucile, Grace, Warren and the baby. Nella is the 
wife of Dr. Charles Zike, a dentist at Manilla, and has one child. 
Catherine. Mary Rigsbee married Esta Theobold, a farmer in Shelby 
county. Mr. Rigsbee is a member of the Friends church at Little 
Blue River. He is a Republican. 

JOHN RICKETTS, who is numbered among the successful 
farmers and enterprising citizens of Noble township, was born in 
Anderson township, this county, on February 23, 1867, and is the 
son of James and Ellen (Jones) Ricketts, the former a native of 
Fleming county, Kentucky, and the latter of Rush county, Indiana. 
James Ricketts was the son of Edward and Sarah Ricketts, both of 
whom were born and reared in Kentucky, where they were married, 
and who later became pioneer settlers of this county. James Ricketts 
was reared to manhood in his native state and accompanied his 
parents on their removal to Rush county, locating in Anderson 
township, where he was married. He had followed the vocation of 
agriculture and shortly after his marriage he bought a farm, which 
he operated until 1875, when he moved to Noble township and 
bought eighty-five acres of land one-fourth of a mile northwest of 
New Salem. A hard worker and good manager, he was enabled to 
add to his holdings from time to time until eventually he became the 
owner of 340 acres of land, located in Noble and Anderson townships. 
He followed general farming and stock raising and was numbered 




GEORGE WIIISMAN AND GRANDDAU 
WHISMAN 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 129 

among the leading farmers of his section of the county. His death 
occurred in Noble township. To him and his wife were born seven 
children, of which number two are now living, the subject of this 
review and Mattie, who became the wife of Owen Morris. John 
Ricketts received his education in the schools of Noble township and 
his boyhood days were devoted to work on the home farm, which he 
continued to operate for his mother after his father's death. On 
the death of his mother, in 1907, he bought the home farm, comprising 
115 acres, and has since devoted himself to its operation. Energetic 
and up-to-date in his methods, he has demonstrated his abilities as a 
progressive man of affairs and is meeting with well deserved success 
in his work. He carries on general farming operations and stock 
raising and his place is maintained at a high standard of excellence. 
On November 29, 1893, Mr. Ricketts was married to Carrie Shriner. 
a daughter of Ray and Caroline Shriner, and they are the parents 
of a son, James Garrett Ricketts, who remains at home. Politically. 
Mr. Ricketts is a supporter of the Republican party and takes an 
intelligent interest in everything pertaining to the welfare of his 
community. 

GEORGE WHISMAN, a land owner and former merchant of 
Manilla, now living practically retired, was born on April 8, 1857. 
in Orange township, this county, a son of Warren and Paulina 
(Marshall) Whisman. His father was born in Franklin county, 
Indiana, December 3, 1827, and the mother in Kentucky, February 
5, 1828. They came to Rush county with their parents when chil- 
dren, w,ere married here in August, 1849, and spent the rest oi 
their lives on their farm of 140 acres, in Orange township, when 
the father died in his eighty-seventh year and the mother whei. 
aged eighty-eight years. Of their ten children the following art 
living: Millie, Alonzo, George, James, Garrison, Ida, Eli G., Olivei 
W. Delilah died in childhood and Ellen died when aged forty 
years. George "Whisman went to school in boyhood, attending 
what was called the German school in district No. 3, Orange town- 
ship, applying himself so closely to his studies that he was able to 
secure a teacher's certificate, and afterward taught school during 
the winters and worked as a farmer in the summer seasons. About 
1877 he located at Manilla, where he worked for four and a half 
years in the hardware store of Cyrus E. Trees, and when Mr. Trees 
sold his business to Edwin Burch, Mr. Whisman continued with the 
new owner for two months. He and Clark John then bought the 
business and operated the store for nineteen years, the association 
then being dissolved by the death of Mr. John. His interest was 
bought by Samuel Jarvis, and at the same time Mr. Whisman 's 
son, Clyde, took over his father's interest and subsequently bought 
Mr. Jarvis 's interest. Clyde Whisman continued alone in the busi- 
ness until 1920, when he sold to the firm of Silverthorn & Hunger- 
ford. Until this final transaction, Mr. Whisman had remained in 
the business in an unofficial capacity, always finding enough to 
keep himself pleasantlv occupied, and very useful in an advisorv 
9 



130 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

capacity. He owns a 180-acre farm in the northern part of Walker 
township. On March 15, 1879, Mr. Whisman married Margaret 
Weir, who was born in Shelby county, Indiana, daughter of Will- 
iam and Martha (Woodard) Weir. Mrs. Whisman is one of a fam- 
ily of five children, she and a brother, William Weir, now the only 
survivors. Mr. and Mrs. Whisman have one child, Clyde, who was 
born on June 18, 1880. Since disposing of his hardware store at 
Manilla, Clyde Whisman has become local agent for the Ford 
Automobile Company. He married Elizabeth Webster and has one 
daughter, Dorothy. George Whisman has always voted with the 
Democratic party. He is a Mason, a member of Manilla Lodge, No. 
565, Free and Accepted Masons. 

JAMES M. CROSS, now living at Arlington, having until recent 
\ears been actively and successfully engaged in farming pursuits in 
Posey township, was born in Jackson township, this county, on July 
19, 1858, and is a son of Andrew J. and Rachel (Hunt) Cross, both 
of whom also were natives and residents of Rush county until 1869. 
when they moved to Cumberland county, Illinois, subsequently to Jas- 
per county, that state, where Mr. Cross was engaged in farming 
until 1875, when he returned to Indiana, locating in Indianapolis, 
where he lived, retired, until his death, which occurred on December 
25, 1903. His wife had died on May 15, 1901. This worthy couple 
became the parents of six children, all of whom are living, namely : 
James M., Sarah E. John II., Oliver P., Mary D. and Ann Eliza. 
James M. Cross was reared under the parental roof and secured his 
education mostly in the schools of Jackson township, attending the 
Ball school, and finished at Indianapolis. During his boyhood days 
he assisted his father in the work of the home farm, but at the age 
of twenty years he started out on his own account as a renter of 
farm land in Marion county. For sixteen years Mr. Cross continued 
to operate rented farm lands, but at the end of that period he bought 
forty acres of land in Posey township, Rush county, to the operation 
of which he devoted himself for twenty years, until 1913, when he 
retired from active farm work and moved to Arlington, where he 
now resides. He is still the owner of a threshing machine outfit, 
which for thirty years has done a large amount of work for the 
farmers of this section of the county. Mr. Cross during his active 
>ears carried on a general line of farming, and met with excellent 
success in his work, as the result of his energy, persistence and good 
judgment. On March 6, 1879, Mr. Cross was married to Sarah K. 
Miller, the daughter of Jonathan and Margaret Miller, and to them 
were born three children, Jessie N., John K., who died, aged ten 
years, and Earl, who died, aged three years. Mrs. Sarah Cross died 
on February 14, 1913, and on March 15, 1914, Mr. Cross was married 
to Minnie "(Kennedy) Offutt. Jessie N. Cross became the wife of 
Elmer Readle, a farmer of Posey township, and they have three 
children, Louise K., John N. and Mary B. Politically, Mr. Cross has 
always given his support to the Democratic party. Fraternally, he 
is a member of Beech Grove Lodge, No. 399, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, at Arlington, in which he has passed through the chairs. 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 131 

He has beeu president of the Cemeterjr Association for ten yeare. 
For many years he has been an active member of the Christian 
church at Arlington and has been an elder in the church for twenty 
years. Mr. Cross has always maintained a keen interest in every 
movement which has had to do with the development of his com- 
munity along any line and for a period of twelve years he served as 
a member of the board of directors of the Rush County Fair Asso- 
ciation. He was a charter member of the Arlington Telephone Com- 
pany, of which he was president for five years and treasurer for 
eleven years. 

JUDGE DOUGLAS MORRIS, former justice of the Indiana 
Supreme Court, has long been recognized as one of the leaders at the 
Rush county bar, as well as having been judge of the Rush Circuit 
Court for one term. He was born in Knightstown, Ind., January 15, 
1861, the son of John and Hannah (Scovell) Morris. Judge Morris 
received his preliminary education in the public schools at Knights- 
town and was graduated from the high school at that place in 1878. 
He then taught school for one year in Henry county, after which he 
went to Asbury University, now DePauw, from which institution he 
received his A. B. degree in 1882. Having decided upon the career 
of a lawyer, he studied for that profession during the years 1882 and 
1883 at Indianapolis under the preceptorship of Benjamin Harrison, 
afterward President of the United States. Then for two years he 
practiced law at Knoxville, Tenn., whence he came to Rushville where 
he has remained ever since. From 1889 to 1895 he practiced in 
partnership with David S. Morgan, now deceased, and from 1895 to 
1898 with S. L. Innis and Wallace Morgan. In 1898, his exceptional 
abilities at the bar having been recognized, he was elected judge of 
the Rush Circuit Court, serving in that capacity until November. 
1904. In 1910 Judge Morris was elected one of the judges of the 
supreme court of Indiana and served on that bench from January 1, 
1911, for six years. He is the only person from Rush county who 
ever served on that bench. Since his retirement from the bench 
Judge Morris has practiced law in Rushville, where he has continued 
his many successes. On October 6, 1892, Judge Morris married Pa- 
mela A. Spann, daughter of Jesse J. Spann, one of the most brilliant 
lawyers and politicians who has ever claimed Rush county as his 
home, and to Judge and Mrs. Morris have been born two children. 
Hannah and Douglas, Jr., both of whom are living at home, and 
the former of whom has been admitted to the bar and is practicing 
law in association with her father. In his political affiliations, Judge 
Morris is an ardent supporter of the principles of the Democratic 
party and was the candidate of that party for Congress in 1888. 
He is a member of the Presbyterian church at Rushville, and socially 
and fraternally is a member of the Country Club and the Delta 
Kappa Epsilon Fraternity. 

JESSE LOGAN, one of the substantial retired farmers of Rush 
county now living at Rushville, is a native son of this county, a 
member of one of the pioneer families, and has lived here all his life. 
He was born in Richland township, son of James W. and Hester 



]32 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

^Wellman) Logan, the former of whom was the fourth son of James 
and Elizabeth (Mann) Logan, early residents of Richland township 
James Logan was born in Ireland and was but a lad when he came 
to this country with his parents. As a young man seeking to make 
a home for himself he came to Rush county and acquired the original 
land grant for the tract where now stands the Logan homestead place 
in Noble township. There he and his wife reared their family and 
spent the remainder of their lives, helpful citizens of that community. 
James W. Logan was born and reared on the old home place in Noble 
township and remained there helpful in the work of developing the 
place until after his marriage, when he bought a farm of 165 acres 
in Richland township and there established his home and developed 
an excellent piece of property. He and his wife (Hester Wellman) 
were the parents of three sons, the subject of this sketch having two 
brothers, Thomas W. and Edgar E. Logan. Jesse Logan was reared 
on the home farm in Richland township, receiving his schooling in 
the district school in the neighborhood of his home, and as a young 
man continued to make his home there, farming the place for his 
father who presently gave him a farm of 178 acres in Richland and 
Noble townships, and after his marriage he established his home there. 
He did well in his farming and as his affairs prospered he added 
to his land holdings until he became the owner of 235 acres, which 
he continued to operate until his retirement from the farm in August, 
1920, and removal to Rushville, where he and his wife are now living, 
■\ery pleasantly situated at 223 West Third street. In 1903 Jesse 
Logan was united in marriage to Anna May Ralston, who also was 
born in this county, a member of one of the old families of the 
county. Mrs. Logan is a daughter of Elias V. and Mary (McCorkle) 
Ralston, the former of whom was a son of William and Nancy Ralston, 
who came to this county from Ohio in pioneer days. Mary McCorkle 
was the daughter of James and Ann (Cowan) McCorkle, the former 
of whom came to this county from Fleming county, Kentucky, in 
1823 and entered a tract of land in Anderson township, the farm 
now owned by William Davis. James and Ann McCorkle had three 
children, those besides Mrs. Logan's mother being David M., who is 
still living, and Pressley McCorkle, who died in the service of the 
Union while serving as a member of I Company, Sixty-eighth regi- 
ment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry, during the Civil war. Elias V. 
and Mary (McCorkle) Ralston were the parents of five children, 
those besides Mrs. Logan being Mrs. Mary E. Miller, Mrs. Hattie 0. 
Noah, Mrs. Zella P. Johnston and Carl R. (deceased). 

SAMUEL D. JONES, a well known veteran of the Civil war, 
a retired merchant of Milroy and a substantial landowner, was born 
in Rush county and has lived here all his life, a period of seventy- 
nine years, during which time the most amazing changes have taken 
place in conditions and in the manner of doing things hereabout. 
Mr. Jones is a member of one of the county's pioneer families, his 
father having come over here from Ohio in 1823 with his family and 
settled on a farm in Anderson township, where he spent the re- 
mainder of his life, and thus Mr. Jones grew up well acquainted 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 133 

with pioneer conditions and has many interesting stories to tell of 
the way things were done in those days. He was born on April 29, 
3842, son of Henry and Sarah (Cameron) Jones, both of whom were 
born in Clermont county, Ohio, members of pioneer families in that 
section of the Ohio river country, and who were the parents of ten 
children, of whom Samuel D. Jones now is the only survivor. Upon 
coming here Henry Jones entered a tract of eighty acres in Ander- 
son township and there developed a good little farm, he and his 
wife spending their last days on that place. It was on that pioneer 
farm that Samuel D. Jones was reared, receiving his schooling in 
the somewhat primitive schools of the period. He was nineteen 
years of age when the Civil war broke out and it was not long there- 
after when he enlisted his services in behalf of the Union cause and 
went to the front as a member of D Company, Sixty-eighth regiment. 
Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and with that gallant command served 
until he lost his right arm in the battle of Chickamauga, in Septem- 
ber, 1863, and was also wounded in the left arm. On account of this 
shattering disability he was invalided home after spending some time 
in a military hospital and on June 29, 1864, received his honorable 
discharge on the ground of permanent disability. Mr. Jones had 
been attentive to his studies during his school days and confronted 
with a disability which rendered ineffectual the training he had 
received as a farmer he "brushed up" in his studies, prepared him- 
self for teaching and was for some time after his return from the 
army engaged as a teacher in the schools of his home township. He 
then opened a store at Milroy, about the year 1866, and was for 
thirty-five years or more engaged there in the general merchandise 
business, continuing his mercantile operations until in 1909 when he 
sold his stock and retired from business. Since his retirement Mr. 
Jones has continued to make his home at Milroy and has a very 
pleasant place there. Despite the shocking disability incurred in 
his war service Mr. Jones long ago passed that handicap and his 
diligence in business secured to him ample provision against the 
' ' evening time ' ' of his life. In addition to his holdings in the county 
he is the owner of a farm of 320 acres in Texas and accounts himself 
well circumstanced for a man who has had to get along with but one 
arm for the past sixty years. Samuel D. Jones has been twice mar- 
ried. In 1872 he was united in marriage to Julia Kendall, who died 
leaving one child, a son, Frank. In 1880 Mr. Jones married Cynthia 
E. Aldridge, who also was born in this county, daughter of William 
Aldridge and wife, pioneers here, and to this union four children 
have been born, Laura, who married M. E. Able and has one child, 
a daughter, Margaret Ellen; Clifford, who is unmarried; Benjamin 
II., who married Letta Chambers and has three children, Helen, 
Samuel and Hoyt Dale, and Wilbur, who is unmarried. Mr. and 
Mrs. Jones are members of the Methodist church and have for years 
taken an interested part in local church work as well as in all neigh- 
borhood good works. In his political views Mr. Jones is an ardent 
Republican and has always given a good citizen's attention to local 



134 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

civic affairs, but has not been an office seeker. He is an active 
member of the local post of the Grand Army of the Republic and is 
also a member of the local lodge of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. 

JOHNSON A. FANCHER, who died in the spring of 1919, was 
for many years a prominent figure in the agricultural life of Rush 
county, and aided materially in its development. By a life of up- 
rightness, industry and square dealing — a life devoted to the sup- 
port of whatever was good and true — he won the admiration and 
regard of a large circle of acquaintances, who sincerely mourned 
their loss, when, two years ago, he passed into the grateful rest and 
quiet of the night. Mr. Fancher was born in Blount county, Ten- 
nessee, on May 20, 1853, and was the son of Caleb S. and Millie 
(Myers) Fancher, both of whom also were natives of Tennessee. 
Caleb Fancher was a farmer by vocation and was a successful man, 
owning 350 acres of land. To him and his wife were born seven 
children, namely: Nancy, William, Frances J. and Martha, living, 
and Johnson A., Eliza and Mary, deceased. Johnson A. Fancher 
received a comparatively meager education, his school years being 
passed during the period of tha Civil war, when educational mat- 
ters were to a considerable extent neglected in the South. How- 
ever, by habits of careful reading and close observation of men and 
events, he became a well-informed man on a wide range of topics 
and was always an interesting and intelligent conversationalist. 
Mr. Fancher remained in his native state until twenty-nine years of 
age, assisting his parents, but at that age he came to Rush county, 
locating in Jackson township, where for seven years he was em- 
ployed on the Oldham farm. During the following five years he 
operated a part of the Oldham farm which he rented. He then 
located on the George F. Mull farm, south of Homer, which he 
rented for seven years, and at the end of that time he bought the 
farm of eighty acres in Posey township where his widow now lives. 
Eventually he bought forty-eight acres additional, thus giving him 
a total of 128 acres. By careful management and wise economy he 
had earned and saved all the money with which he bought this 
land and he made many permanent and substantial improvements 
on the land, which have made them a valuable and attractive prop- 
erty. Here he was actively engaged in general farming and stock 
raising up to the time of his death, which occurred on May 13. 
1919, when almost sixty-six years of age. On August 8, 1SS8. Mr. 
Fancher was married to Ilettie Adams, a native of the township in 
which she now lives and the daughter of Edward and Elizabeth 
(Six) Adams. Her parents were natives of the state of Kentucky, 
the father being born in Scott county and the mother in Fleming 
county. In an early day they came to Rush county and Mr. Adams 
became a successful farmer in Posey township, where he owned 
eighty acres of land. Of the eleven children born to him and his 
wife, but two are now living, John and Mrs. Hettie Fancher. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Fancher were born two children, Anna F. and George 




JOHNSON A. FANCHER AND FAMILY 

(From photograph taken about 1900) 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 135 

L. Anna became the wife of Fern Downey, who operates a garage 
at Arlington, and they have four children, Frank, Joy, Janice R. and 
Edna H. George L. Fancher married Pearl Souder and they have 
two children, June and Francis L. Mr. Fancher was an earnest 
supporter of the Republican party. He was a member of the Bap- 
tist church in Blount county, Tennessee. He was well liked by all 
who knew him, for he possessed a social nature and maintained a 
genial and kindly attitude to those about him. His career was a 
busy and useful one and he had well earned the high position he 
occupied in the estimation of his fellow citizens. 

JAMES 0. GUNNING, a well known general farmer in Walker 
township, this county, was born on January 7, 1867, in Shelby 
county, this state, a son of Sinclair and Clementine (McCombs^ 
Gunning, the father a native of Shelby county, and the mother, of 
Wayne county, Indiana. Their four children survive, Emory, Ella. 
Elma and James 0. The father was a veteran of the Civil war, in 
which he served four years as a member of the One Hundred First 
regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry. After the war he engaged 
in farming in Shelby county as long as active. James 0. Gunning 
had public school advantages in his native county, after which he 
worked at farming until his own marriage. For some years following 
he farmed for his father-in-law in Walker township, Rush county. 
When the latter died the wife of Mr. Gunning inherited the Macy 
farm, a valuable tract of 160 acres, on which Mr. Gunning carries on 
farm activities very profitably. It was an January 7, 1904, that 
Mr. Gunning married Adelma Macy, only child of Lysander and 
Frances E. (Casto) Macy, the former of whom was born in Rush 
county and the latter in Shelby county. Mr. and Mrs. Gunning have 
one child, Ela Frances, who attends school at Manilla. The family 
belongs to the Methodist Episcopal church. In politics he is a 
Republican. 

0. M. OFFUTT, one of the successful farmers of Posey town- 
ship and a creditable representative of one of the county's respected 
old families, was born in the township in which he now resides on 
January 10, 1876, and is the son of George W. and Sarah J. (Beckner) 
Offutt, both of whom also were born and reared in Rush county. 
George W. Offutt was a farmer and stock raiser by vocation and at 
one time he owned 1,400 acres of good land in Posey township. To 
him and his wife were born sis children, all of whom are living, 
namely : Sabert S., Murley, Jerry B., 0. M., Mary I. and Charles J. 
The subject of this sketch secured his educational training in the 
Beaver Meadow school house, in Posey township, and the Arlington 
high school. On completing his studies he went to work on the home 
farm, and there he has remained ever since with the exception of 
two years spent on a farm south of Arlington. After his marriage, 
in 1900, Mr. Offutt began farming on his own account, operating 
the home farm for one year, following which he was on the farm 
referred to south of Arlington. Since then he has occupied and 
operated a part of the home farm, comprising 215 acres of land, on 
which he carries on general farming operations and stock raising. 



136 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

He has made a number of improvements on the place and by industiy 
and good management has been successful. On August 8, 1900, 
Mr. Offutt was married to Margaret Hackelman, who also was born 
iu Posey township, the daughter of Worster and Malissa J. (Clavell) 
Hackleman, old residents of this county. Of the three children born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Hackelman, Mrs. Offutt is the only survivor. The 
deceased are Gertrude, who died at the age of twenty-eight years. 
and Minnie, who died when nine days old. Mr. and Mrs. Offutt have 
two children, George W. and Lowell H., both of whom are at home 
Politically, Mr. Offutt assumes an independent attitude, reserving 
the right to vote in accordance with the dictates of his own judgment. 
Fraternally, he is a member of the Improved Order of Red Men at 
Arlington and the Modern Woodmen of America at Rushville. He 
is a man of vigor and determination, has been successful in practically 
every undertaking to which he has addressed himself and he enjoys 
to a marked degree the confidence and regard of all who know him. 

W. E. WAGONER, principal of the schools of Posey township 
and well known as a man of high attainments and practical ability 
as an educator, was born on May 31, 1889, in Fountain county, 
Indiana, and was there reared. He attended the common schools of 
his home neighborhood and the high school at Veedersburg. He 
then entered Indiana University, where he was graduated in 1912, 
with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. After completing his collegiate 
work, he went to Mt. Auburn, Shelby county, Indiana, where he 
became principal of the township schools, serving two years. Then 
for five years he was principal of the Anderson township schools in 
Rush county, and for two years he has served in his present position, 
to the entire satisfaction of his patrons and pupils. Mr. Wagoner 
has inaugurated some progressive and effective ideas of his own in 
his educational work and he enjoys a high reputation as a thoughtful 
and earnest educator. He has jurisdiction over two country schools 
and the schools at Arlington, employing twelve teachers, and with 
257 pupils in the schools. On May 10, 1914, Mr. Wagoner was mar- 
ried to Glossie Goddard, who was born in Kansas City, Mo., but who, 
at the age of nine months, was brought to Rush county, which has 
been her home continuously since. She first studied in the public 
schools of Rushville, including the high school, and then became a 
student in Indiana University, where she was graduated the same 
year as her husband, receiving the degree of Bachelor of Arts. She 
is the daughter of George and Nellie (Mull) Goddard. Mr. and Mrs. 
Wagoner have two children, George A. and Lavonne. Mr. Wagoner 
is a Republican, a Freemason and a member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church. On June 6, 1921, he was elected superintendent of the 
schools of Rush county. 

JAMES M. ELLISON, an experienced farmer and substantial 
citizen of Walker township, was born in Rushville township, this 
county, September 26, 1852, a son of William J. and Sarah (Duke) 
Ellison. His father was born in Rush county and his mother in 
Kentucky. They had six children born to them, four sons surviv- 
ing, Fremont, Alonzo P., Elmer E. and James M. The father was a 







^^''^tHH 








■p 1 










v ^ 








"'I 






\ 


vl 




" 










Wjk 


\- - 


,-_ 










*. **^M 




■ , 



SANFORD N. POSTON 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 137 

farmer in Rush county all his life and owned 180 acres of valuable 
land. His death occurred on July 3, 1891. James M. Ellison had 
the usual school privileges in boyhood, attending what was known 
as the Alexander school near his father's farm, and early learned 
farming. He has never given much attention to any other vocation. 
For four years before his marriage, Mr. Ellison worked as a farm 
hand, then rented land for a year, following which he bought sixty 
acres in Orange township. That land he held and operated for ten 
years but when his father died he sold it and bought the old home 
place of 160 acres in Walker township, on which he lives, subse- 
quently acquiring other tracts and he now owns 295 acres in that 
township. He has always been a progressive farmer and has encour- 
aged the raising of good stock, a notable feature of his own industries 
being his full blood, big type Poland-China hogs, of which he markets 
about 100 head annually. On January 27, 1881, Mr. Ellison married 
Lucinda Hodge, who was born in Walker township, daughter of 
Alfred and Margaret (Miller) Hodge, natives of Rush county and 
farming people. Mrs. Ellison is one of a family of seven children 
and has three surviving sisters and one brother, Sarah, Mary, Martha 
and Alva. Mr. and Mrs. Ellison have two children, Orsa P., a farmer 
in Rush county, who married Mertie Hungerford, and Floy, who is 
the wife of Albert Gahimer, a farmer in Walker township. Mr. Elli- 
son and his family are members of the Christian church at Homer. 
He has always been a Republican. 

SANFORD M. POSTON, former clerk of Rush county, who 
died at his home in Noble township in the spring of 1910, was born 
on November 25, 1849, on the farm on which his widow now re- 
sides, and his death occurred on May 10, 1910. He was descended 
from sterling old pioneer stock, his paternal grandparents having 
been Judge Elias and Nancy (Norton) Poston, natives of Ken- 
tucky, the former born in Fayette county and the latter in Bourbon 
county. They were married in 1807 and some years after that 
event they came to Indiana, first locating in Franklin county. In 
the spring of 1821 they came to what is now Rush county and the 
next year entered 160 acres in what is now known as Noble towii- 
ship. The date of the entry of this land was March 7, 1822, and 
the original deed from the Government bearing the name of Pres- 
ident Monroe is still in the family. Elias Poston was a man of 
strong character and marked mental ability and he soon took 
a prominent part in the public life of this pioneer community. In 
1822 he was elected the first associate judge of Rush county and 
the diversity of his talents is somewhat indicated from the fact that 
he was a successful Baptist minister and also practiced medicine. 
Among his children was the subject's father, George W. Poston, 
who was born in Kentucky on March 12, 1826, and who accom- 
panied his parents on their removal to Rush county, locating in 
Noble township, where he spent the remainder of his life engaged 
in agricultural pursuits. He married Nancy McNeil, who was born 
and reared in North Carolina, and they became the parents of six 



138 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

children, five of whom grew to maturity, namely: Sanford M., 
Quincy, Estella, Elizabeth and Ella. Sanford M. Poston received 
a good education in the public schools of Noble township and then 
for a time was engaged in teaching school. In the meantime he 
also became interested in the sawmill business, having bought and 
sold much lumber, so after a short career as a pedagogue, he re- 
signed and thereafter devoted his attention to sawmill interests, 
in addition to which he also farmed the home place of about 600 
acres. He became an extensive stock feeder and also bred Poland 
China hogs and Short-Horn cattle. He was keenly interested in 
the breeding of thoroughbred track horses and was the owner of 
"Redfield," one of the best horses of his type in this section of the 
country. A year prior to his mother's death, the home farm was 
divided and his portion was 140 acres. He was an energetic worker 
and a good manager and to this nucleus he added other land by 
purchase until his holdings amounted to 340 acres, to the operation 
of which he devoted his attention up to the time of his death. He 
made many permanent and substantial improvements on the place, 
developing it into one of the best farms in this section of the county. 
Though a busy man, Mr. Poston always took a keen interest in 
local public affairs and an active part in politics as a Republican. 
He served for five years as assessor of Noble township, and in 1901 
he was elected to the office of clerk of the Rush county Circuit 
Court, serving one term to the entire satisfaction of his constituents. 
Mr. Poston spent practically his entire life in Noble township and 
won his way into the affections of the people through his genial 
address, his obliging nature, his sound business ability and his un- 
swerving support freely given to all laudable movements looking 
toward the general welfare of his county. In 1901 Mr. Poston was 
married to Mary Ellen Bromley, the daughter of Charles D. and 
Anna (Jones) Bromley, and to them were born two children. 
George and Estella. both of whom remain at home with their 
mother, and the former of whom is the sole surviving male member 
of this branch of the family bearing the Poston name. Mrs. Poston 's 
parents were born respectively, in Pittsburgh, Pa., and Rush county. 
Mr. Bromley came to Rush county in young manhood and here 
followed the business of railroad contracting during all of his active 
years. To him and his wife were born seven children, of which 
number three grew to maturity, namely: Carl E., Agnes and .Mary 
Ellen. Mrs. Poston is a member of the Christian church, the Order 
of the Eastern Star, the Woman's Relief Corps, in which she is an 
officer, the Women's Council and the Nature Study Club of Indi- 
ana. Mrs. Poston is descended from sterling old pioneer families 
of Rush county. Grandmother Mary Sharp, the mother of Sarah 
Jones, was born in Virginia in 1812, whence in 182fi, when but 
fourteen years of age, she came to Rush county, and settled with 
her family in Walker township. The second session of the commis- 
sioners' court of Rush county was held at the home of James Lower, 
who ran a tavern at Rushville and who was a great-uncle of Mrs. 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 139 

Poston. Mr. Poston was an attendant at the Methodist Protestant 
church in New Salem. Politically, he gave his support to the Re- 
publican party. Fraternally, he was a member of the Masonic 
fraternity, in which he attained to the thirty-second degree of the 
Scottish Rite, and was also a member of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. 

JOHN D. MEGEE, a well known citizen of Rushville, a member 
of the bar of the Rush Circuit Court and former judge of that court, 
is a native son of Rush county, born on November 20, 1850, son of 
William E. and Ellen E. (Morris) Megee, natives of Kentucky and 
who were but children when they came to Indiana with their re- 
spective parents, both the Megees and the Morrises having been among 
the pioneers of Rush county, the former family coming here in 1828 
and the latter in 1831. William E. Megee was born in Jessamine 
county, Kentucky, and his wife at Georgetown, Ky. He became a 
farmer in this county and at the time of his death in 1864 was the 
owner of more than 320 acres of land. Though his opportunities 
for schooling were limited, he having attended school but three 
months in his life, he improved such opportunities for self-improve- 
ment as came to him and became known as a self-educated man of 
no little ability. William E. Megee and his wife were the parents 
of eight children, two of whom are still living, Judge Magee having 
a sister, Alice, wife of Taylor Lakin, of Rushville. John D. Megee 
was reared on his father's farm, receiving his preliminary education 
in the schools of the county. At the age of twenty, desiring a 
further education, he entered Lebanon Normal School, Lebanon, 
Ohio, and for one year took a business course, which he completed. 
He then commenced his career as a salesman for T. & R. Pugh, of 
Washington, Ind., and was with them two years, at the end of which 
time he became a salesman for J. H. Mauzy, of Rushville, with whom 
he remained for about two years. Then for two years he was engaged 
in business in partnership with Z. E. Mauzy and W. A. Caldwell, 
selling out his interests to these two men to take up the study of law 
with Ben L. Smith in 1876. Having in due course been admitted to 
the bar, he was admitted as a partner by his preceptor, with whom 
he practiced until 1881, when he became one of the incorporators of 
the Chaffee County Gold and Silver Mining Company of Colorado. 
For four years he lived in Poncha Springs, Col., in order to devote 
his entire attention to the mining project as the manager. In 1885, 
he returned to Rushville to take up again the practice of law, and 
there has remained ever since. During his career as an attorney 
Judge Megee has been associated with eight men. When Rush and 
Shelby counties were separated to make each a judicial circuit he 
was appointed judge of the Rush Circuit Court for a term of two 
years. After his term on the bench, Judge Megee resumed the 
practice of his profession, and in September, 1918, formed a partner- 
ship with William L. Newbold under the firm name of Megee & 
Newbold. On March 3, 1874, Judge Megee was married to Susan 
O. Sneed, a daughter of William C. S. Sneed, also of this county, 
and he and his wife are the parents of two children, Ethel and Anna 



140 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

S. Ethel Megee married Hugh Fleehart and has two children, John 
M. and Florence C. Anna S. married Carl F. Eveleigh and has one 
child. Sue Ann. Judge Megee is a member of the Presbyterian 
church, in which for about six years he was an elder, and for a time 
superintendent of the Sunday school. Fraternally he is a Freemason 
and a member of the Knights of Pythias, the former of which has 
claimed him for over forty-five years. He has been an active worker 
in the ranks of the Democratic party, in the cause of which he has 
done yeoman service. He served as clerk of the Indiana State Senate 
in 1887 and clerk of the House in 1889, and from 1902 to 1904 he 
was chairman of the Democratic committee for the Sixth district. 

HARMONEY L. PARSON, a retired farmer and live stock 
breeder of Anderson township, now living at Milroy, has been a 
resident of this county all his life and has a wide acquaintance 
throughout the county. He was born on a pioneer farm in Orange 
township on October 7, 1855, son of William and Alida (Boyd) Par- 
son, the latter of whom was born in the state of New York and both 
of whom spent their last days in Rush county. William Parson was 
born in Butler county, Ohio, a son of Samuel Parson, who came over 
into Indiana with his family and settled on an eighty-acre farm in 
Orange township, this county, thus becoming one of the pioneers of 
that township. Samuel Parson and his wife were the parents of six 
children, David, Daniel, William, Eliza Jane, Catherine and Samuel, 
and the descendants of these in the present generation form a quite 
numerous connection. William Parson was but a lad when he came 
to this county with his parents and he grew up on the pioneer farm, 
in time becoming the owner of the home "eighty" and an adjoining 
"eighty," which gave him an excellent farm of 160 acres. He had 
early learned the carpenter trade and in addition to his farming did 
a great deal of building throughout that part of the county, but. 
death cut short his career right in its prime, his death occurring in 
1858. His widow survived him many years, her death occurring on 
February 28, 1917. William Parson and wife wei - e the parents of 
five children, four of whom are still living, those besides the subject 
of this sketch being Daniel Parson, of Portland, Ore. ; John B. Parson, 
of Kansas, and Catherine M., of Oakland, Cal. Harmoney L. Parson 
■was but three years of age when his father died. The mother kept 
her family together and maintained the farm home, the boys grow- 
ing up as helpful assistants in the labors of the place, and as a young 
man Harmoney L. Parson began working at farm work on his own 
behalf. He later became engaged as a contractor in county ditch 
work and was thus engaged for about ten years, at the end of which 
time he became the overseer of the 167-acre farm of bis aunt, Mrs. 
Anna M. Bowles, and was thus actively employed until the death of 
bis aunt in 1920, and still has supervisory charge of the estate. Mr. 
Parson has fifty-five acres of his own, which he also supervises 
besides looking after his aunt's estate. For years he has given con- 
siderable attention to the raising and buying of live stock and has 
done well in his operations. Mr. Parson is a Republican. In his 
fraternal relations he is affiliated with the local lodges of the Masons. 




THOMAS B. IIEXLEY 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 141 

the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias, 
and in the affairs of these several organizations has for years taken 
a warm interest. 

THOMAS BENTON HENLEY, who died at his home, "River- 
side Farm," along the banks of Big Blue river in the immediate 
vicinity of Carthage in the summer of 1916, and whose widow and 
son are still living there, was for years regarded as among the lead- 
ing agriculturists and stockmen of that section of Rush county, as 
well as a man of influence in the various phases of activity which 
marked the development of the community in which he spent his 
whole life, and it is but fitting that there should be carried in this 
Centennial History of Rush County some modest memorial to his 
worth as a citizen. Mr. Henley was a member of one of the first 
families of Rush county, his grandfather, Elias Henley, having 
been one of the leading members of the considerable colony of 
Friends which came here from North Carolina and settled along 
the Big Blue in the days of the formative period of this section, 
and the Henleys have been from the very first among the most in- 
fluential factors in the development of that section and of the 
county at large. Thomas B. Henley was born on July 11, 1870, son 
of Thomas W. and Hannah (Williams) Henley, the former of whom 
wias a son of the pioneer Elias Henley, mentioned above. Upon 
completing the course in the Carthage high school Mr. Henley took 
a course in Indiana University and upon completing his schooling 
settled down to his life work, that of farming, a vocation to which 
he had been trained from youth by his father, continuing to make 
his home on the home farm, where he gave particular attention to 
the raising of live stock and early became recognized as one of the 
leading stockmen in the county. He married at the age of twenty- 
five and established his home at "Riverside Farm," occupying the 
site of the original log cabin home, which his grandfather had 
erected there many years before, and there he spent the remainder 
of his life, his death occurring on July 11, 1916. Mr. Henley was a 
birthright member of the Friends church at Carthage and ever 
maintained an active interest in the affairs of the local meeting. 
By tradition and practice he was a Republican, as the Henleys ever 
have been since the days of the organization of that party, and 
took a warm interest in local political affairs. It was on September 
25, 1895, that Thomas B. Henley was united in marriage to Orah M. 
Dill, who also was born in this county, daughter of William H. and 
Oleva (Hinton) Dill, also members of old families here, and to 
this union one child was born, a son, Hamil D. Henley, born on 
January 30, 1897, who completed his schooling in Purdue Univer- 
sity, and is now at home managing "Riverside Farm" .for his 
mother. Since the death of her husband Mrs. Henley has con- 
tinued to make her home on the farm, a well improved and carefully 
cultivated place of 240 acres, and is very comfortably situated 
there. Mrs. Henley's schooling was completed at Bethany College 



142 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

(West Virginia) she having gone to that institution upon complet- 
ing the course in the Greenfield high school. She is a member of 
the Christian church at Carthage and has ever taken an interested 
and helpful part in local good works. In 1917 Mrs. Henley took 
a short course in agriculture at Purdue University, receiving her 
certificate twenty-four years to the very day, after receiving her 
high school certificate. 

PLEASANT A. MILLER, a well known former business man of 
Rushville and a substantial farmer of Rush county, now living at 
232 East Third street, Rushville, was born in Rushville township, this 
county, September 7, 1855. His parents were Thomas and Cynthia 
E. (Stewart) Miller, the former of whom was born in Harrison 
county, Kentucky, January 1, 1824, and the latter in Rushville town- 
ship, this county, in 1835. They had four children, two of whom are 
living, India and Pleasant A. The father was a farmer in Rush 
county. Pleasant A. Miller attended what was known as the Com- 
promise school house in boyhood and remained at home assisting his 
father until his own marriage, after which he rented land for one 
year and then bought forty-four acres and operated it for three 
years at the end of which time he accepted an advantageous offer and 
sold. Mr. Miller then moved into Rushville, where he has his present 
home, and for four years was in the retail liquor business, after 
disposing of that moving back to the home farm, where he carried 
on general farming for the next twelve years, at the end of that 
time purchasing the Grand hotel at Rushville. For several years he 
conducted that hostelry, but in 1904 he resumed farming, having 
bought the old home place of 212 acres situated in Rushville town- 
ship. He devotes his land to general farming and stockraising, ship- 
ping about 150 head of hogs annually. On October 24, 1872, Pleasant 
A. Miller married Fannie A. Davis, daughter of James and Mary 
(Murphy) Davis, and they had four children: Clendas, Herly, 
(deceased), Clyde and Thomas G. The mother of these children died 
on January 10, 1913, and her burial was in East Hill cemetery. On 
March 23, 1918, Mr. Miller married Lena McCormick, who was born 
in Carroll county, Indiana, daughter of Thomas and Ellen (Clark) 
McCormick. Mrs. Miller is the eldest of their family of seven chil- 
dren, the others being Lowell, William, Ina, Thomas, Watson and 
Queen. The father of Mrs. Miller is the present sheriff of Carroll 
county. Mr. and Mrs. Miller have one daughter, Cynthia E., who 
was born on January 12, 1919. Mr. Miller takes an interest in public 
affairs but has never accepted a political office. He votes with the 
Republican party. 

MICHAEL KNEY, a general farmer in Walker township, was 
born in that township on July 15, I860, a son of Jacob and Elizabeth 
(Hael) Kney, both of whom were born in Germany. Jacob Kney 
was probably about sixteen years old when he came to the United 
States, the only member of his family. He made his way to Indiana, 
located in Rush county and here followed farming the rest of his 
life. Through thrift and honest industry lie prospered and acquired 
700 acres of valuable land. He married Elizabeth Hael, whose peo- 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 143 

pie settled in Rush county while she was young, and they became 
the parents of seven children, of whom the following survive: 
Mary, Henry, Jacob and Michael. Michael Kney attended school 
in Orange township, Rush county, the school house having been 
named in honor of his father. He remained on the home place until 
his marriage, after which he rented land from his father for nine 
years, then bought his present home farm of 120 acres. Since that 
time he has added until he now owns 360 acres in Walker township 
and 120 acres in the adjoining county of Shelby. In addition to 
carrying on general farming, Mr. Kney raises a large amount of 
stock, having at least 100 head of cattle and 200 head of hogs annually. 
Mr. Kney has one of the best improved farms in this section, with 
several sets of farm buildings, one set occupied by his son-in-law, 
being entirely new, and the other set remodeled and made comfortable 
with modern improvements, he occupies himself. On August 14, 
1887, Michael Kney married Mary Gahimer, born in Union town- 
ship, Shelby county, a daughter of John and Barbara (Hauck) 
Gahimer. The father of Mrs. Kney followed farming all his life in 
Shelby county, where he owned 800 acres of fine land. All his 
children are living, John, Andrew, Jacob, Catherine, Emma and 
Mary. Mr. and Mrs. Kney have one daughter, Lena, the wife of 
George Wissing, a farmer on Mr. Kney's land in "Walker township. 
They have three children, Helen, Caroline and Wallace, the daugh- 
ters attending school at Manilla. In political matters Mr. Kney is a 
Democrat. He and wife are members of the Evangelical church 
in Union township, Shelby county. 

FRANK OFFUTT, president of the Arlington Bank of Arling- 
ton and a substantial farmer of Posey township, is a native son of 
the township in which he has spent practically his entire life of three 
score years. He was born on January 6, I860, the son of John and 
Priscilla (Gordon) Offutt, the former a native of Kentucky and the 
latter of Rush count}'. Both attended school in Rush county, John 
Offutt having been brought here in childhood, and on attaining ma- 
ture years he followed farming as a livelihood, spending the remainder 
of his life in Indiana excepting eight months, which he spent in 
Missouri. During the Civil war he enlisted in the Southern ariny 
and was killed during that conflict. The subject's paternal grand- 
parents were Sabert and Mary H. (Morris) Offutt, were natives 
respectively of Maryland and Kentucky. In his early life Mr. Offutt 
moved to Scott county, Kentucky, where he devoted himself to farm- 
ing pursuits. On August 13, 1829, he was married to Mary Morris 
and a short time after their marriage they came to Indiana, settling 
on the banks of Little Blue river in Rush county, where he bought 
S00 acres of farm land. He applied himself vigorously to the work 
of clearing and cultivating this land, in which he met with marked 
success and at the time of his death he owned over 900 acres of land 
in Rush county. He lived on his first farm until 1873, when he 
retired from active farm work and moved to Arlington. To him 
and his wife were born eight children, all of whom are deceased, 
namely : James A., Mary J., John F., Lewis J., Samantha A., George 



144 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

W., Rebecca E. and one that died in infancy. The subject of this 
sketch is the only child born to John and Priscilla Offutt. Frank 
Offutt was educated in the school at Arlington and was reared in 
the home of his maternal grandparents, his own father having given 
up his life on a Southern battlefield. Mr. Offutt remained with his 
grandparents until he was about twenty-nine years of age, though 
he had been married a year prior to that time. Then, in 1892, he 
built the house on the Brookville pike, where he now lives, and 
otherwise improved the place with commodious and well arranged 
farm buildings, so the place is now numbered among the up-to-date 
farms of the township. At the early age of sixteen years, he had 
rented a tract of land from his grandfather, Gordon, then, five years 
later, his grandfather Offutt gave him $1,500. This money the 
young man at once invested in an eighty-acre farm in Posey township, 
formerly known as the Hiram Tribley farm, and to this he has added 
from time to time until today he owns 600 acres of well improved 
farm land in one body. A part of this land is rented out by Mr. 
Offutt, but the latter is still extensively engaged in farming and 
stock raising. He averages about 600 head of hogs each year and 
about 100 head of cattle. He has been very successful in his business 
affairs and takes a keen interest in everything pertaining to the wel- 
fare of the community. He is the president of the Arlington Bank, 
at Arlington, one of the sound and influential financial institutions 
of Rush county. On June 23, 1889, Mr. Offutt was united in mar- 
riage with Nora F. Conaway, the daughter of Samuel and Phoebe 
(Allander) Conaway, the former a native of Fleming county, Ken- 
tucky, and the latter of Rush county. They were both reared and 
educated in this county, and here Mr. Conaway devoted himself to 
agriculture, in which he was eminently successful, owning about 225 
acres of farm land and property in Arlington at the time of his death. 
He and his wife were the parents of fifteen children, of which number 
nine are now living, namely: John J., Lucetta, Rebecca, Anna F.. 
Nora F., Maud, Henry L., George, William, Mary J., Harrietta, 
Josephine, Sarah, Charles and Oma. To Mr. and Mrs. Offutt have 
been born two children, Clark and Effie. Clark Offutt, born on May 
17, 1890, attended the public school, including the high school, at 
Arlington, and then entered Butler College, at Indianapolis, but, on 
account of bad health, he was compelled to quit college before the 
completion of his course and is now at home with his parents. Effie. 
born on February 1, 1897, received a high school education at Arling- 
ton and is now at home. Mr. and Mrs. Offutt are earnest members 
of the Christian church at Arlington. Politically, he is a Democrat. 

DONALD L. SMITH, a well known attorney of Rushville, was 
born in that city on August 8, 1874, the son of Benjamin L. and 
Alice W. (Wilson) Smith. Benjamin L. Smith takes position as 
one of the foremost attorneys ever before the Rush county bar, and 
no history of the county could be complete without some mention 
of this eminent lawyer's career. He was a native of Rush county, 
having been born in Union township, November 29, 1835, the son 
of Ebenezer and Polly A. (Hadden) Smith, who made this county 




BEN L. SMITH 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 145 

their home in 1834. Benjamin L. Smith spent the years of his 
youth on a farm, but in 1853, when less than eighteen years of age, 
was matriculated at Asbury (now DePauw) University at Green- 
castle, Ind., and there obtained a classical education. Upon being 
graduated from this institution he took up the study of law in the 
office of Delaney R. Eckles at Greencastle, and a year later was 
admitted to the bar of Putnam county. Immediately he commenced 
the practice of his profession at Columbus, Ind., but in July, 1862, 
he answered his country's call and enlisted as a private in Com- 
pany D, Sixty-seventh Indiana Volunteer Infantry. His superior 
abilities attracted the attention of his superiors, and he was rapidly 
promoted until he attained the rank of captain, of his company, 
which he held until he was mustered out of the service. Upon re- 
turning to civilian life, the young lawyer sought a new field, going 
to New Orleans, but after two years in the South, he returned to 
Rushville in March, 1867. His ability as a lawyer won him state- 
wide recognition, and he was appointed by Governor Gray as 
president of the board of trustees of the Soldiers' Orphans' Home 
at Knightstown. One instance that may be cited as reflecting the 
character and zeal of Mr. Smith is this: When the buildings of 
the Orphans' Home were destroyed by fire in 1886, he immediately 
took steps for the reconstruction of the place without waiting for 
the legislature to appropriate funds for the purpose. Benjamin L. 
Smith continued active in practice until his retirement in 1914. 
He died at Rushville on December 25, 1915. In other things, great 
and small, Mr. Smith showed himself to be a gentleman worthy of 
the respect and honor in which he was held by all who knew him. 
He was first married on July 29, 1858, to Laura Reynolds, daugh- 
ter of Joshua and Diana Reynolds, then of Columbus, Ind. Mrs. 
Smith died on June 30, 1871, leaving one child, a daughter, Cora E. 
Mr. Smith was married on November 4, 1873, to Alice W. Wilson, 
daughter of William and Elizabeth Wilson, and to this union were 
born two children, Donald L. and Erema P. Donald L. Smith at- 
tended the Rushville high school, and also the Graham Academy, 
from which he received his diploma in 1891. He then entered De- 
Pauw University, and was graduated therefrom in 1895 with the 
degree of Bachelor of Arts. He returned to Rushville to engage 
in the practice of law with his father and Claude Cambern, the firm 
becoming known as Smith, Cambern & Smith, with which he re- 
mained for a number of years. In the years 1913 and 1915 he served 
Rush county as prosecuting attorney, and then on January 1, 1915, 
he formed a partnership with John H. Kiplinger uuder the firm 
name of Kiplinger & Smith. In the practice of his chosen profes- 
sion, Mr. Smith has been successful. He has for years been local 
attorney for the Indianapolis & Connersville Traction Company, 
the Cincinnati, Indianapolis & Western Railway Company and the 
Big Pour railroad, and in September, 1920, was appointed general 
council for the Indianapolis & Connersville Traction Company. 
10 



146 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Mr. Smith married Edna McFadden, a daughter of Dr. William G. 
McFadden, and they have one child, Louis E. Smith. Mr. Smith is 
affiliated with the local lodge of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, and, politically, the Democratic party claims him 
as an ardent supporter. 

ANTHONY II. SCIIRICHTE. It would be difficult anywhere 
outside of the larger cities to find cemeteries beautified with finer 
examples of the sculptor's art than those of Rush and the adjoining 
counties, and the excellence of these is in large measure due to the 
genius of Anthony H. Schrichte, of Rushville. Mr. Schrichte was 
born in this city on December 4, 1861, a son of J. B. and Katherine 
(Schoenbaum) Schrichte, both of Hanover, Germany. The father 
was born on May 1, 1835, and at the age of eighteen emigrated to this 
country and located at Hamilton, Ohio, where he learned the trade of 
marble worker. For two years he pursued his calling at Brookville. 
Ind., and then in 1859 came to Rushville and established the monu- 
ment works which bore his name. Beginning, necessarily, in a small 
way, he applied himself so well to his work, and so skilled was he 
that his business grew to large proportions. His fame spread over 
the entire state, and monuments were shipped to almost all points 
in this as well as to some places in adjoining states. On February 5, 
1861, he was married to Katherine Schoenbaum, then of Cincinnati, 
whom he had known in Germany as a youth, and to their union were 
born nine children of whom four are now living, Anthony, Frank. 
Edward and William. Anthony Schrichte received his education in 
the public schools of Rushville, and upon leaving them took up the 
trade of marble and granite eutter with his father and two of his 
brothers, Frank and William. When the death of the father occurred 
on November 3, 1911, the three sons took over the business, but later 
Anthony bought out the interests of the other two, and since that, 
time, 1918, has conducted the business by himself with his son as his 
assistant and foreman. The business has steadily grown, and now 
several skilled workmen are employed in order that the demands for 
monuments may be met. Mr. Schrichte married Emma Stewart and 
they are the parents of five children : John, Charles, Marie, Salome, 
and Albert. Marie married Frank Hagney and now resides at Cin- 
cinnati, Ohio. Mr. Schrichte is one of the substantial citizens of 
Rushville, and has done much toward increasing the commercial 
standing of the county seat. 

0. E. HUMES, an experienced and substantial farmer of Rush 
county, now living at Rushville, was born on June 7, 1866, in Noble 
township, Rush county, a son of John C. and Mary E. (Perkins) 
Humes. The father was a native of Cincinnati, Ohio, and the mother 
of Rush county. Her parents were Kentuckians, while her husband's 
parents were Ohioans. John C. Humes became a man of public 
affairs and acquired 320 acres of fine farming land. Of his nine chil- 
dren the following are living: Orval, of Indianapolis; John, of 
Rushville; 0. S., residing at Rushville; Gertrude, of Rush county; 
Jessie A., of Effingham, 111. ; Stella, of Rush county, and Adolph, of 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 147 

Indianapolis. The father was a veteran of the Civil war, active in 
Republican politics, served several years as trustee of Noble town- 
ship and four years as county treasurer. He was one of the early 
members of the Masonic lodge at Rushville. He served three years 
in the Union army, a member of Company I, Sixty-eighth Indiana Vol- 
unteer Infantry. 0. E. Humes attended school at New Salem, in 
Noble township, where he received a practical education, after whicli 
he assisted his father on the farm, early being given responsibility 
on account of his father having numerous other interests. When he 
married he started for himself as a farmer, renting land for about six 
years in Noble township, then buying a fine property of 240 acres, 
and still owns 160 acres of this tract. Mr. Humes by industry and 
business foresight has become an extensive landowner, having in all 
560 acres of well improved land in Rush county. In addition to 
grain and farm produce, he has realized large returns from his 
livestock, giving some attention to Shorthorns, and shipping from 
400 to 500 head of hogs annually. He is a member of the Rush 
County Farmers' Association. On November 28, 1888, he married 
Kate Frazee, who was born in Rush county, daughter of Benjamin 
and Ruth (Thompson) Frazee. The father of Mrs. Humes was a 
substantial farmer, owning 2,000 acres of land in Rush county. She 
is the youngest of his three living children, having one brother. 
John H. and a sister, Madeline. Mr. and Mrs. Humes have two 
children, Benjamin, a farmer in Rush county, who married Elizabeth 
Hayden, and has one son, William G., and Robert, who resides with 
his parents and operates a garage at Rushville. Like his father Mr. 
Humes has always been a Republican but has never accepted political 
office. He and his family are members of the Christian church at 
Rushville. 

CLAUDE R. CRANE, head of the firm of Crane & Ray, shoe 
dealers at Milroy, and the owner of an excellent farm in the neigh- 
borhood of Milroy, was born in that vicinity, in Anderson township, 
and has lived in this county all his life, for years one of the best 
known and most progressive merchants and live stock men at Milroy. 
He was born on August 2, 1884, son of Isaac and Sarah M. (Thomas) 
Crane, the latter of whom also was born in Anderson township, mem- 
ber of one of the old families of that part of the county, and who 
is still living. Isaac Crane was a Kentuckian by birth, but was but 
a lad when he came to Indiana with his parents, the family locating 
on a farm in Anderson township, this county. Here he received his 
schooling and grew to manhood, after his marriage becoming engaged 
in farming on his own account and became the owner of a fine farm 
of 160 acres, which he continued to operate until his death in 1894. 
To Isaac and Sarah M. (Thomas) Crane seven children were born, 
six of whom are still living, those besides the subject of this sketch 
being Marshall H. Crane, of Gowdy; William B. Crane, of Anderson 
township; George M. Crane, of Indianapolis, Clara Emma, and Daisy 
C, wife of Alexander Innis. Reared on the home farm in Anderson 
township, Claude R. Crane completed his schooling by a course of 
two years at Rose Polytechnic School at Terre Haute and upon leaving 



148 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

school became engaged in the shoe business at Milroy, the business 
being carried on under the firm name of Crane & Ray, and has 
ever since been thus engaged, one of the "live wire" merchants of 
that enterprising and pleasant village. In addition to his mercantile 
business Mr. Crane is the owner of an excellent farm of 160 acres in 
the vicinity of Milroy and personally supervises the operations of 
the same, with particular reference to the raising of live stock on 
the place, and annually feeds out about 300 head of hogs. In 1910 
Claude R. Crane was united in marriage to Catherine Barton, daugh- 
ter of William and Virginia Barton, and has a very pleasant home. He 
and his wife are members of the Christian church and have ever 
given proper attention to local church work. Mr. Crane is a Scottish 
Rite Mason and by political affiliation is a Democrat. 

SYLVESTER GWINNUP, of Richland township, has achieved 
definite success through his own efforts, and is thoroughly deserv- 
ing of the proud American title of self-made man. Sylvester Gwin- 
nup was born in Richland township on February 19, 1862, and he 
is descended from sterling old pioneer stock. His paternal grand- 
father, John Gwinnup, a native of Pennsylvania, turned his face 
westward and located in Cincinnati, Ohio, whence, in 1822, he 
came overland to Rush county and here entered 160 acres of land. 
Among his children was Job Gwinnup, who was born and reared 
in Rush county and who was a farmer during all his active life. 
Energetic and a good manager, he was successful and at the time 
of his death he was the owner of 110 acres of land in Richland 
township. He died on November 27, 1877, and was survived many 
years by his widow, who died in 1903. She had borne the maiden 
name of Elizabeth A. Smith, and, like her husband, was born and 
reared in this county. To this worthy couple were born ten chil- 
dren, of which number six are now living, namely: Sylvester, 
Ozias, John L., Minnie, Luther and Dora. Sylvester Gwinnup at- 
tended the old Neff Corner school in Richland township and then 
turned his attention to the home farm, he being about fifteen years 
of age when his father died. He remained with his mother until 
1885, and then was employed as a farm hand for about seven 
years. He next rented a farm of eighty-five acres and farmed as a 
renter for about six years. He then began buying the home farm 
and through successive purchases has become the owner of 155 
acres. Here he carries on general farming operations, including the 
feeding of a goodly number of hogs, and has gained a good reputa- 
tion as a careful, practical and up-to-date farmer. On December 
31, 1889, Mr. Gwinnup was married to Mary Barnes, the daughter 
of Mr. and Mrs. Edward Barnes, and they have become the parents 
of four children, Hazel. Otis, Roy and Ruby. Hazel Gwinnup be- 
came the wife of Harold Moore and is the mother of two children, 
Seth and Mary Alice. Otis Gwinnup married Stella Cox and Ruby 
Gwinnup became the wife of Paid Davison. Politically, Mr. Gwin- 
nup supports the Democratic party and his fraternal relations are 




MR. AND MRS. SYLVESTER GWINNUP 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 149 

with the Free and Accepted Masons. He is a man of sterling qual- 
ities of character and is held in the highest regard by the entire 
community. 

ALBA HURST, a progressive farmer of Walker township, was 
born in that township on March 16, 1871, a son of James E. and 
Mary (Zike) Hurst, both of whom were born in Rush county. Oi' 
their family of nine children there are eight living, Alonzo, Alba, 
Winifred, Delia, George, Pluma, Emmons and Anna V. In boyhood 
Alba Hurst attended school in Walker township and later had school 
advantages at Homer. He has been a farmer almost all his life and a 
hard-working one. Following his marriage he operated a farm of 
eighty acres belonging to his father-in-law. Later his wife inherited 
this farm and Mr. Hurst through his interest and industry has made 
it one of the most valuable as well as most presentable farms in 
Walker township. He not only has put in a fine system of ditching 
and built substantial fencing around the property, but has replaced 
all the old structures with new and modern buildings. Mr. Hurst 
is a careful farmer and in addition to doing well in grain and other 
crops, raises about sixty head of hogs every year. On December 23, 
1891, he married Fannie M. Miller, who was born in this county, a 
daughter of John B. and Sarah (Clingman) Miller, whose other chil- 
dren are Bert, Rue and Charles. Mr. and Mrs. Hurst have two 
children : Ethel, wife of Wilbur Mahan, who is in the United States 
railway mail service and a resident of Rushville, and has two children. 
Grayson J. and Lewis Mull, and Ella, who is the wife of Joseph 
Cotton, a farmer in Walker township. Mr. Hurst and his family 
are members of the Baptist church at Homer. He is a Republican 
but has never desired public office, although at one time he con- 
sented to serve to fill out another's term as township trustee, and 
during that period of four months proved entirely efficient. 

JOHN McCOY, a general farmer with large interests in Posey 
township, was born in this county, June 9, 1863, a son of Thomas and 
Mary (Mo ran) McCoy, both of whom were born in Ireland. When a 
boy of seven, the father came to Montreal, Canada, where he lived 
until 1856 when he came to Rush county to take up the career of 
farming in which he was to become so eminently successful. The 
mother came to Rush county from Niagara Falls, New York, in 1858 
and married Mr. McCoy that same year. Mr. McCoy was an indus- 
trious, capable farmer, and at the time of his death had acquired 400 
acres of fine land in Posey township. He and his wife had eight 
children, John, Frank, Joseph, Rosa, Thomas, Mary, William and 
Elizabeth, all living in Rush county at this writing (1921). John 
McCoy attended the Concord school in Rushville township when i 
boy, early beginning to help his father, with whom he remained 
until his marriage, after which he rented land and carried on farming 
operations for himself. At his father's death he received eighty acres 
from the estate to which he has since added until he now owns 
220 acres, all lying in Posey township. General farming and stock 
raising have engaged his attention and yearly he markets 150 head 



150 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

of hogs and some fine cattle. August 4, 1890, Mr. McCoy married 
Elizabeth Sullivan, born in Rush county, a daughter of Joseph and 
Mary (Lenan) Sullivan. Mr. and Mrs. Sullivan were the parents 
of twelve children of whom the following survive : Joseph, William. 
Leo, Mary, Margaret and Katherine. Mr. and Mrs. McCoy have an 
adopted son, Thomas Saunders, and the family belong to St. Mary's 
Catholic Church at Rushville. Mr. McCoy is well known in fraternal 
circles at Rushville, being a member of the Rushville lodge of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and also of Rushville Lodge, 
No. 769, Knights of Columbus. Mr. McCoy is deeply interested as a 
good citizen in public affairs both in local and state questions, and 
has always voted with the Democratic party. 

FRED H. FINLAW, M. D., of Arlington, who has within a 
dozen years advanced to an enviable position among the physicians 
of Rush county, a locality well known for the high order of its medical 
talent, was born at Camden, N. J., on the first day of June, 1882, 
and is the son of Dr. James P. and Elizabeth (Bowlus) Finlaw. The 
subject received his elementary education in the public schools of 
Camden, including three years of high school. Then, having deter- 
mined to devote his life to the healing art, he matriculated in the 
Eclectic Medical College of Cincinnati where he was graduated on 
April 29, 1908, with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. During the 
following year he served as resident physician at the Seton Hospital, 
but in October, 1909, the Doctor came to Rush county and entered 
upon the active practice of his profession at Moscow. Two years later 
he came to Arlington, where he has since remained and where he has 
built up a large and representative patronage throughout the sur- 
rounding country. He is a close and constant student of every phase 
of the science to which he has devoted himself and has gained an 
enviable reputation as a successful physician. During the recent 
World war Doctor Finlaw entered the service and was sent to the 
medical officers' training camp at Camp Oreenleaf, Ga., where he 
became a member of the staff with the rank of first lieutenant. He 
remained there until December 31, 1918, when he was transferred 
to the Hospital Train Service at Newport News, Va., where he 
remained nine months. He received an honorable discharge from 
the service at Camp Taylor, Louisville, Ky., on September 25, 1919, 
and at once resumed his practice at Arlington. On April 27, 1910, 
Doctor Finlaw was married to Lydia P. Shepard, who was born and 
reared in Maysville, Ky. Politically, Doctor Finlaw is independent, 
voting according to the dictates of his judgment, regardless of party 
lines. Fraternally, the Doctor belongs to Phoenix Lodge, No. 62, Free 
and Accepted Masons, at Rushville; Beech Grove Lodge, No. 399, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, at Arlington ; and the Modern 
Woodmen of America at Rushville. He is a member of the Indiana 
Eclectic Medical Association and the National Eclectic Medical Asso- 
ciation. Religiously, he and his wife are members of the Methodist 
Episcopal church at Arlington. The Doctor is a man of kindly dis- 
position and generous impulses and is deservedly popular throughout 
the community where he lives. 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 151 



HARRY A. KRAMER, who has built up an important 
enterprise at Rushville and accumulated a comfortable portion of 
this world's goods entirely through his own efforts and industry, 
was born in Indianapolis on February 26, 1874, the son of Henry 
and Maria (Mueller) Kramer, both of whom were born in Germany, 
where they were married. Shortly after their marriage they came 
to this country, realizing that there was infinitely more opportunity 
for advancement on this side of the Atlantic. They settled in In- 
dianapolis, where he followed the trade of butcher which he had 
learned in Germany. He later removed to Crawfordsville continuing 
in the same line of enterprise, following it the remainder of his days. 
To him and his wife were born ten children, eight of whom are now 
living. Six of the sons became butchers, and among them Harry A.. 
who saw that by the application of modern business principles, suc- 
cess could as readily be attained in this as well as in any other calling. 
He received his education in the schools of Crawfordsville and after 
completing the prescribed course of study, he learned the trade of 
butcher with his father. When his father undertook the operation 
of a slaughter house in Crawfordsville he assisted him in every way 
possible, and remained with the older man until 1899 when he came 
to Rushville. Having become convinced that this city was well suited 
to his purpose, he bought out the Kohlhier meat market, and con- 
ducted this retail establishment with success for about seven years. 
Then, wishing to enlarge the scope of his operations, he opened his 
wholesale meat and packing house in the location now occupied by 
his business. He has steadily added improvements and up-to-date 
equipment and a refrigerating plant. His plant has a capacity of 
500 hogs per week, and he is now installing a large scraping machine 
having a capacity of 100 hogs per hour. The Kramer Packing Com- 
pany is the manufacturer of "Excelsior" hams and bacon, brands 
which are favorably known throughout this section of the state. Iu 
addition to his packing interests, Mr. Kramer is the proprietor of 
one retail market in Rushville. Mr. Kramer married Elizabeth Pun- 
tenney, a daughter of George and Josephine Puntenney, and they 
are the parents of one son, "William. Mr. and Mrs. Kramer are 
earnest members of the United Presbyterian church, and fraternally. 
Mr. Kramer is a member of the local lodge of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. In his political belief he counts himself 
among the members of the Democratic party, although he has never 
striven for political preferment on his own account. 

ROBERT KENNEDY, a well known retired farmer of this 
county, who is now making his home at Rushville, was born on 
February 3, 1848, in North Carolina. His parents were Henry and 
Sabra (Hilton) Kennedy, the father a native also of North Carolina 
and the mother of Maryland. They had nine children born to them 
and two of these are living, Nora and Robert, The father was a 
cabinet-maker by trade, but Robert early decided to become a farmer, 
and after his school days were over, he came to Indiana and secured 
work as a farm hand in Rush county. He never afterward changed 
his mind in favor of another vocation, but kept on working on 



1.52 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

tarms for eight years, when through industry and economy he was 
able to purchase a farm of 120 acres, situated in Noble township, 
and afterward bought the adjoining farm of 120 acres. He remained 
on this property as a general farmer and stock raiser for thirty-four 
years, during part of the time managing to ship at least one car load 
of cattle and three of hogs yearly. After this long period of profita- 
ble farming he leased his land and retired to a comfortable home at 
Rushville. During his eight years of residence in Noble township 
Mr. Kennedy served efficiently as road supervisor, being elected 
to the office on the Republican ticket. On December 15, 1871, he 
married Mary Barnes, who was born in Rush county, daughter of 
Aaron and Ann (Laughlan) Barnes. She died on May 12, 1906, and 
her burial was in East Hill cemetery. She left two children, Jesse B. 
and Clyde C. Jesse B. Kennedy, who is in the United States railway 
mail service, lives at Irvington, Ind. He married Florence Sipe, and 
they have two children, Lela and Donald B., the former of whom is 
the wife of Dr. Cullen Sexton, of Rushville. Clyde C. Kennedy is a 
civil engineer and lives in San Francisco, Cal. He married Mable 
Roberts and they have four children, Richard, Louise, Robert and 
Mary. On December 23, 1908, Robert Kennedy married Emma 
Newby, who was born in Davidson county. North Carolina, daughter 
of Henry and Delia (Kennedy) Newby. The father of Mrs. Kennedy 
was a shoemaker and also a farmer. Of his eleven children the fol- 
lowing are living : Henry, Emma, Nancy, Sally, Robert, Maggie, Carl. 
John, William, Edward and Rosa. Mr. and Mrs. Kennedy are mem- 
bers of the Christian church at Rushville. 

JOSEPH II. RICH, who died at his farm home in Union town- 
ship early in 1919, was born in that township and spent the greater 
part of his life there. He was a member of one of the old families 
of Rush county, was a well known and influential citizen of the 
community in which he so long resided and it is but fitting that 
there should be carried in this volume of biography relating to the 
families of this county some modest tribute to the excellent mem- 
ory he left at his passing. Joseph II. Rich was born on a farm in 
Union township on September 2, 1850, son of Robert W. and 
Phoebe (Shawahan) Rich, both of whom also were born in Rush 
county, members of pioneer families here. Robert W. Rich was a 
good farmer and followed that vocation all his life, developing a 
good property in Union township. Of the three children born to 
him and his wife the subject of this memorial tribute was the only 
one that grew to maturity. Reared on the home farm in Union 
township, Joseph II. Rich received his schooling in the local schools 
and as a young man continued farming witli his father until his 
marriage at the age of twenty-three when he rented a farm in that 
neighborhood and began operations on his own account. Not long 
afterward he moved up into Madison county to engage in farming, 
but did not remain there long, presently returning to Rush county. 
Upon his return here he bought a farm of ninety-seven acres in 
Union township, established his home there and on that place 




g8ppp|lf||5 












WKSjj^^\ 


Kjj 


i T| 


m^T^^T^iy^ll 


■Ml f : wfL 


#s 


^^^^^^mi 






n^^^^^^^^s^p^H 







HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 153 

spent the remainder of his life, doing well his part in the general 
community life, his death occurring there on February 3, 1919. 
Joseph H. Rich was a member of the Fairview Christian church, as 
is his widow, and was a member of the local lodge of the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows at Falmouth. In his political affiliation 
he was a Democrat. On March 13, 1873, Joseph H. Rich was united 
in marriage to Hetty Penwell, who was born in the neighboring 
county of Fayette, and to this union two children were born, a son 
and a daughter, Roy and Ethel, both of whom are living. Roy 
Rich married Agatha Adams and has two children, Edna, wife of 
Royal Burton, and Paul. Ethel Rich married Hasting Fielding. 
Since the death of her husband Mrs. Rich has moved from the farm 
in Union township to the pleasant village of Falmouth, where she 
is now living comfortably situated. As noted above she was born 
in Fayette county and her parents, William Reed and Jane (Rea) 
Penwell, also were born in that same county, members of old fam- 
ilies there. William Reed Penwell was a farmer for years in 
Fayette county and then moved with his family over into Rush 
county, where he became engaged in farming and where he and his 
wife spent their last days. They were the parents of two children, 
Mrs. Rush and her sister, Viola. 

SAMUEL DARNELL, a well known retired farmer of Anderson 
township, this county, now living at Milroy, where he has made his 
home for the past two or three years, is a Kentuckian by birth but 
has been a resident of Indiana since he was twenty years of age and 
has spent the major part of his life in this county. Mr. Darnell 
was born in Scott county, Kentucky, September 14, 1850, son of John 
G. and Melissa (Arrowsmith) Darnell, both of whom were born in 
Nicholas county, that same state, members of pioneer families there, 
but whose last days were spent in Indiana. John G. Darnell was 
reared in Nicholas county, Kentucky, the county of his birth, and 
was married in Scott county, Kentucky. He was reared as a farmer 
and after his marriage continued to farm in his home county until 
the year 1870 when he came to Indiana with his family and located 
in Decatur county, where he rented a farm, but after awhile he came 
with his family up into Rush county, rented a farm here and 
remained until about the year 1880, when he moved to White county, 
this state, and bought a farm on which he spent the remainder of his 
life. He and his wife were the parents of ten children, J. W. 
(deceased), Samuel, Eliza, Anna, Sarah, Helen, Catherine, Christina, 
Edward and Melvina. As noted above, Samuel Darnell was about 
twenty years of age when he came to Indiana with his parents and he 
remained with them until he attained his majority when he began 
farm work on his own account. After his marriage he rented a farm 
and in the following year bought a farm of eighty acres in Anderson 
township, this county, and there established his home, continuing to 
make his residence there until in 1918 when he retired from the 
active labors of the farm and moved to Milroy, where he and his 
family are now living. It was in 1886 that Samuel Darnell was 



154 HISTORY OF BUSH COUNTY 

united in marriage to Amanda Morgan, a daughter of Evan and 
Mary Ann (Ricketts) Morgan of this county, and to this union one 
child has been born, a daughter, Lena, who married Benjamin God- 
dard and has two children, Helen Margaret and Mary Frances. Mr. 
and Mrs. Darnell are members of the Christian church and take a 
proper interest in church work and in the general good works of 
their home community. In his political views Mr. Darnell is a 
Democrat. 

D. EZRA CARMONY, a well-known and substantial farmer of 
Walker township, this county, and who also is a member of the firm 
of Carmony Bros., funeral directors at Morristown, in the neighbor- 
ing county of Shelby, is a native son of Shelby county, but has been 
a resident of Rush county for more than ten years, having made his 
home here after his marriage, a very sensible step which he has had 
no occasion to regret. He was born on a farm in Union township. 
Shelby county, February 20, 1888, son of Thomas F. and Emma J. 
(Youngs) Carmony, both of whom were born in that same county, 
members of old families in the Morristown neighborhood. Thomas 
F. Carmony was a well-to-do farmer, a vocation which he followed 
all his life, and was the owner of 244 acres. He and his wife were 
the parents of thirteen children, nine of whom are still living, those 
besides the subject of this sketch being Grace A., Flora L., Albert R., 
Harry E., Laura E., Fern, Lillian and Charles E. Reared on the 
home farm, D. Ezra Carmony received his schooling in the neighbor- 
hood schools and early became interested in the funeral director's 
necessary calling, becoming associated with his brother, Albert R. 
Carmony, in the undertaking business at Morristown, about 1915. 
In order fully to equip himself along this line he entered the Askin 
training school for embalmers at Indianapolis and after a course 
there was graduated from that institution with highest honor. The 
firm ranks among the best qualified undertakers in the state. In 
1910 Mr. Carmony came over into Rush county and located on the 
Hertsel homestead farm in Walker township and has since made that 
place his home, he and his family being very comfortably situated. 
Besides managing the Hertsel farm Mr. Carmony rents an additional 
sixty acres, making the total acreage which he handles, about 300 
acres and is quite extensively engaged, in addition to his general 
farming, in the raising of live stock, feeding about five car loads of 
hogs and a car load of cattle annually. He still retains his interest 
in the business of Carmony Brothers at Morristown. It was on 
February 24, 1909, four days after attaining his majority, that D. 
Ezra Carmony was united in marriage to Olive L. Hertsel, of this 
county, and to this union three children have been born, L. Clarine, 
Vera La von (deceased), and Bernetta T. Mr. and Mrs. Carmony 
are members of the Methodist church at Manilla and take a proper 
interest in church work as well as in the general social activities of 
their home community. Politically, Mr. Carmony is a Democrat, but 
lias never been particularly active in politics. Mrs. Carmony is a 
member of one of the old families of Rush count}', her father, Michael 
Hertsel, having been born here, ner mother, who before her mar- 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 155 

riage was Kathryn Borger, was born in Cincinnati. Michael Hertsel 
was a substantial farmer of Walker township, where Mrs. Carmony 
was born, and he and his wife were the parents of two children, 
Mrs. Carmony having a brother, Jacob C. Hertsel. 

CHARLES JOHNSON, a well known Posey township farmer 
who has passed his life here, was born in the township in which he 
now resides on January 24, 1876, and is the son of Benjamin S. 
and Stacia A. (Alexander) Johnson, who were born on August 11. 
1835, and May 12, 1838, respectively. Benjamin S. Johnson was a 
native of Brown county, state of Ohio, whence he was brought to 
Indiana by his parents when he was six years old, the family locating 
in Rush county. Here he was educated and on attaining years of 
maturity he applied himself to agricultural pursuits, following that 
vocation in Posey township the remainder of his life. He was suc- 
cessful and became the owner of 240 acres of land. He gave special 
attention to the breeding and raising of hogs, of which he handled 
great numbers. Mrs. Johnson was born and reared in Rush county 
and by her union with Mr. Johnson she became the mother of ten 
children, namely : Cansada, who is living in the neighboring county 
of Henry; Callie, who lives in California; Thomas S. (deceased) ; 
Bruce, Charlotte, Luvine C. and Mary, of this county; Ora A., of 
Kansas City, Mo., and Charles and Lelah, of this county. Charles 
Johnson was educated in district school No. 8, Rushville township, 
and after completing his studies he remained on the home farm- 
working for his mother until her death, since which time he and his 
three sisters, Charlotte, Mary and Lelah, have made their home there. 
They own 160 acres of land, which is well improved and highly cul- 
tivated. Mr. Johnson carries on a general line of farming, raising 
all the crops common to this section of the country, and also gives 
attention to live stock, feeding about 350 head of hogs annually. 
Mr. Johnson takes a justifiable pride in the general condition of the 
farm, which, under his direction and efforts, has become known as 
one of the best and most attractive in his section of the country. 
Politically, Mr. Johnson gives his support to the Democratic party, 
while he sustains fraternal relations with the Knights of Pythias 
lodge at Rushville. Personally, he is a man of genial disposition and 
obliging manner and he enjoys the friendship and good will of a 
host of acquaintances. 

JOHN T. BUSSELL, a member of one of the prominent pioneer 
families of Rush county, was born in Union township on June 19, 
1851, the son of James and Elizabeth Jane (McMillin) Bussell. 
James Bussell was born in Greene county, Ohio, February 4, 1820, 
the son of Samuel and Sarah (Morgan) Bussell, the former of 
Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, the latter a native of Vir- 
ginia. During the War of 1812 Samuel Bussell served in the Ameri- 
can army, and in 1821 decided to come west. Accordingly, in Sep- 
tember of that year, he came to Indiana and in Rush county entered 
a tract of land, then a virgin wilderness, in the southeast quarter of 
section 19 in Union township. On February 2, 1822, he brought his 
family to the cabin which he had erected — his son James then being 



156 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

not quite two years old. Opportunities for education were extremely 
limited in that early day, and James had, therefore, to depend almost 
solely on his native ability to make a success of his life. At the age 
of twenty-one he commenced farming the home place, and at his 
father's death bought eighty acres of it, increasing his holdings to 
341 acres before his death. James Bussell was twice married and by 
his first wife had a son, James A. Bussell. On March 18, 1847, he 
took for his second wife Elizabeth Jane McMillin, a daughter of John 
and Susan McMillin, pioneers of Rush county, and they became the 
parents of four children: Susan J. (deceased), John T., Jessie F. 
and Emeline, who died at the age of two years. John T. Bussell 
attended the public schools of Union township, and then took up 
farming in conjunction with his father, with whom he remained until 
he was married, at which time he entered business for himself, renting 
fields from his father for several years. He then was able to buy a 
farm of 120 acres, which he has since owned, besides an eighty acre 
tract added later. Here he has always done a general farming busi- 
ness and raised a large amount of stock, and with characteristic 
progressiveness has made splendid improvements on it. He is inter- 
ested in all modern agricultural methods, and has greatly increased 
the productivity of his soil by scientific crop rotation and fertiliza- 
tion. He was married in 1878 to Nancy Smith, a daughter of George 
and Mary Smith, and to their union there have been born three 
children: Blanche, who married Claude Thompson; Guy, who mar- 
ried Clara Shafer and has three children, Philip, Clarence, and 
Edgar; and John C, who is unmarried. Mr. Bussell is a member 
of the Christian church, in the work of which he long has been 
interested, having held the offices of elder, deacon and clerk, and in 
his political belief is a Republican. 

"WILLIAM H. NELSON, than whom no citizen of a past gen- 
eration in Rush county was better or more favorably known, was 
long an enterprising and progressive farmer and stock raiser and 
a citizen who, while advancing the interests of himself and family, 
never neglected his duties to the public. Whatever of success he 
attained was entirely owing to his individual efforts, his energy 
and natural ability. From a modest beginning he gradually 
attained a prominence in his county which entitled him to the high 
esteem which he enjoyed among his neighbors. Mr. Nelson was 
born in Anderson township, this county, March 3, 1842, and was 
the son of Capt. Christian and Faticia (Cooper) Nelson, the former 
a native of Denmark and the latter born and reared in Greenfield, 
Ind. The subject received a common school education, attending 
the school at Arlington. In his boyhood days he worked on the 
farm for his father, and so continued up to the time of his 
marriage, when he started out on his own account by renting a por- 
tion of his father's farm, to the operation of which he devoted 
himself for about five years. He then bought 100 acres of land in 
Posey township, where he and his good wife established their home 
and there they resided for about thirty years, or until Mr. Nelson 



1 


" 




■f^T^ 


~"^l 




/ 




M 


^^ 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 157 

retired from active farm work and moved to Arlington, where he 
was residing at the time of his death, which occurred on September 
3, 1914. Mr. Nelson was industrious, energetic and a man of sound 
business judgment, so that he was enabled to add to his land hold- 
ings from time to time until at the time of his death he was the 
owner of 1,100 acres of fine, fertile farm land, 900 acres lying in 
Rush county and 200 acres in Shelby county. During his active 
years on the farm Mr. Nelson gave considerable attention to the 
raising of live stock. He was practical and up-to-date in his 
methods and was numbered among the progressive farmers of his 
county. On September 29, 1861, "William 11. Nelson was married to 
Elizabeth Adams, who was born in Posey township, this county, 
the daughter of Jesse and Millie (Allander) Adams, both of whom 
also were natives of Rush county. To Mr. and Mrs. Nelson were 
born seven children, of whom six are living, namely : Adella, Mil- 
lie, Margaret, Jesse, John, Myrta and Fannie. Adella became the 
wife of William Eaton, a farmer in Shelby county; Millie is the 
wife of James Draper, a farmer in Posey township, Rush county, 
and they have nine children, Olive, Cora, Nellie, Pearl, Waldo, 
Alphonso, Ozrow, Millie and Emerson, all of whom are married 
excepting Millie ; Margaret, deceased, was the wife of Perry Col- 
lins, a farmer of Posey township, and the mother of two children, 
Harry and Claude ; Jesse, a farmer in Shelby county, married 
Kathryn Price and they have three children, Bessie, Brainard and 
Warren; John, a farmer in Posey township, married Myrta Offutt 
and they have one child, Sabert D. ; Myrta is the wife of Henry 
Conway, a farmer in Posey township; Fannie is the wife of Noah 
Moore, a farmer in Posey township, and they have two children, 
Wildean and John Roy. Mr. Nelson was a lifelong supporter of 
the Democratic party and always took a keen interest in the trend 
of public events, especially as relating to his own community. He 
was an earnest member of the Christian church at Arlington. 

GEORGE MURPHY, an experienced farmer of Rush county, 
now residing at Rushville but actively interested in a large property 
in Union township, was born in Noble township, this county, Novem- 
ber 1, 1856. His parents were John and Anna (McCrory) Murphy, 
who were born in Butler county, Ohio, and Fayette county, Indiana, 
respectively. Of their family of six children the following are living : 
Charles, of New Salem; Jessie, of Noble township; Mrs. Ida George, 
of Orange; LeRoy, of New Salem, and George, of Rushville. The 
father was a farmer throughout life and at one time owned 260 acres 
of land in Noble township. George Murphy attended the Apple- 
gate district school in his boyhood, then became his father's helper 
and remained on the home farm until his marriage. When starting 
out for himself, Mr. Murphy rented land for several years, later buy- 
ing forty acres in Noble township, which property he held for some 
\ears but ultimately sold it. Mr. Murphy is now operating a farm 
of 160 acres in Union township that belongs to his wife, carrying on 
general crop raising and paying some attention to good stock. He 



158 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

raises a few cattle every year and about 150 head of hogs. Mr. 
Murphy has been twice married. In 1878 he was united in marriage 
to Julia Thompson, of this county, and to this union was born one 
child, a daughter, Mrs. Ethel Bowen, of Orange. On October 9, 
1884, he married Melvina Murdock, who was born in Keokuk county. 
Iowa, daughter of Hugh and Martha J. (Legg) Murdock, who were 
parents of three children, of whom Mrs. Murphy now alone survives. 
Mrs. Murphy's father died and her mother married Francis M. Ham- 
ilton, to which union three children were born: Francis M., Theodocia 
and Andrew Jackson, the last two of whom are deceased. Mr. and 
Mrs. Murphy had a son, Otto Chester, born on October 25, 18S5. He 
married Aletha A. Stephens, who died on September 15, 1912, and 
lier burial was in East Hill cemetery. Otto Chester Murphy was a 
farmer in Rush county and was widely known. His death occurred 
on February 12. 1920, leaving one daughter, Helen J., who was born 
on November 19, 1910, who is attending school at Rushville and 
makes her home with her grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. Murphy. Mr. 
and Mrs. Murphy are members of the Plum Creek Christian Church. 
Mr. Murphy has always been interested in public affairs and votes 
with the Republican party. 

OLIVER W. SMITH, who died at his home in Milroy in 1904 
and whose widow is still living there, was one of the best known 
young farmers of that section of Rush county and at his passing at 
the age of thirty-two years left a good memory, a modest tribute to 
which it is but fitting should here be set out in this volume of bi- 
ographies relating to the old families of the county. He was born on 
a farm in Anderson township on December 26, 1871, son of Jetson 
and Clarinda Reardin Smith, both of whom were born in Indiana, 
members of pioneer families hereabout, and whose last days were 
spent here. Jetson Smith was a well-to-do farmer and he also gave 
considerable attention to public affairs, having served one term as 
county clerk. He was re-elected to that office but before entering 
upon his second term died, leaving his widow with two children, the 
subject of this memorial having had a sister, Cora. Reared on the 
home farm in Anderson township, Oliver W. Smith received his 
schooling in the local schools and as a young man gave his attention 
to the management of the farm of 200 acres left by his father and 
was thus engaged until his death. After his marriage he made his 
home in Milroy and it was there his last days were spent, his death 
occurring there on November 5, 1904. Mr. Smith was a Democrat. 
In his fraternal relations he was a member of the local lodge of the 
Knights of Pythias and took a warm interest in the affairs of that 
organization. He was a member of the Christian church, as is his 
widow, and also gave proper attention to local church work. It was 
in 1898 that Oliver W. Smith was united in marriage to Bessie Jack- 
man, who also was bora in this county, daughter of John and Caro- 
line (Tompkins) Jackman, both members of pioneer families here. 
Since her husband's death Mrs. Smith has continued to make her 
home at Milroy, where she is very pleasantly situated. As noted 
above, she is a member of the Christian church and has ever given 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 159 

her interested attention to church work as well as to all well directed 
movements having to do with the advancement of the common good 
in the community. 

NOAH MATLOCK, a retired farmer who died at his home in 
Circleville, this county, December 12, 1920, was born on February 
26, 1844, in Rushville township, and had lived in this county all his 
life. His parents were Thomas S. and Mary (Alexander) Matlock, 
who had a family of twelve children, the following surviving : Smith 
H., of Howard county, Indiana; Mrs. Caroline Amos, also of Howard 
county; William A., of that same county; Cicero, of Kokomo, In- 
diana; Mrs. Mary A. Shropshire, of Rushville, and Bruce, of Circle- 
ville. The father of this family was born in Overton county, Tennes- 
see^ and the mother in Kentucky. They made the journey to Indiana 
on horseback, arriving in Rush county on August 13, 1831, and the 
late Noah Matlock owned the house in which his parents spent their 
first night in Indiana. His father was an educated man and had 
taught school for twelve years in Kentucky before coming to Indiana, 
where he acquired large bodies of land and followed farming. He 
owned 455 acres in Rushville township, this county, and 220 acres 
in Howard county. He took an interest in having his children edu- 
cated and after Noah left school he was associated with his father as 
a farmer until he was thirty years old. Following his marriage he 
rented 140 acres from his father-in-law, which he operated for six 
years, after which he bought thirty-seven acres in Rushville township, 
♦hat being the nucleus of his later extensive farm of 286 acres. Dur- 
ing his active years Mr. Matlock carried on general farming and 
raised a good grade of stock, usually marketing 100 head of hogs 
yearly. Upon retiring he gave his land to his children and for some 
years, or until his death, lived at Circleville. On September 24, 1874, 
Noah Matlock married Martha E. King, who was born in Rushville 
township, this county, daughter of Elisha and Martha (Wood) King, 
natives of Kentucky and Wayne county, Indiana, respectively. They 
had ten children of whom Mrs. Matlock is the only survivor. Her 
father was a heavy landowner in Rush county, owning a farm of 500 
acres in Rushville township and 140 acres in Anderson township. 
Mr. and Mrs. Matlock had four children, two of whom survive. 
Ernest K. and Florence. Ernest K. Matlock is a banker in the city 
of Detroit, Michigan. He married Sarah Webster and has two chil- 
dren, Webster and Martha J. Florence Matlock married Theodore 
Abercrombie, a farmer in Rushville township. Mr. Matlock was a 
member of the Christian church, as is his widow. In his political 
views he was a Democrat. 

CARL FREDERICK BEHER, D. D. S., one of the well-known 
dental practitioners of Rushville, was born in Rush county on April 
24, 1879, the son of John Frederick and Amelia E. (Dill) Beher. 
both of Rush county. John F. Beher was for a great many years a 
popular merchant at Occident, this county, where he conducted a 
general merchandising business until the time of his death in Sep- 
tember, 1881, at his home in Occident. After his death, Mrs. Beher 
married William N. Megee, of Rush county. She was the mother of 



160 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

three children, Carl Frederick Beher, Minnie T. Beher and Grace 
(Megee) Anderson. Dr. Carl F. Beher received his early educa- 
tional training in the public schools of Rushville, completing his 
sophomore year in the high school. He then went into Dr. Megee 's 
dental office as apprentice for two years. In 1898 he entered the 
Ohio College of Dental Surgery at Cincinnati, and after a thoroughly 
comprehensive course there, was graduated in 1901 with the degree of 
D. D. S. In November of the same year, he opened an office in 
Rushville, where he has practiced continuously since, a conscientious 
student of his profession. On December 12, 1905, Doctor Beher mar- 
ried Lucia Wilson, and to this union there has come one child, Will- 
iam Frederick, born on July 10, 1907, who is attending school in 
Rushville. Both the Doctor and his wife are earnest members of the 
Christian church, and politically belong to the Democratic party. 
He holds membership in a number of fraternal and professional 
societies, the Masons, in which order he has attained the Scottish Rite : 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Rotary Club, the 
State and National Dental Associations, and the Psi Omega dental 
fraternity. To the dentists of Rushville belong the credit of originat- 
ing the plan of making Wednesday afternoon a holiday for dentists. 
an idea which has been taken up by the profession throughout the 
entire state. The local representatives of this profession are Drs. 
F. R. McClanahan, F. M. Sparks, Hale Pearsey, Charles S. Green, 
P. H. Chadwick, Frank Smith and Carl Frederick Beher, and to th<» 
admirable spirit of friendly co-operation which has been displayed by 
them may be directly attributed the success of the organization which 
they maintain. 

JAMES P. ARCHEY, who died at his home at Milroy in 1918 
and who for years had been regarded as one of the substantial land- 
owners and farmers of that part of the county, a man of influence 
along several lines, was a Virginian by birth, but had been a res- 
ident of Indiana since his majority and had thus come to regard 
himself as much a Hoosier as though "native and to the manner 
born." He was born in Rockbridge county, Virginia, October 14, 
1845, son of Peter and Abigail Archey, both natives of the Old 
Dominion, who came to Indiana, driving through with their fam- 
ily and belongings in 1866, and established their home in Shelby 
county, locating on a farm where they spent their last days. Peter 
Archey and wife were the parents of nine children, of whom three, 
Mary, Charles and Andrew, are still living, the others besides the 
subject of this memorial sketch having been Joseph, John, Robert, 
Blaine, and Thomas. As will be noted by a comparison of the dates 
above given, James P. Archey was twenty-one years of age when he 
came to Indiana with his parents. He had been reared to the farm 
in his native Virginia and upon coming here resumed farming, 
working with his father until his marriage two years later, after 
which he rented a farm in Rush county, and began operations on 
his own account. His affairs prospered and he presently bought 
a farm of eighty acres and also began buying and selling live stock 




JAMES 1'. ARCHBY 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 161 

on a considerable scale and in both farming and in his stock deal- 
ing did well. After a while lie sold his " eighty" to advantage and 
bought another place, the acreage of which he gradually increased 
until he became the owner of a fine farm of 240 acres in Anderson 
township and on that place made his home until his retirement from 
the farm in 1888 and removal to Milroy, afterward giving most of 
his attention to his stock buying, and there spent the rest of his 
life, his death occurring on December 9, 1918. In his political views 
Mr. Archey was a Democrat and ever since coming to Indiana had 
given a good citizen's attention to local civic affairs. Fraternally, 
he was affiliated with the local lodge of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows at Milroy and had taken a proper interest in the af- 
fairs of that popular organization. He was a member of the Meth- 
odist church, as is his widow, wias for years a class leader in the 
church, superintendent of the Sunday school and a member of the 
board of trustees, and in other ways was helpful in strengthening 
and advancing the labors of the congregation. It was on December 
1, 1868, that James P. Archey was united in marriage to Elizabeth 
Hill, who was born in this county, daughter of James and Mary 
(Armstrong) Hill, and to this union were born seven children, of 
whom six are still living, namely : Ef fie, who married Leslie Scull 
and has two children, Edna and Clarence; Edgar, who married 
Minnie Walker and has three children, Clara, Elmer and Margaret ; 
Zelma, who married Walter Mansfield and has two children, Car- 
los and Camilla ; Hugh, who married Eva McCracken and has one 
child, Lawrence ; Clyde, who married Anna Aldridge and has two 
children, James William and Mary Louise, and Cleve, who married 
Dorothy Allison and has four children, James Francis, Robert Alli- 
son, Clara Belle and Edward Elsworth. Four of Mrs. Archey 's 
grandchildren are married and she has two great-grandchildren, as 
follows : Edna Scull married William Davis ; Clarence Scull mar- 
ried Fay Westerfield and has one child, Dorothy Louise ; Clara 
married William Bentz, and Carlos Mansfield married Ida MeGuire 
and has one child, a daughter, Marie Elizabeth. Since the death of 
her husband Mrs. Archey has continued to make her home at Mil- 
roy, where she is very pleasantly situated. As noted above, she 
was born in this county, but was but a babe when her parents 
moved from here over into the neighboring county of Franklin, 
where she received her schooling and grew to womanhood, and 
where her parents spent the remainder of their lives. James Hill, 
father of Mrs. Archey, was a Pennsylvanian by birth, who had 
come to Indiana in the days of his young manhood and here saw 
fit to remain. He was a skilled carpenter and builder and followed 
that vocation quite successfiuly both during the time of his resi- 
dence in Rush county and after moving to Franklin county. He 
and his wife were the parents of seven children, those besides Mrs. 
Archey (the first born) being Fannie, John, Emma, Jesse, Cyras 
and Alice. 
11 



162 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

DAYTON HUNGERFORD, a well-known and substantial 
retired farmer of this county, now living at Milroy, was horn in 
Rush county and has lived here all his life. He was born on a farm 
in Orange township on April 7, 1848, son of Calvin and Eleanor 
(Sefton) Hungerford, both of whom were born in Ohio but who spent 
most of their lives in this county, for many years useful and honored 
residents of Orange township. Calvin Hungerford was born in But- 
ler county, Ohio, and there grew to manhood. He then came to 
Indiana and located in Rush county, engaged for some time in farm 
work on the farm he bought when he first came here and then erected 
a combined saw and gristmill on the creek in Orange township, the 
same being operated by water power and was for years there engaged 
as a miller, but as the products of the local mills began to be crowded 
out by the more widely distributed products of the larger mills dis- 
continued that business and bought a farm in Orange township and 
began to develop his farming interests which he gradually extended 
until he became the owner of a fine farm of 500 acres, and on that 
place spent his last days, his death occurring before he had reached 
middle age. Calvin Hungerford was a man of influence in his com- 
munity and for several terms served as justice of the peace in and 
for Orange township, as "Squire" Hungerford being widely known 
throughout the county. His widow survived him and continued to 
maintain the home, the operations of which were carried on by her 
elder sons until finally distribution of the estate was made. Calvin 
Hungerford and wife were the parents of nine children, six of whom 
are still living, those besides the subject of this sketeh being Henry, 
of Anderson township; John, of Grant county, this state; Sarah E., 
wife of Israel Piper, of Milroy; Orlando, of Shelby county, this 
state, and Caroline, wife of Elbert Hodges, of Posey township, this 
county. Reared on the home farm in Orange township, Dayton 
Hungerford received his schooling in the schools of that neighbor- 
hood and early began to take, in his mother's behalf, an active inter- 
est in the work of the farm, thus growing up to be an excellent 
farmer. He remained at home until his marriage, after which he 
bought a tract of forty acres, to which lie presently added an adjoin- 
ing tract of fifty-five acres, this giving him, with what he had inher- 
ited, a farm of 160 acres and as his operations prospered he continued 
to add to his holdings until he became the owner of a fine farm of 
490 acres in Orange and Anderson township. In addition to his gen- 
eral farming Mr. Hungerford gave considerable attention to the rais- 
ing of live stock, with particular attention to hogs, and did well in 
his operations, continuing thus actively engaged until his retirement 
from the farm in 1905 and removal to Milroy, where he bought a 
pleasant home and is still living. It was in 1872 that Dayton Hunger- 
ford was united in marriage to Perlina Peck, who was born in this 
county, daughter of Alfred and Elizabeth Peck, and to this union 
were born six children, namely: Elbridge (deceased), who married 
Flora Marsh ; Elizabeth, who married Harry Biggs and has one child, 
Mary Margaret; Luther, who married Kate Mull and has two chil- 
dren, Wesley and Helen ; Dorsey, who married Myrtle Norris and 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 1G3 

has two children, Bernard and Tedric; Calvin, who married Rebecca 
Webb and has two children, Glenn and Maxina, and Jesse, who mar- 
ried Gertrude Kellum and has three children, Howard, Mildred and 
Geraldine. Mr. and Mrs. Hungerford are members of the Christian 
church and Mr. Hungerford served for some time as a member of 
the board of trustees of the same. In his political views Mr. Hunger- 
ford has always aligned himself with the Democratic party, but has 
never taken a particularly active part in political affairs. 

BENJAMIN P. JONES, a retired farmer, now residing at 1208 
North Perkins street, Rushville, is a Kentuckian by birth, but has 
spent the greater part of his life in Rush count}-. He was born on 
January 4, 1867, in Scott county, Kentucky, son of Nelson P. and 
Eliza (Powell) Jones, whose family contained six children, the four 
survivors being Napoleon, Jefferson, John and Benjamin F. The 
father followed farming all his life. Benjamin P. Jones attended 
school in his native county and afterward in Rush county. He then 
"worked out" on farms for twelve years, after which he rented land 
for eight years, then finally purchased ten acres of good land in 
Ripley township, on which he lived for two years, then rented it to a 
tenant, moving then to Rushville township, where he rented and for 
two years operated an eighty-acre farm. He then bought a farm 
of forty-seven acres in the same township and conducted it for three 
years, then sold to advantage and later bought the farm of 100 acres 
that he yet owns, to which he subsequently added twenty-seven acres. 
"While living on this farm Mr. Jones carried on general farming and 
also raised about two car loads of hogs annually. Mr. Jones has 
always been a man of enterprise and has often shown good judgment 
in handling business propositions. In 1910 he embarked in the live- 
stock business and for three years did a large amount of buying 
and selling. He moved then to Rushville and embarked in the auto- 
mobile business which he continued for more than six years, during 
this time being agent for the Willys-Overland company. Since then 
he has lived practically retired, having his farm of 127 acres satisfac- 
torily leased. On September 2, 1891, Mr. Jones married Willie Whit- 
ton, who was born in Scott county, Kentucky, daughter of Kennedy 
and Nancy (Connley) Whitton. They have one son, Kanada, who is 
a farmer in Rush county. He married Grace Clifton and has two 
children, Maxine and Pauline. Mr. and Mrs. Jones are members of 
the Plum Creek Christian Church, ne has always given his political 
support to the Democratic party. 

JAMES HENRY DAVIS, a substantial and well known retired 
farmer of Anderson township, this county, now living at Milroy, 
where he and his family are very comfortably situated, is a native son 
of Rush county and has lived here all his life, doing well his part in 
the general development of the community in which his family has 
been represented since pioneer days. Mr. Davis was born on a farm 
in Anderson township on September 19, 18o6, son of Samuel and 
Mary (Henry) Davis, both of whom were born in Kentucky, members 
of pioneer families, and further mention of whom is made elsewhere 



164 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

in this volume of biographies relating to the old families of Rush 
county, together with additional details regarding the Davis family 
this county. Reared on the home farm, James Henry Davis received 
his schooling in the little old log school house which served his home 
district in those days, also the old Richland Academy, and from the 
days of his boyhood was a valued assistant to his father in the labors 
of developing the home farm. After his marriage Mr. Davis began 
farming on his own account, renting his father's farm, and was thus 
engaged for several years, at the end of which time he bought a 
tract of eighty-four acres and on that farm established his home. By 
diligent application his affairs prospered and as conditions favored 
he gradually added to his holdings until he became the owner of a 
fine farm of 164 acres, which he still owns, and on which he made his 
home until in 1899 when he retired from the active labors of the 
farm and moved to Milroy, where he is now living. Mr. Davis is a 
Republican and has ever given a good eitizen's attention to local 
civic affairs. In 1878 James Henry Davis was united in marriage to 
Lena Barton, daughter of James A. Barton, and to this union one 
child was born, a daughter, Wildie Davis, who is now (1921) a 
member of the staff of teachers maintained in the schools of Murphys- 
boro, Illinois. The Davises have a pleasant home at Milroy and have 
ever taken an interested part in the general social activities of their 
home community. 

WILLIAM P. KING for almost a half a century has been help- 
ing to make history in Rush county, and so well has he directed his 
energies that in 1910, at. the age of fifty-four years, he was able to 
retire from active life on a comfortable competence. He has led 
a simple, active and methodical life, and his career has been one 
in which he has won his success fairly and without resource to 
unfair advantages. Mr. King was born in Richland township on 
December 28, 1856, a son of Charles and Elvira (Tryon'l King, 
natives of this county, and a grandson of Joseph King, who was an 
early emigrant to Rush county from the state of Pennsylvania. 
Charles King was reared in Rush county, and attended school in 
Richland township, in which community he was married. As a 
young man he took up the trade of cooper, which he followed 
during the early years of his life, following which he embarked 
in farming in association witli his father until he got a start as 
an agriculturist. Later, in partnership with his brother, William, 
he worked at farming and the cooper trade, but eventually started 
farming on his own account, his original purchase being forty 
acres. To this he added from time to time until he became the 
owner of nearly 300 acres of valuable land, and on this property 
he continued to carry on successful activities until the time of his 
retirement. When he died, in April, 1897, his community lost one 
of its capable agriculturists and constructive citizens. Mrs. King 
died in 1895, the mother of five children: Mary Eliza. Zenas, Issalo, 
Alcie and William P. William P. King received his education in the 




WILLIAM P. KING 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 165 

public schools of Richland and Noble townships, and upon comple- 
tion of his literary training took up farming in association with his 
father. Subsequently, he rented land from the elder man until the 
latter's death, farming some 180 acres with a fair degree of success. 
At his father's demise, Mr. King came into an inheritance of some 
property, to which he has added by purchase until he now has 
120 acres, all in Noble township. He made numerous improvements 
on this tract, upon which he engaged actively in general farming 
and stock raising until 1910, when he retired. The modern, well 
furnished home and capacious barns are due to his success and 
forethought, and the place generally bears the impress of the large 
and generous personality of the owner. Mr. King was married on 
January 28, 1880. to Mary Pond, daughter of Thomas Hitt and 
Sarah A. (Parvis) Pond, and to this union three children have 
been born : Willard P., who married Laura Jones and has three 
children, Helen Leila, Mabel and Gladys; Lela Irene, who married 
Roscoe Lefforge and has two children, Angus Loren and Lowell; 
and Mary Edith, who married Lowell Norris and has two children, 
Mary Helen and Paul Tillette. Mrs. King belongs to a family 
which came to Indiana from New York state and settled in Frank- 
lin county. Her father was a native New Yorker and her mother 
was born in Dundee, Scotland. Mrs. King was born at Metamora, 
Franklin county, in which county she resided until her marriage, 
her father being the owner of a farm of 208 acres. There were six 
children in the Pond family: Elizabeth K., Ella, Cassius C, Mrs. 
King, Frank F. and Ida B. Mr. and Mrs. King are members of 
the Christian church at Andersonville, and Mr. King is a Republi- 
can. He is a companionable and well-posted man, observing the 
world from wide i - ange, and retaining his faith in the goodness of 
mankind, and in the existence of opportunity for all who earnestly 
seek it. 

CYRUS E. INLOW, one of Rush county's best known and most 
substantial farmers and stockmen, was born in the village of Manilla, 
where he still resides, and has lived there all his life. He was born 
on February 18, 1863, son of Dr. John J. and Maiy A. (Mull) Inlow, 
the latter of whom was a daughter of Jacob Mull, a Virginian and 
one of the pioneers of Walker township, further mention of whom, 
together with a comprehensive story of the Mull family in this 
county, is set out elsewhere in this volume. The late Dr. John J. 
Inlow, who for many years was a practicing physician at Manilla, 
was a Kentuckian, born in Fleming county in the Blue Grass state. 
February 13, 1826, son of Abraham and Sophia (Bell) Inlow, the 
latter of whom, a native of Lewis county, Kentucky, died in 1828, 
and the former of whom also was born in Fleming county, Kentucky'. 
July 18, 1802, of Welsh descent, his parents having been among 
the pioneers of that county. After the death of his first wife Abra- 
ham Inlow married Mary Payne and by that union was the father of 
six children, Jane, Samuel, Thomas, Joseph, Lucy and Octave. John 
J. Inlow was but two years of age when his mother died and he was 



166 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

reared in the family of his paternal grandfather, James Inlow. He 
finished his local schooling at the Flemingburg Academy and when 
twenty years of age, in 1846, began the study of medicine under the 
preceptorship of Dr. E. 0. Bell at Flemingburg. following this by 
a course in the Ohio Medical College at Cincinnati and in the spring 
of 1849 began the practice of medicine at Martha Mills, a village in 
his home county in Kentucky. In 1851 Dr. John J. Inlow left that 
place and came to Indiana, locating at Manilla in this county, where 
he bought the practice of Dr. J. W. Trees and became a settled 
physician of this county. Doctor Inlow had a realizing sense of land 
values and in time became the owner of about 600 acres of land in 
the eastern part of Shelby county and in the western part of this 
county, a considerable tract of which adjoined the village of Manilla. 
On June 28, 1853, about two years after coming to this county Dr. 
John J. Inlow married Mary A. Mull, who was born in this county. 
April 28, 1831, a member of one of the pioneer families of Walker 
township, as noted above, and to this union were born nine children, 
six daughters and three sons, all of whom grew to maturity save three 
of the daughters, those besides the subject of this sketch being Emma 
S., born in 1S54, who married Nathan F. Talbott and moved to Chat- 
tanooga, Tennessee, in 1878; two infant daughters who died 
unnamed; William E., 1859; Katie, 1861. who died in 1862; Lidu J., 
1865, who married Louis J. Kauffman in 1884 and moved to Colum- 
bus, Indiana ; Charles, 1867, and Lucy J., 1870, of Rushville. Cyrus 
E. Inlow was reared at Manilla and early began to give his attention 
to his father's farming interests, giving particular attention to the 
live stock business, making a specialty of trading in horses and mules, 
for which at that time there was an excellent market hereabout, and 
has continued thus engaged, making his home in Manilla and at the 
same time operating the old home place of 250 acres in Walker town- 
ship which he owns jointly with his sister, Lucy J., and he has done 
very well in his operations, long having been regarded as one of the 
progressive and substantial citizens of that thriving community. Mr. 
Inlow also owns a tract of land near Indianapolis and has a farm in 
Kansas. On March 1, 1889, Cyrus E. Inlow was united in marriage 
to Alice Haehl, who also was born in this county, daughter of John 
M. and Sarah (Headley) Haehl, who were the parents of six children, 
three of whom survive, those besides Mrs. Inlow being Fred Haehl 
and her sister Corda. Mr. and Mrs. Inlow have four children, three 
sons and a daughter, William D., Charles F., Herbert and Alaelie. 
the latter of whom married Alonzo Sheedy. a farmer of the Manilla 
neighborhood, and has one child, a son, William. All three of the 
Inlow brothers have followed in the footsteps of their grandfather. 
Dr. John J. Inlow, in their inclination toward the medical profes- 
sion and the elder of the brothers. Dr. William D. Inlow, is now con- 
nected with the world-famed hospital of the Mayo brothers at Roches- 
ter, Minnesota, where he has been located for the past two years. He 
was graduated from the University of Chicago and afterward was 
accorded his medical degree by Rush Medical College and was serving 
as an interne in the Cook County Hospital at Chicago when American 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 167 

participation in the World war was begun in 1917. He enlisted his 
services in behalf of the medical corps of the United States army and 
was commissioned a lieutenant in that branch of the service, serving 
until mustered out some time after the signing of the armistice, after 
which he entered upon his present connection in the great Mayo 
hospital. Dr. William D. Inlow has done considerable research work 
for the government, has written widely for medical journals and has 
a United States license, having won second honors in the examination 
which secured him this distinction, the only one who passed a higher 
grade in that examination having been a professor of medicine. The 
second son, Charles F. Inlow, served in the medical department of 
the United States navy during the war and is a member of the 1921 
class at Rush Medical College, Chicago. He also was graduated 
from the Kirksville (Missouri) Osteopathic school in 1915. The 
third son, Herbert, who was graduated from the University of Chi- 
cago, won his "letter" for athletics while attending that institution 
and is now attending Rush Medical College, a member of the class 
of 1922. He married on September 8, 1920, Opal Martyn, one of the 
teachers in the school at Manilla. 

WILLIAM C. CULBERTSON, a retired farmer of this county, 
now living at Rushville, was born in Noble township on December 10, 
1874, the son of William and Victoria (Armstrong) Culbertson, both 
natives of that township. The father of William Culbertson, also 
named William, was one of the earliest pioneers of Rush county, 
coming here from Kentucky in the first years of its organization, 
and entering land in Noble township. Here he built a log cabin and 
set about clearing his land for suitable cultivation, and here his son 
William grew to manhood taking up farming for himself when he 
had reached man's estate. At one time he was the owner of 140 acres 
of fine land, on which he did a general farming business, continuing 
actively engaged until a few years before his death. He and his 
wife were the parents of seven children, two of whom are still living in 
Rush county, William C. having a brother Charles, who lives at 
Sexton. William C. Culbertson was educated in the public schools 
of Noble and Rushville townships and until he was eighteen years 
of age worked on the home farm in conjunction with his father. He 
then began working out as a farm hand, and was variously employed 
for the succeeding eight years, at the end of which time he married 
and started farming on a place of 132 acres in Rushville township 
which had been inherited by his wife. He conducted general farming 
operations, in which he was eminently successful, until the time of his 
retirement. He then removed to Rushville, where he now resides 
and has since sold the farm. Mr. Culbertson married Martha Colvill, 
a daughter of John and Nancy Colvill, who came from Kentucky 
when Martha was an infant, locating on a farm in Rushville township 
where they spent the rest of their lives. One child, who died in 
infancy, was born to Mr. and Mrs. Culbertson and their loss has 
been a great sorrow to them both. Mrs. Culbertson is a devout com- 
municant of the Christian church, and never overlooks an opportu- 



168 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

nity of doing good. Mr. Culbertson is a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and in his political affiliations is counted 
among the adherents of the Republican party. 

ALONZO P. ELLISON, a well-known farmer and stockraiser 
residing in Walker township, was born in Rushville township, this 
county, February 18, 1859, a son of William J. and Sarah J. (Duke) 
Ellison. Alonzo P. Ellison attended the Miller school in Rushville 
township and school in district No. 6, Walker township, after which 
he worked with his father on the home farm until his marriage. 
After starting out for himself Mr. Ellison rented a farm of 160 
acres in Walker township, on which he lived for eight years, when 
he bought the farm on which he has ever since resided. Mr. Ellison 
has 160 acres of valuable land, on which he has done a large amount 
of ditching and has otherwise improved it, since coming here having 
erected his comfortable farmhouse and fine barn. In addition to crop 
raising he gives a large amount of attention to cattle and hogs, his 
annual increase being from 10 to 15 head of cattle and 125 head of 
hogs. On January 17, 1889, Mr. Ellison married Belle Johnson, who 
was born in Rush county, daughter of Casper and Martha (Sells) 
Johnson. Mrs. Ellison died on January 14, 1900, leaving three 
children, Frank, who died on June 5, 1914; Charles and Lucille. On 
September 16, 1903, Mr. Ellison married Adenia Lee, who was born in 
Tipton county, Indiana, daughter of Harlen and Catherine (Nelson) 
Lee, farming people there, who had a family of seven children, four of 
whom are living, those besides Mrs. Ellison being Arthur, Florence 
and Royal. Mr. and Mrs. Ellison have three children ; Floyd, Beulah 
and Allen. The family belongs to the Christian church at Homer, of 
which Mr. Ellison is a trustee. Although never aspiring to political 
office, Mr. Ellison has always been an active citizen in his community 
and from early manhood has cast his vote with the Republican party. 

MRS. ALICE A. BROOKS, widow of the late Melvin Brooks, 
of Rushville, has been a resident of this county since the days of 
her girlhood and has thus been a witness to the many changes 
that have taken place in this community since the days of the Civil 
war, and has many interesting stories to tell of the gradually 
changing conditions which have marked the extraordinary develop- 
ment noted during this period. Her late husband was a veteran 
of the Civil war and she had three brothers engaged in the service 
of the Union during that period of national stress, hence the im- 
pressions created by the war were to her not only very vivid but 
have proved lasting. Mrs. Brooks was born in Washington county, 
Ohio, and was but a child when her parents, Horatio and Nancy 
Culver, came to Indiana with their family and located in Rush 
county. Here she received her schooling and here she married 
Melvin Brooks, who had been a soldier in the Union army during 
the Civil war. Melvin Brooks was born in Nicholas county, Ken- 
tucky, and was but five years of age when he came to Rush county 
with his parents, the family settling in Noble township. Here he 




MELVIX BROOKS 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 169 

received his schooling and as a young man became engaged in 
farming on the home place. When the Civil war broke out he 
enlisted his services in behalf of the Union cause and weut to the 
front as a member of G Company, Fifty-second regiment, Indiana 
Volunteer Infantry, with which command he served for nearly four 
years. Upon the completion of this service Mr. Brooks returned 
home and resumed farming on the home place in Noble township. 
Following his marriage to Alice A. Culver some time later he 
purchased a tract of 200 acres in Noble township and there estab- 
lished his home. He continued to operate the farm until his retire- 
ment in 1910 and removal to Rushville, where he spent the remain- 
der of his life, his death occurring there on November 21, 1917. 
Mr. Brooks had two brothers, Thomas and William Brooks, who 
also were veterans of the Civil war. Mrs. Brooks had three 
brothers, George M., Oscar and Wesley, who also were soldiers in 
the Union army. Since the death of her husband Mrs. Brooks has 
continued to make her home at Rushville, residing at 225 West 
First street, where she is very pleasantly and very comfortably 
situated. To Melvin and Alice A. (Culver) Brooks were born 
seven children, Fannie, Forest, Charles, Sadie, Myrtle, Vernon and 
Morton, all of whom are residents of this county with the exception 
of Morton Brooks, who is a resident of Indianapolis. Mrs. Brooks 
is a member of the Christian church and has ever taken an inter- 
ested part in church work as well as in the general social activities 
of the community in which she has so long resided. 

GREELEY P. MAUZY, a retired farmer now residing at Rush- 
ville, was born in Madison county, Indiana, September 10, 1861, a 
son of Peter and Jane (Wilson) Mauzy, the latter of whom was born 
in Rush county. His father was born in Kentucky and was five years 
old when he accompanied his parents to Indiana, the family locating 
in Rush county. In young manhood he moved from this county to 
Madison county, Indiana, where he carried on farming until fifty 
years old, when he returned to Rush county and bought a tract of 
400 acres in Jackson township, which he farmed until within fifteen 
years of his death, when he moved to Rushville where he passed the 
rest of his life. He and his wife had a family of five children, Mollie, 
Sophia, Alma, Maggie and Greeley. After his schooldays were over, 
Greeley P. Mauzy began to help his father on the farm, the latter 
encouraging him by giving him a part interest in the products. He 
was twenty-one years old when he bought eighty acres of the farm, 
at the same time renting the rest of the land, and as his industry 
and good management proved the undertaking profitable, his father 
consented to continue to rent him the farm, up to his own death. He 
then rented the entire 320 acres from the other heirs and now is the 
owner of the old homestead. He demonstrated unusual business 
ability in carrying on all his agricultural industries, for many years 
being one of the leading stockmen of Rush county, paying particular 
attention to Shorthorn cattle and Poland-China hogs, turning off 



170 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

from 250 to 300 head of hogs annually. Since retiring from the farm 
Mr. Mauzy has occupied his comfortable residence at 1032 North Main 
street, Rushville. his son Chase having charge of the farm in Jackson 
township. On March 8, 1881, Mr. Mauzy married Alice Newhouse, 
who died on October 13, 1905. She was born in Rush county, a 
daughter of Alfred and Eliza (Tenner) Newhouse. On June 8, 
1911, Mr. Mauzy married Alma Bishop, who was born in Union 
township, this county, daughter of Josiah and Elizabeth (Cline) 
Bishop. But two of Mr. Mauzy 's children are living: Chase and 
Grace. Chase Mauzy is his father's dependable farmer in Jackson 
township. lie married Florence Davis and has two children, Emily 
and Ruth. Grace Mauzy married Harry McManus, a farmer in 
Jackson township, and has two children. Thomas and Alice. Mr. 
Mauzy has been a deacon in the Christian church at Rushville many 
years and is a member of Tvy Lodge, No. 57, Knights of Pythias. He 
votes the Republican ticket. 

CHARLES S. HOUGLAND, M. D., a well known physician at 
Milroy, this county, who served with the rank of captain in the army 
medical corps during the late "World war, has been a resident of Rush 
county for about twenty-five years and in that time has won a wide 
acquaintance throughout this and adjoining counties. The Doctor is 
a Missourian by birth, born in Scotland county, Missouri, June 11, 
1871, son of John C. and Sarah E. Hougland. Upon completing the 
high school course in the schools of Mexico, Mo., in 1888 he went 
to Kansas City and for more than two years was there engaged in 
newspaper work as a reporter. In the meantime he had been giving 
his serious attention to preparatory studies in medicine and had 
determined to devote his life to the practice of the medical pro- 
fession. Entering the College of Physicians and Surgeons at St. 
Louis he took a further course there and then entered the Marion 
Sims Medical College, from which he was graduated in 1S92. Upon 
attaining his degree Dr. Hougland was appointed an interne in the 
government hospital at Memphis and after more than two years of 
intensive practical experience in that institution came to Indiana and 
opened an office for the practice of his profession at Rockport. Two 
years later he moved to Milroy and has ever since been engaged in 
practice there, with the exception of the period during which he was 
attached to the army medical corps during the time of America's 
participation in the World war. He entered the army on August 
18, 1918, and was stationed at Camp Greenleaf, Georgia, with the 
rank of captain, in charge of convalescent camp No. 15, and con- 
tinued in service until honorably mustered out on February 25, 1919, 
though still retained in the medical reserve corps. In addition to the 
college experience acquired by Dr. Hougland and which has been 
noted above, he also some years ago took a post-graduate course in 
the Post-Graduate School of Medicine in New York City. The 
Doctor is a member of the Union District Medical Society, of which lie 
served for six years as secretary and for one year as president ; is a 
member of the Indiana State Medical Society and served for six years 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 171 

as counsellor for the same from this district, and is a member of the 
Rush County Medical Society, in the affairs and deliberations of all 
of -which professional organizations he ever has taken a warm and 
active interest. For five years lie served as a lecturer on gastro- 
intestinal diseases in the medical school of Indiana University. In 
1896 Dr. Charles S. Hougland was united in marriage to Amelia 
Catherine Jacobs and to this union two children have been born, 
William Gordon and Yuma Caroline. Dr. and Mrs. Hougland have 
a pleasant home at Milroy and have ever taken an interested part 
in the general social activities of their home community. The Doctor 
is a member of the local lodges of the Free and Accepted Masons and 
of the Knights of Pythias and gives proper attention to the affairs of 
these popular fraternal organizations. 

PHIL WILK, the present auditor of Rush county, has attained to 
his substantial standing in the community by long years of indefatig- 
able effort throughout his interesting and varied career. He was 
born on January 27, 1859, in Scott county, Indiana, the son of 
Philip and Mary (Pfiermau) Wilk, both natives of Germany who 
came to America when they were still single, the father landing in 
New Orleans and the mother in New York. Philip Wilk was a har- 
ness-maker, a trade which he had learned in Germany, and for a time 
after his arrival in this country worked at this business in New 
Orleans, later removing to Cincinnati where he was married and 
continued in the harness industry. He then owned a hotel in Cincin- 
nati for a time, but sold out his interests there to move to Scott 
county, Indiana, where he engaged in farming and harness making 
until about 1866, when he moved to Lexington, Indiana, where he 
owned and operated the Lexington Hotel. After a number of years 
he sold out the hotel and bought another in Vienna, but soon went 
back to farming, an occupation which received his attention until 
the time of his death, prior to which he had acquired 120 acres of 
land. When he came to America his means were small, and he had 
to depend entirely upon his own resourcefulness as both of his par- 
ents had died before his departure for this country. But by frugality 
and application to business, his ascent of the ladder of success was 
sure and firm. To him and his wife were born seven children of 
whom five are living, George, Henry, Jesse, Phil and Mary. Phil 
Wilk received his education in the schools of his native county, and 
then learned telegraphy. At the age of seventeen he left Scott county 
and for three years thereafter filled various positions as telegrapher. 
He then took a position as bookkeeper for a contracting firm, a 
business which engaged his efforts for many years. He helped build 
the railroad from North Vernon to Rushville, now part of the Big 
Four system, and the railroad from Greensburg to Columbus known 
as the C, H. & G., also now a part of the Big Four. He next became 
bookkeeper for the contracting firm which built the Northern Indiana 
hospital for the insane at Logansport, and then went south into 
Tennessee with a railroad construction company by which he was 



172 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

employed as bookkeeper and paymaster. In 18S8. he took up con- 
tracting for himself, and three years later came to Rushville as a 
member of the contracting firm of P. H. McCormack & Co., to build 
the court house. After the completion of this edifice he went into 
railroad construction work, principally for the traction lines, and 
continued this until 1917 when he turned to farming. He now owns 
a valuable and well-improved farm of 120 acres in Rushville township, 
this county, and takes pride in being included among the up-to-date 
agriculturists of this locality. In 1889, Mr. Wilk was married to 
Cora Smith, a daughter of Ben L. Smith, of Rushville, for years one 
of the leaders at the local bar, and of whom more extended reference 
is made in the sketch of his son, Donald L. Smith, elsewhere in this 
volume. Mr. and Mrs. Wilk are the parents of two daughters, Edith 
and Erema, both of whom are graduates of Indiana University. Edith 
Wilk married Wendel Wilkie and has one child, Philip, and Erema 
Wilk married Miller Hamilton, and has one son, James. In his 
religious beliefs, Mr. Wilk adheres to the tenets of the Presbyterian 
faith, and fraternally is a member of the Knights of Pythias in the 
local lodge of which he has been ' ' through the chairs. ' ' He has taken 
an active interest in all political matters since his residence in Rush 
county, and was rewarded by the citizens thereof in his election on 
November 2, 1920, to the office of county auditor. He took office the 
first of the year (1921) and it is confidently believed by his many 
friends that he will make an exceptionally able and pleasing officer. 
WILLIAM T. MOORE, former county commissioner and one 
time trustee of Richland township, whose life history is herewith 
briefly outlined, has lived to good purpose and achieved a large 
degree of success. By a straightforward and commendable course 
he has made his way to a respectable position in the agricultural 
world and has won the hearty admiration of the people of his 
community. Mr. Moore was born in Rushville township, this 
county, on July 18, 1864, and is the son of Andrew and Polly (Nick) 
Moore, who were natives of Rockbridge county, Virginia, where 
they were reared and married. In 1861 they came to Indiana, locat- 
ing in Noble township, this county, where Andrew Moore became 
employed by the day, later being similarly employed for a couple of 
years in Rushville township. He then began to cultivate rented 
land here, and so continued until 1890, when he moved to Posey 
township and farmed there until 1919, when he retired from active 
work and is now eighty-one years of age. William T. Moore 
received his education in the common schools of Rushville town- 
ship. Thereafter he followed agriculture as a vocation, working 
on his father's land until his marriage, when he began farming 
on his own account. Later he and his father rented 400 acres of 
land in Posey township, which he operated for six years. He then 
moved to Richland township and during the following one and a 
half years he operated 200 acres of rented land in Richland town- 
ship. He then moved to Decatur county, Indiana, where he rented 
and operated 400 acres of land about six years. Mr. Moore then 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 173 

bought 300 acres of land where he is now living in Richland town- 
ship, and he has operated this land and managed his affairs so 
well that he has increased his land holdings to 671 acres, lying in 
Rush and Franklin counties, though he is confining his personal 
efforts to the 300 acres at his home. He carries on general farming 
and also gives some attention to live stock, feeding annually from 
300 to 400 hogs and thirty head of cattle. Mr. Moore was married 
to Alma V. Watson, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. David Watson, 
and ten children have blessed their union. Nine of them survive, 
namely: Earl, who married Iva Henderson and they have five 
children, Lowell, Hubert, Lois, Maurice and Gleda; Edward mar- 
ried Hazel Hebb and they have one child, William; Harold married 
Hazel Gwinnup and they have two children, Seth and Mary; 
Charles married Hazel Roach and they have two children, Maxine 
and Marium ; Mary, deceased ; Andrew, Luella, W. Lon, Thelma 
and Howard. Mr. Moore gives his support to the Democratic 
party and has served the public as trustee of his home township and 
for one term as a member of the board of county commissioners 
from his district. He is a member of the Free and Accepted 
Masons, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in which he has 
passed through the official chairs, and the Benevolent and Protec- 
tive Order of Elks. 

OMER P. MULL, a well-known farmer and stockraiser of Walker 
township, this county, was born in that township on August 24, 1853, 
a son of William and Elizabeth (Jones) Mull, both of whom were 
born in Rush county and spent their lives here. They had a family 
of eight children, seven of whom are living, Madaline, Clarissa, Alice, 
Nella. Omer P., Jacob A. and Earl. William Mull was one of the 
substantial farmers of Rush comity and at the time of his death 
owned 1,040 acres of land situated in Walker and Rushville townships. 
Omer P. Mull and his brothers and sisters attended the Alexander 
school in Walker township as did many of Mr. Mull's neighbors still 
living in this section, but he also had high school advantages at 
Rushville. He then worked on the home farm for his father until he 
was twenty-five years old, when his father recognized the value of 
his services by purchasing and bestowing on Mr. Mull the farm on 
which he has lived ever since. He has 113 well improved acres in 
his place and carries on general farming and raises cattle and hogs, 
being able to ship about a carload of each annually. On August 1, 
1878, Mr. Mull married Ada M. Lines, who was born in Noble town- 
ship, this county, daughter of Aaron and Elizabeth (McWain) Lines, 
both natives of Rush county and farming people, Mr. Lines also being 
a carpenter. Mrs. Mull has two sisters and two brothers, Sarah E., 
LeRoy, Mollie and Charles E. Mr. and Mrs. Mull have had nine 
children : Eulalia B., who is teaching in the Shelbyville schools; Hallie. 
who married William Webster, a farmer of Rush county, and has two 
children, Harry and Mull; Artie A., now living at Rushville, who 
married Ollie Edwards and has one son, James; Charles E., who died 
at the age of thirty years; Max, an enterprising business man of 



174 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Dayton, Ohio, manager of a chain of restaurants, who married Eva 
Allen ; Donald L., a merchant at Homer, who married Myra Hester, 
who died on June 10, 1917, leaving three children, Marjorie, Frederick 
and Martha; Noble, who is a draftsman for the Dayton Steel & Con- 
struction Company, Dayton, Ohio ; J. Blount, who is completing a 
course in chemistry at Purdue University ; and Helen, who is now 
attending the Shelbyville high school. Mr. Mull and his family belong 
to the Christian church at Homer. He is a Republican in his political 
convictions. 

W. T. LAMPTON, M. D., one of the best known physicians in 
Rush county, who for more than a quarter of a century has been 
practicing his profession at Milroy and who is widely known through- 
out that whole section, was born in Breckinridge county, Kentucky, 
August 27, 1855, son of the Rev. Henry T. and Mary Catherine 
(Browne) Lampton, both of whom also were born in Kentucky. The 
Rev. Henry T. Lampton, who was a Baptist minister, was a son of 
Thomas C. and Nancy (Vershee) Lampton, who had come to this 
country from Durham, England, and had settled in Kentucky. In 
1871 the Rev. Henry T. Lampton came to Indiana with his family 
and located at Roekport, where his last days were spent. He and his 
wife were the parents of three children, Doctor Lampton having two 
sisters, Catherine and Nancy. Reared in Kentucky, Dr. W. T. Lamp- 
ton was early prepared for the exacting profession to which he had 
devoted his life. After four years at Transylvania University he 
attended the medical college of the University of Kentucky for three 
years and in 1879 Avas granted his Doctor of Medicine degree. For 
three years after attaining his degree the Doctor practiced his pro- 
fession at Olney, Illinois, and then entered the medical college of 
Bellevue Hospital at New York, where he took three years of intensive, 
practical post-graduate work and in 1886 was awarded an honorable 
supplemental degree. Thus admirably equipped for the further prac- 
tice of his profession the Doctor located at Kansas City, Missouri, 
and remained there until in 1888 when he went to Chicago and was 
for several years engaged in practice in that city. In 1895 the 
Doctor returned to Indiana and opened an office at Milroy, where 
he ever since has been engaged in practice and where he has long 
been recognized as one of the substantial and influential factors in 
the general life of that community. In 1900 Dr. W. T. Lampton was 
united in marriage to Ethel Tompkins, daughter of Ira and Arkansas 
Tompkins, and to this union one child has been born, a daughter, 
Ellendore. Dr. and Mrs. Lampton are members of the United Pres- 
byterian church at Milroy and have ever taken an interested part in 
the general good works of the church, the Doctor having for some 
time been serving as a member of the board of trustees of the church. 
In his political views the Doctor is a Demorat and has taken a gener- 
ally active interest in the affairs of that party in this county and in 
local civic affairs generally. Fraternally, he is affiliated with the 
local lodge of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows at Milroy and 
takes a proper interest in the activities of that popular fraternal 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 175 

organization. The Doctor also is a member of the American Medical 
Association, the Indiana State Medical Association and the Rush 
County Medical Society and in the affairs of these several professional 
organizations takes a warm interest. 

DAVID B. BARNARD. The thriving and hospitable village of 
Manilla includes among its residents many who have stepped aside 
from the paths of labor to allow to pass the younger generation with 
their high hopes and ambitions. Among these retired residents none 
is more highly esteemed than David E. Barnard, a highly respected 
octogenarian, who for many years was engaged in agricultural pur- 
suits in Posey township, this county. Mr. Barnard was born in 
Wayne county, Indiana, November 2, 1840, a son of Barzillai G. and 
Rachael (Robert) Barnard, the former a native of North Carolina 
and the latter of Virginia. The parents were married in Fayette 
county, Indiana, and the father followed farming throughout his 
life, for the most part in Rush county, where he owned about 300 
acres of land. There were eleven children in the family, of whom five 
are living, Ambrose, Herman J., Mary E., Helen G. and David E. 
David E. Barnard received his education in the public schools of 
Posey township, this county, to which community he had taken by 
his parents when six years of age. He began working on his father's 
farm, but at this point the peaceful routine of his life was disturbed 
by the advent of the Civil war, and on July 21, 1862, he enlisted for 
service in the Union army, and was mustered into the service on 
August 16, 1862, as a member of Company C, Sixteenth regiment, 
Indiana Volunteer Infantry, with which command he served nearly 
three years, being mustered out on July 20, 1865. During his service 
in the army Mr. Barnard showed himself a valiant and faithful 
soldier and rose in rank, eventually receiving an honorary commission 
as first lieutenant from Governor Morton. After leaving the army, 
Mr. Barnard worked at several different occupations, principally 
farming, until his marriage in 1869, at which time he became the 
proprietor of a country store in Posey township, which he conducted 
for three years. He then turned his attention again to farming, which 
he followed with success in Posey township until 1920, when he 
retired from active pursuits and took up his residence at Manilla. 
At this time he and his wife are the owners of 122 acres of valuable 
land in Posey and Walker townships. Mr. Barnard was married on 
October 28, 1869, to Jennie Swain, who was born in Walker township, 
this county, daughter of Prior and Louisa (Coffin) Swain, natives of 
North Carolina, who followed agricultural pursuits in Walker town- 
ship for many years. Of their two children, Mrs. Barnard survives. 
Mr. and Mrs. Barnard have had four children, of whom three are 
living, Omar P., a traveling salesman living at Charlottesville, 
Indiana, who married Lulu Macy and lias four children, David I., 
Glenn R., Kenneth S. and Perry L. ; Marshall S., a telegraph operator 
for the Pennsylvania railroad at Franklin, Indiana, who married 
Pearl Taylor and has one child, Dorothy A. ; and Dr. Roy F. Barnard, 
a dental practitioner of Shelbyville, Indiana, who married Minnie 



176 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Schlissmann and has two children, J. Paul and Elizabeth F. Mr. and 
Mrs. Barnard are members of the Little Blue River Friends Church. 
He is a Republican in his political sentiment and a strong supporter 
of the principles of his party. 

WILLIAM A. HOWELL, one of Anderson township's sub- 
stantial farmers and landowners furnishes in his life an excellent 
example to the younger generation of the meaning of surmounting 
difficulties along the highway of life. Left a soldier's orphan when 
but a boy, Mr. Howell faced an apparent handicap to progress, for 
he was compelled by the stern necessities of the case to go to work 
at an age when most boys are enjoying the provisions of tender 
care and comfort ; but he was possessed of youthful strength, a 
courage to face obstacles and a fine will to do and he kept going 
ahead until in due course he became the owner of an excellent farm 
and has long been regarded as one of the substantial citizens of 
his community. Mr. Howell was born on a farm in Jennings 
county, Indiana, April 10, 1853, son of Alpheus and Eliza (Byrom) 
Howell, both natives of Ohio. Alpheus Howell came into Indiana 
from Ohio when a young man and began working on a farm in 
Jennings county. There he was married, his wife also having come 
to this state from Ohio, and was living there when the Civil war 
broke out. Despite the fact that he had eight small children, a 
fact which ordinarily would be regarded as a sufficient "hostage 
to fortune" to require every precaution against undue chance, his 
patriotic fervor impelled him to enlist his services in behalf of the 
Union cause and he went to the front a soldier in I Company of 
the Fifty-second regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and was 
serving with that gallant command when he died in 1864 from a 
wound received in battle. His widow did not long survive him, 
her death occurring in April, 1865. This patriotic couple had eight 
children, as noted above, and seven of these are still living, those 
besides the subject of this sketch being Joseph, Samuel, Elizabeth, 
Chauncey, Sarah and Lydia. William A. Howell was but eleven 
years of age when his patriotic father met a gallant soldier's death 
and it was but a few months later that he was doubly bereft by the 
death of his mother. The children of this orphaned family thus 
were left without their natural protectors and providers and thus 
when he was but a mere lad William A. Howell was compelled to 
start as a farm hand, doing a man's work before he had a man's 
strength to do the same, but his pluck and courage kept him going 
and he got along, meantime picking up such schooling along the 
way as the limited school terms to which he had access permitted. 
He married in Jennings county and then rented a farm there, 
remaining in that county until about 1S90 when he came up into 
Rush county with his family and became engaged here as a farm 
hand and was for nineteen years thus engaged. In the meantime 
he was saving something every year and in 1900 bought a little 
tract of twenty-one acres, and gradually added to that until four 




WILLIAM A. HOWELL AND WIFE 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 177 

years later when he had a tract of sixty acres, onto which he 
moved and thus began farming on a place of his own. There he 
remained until in September, 1907, when he moved to the place he 
now owns, an excellent farm of 140 acres, and there resided until 
he moved to Milroy in 1916, he and his family being very comfor- 
tably situated. In addition to his general farming Mr. Howell gives 
considerable attention to the raising of live stock, has a well 
equipped farm plant, and is doing well in his operations. It was 
in 1875 that William A. Howell was united in marriage to Emma 
Story, who also was born in Jennings county, daughter of Thomas 
and Josephine Story, and to this union one child has been born, a 
son, William Hollis Howell, who married Theresa Rogers and has 
two children, Edwin and Neva. Mr. and Mrs. Howell are members 
of the Christian church and take a proper part in church work 
as well as in the general good works of their neighborhood. Mr. 
Howell is a Republican but has never taken a particularly active 
part in political affairs, although always interested in movements 
having to do with better local government and the promotion of 
the community welfare along all lines. 

WILLIAM L. HERKLESS. Since its establishment in Rush 
county at an early period in this community's history the Herkless 
family has sustained unfailingly the most intelligent and practical 
interests of the locality. In the third generation of this family to 
contribute to the development of the county is found William L. 
Herkless, the owner and operator of a valuable tract of land in 
Ripley township, where he is adjudged by his fellow-citizens a most 
progressive agriculturist. Mr. Herkless was born on April 17, 1881, 
in Ripley township, a son of Milton and Eunice (Winslow) Herkless. 
Milton Herkless was also born in Ripley township, and after acquiring 
his education at the Earnest schoolhouse began farming the home 
place. At the death of his father, at a comparatively early age, he 
assumed the management of the property, a tract of 160 acres which 
he conducted for his mother until the latter 's demise. He was a man 
of high standing in his community, upright in business, sound in 
citizenship and faithful in his friendships, and had the esteem and 
respect of all. The only child of his parents, William L. Herkless was 
given good educational advantages in his youth, first attending the 
public schools of Carthage and being later given an agricultural 
course at Purdue University. With this preparation, he returned to 
the home farm, and not long thereafter was given its management. 
In conducting the operations on this 160-acre tract he secured val- 
uable training and experience, and in 1906, after his marriage, pur- 
chased eighty acres of land in partnership with his father, with whom 
he continued to farm for four years. In 1910 Mr. Herkless bought 
seventy-four acres in Ripley township, which he operates in con- 
junction with the eighty acres before mentioned. He is a capable 
general farmer, and has also met with success in his activities as a 
stock raiser. At this time he is feeding out about four carloads each 
year and is constantly extending the scope of his activities. His 
12 



178 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

property is conducted along modern lines and his modern buildings 
and equipment reflect the progressive ideas of the owner. On June 
3, 1903, Mr. Herkless married Gertrude B. Gilson, who was born in 
Center township, this county, daughter of Robert and Ellen 
(Graham) Gilson, farming people of that township. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Herkless there has been born one daughter, Mildred, who is 
attending school. Mr. and Mrs. Herkless are members of the Chris- 
tian church, which they attend at Carthage. In politics he supports 
the Democratic party. 

JACOB D. TODD, a native son and honored citizen of Rush 
county, now living in retirement at his comfortable home in Center 
township, and who as an agriculturist ranked among the best in his 
community, was born in the township now honored by his citizenship, 
on May 21, 1854, and is the son of Andrew and Elizabeth (David) 
Todd, the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of Bourbon 
county, Kentucky. Andrew Todd came down the Ohio river from 
Pennsylvania as far as Lawrenceburg, Indiana, where he remained 
for a time and then, in 1839, he came on to Rush county. During the 
ensuing ten years he was employed by the day as a farm hand, but he 
then engaged in farming on his own account, buying acres eighty of 
land in Center township, to which he later added thirty-seven acres, 
making his holdings here 117 acres, and on this farm he made his 
home up to the time of his death, which occurred on April 18, 1890. 
His wife had died on November 18, 1887. Of the seven children who 
blessed their union three are now living, Joseph W., Leah and Jacob 
D. Jacob D. Todd received his educational training in the Ball 
school, in Center township, and remained on the home farm, assisting 
his father in its operation up to the time of his marriage, in 1886, when 
he began farming for himself on an eighty-acre farm which he and 
his brother owned. They also rented the homestead of 117 acres and 
farmed it. For about ten years after his marriage the subject and 
his wife lived with his parents, but at the end of that time they 
moved to the place where they now reside, the homestead comprising 
seventy-nine acres of fine land. Mr. Todd has done a great deal 
of ditching on this farm and has made many other valuable improve- 
ments on it, including some important improvements on the buildings. 
For a number of years he successfully operated this farm, but is now 
retired and rents the fields, retaining for his own use the home, where 
he is now quietly enjoying the fruits of his former years of effort. 
Mr. Todd has been twice married, first, on September 9, 1886, to 
Mary E. Sample, who was born and reared in Hancock county, 
Indiana, the daughter of Ge*rge and Susan (Williams) Sample, and 
to this union was born a daughter, Vessie P. The latter became the 
wife of Ernest Cook, of Columbus, Indiana and they have two 
children living, Garnet and Naomi. Mrs. Mary E. Todd died on 
January 29, 1891, and on April 19, 1893, Mr. Todd was married to 
Mrs. Eliza J. (Reeves) Jones, who was born and reared in Center 
township, Rush county, the daughter of Jesse and Sallie (Johnson) 
Reeves, both of whom were natives of Ohio. Thev had four children. 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 179 

of whom two are living, Mrs. Todd and her brother Clinton. By a; 
former marriage Mrs. Todd is the mother of a daughter, Addie M3.j 
who is the wife of Richard E. Sample, who is engaged in the furniture 
business at Knightstown, Indiana. Politically, Mr. Todd is a stanch 
supporter of the Democratic party and has served for six years as a 
member of the advisory board of Center township. He is a member 
of the Methodist Episcopal church at Knightstown. He has ever 
taken a deep interest in the welfare of the community and is held in 
high regard. 

AL A. REEVES, who has long been regarded as one of the most 
progressive agriculturists and public spirited citizens of Center town- 
ship, in which he has spent practically his entire life, was born in that 
township, on May 2, 1872, and is the son of 0. M. and Lucinda 
( Talbert ) Reeves, both of whom were also natives of Center township. 
Mr. Reeves followed farming throughout his active life and was the 
owner of sixty acres of land in Center township. To him and his 
wife were born three children, all of whom are living, namely : 
Arthur, Munson and Al A. The subject of this review is indebted to 
the public schools of Center township for his educational training, he 
having attended the Demick school. From the time he was old enough 
he devoted himself to the work of the home farm, where he remained 
until his marriage, in 1894, when he began farming on his own 
account, renting land for that purpose for about twelve years. Mrs. 
Reeves then inherited the farm where they now live and they at bnce 
moved onto it. The farm consists of eighty-three acres of fine tillable 
soil and here Mr. Reeves carries on a general line of farming. He 
also gives some attention to the raising of live stock, feeding about 
125 hogs each year. He has made many improvements on )the place, 
the general appearance of which indicates him to be a man of taste 
and good judgment. On October 17, 1894, Mr. Reeves was married to 
Nora Gilson, a native of Center township and the daughter of Thomas 
and Sarah (Wells) Gilson, both of whom were born and reared in 
Rush county. Mr. and Mrs. Reeves have a son, Lowell M., born on 
April 21. 1908. Politically, Mr. Reeves gives his support to the Demo- 
cratic party. He is deeply interested in public events and supports 
every movement for the advancement of the general welfare. 

FLOYD M. WILLIAMS, who by a life of persistent and well 
applied energy and commendable industry along honorable lines has 
earned the right to specific mention in the history of his county, was 
born in Henry county, Indiana, on September 5, 1884, and is the son 
of Charles E. and Charlotte (Watts) Williams. The mother was 
born in England, but at the age of two and a half years she was 
brought to the United States by her parents, and she received her 
education at Oberlin, Ohio. Charles E. Williams was born in Rush 
county and was reared and educated in Knightstown. He has fol- 
lowed farming here during the major portion of his life, mostly in 
Center township, where he owns 150 acres of land, and he also 
owns 153 acres of land in Henry county. Of the three children born 
to him and his wife two are now living, Carroll and Floyd. Floyd 



160 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

M. Williams received his educational training in the public schools of 
Knightstown and after completing his studies he engaged in the busi- 
ness of a florist at the latter city for about one and a 'half years. He 
was also employed at several other occupations prior to his marriage, 
but after that event he engaged in farming in Ripley township, Rush 
county, where he rented eighty-three acres of land. After operating 
that land for five years, Mr. "Williams moved to the place where he 
now lives, comprising 150 acres, which he rents from his father. He 
carries on general farming operations, in which he has met with pro- 
nounced success, and he also has gained a wide reputation as a success- 
ful breeder of thoroughbred big-type Poland China hogs, raising and 
selling them for breeding purposes. He raises about 150 hogs a year 
and usually conducts semi-annual sales of his animals. He keeps his 
place in good shape and is considered a good farmer. On December 
6, 1906, Mr. Williams was married to Pearl Hotchkiss, who was born 
in Switzerland county, Indiana, the daughter of George K. and Belle 
(Jolly) Hotchkiss, the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter 
of New Marion, Ind. Mr. Hotchkiss, who was a stonemason by trade, 
enjoyed the respect and esteem of the entire community in which he 
lived. He was the father of seven children, of whom six are living, 
namely: Gay, Julia, Audrey, Leona, Thomas, Harvey (who died at 
the age of twenty-five years) and Pearl. Mr. and Mrs. Williams are 
the parents of two children, Hollis and Margaret, both of whom are 
attending school. Mr. and Mrs. Williams are earnest members of the 
Methodist Episcopal church at Knightstown. Politically, Mr. Will- 
iams is a stanch supporter of the Republican party, while he also 
belongs to Lodge No. 99, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
Lodge No. 236, Knights of Pythias, both at Knightstown. 

W. H. FRY, one of the well known and substantial farmers 
and landowners of Union township, was born on the place on which 
he is now living, on rural mail route No. 1 out of Falmouth, and 
has lived there all his life, a period of more than three score years. 
He was born on October 9, 1857, son of Henry and Eliza Jane 
(Bishop) Fry, who were for years influential residents of Union 
township. Henry Fry was a Pennsylvanian by birth, born in Wash- 
ington county in the old Keystone state, and was but eight years of 
age when he came to Indiana with his parents. Elijah and Sarah 
Fry, the family locating in Union township, this county. There 
Henry Fry grew to manhood and after his marriage to Eliza Jane 
Bishop, who was born in Preble county, Ohio, and whose parents 
had located in this county during the days of her girlhood, estab- 
lished his home in that township, becoming the owner of a farm of 
ninety acres on which he spent the remainder of his life. He and 
his wife were the parents of five children, of whom but two are 
now living, W. II. Fry and his brother Elijah. Reared on the home 
farm in Union township, W. H. Fry completed his schooling in the 
Fairview Academy and from the days of his boyhood was a valued 
assistant to his father in the labors of the home farm. After his 
marriage he continued on the home place, giving his earnest 




W. II. FRY AND WIFE 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 181 

endeavor to the development of the farm and after his father's 
death took over the place and has continued to reside there, he and 
his family being very comfortably situated. In 1884 W. H. Fry 
was united in marriage to Jennie Bilby, who was reared in Fayette 
county, and to this union four children have been born, namely: 
Amy, who married Carl Ging and has two children, Norman C. 
and Marjorie Ellouise; Minnie, wife of A. W. Werking; Dottie, 
who married Ray White and has two children, Ella Jane and Wilma 
May, and Ozetta, wife of Irving "Walker. The Frys are members 
of the Plum Creek Christian church and Mr. Fry is a clerk of the 
official board of the same. In their political affiliations they are 
Democrats. Mrs. Fry was born in Polk county, Iowa, daughter of 
Jasper and Margaret (Hazzard) Bilby, the latter of whom was 
born in Auglaize county, Ohio. Jasper Bilby was born in Pennsyl- 
vania and was but a boy when he came to Indiana with his parents, 
the family locating in Fayette county, where he grew to man- 
hood and was married. Some time after his marriage he moved to 
Iowa and for a time resided in Polk county, that state, but later 
returned to Indiana and resumed his vocation of farming in Fay- 
ette county and was thus engaged there the rest of his life. He 
and his wife were the parents of fourteen children, of whom six are 
still living, Mrs. Fry having three brothers, Jasper, Allen and Dr. 
F. N. Bilby, and two sisters, Ola and Stella. 

GEORGE T. KEISLING, a well-known farmer of Richland 
township and one of Rush county's representative citizens, was 
born on his father's farm in Richland township, on February 15, 
1883, the son of L. W. and Lillie (Gordon) Keisling, the former a 
native of Rush county and the latter born in Franklin county, 
Indiana. L. W. Keisling spent practically his entire life in Rush 
county, having been reared here. He secured his elementary educa- 
tion in the local schools, and then attended Moores Hill College, 
where he completed his studies. He then returned home and en- 
gaged in farming, which vocation he followed continuously here up 
to the time of his retirement. In 1879 he moved to Richland town- 
ship and bought 240 acres of land, to which he added until his 
holdings amounted to 400 acres, all in Richland township. To him 
and his wife were born three children, George T., the immediate 
subject of this review, Jennie Katherine and Leo W. George T. 
Keisling attended the public schools of Richland township, and 
after completing his schooling he turned his attention to the home 
farm, assisting his father in its operation until his marriage, in 
1904. He then engaged in farming on his own account in Anderson 
township, renting land there for two years. At the end of that 
time he returned to Richland township and for a year cultivated 
some of his father's land. He then rented the Jake Fisher farm, 
to the cultivation of which he devoted himself for ten years. At 
the end of that time he bought sixty-six acres of land south of 
the Fisher farm on which he resided until he moved to the place 



182 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

he now owns, now having total holdings of 161 acres, and here he 
has met with a very satisfactory measure of success. He carries 
on a general line of farming and also gives some attention to live 
stock, feeding about a carload of hogs annually. On November 9, 
1904, Mr. Keisling was married to Maude E. Fisher, the daughter 
of James and Elizabeth Fisher, and to them have been born two 
children, Lillian, deceased, and Howard. Mr. and Mrs. Keisling are 
active members of the Methodist Episcopal church and he has been 
a member of the board of trustees of the local society for more 
than ten years. In matters political, he gives his support to the 
Republican party. 

CLAUDE B. HUNT, one of Union township's well known farm- 
ers and landowners, proprietor of an excellent farm of 100 acres 
on rural mail route No. 7 out of Rushville, was born in Rush county 
and has lived here all his life. He was born on a farm in Rushville 
township on May 15, 1875, son of George W. and Sarah F. (Holmes) 
Hunt, both of whom also were born in Rush county, members of 
old families here. George W. Hunt was born in Noble township, a 
son of Harrison and Diana Hunt, the latter of whom was born in 
Mason county, Kentucky. Harrison Hunt was born in Harrison, 
Ohio, son of Samuel Hunt, who was a son of Jonathan Hunt, of 
New Jersey. Harrison Hunt was but a boy when he came to Indi- 
ana with his parents from Ohio, the family settling on a farm in 
Noble township, this county, among the pioneers of that section. 
In his turn Harrison Hunt became a farmer in that same township 
and there reared his family, his son, George W. Hunt, in his turn 
also becoming a farmer, a vocation he followed all his life, in addi- 
tion to which he also became widely known hereabout as a horse- 
man. George W. Hunt and wife were the parents of nine children, 
of whom seven are still living, those besides the subject of this 
sketch being Sallie, Sidney L., Inez, Ray, Blaine and Blanche. 
Reared on the farm in Rushville township, Claude B. Hunt received 
his schooling in the local schools and continued farming with his 
father until his marriage, when he rented a farm and started out 
on his own account, continuing as a renter in Rushville and Noble 
townships for ten years, at the end of which time he bought a 
"forty" in the latter township. Three years later he sold that 
place to advantage and bought an "eighty" on which he made his 
home for six years. He then bought the farm of 100 acres in Union 
township on which he is now living and has since made his home 
there, he and his family being quite pleasantly situated. Mr. Hunt 
has his farm improved in admirable shape and in addition to his 
general farming feeds out around 100 head of hogs annually and is 
doing well. It was in 1898 that Claude B. Hunt was united in mar- 
riage to Theodosia Guffin, who also was born in this county, daugh- 
ter of Andrew and Clarinda (Brooks') Guffin, and to this union 
three children have been born, Marjorie, Georgie and Wilna. The 
Hunts are members of the Ben Davis Christian church, and Mr. 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 1.83 

Hunt formerly was a deacon of the church. He is a Republican and 
is affiliated with the local lodge of the Red Men at Rushville. 

WILLIAM T. HUFFERD, a representative agriculturist and 
stock man of Posey township, with which locality his life has been 
closely interwoven, is a native son of Rush county, having been 
born in Rushville township on December 5, 1865. His parents, 
John H. and Rhoda (Adams) Hufferd, also were natives of this 
county, the father having been born in Rushville and the mother in 
Posey township. John H. Hufferd was a carpenter by trade and 
followed that vocation during practically his entire active life. 
To himself and wife seven children were born, and all are living, 
namely: John, Lot, BenjamiD, William T., Edward, Laura and 
Amanda. William T. Hufferd was educated in the schools of Rush- 
ville township and after completing his studies he continued to 
live at home, being engaged in the cultivation of the home farm up 
to the time of his father's death. He then went to Hancock county, 
Indiana, and engaged in farming on rented land, cultivating 100 
acres and remaining there about Jive years. He then moved to 
Washington township and rented land for nine years, after which 
he moved to Posey township, Rush county, and bought fifty-eight 
acres, which he operated during the ensuing five years. He then 
sold that tract and bought the splendid farm where he now lives in 
Posey township, comprising 134 acres. Here he carries on general 
farming and also feeds about two carloads of hogs a year. The 
place is well improved and its general appearance indicates the 
owner to be a man of good taste and up-to-date ideas. On March 
13, 1888, William T. Hufferd was united in marriage to Martha 
Eaton, a native of Posey township and the daughter of John A. 
and Millie Ann (Miller) Eaton. Mr. Eaton was a farmer in Posey 
township during all his active life and was numbered among the 
substantial and influential citizens of his community. He and his 
wife were the parents of five children, John, William, Elizabeth 
(deceased), Martha and Susan. Mr. and Mrs. Hufferd are the 
parents of five children, John, Ralph, Millie, Delia and Thomas, all 
of whom are graduates of the Arlington high school. John Huf- 
ferd, who is farming in Posey township, married Ethel Northen and 
they have two children, Fred and Evelyn. Ralph Hufferd, who is 
a rural mail carrier, living in Posey township, married Elma Cof- 
fin and they have one child, William. Millie Hufferd became the 
wife of Albert Reddick, a farmer in Posey township, and they have 
one child, Deward. Delia Hufferd is the wife of Russell Orme, a 
farmer in Walker township, this county. Mr. Hufferd gives his 
support to the Democratic party and, fraternally, he is a member 
of Beech Grove Lodge, No. 399, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
at Arlington. He and his wife are earnest members of the Chris- 
tian Union church at Homer. In all the relations of life he has 
been true to the dictates of his conscience and his judgment and 
has won and retains a host of warm and loyal friends. 



184 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

THOMAS R. LEE, trustee of Posey township, a worthy repre- 
sentative of that type of American business man who may properly 
be termed "progressive" and a well-known farmer of Posey town- 
ship, this county, was born in that same township on May 6, 1878, 
and is the son of Harlan and Catherine (Nelson) Lee, both of whom 
also were born and reared in Rush county. Harlan Lee followed 
the vocation of carpentering in his earlier years, but later he 
turned his attention to farming, confining his operations to Posey 
township, where he acquired 236 acres of land. He also owned 
property in Arlington. He was a man of fine qualities of head and 
heart and enjoyed universal confidence in his community. Of the 
seven children who were born to him and his wife, four are now 
living, namely: Adenia, Arthur, Florence and Thomas. Thomas R. 
Lee attended the schools of Arlington, and after completing his 
studies he continued on the home farm, working for his father 
until his marriage. He then rented 120 acres of land, which he 
cultivated for about four years, at the end of which time he moved 
onto the place where he now lives, a part of which he bought, the 
remainder being inherited by his wife and himself. Mr. Lee has 
made many splendid improvements on this farm, including a new 
residence, and it is now one of the attractive and profitable farms 
of that locality. He carries on general farming and stock raising, 
feeding a large number of hogs annually for market. On October 
2, 1901, Mr. Lee was married to Ruth A. Addison, a native of Rush 
county and the daughter of Jefferson and Elizabeth M. (Cathon) 
Addison, both of whom were also natives of Rush county. Mr. 
and Mrs. Addison were the parents of five children, all of whom are 
living, namely : William A, Delia, Orlando, Charles and Ruth A. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Lee have been born two children, Mabel, born on 
January 6, 1904, and Harlan, born on June 26, 1906, both of whom 
are students in the Arlington high school. Mr. and Mrs. Lee are 
active members of the Methodist Episcopal church at Arlington. 
Mr. Lee gives his active support to the Republican party and is the 
present trustee of Posey township. Fraternally, he is a member of 
Beech Grove Lodge, No. 399, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
at Arlington. Mr. Lee's life has been one of unceasing industry 
and perseverance and he has so ordered his actions as to win the 
esteem and good will of all who know him. 

WILLIAM P. SMITH, former assessor of Jackson township and 
an honored veteran of the Civil war, who died at his home in Jackson 
township in the spring of 1915, was born in that township' on March 
1, 1842, but at the age of four years was taken by his parents to 
Iowa, the family locating in the vicinity of Keokuk, where he grew 
to manhood. When the Civil war broke out Mr. Smith enlisted his 
services in behalf of the Union and went to the front as a member of 
E Company, Fifteenth Iowa Volunteer Infantry. Upon the expiration 
of this term of enlistment he re-enlisted and returned to service as a 
member of H Company, One Hundred and Sixteenth Iowa Volunteer 




THOMAS R. LEE AND FAMILY 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 185 

Infantry, with which command he remained until mustered out at 
the close of the war, his total service covering a period of more than 
four years. Among the notable engagements of the war in which 
Mr. Smith participated were the battles of Lookout Mountain and 
Shiloh. In the latter engagement he was severely wounded by being 
shot in the left leg. The ball was not extracted and he carried it with 
him to his grave. Upon the completion of his military service Mr. 
Smith returned to the place of his birth and became 1 permanently 
located in Rush county, becoming engaged in the sawmill business in 
Jackson township, a vocation which he continued during the remain- 
der of his active life. Mr. Smith was a Republican and served two 
terms as assessor of Jackson township. He was an active member of 
the Grand Army of the Republic. Though not a member of any 
church he was reared a Baptist and his support was given to the local 
church of that faith. He died on March 20, 1915. On February 20, 
1870, not long after his return to Rush county, William P. Smith 
married Frances Elizabeth Porter, who was born in this county on 
January 2, 1848, daughter of John and Sarah (Hilkert) Porter, 
natives, respectively, of Virginia and Pennsylvania, who had been 
residents of this county since the days of their youth, their respective 
parents having been pioneers of the county. John Porter was but six 
years of age when he came to Rush county with his parents from 
Virginia and he spent the rest of his life here, a substantial member 
of the community in which he lived. To William P. and! Frances 
Elizabeth (Porter) Smith were born seven children, Lulu P., Laura 
E., Mila A., Charles L., Anna (deceased), Hazel M. and Cassius Smith, 
the latter of whom served as a soldier during the period of America's 
participation in the World war, going overseas on June 10, 1918, as a 
member of A Company, Sixty-first Engineers, and returning on 
September 20, 1919. 

C. M. GEORGE, superintendent of schools of Rush county and 
for years an earnest factor in the cause of the advancement of educa- 
tion hereabout, was born in the neighboring county of Franklin, but 
has been a resident of this county for the past twenty years or more. 
He was born on October 10, 1873, son of William H. and Lavina 
(George) George, both of whom also were born in Franklin county,' 
members of pioneer families in that part of the state. William H. 
George grew up in Franklin county and for some years followed 
farming there, but later moved over into Rush county, and located 
in Richland township. Not long afterward he bought a quarter of a 
section in Noble township on which he established his home and there 
spent the remainder of his life, his death occurring in 1917. He and 
his wife were the parents of eight children, of whom seven are still 
living, those besides Superintendent George being Edwin O., Arthur 
II., Earl W., Mrs. Anna C. Heaton, Frank C. and Riley E. Superin- 
tendent George was reared in Franklin county and upon completing 
the course in the common schools there secured a license to teach and 
in 1894 was given his first school in his home county. His experience 
during this first term of teaching convinced him that he had found 



186 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

his life's vocation and he entered upon the work with an earnestness 
that soon brought him recognition among local educators. While 
teaching he was not neglecting the extension of his qualifications for 
the profession to which he had devoted himself and in pursuit of !his 
plans for the better preparation for his life task he entered the Indiana 
State Normal School at Terre Haute and was graduated from that 
institution in 1898, and in 1901 took a supplemental course at Indiana 
State University. Following the receipt of his diploma from the State 
Normal Mr. George was selected from a number of applicants for the 
position of principal of the high school at Wheatland in Knox county. 
For two years he occupied that position and then in 1900 he was 
called to accept the principalship of the high school at New Salem 
in this county. This latter position he filled so acceptably that he was 
retained from year to year for ten years or until in 1910 when he 
was elected by the county board of education to fill the unexpired 
term of Orlando Randall as superintendent of the schools of Rush 
county. In accepting this position Mr. George devoted so much earn- 
estness to the task before him and the results he soon was seen to be 
obtaining in the way of improved conditions in the schools of the 
county were so satisfactory that he has been retained in this important 
position and is now (1921) serving his third term in this office, the 
longest period of service ever rendered by any superintendent of 
schools in Rush county, a record which his friends declare speaks 
for itself, and upon which it would therefore be merely fulsome here 
to comment. In September, 1900, C. M. George was united in mar- 
riage to Ivah E. Ewbank, daughter of Martin V. and Rachel Ewnank. 
and to this union have been born two children, daughters both, Elsie 
F. and E. Ruth. Mr. and Mrs. George are members of the Methodist 
Episcopal church. Mr. George is a York Rite Mason, a member of 
the Rushville commandery. Knights Templar, and has for years taken 
a warm interest in Masonic affairs. Politically, he is a Republican 
and has ever given a good citizen's attention to civic affairs. 

EDWARD MATNEY, who died at his farm home in Noble town- 
ship in December, 1899, and whose widow is still living, was a native 
son of Rush county and all his life had been spent here. He had ren- 
dered well and faithfully his account to the community in all the rela- 
tions of life and it is but fitting that there should here be carried in the 
history of his native county some slight tribute to the good memory 
he left. Edward Matney was the son of Elijah and Ada (Roberts) 
Matney, who were married in the neighboring county of Fayette and 
had come over into Rush county shortly after their marriage, locating 
on a farm in the Bethany neighborhood, where Elijah Matney spent 
the remainder of his life, an earnest and useful pioneer of that 
section. After his death his widow made her home at New Salem, 
where her last days were spent. Of the eight children born to this 
pioneer pair six are still living, Ocea, Elijah, William F., John. Dora 
and Mary. Edward Matney was reared on the home farm in Noble: 
township and in the excellent schools of that neighborhood received 
his schooling. As a young man he took up farming and after his 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 187 

marriage to Elizabeth J. Williams, established his home on a farm in 
that township and continued engaged in farming the rest of his life, at 
the time of his death being the owner of a well improved farm of 
ninety-seven acres. In addition to his farming Mr. Matney had for 
years given considerable attention to the breeding of fine horses and 
was recognized as one of the leading horsemen of his neighborhood in 
the day when fine horses did so much to add to the fame and name of 
Rush county. He was a deacon in the Bethany Christian church and 
did well his part in maintaining community good works. Edward 
Matney died on December 10, 1899, and his widow, as noted above, is 
still living. She was born in Noble township, daughter of William and 
Mary Elizabeth (Reeve) Williams, the former a native of Tennessee 
and the latter of Kentucky, both of whom had come to this county in 
pioneer days with their respective parents, who were among the early 
settlers of the county. William Williams grew to manhood in Noble 
township and after his marriage to Mary Elizabeth Reeve established 
his home on a farm there, where he and his wife spent their last days, 
influential residents of that community. They were the parents of 
eight children, three of whom are still living, those besides Mrs. Eliza- 
beth J. Matney being Irma and Nannie. To Edward and Elizabeth 
J. (Williams) Matney were born two sons, C. Burl and Harold, botfh 
of whom are living. C. Burl Matney was born on March 3, 1887, and 
was reared in Noble township. Upon completing his schooling he 
continued his labors on the home farm until his marriage in 1913, 
after which he bought the homestead place of his grandfather, an 
excellent farm of 100 acres, and was for some time engaged in farming 
there. He presently left the farm for awhile and became engaged in 
the hardware business at New Salem, but after a year of commercial 
experience he returned to the farm and has since made his home there, 
engaged in general farming and stock raising, and has done well. 
On May 22, 1913, C. Burl Matney was united in marriage to Bessie 
Downey, who was born and reared in the vicinity of Rushville, daugh- 
ter of J. Ed and Hattie (Sparks) Downey, the former also a native of 
Rush county and the latter of the neighboring county of Franklin. In 
1918 J. Ed Downey moved from this county to Jennings county, where 
he and his wife are now living. They have three children, Mrs. 
Matney having a brother, Perry, and a sister, Bessie., Mr. and Mrs. 
Matney are members of the Little Flat Rock Christian Church and 
are Republicans. Mr. Matney is a Freemason. 

JOHN T. BOWLES, a well-known member of the board of county 
commissioners and a man who by his own unaidedl efforts worked his 
way from a modest beginning to a position of affluence and influence 
in his community, now living retired at Mays, was born in Center 
township, this county, on September 19, 1854, and is the son of 
Joseph and Margaret J. (Clark) Bowles. These parents had five 
children, namely: William W., Albert W., Milton, John T. and 
Mrs. Viola Cothern, all living in Rush county, excepting the daughter. 
who lives at Pana, 111. John T. Bowles attended the common schools 
in Center township and in Howard county, Indiana, to which latter 



188 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

locality the family had moved in 1867. In 1869 the subject returned 
to Rush county and has lived in Center township continuously since 
excepting two years spent in Illinois. He has followed farming 
pursuits during all his active years. In 1882 he moved to Christian 
county, Illinois, and for two years operated a farm there. Returning 
to Center township, he rented a farm and operated on that basis 
until 1894, when he bought sixty acres of land, to the cultivation of 
which he devoted himself with such success that in 1906 he bought a 
lot in Mays, built a splendid home and has since lived there, having 
laid aside the labors of the farm, which he now has put into other 
hands. Mr. Bowles followed a general line of farming, in connection 
with which he also gave some attention to the raising of live stock, 
principally hogs. His farm is well improved and compares favorably 
with the best farms in this locality. In 1879 Mr. Bowles was married 
to Susan Johnson, the daughter of Evan and Elizabeth (Couch) 
Johnson, natives of North Carolina, and to this union three children 
were born, namely: Bertha, who was born in Center township on 
February 25, 1880, who in 1902 married Richard Miles, of Washington 
township, and who died on August 15, 1903; Earl, born on May 22, 
1882, who died on October 21, 1883, and Raymond, also born in Center 
township, in 1884, who married Emma Brown and has two children, 
Vera E. and Mary Elizabeth. Mr. and Mrs. Bowles are earnest mem- 
bers of the Center Christian Church. Fraternally, Mr. Bowles is a 
member of the lodge of Free and Accepted Masons at Raleigh. Politi- 
cally he has been a lifelong supporter of the Republican party and 
has always taken a deep interest in public affairs. In 1914 he was 
elected a member of the board of commissioners and so satis- 
factory was his discharge of his official duties that in 1918 he was 
re-elected to that office. A residence in this county of many years 
has but strengthened his hold on the hearts of the people with whom 
he has been associated and today no one here enjoys a larger circle of 
warm friends and acquaintances, who esteem him because of his sterl- 
ing qualities of character and his business ability. 

WILLIAM H. WILSON, who died at his farm home in Noble 
township in the fall of 1912, left a good memory in that community 
and throughout the county and it is but fitting that there should 
be carried in this definite history of the county some modest tribute 
to that memory. Mr. Wilson was a native son of the old Bluegrass 
state, born in Bourbon county, Kentucky, and was but eight years 
of age when he came to Indiana with his parents, Conrad and Mar- 
garet E. (Ewalt) Wilson, who established their home in Noble town- 
ship, this county, and there spent the remainder of their lives, 
influential pioneers of that section. William H. Wilson grew to 
manhood on the home farm in Noble township, receiving his school- 
ing in the local schools and in time became a farmer on his own 
account. He married Alice E. Logan, a member of one of the pio- 
neer families of Rush county, and after his marriage established his 
home on a farm in Noble township, where he spent the remainder of 




WILLIAM II. WILSON 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 189 

his life, his death occuring there on October 12, 1912. Mr. "Wilson 
had an excellent farm of 160 acres and in addition to his general 
farming had long given much attention to the raising of live stock, 
with special reference to pure bred Berkshire hogs and the old 
"Blue Bull" strain of horses, and was recognized as one of the 
leading stockmen of the county. To William H. and Alice E. 
(Logan) Wilson were born seven children, of whom six grew to 
maturity, Henrietta, Margaret E., J. Frank, Charles B., William II. 
(deceased) and Donald C. The mother of these children died on 
May 2, 1899. J. Frank Wilson, who continues to occupy the old 
home place in Noble township, was born on that place on July 29, 
1873, and has lived there all his life. He received his schooling in 
the New Salem schools and from the days of his young manhood 
was a valued assistant to his father in the operations of the home 
farm. After his father's death in 1912 Mr. Wilson bought the 
interests of the other heirs in the homestead acres and has contin- 
ued to reside there. He has eighty acres in the home place and in 
addition is farming an adjacent tract of 180 acres, thus controlling 
260 acres. Mr. Wilson has long given special attention to the 
raising of pure bred Hampshire hogs and has been quite successful. 
He raises from 300 to 500 hogs annually, fattening about 200 for 
market, and has received in the East Buffalo market as much as 
80 per cent, above the top market price for his stock. His pure 
bred stock for breeding purposes has wide recognition and he has 
won numerous prizes on his Hampshires in the big stock shows of 
the country. He had a car load of them at the East Buffalo show 
in 1920 and won third prize in the December show. Mr. Wilson is 
a Democrat. He and his wife are members of the Little Flat Rock 
Christian Church and he is a member of the Masonic order and of 
the Improved Order of Red Men. J. Frank Wilson married Sadie 
Brooks, daughter of Melvin and Alice Brooks, and has two children, 
Helen F. and Kenneth W. The Wilsons have a pleasant home and 
take a proper part in the community's general social activities. 
Charles B. Wilson was born on the farm in Noble township here 
referred to on May 28, 1877, second son of William H. and Alice 
E. (Logan) Wilson, and has always been a resident of Noble town- 
ship. Upon completing his schooling he continued on the farm, 
helpful in the operations of the same, until his marriage in 1903 
when, in partnership with his father and his brother, J. Frank 
Wilson, he bought the tract on which he is now living and there 
established his home. He presently bought the interests of his 
father and brother in that place, a tract of ninety-five acres, and 
later bought an adjoining tract of twenty acres, having now an 
excellent farm of 115 acres, which he devotes to general farming 
and live stock, feeding annually from 130 to 140 head of hogs. 
Since he has come into possession of this place Mr. Wilson has made 
numerous improvements of a substantial character and has a well 
equipped farm plant. He is a Democrat and he and his wife are 



190 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

members of the Little Plat Rock Christian Church. In 1903 
Charles B. Wilson was united in marriage to Blanche E. McKee, 
daughter of Robert and Lucy A. (McFall) McKee, and to this union 
have been born four children, Virgil F., Mildred Bernice, Charles 
McKee and Lois Jean. Of the seven children born to Mrs. Wilson's 
parents six are still living, those besides Mrs. Wilson being Delia, 
Jane C, Eva, Donald C, and Kate. Mrs. Wilsou was born in this 
county, as was her father, the McKees having beeu among the pio- 
neers of Noble township. Her mother was but six years of age 
when she came with her parents to Rush county, the McFalls thus 
having long been represented in the county. Robert McKee grew 
up in this county and became a substantial farmer, both he and his 
wife spending their last days here. 

AMOS H. BLACKLIDGE, who died in the summer of 1913, was 
one of the most popular men of Rush county in his day and 
for many years was a successful farmer of Rushville town- 
ship. He was born in Union township, this county, March 9, 1865, 
son of Stephen Clinton and America (Amos) Blacklidge. He attended 
the Blacklidge school in Union township and the Graham select 
school at Rushville, and then took the two-year agricultural course at 
Purdue University. He was president of the literary society of the 
university and his class. While at Purdue he also was an active 
worker in the Young Men's Christian Association. His father had a 
large family and could not afford to send his children to college so 
Amos II. Biacklidge earned the money by clerking in a drygoods store 
at Rushville in the winter, and farmed in the summer until he had 
accumulated sufficient money to see him through. After he had com- 
pleted his agricultural course he returned to the homestead and 
put his knowledge to practical use, farming with his father for a 
short time but that same summer bought sixteen acft-es located north 
of Rushville which was known as the Rush County Orphans' Home, 
and later bought the farm adjoining this property, known as the John 
F. Moses land. On October 23, 1901, Mr. Blacklidge married Leonora 
May Alexander and after his marriage moved to the sixteeu-acre tract 
he had bought. He began farming on it and also operated a modern 
dairy having thirty-five imported cows of registered Jersey stock. He 
was a man of very progressive ideas and believed that the farmer 
could, if he so desired, make his life as happy, dignified and up-to-date 
as that of the city man, and he tried to imbue others with his 
enthusiasm with reference to rural conditions. For years he was one 
of the active members of the old Rush County Farmers .Institute, and 
during all of that time served as one of the officials or a member of 
the program committee. To encourage and instruct others he wrote 
a number of articles on progressive farming which were published 
in agricultural journals of the period, and he received a number of 
prizes for these same articles, some of which were in money and others 
were equally valuable sets of books on agricultural subjects. On 
August lfi, 1913. Mr. Blacklidge died very suddenly, dropping dead 
in the evening after having passed the day in strenuous work. He 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 191 

was a lover of his home and very devoted to his family composed of 
his wife and two children, William Clinton and Lawrence Amos, who 
are now attending school at Rnshville, the elder being in high school. 
Mr. Blacklidge belonged to the Main Street Christian Church of Rush- 
vide, and for a number of years was one of its deacons. He was also 
a very active worker for the anti-saloon league,, devoting much time 
and money to the cause, and would have rejoiced greatly had he been 
spared to see the ratification of the eighteenth amendment. Another 
public enterprise which received his support was the annual" Chau- 
tauqua at Rushville of which he was always a guarantor. As a 
charter member of the Social Club of Rushville he assisted in organiz- 
ing that association of congenial friends, and always enjoyed the 
meetings. Prom the day he cast his first vote Mr. Blacklidge sup- 
ported the candidates of the Republican party, and while not an 
officeseeker, always was active in local affairs. A man of high, 
Christian character he lived according to his beliefs, and dying left 
behind him an influence for good which is still potent, and his mem- 
ory is kept green by those who knew and loved him. His life was 
indeed a happy, progressive and dignified one. 

EDGAR E. LOGAN, the proprietor of a splendidly improved 
farm of 160 acres in Richland township and an extensive feeder of 
hogs, was born in Richland township, this county, February 5, 1S65, a 
son of James W. and Hester (Welman) Logan, also natives of Rush 
county. The paternal grandparents of Mr. Logan, James and Eliza- 
beth Logan, were born in Scotland, but came to America and were 
married soon after their respective arrivals in Rush county, where 
they became early settlers of Noble township. Here they secured 160 
acres of land, which Mr. Logan entered from the Government, and this 
locality was the scene of their subsequent careers. James W. Logan 
received a public school education and entered upon his active life as 
a farmer, a vocation to which he applied himself during the remainder 
of his life. He was successful because of his industry and good man- 
agement and acquired 871 acres of land, although he disposed of a 
part of this prior to his death. He was a man of considerable 
influence in his community and was twice elected trustee of Richland 
township as recognization of his public spirit and personal integrity. 
He and his wife were the parents of three children, the subject of this 
sketch having two brothers, Thomas W., a well-known farmer and 
stock feeder of Richland township, and Jesse. To the old Clifton 
school in Richland township Edgar E. Logan is indebted for his 
educational advantages. After putting aside his studies the business 
of farming claimed his attention and for a time he was associated with 
his father in the cultivation of the home place, but when he was mar- 
ried he founded his home on a new property, the one on which he now 
lives. This 160-acre farm he secured from his father, at this time has 
130 acres under cultivation. He feeds out from 100 to 200 hogs 
annually, and has made a definite success of all departments of his 
work. Mr. Logan has been responsible for all the improvements that 
now appear on his model country estate, where his buildings are 



192 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

modern, his equipment substantial and throughout of the most up-to- 
date nature. In 1893 Mr. Logan was united in marriage with Amanda 
Ella Stark, daughter of Henry and Amanda Stark. Mr. and Mrs. 
Logan are members of the New Salem Methodist Protestant Church 
in which he has held all the lay offices. In politics he is a Democrat. 

"WILLIAM W. BARTON, whose death occurred on December 
12, 1919, had long contributed to the general welfare of the Milroy 
community, both through the nature of his business and by reason of 
his personal participation in movements generated for development 
and betterment. For thirty-seven years he was engaged in the 
drug business at Milroy, and during that time so established him- 
self in the confidence of the people that his death was considered a 
community loss. Mr. Barton was born at Milroy on September 30, 
1855, a son of John C. and Nancy J. (Tompkins) Barton, the former 
a native of Kentucky and the latter of Rush county. John C. 
Barton came to Rush county in pioneer days and first applied him- 
self to farming, but later turned his attention to mercantile affairs, 
and for a number of years conducted a general mechandise store 
at Milroy. He was a man of high principles and was much 
esteemed in the community in which he reared his structure of 
business success. He and his wife were the parents of three chil- 
dren: Elizabeth, Thomas (who died in youth), and William W. 
William W. Barton, after securing his early schooling in the public 
schools of Milroy, pursued a course at Spiceland Academy, follow- 
ing this by attendance at a medical school at Louisville, Ky. His 
medical education was completed at the Indianapolis Medical Col- 
lege, following which he returned to Milroy, where he embarked in 
the drug business, choosing this line instead of following the med- 
ical profession. Mr. Barton devoted himself unswervingly to hie 
business throughout the rest of his career, and at the time of his 
death, in 1919, had been identified with the same line and the same 
enterprise for thirty-seven years. During this long period the 
people had come to depend upon him unquestioningly and to accept 
his judgment and advice as final. From 1904 until his death Mr. 
Barton also had served as a member of the board of directors of the 
Milroy Bank. He made numerous friends both in his business 
and out of it, and enjoyed the companionship of his fellow 
men, being a member of the Masonic and Knights of Pythias 
lodges at Milroy. He was a stanch Republican and took an 
active interest in movements which he believed woidd benefi- 
cially affect the community welfare. As a churchman he adhered 
to the Methodist faith. On April 6, 188-4, Mr. Barton was united in 
marriage to Viroqua Swain, who was born at Manilla, this county, 
and at the age of nine years was brought to Milroy by her parents. 
Her schooling was completed at Valparaiso University which she 
attended for two years. Mrs. Barton is a daughter of Franklin F. 
and Rebecca (Tackett) Swain, the former of Union county, Indiana, 
and the latter of Wayne county, this state. Mr. Swain, who was a 




MR. AND MRS. W. W. BARTON 



CAPT. PRANEJ 
B Company, 123d India 



IX F. SWAIN 

ia Volunteer Infantry 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 193 

merchant and miller by vocation, was the father of five children, 
of whom four are living: William E., W. Irving, Alfred A. and 
Viroqua. Two children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Barton, Cath- 
erine, who married Claude R. Crane, who is engaged in the real 
estate business at Milroy, and Lillian, who married Clyde H. Hun- 
ter, who is engaged in the building material business at Chicago. 
Mrs. Lillian Hunter is a member of the Daughters of the American 
Revolution. The Swains, who are of Quaker stock, are an old fam- 
ily in Rush county. Thomas Swain, grandfather of Mrs. Barton, 
built the old Swain mill in the southwest corner of Posey town- 
ship which was for many years a landmark thereabout. His son, 
Franklin F. Swain, grew up to the milling business and was en- 
gaged in milling, his industries including plants at Milroy, Moscow 
and Manilla. "When the Civil war broke out he enlisted his serv- 
ices in behalf of the cause of the Union and went to the front as 
captain of E Company, One Hundred and Twenty-third regiment, 
Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and was thus serving when during the 
siege of Atlanta, August 6, 1864, he received a mortal wound. He 
was removed to the hospital at Marietta, Ga., where he died on the 
following August 23. 

J. A. SHELTON, farmer and stockman, who has substantial 
interests in both Rush and Shelby counties, was born in Posey town- 
ship, this county, December 4, 1865, the only survivor of the family 
of two children born to his parents. They were Ralph and Lydia 
(Adams) Shelton, both natives also of Posey township, where the 
father owned 180 acres of land and spent the greater part of his life 
there as a farmer. J. A. Shelton remained on the home farm after 
his school days were over until his marriage, when he bought forty 
acres of land adjoining his father's property and afterward operated 
both farms. Ultimately he sold his forty acres and purchased 160 
acres in Walker township, this county, and owns also a farm of 140 
acres in Hendricks township, Shelby county. Mr. Shelton has always 
been a progressive farmer and stockraiser. In earlier years he gave 
careful attention to raising race horses, although he never trained 
them, and at one time or another, owned some notable animals, one 
of these being the famous "Baron Posey," a racehorse that made 
the record of 2 :21V4- He is now interested mainly, however, in gen- 
eral farming and hog raising, growing the big-type Poland China 
hogs and shipping about 300 head annually. Whenever he has 
exhibited he has carried off honors. In 1918 he had the grand cham- 
pion sow at the Indiana state fair, and in the following year at the 
same exposition had the champion boar, this animal standing third 
in the national swine show held at Des Moines, la., in 1919. On 
September 7, 1887, Mr. Shelton married Jennie Powell, who was born 
in Shelby count}', Indiana, daughter of Lorenzo and Nancy (Hol- 
brook) Powell, natives of Shelby county where Mr. Powell was a 
farmer. Of his seven children four are living, Carrie, Jennie, Joseph 
F. and Gertrude. Mr. and Mrs. Shelton have one son, Fred C, who 
13 



194 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

was bom on August 2, 1893. After creditably completing the common 
school course and the high school course at Manilla, Fred C. Shelton 
attended the high school at Shelbyville for one year, following which 
he was graduated from the agricultural department of Purdue Uni- 
versity. He served one year with the quartermaster's corps of the 
United States army during the time of America's participation in 
the World war and now, in partnership with his father, is operating 
the Shelby county farm and taking a great deal of interest in the same. 
Mr. Shelton has been quite active in Democratic politics and for six 
years served as trustee of Walker township, demonstrating in this 
office good judgment and public spirit at a time such important public 
improvements as the planning and erection of the fine sehoolhouses at 
Manilla and Homer were brought about. Mr. Shelton is a charter 
member of the Modern Woodmen lodge at Manilla. 

MONROE GLOSHEN, a well-known and substantial retired 
farmer of Anderson township now living at Milroy, where he has 
made his home since retiring from the farm in the fall of 1912 and 
where he and his family are very pleasantly situated, is a native of 
the neighboring county of Franklin, but has been a resident of Rush 
county many years, having come over here almost immediately after 
his marriage in his home county. He was born on a farm in Franklin 
county on November 7, 18.">7, son of Nicholas and Jennie (Jones) 
Gloshen, the latter of whom also was born in Franklin county, a 
member of one of the pioneer families there, and both of whom spent 
their last days there. Nicholas Gloshen was born in the state of New 
Jersey and as a young man came West, seeking the fortune which 
every ambitious young man in the East then believed was obtainable 
out here almost for the picking up. His parents were poor and unable 
to give him much assistance and of schooling he had practically none, 
his days in school having been confined to a period of but one week — 
six days of organized schooling in his life; but he possessed native 
elements of strength and determination and thus rightly decided that 
the then comparatively new country offered him larger advantages 
than were apparent in the East. Nicholas Gloshen was working in 
Franklin county when the big gold strike in California was announced 
and in 1849 he joined the rush to the New Eldorado. He remained 
there several years and then returned to Franklin county, having 
acquired a sufficient sum of money to enable him to buy a small farm 
in the place he had decided upon as a home. Having bought the farm 
he married and established his home on the place, remaining there the 
rest of his life. He did well with his farming and as his affairs pros- 
pered added to his land holdings until he became the owner of an 
excellent farm of 600 acres. He also was heavily interested in the 
timber business and was accounted one of the substantial men of the 
community in which he lived. He and his wife were the parents of 
eight children, five of whom are still living, Monroe Gloshen having 
two sisters, Sarah and Catherine and two brothers, George and 
Nicholas. Monroe Gloshen was reared on the home farm in Franklin 
county, receiving his schooling in the local schools, and as a young 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 195 

man continued on the farm, helpful in the labors of developing the 
same, until after his marriage when he came over into Rush county 
and located in Anderson township, becoming engaged in farming on 
his own account. He presently added to his original land holdings in 
that township and now has an excellent farm of 198 acres, well 
improved, with two sets of buildings, all improvements on the place 
having been made by Mr. Gloshen, and the operations of which are 
being carried on in up-to-date fashion. In addition to his general 
farming Mr. Gloshen for years gave considerable attention to the 
raising of live stock and did well. In the fall of 1912 he retired from 
the active labors of the farm and moved to Milroy, where he and his 
family have a very pleasant home. It was in 1882 that Monroe 
Gloshen was united in marriage to Nancy Brook, who also was born 
in Franklin county, daughter of Nehemiali Brook, a member of one of 
the old families of that county, and to this union three daughters have 
been born, Elva, who died at the age of thirteen years ; Stella, wife of 
Virgil Henry, and Elizabeth, widow of the late Carl Ralston, who 
died on April 18, 1920. Mr. and Mrs. Gloshen are members of the 
Methodist church and have ever taken an interested part in church 
work, as well as in all local movements having to do with the general 
good of the community. Mr. Gloshen is a Democrat and has taken a 
proper interest in local political affairs. 

WILLIAM G. JONES, who is successfully engaged in farming 
in Noble township, is a worthy representative of the younger agricul- 
tural element of Rush county. Mr. Jones was born at Seven Mile, 
Ohio, November 15, 1874, a son of John C. and Susan H. (Gregg) 
Jones, and a grandson of Andrew and Harriette (Smith) Jones. 
Andrew Jones was a son of William Jones, the first of the family to 
settle in Wayne township, Butler county, at the same time his father, 
Henry Jones, became a settler in Custis township. Preble county, 
Ohio. William Jones, who was born in 1774, died in 1851. He became 
one of the leading men of Butler county and was at one time the 
owner of 2,300 acres of land. He was a native of North Carolina, 
as was his wife, Elizabeth Culbertson, and they were the parents of 
ten children, Andrew, Susan, Keziah, Amy, Jemima, John, Elizabeth, 
Sarah and Rebecca. John C. Jones was born at Hamilton, Ohio, 
where he grew to manhood. He later moved to Seven Mile and was 
there engaged in the stock business and for a number of years also 
was engaged in the coal and feed trade at Hamilton, Ohio, and was 
thus engaged during the remainder of his life. He died at Seven 
Mile when he was sixty-seven years of age. He and his wife, who 
was born in Butler comity, Ohio, were the parents of four children : 
James A., Anna Maude, Charles and William G. William G. Jones 
received his education in the public schools of Seven Mile and a 
business college at Hamilton, after leaving which he engaged in the 
coal and feed business with his father. He remained in that line of 
enterprise at Hamilton, Ohio, until 1917, when he came to Rush county 
and located on a farm of 215 acres in Noble township, which he owns. 
He does general farming and stock raising, feeds out about 125 hogs 



106 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

per year and represents the element which in any community, espe- 
cially outside of the large cities, infuses spirit and zest into the activi- 
ties of the place. Mr. Jones is a popular member of the Knights of 
Pythias and Fraternal Order of Eagles, at Hamilton, Ohio, and in 
politics is a Republican. He married, June 26, 1900, Nellie, daughter 
of Jacob H. and Elizabeth (Young) Shellenbarger, and to this union 
there has been born one child, John S., who is attending school. Mrs. 
Jones is a member of the Presbyterian church. She was born in Butler 
county, Ohio, where both of her parents were also born, and where 
her father was a general business man all his life and actively inter- 
ested in banking. He died in Butler county in 1915, the father of six 
children, Harry, Albert Y., Jane E., Valora, Ruth and Nelle. Mr. 
Jones is an exceptionally enterprising young man and thoroughly com- 
petent in business and agricultural transactions. The honesty of his 
dealings is fully recognized by his fellow townsmen, and although his 
advent in Rush county is of recent date, he has already gained the 
confidence of those with whom he has been associated. 

E. R. CASADY, of the E. R. Casady Company, one of the 
leading department stores of Rushville, is a native of Rush county, 
having been born in Posey township on July 9, 1879, the son of Weir 
and Sarah A. (Bebout) Casady, both of Rush county. "Weir 
Casady was a son of Sampson Casady, who emigrated to this county 
from Ohio, to which state he had come from Virginia. He entered 
land in Rushville township, and by his energy and ability along 
business lines, became the owner of over 600 acres of fine land. 
He had an enviable military record, having served in the War of 
1812 as a drummer boy, and under General Harrison in the Indian 
wars. His father, Thomas Casady, had served in the Colonial army 
from Virginia during the Revolution. Weir Casady grew to man- 
hood on his father's farm, receiving his education in the schools 
of the county, and became recognized as one of the best stock men 
of the district, specializing in thoroughbred Poland China hogs and 
racing horses on his farm of eighty acres, continuing his farming 
operations until the time of his death in 1908. He and his wife 
were the parents of seven children, six of whom are now living: 
Alma, Julia, Mary, Sampson, Knowles, and E. R. It is rather a 
coincidence that there were seven children in the family of Weir 
Casady, as there had been a like number in the family of his father : 
William, Weir, Robert, John, Simon, Elizabeth and Margaret. E. 
R. Casady received his preliminary education in the common 
schools of the county, and then attended the Rushville high school, 
from which he was graduated with the class of 1S9S. Upon com- 
pleting his schooling, he began his business career by clerking in 
the store of Winship & Payne, which was located in the same 
building that is now occupied by the E. R. Casady Company. After 
a short period of service with this firm, he clerked for Ralph 
Payne in the shoe business for about two years, when he and Ben 
Cox bought out the business. Later, Mr. Casady sold out his 




E. R. C'AXADY 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 197 

interests, and bought a partnership in the store of which he is now 
sole proprietor. This firm was known as Kennedy & Casady for 
four years, or until January 1, 1914, when it became the E. R. 
Casady Company, as it is today. The business grew, Mr. Casady 
enjoying the confidence of a large and profitable trade, and the 
quarters, were enlarged to include another floor of the building. 
Mr. Casady was married to Ethel Readle, a daughter of John A. 
and Lillie (Emons) Readle, and to their union have been born four 
children, Phyllis, Readle, Mildred, and Catherine. Mr. Casady is a 
Mason, a Knight of Pythias and a member of the Rotary Club. He 
adheres to the policies of the Democratic party, of which he has 
always been a supporter, and is a communicant of the Christian 
church. 

HENRY F. ADDISON, than whom no citizen of Posey township 
is better known or more highly esteemed, was born in that township 
on January 22, 1869, and is the son of Levi and Elizabeth (Stinger) 
Addison. Levi Addison was a farmer during all his active years, own- 
ing a farm of fifty-three acres. He and his wife were the parents of 
ten children, eight of whom are living, Samuel, Marshall, Thomas, 
Henry F., Savanna, Osa, Dora and Lillie. Henry F. Addison attended 
the Conaway school in Posey township and his youth was spent on the 
paternal farmstead. He remained with his parents until he had 
attained his majority, when he began working out by the month, con- 
tinuing to be employed in this way for about eighteen months. After 
his marriage, in 1892, Mr. Addison began to farm on his own account, 
renting land for about twelve years, at the end of which period he 
bought eighty acres, comprising his present farm in Posey township. 
He conducts general farming operations and has met with splendid 
success, being numbered among the progressive and substantial agri- 
culturists of his section of the county. Mr. Addison has been married 
twice, first in 1892 to Martha Hendricks. To this union were born 
two children, Sherman, a mechanic at Anderson, Ind., who married a 
Miss Tally, and Bessie, who became the wife of Gurney Earnest, a 
farmer in Ripley township, this county, and has one child, Kenneth. 
Mrs. Martha Addison died in 1900 and in 1904 Mr. Addison was mar- 
ried to Stella Wymond, a native of Fayette county, Indiana. To this 
union have been born two children, Grace and Bertha, both of whom 
are attending school. Mr. Addison is an ardent Democrat. Frater- 
nally, he is a member of Beech Grove Lodge, No. 399, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, at Arlington. He is a member of the Chris- 
tian church and gives his unreserved support to every worthy benevo- 
lent or charitable object or any movement calculated to advance the 
general welfare of the community in any way. 

"WILLIAM R. GARTIN, a well-known farmer of Jackson town- 
ship, is a native son of the township in which he now lives and where 
his entire life has been passed. He was bom on his father's farm in 
Jackson township on June 29, 1889, aud is the son of Omer G. and 
Clara (Newkirk) Gartin, both of whom also were natives of Jackson 
township. The father has been a lifelong fanner and is now the 



198 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

owner of 140 acres of laud in Jackson township ; however, he is now 
practically retired from active business affairs and is living in Rnsh- 
ville. To him and his wife were born two children, the subject of 
this review having a brother, Lowell C. William R. Gartin received 
his education in the Osborn school in Jackson township, after which 
he turned his attention to farming, working for his father until 1911, 
when he began farming for himself on fifty acres of land which he had 
inherited from his mother. He also rents sixty acres of his father's 
land. He carries on general farming operations and also raises all 
the hogs the farm will support. Systematic and practical in every- 
thing he does, his success has been marked and he has gained a good 
reputation as an enterprising and progressive farmer. On September 
6, 1910, Mr. Gartin was married to Hollie Mock, who was born in 
Rush county and is the daughter of William H. and Dora (Shires) 
Mock. To Mr. and Mrs. Gartin was born a son, Vernon L., born on 
January 11, 1917, who died on May 15, 1920. Mr. and Mrs. Gartin 
are members of the Christian church at Rushville. Mr. Gartin is a 
Republican in his political views, while, fraternally, he is a member of 
Phoenix Lodge, No. 62, Free and Accepted Masons, and Franklin 
Lodge, No. 35, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, at Rushville. He 
has always taken a keen interest in everything pertaining to the wel- 
fare of his community and served two years as assistant county road 
superintendent. 

JESSE M. POE, member of the firm of William B. Poe & Son. 
whose jewelry store on Main street is one of the well-known landmarks 
of Rushville, was born in that city on April 9, 1876, and is the son of 
William B. and Ruth F. (Carr) Poe, the former a native of Mason 
county, Kentucky, and the latter born and reared in Rush county. 
The Poe family was an old established one in the Blue Grass state. 
William B. Poe first went from Kentucky to Ohio, where he learned 
the trade of watchmaking, though he had previously begun his appren- 
ticeship at Maysville, Kentucky, in October, 1858, receiving the 
princely wage of $50 a year. He was a young man when he arrived in 
Rushville and immediately established himself in business. Good 
workmanship and fair dealing brought him business and through the 
subsequent years he has enjoyed an enviable standing throughout Rush 
county. His first location was in the Melodeon Hall block, but in 
1910 he located where he now is. Jesse M. Poe received his educational 
training in the public schools of Rushville and on completing his 
studies he entered a watchmakers' school at Peoria, Illinois, where he 
received the best possible training in the very important and intricate 
art of watchmaking and repairing. He then returned home and 
worked for his father for a time, and then was admitted to ^partner- 
ship in the business, which has since been run under the firm style of 
Wm. B. Poe & Son. Mr. Poe is also a registered optometrist, optical 
work being a very important branch of their business. Courteous 
treatment, high-grade goods and right prices have been the elements 
which have contributed to the popularity of this firm, whose business 
covers a wide radius of surrounding country. Mr. Poe was married 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 199 

to Ina F. Pugh, the daughter of Joseph and Caroline Pugh, and they 
have a daughter. Mary Louise, wife of Dr. T. L. Jones. Politically, 
Mr. Poe is a stanch Republican, while, fraternally, he is a member of 
the Free and Accepted Masons, the Knights of Pythias, the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks and the Improved Order of Red Men. 
He and his wife are earnest members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church and he gives his unreserved support to every movement or 
enterprise for the advancement of the general welfare. 

WILLIAM S. McKEE, who is a prominent figure among the 
native sons of Noble township who have applied themselves to the pur- 
suits of agriculture and have found therein success in the community 
in which they were born, has passed his entire life in Noble township, 
where he was born on his father's farm, July 14, 1879, a son of 
Charles H. and Catherine (Simonson) McKee, the former a native of 
Rush county and the latter of Franklin county, Indiana. Mr. McKee 
is indebted to the country schools of Noble township for his educa- 
tional training. After completing his studies he joined his father and 
brother, John McKee, in the cultivation of the home place, and when 
the father died, in July, 1904, the two sons took charge of operations 
and continued to work in partnership for about eight years. The 
association was mutually dissolved at the end of that time, and 
William S. McKee has since carried on operations on his own account. 
At this time his activities cover 240 acres, of which he is the owner of 
eighty-five acres. He carries on general farming and stock raising, 
feeding out about 300 head of hogs annually. Mr. McKee has done 
much work in the way of development and improvement, and it was 
he who installed all the present modern conveniences and equipment 
on his property, which now bears the stamp of proper management 
and progressive ideas. He is thorough, practical and energetic in 
carrying through his plans, and in business matters is known to be 
absolutely reliable. Mr. McKee married Charity Hoy, daughter of 
Lafayette Hoy, and to this union there have been born four children : 
Donald, Lowell, Geraldine and Lawrence. Mrs. McKee is a member 
of the Christian church, at Orange. In political matters Mr. McKee 
gives his support to the Republican party and has always stood for 
worthy civic movements tending toward progress. He is affiliated 
with the Masonic Lodge and the Red Men at Orange, in both of which 
orders he has numerous cordial friends. 

FRANK McBRIDE, one of the leading business men of Mays, 
this county, who has by his enterprise and progressive methods con- 
tributed in a material way to the commercial advancement of his local- 
ity, is a native of Center township, where he was born on June 13, 
1868, and he is the son of William J. and Nancy A. (Zion) McBride, 
both of whom also were born and reared in Rush county. The father 
followed farming throughout his active life, having been prospered in 
his efforts so that in 1858 he was able to purchase a farm of 192 
acres. To him and wife were born nine children, of which number 
five are living, namely : Anna M., Luella, Selma, Charles and Frank. 
The subject of this review received his educational training in the 



•200 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

schools of Center township and after leaving school he devoted his 
attention to work on the home farm, remaining with his parents until 
his marriage, in 1890, when he took up farming on his own account, 
renting sixty-five acres of land, which he subsequently increased to 
eighty acres. He devoted himself closely to the operation of his land 
for fifteen years, and at the end of that time he moved to Mays and 
engaged in the grocery business. He has been eminently successful in 
this enterprise and enjoys a large trade, not only locally, but through- 
out the surrounding country. In 1890 Mr. McBride was married to 
Eva E. Young, also a native of Rush county, and to them have been 
born three children, Guy, Zula and Fern, all of whom are at home. 
Mr. and Mrs. McBride are earnest members of the Presbyterian 
church at Mays, to which they give generous support. Politically, 
Mr. McBride has been a lifelong supporter of the Democratic party 
and for the past six years he has served as postmaster of Mays, giving 
efficient service and to the satisfaction of all concerned. Personally, 
Mr. McBride is a man of unassuming manners, but genial and obliging, 
and he enjoys an enviable standing in the community honored by his 
citizenship. 

OLIVER J. COOK, one of Rush county's native sons, whose 
energetic nature and laudable ambition have enabled him to con- 
quer adverse conditions and advance steadily, until today he is 
numbered among the representative farmers of Richland township, 
was born in Noble township, this county, on July 4, 1865, and is 
the son of William and Susanna (Johnston) Cook, both of whom 
also were born and reared in Rush county. William Cook attended 
the common schools and completed his studies in the Fairview 
Academy. He then devoted his attention to farming his father's 
land, remaining at home until his marriage. At that time he moved 
to near Glenwood, where he remained but a short time, moving 
then to Hamilton county, Indiana, where he was engaged in farm- 
ing for about four years. Returning then to Rush county, Mr. 
Cook located on land which he owned near Glenwood, which he 
operated until about 1893, when he retired from active business 
and moved to Rushville, where he lived until October, 1919, when, 
following the death of his wife, he went to live with his son, the 
subject of this review* with whom he still lives. Of the seven 
children who blessed the union of himself and wife, but two are 
now living, Oliver J. and Robert B. Oliver J. Cook attended the 
public school at Glenwood and from the time of his leaving school 
until the present he has continuously devoted himself to agricul- 
tural pursuits. Until 1892 he cultivated rented land, but in that 
year he bought the farm which he now owns in Richland township, 
his first purchase being 115y 2 acres, which he subsequently 
increased to 220 acres, all in Richland township. He actively pur- 
sued the cultivation of this land during the following years, but did 
not erect a house until 1910, since which time he has resided on the 
place. The improvements are all of an attractive style, the home 




0. J. COOK 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 201 

being convenient and well arranged, the barns substantial and 
commodious, while the general appearance of the place indicates the 
owner to be a man of good taste and practical ideas. Pie carries on 
general farming operations and also gives considerable attention 
to the raising of live stock, specializing in the big type of pure bred 
Poland China hogs, of which he feeds from 400 to 500 annually. 
Mr. Cook was married to Orpha E. Beaver, daughter of John M. and 
Mary Beaver, and they are the parents of four children, Willard, 
Wallace, Emma and Mary Evelyn. Emma became the wife of Ray 
Compton and they had a child, Mary Estell. Mrs. Cook is a faith- 
ful member of the Methodist Episcopal church. Politically, Mr. 
Cook gives his support to the Democratic ticket, while, fraternally, 
he is a member of the Masonic order at Andersonville and the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

ALVA E. NEWSOM, who is recognized as a progressive and 
energetic exponent of the most advanced methods of agriculture and 
who is carrying on extensive farming and stockraising operations in 
Ripley township, has passed his entire life in this county, having been 
born on his father's farm in that same township on July 12, 1866, a 
son of Jabez H. and Margaret (Cox) Newsom. Jabez H. Newsom 
was also born in Ripley township, where he passed his life in the suc- 
cessful cultivation of the soil. He was the owner of 160 acres of 
good land, and was likewise the possessor of a reputation for sound 
integrity and good citizenship. He and his worthy wife, who was a 
native of Washington county, Indiana, were the parents of eight 
children, of whom four are living: Oliver M., Anna J., Alva E. and 
Laura A. Alva E. Newsom was educated in Ripley township, where 
he attended what was known as the Stinger schoolhouse. He was 
but five years of age when his father died, and at the early age of 
thirteen years he began to assume a man's responsibility on the home 
farm, which he managed for his mother until the time of his marriage, 
after which, he rented the home place from his mother, this being a 
tract of eighty acres, in addition to which he rented 220 acres more 
land in the same community and devoted himself there to farming 
and stock raising for some ten years. After the death of his mother 
he bought the interest of the other heirs in the home place, and on this 
property has continued general farming and the raising of live stock. 
Industry and good management have combined to bring him success 
and he is justly accounted in his neighborhood as one of the most pro- 
gressive of the agriculturists of Ripley township. At this time he is 
shipping on an average of between 100 and 125 hogs annually to the 
big markets. On December 10, 1890, Mr. Newsom was united in mar- 
riage to Virginia Alexander, who was born in Ripley township and 
was educated there, a daughter of Joseph W. and Sarah J. (Stinger) 
Alexander, natives of Ripley township, and the owners of 120 acres of 
land, on which they carried on operations all their lives. Mr. and 
Mrs. Alexander were the parents of six children, of whom four are 
living: Frank M., Laura A., Ola V. and Virginia. Mr. and Mrs. 
Newsom have two children : Grace M., who married Frederick Sohn, a 



202 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

traveling salesman living at Knightstown, Ind.. where they hold mem- 
bership in Friends church and has one child, Alvan: and Mazie, who 
married George Apple, a farmer of Ripley township, with no children. 
Mr. Newsom has always been ready to play his full part in discharging 
the duties of citizenship. In his political allegiance, he gives his 
support to the Republican party. With his wife and children he 
attends the Methodist church at Carthage. 

NORMAL Y. PATTERSON, a teacher in the New Salem high 
school, is a native son of the county in which he now lives, having 
been born in Richland township on June 13, 1872, and he is the son of 
Darius and Mary Irene Patterson. He received his elementary edu- 
cation in the common schools of Richland, completing his public 
school studies in the high school at Richland. lie then attended 
Indiana University, where he took a general course and received the 
degree of Bachelor of Arts in 1895. He then engaged in teaching 
school in Franklin county, being employed one year in a countrv 
school, six years in the school at Laurel and three years in the high 
school at Brookville. Mr. Patterson then returned to Rush county 
and for four years he taught in the Richland school. He then quit 
teaching and for two years devoted his attention to the management 
and cultivation of his father's farm of 200 acres. He then located at 
Clarksburg and for two years taught in the school at Sandusky, fol- 
lowing which he again retiirned to the home farm and remained there 
six years, operating 255 acres of land. He is still giving attention to 
the operation of this land, but in 1919 he accepted a position as 
teacher in the New Salem high school and is still filling that position. 
The farm is one of the best farms in this locality, being well improved 
in every respect and well adapted to general farming operations. 
Besides the raising of all the crops common to this locality, he gives 
some attention to live stock, feeding from one hundred and fifty to 
two hundred hogs a year. Mr. Patterson's work as an educator has 
gained for him much favorable comment. Of scholarly tastes and 
studious habits, he keeps abreast of the times in advanced educational 
methods and is ably filling the position he holds in the New SaJem 
school. In 189!) Mr. Patterson was married to Lillie M. Cloud, the 
daughter of A. W. and Deborah Cloud, and they are the parents of 
seven children, Howard, Mary, Ruth, Stanley, Willard, Whitmer and 
Maurice. Mr. Patterson is a member of the Christian church and 
Mrs. Patterson is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, at 
Clarksburg. In his political view 7 s Mr. Patterson is an independent 
Democrat. 

JOHN JACKMAN, a substantial farmer and dealer in live stock, 
now living at Milroy, was born in Rush county and has resided here 
all his life. He was born on a farm in Anderson township on July 
10, 1873, son of Allen and Frances (Winship) Jackman, both of whom 
also were born in this county and further and fitting i - eference to 
whom is made elsewhere in this volume of biographies relating to the 
old families of Rush county. Reared on the home farm, John Jackman 
received his schooling at Milrov and from the davs of his youth was 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 203 

well trained in the ways of the farm. After his marriage he continued 
on the home farm for about five years, farming with his father, and 
then rented 170 acres of the home place, which he continues to operate 
besides operating an excellent farm of 135 acres of his own which he 
has acquired since his marriage, and is doing well in his operations, 
making his home at Milroy. In addition to his general farming Mr. 
Jackman has for years given considerable attention to the raising of 
live stock, feeding out about 200 head of hogs annually, and is also 
dealing quite extensively in mules, at present having about forty head, 
and is gradually extending his operations in that direction. On Feb- 
ruary 14, 1900, John Jackman was united in marriage to Mary Tomp- 
kins, who also was born in this count y, daughter of Nathan E. and 
Louisa (Crosby) Tompkins, and to this union two sons have been born, 
Frank and Ned, both of Avhom are at home, valued assistants to their 
father in the latter 's agricultural and live stock operations. The Jack- 
mans have a pleasant home at Milroy and take a proper part in the 
community's general social activities. Mr. and Mrs. Jackman are 
members of the Christian church. In his political views Mr. Jackman 
is a Republican and fraternally he is affiliated with the local lodge of 
the Knights of Pythias and has been "through the chairs" in this 
lodge, in the affairs of which he has for years taken a warm and 
active interest. 

FRANCIS H. McCOY, a well-known agriculturist of Jackson 
township, is one whose well-directed efforts have gained for him suc- 
cess and a position of desirable prominence in the locality honored by 
his residence, for he has so combined within him the elements of indus- 
try, perseverance and sound common sense that he has made a record 
of steady progression in his work. Mr. McCoy was bom in Rushville 
township, this county, on October 26, 1863, and is the son of Thomas 
and Mary (Moran) McCoy, to whom more extended reference is made 
in the sketch of Joseph McCoy, elsewhere in this work. The subject 
received his educational training in the local public schools, mostly in 
the Concord school in Rushville township. On leaving school he ap- 
plied himself to the work of the home farm, remaining with his father 
there until his marriage. He then rented from his father eighty acres 
of land in Jackson township, where he now lives, and has continued to 
cultivate it to the present time, having inherited the land at his fa- 
ther's death. He has made a number of permanent and substantial im- 
provements on the place, including a new home and garage, and keeps 
the place in the best of repair, the general appearance of the place 
indicating the owner to be a man of taste and good judgment. He 
carries on general farming and also raises about 120 hogs each year. 
On February 27, 1900, Mr. McCoy was united in marriage with Marie 
A. Schetgen, who was born in Jennings county, Indiana, but was 
reared and educated in Hamilton county, Ohio. She is the daughter 
of Peter and Mary (Kirchner) Schetgen. Mr. and Mrs. McCoy are 
the parents of nine children, all of whom are living, namely : Mary 
E., Francis L., Margaret E., Thomas W., Lena K., Harry A.', Walter 
J.. Charles and Hugh. All of these children are unmarried and at 



204 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

home. Mr. and Mrs. McCoy are members of the Catholic church at 
Rushville, and Mr. McCoy is a member of the Rushville Council of 
the Knights of Columbus. Politically, he gives his support to the Dem- 
ocratic party and takes an intelligent interest in the course of public 
events, ever giving his support to every movement for the general 
welfare. Genial and obliging, he enjoys the friendship and good wil If 
of all who know him. 

EDWARD DOLAN, one of the substantial farmers and land- 
owners of Union township, is not one of Rush county's native sons, 
but he has resided here since the days of his young manhood and 
has developed an excellent piece of property here, long having 
been regarded as one of the leading farmers and stockmen of his 
community. He was born in Dearborn county, this state, Septem- 
ber 14, 1864, son of Patrick and Emma (Briggs) Dolan, the latter 
of whom was born in that same county, a member of one of the 
pioneer families there. The late Patrick Dolan, whose last days 
were spent in Rush county, where he had resided for many years, 
was born in Ireland and was but a lad when he came to this coun- 
try with his parents, the family coming on out to Indiana and lo- 
cating in Dearborn county. There he grew to manhood, married 
and became engaged in farming, remaining there until about 1875 
when he came over into Payette county where he lived on a rented 
farm until 1880, in which year he moved over into Rush county and 
rented a farm here, on this latter place spending the rest of his 
life, a resident of this county for about thirty years. Patrick 
Dolan and wife were the parents of twelve children, all of whom 
save one, Cora, are living, those besides the subject of this sketch 
being Thomas, Elizabeth, Ellen, John, Charles, Anna, Roy, Kate, 
Glenn and William. Edward Dolan completed his schooling in 
Fayette county, having been but a lad when his parents moved to 
that county from Dearborn county, and after leaving school he 
went west and for three years worked as a farm hand in Nebraska. 
He then rejoined the family in Rush county and after coming here 
was engaged as a farm hand for about six years, at the end of 
which time he rented an eighty-acre farm, in the meantime having 
married, and on that place made his home for seven years. He 
then bought a tract of 120 acres in Union township and on that 
place resided until 1910, when he bought the farm of 114 acres on 
which he is now living in that same township. In addition to these 
tracts Mr. Dolan has other farms, being now the owner of 430 acres 
in Rush and Fayette counties besides a quarter of a section of land 
in Nebraska. In addition to his general farming Mr. Dolan has 
for years given considerable attention to the raising of live stock 
and feeds out from 300 to 400 head of hogs a year. He has four 
sets of buildings on his land and his operations are carried on on 
quite an extensive scale. In his political views Mr. Dolan is a Dem- 
ocrat. Mrs. Dolan is a member of the Fairview Christian church. 
The Dolans have a very pleasant home on rural mail route No. 1 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 205 

out of Glenwood. On October 7, 1888, Edward Dolan was united 
in marriage to Alma Saxon, who was born in the neighboring 
county of Fayette, and to this union five children have been born, 
Verne. Gertrude, Clarence (deceased) and Nina (deceased), and 
one who died in infancy. Verne Dolan married Beatrice Dunham 
and has four children, Edna, Zelma, Xen and Marjorie. Gertrude 
Dolan married Albert Dickey and has two children, Thelma and 
Max. As noted above, Mrs. Dolan was born in Fayette county, 
which also was the birthplace of her parents, Robert and Mary 
Ann (Nichols) Saxon, the latter born in Fairview township. Rob- 
ert Saxon, who is the owner of a 240-acre farm in Fayette county, 
has been a farmer there all his life. He has been married twice 
and by his first wife had three children, those besides Mrs. Dolan 
being Leroy and Mollie. By his marriage to Mary Lovejoy he has 
had six children, five of whom are living, Gillespie, Daisy, Phoebe, 
Alfred and Robert. 

EARL M. TWEEDY, one of the strong, sturdy characters who 
has contributed largely to the welfare of the community where he 
lives and a well known farmer of Posey township, this county, was 
born in the neighboring county of Henry on the third day of July, 
1870, and is the son of James and Elizabeth (Stinger) Tweedy, the 
former a native of Rush county and the latter of Hancock county, In- 
diana. James Tweedy was reared and educated in his native com- 
munity and followed the trade of a carpenter throughout his active 
life. To him and his wife were born five children, four of whom are 
living, Jesse F., Otis A., Philip W. and Earl M., and one, Mrs. Effie 
McDougal, who died at the age of forty-seven years. The subject of 
this review attended school in his native county and on completing 
his studies he turned his attention to the carpenter trade, which he 
followed for about fifteen years. Mr. Tweedy then turned his atten- 
tion to farming and for about three years he operated rented land. 
He then bought sixty acres of land in Posey township, Rush county, 
and lived there for eight years. He then sold that place and bought 
his present farm, comprising 100 acres of land in Posey township, and 
he devoted his energies indefatigably to the operation of this farm, 
in which he has been very successful. He has made many important 
improvements, remodeling and repairing the buildings, which are 
comfortably and conveniently arranged, the entire property present- 
ing a very attractive appearance. Mr. Tweedy carries on general 
farming and stock raising, feeding and sending to market from 100 
to 150 hogs annually. On June 29, 1899, Mr. Tweedy was married to 
Nellie C. Leisure, a native of Posey township, and the daughter of 
William and Caroline (Powell) Leisure, who were both natives of 
Rush county, where Mr. Leisure followed the vocation of farming. Of 
their four children, Mrs. Tweedy is the only one living. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Tweedv were born three children, Donald, deceased, Lowell B. 
and Alta C~ Mr. and Mrs. Tweedy are members of the Methodist 
Episcopal and Christian churches respectively. Fraternally, he is a 
member of Lodge No. 255, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, at 



206 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Carthage, of which he is a past noble grand, having "passed through 
the chairs." Politically, he is a stanch supporter of the Democratic 
party. Personally, Mr. Tweedy is a man of kindly manner and genial 
disposition and enjoys a host of warm personal friends throughout 
the section of the county where he lives. 

JESSE MURPHY, owner of a well-cultivated farm in Noble 
township and a man who has exercised a helpful influence for prog- 
ress and good citizenship, was born on the farm which he now 
occupies, November 7, 1865, a son of John and Anna (McCrory) 
Murphy, and a grandson of Jesse Murphy. John Murphy was a child 
when brought to Rush county by his parents, from his native Butler 
county (Ohio), and he was educated and reared in Union township. 
There he engaged in farming upon reaching his majority, but some 
time after his marriage to Anna McCrory, a native of Fayette county, 
moved to Noble township, where he purchased a farm. He was a man 
of industry, good judgment and able management and succeeded in 
the accumulation of 232 acres of land, which he devoted to general 
farming and stock feeding. He and his wife were the parents of 
eight children, of whom five are now living, George, Charles, Jesse, 
Roy and Ida May. Jesse Murphy received his education in the public 
schools of Noble township, and upon the completion of his schooling 
began to farm on the home place. He remained with his mother after 
his father's death, and was married at the age of twenty-four years, 
following which he continued to center his activities in the operation 
of the home property. When the estate was divided, following the 
death of his mother, he received his share, and also farmed consider- 
able land in addition, but during the past three years his property 
has consisted of forty-two acres, on which he has successfully applied 
himself to the growing of grain and the feeding and shipping of 
cattle and hogs. Of the latter he generally feeds out from fifty to 
sixty annually. Mr. Murphy is a Republican in his political allegiance. 
In 1890 he married Clara, daughter of Joseph and Emily Horton. 
She died in 1913, leaving one daughter, Hazel, who married Ernest 
Applegate. 

WILBUR STIERS, cashier of the Rushville National Bank, is a 
member of one of the old families of this county and has ever held 
the county's best interests closely to heart. For more than twenty 
years actively engaged in the banking business in Rushville Mr. 
Stiers has gained a knowledge and a comprehension of the general 
commercial, industrial and economic conditions of this community 
second to none and during that time has done much to promote these 
interests, helpful in many ways in advancing the cause of sound and 
healthy investment and enterprise hereabout. Starting in his youth 
to acquire a knowledge of banking methods and procedure, Mr. Stiers 
applied himself diligently and thoughtfully and step by step was 
advanced in the bank's service until before he was thirty-five years 
of age he was made cashier of the institution to the interests of which 
from the very beginning of his connection he had given his most 
studious and punctilious attention, and has since done much to 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 207 

further those interests. Mr. Stiers was born on a farm in Anderson 
township, this county, July 4, 1879, son of John M. and Mary Frances 
(Morgan) Stiers, both of whom also were born in this county, mem- 
bers of pioneer families, the latter of whom died on February 5, 1910, 
and the former of whom is still living at Rushville. John M. Stiers 
was born on a farm and all his life has been interested in farm 
development. Following his marriage he established his home on a 
farm in Anderson township, later acquired a farm in Noble township 
and continued actively engaged in farming until his retirement and 
removal to Rushville, where he now resides. Since taking up his 
residence in Rushville, however, Mr. Stiers has not wholly relinquished 
his interest in farming and not long after moving there bought a 
farm in Rushville township and to the operations of this piece of 
property gives his active oversight. He has four children, the subject 
of this sketch having three sisters, Stella, Effie and Chessie. Reared 
on the home farm in Noble township, "Wilbur Stiers was graduated 
from the New Salem high school in 1897. For two years thereafter 
he attended a business college at Indianapolis and in 1899 was 
taken into the Rushville National Bank as a bookkeeper. By close 
application to the duties in hand he showed himself worthy of promo- 
tion and in 1911 was made second assistant cashier of the bank and 
in 1913 the board of directors of the bank elected him to the respon- 
sible position of cashier of the bank, which position he since has held, 
one of the best known bankers in this part of the state. In October, 
1911, Wilbur Stiers was united in marriage to Mae Bebout, daughter 
of William J. Bebout, of Rushville, and to this union have been born 
two children, Elinor and Evan. Mr. and Mrs. Stiers are members 
of the Christian church and Mr. Stiers has served as a member of 
the diaconate of the local congregation. Mr. Stiers is a Knights 
Templar Mason, affiliated with the local lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons, at Rushville, and with the Commandery. Politically, he is a 
Democrat and has ever given a good citizen's attention to local civic 
affairs. 

MILTON W. OSBORN, manager of the plant of the Pinnell- 
Tompkins Lumber Company at Mays, this county, is a native son of 
the Hoosier state, having been born in Franklin county on June 21, 
1859, and he is the son of James T. and Elizabeth (Sutton) Osborn, 
both of whom were born and reared in Franklin county. James T. 
Osborn was a veteran of the Civil war, having enlisted as a private in 
the Sixty-eighth regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry, with which he 
served over three years, taking part in a number of the most impor- 
tant battles of that great conflict, including those of Stone Mountain, 
Chickamauga and Cumberland Gap. After the close of the war, he 
returned to Franklin county and was engaged in farming for about 
ten years. He then worked at the carpenter trade for a few years, 
and then purchased a general store at Buena Vista, Franklin county, 
becoming also postmaster at that place. To him and his wife were 
born eight children. The subject of this sketch received his educa- 
tional training in the common schools of Franklin county and after 



208 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

leaving school he was employed as a farm hand up to the time of his 
marriage. He then moved to Connersville, where he lived until 1896. 
when he moved to a farm of 145 acres, which he operated for about 
four years. In 1901 he moved to Mays and engaged in carpentering 
and contracting, in which he has met with pronounced success, being 
now one of the largest contractors in Rush county. He has done a 
great deal of construction work and enjoys an enviable reputation 
because of the high quality of his work and his fair dealing. In 
1918 Mr. Osborn became manager of the Pinnell-Tompkins Lumber 
Company at Mays and is still holding that position. Mr. Osborn was 
married to Margaret A. Evans, a native of Decatur county, Indiana, 
and they have had three children, namely : Myrta, who became the 
wife of Berry Rush, of Mays, and they have two children, Elmyra and 
Russell; Maude became the wife of Fred Jackson, of "Washington 
township, and they have five children William, Byron, Morris, Thelma 
and Luella; Glodys, who was born in 1888 at Connersville, received 
her education in the schools of that city and at Mays. She became the 
wife of P. H. Kirkpatriek, of Center township, and they had two 
children, John W. and Floretta. The mother of these children died 
in December, 1918, of influenza. Politically, Mr. Osborn is an active 
supporter of the Republican party, while, fraternally, he is a member 
of the Improved Order of Red Men. He is a man of kindly manner 
and generous impulses, keenly alive to the best interests of the com- 
munity and stands high in the esteem of the community. 

THEODORE F. HOLDEN, one of the worthy native sons of 
Rush county and a progressive fanner of Noble township, but now 
practically retired from active work, is the peer of any of his fel- 
lows in the qualities that constitute correct manhood and good 
citizenship and is therefore eminently worthy of representation 
in a work of this character. Mr. Holden was born on February 28, 
1863, in the township where he now lives, and is the son of James 
T. and Lucinda Jane (Hunt) Holden, both of whom were natives of 
Rush county. The subject's paternal grandparents were Reuben 
and Frances (Talbott) Holden, natives of Kentucky, whence they 
emigrated, in 1827, to Rush county, Indiana, where they estab- 
lished a homestead and spent the remainder of their lives. James 
T. Holden was reared in the Noble township home and secured a 
limited education in the common schools of that early period. He 
then obtained employment as a farm hand, but later for a number 
of years he operated rented land. He was energetic and a good 
manager, so that eventually he was enabled to buy land of bis 
own, his first purchase of eighty acres being increased to 137 acres, 
on which he made his home up to the time of his death, which oc- 
curred on November 6, 1909. His wife had died on February 13, 
1908. They became the parents of seven children, of whom five 
are now living, namely : William T., Flora A., C. Cade, Theodore 
F. and Ellen. Theodore F. Holden received his educational train- 
ing in the common schools of his home neighborhood and then 




THEODORE F. EOLDEN 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 209 

turned his attention to the work of the home farm, on which he 
has spent practically his entire life. For many years he was an 
active agriculturist, giving his attention to general farming and 
he met with splendid success, so that he was enabled to lay aside 
the actual details of farm work and is now enjoying that rest which 
former years of labor entitle him to. He is the owner of 125 acres 
of well improved land, with substantial and well-arranged build- 
ings, all of which he now rents out, Mr. Holden gives stanch sup- 
port to the Democratic party. He is a member of the Little Flat 
Rock Christian Church. A man of genial personality and genuine 
worth, he has long enjoyed the sincere regard and loyal esteem of 
all who know him. Mr. Holden gives his thoughtful attention to 
local civic affairs, and to general movements having to do with the 
betterment of conditions in his home county. He has held a com- 
mission as notary public since 1908, and in 1920 was the census 
enumerator for Noble township. 

ARTHUR BRADEN, whose excellent farm is located in Ripley 
township, Rush county, was born in Scott county, Kentucky, on the 
26th day of December, 1862, and he is the son of Harvey and Dorcas 
(Powell) Braden, both of whom were born and reared in Kentucky. 
The father, who followed farming during the most of his active years 
in the Blue Grass state, came' to Rush county in 1878. To him and 
his wife were born twelve children, of which number seven are living, 
namely: Wyatt, James, Tison, Irvin, Arthur, Hallie and Lillie. 
Arthur Braden received his educational training in the schools of 
Scott county, Kentucky, and Rush county, Indiana. After leaving 
school he turned his attention to farming, remaining on the home 
farm until 1886, when he went over into Fayette county, and began 
farming on his own account on rented land. Two years later he went 
to Muncie, Ind., where he was employed by a glass factory as a straw 
buyer. After being engaged in that work for one year, Mr. Braden 
went to Scott county, Kentucky, and for two years was engaged in 
farming there. Then, his wife having died, he returned to Rush 
county and worked as a farm hand. Subsequently he again married 
and on the death of his father-in-law he and his wife moved on the 
place with Mrs. Braden 's mother, where they continued until her 
death, October 29, 1909, when Mrs. Braden inherited the farm, com- 
prising 120 acres, where they now live. The farm is well equipped 
and improved in every respect, and here Mr. Braden is successfully 
carrying on general farming, and also gives considerable attention to 
stock raising, being one of the largest hog raisers in Rush county. He 
is energetic and progressive in his methods and has merited the repu- 
tation as one of the best farmers in his community. Mr. Braden has 
been twice married, first on September 9, 1886, to Belle Hardy, who 
was born in Scott county, Kentucky, the daughter of George and 
Rebecca ( Jarvis) Hardy. This union was blessed by one child, Alma 
D., born on May 17, 1888, who became the wife of' Albert J. Fields, 
an attorney at Bedford, Ind., and they have two children, Mary E. 
and Elizabeth. On June 9, 1890, Mr. Braden was married to Minnie 
14 



210 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

A. McCarty, who was born on December 1, 1865, in Rush county, 
where she was reared and educated. She is the daughter of John 
and Catherine (Rhoeds) McCarty. John McCarty was born in Lin- 
coln county, North Carolina, March 14, 1816. When but four years of 
age he was taken to Champaign county, Ohio, by his parents, who 
settled on a tract of woodland. Three years later the mother died 
and seven years later the father remarried. In about 1833 the parents 
came to Indiana and settled in Rush county, where the father spent 
the remainder of his life, dying when eighty-three years of age. John 
McCarty remained in Ohio a short time after the removal of his 
parents, but in 1835 he likewise came to Rush county and here he 
too spent the remainder of his days. He was twice married. On 
December 24, 1836, he married Eliza Siller, who was born in Mont- 
gomery county, Ohio, on February 2, 1818. She died on December 
14, 1863, and'on February 1, 1865, Mr. McCarty married Catherine 
Rhoeds, who was born in Montgomery county, Ohio, on October 10, 
1828, the daughter of George and Sarah (Ruby) Rhoeds. When John 
McCarty was first married his only capital was a pair of willing hands 
and a courageous determination to succeed, and so energetic and per- 
sistent were his efforts that he succeeded in accumulating an estate of 
120 acres of fine land in Rush county. His wife also owned forty 
acres of land in the same township. John McCarty died on December 
22, 1895. Arthur Braden is a Democrat in his political predilections 
and he is a member of Knightstown Lodge, No. 266, Knights of 
Pythias, at Knightstown. He is a member of the Baptist church, and 
Mrs. Braden is a member of the Christian church. Personally, Mr. 
Braden is a man of genial manner, obliging disposition and public 
spirited in his attitude towards all movements for the advancement 
of the general welfare. 

CHARLES H. FOUST, one of the substantial agriculturists and 
leading citizens of Ripley township, was born in that township, Jan- 
uary 22, 1858, a son of Henry and Rachel M. (Isgreeg) Foust, Henry 
Foust was born in Pennsylvania and as a young man came to Rush 
county, where he met and married Miss Isgreeg, a native of Ripley 
county. They spent the rest of their lives in Ripley township, where 
the father accumulated some 400 acres of land before his compara- 
tively early death when but forty-eight years of age. He was a man 
of great industry and native ability, and in his community was held 
in high esteem because of his high principles and strict integrity in 
matters of a business nature. He and his worthy wife were the par- 
ents of nine children, of whom five are living, Margaret, Josephine, 
Lucy, Columbus and Charles H. Charles H. Foust was educated in 
the public schools of Ripley township, where he attended the Stinger 
schoolhouse, and upon the completion of his studies began farming 
on the home place with his father. At the time of his marriage Mr. 
Foust built a house for himself and bride on the home farm and 
resided therein for some ten years. His mother then becoming 
enfeebled by the ill health of advanced age, Mr. Foust and his wife 
moved to her home and cared for her until her death. Since then Mr. 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 211 

Foust has continued to carry on general farming and stock raising 
operations on this land, which he has brought to a high state of pro- 
ductiveness. His crops are large and each year he ships about fifty 
head of hogs to the big markets. June 27, 1883, Mr. Foust married 
Mary Dieter, who was born in Adams county, Ohio, and resided there 
until her eighth year, when following the death of her father she was 
taken by her mother to Hancock county, Indiana, where she received 
her education in the public schools. Her parents were John C. and 
Mary J. (Smith) Dieter, the former a native of Strausburg, Germany, 
and the latter of Adams county, Ohio. Mr. Dieter immigrated to the 
United States in young manhood and followed farming in Adams 
county, Ohio, until his early death. He and his wife were the parents 
of six children, of whom three are living, John, Florence and Mary J. 
Mr. and Mrs. Foust have one son, Russell E., who was born on Sep- 
tember 18, 1891, and was educated in the public schools of Carthage, 
since which time lie has been assisting his father in the work of the 
home farm. He married Louva Roberts, of Carthage, and they have 
one child, Edna G., born on August 7, 1914. The family belongs to 
the Methodist church at Carthage, and the Fousts are Republicans in 
their political allegiance. 

RUSH W. TOMPKINS, proprietor of the leading general store 
at. Milroy, and well and favorably known to the citizens of that thriv- 
ing little city where he has resided all his life, was born at Milroy on 
June 6, 1876, a son of Nathan E. and Louisa (Crosby) Tompkins, 
both natives of Rush county. Nathan E. Tompkins was reared at 
Milroy. where he adopted a business career and was for many years 
a merchant at that place. He was known to the people of his com- 
munity as a man of the highest integrity and strictest business honor, 
and also won respect and esteem by reason of his neighborliness and 
good citizenship. He and his wife were the parents of three children, 
Edward F., Mary C. and Rush W. Rush "VV. Tompkins completed 
high school of Milroy, after leaving which he became associated with 
his father in the conduct of the store. At the end of six years, in 
1901, he and his brother, Edward F. Tompkins, bought out the 
father and continued the business at the same location for eleven 
years, at the end of which time they moved it to its present location. 
This is a modern ' establishment, and the leading general store of 
Milroy. A wide and well-chosen assortment of goods is carried and 
the industry and unfailing courtesy of the proprietors have combined 
to swell the trade and to make the business a flourishing one. Rush W- 
Tompkins is a stalwart Republican in his political views, and his 
religious relationship is with the Methodist church of Milroy. On 
January 23. 1902, he was united in marriage with Mary B. Winship, 
who was born in Rush county and who attended school at Richland. 
She is a daughter of William H. and Alice (Anderson) Winship, 
who passed their lives in farming in Rush county, where they accumu- 
lated 160 acres of land. They had three children, Lavone, Mary B. 
and Vera. Mr. and Mrs. Tompkins have one child, Alice Maurine, 
who was graduated with the class of 1921, Milroy high school. 



212 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

JOSEPH FEY, one of the up-to-date farmers and stock raisers 
of Richland township, who has worked hard for what he now pos- 
sesses and who among those who know him best bears a reputation 
for sound judgment, exercising the duties of citizenship in a con- 
scientious manner, was born in Franklin county, Indiana, on June 
7, 1872, and is the son of Adam and Sophia (Kutzendoffer) Fey, 
both of whom were born in Germany. Adam Fey came to the 
United States in young manhood and located in Franklin county, 
where his marriage occurred. He followed farming as a vocation, 
in which he was successful and became the owner of 120 acres of 
land. When he bought the land it was covered with timber, which 
he cleared off and broke the soil to cultivation. He improved the 
farm in every needful respect and made of it a good farm. To him 
and his wife eight children were born, namely: John, Benia, An- 
drew, Joseph, Edward, Albert, Mary and Carrie, Joseph being the 
only member of the family living in Rush county. Joseph Fey at- 
tended the schools of Franklin county, and on completing his 
studies obtained employment as a farm hand, his first pay being at 
the rate of $8 a month. He also clerked some in a store and as 
farmer and clerk he was employed until he was twenty-five years 
of age, when he rented a farm with his brother Andrew for two 
years in Franklin county. He then returned to the old home farm, 
which he operated until he was thirty years old. During the fol- 
lowing two years Mr. Fey rented a farm of 143 acres in Franklin 
and Rush counties, and at the end of that time returned to Frank- 
lin county, and for six years operated a rented farm of 133 acres. 
Then for five years he operated 160 acres of land in Rush county. 
In 1914 Mr. Fey bought 1 12 acres, comprising his present farm, and 
here he has given his efforts to make the farm one of the best in 
the locality, in which effort he has been notably successful. He 
keeps the farm well improved and carries on general farming and 
stock raising, feeding about a carload of cattle every year. Mr. 
Fey was married to Ella Marlin, the daughter of John and Caro- 
line Marlin. Politically he gives his support to the Republican 
party, and in everything pertaining to the welfare of the com- 
munity is deeply interested. 

ALVA NEWHOUSE, trustee of Jackson township, one of the 
substantial farmers and leading citizens of that township and recog- 
nized as one of the representative men of Rush county, was born in 
Jackson township on May 30. 1867, and is a son of George L. and 
Mary S. (Downey) Newhouse. These parents were both born, reared 
and educated in Rush county, and here Mr. Newhouse followed agri- 
cultural pursuits all his life, mostly in Jackson township, where he 
owned a home of twelve acres. To him and his wife were born two 
children, the subject of this sketch and a sister, Elizabeth. Alva 
Newhouse attended the district schools of his home community, and 
then spent a year at the normal school at Lebanon, Ohio. During 
the following five years he was engaged in teaching school in Jackson 




JOSEPH PEY 



HISTORY OF HUSH COUNTY 213 

township, presiding over the Downey, Norris and David schools. Mr. 
Newhouse then turned his attention to farming and for a time was 
engaged in the cultivation of rented land in Jackson township, but 
eventually he bought the place where he now lives in Jackson town- 
ship, and which comprises ninety-one acres of fine, tillable land, and 
he also cultivates 120 acres of land which his wife owns. He carries 
on general farming and stock raising and has met with a satisfactory 
measure of success. His place is well improved and its general appear- 
ance indicates the owner to be a man of good taste and sound judg- 
ment. On the 2d day of November, 1893, Mr. Newhouse was mar- 
ried to Audit P. Gartin, a native of Jackson township and the daugh- 
ter of John G. and Arkansas (Porter) Gartin, and they are the par- 
ents of two children, Elsie, who is the wife of John Ellison, a farmer 
in Center township, this county, and Herschel, who is unmarried and 
lives at home. Politically, Mr. Newhouse is a strong supporter of the 
Republican party and is the present efficient trustee of Jackson town- 
ship. He and his wife are earnest members of the Hannegan Chris- 
tian Church and give their support to every worthy benevolent move- 
ment or other enterprise for the advancement of the best interests of 
the communitv. 

WILLIAM RUSH LEE. In the death of William Rush Lee, 
Posey township, this county, lost one of its most valued citizens. 
Practically his entire life was spent here and during that period he 
took an active part in the general progress of the county. He took 
an intelligent interest in public affairs and gave his support to those 
movements which promised to promote the general welfare. Mr. Lee 
was a native son of Rush county, having been born in Posey town- 
ship on the 24th day of August, 1875, and he was the son of William 
H. and Catherine (Nelson) Lee. He received his elementary educa- 
tion in the common schools of his home neighborhood, and later 
attended two -terms at the normal school at Danville, Ind., becom- 
ing a symmetrically ediicated man and possessing a wide fund of 
general information. On completing his studies he turned his atten- 
tion to agriculture, working on the home farm until 1895, when he 
began to cultivate it on his own account. After his marriage, in 
1899, Mr. Lee moved onto another farm owned by his father, and 
there continued to reside up to the time of his death with the exception 
of two years' residence in Arlington. He was the owner of ninety 
acres of land, a part of which he inherited, and here he successfully 
carried on general farming and stock raising. He was up-to-date and 
progressive in his ideas and methods and was held in high regard by 
his fellow agriculturists. On August 9, 1899, Mr. Lee was married to 
Lorena Payne, who was born in Rushville township, Rush county, the 
daughter of Alvin and Martha (Megee) Payne, both of whom were 
also natives of Rush county, where Mr. Payne followed the vocation 
of farming all his active life. To Mr. and Mrs. Lee was born a daugh- 
ter, Alta May, born on June 3, 1901, who was graduated from the 
Arlington high school with the class of 1919. Politically, Mr. Lee gave 
his support to the Republican party, while, fraternally, he was a 



21 \ HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

member of the Modern Woodman of America, at Rushville. He was 
an earnest member of the Christian church at Arlington and gave 
his unreserved support to every worthy benevolent or charitable 
movement. Personally, he was genial and companionable and he 
enjoyed to a marked degree the friendship and good will of the 
entire community in which he had spent his life. 

JOHN T. REED, an enterprising farmer and substantial citizen 
of Rush county, who has resided for a number of years in Noble 
township, is a native son of the old Blue Grass state, having been 
born in Bracken county, Kentucky, on December 23, 1869. His par- 
ents, John S. and Minerva (Hamilton) Reed, were also natives of 
that state, the former having been born in Mason county and the 
latter in Bracken county. John S. Reed was reared to manhood and 
educated in Mason county, but about the time of attaining his major- 
ity he located in Bracken county, of which he was a resident during 
the remainder of his life. He followed the pursuit of agriculture, in 
which he was successful. He died in 1907 and his wife passed away 
in 1910. They were the parents of two children, William W. and 
John T. John T. Reed was reared under the parental roof and 
secured his education in the common schools of Bracken county. On 
leaving school he went to Petra, Ky., and engaged in the mer- 
cantile business, in which he was successfully engaged for twenty- 
four years. He then disposed of his interests there and came to 
Indiana, in December, 1914. Locating in Noble township. Rush 
county, he first bought 122 acres of land, which he has since increased 
to 162 acres. The place is well improved and here Mr. Reed carries 
on general farming operations and stock raising. He usually plants 
about, fifty acres to corn and the same amount to small grain, and he 
also devotes considerable attention to live stock, feeding about 1.50 
hogs annually. Mr. Reed is practical in his methods and a good man- 
ager of his business interests, having attained a gratifying measure 
of success as a farmer. Mr. Reed was married to May M. Henry, the 
daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William E. Henry, and they have one 
child, Helen Irene. After the death of his first wife, Mr. Reed was 
again married, Nelle Blanche (Mingle) Ruff, the daughter of Cor- 
nelius Mingle, becoming his wife. Politically, Mr. Reed gives his 
support to the Republican party, while his fraternal relations are 
with the Free and Accepted Masons, the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, the Improved Order of Red Men and the Haymakers. He 
and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church. 

EARL F. PRIEST. Rush county lias been singularly fortunate 
in securing for its public officials men of intelligence, ability and 
public spirit, who are governing its affairs in conscientious and ca- 
pable manner and whose services have contributed materially to the 
county's welfare and development. Among these men is Earl F. 
Priest, county assessor, and a member of a family which has been 
well and favorably known in the county since pioneer days. Mr. 
Priest, was born on May 30, 1876, in Anderson township, Rush 
county, a son of Ezekiel and Margaret S. (Hilligoss) Priest, natives of 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 215 

the same county. His grandfather, David Priest, was born in Ken- 
tucky, and as a young man migrated to Rush county and became one 
of the earliest settlers of Anderson township, where he passed the rest 
of his life in agricultural pursuits and established an excellent record 
for farming industry and good citizenship. Ezekiel Priest, after a 
public school education, entered upon his career as a farmer and 
stock buyer, callings which he followed throughout his life. He was 
the owner of a farm of eighty acres, and was widely known in this 
section as he bought stock all over the county. He died, highly 
respected, July 9, 1913. His wife had passed away on April 20, 1899. 
The only child of his parents, Earl F. Priest received his education in 
the public schools of Rushville and at Graham Academy, and as a 
youth took up farming on the home place. In addition to the home 
farm of eighty acres, he rented other land in the community, and gen- 
eral farming and stock feeding have formed his principal activities, 
Mr. Priest shipping about two cars of hogs to the markets each 
year. His operations have resulted successfully, and he is rightly 
accounted one of the substantial men of his locality. Mr. Priest has 
always taken an interest in public affairs and interested himself in 
civic movements. In 1914 he was the choice of his fellow-citizens for 
the post of assessor of Rushville township, and so capably did he dis- 
charge the duties of this position that in 1918 he was elected assessor 
of Rush county, a post which he retains. His record in this office 
has been a splendid one and his fellow-citizens have had no reason 
to regret of their choice. He is a stanch Republican in his political 
views, and as a fraternalist holds membership in the Knights of 
Pythias, the Improved Order of Red Men and the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. He has been a member of the Christian 
church since 1901. On December 1, 1897, Mr. Priest married Mary, 
daughter of Frank Cameron, of Rush county, and to this union there 
have been born four children, Donald, Lucile T., Loren and Earl 
Frank, Jr. 

BERRY RUSH, a well known building contractor at Mays, this 
county, was born in Union township, Rush county, on the 11th day 
of September, 1880, and is the son of Alonzo M. and Elmyra (Moffett) 
Rush. Alonzo M. Rush was also born and reared in Union township 
and received his education in the Fairview Academy. He then 
spent several years in the West, mainly with the object of seeing the 
country, and on his return to Rush county he engaged in the opera- 
tion of 220 acres of land in Union township, a part of which was 
given him by his father and part of which he bought. He was very 
successful in his business affairs and exerted a large influence in the 
locality. To his union with Elmyra Moffett, a native of Fayette 
county, Indiana, were born six children, of whom the living are Ora, 
Alta, Robertie and Berry, while the deceased are John and Grace. 
Berry Rush was reared under the parental rooftree and received his 
educational training in the Fairview school. He remained on the 
home farm with his father until his marriage, in 1902, when he rented 
100 acres of land in Union township and engaged in farming on his 



216 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

own acount for two years. He then moved to Mays, where he has since 
resided and where he has been busily engaged in carpentering and 
contracting. lie is an expert workman and has successfully handled a 
number of large contracts in this vicinity, earning a well-merited 
reputation as a careful and conscientious man in everything he does. 
In 1902 Mr. Rush was married to Myrtle E. Osborne, of Mays, and 
they are the parents of two children, Elmyra and Russell, both of 
whom are in school. Politically, Mr. Rush gives his support to the 
Democratic party, while, fraternally, he is a member of the Free and 
Accepted Masons and the Improved Order of Red Men. 

AUGUSTUS N. WILLIAMS. Since he came to Rush county, 
over a half century ago, the subject of this review has been a wit- 
ness of very important changes in his vicinity, and his reminis- 
cences of the former days here are most interesting and entertain- 
ing. Mr. Williams first saw the light of day in Franklin county, 
Indiana, on the 9th day of December, 1837. His parents, John P. 
and Nancy (Morris) Williams, were natives, respectively, of War- 
ren county and Butler county, Ohio. After their marriage, which 
occurred iu that state, they moved to Brookville, Ind., where 
Mr. Williams operated a pottery plant for four years. He then 
moved to Blooming Grove, Ind., where eight of his nine children 
grew up. From Blooming Grove he moved to Waterloo township, 
Fayette county, where he lived on a farm which he owned. After 
eight years of residence there he sold his farm and moved thence 
to Brookville, Ind., where he became engaged in pork packing and 
general grain business, buying and selling grain. He then moved 
to Wapello county, Iowa, where he again engaged in the pottery 
business. He died in that county on November 11, 1874. Of the 
nine children who blessed the union of himself and wife, the subject 
of this review is now the only survivor. Augustus N. Williams se- 
cured his educational training in the public schools of Brookville, 
Ind. About two years later he enlisted for service in the Civil 
war, serving faithfully for four years, during seven months and 
twenty days of which time he was confined in the notorious Ander- 
sonville prison pen. On his return from the army, Mr. Williams 
went west, stopping for about three months in the state of Iowa, 
but he decided that Indiana was good enough for him, and so he 
returned and located in Rush county. About that time he was 
married and at once rented a farm, to the operation of which he 
devoted himself during the ensuing twelve years. He then bought 
seventy-eight acres of land, which he still owns, but has increased 
his total holdings to 1S1 acres. Mr. Williams has put all the im- 
provements on the place, including buildiugs. fences, ditching, etc., 
and carries on a general system of farming. On June 24, 1866. Mr. 
Williams was married to Julia E. Osborn, who was born and reared 
in Franklin county, Indiana, the daughter of Larkin and Mary 
(Howell) Osborn. To this union were born seven children, of 
whom four are living, namely: Edwin F., who owns a fruit farm at 




AUGUSTUS X. WILLIAM! 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 217 

Marysville, Washington, married Martha Williams, and they have 
had two children, one of whom, Mary, is living; Cortez W., who is a 
traveling salesman, living in Ottumwa, Iowa, married Mabel Tuttle 
and they have one child, Dorothy ; Ethel B. became the wife of 
George N. Morris, a mechanic at Yazoo, Miss., and they have one 
child, George A. ; Culver B., of Rushville. Mrs. Julia Williams 
died on November 3, 1S85, and on August 3, 18S7, Mr. Williams 
was married to Minnie C. Caldwell, a native of Rushville township 
and the daughter of William II. and Sarah (McKeehan) Caldwell, 
the former a native of Boone county, Indiana, and the latter of 
Butler county, Ohio. Mr. Caldwell was a farmer by vocation and 
owned eighty-five acres of land in Rush county. To him and his 
wife were born nine children, of whom six are living, as follows : 
George A., Minnie C, Anna E., Mattie M., Mary R., William A., 
Harriette, Clara and Prank. By his second marriage, the subject 
became the father of two children, Augustus N. and Mary M 
Augustus N. Williams, who is in the civil service at Washington, 
D. C, was married to Murle Olive Wildman. Mr. Williams is a 
lifelong supporter of the Republican party, while his religious 
belief is that of the Methodist Episcopal church, holding member- 
ship in that society at Arlington. A man of kindly manner and 
friendly disposition, he has long enjoyed the friendship and es- 
teem of the entire community. 

W. A. NORRIS, who is the president of the New Salem State 
Bank and a scion of one of Rush county's old pioneer families, 
has spent his entire life within the borders of the county, using 
his influence wherever possible for the promotion of enterprises cal- 
culated to be a lasting benefit to his fellow men. He was born on the 
farm in Noble township where he now lives, on October 7, 1858, and 
is the son of Benjamin F. and Charlotte (Chandler) Norris, both of 
whom were natives of Kentucky, the mother having been born and 
reared in Bracken county. Benjamin F. Norris was a son of Capt. 
Benjamin and Priscilla Norris, natives of Kentucky who emigrated 
to Rush county in an early day. In the War of 1812 Capt. Benjamin 
Norris was in command of a gunboat, in which capacity he served 
throughout that conflict. Benjamin F. Norris was but twelve years 
of age when he was brought to Rush county by his parents, who 
settled in Noble township and bought eighty acres of land. Here he 
grew to manhood and secured his education in the common schools 
of the neighborhood. He followed the vocation of farming through- 
out his life and met with a very gratifying measure of success, becom- 
ing the owner of 1,200 acres of excellent farm land. Of this, he cul- 
tivated about 640 acres, devoting his efforts to a general line of farm- 
ing and stock raising. He gave special attention to the raising of 
mules, always having a herd of them on his place, and he also feeds 
large numbers of cattle and hogs. To him and his wife were born 
ten children, five of whom are now living, namely : Lenora, Charles, 
W. A., Alice and Lotta. W. A. Norris attended the public schools of 



218 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Noble township and gave his father assistance in the operation of the 
home farm, remaining with him until his death. After the death of 
the father, the subject continued to farm on his own account, and he 
has been more than ordinarily successful as an agriculturist. He is 
cultivating 310 acres of land, all of which is located in Noble town- 
ship, and is devoting his time and energies to general farming and 
stock raising. He is a successful breeder of Shorthorn cattle and 
feeds from 300 to 400 head of hogs each year. He has put many 
good improvements on his farm and it is now one of the most up-to- 
date farms in this section of the county. In 1886 Mr. Norris was 
married to Ora May McMillin, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John 
T. McMillin, and they have become the parents of five children, 
namely: Walter, who married Mabel Myers and has three children. 
"William, Harold and Richard; Lowell, who married Edith King and 
has two children, Mary and Paul ; Helen, wife of Loren Martin ; Ben 
F. and Rema May. Mr. Norris and his family are members of the 
Little Flat Rock Christian Church, of which Mr. Norris is the present 
treasurer. Politically, he is a Republican. Mr. Norris has long had 
at interest the welfare of his section of the county and took an active 
part in the organization of the New Salem State Bank, of which he 
was elected president and is still serving in that capacity. 

THOMAS J. ADDISON, who died at Iiis home in this county in 
the fall of 1916, was an honored veteran of the Civil war and had 
labored diligently and well as an agriculturist of Hancock and Rush 
counties for many years. Mr. Addison was born in Shelby county, 
Indiana, November 19, 1844, a son of Thomas and Catherine (Smith) 
Addison, the former a native of North Carolina and the latter of 
Virginia. Thomas J. Addison was educated in the rural districts 
of Shelby county, and on leaving school, his parents being agricultural 
people, took up farming in association with his father on the home 
place. When but nineteen years of age he enlisted, February 13, 
1864, in the Nineteenth regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry, under 
Capt. Richard T. Henderson, and had his baptism of fire in one of 
the most terrible struggles of the Civil war, the battle of the Wilder- 
ness. The Nineteenth and Twentieth Indiana regiments were so 
reduced by casualties that the two were subsequently combined, and 
Mr. Addison continued to serve with the reconstructed organization 
until the close of the war, receiving his honorable discharge on July 
12, 1865. On his return from military service, Mr. Addison once 
more took up farming, securing employment as a farm hand. When 
he had accumulated some small capital, he bought a forty-acre tract. 
and from that time forward his career was one of steadily increasing 
success. The summer before his death he gave to each of his five 
children a tract of forty acres, and still at the time of his death, 
October 19, 1916, owned 147 acres, now the property of his widow, 
who survives him and makes her home at Carthage. Mr. Addison was 
married on August 11, 1866, to Elizabeth Cathon and they became 
the parents of five children, all of whom survive : William A., a travel- 
ing salesman living at Indianapolis, Ind., who married Crilla Small 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 219 

and has one child, Ruby, the wife of Leonard Hark; Delphina C, 
the wife of Dayton H. Gates, a farmer of Hancock county; Orland F., 
a farmer of Hancock county, who married Mary A. Heller and has 
four children, Paul P., Elizabeth W., William B., and Thomas M.; 
Charles T., a farmer of Rush county, who married Beulah Collins, and 
has three children, Delphina M., Mary M., and Eli P. ; and Ruth A., 
who married Thomas Lee, a farmer of Rush county, and has two chil- 
dren, Mabel K. and Thomas Harlan. Mr. Addison never lost his inter- 
est in his old comrades who had worn the blue, and was a popular 
member of the Grand Army of the Republic. He was a faithful mem- 
ber of the Friends Meeting at Walnut Ridge. He was appreciated for 
his many stable and reliable traits of character, for his unceasing 
devotion to the best interests of the community, and for the example 
which his life offered of ability, perseverance and ultimate success. 
EDGAR V. RUBY, the owner and operator of a well-improved 
farm in the Carthage locality of Ripley township, was born in that 
township, February 14, 1870, a son of Jacob and Elizabeth (Stouder) 
Ruby, and a grandson of Jacob and Mary Ruby. Jacob Ruby the 
elder was born in the East, and as a young man migrated to the new 
country opening up in Rush county, where he secured 160 acres of 
land in Center township from the Government. On this land he did 
the preliminary work of clearing and cultivation, and subsequently 
passed an honorable career in the pursuits of the husbandman. He 
and his wife were the parents of five children. Jacob Ruby, the 
father of Edgar V., was born in Center township, Rush county, and 
was given the advantages of a public school education. His early 
training was acquired under the teaching of his father, and when 
he entered upon his independent career he was fully prepared to 
carry on farming in a successful manner. This was proven in his 
able management and operation of the 100-acre farm which he pur- 
chased in Ripley township, subsequently buying an eighty acre tract, 
and on which he spent the rest of a successful and honorable career. 
He and his wife were the parents of four children; Martha, who 
married Greeley Ewing, an agriculturist of Rush county; Frances, 
who married John Wolf, an agriculturist of Wayne county, Indiana ; 
Jesse L., engaged in farming in Rush county, who married Grace 
Stephens, of Ripley township ; and Edgar V. The eldest of his par- 
ents ' children, Edgar V. Ruby acquired his education in Ripley town- 
ship, where he attended the Stinger schoolhouse, and on completing 
his studies took up farming with his father. On the attainment of his 
majority, he rented 220 acres of land, which he farmed for several 
years, subsequently buying a tract of forty acres, which was his 
home until 1916. At that time he bought; the seventy-acre farm which 
forms his present field of activity, and on which he has made numer- 
ous improvements. He carries on general farming and stock raising, 
and in both departments has achieved marked success. On September 
30, 1891, Mr. Ruby married Mary E. Butler, a native of Ripley town- 
ship, daughter of Levi and Martha (Taylor) Butler. To this union 
there have been born three children : Leonard E., a graduate of Car- 



220 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

thage high school and of the mechanical engineering department 
of Purdue University ; Charles L., a graduate of Carthage high school, 
now assisting his father on the home farm; and Mary M., who is 
attending school. Mr. Ruby is a member of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows at Carthage, and in politics is a Prohibitionist. With his 
family, he belongs to the Methodist church. 

GEORGE N. SPILMAN, a successful farmer of Noble town- 
ship and who has been in a very true sense the master of his own 
fortune, showing in his life such attributes of character as entitle 
him to the regard of all, was born in Decatur county, Indiaua, on 
June 7, 1861, and is the son of William and Elizabeth (Myers) 
Spilman, both of whom were born in Kentucky. William Spilman 
was brought to Indiana with his parents when but a boy, the fam- 
ily settling in Decatur county, where he was educated and reared 
to manhood. He followed the vocation of farming all his active 
years, or up to the time of his death, which occurred in 1874. He 
was survived many years by his w T idow, who passed away in 1898. 
They were the parents of ten children, of which number four are 
now living, namely: Mary, Elizabeth, Rebecca and George N. The 
subject of this review secured his educational training in the com- 
mon schools of Decatur county, following which he obtained em- 
ployment as a farm hand, being so occupied up to the time of his 
marriage. He then rented and moved onto a farm in Boone county, 
Indiana, where he remained three years, moving at the end of that 
period to a rented farm in Decatur county. In 1895 Mr. Spilman 
came to Rush county and operated rented land for about seven 
years, going then to Blackford county, Indiana, where he bought 
a farm, to the cultivation of which he devoted himself for a year, 
and then he came back to Rush county and bought the farm in 
Noble township, on which he now lives. The tract at that time 
comprising eighty acres, on which was a small unpretentious cot- 
tage, which he replaced with a spacious and comfortable home and 
made other permanent and substantial improvements on the place. 
He has been prospered in the operation of this farm, and has in- 
creased his holdings there to 140 acres. Mr. Spilman has always 
carried on general farming and stock raising and is entitled to a 
large meed of credit for what he has accomplished, for he started 
out in boyhood without funds or influential friends, and solely by 
his own exertions and good management he has accumulated what 
he posseses today. Mr. Spilman was married to Etta Dugan, the 
daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Jeremiah Dugan, and to them have been 
born four children, namely: Earl, who is a veteran of the World 
War, having enlisted with Company B, from this county, but was 
later transferred to the Seventh regiment of Field Artillery, of the 
First Division, with which he took part in the famous engagements 
at Argonne, St. Mihiel and Soissons, and was poisoned by drinking 
gassed water; Una became the wife of Newton Gruell and they 
have two children, Lowell and Harold ; Hubert married Jessie 




GEORGE X. SPILMAN 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 221 

Mock, who died in February, 1918, leaving one child, Carlos; Vernon 
married Mabel Ilolden and they have a son, Cecil. Mr. Spilman 
gives his support to the Democratic party. He is a member of the 
Methodist Protestant church at New Salem and has served in prac- 
tically all the offices of that society, being at the present time 
trustee and steward. He is also a member of the advisory board. 
Mrs. Spilman also was born in Decatur county, of which county her 
father also was a native, a member of one of the old families down 
there. Her mother was born in the neighboring county of Frank- 
lin, a member of a pioneer family there. Jeremiah Dugan was a 
substantial farmer in Decatur county, and his last days were spent 
there. He and his wife had four children, those besides Mrs. Spil- 
man being Clara, Rosa and Frona. 

IRA A. SOMBRVILLE, a well-to-do retired farmer of Anderson 
township, this county, now living at Milroy, where he has made his 
home for the past ten years or more but who still retains the fine 
farm which he developed during his years of residence on the same, 
is a native son of Rush county, a member of one of the old families 
in the southern part of the county, and has lived here all his life, 
doing well his part in the general development of the section in which 
he has so long resided. He was born on a farm in Anderson township 
on November 13, 1855, son of William A. and Eliza (Hood) Somer- 
ville, further mention of whom is made elsewhere in this volume of 
biographies relating to the old families of Rush county. William A. 
Somerville was one of the most, substantial farmers of his neighbor- 
hood, at one time the owner of 300 acres of excellent land, and devel- 
oped a fine property. He died in August 15, 1909, in his ninetieth 
year. His wife had preceded him to the grave nearly ten years, her 
death having occurred in 1900, in her eighty-fourth year, and both left 
good memories in the community which had so long known and 
honored them. Reared on the home farm, Ira A. Somerville 
grew up under the thoughtful direction of his father to be an 
excellent farmer and stock raiser. He completed his schooling 
in the Milroy high school and in the old Richland Academy and 
then continued on the home farm, helpful in the labors of 
developing the same. Some time after his marriage he bought 
the farm of 215 acres which he still owns in Anderson town- 
ship and there established his home, remaining there until after his 
wife's death in 1909 when he retired from the farm and moved to 
Milroy, where he has since resided and where he is very pleasantly and 
very comfortably situated. Mr. Somerville is a Republican of life 
long standing and has ever taken a good citizen's interest in local 
political affairs, but has not been a seeker after office. He is a 
member of the Methodist church at Milroy and has served that con- 
gregation as a member of the board of stewards. In his fraternal 
relations he is affiliated with the local lodges of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias and the Red Men and in 
the affairs of these several organizations has long manifested a warm 
interest. Mr. Somerville has been twice married. In 1876 he was 



222 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

united in marriage to Elizabeth E. Crawford, daughter of R. B. and 
Mary A. (Mitchell) Crawford, and to this union one child was born, a 
son, Pearl C. Mrs. Elizabeth Somerville died on May 23, 1878, and 
in 1880 Mr. Somerville married Malinda Somerville, who was born in 
Illinois, daughter of Alexander and Rosa (Cochran) Somerville, and 
to that union one child was born, Albert Alexander, who is now vice- 
president of the Vanderbilt Rubber Company of New York City. 
Pearl .C. Somerville was graduated from DePauw University in 1900 
and now occupies the chair of English in Wesleyan College at Bloom- 
ington, Illinois. He married LaRose Culiver and has four children, 
Guinevere, Merlin, Gareth and Alfred Alexander. Albert A. Somer- 
ville married Emma Louise Rapelye and has two sons, Norman Alex- 
ander and Marion Lynn. 

CHARLES M. GRUELL, one of the general farmers and stock- 
raisers of Noble township, is recognized as a substantial citizen of 
Rush county. He was born in Union township, October 4. 1859, son 
of Isaac and Sarah (Young) Gruell, both of whom were born near 
Waterloo, Ind. When he was eight years old Isaac Gruell was 
brought to Rush county by his parents who settled in the vicinity of 
Rushville, and there he was reared to manhood, receiving his educa- 
tional training in the local schools. His life was spent at Rushville 
and in Union township, and he devoted himself to farming and veter- 
inary work. Although he did not invest in a farm of his own, he 
conducted lai'ge farming properties which he rented, and was success- 
ful in his undertakings. He was a son of Atica and Rachel Gruell, the 
former of whom opened a tannery at Rushville about 1836 and con- 
ducted it for a number of years. Isaac Gruell and his wife had eleven 
children, namely: William, Clayburn, Jennie, Harvina, Charles M., 
George W., Lincoln, Samuel, Joseph, Newton and Albert, of whom the 
following survive, George, Lincoln, Samuel, Newton, Charles M., 
Jennie and Harvina. Charles M. Gruell attended the schools of 
Union and Noble townships, and as soon as he was old enough began 
assisting his father in his farming. Later he began farming for 
himself in Richland township, renting land there for twenty-seven 
years, after which he moved to Noble township and spent three years 
on rented land. For the next year he was in Union township, and 
then bought a farm of seventy-two acres in Noble township, adding to 
his holdings until he now has 397 acres, all of which is in Noble town- 
ship. All his life he has been engaged in general farming and stock- 
raising and has become very expert in both lines. On August 24, 
1882, Mr. Gruell was married to Catherine D., daughter of Thomas 
N. and Charlotte (Thompson) Smith, who was born in Noble town- 
ship, as were both of her parents. They were reared and married 
in Noble township, but a year after their marriage moved to Union 
township where they remained until claimed by death. Mr. Smith 
was a farmer and stockdealer all of his life, owning over 600 acres of 
land in Union. Noble and Richland townships and being one of the 
wealthy men of the county. Mr. and Mrs. Smith had three children: 
Ilattie, Mis. Gruell and one who is now deceased. The children born 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 223 

to Mr. and Mrs. Gruell are as follows : Hattie, Newton, Clem, Lottie, 
Josephine, deceased, Alice and Harvina. Hattie Gruell married 
Louis Wilson and they had seven children born to them, namely : 
Owen (deceased), Merle, Thelrna, Carl, Monroe, Lowell and Roland. 
Mr. "Wilson died, and Mrs. Wilson was later married to James F. 
Wilson and they have had two children, Donald and Robert. Newton 
Gruell married Una Spilman and they have two children, Lowell and 
Harold. Clem Gruell married Olive Beaver and has two children, 
Lorene and Thomas N. Lottie Gruell married Ernest Crim and has 
one child, Oletha. Alice Gruell married Bert West. Harvina Gruell 
married Glenn Miller and has one daughter, Catherine. Mr. Gruell 
belongs to the Methodist Protestant church at New Salem, and is held 
in high esteem in that congregation as he is elsewhere. In politics he 
is a Republican, but has never come before the public for office, being 
fully occupied with his private affairs. 

JESSE I. LEFFORGE, who labored so long and so effectively 
as an agriculturist in Richland township, died more than six years 
ago, but his memory is still kept green in the hearts of the many who 
knew him and appreciated his sterling cpialities, and he is still remem- 
bered as a man of the highest principles and strictest integrity. Mr. 
Lefforge was born in Richland township, Rush county, October 19, 
1855, a son of Isaac and Florinda (Brown) Lefforge. Isaac Lefforge 
was born October 17, 1819, in Franklin county, Indiana, and as a 
child of three years was brought by his parents to Rush county, where 
he spent the remainder of his life. He married Florinda Brown, who 
was born May 3, 1825, in Campbell county, Kentucky, and they 
became the parents of eight children : Mary, Philander and Lewis, who 
survive ; Thomas and Jesse I, deceased, and three who died in infancy. 
Jesse I. Lefforge was educated in the country schools of Richland 
township and remained on the home farm as his father's associate 
until his marriage at the age of twenty-four years, when he began 
farming on his own account as a renter, which was his status for four 
years, at the end of which time he and Mrs. Lefforge moved to a farm 
of ninety-three acres which had been given them by her father. This 
property continued to be their home for sixteen years, after which 
they removed to another property, on which they lived until Mr. 
Lefforge 's death, February 14, 1915. At that time, with his wife, he 
was the owner of 444 acres of good land, and was known as one of the 
substantial agriculturists of his locality. Mr. Lefforge was married 
October 19, 1879, to Luella Miller, who was born in Richland town- 
ship and educated in that locality, a daughter of Charles S. and Sarah 
A. (Simmonds) Miller, natives of Franklin county, Indiana. Mr. 
Miller was a lifelong farmer of Richland township, Rush county, and 
at one time was the owner of 500 acres of land. He and his wife had 
seven children, of whom Mrs. Lefforge is the only survivor, the others 
being George W., James T., William A., Abraham L. and two who 
died in infancy. Mr. and Mrs. Lefforge had no children. Since 1920 
Mrs. Lefforge has made her home at Rushville, where she occupies a 
pleasant and comfortable residence at 717 Perkins street. She belongs 



224 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

to the church of the United Brethren in Christ, of which church her 
husband was also a member. In politics Mr. Lefforge was a 
Republican. 

WILLIAM B. MARTIN, whose life is an illustration of the 
possible control over early limitations and of the wise utilization 
of ordinary opportunities, his career extending from the day of 
humble beginnings to his present place of prominence in his commu- 
nity, as the owner of 225 acres of valuable land in Anderson town- 
ship, was born near Spring Hill, Decatur county, Indiana, April 
25, 1855, a son of James II. and Mary A. (Munns) Martin, natives 
of Kentucky, who were married in Decatur county. James H. Mar- 
tin, a farmer all his life, died when his son, William B., was an in- 
fant, leaving his widow with five children, of whom three are now 
living : Nancy, James H. and William B. Mrs. Martin survived un- 
til 1912. Her father was born in England and as a young man came 
to the United States and settled in Kentucky, where he married a 
native of that state. Later he moved to Decatur county, Indiana, 
where he rounded out a long, honorable and useful career in the pur- 
suits of agriculture. William B. Martin received his education in the 
district school in Fugit township, Decatur county, after leaving 
which he started to work on the farm of his maternal grandfather, 
with whom he had lived since the death of his father. He was thus 
associated with the elder man until he reached the age of twenty- 
one years, at which time the grandfather died. However, Mr. Mar- 
tin remained on the farm with his mother, and he and his brother, 
James H., rented land and bought other property and worked 
successfully in the development of a good estate. This partnership 
continued until James H. Martin was married, at which time it 
was mutually dissolved and William B. Martin started farming on 
his own account. His first venture was a modest one, consisting of 
operations on seventeen acres of land, and this small tract formed 
the nucleus for his present estate of 225 acres, located in Rush and 
Decatur counties. Mr. Martin has done much work in the way of 
development and improvement and his property shows the pres- 
ence of able management and modern, enlightened views. Of more 
recent years he has given up much of the hard work that marked 
his earlier struggles, but still maintains supervision over his land 
and directs the operations being carried on in the line of general 
farming and the raising of live stock. In his political allegiance 
Mr. Martin supports the Democratic party. His religious connec- 
tion is with the Methodist Episcopal church at Milroy. 

JOSEPH F. BOWEN, M. D., of Occident, this county, whose 
name for many years has been a household word in the northern part 
of the county and where he is known as an able, reliable and progres- 
sive physician, was born in Center township, this county, on Decem- 
ber 22, 1870, and is the son of C. J. and Sarah A. (Collins) Bowen, the 
former a native of Kentucky. The subject secured his elemental 
education in the Center school, Center township and then entered the 




WILLIAM B. MARTIN 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 225 

Danville Normal School, where he spent two years in preparation for 
teaching. He then returned home and during the following three 
years he was employed as teacher at the Ball and Demmick schools 
in Center township. Then, having determined to make the practice of 
medicine his life work, he matriculated in the Medical College of 
Indiana, from which he was graduated on March 31, 1897, with the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine. Doctor Bowen at once located in 
Occident and has been actively engaged in the practice of his profes- 
sion there ever since. He has firmly established himself in his profes- 
sion and has won the confidence and esteem of the people and his pro- 
fessional brethren, for he possesses the natural endowments that go 
to make the successful physician. On September 12, 1894, Doctor 
Bowen was married to Minnie A. Hackleman, who was born and 
reared in Center township, the daughter of John P. and Minerva A. 
(Garmon) Hackleman, the former a native of Ripley township and 
the latter of Jackson township. Mr. Hackleman followed farming all 
his active life, being the owner of 150 acres of land in Center town- 
ship, of which township he served as trustee for one term. To him 
and his wife were born five children, four of whom are living, namely : 
Edward, Minnie, Wallace and Arthur; Belle died at the age of 
sixteen years. Doctor and Mrs. Bowen have three children. Luva, 
Bert V. and Raymond F., all of whom are at home. Fraternally, the 
Doctor is a member of the Free and Accepted Masons, belonging to the 
blue lodge, council and chapter at Rushville; to the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias. His son Bert is 
also a member of the Masonic and Odd Fellows orders at Rushville. 
The Doctor is a member of the Rush County Medical Society and the 
Indiana State Medical Society. His wife is a member of the Little 
Blue River Baptist Church. He is a man of sociable nature, straight- 
forward, obliging and unassuming. 

ALBERT N. McMICHAEL, a well known farmer of Posey town- 
ship who has by his energy and practical activity won the respect and 
confidence of the community in which he resides, was born in Posey 
township on the 27th day of October, 1864. and is the son of William 
J. and Sarah (Worth) McMichael, both of whom were born, reared 
and educated in Rush county, where the father followed fanning 
throughout his active life. Of the seven children who blessed the 
union of himself and wife, six are living, namely : William W., 
Albert N, Ernest, Eva, Alice and Myrtle. Albert N. McMichael 
received his educational training in the Berrill school house in Rush- 
ville township, and after completing his schooling he assisted in the 
work of the home farm until his marriage, in 1892, when he rented 
the place where he now lives. After renting the farm for twenty -two 
years, Mr. McMichael bought the place and since made a number of 
important improvements, including a new house, and the farm now 
presents a very attractive appearance. It consists of 100 acres of fine 
land, which is devoted to the crops common to this section of the 
country. Mr. McMichael is up-to-date and practical in his methods 
and enjovs a high reputation as an enterprising and successful agri- 
15 



228 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

married Luticia Skillman, a native of Rush county; Effie who became 
the wife of Leroy Divelbiss, of Rush county, and has four children, 
Bernard, Gilbert, Myrtle and Ruby; Edward (deceased), who was 
born on October 9, 1868, received his education in the schools of Center 
township, and then engaged in teaching school, in addition to which 
he also farmed; he married Mrs. Anna J. (Clark) Rhodes and they 
had one child, Marie, and Amy, who died aged twenty months. Mr. 
Rhodes has been true to his conscience and his judgment in every 
relation of life, having so lived as to receive the confidence and respect 
of the entire community, where his influence has ever been given in 
support of those things which make for the general welfare. 

DARIUS PATTERSON, a substantial landowner of Richland 
township, now living retired in his comfortable country home there, 
and whose active career was one of self-made manhood, in which 
he rose from the status of a renter to the owner of a valuable prop- 
erty solely through the medium of his own efforts, was born in 
Bracken county, Kentucky, September 13, 1848, a son of Thompson 
and Rebecca (Day) Patterson, natives of the same county. In his 
youth, Thompson Patterson mastered the trade of blacksmith, which 
he followed in Kentucky until 1852. In that year he brought his 
wife and family to Indiana, locating at Clarksburg, Decatur county, 
where he conducted a blacksmith shop for four years, coming then 
to Rush county and purchasing a farm of 121 acres. On this land 
he built a shop, and for several years followed his trade in con- 
junction with his farming activities, but eventually gave up black- 
smithing entirely and devoted himself to farming, which enabled 
him to increase his holdings to 176 acres. He and his wife were 
the parents of eight children, of whom five are now living, Thomp- 
son, Lovell, Edward, Darius and Maria. Darius Patterson spent 
his boyhood on the home farm and secured his education at the 
Butler schoolhouse in Richland township. His schooling completed, 
he obtained employment on neighboring farms as a hand, and was 
thus engaged, as well as on the home farm, until he reached the 
age of twenty-three years, when he was married. Desiring a prop- 
erty of his own, and not being possessed of the means of buying 
one, he rented a property in Richland township, and for ten years 
continued to operate this land, but in 1901 was able to buy a farm 
and moved to the one which he now owns. By good management 
and wise investment he increased his holdings to 256 acres, all in 
Richland township, and in 1913 retired from active labor. Since 
then he has lived quietly in his comfortable home, enjoying the 
fruits of his earlier years of toil. During the active part of his 
career Mr. Patterson was justly considered one of the able farmers 
and stock raisers of his locality. A man of modern and progressive 
inclinations, the improvements on his property are of the best, and 
he is always willing to support good movements which promise to 
make for substantial advancement. On October 26, 1871, Darius 
Patterson married Mary Irene Ilite, daughter of William N. and 




DAK ITS PATTERSON 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 229 

Sarah (Fisher) Hite, and a member of one of the old and honored 
pioneer families of Richland township. To this union there have 
been born three children: Normal V., who married Lillie Cloud, 
and has seven children, Howard, Mary, Ruth, Stanley, Willard, 
Whitmer and Maurice; Lola M., who married John S. Davis and 
has one child, Laverne; and Cora L., who married Cliff Winship 
and has one child, Miriam. Mrs. Patterson is a member of the 
Christian church, and the children have been reared in that faith. 
Mr. Patterson is a Democrat, but has not sought official honors. 

OLIVER M. SILER, a well-known farmer of Jackson township, 
and formerly and for six years trustee of that township, is a 
native son of Rush county, having been born in Ripley township, 
on the 11th day of October, 1866, and he is the son of Peter and 
Prances (Herkless) Siler, both of whom also were natives of Ripley 
township, where the father followed the vocation of farming. Peter 
Siler was twice married. By his union with Frances Herkless he had 
two sons, the subject of this sketch and James P., the latter of whom 
died on his eighteenth birthday. By his second wife, Emma Miller, 
he had four children, Ora, Thomas, Oma and Boyd. The subject of 
this sketch received his educational training in the schools of Ripley 
township, including the Carthage school and Earnest school. On 
completing his schooling Mr. Siler secured employment as a farm hand 
and was so employed for about twenty-five years. He then began 
farming on his own account, buying forty acres of land in Ripley 
township. In addition to this he also cultivated and lived on eighty 
additional acres which he rented. Seven years later he sold the forty- 
acre tract and moved to Jackson township, where he bought the place 
on which he now lives. His first purchase was ninety-one acres, to 
which he added eighty-four acres by a later purchase. Mr. Siler 
removed to Jackson township in 1900 and gave personal direction to 
the cultivation of his land until 1918, when he began to rent it out. 
At the same time he rented eighty-seven acres of land from his mother- 
in-law, which he is now engaged in farming with success. He is thor- 
oughly practical and up-to-date in his methods and results have 
demonstrated the wisdom of his judgment. On April 20, 1890, Mr. 
Siler was married to Maude Kirkpatrick, who was born on the place 
where they now live. She is the daughter of John W. and Margaret 
E. (Dill) Kirkpatrick, both of whom were natives of Rush county, 
where Mr. Kirkpatrick followed farming and stock buying for a num- 
ber of years. They became the parents of the following children : 
Sylvester, Pendleton H., Mrs. Alice Smith, Mrs. Flora B. Powell and 
Mrs. Siler. Mr. and Mrs. Siler are members of the Hannegan Chris- 
tian church. Fraternally, Mr. Siler is a member of Phoenix Lodge, 
No. 62, Free and Accepted Masons, and Lodge No. 35, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, at Rushville. Politically, he gives his active 
support to the Democratic party and during the six-year period, 1914- 
20, he rendered efficient service as trustee of Jackson township. A 
man of pleasing address and obliging manner, he has won and 
retains a host of friends throughout his community. 



230 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

W. D. MARTIN, a well-known farmer and swine breeder of An- 
derson township, is a member of one of Rush county's pioneer families, 
his grandfather, James Martin, having come up here from Kentucky 
as a young man and established himself here in the early days. Some 
time after coming here James Martin married Mary Ann Muus, who 
also was born in Kentucky, and after his marriage settled on a farm in 
Anderson township where he spent the rest of his life, one of the 
useful pioneers of that neighborhood. John D. Martin, one of the 
sons of this pioneer pair, grew to manhood on that farm and in turn 
became a farmer on his own account. He married Mary F. VanHook 
and for some years afterward continued to make his home in Anderson 
township, living on a rented farm, and then moved over into Decatur 
county where he rented a farm in Clinton township and in that town- 
ship spent the rest of his life, his death occurring there in 1887. Of 
the six children born to John D. Martin and wife W. D. Martin, the 
subject of this sketch, was the third in order of birth. Four of these 
children are still living, those besides W. D. being Janie, Frank and 
Anna. W. D. Martin was but a child when his parents moved from 
here to Decatur county and in the latter county he received his school- 
ing and grew to manhood. He was but eight years of age when his 
father died and thus early began to assume mature responsibilities in 
connection with the operation of the farm, remaining on the home 
farm, he and his brother carrying on the work of the same until after 
his marriage when he rented a farm and began operations on his own 
account and has so continued, at present carving on operations on a 
400-acre farm in Anderson township, on which, besides his general 
farming operations he is extensively engaged in the breeding of big 
type Poland China hogs, feeding about 300 head a year, and is doing 
well. It was in 1903 that W. D. Martin was united in marriage to Hat- 
tie Tompkins, who was born in this county, daughter of Ira and Arkie 
(Richey) Tompkins, of Anderson township, and to this union one 
child was born, a son, Earl Thornton. Mrs. Martin died on March 24, 
1921. Mr. Martin is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church and 
has ever given his interested attention to the work of the church, 
being one of the stewards of the same. In his political affiliation he 
is a Democrat and in his fraternal affiliations is connected with the 
local lodges of the Masons and the Knights of Pythias, and has been 
"through the chairs" in the latter lodge. 

ELIJAH A. KIRKPATRICK, one of the public-spirited citizens 
of Posey township, was born in Jackson township, Rush county, on 
the 15th day of May, 1849, and is the son of William and Susannah 
(Corbin) Kirkpatrick, the former a native of Kentucky and the 
latter of Fayette county, Indiana. Mr. Kirkpatrick came to Rush 
county in young manhood and located in Jackson township, where he 
followed farming during the remaining years of his life, becoming 
the owner of two hundred and seventy-nine acres of land in that 
township. Of the ten children who were born to him and his wife. 
but three are now living, namely: Hannah G., Martha J. and Elijah 
A. Elijah A. Kirkpatrick received his educational training in the 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 231 

Osborne school, and he remained on the home place until his marriage, 
in 1870, when he rented a tract of land from his father and began 
farming operations on his own account After cultivating rented 
land for about fifteen years, Mr. Kirkpatrick bought a forty-acre 
farm, following which he successively bought and sold several farms 
until 1892, when he bought and located on the farm where he now 
lives and where he has since made many splendid improvements, the 
present appearance of the place indicating him to be a man of good 
ideas and practical methods. He carries on general farming opera- 
tions, and also deals extensively in live stock, buying and selling hogs 
and cattle, in which he has been successful. On February 6, 1870, 
Mr. Kirkpatrick was married to Laura A. Leisure, a native of Jackson 
township, Rush county, the daughter of Henry and Elsie Leisure. To 
their union were born two children, Owen E. and D. Claude, both of 
whom are deceased. Owen E. Kirkpatrick, who was a merchant in 
Hancock county, Indiana, married Katie Humphrey and they had two 
children, Glenn and Wilbur. D. Claude Kirkpatrick, who conducted 
a real estate and insurance business in Lincoln, Nebraska, married 
Nellie Frakes and they had two children, Alta and an infant, both 
deceased. Mrs. Laura Kirkpatrick died on April 6, 1888, and on 
November 8, 1891, Mr. Kirkpatrick was married to Angie Cox, who 
was born and reared in Hancock county, Indiana, the daughter of 
Riley and Sarah (Leary) Cox, both of whom were also natives of 
Hancock county, where Mr. Cox followed the vocation of farming. 
He and his wife were the parents of four children, three of whom are 
living, Martha, Stella and Angie. Politically, Mr. Kirkpatrick gives 
his support to the Democratic party. He is a member of the Chris- 
tian church, while Mrs. Kirkpatrick is a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church, to both of which societies they give liberal support. 
Throughout his long life here he has ever enjoyed the confidence and 
good will of all who have had dealings with him and he has always 
been an ardent supporter of every movement the object of which 
was the advancement of the public welfare in any way. 

WILLIAM WILLIAMS, one of the most widely known citizens 
of Rush county, who after a long period of strenuous endeavor, is 
now retired from active life and is quietly spending his last days in 
New Salem, comes from one of the real pioneer families of Rush 
county, for his paternal grandparents, Isaac and Margaret Williams, 
were the first white settlers in that part of the county now comprised 
in what is Noble township. Isaac Williams was a native of Tennessee 
and his wife was born and reared in the Cumberland mountains of 
Tennessee. They made the trip north to their Indiana destination by 
horseback — or, rather, they took turns in coming horseback, as they 
had but one horse and the family comprised the parents and two 
children. They first stopped in Franklin county, where they 
remained for a time. In the spring of 1818 they came to this locality 
and "squatted" in what is now Rush county, their cabin home being 
in what later was organized as Noble township. Here they lived and 
improved their home as best they could, and when the land here was 



232 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

opened for sale Isaac Williams entered this land from the Government, 
and there he spent the remainder of his days. Among his children 
was John Williams, who was born in Franklin county, Indiana, in 
1813, and who married Elizabeth Wilson, a native of Kentucky. In 
his childhood he had been brought to Rush county by his parents and 
here was reared to manhood. He followed the vocation of farming 
during all his active years and he and his wife lost their lives in a 
cyclone which passed over their home on June 14. 18S0. They were 
the parents of ten children, seven of whom are living, namely : Mar- 
garet, Jennie, Anna, Amanda, William, James A. and John O., living, 
and Isaac, Harriette M. and Nancy E., deceased, the first named hav- 
ing lost his life in the Civil war. William Williams, who has spent 
practically his entire life of more than three-quarters of a century 
in Noble township, received his education in the old Bethany Metho- 
dist Episcopal church, in which building a school was conducted, and 
in the old Pinhook school house. He was then employed as a farm 
hand until his marriage, after which he farmed rented land for about 
ten years. He then bought sixty-two acres of land, which he operated 
in addition to rented land, and so successful was he that he eventually 
increased his holding to 195 acres, all of which was located in Noble 
township. Mr. Williams carried on general farming and stock raising 
on this farm until 1917, when he retired from the active personal 
management of his farm and since then has resided at New Salem. 
Mr. Williams was married to Julia A. McKee, the daughter of James 
and Emily McKee, and whose death occurred on March 7, 1920 
Politically, Mr. Williams is an earnest supporter of the Republican 
party. Whatever of success Mr. Williams attained in life has been 
due entirely to his own efforts, energy and natural ability, and he has 
left the strong impress of his individuality upon all with whom he 
has come in contact. 

THOMAS EDWARD MEDD. Farming as a life occupation 
has interested many of the most substantial citizens of Rush county, 
and their well cultivated and improved properties show that their 
efforts have met with material reward and that they take a pride 
in their homes. One of these representative farmers is Thomas Ed- 
ward Medd, of Noble township, owner of 128 acres of valuable 
land, who is now living somewhat retired from his former activi- 
ties. He was born in Dearborn county, Indiana, September 28, 
1855, son of Thomas and Susan (Poshard) Medd, natives of York- 
shire, England, and Dearborn county, Indiana, respectively. Thomas 
Medd was an infant when his parents brought him to the United 
States and settled in Dearborn county, Indiana, where he was 
reared to manhood, and taught _to make himself useful both as a 
fanner and cooper, both of which occupations he followed all of his 
life. When war broke out between this country and Mexico in the 
'40s he enlisted in the army from Dearborn county, and served 
until the close of that campaign. He and his wife had fourteen 
children, five of whom survive, namely: Joseph, Albert. Thomas 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 233 

Edward, Anna and Laura. Thomas Edward Medd attended the 
common schools of his native county, and after he left school be- 
gan farming, working out as a farm hand in that county until he 
was twenty years old, at which time he came to Rush county, here 
continuing to work for others for a time, in all following this line 
of work for about four and one-half years. During this time he 
was thrifty and was finally able to get a start for himself, first 
renting land, but later buying a farm of eighty-two acres, to which 
he added until he secured his present farm. While he operated his 
land himself he carried on general farming and stock raising for 
which he deemed it best suited. Pie married Catherine, daughter 
of James and Nancy Holman, who died in April, 1907. For many 
years Mr. Medd has been a consistent member of Little Flat Rock 
Christian Church. He is a Democrat and has ever given his 
thoughtful attention to his duty as a citizen, helpful in promoting 
movements having to do with the betterment of local conditions. 

SAMUEL L. TRABUE, who occupies a leading place among the 
members of the legal profession at Rushville and is known likewise 
as a prominent and influential member of the Democratic party, 
was born on a farm in Noble township, this county, June 29, 1878, a 
son of Samuel H. and Mary J. (McKee) Trabue. Samuel H. Trabue 
received his education in his native state of Kentucky and at the age 
of twenty-four years came to Rush count.y, where he worked for one 
year as a farm hand. He then secured by purchase twenty-five acres 
of land in Noble township, which he cultivated for about ten years, 
following which he sold his holdings and moved to Center township, 
where he bought eighty acres. Through industry and good manage- 
ment he increased his possessions to 190 acres and continued to live 
on this farm until 1910, when he retired from active pursuits and 
moved to Rushville, his present home. Mr. Trabue still supervises 
the operation of this farm, on which he specializes in live stock rais- 
ing, and feeds out about 1.000 head of hogs a year. Mr. Trabue 
married in 1877, Mary J. McKee, daughter of David and Martha 
McKee, members of old families of Rush county, and to this union 
there were born six children, of whom four are living, those besides 
Samuel L. Trabue being David M. Trabue, who manages the home farm 
for his father ; Bert L. Trabue, president of the Farmers Trust Com- 
pany of Rushville, and Harry C. Trabue, of Kokomo, Ind. Samuel 
L. Trabue received his early schooling in the common schools of 
Center township, following which he took a one-year normal course at 
Glenwood. He then attended Valparaiso University for two years, 
and upon his graduation from that institution with the degree of 
Bachelor of Laws returned to Rushville and entered upon the practice 
of his profession, in which he has been highly successful. He belongs 
to the various organizations of his calling and occupies a high place 
in the esteem of his fellow-practitioners and the confidence of a large 
and constantly growing clientele. In politics a Democrat. Mr. 
Trabue has taken a keen and active interest in political matters, and 
at present is secretary of the Democratic state central committee. 



234 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

During the World war he was in the Field Artillery Officers' Train- 
ing School at Camp Taylor, Ky. Previous to entering the military 
service he was fuel administrator for Rush county. As a fraternalist, 
he is a Scottish Rite Mason, a Knight Templar and a Shriner, and 
belongs to the Knights of Pythias, Odd Fellows and Elks, all of Rush- 
ville. His religious connection is with the First Presbyterian church 
of Rushville. On September 28, 1910, Mr. Trabue married Mar- 
guerite, daughter of Frank E. and Anna Tritt, of Knightstown, Ind. 
WILLIAM EDWIN TARPLEE, widely known as one of the 
honored citizens of Richland township, this county, the major portion 
of his life having been spent in this locality, was born in Decatur 
county, Indiana, on the 1st day of December, 1866, and is the son 
of George and Elizabeth (Arnold) Tarplee, the latter a native of 
Philadelphia, Pa., daughter of John Arnold and wife, who became 
pioneers of Decatur county, this state. John Arnold was born in the 
vicinity of Berlin, Germany, and his wife also was of German birth. 
They were married in their native country and shortly afterward 
came to America, locating at Philadelphia, from which city they 
presently moved to Cincinnati. While living in Cincinnati John 
Arnold came up into Indiana and at the land office at Brookville 
entered claim to a tract of land in the eastern part of Decatur county, 
where he presently established his home, he and his family thus 
having been numbered among the pioneers of that county, and he and 
his wife spent the remainder of their lives in that county. George 
Tarplee was born in Worcestershire, England, where he was reared to 
the age of fifteen years, when he came to the United States. He landed 
at New York with limited financial resources but, determined and 
ambitious, he turned his face westward and worked his way to Deca- 
tur county, Indiana. He first located at Greensburg, where he 
learned the trade of shoemaking, and then he moved to Clarksburg, 
where he opened a shoe shop and engaged in the making of custom 
shoes. So successful was he that he soon had six shoemakers working 
for him and gained a wide and favorable reputation for the quality 
of his work. Subsequently he added a line of general merchandise, 
to which he eventually devoted all of his time. For some years he 
was in partnership with Anderson Beagles, but in 1876 he retired 
from active business pursuits and spent his last days quietly there, 
his death occurring in 1908, three years after the death of his wife. 
He had been very successful in all of his business affairs and at the 
time of his death was the owner of 466 acres of land in Rush county. 
To him and his wife had been born four children, William E. Tarplee 
having two brothers, James H. Tarplee, bookkeeper for O'Neal Bros, 
at Rushville; John T. Tarplee, a farmer living at Clarksburg, and 
a sister, Cordelia, wife of F. A. Rohe, of Greensburg. William E. 
Tarplee received his schooling in the public schools of Clarksburg and 
on the completion of his studies he turned his attention to farming. 
renting land from his father when only sixteen years of age. He 
has devoted practically his entire active life to agriculture, in which 
course he has made no mistake, for he has been successful and enjoys 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 235 

a reputation as a man of practical ideas, sound judgment and indus- 
trious habits. He continued to rent land from his father until the 
latter 's death, at which time he inherited 160 acres from the estate. 
He carries on a general line of farming, devoting about fifty acres 
to corn and a like amount to small grain, while he also has been 
markedly successful in the feeding of live stock, of which he handles 
about a carload of cattle and 100 or more hogs. In 1885 Mr. Tarplee 
was married to Ida B. Taylor, the daughter of Sarah Taylor, and they 
have become the parents of four children, namely: Tressa, who 
became the wife of Joseph Harves and is the mother of one child, Har- 
old; Allen, who married Bessie Parker; Prank, who married Isa- 
belle Clark, and Dorothy. Mr. Tarplee is a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church. Politically he is a Democrat and his fraternal rela- 
tions are with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in which he 
has received preferment, having passed through the chairs of the 
subordinate lodge to which he belongs. A residence here of many 
years has but strengthened his hold on the hearts of his fellow 
citizens and none in his locality enjoys a larger circle of friends and 
acquaintances. 

"WILLIAM A. LORD, a well-known coal dealer at Mays and a 
Center township landowner, who was formerly trustee of that town- 
ship, is a native son of Rush county, having been born in Union 
township on September 23, 1857, and is the son of James J. and 
Sarah (Billings) Lord, the latter of whom also was a native of Rush 
county. James J. Lord was a native of the state of Delaware, but in 
boyhood was brought by his parents to Indiana, the family settling 
in Rush county, where he completed his education in the common 
schools. He thereafter devoted himself to agricultural pursuits, 
buying a tract of land in Howard county, Indiana, where he spent 
the rest of his life. To him and his wife were born seven children, four 
of whom are living, namely: William, J. L. (a physician), Jennie and 
Hattie. Francis 0. died on April 9, 1921, and Ann and Ellsworth 
died in infancy. William A. Lord was about three years of age when 
the family moved to Howard county and there he received his educa- 
tional training. He remained on the home farm with his parents 
until his marriage, when he rented seventy-five acres of land and 
engaged in farming on his own account. Two years later he returned 
to Rush county and for three years thereafter devoted himself to 
the cultivation of 180 acres of land near Mays. He then returned to 
Howard county and opened a general store, which he ran about four 
years. Again returning to Rush county, Mr. Lord spent seven years 
in the operation of a farm of 180 acres in Center township, but at 
the end of that time he retired from active farm work and moved to 
Mays, where he engaged in the coal business, which still commands 
his attention. Energetic and a good manager, he has been successful 
in all his operations and today is in comfortable financial circum- 
stances. He owns thirty acres of land in Center township and is num- 
bered among the substantial and enterprising citizens of his locality. 
Mr. Lord has been twice married, first to Maria Covalt and, after her 



236 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

death, to Hattie A. (Smith) Langston, a native of Rush comity and 
the daughter of Shelby and Vina Smith. To the first union three 
children were born, Sarah Edna, Dora E. and Mary, the latter of 
whom died at the age of six years. To the last union has been born 
a son, Fred S., now three years old. Mr. and Mrs. Lord are members 
of the Christian church at Raleigh. Fraternally, Mr. Lord is a mem- 
ber of the Free and Accepted Masons and the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. Politically, he is a stanch supporter of the Repub- 
lican party and served four years as trustee of Center township. He 
takes a keen interest in public affairs and gives his support to every 
movement for the general welfare of the community. 

BIRNEY E. IIITE. Of the men who have actively participated 
in the agricultural transformation of Richland township during 
more than a quarter of a century past, a few are better or more 
favorably known than Birney E. Ilite, who is now carrying on suc- 
cessful farming and stock raising operations on a ninety-acre farm. 
Mr. Hite was born on June 8, 1869, in Richland township, a son of 
William T. and Mary A. (Hite) Hite, natives of the same township. 
Through both of his parents Mr. Hite is descended from Jacob Hite, 
Sr., a soldier of the Revolutionary war, who was born in Freder- 
ick county, Maryland, February 14, 1761, a son of John and Sarah 
Hite, and in 1762 was taken by his parents to Frederick county, 
Virginia, where he was reared, educated and married. There he 
enlisted under Gilkison for service in the Revolutionary war, and 
was in the commands of Generals Mcintosh, Armistead and Newell. 
As a private he served two months in 1778, and from October 1, 
1781, served six months, also as a private, being present at the 
siege of Yorktown. Jacob Hite married Catherine Shiner, from 
whom the members of the family are said to inherit their black 
eyes, and they subsequently removed to Rockbridge county, Vir- 
ginia, near the Natural Bridge, where to them there were born five 
sons and one daughter, all of whom, with the exception of the eld- 
est son, John, Jr., emigrated with their parents to Rush county, 
Indiana, about 1829, the mother making the journey on horseback. 
John, the eldest son, remained and died in Rockbridge county, and 
no trace of his descendants has been found. The other children 
were : George, a soldier of the War of 1812, and a blacksmith and 
farmer, who had eight children, John, W. N. (the grandfather of 
Birney E. Hite on the paternal side), Jacob, G. W., Sr., Mrs. Polly 
Sack, Elizabeth, Catherine and Mrs. Harriet McDaniels; William, 
a farmer and blacksmith, who had seven children, Green, William, 
Joseph, Mrs. Eliza McDaniels, Mrs. Mary Watkins. Mrs. Harriet 
Watkins and Mrs. Cass Ann Barber; Jacob Ilite. Jr., justice of the 
peace of Richland township for years, and the purchaser of the 
700 acres of land from the government on which the family re- 
sided afterward, and on which he molded and burnt the bricks for 
his house, one of the first in the township, who had eleven children. 
James, Mrs. Polly Douglas, Mrs Lucinda Caskey, Mrs Eliza Cas- 




BIRNEY IIITE 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 237 

key, Mrs. Jane Tattle, Francis, William, Mrs. Mary Moore, Harriet, 
Mrs. Caroline Sparks and Mrs. Jennie Sullivan; Polly, who mar- 
ried Archibald Crowdy and had one son, Alexander. Alexander 
Hite, a cabinet-maker and farmer, the maternal grandfather of 
Birney E. Hite, who had thirteen children, William C, John I., 
S. A., Thomas R., Jacob H., J. D., Joseph L., Winfield S., Mrs. Ga- 
brella J. Farthing, Hannah E., Mrs. Mary A. Hite, Mrs. Lucinda A. 
Lawson, and M. B. Hite. William T. Hite, the father of Birney E. 
Hite, was born in Richland township, where he was reared and 
educated. At the time of his marriage he rented eighty acres of 
land from his father, upon which he carried on operations until 
February, 1871, when he bought the farm now operated by his son. 
He did not live long thereafter, dying August 31, 1871. His widow 
survived him until July 12, 1917. The only child of his parents, 
Birney E. Hite attended the schools of Richland township, and was 
graduated from Clarksburg high school in 1885 with the second 
class to complete the course in that school. After attending De- 
Pauw University for one year, he returned to Clarksburg, where 
he was variously employed for about eight years, and then resumed 
farming on their property. In 1902 he moved to his present farm, 
a tract of ninety acres, which he is renting and which he operates 
along the lines of,general farming and stock raising. He is a pub- 
lic-spirited, well-balanced man and is deeply interested in all that 
pertains to the lasting welfare of the community. A member of the 
Christian church, Mr. Hite taught in the Sunday school for twenty- 
five years, and during the past five years has been church clerk. 
Mr. Hite is a Democrat. He is a thirty-second degree Mason, af- 
filiated with the blue lodge at Clarksburg, the chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons, and the council, Royal and Select Masters, at Greensburg; 
Rushville Commandery, No. 49, Knights Templar, at Rushville; 
the Indiana Consistory, S. P. R. S. thirty-second degree, Ancient 
Accepted Scottish Rite, North Masonic Jurisdiction, Valley of In- 
dianapolis, and a noble of the Ancient Arabic Order of Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine, affiliated with Murat Temple, Indianapolis. 

MILTON HENLEY, one of the most energetic, persevering and 
thoroughgoing agriculturists of Ripley township, has spent his life 
in this community, where he is the representative of a family that has 
been highly esteemed for many years. He was born on his father's 
farm in Ripley township, February 10, 1872, a son of Milton and 
Julia (Stanley) Henley, and a grandson of Thomas Henley, a pioneer 
of the locality, who took up Government land during the early set- 
tlement and established this branch of the family. Milton Henley, the 
elder, was born in Ripley township, where he acquired his early 
education in the public schools, this training being supplemented by 
a course at Earlham College, Richmond, Ind. When he was ready 
to enter upon his independent career, he chose farming as his means 
of livelihood and thus spent the rest of his life, becoming the owner 
of an excellent farm. He married Julia Stanley, daughter of Wyatt 



238 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Stanley, another pioneer of Rush county, and they hecame the par- 
ents of four children, Harvey G., Walter C, Milton and a daughter 
who died in infancy. After leaving school Milton Henley evinced 
the family predilection for farming and adopted it as his life work. 
For some years he farmed in association with his father and brothers, 
and at the elder man's death inherited a share of the home farm, the 
balance of which he subsequently bought from the other heirs. While 
Mr. Henley has operated chiefly as a general farmer, he has special- 
ized in Berkshire hogs, and feeds out on an average of seventy ani- 
mals yearly, which are shipped to the big markets. Mr. Henley has 
140 acres of excellent land. His buildings are substantial and his 
equipment complete and modern, and in every way he is a progressive 
farmer of up-to-date tendencies. He is unmarried. While not a 
politician, he adheres to the principles of the Republican party and 
discharges in full the duties of good citizenship. His religious con- 
nection is with the Friends church, which he attends at Carthage. 

ROBERT W. NIXON, a well-known farmer of Jackson township 
and former trustee of that township, was born in Washington town- 
ship, this county, on May 4, 1864, and is the son of James R. and 
Jane (Abernathy) Nixon. The father was a native of Washington 
county, Pennsylvania, whence in early childhood he was brought to 
Rush county, where he was reared and educated. During the active 
years of his life he followed farming in Washington township, but 
later in life he moved to Union township, where he bought 104 
acres of land and lived there up to the time of his death. His widow, 
who was born and reared in Union township, now lives on this farm. 
They became the parents of seven children, of whom four are living, 
namely: Robert W, Sallie A., Kate and Lulu. Robert W. Nixon 
secured his education in the public schools of Washington township 
and was one of the first pupils to attend the Raleigh consolidated 
school, which was the first consolidated school in the state. On com- 
pleting his studies, Mr. Nixon went to Rnshville and entered the 
employ of W. T. Brann & Son, grocers, with whom he remained for 
four years. Then, having married, he received from his father-in-law 
a gift of thirty-eight acres of land in Jackson township, to which he 
at once moved and began its cultivation. He was successful in his 
farming operations and bought 122 acres which, together with fifty 
additional acres given him by his father-in-law, makes his total hold- 
ings 210 acres, all of which lies in Jackson township. In addition to 
a general line of farming, Mr. Nixon gives attention to stock raising, 
marketing about 100 head of hogs a year. He is thoroughly practical 
and up-to-date in all his operations and is numbered among the enter- 
prising and influential farmers of his community. On August 27, 
1890, Mr. Nixon was married to Cora I. Gartin, who was born in 
Jackson township, this county, on May 1. 1866, the daughter of John 
G. and Arkansas (Porter) Gartin, both of whom were natives of Rush- 
county, where Mr. Gartin followed the vocation of farming during his 
active life. He and his wife were the parents of four children, all of 
whom are living, namely, Cora I.. Omer G., Audit P. and Edmund N. 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 239 

To Mr. and Mrs. Nixon has been born one child, Chalmer G., August 
12, 1893, who is unmarried and remains at home. Politically, Mr. 
Nixon is a stanch supporter of the Democratic party and has taken 
an active part in local public affairs, having served one term as 
trustee of Jackson township, to the entire satisfaction of his con- 
stituents. He and his wife are earnest members of the Hannegan 
Church of Christ and give their support to every worthy benevolent, 
or charitable object. 

GEORGE KATSAROS AND MICHAEL KATSAROS, pro- 
prietors of an admirable confectionery store at Rushville and broth- 
ers, are natives of Argos, Greece, the former born on November 22, 
1892, and the latter on September 22, 1891. They received their edu- 
cational training in the public schools of their native locality, and in 
the days of their youth devoted their energies to the pursuits of 
farming. George Katsaros came to the United States in 1909 and 
settled at Richmond, Ind., where he secured employment in a confec- 
tionery store, and during the nine months that he was there famil- 
iarized himself to some extent with the business, as well as with 
American customs and the language of his new country. He then 
came to Rushville, where he worked at the same business for one year, 
at the end of which time the establishment was purchased by his 
brother, Michael, who was George's employer until March 1, 1916. 
The brothers then formed a partnership that has existed to the present 
time, although George then went to Elwood, Ind., where he took 
charge of the same kind of an establishment. The demands of the 
World war caused his return to Rushville. His brother Michael had 
been accepted in the United States service, October 5, 1917, and 
George was needed at Rushville to manage the business there. 
Michael Katsaros became a member of Company L, Hundred and 
Thirtieth Infantry, Thirty-third Division, and was in the service for 
two years, serving as a private during which time he saw fifteen 
months of overseas duty, and took part in a number of important and 
hard-fought engagements. Among his battles were Meuse-Argonne, 
September 20 to November 11, 1918 ; Somme- Amiens, with the Aus- 
tralian corps, July 6 to August 19 ; Verdun, September 25-26 ; Troyon, 
October 23 to November 12;; Chateau d'Aulnois, November 7; and 
Marcheville, November 10. After being honorably discharged, with 
a splendid record for valiant and faithful service, August 30, 1919, 
he returned to Rushville and again took up the business in partner- 
ship with his brother. They have developed an excellent trade among 
the best people of the city, to whom they are presenting superior 
goods and courteous service. The brothers are stalwart Republicans 
in their political allegiance, and their religion is that of the Greek 
church. 

GEORGE H. BELL, a public-spirited citizen of Rush county, 
county commissioner-elect and a well-known livery man and horse 
dealer at Mays, was born in Center township, this county, on Septem- 
ber 23, 1864, and is the son of James H. and Charity (Bell) Bell. 
The mother was born on July 31, 1837, and died on February 28, 



240 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

1907. James H. Bell, who died in April, 1915, was born on November 
19, 1839, in Butler county, Ohio, and came to Rush county at the 
age of twenty-three years, spending the remainder of his life here 
engaged in farming, in which he was successful. To him and his wife 
were born seven children, one of whom died in infancy, the others 
being as follows : Albert, born on September 5, 1862 ; George II., the 
immediate subject of this review; Hettie; Charles, born on July 12. 
1867 ; Hattie and John, born on November 8, 1871. The subject of 
this sketch received his education in the public schools of Center 
township and after completing his education he devoted himself to 
work on his father's farm until 1891, when he engaged in the gas 
business for several years. He then returned to Center township and 
farmed eighty acres of land which he had bought and which he has 
since increased to 160 acres. Here he not only carries on general 
farming, but he also gives considerable attention to the raising of live 
stock, specializing in horses and hogs. He. feeds out from 400 to 700 
hogs a year. About 1900 Mr. Bell moved to Mays and engaged in the 
livery business, in which he has been successful, and in connection 
with which he buys and sells horses, having handled a large number 
of animals in the past fifteen or twenty years. He keeps his farm 
well improved and it is among the most productive farms of this 
locality. In 1900 Mr. Bell was married to Stella F. Jackson, who was 
born and reared in Rush county, the daughter of William and 
Amanda (Sherry) Jackson, and they have one child, Helen A., who, 
after completing her studies in the school at Mays, is now a student in 
Belmont Academy, at Nashville, Tennessee. Politically, Mr. Bell 
has been a lifelong supporter of the Republican party and has taken 
an active interest in public affairs. At the recent general election 
he was elected a member of the board of county commissioners and 
will take his seat on the board in 1922. Fraternally, he is a member 
of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. A man of judgment, 
sound discretion and good business ability, he has managed his 
affairs with tactful success and has so impressed his individuality 
upon the community as to gain recognition as one of its leading 
citizens. 

EMORY J. POWER. Among the farmers of recognized moral 
and material worth whose labors have largely helped to develop 
the interests of Anderson township, is Emory J. Power, who has 
passed his entire life in his present community. Mr. Power was 
born in Anderson township, June 29, 1857, a son of John and Mary 
A. (Smisor) Power, the former a native of Kentucky and the latter 
of Ohio. John Power M'as reared and educated in Kentucky, and 
as a young man came to Rush county alone, here marrying Miss 
Smisor, who had accompanied her parents to this region. They 
settled in Anderson township, where Mr. Power accumulated 140 
acres of land, on which he carried on operations until his death in 
middle life, in 1858. There were ten children in the family of whom 
six are now living: John, Boone, Frank, George, Daniel and Emory. 
Emory J. Power received his education in the rural schools of 




EMORY J. POWER, WIFE AND DAUGHTER, LAVONNE 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 241 

Anderson township, and upon leaving his studies took up farming 
on the home place, where he remained until reaching the age of 
twenty-one years. At that time he embarked upon an independent 
career with the purchase of eighty acres of land, but later disposed 
of this propei'ty and bought another farm of 127 acres, which 
formed the nucleus for his present property. He now owns 212 
acres, all situated in Anderson township, which he has devoted to 
general farming and the raising of live stock, feeding about 150 
hogs annually. Mr. Power has retired somewhat from active af- 
fairs, and since 1919 has been renting a portion of his property. 
He has gained his success through honorable methods, and is en- 
titled to the esteem and respect in which he is universally held. 
Mr. Power maintains an independent attitude upon political ques- 
tions and gives the support of his ballot to the man he deems best 
fitted for service regardless of party lines. He and the members 
of his family belong to the Methodist Episcopal church at Milroy. 
Mr. Power married Harriet Allison, daughter of Mrs. Lucy Allison, 
and she died leaving two children : Albert, who married Berniee 
Sonnebaum ; and Lucy, who married Elmer Harrison and has two 
children, Marjorie and Cecil. After the death of his first wife, 
Mr. Power married Mary Ellen Spurgeon, daughter of Joseph and 
Hester Ann (Layton) Spurgeon, and to this union two children 
have been born, Lavonne, who is unmarried and is living on the home 
farm, and LeLillie, who died in infancy. Mrs. Power's father, 
Joseph Spurgeon, was in his day one of the influential men and 
large land owners of Anderson township, a part of his land being 
that which constitutes the Power farm, the old Spurgeon home 
place. He was born in this county, a member of one of the pioneer 
families, and lived here all his life. Joseph Spurgeon was twice 
married. By his first wife, Hester Ann Layton, he had two chil- 
dren, Mrs. Power and Oscar N. Spurgeon. By his second wife, 
Julia Spohn, he had two children, Ira John and Daisy May. 

HENRY P. METCALF, M. D., of New Salem, whose career has 
been that of a broad-minded, conscientious worker in the sphere to 
which his life and energies have been devoted and whose profound 
knowledge of his profession has won for him a leading place among 
the medical men of this section of the state, is a native son of the old 
Blue Grass state, having been born in Garrard county, Kentucky, 
on April 18, 1856, and is a son of Adron and Mary (Morgan) Met- 
calf, the former a native of North Carolina and the latter of Ken- 
tucky. Adron Metcalf remained in his native state until eighteen 
years of age, when he moved to Kentucky, locating in Garrard county, 
where he followed the vocation of farming. Eventually he bought a 
tract of land, which he cleared and developed into a good farm, on 
which he resided up to the time of his death, which occurred in May, 
1913. At one time he was the owner of 1,100 acres of land and he 
held a position of considerable prominence and influence in his com- 
munity. He was the father of .eleven children, of whom seven are 
16 



242 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

living, but the subject of this review is the only one living in Indiana. 
Henry P. Metcalf received his elementary education in the common 
schools of Garrard county, Kentucky, and after completing his studies 
he went into a logging camp in eastern Kentucky, where he worked for 
two years, hauling logs with ox teams. He then entered the employ of 
the Asher Lumber Company, of Ford, Kentucky, where for a year 
he worked as timber inspector. The subject then matriculated in the 
medical department of the University of Louisville, where, in 1882, 
he received his degree of Doctor of Medicine. He immediately located 
at Paint Lick, Kentucky, where he practiced his profession about 
four years, and then moved to Richmond, Ky., where he remained until 
1894. Doctor Metcalf then came to Indiana and for six years was 
engaged in the practice at Mays, Rush county, followed by twelve 
years at Andersonville, and then, in 1912, he located in New Salem, 
where he now resides. Doctor Metcalf enjoys a large practice, in 
which he has been uniformly successful, and he is popular throughout 
the community. Doctor Metcalf was married to Savannah Lewis, the 
daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John J. Lewis, and they became the par- 
ents of eight children, of whom five are now living, namely: Henry 
Carter, who served in the United States army in France as a first lieu- 
tenant of the Medical Corps, and is now engaged in the practice of 
medicine at Connersville, Ind., married Alma Helman and they have 
one child, Henry Thomas; George, who also is a physician, also 
served a year as first lieutenant in the Medical Corps of the United 
States army; he married Arneta Pepper and they have one child, 
Philip J. ; Margaret became the wife of Sumner King and they have 
one child, Robert Sumner ; Aboline became the wife of William Cloud 
and they have one child, Thurman ; Helen is attending school in New 
Salem ; John Gilbert and Presshia are deceased and one died in 
infancy. Doctor Metcalf is a member of the Rush County Medical 
Society, the Indiana State Medical Society and the American Medical 
Association. Fraternally, he is a member of the Free and Accepted 
Masons, and politically, is a supporter of the Democratic party. He 
and his family are identified with the Christian church, of which he 
has been an elder. The Doctor is an earnest supporter of every 
movement for the advancement of the general welfare. 

NATHAN I. PRICE, one of the intelligent contributors to the 
development of his community, a substantial farmer of Ripley town- 
ship and a member of the board of directors of the Arlington Bank, 
and a stockholder in the Bank of Carthage, was born in Posey town- 
ship, this county, May 28, 1863, a son of John and Sarah (Leisure) 
Price, and his entire life has been passed within the boundaries of 
this county, he being at present a large landholder of Ripley town- 
ship. John Price was born in 1812 in Fleming county, Kentucky, 
where he was reared, educated and trained in farming, and remained 
in his native community until reaching the age of thirty-two years, 
when he came to Rush county and settled in Posey township, on a 
farm which later became known as the Price homestead. Here he 
passed the balance of his life in farming, and through industry and 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 243 

good management became one of the well-to-do men of his locality. 
He married in Rush county, Sarah, daughter of George and Lucinda 
(Meyers) Leisure, substantial farming people of Rush county, and 
to this union there were born five children, Jane, Nathan I., George 
W., Samantha and Basil T., the last three-named being deceased. 
Nathan I, Price received his education in the public schools of Posey 
township and at Carthage, and as a youth was well drilled in the 
science of farming in association with and under the teachings of 
his father. In 1886 he was married, and at that time moved to Ripley 
township, where he purchased a farm of sixty acres. This proved to 
be the nucleus of his present handsome property of 280 acres, all 
accumulated through his good management and unremitting industry. 
Mr. Price had a modem farm, equipped with substantial buildings and 
the last improved equipment of all kinds, and his operations as a 
general farmer and stock raiser are conducted in a manner that 
leaves no doubt as to his ability and progressive ideas. He has also 
been interested in other matters of a business and financial charac- 
ter, having been one of the founders of the Arlington Bank, of which 
he is a stockholder and director, in addition to being a stockholder in 
the Bank of Carthage. In politics he is a supporter of the Democratic 
party and has shown some interest in public affairs. In 1914 he was 
a candidate of his party for the office of county commissioner. With 
his family, he belongs to the Christian church, and his fraternal con- 
nection is with the lodge of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows at 
Carthage. In 1886 Mr. Price married Belle Downey, who was born 
in Rush county, daughter of Archibald and Sarah Downey, and they 
had one child, now Mrs. John Dagler, of Newcastle, Ind. After the 
death of his first wife, Nathan I. Price married Mrs. Emma J. Mercer, 
of New Salem, Ind. 

ELMER E. ELLISON, a successful farmer of Rush county, 
whose fine farm is eligibly located in Jackson township, was born in 
Rushville township, this county, on January 20, 1862, and is the son 
of William J. and Sarah E. (Duke) Ellison. He was educated in 
Walker township, attending district school No. 6.. After completing 
his schooling, he gave his attention to the cultivation of the home 
farm with his father, with whom he remained until his marriage, in 
1890, when he rented the home farm and continued to operate it as 
a renter until his father's death, at which time the interests of the 
heirs was bought up by the subject's brother, Marshall. The subject 
then rented the adjoining farm, but three years later he bought eighty 
acres of land in Walker township, which he sold about seven years 
later at a substantial profit. During the following two years Mr. 
Ellison rented and operated one of the Lon Mull farms in Walker 
township, but at the end of that period, 1905, he bought the place 
where he now lives in Jackson township. His first purchase was 100 
acres, to which he added eighty-three acres three years later, and in 
1919 he bought seventy-four acres, thus giving him total land hold- 
ings of 257 acres. On this land he carries on general farming opera- 
tions, raising all the crops common to this locality, and also giving 



244 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

attention to live stock, raising about 250 head of the big type Poland 
China hogs each year. He keeps his farm well improved and it is now 
one of the most productive and attractive farms in Jackson township. 
On November 5, 1890, Mr. Ellison was married to Nellie Gardner, who 
was born and reared in Walker township, the daughter of Marion 
and Margaret (Hurst) Gardner. To Mr. and Mrs. Ellison have been 
born three children, namely : John W., who is a farmer in Center 
township, Rush county, married Elsie S. Newhouse; Robert M., who 
is unmarried and remains at home, and Margaret E., who became 
the wife of Clarence E. Ruby, a farmer in Jackson township, and has 
one child, Lowell Ellison. Mr. and Mrs. Ellison are earnest members 
of the Christian church. Politically, Mr. Ellison gives his support to 
the Republican party and for eight continuous years he has served 
as a member of the Jackson township advisory board. 

DON C. BROOKS, one of the most prominent and prosperous 
farmers of Rush county, the owner of 678 acres of valuable land in 
Noble, Richland, Union and Rushville townships, is a man of broad 
and practical knowledge and of progressive and energetic spirit. 
He was born in Noble township, where he now makes his home, 
October 28, 1871, son and only child of Mosely and Harriet R. 
(Thompson) Brooks, the former a. native of Kentucky and the lat- 
ter of Indiana. When Mosely Brooks came to Indiana in 1851, he 
located in Noble township, where he farmed for a number of years 
and then engaged in the pork-packing business at Laurel, Ind., 
and Cincinnati, Ohio, although he retained his residence in Rush 
county all his life, dying here in May, 1873. His widow, who was 
his second wife, survived him until 1916. Don C. Brooks was given 
good educational advantages, first attending the schools of Noble 
township, later Graham Academy at Rushville and then the Rich- 
mond (Ind.) Business College. After leaving the latter he returned 
home and took up farming, a vocation in which he has since been 
engaged with constantly increasing success. He now has 678 acres 
in Noble, Rushville, Richland and Union townships, and the greater 
part of the improvements thereon, including three complete sets of 
buildings, have all been made by himself. He rents out the greater 
part of his land, operating 205 acres himself in Noble township, and 
feeds out about 100 head of hogs a year. Mr. Brooks is a Repub- 
lican. He holds membership in the Knights of Pythias lodge at 
Rushville and is a member of the Little Flat Rock Christian Church, 
of which he was a trustee for a number of years. In April, 1919, 
Mr. Brooks married Dorothy E. Roach, daughter of Charles and 
Carrie Roach. 

EZEKIEL M. JONES, sheriff of Rush county, triumphed over 
early disadvantages and won a high place in the confidence and esteem 
of his fellow citizens. Mr. Jones was born in Fleming county. Ken- 
tucky, March 12, 1863, a son of Thomas J. and Amelia (Freeman) 
Jones, natives of the same county, where the father was a country 
school teacher during the greater part of his life. The parents died 




DON C. BROOKS 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 245 

when their son, Ezekiel M., was still a boy. Of their eight children, 
five are living: Ella, Robert G., William P., Ben P. and Ezekiel M. 
Ezekiel M. Jones acquired somewhat limited educational advantages 
in his boyhood, and when still a youth began to make his own way 
by working as a hired hand on farms in his native county. He was 
but eighteen years of age when he came to Rush county, in 1881, and 
here continued to work as a farm hand until 1899, when he enlisted in 
the United States army for service in the Philippine Islands, where 
he spent two years. Mustered out of the service in 1901, he came back 
to Rush county, where he began farming for himself and bought the 
eighty-acre tract which he still owns in Ripley township. This he 
cultivated until 1918, when he was elected sheriff of Rush county on 
the Republican ticket. He has proven a fearless, efficient and con- 
scientious official and has established an excellent record in his high 
and responsible office. Mr. Jones was married on September 8, 1901, 
to Anna Pliehart, who was born and educated in Rush county, daugh- 
ter of Hugh S. and Abigail (Beale) Pliehart, the former a native of 
Kentucky and the latter of this county. Mr. Pliehart was an agri- 
culturist throughout his life, and spent a long period in Posey town- 
ship, Rush county, where he was the owner of 300 acres of val- 
uable land. Mr. and Mrs. Jones are consistent members of the 
Arlington Methodist Church, and Mr. Jones is one of the influential 
Republicans of Rush county. 

RAYMOND L. BLOUNT, one of the enterprising farmers of 
Center township, and a member of the advisory board of that town- 
ship, was born in Posey township, Rush county, on March 29, 18S0, 
and is the son of Rev. Jacob B. and Josephine (Martindale) Blount, 
both of whom were born and reared in Tipton county, Indiana. They 
both attended the Northwestern Christian University, now Butler 
College, at Indianapolis. The subject's father was a man of strong 
character and marked mental ability, held the office of county 
superintendent of schools of Rush county for some time during the 
70s and '80s and was for years a minister of the Christian church, 
for years one of the foremost figures in that communion in this 
section of the state. To him and his wife we're born eight children, 
six of whom are living, namely: Maude B., Elsie P., Zula M., Ralph 
D., Raymond L. and Glenn A. Raymond L. Blount attended the 
common schools of Posey and Washington township through the 
tenth grade, which was as far as was taught in those schools, and 
thereafter he applied himself to work on a farm in Washington town- 
ship, which he fanned on the shares for about four years. About this 
time he was married and turned his attention to the cultivation of a 
farm of forty -six acres which his wife had inherited. To this he 
later added by purchase sixty-three acres, making a total acreage of 
109 acres in Center township. On this place he carries on general 
farming operations and stock raising. In the latter line, he specializes 
on the big-type Poland China hogs for breeding purposes, all of his 
animals being registered. He is energetic and up-to-date in his 
methods and has honestly merited the prosperity which has crowned 



246 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

his efforts. On June 18, 1902, Mr. Blount was married to Serena 
Rhodes, who was born in Center township. Rush county, on February 
16, 1880, and received a good high school education. She is the 
daughter of Lewis R. and Elizabeth (Leisure) Rhodes. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Blount have been born four children, Gladys, Beulah, Elizabeth 
and Mildred. Politically, Mr. Blount is an ardent supporter of the 
Democratic party and has taken an active interest in local public 
affairs, having served as a member of the township advisory board 
during the past two years. Fraternally, he is a member of Lodge 
No. 99 and Encampment No. 48 of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, at Knightstown. He and his wife are members of the 
Center Christian church. 

WILLIAM C. MITCHELL, during his lifetime one of the leading 
agriculturists of Noble township, was a man of high character and 
when he died his community lost a good citizen. He was born in Rush 
county and died in Noble township, April 29, 1879. His parents, 
Thomas and Amanda Mitchell, were both natives of Kentucky who 
came to Rush county at an early day, entering land in Noble town- 
ship, on which they lived and reared their family. They were farmers 
all their lives and died in Noble township. "William C. Mitchell 
attended the schools of Noble township and began working on the 
home farm as soon as he was old enough to do so. He continued to 
reside on this farm until his demise which occurred seven years after 
his marriage. He married Irma, daughter of Alfred and Elizabeth 
(Looney) White. Mrs. White was a daughter of Peter and Jane 
Looney. Alfred White and his wife were both born in Kentucky, 
from which state his parents brought him to Fayette county, Indiana, 
and there he grew to manhood and learned the trade of a brick 
mason, which he followed all of his life. In young manhood he 
located in Rush county, and made the brick and built the residences 
of a great many of the people of his day and vicinity, all of which 
are still standing, so substantially are they constructed. Mr. and 
Mrs. White had two children, namely : Mrs. Mitchell and Peter Nelson, 
but the latter is now deceased. Mrs. Mitchell is a member of Little 
Flat Rock Christian Church, and is held in high esteem in that congre- 
gation. Mr. Mitchell was a Mason and lived up to the highest ideals of 
that fraternity. 

HENRY G. CONAWAY, who is well and favorably known among 
the progressive agriculturists and public-spirited citizens of Rush 
county, is the owner of a well-cultivated property situated in Ripley 
township. Mr. Con away is a native of Rush county, having been born 
on his father's farm in Posey township. February 14. 1868, a son of 
John M. and Zenith (Ball) Conaway. His father, a native of Ken- 
tucky, came to Rush county in young manhood and here passed the 
remainder of his life in the pursuits of farming, becoming the owner 
of 240 acres of land. He was a man of general worth, who occupied 
a high place in the esteem and confidence of those among whom his 
career was passed. He and his wife were the parents of eight chil- 
dren, of whom two survive, Leona and Henry <"!. Henry G. Conaway 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 247 

received his education in the public schools of Posey township, princi- 
pally at the Conaway schoolhouse, so named because of its proximity 
to the Conaway home. After completing his studies he began his 
farming career as a hand in the fields of the neighboring agricultur- 
ists, and continued to be thus employed until his marriage, at which 
time he rented the home farm. After one year as a renter from his 
father, he moved with Mrs. Conaway to the home of his father-in-law, 
William H. Nelson, a tract of eighty acres in the same township, and 
there remained for fifteen years, during which time he carried on 
operations as a renter. Disposing of his interests, he went to Colorado, 
but found conditions there not to his liking and accordingly returned 
to Rush county and for about eighteen months made his home at 
Arlington. He then secured his present farm of forty acres in 
Ripley township, where he has made numerous improvements and has 
substantial buildings, high-grade equipment and a good grade of live 
stock. He has devoted himself to general farming and his industry 
and good management have combined to make his operations a success. 
Mrs. Conaway is the owner of 205 acres of valuable land in Posey 
township, now being operated by tenants. On December 31, 1891, 
Mr. Conaway was united in marriage with Mertie M. Nelson, who was 
born in Posey township, daughter of William H. and Elizabeth 
(Adams) Nelson. Mr. and Mrs. Conaway are members of the Chris- 
tian church, belonging to the congregation at Carthage. Politically a 
Republican, Mr. Conaway is a stanch supporter of his party's prin- 
ciples, but has not sought the honors of public office, having been con- 
tent to express his good citizenship through his co-operation in worthy 
civic movements. 

CHARLES J. CARON, whose name, in the minds of the people 
of Rushville, is indissolubly connected with the manufacture and sale 
of candies, ice cream and sweetmeats, has been identified as proprietor 
of the Caron Confectionary, now one of the city's thriving enter- 
prises, since 1902. Mr. Caron was born at Union City, Ind., Jidy 
12, 1868, a son of John and Lydia (Romiser) Caron. John Caron 
was born in Darke county, Ohio, and as a young man went to Ran- 
dolph county, Indiana, settling at Union City, where he was employed 
for many years as a finisher in a furniture factory. Mrs. Caron 
was a native of Randolph county, and they were the parents of eight 
children, of whom four are living : Peter, Edward, Mary and Charles 
J. Charles J. Caron was educated in the parochial schools of Union 
City, and on leaving school took up the trade of cabinet-maker, which 
he followed for about twenty years. In 1902 he came to Rushville 
and opened his present establishment on North Main street, having 
now been in the same location for nearly twenty years, although on 
several occasions he has found it necessary to rearrange his establish- 
ment and to make additions thereto in order to meet with the demands 
of a constantly increasing business. He now operates an ice cream 
factory with a capacity of 300 gallons daily, and manufactures all the 
ice cream which he sells, in addition to making most of the candy 
handled in his establishment. He does both a wholesale and retail 



24S HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

business, and close study of his business has given him many secrets 
of composition which add to the delicacy and piquancy of his products, 
which are high in favor with the people of Rushville and the surround- 
ing communities. Mr. Caron is a Democrat in politics. He belongs 
to the Rushville Rotary Club, and as a fraternalist holds membership 
in Rushville Council, No. 764, and fourth degree of Indianapolis 
Knights of Columbus ; and Rushville Lodge, No. 1307, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. With his family, he belongs to St. Mary's 
Catholic church of Rushville. In June, 1897, Mr. Caron married 
Helen Wallace, born at Union City, Ind., and educated in the paro- 
chial school there, a daughter of Patrick and Helen (Leary) Wallace, 
Mr. Wallace being a road contractor. Eight children were born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Wallace, all of whom are living, James, Edward, John, 
William, Catherine, Daisy, Mary and Helen. Four children have 
been born to Mr. and Mrs. Caron : Jerome, who served about fifteen 
months as a member of Company K, Thirtieth Infantry, Third Divi- 
sion, during the World war and participated in numerous battles, 
including Champagne, Marne, Aisne-Marne, St. Mihiel, Meuse and 
Argonne, and is now associated with his father in business; Lester, 
who is also assisting his father in conducting the business; Cyril, who 
is taking civil engineering and chemistry courses at Purdue Univer- 
sity; and Katherine, who is attending Ursiline Academy, at St. Mar- 
tins, Ohio. 

CHARLES E. KINCAID, one of the well known and successful 
farmers of Richland township, not only has achieved success along 
steady lines of action, but has also been deeply interested in the 
advancement of the locality. Mr. Kincaid, who operates a splen- 
did farm of 240 acres, is a native son of the old Hoosier state, hav- 
ing been born in Decatur county on May 17, 1868, and is the son of 
John C. and Sarah (Patterson) Kincaid, the former a native of 
Decatur county, Indiana, and the latter born in the state of Ken- 
tucky. John C. Kincaid was reared to manhood in his native 
county, and was there married. After following agricultural pur- 
suits there for a number of years, he engaged in the general mer- 
cantile business at Clarksburg, which commanded bis attention for 
a number of years. He is now living in Kokomo, Ind., where he is 
following the carpenter trade. He is descended from sterling old 
Kentucky stock, from which state in an early day came his paternal 
grandfather, John Kincaid, who entered land in Decatur county 
and there spent the remainder of his days. His son, David, father 
of John C. Kincaid, also lived and died on that farm. To John C. 
and Sarah Kincaid were born fourteen children, of whom eleven 
are living, namely: Charles E., Samuel, Nora, Clyde, Bertha, Clin- 
ton, John, Cora, Albert, India and William. Charles E. Kincaid 
spent his boyhood days on the paternal homestead and received his 
education in the schools of that locality. For several years he 
was employed in his father's general store at Clarksburg, after 
which he bought and for a short time operated a store in Shelby 




CHAKLES E. KINCAID 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 249 

county. Then, following his marriage, he located on the farm where 
he now lives and which lie operated for eleven years. During the 
following eight years he operated a hotel and livery barn in Clarks- 
burg, at the end of that time returning to his farm, to which he 
has continuously since devoted his attention. He also gives con- 
siderable attention to the breeding and raising of live stock. Pro- 
gressive and up-to-date in his methods, he is considered one of the 
most enterprising farmers in Richland township and occupies a 
deservedly high position in the esteem of his fellow citizens. Mr. 
Kincaid was married to Pearl Moore, the daughter of Jasper and 
Mary (Stevens) Moore, and to them have been born two children, 
Ralph, who is now pursuing the agricultural course in Purdue 
University, and Sanford, who is deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Kincaid 
are members of the Christian church, while fraternally, Mr. Kin- 
caid belongs to the Free and Accepted Masons, in which he has 
attained the degrees of the council, the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows and the Knights of Pythias. In political affairs, he gives 
his support to the Democratic party and he takes an intelligent 
part in all movements for the general welfare. Mrs. Kincaid also 
was born in Decatur county, of which her parents for years were 
residents. Her father, Jasper Moore, was born in Hamersville, 
Ohio, and her mother (Mary Stevens) was born in the vicinity of 
Milford, Ky. Following their marriage in Kentucky, Jasper Moore 
and his wife came to Indiana and located in Rush county in 1852, 
Mr. Moore becoming engaged in farming here. He presently moved 
to Cincinnati and was there a number of years engaged in business 
with the George Biglow dry goods house, later returning to In- 
diana and locating at Clarksburg, where he opened a general store 
and continued thus engaged at that place the remainder of his life. 
He and his wife were the parents of eight children, of whom but 
two are now living, Mrs. Kincaid and her brother, Rufus S. Moore. 
CHARLES R. OLDHAM, one of the successful agriculturists and 
respected citizens of Center township, this county, is a native of the 
township now honored by his citizenship and was born on December 
7, 1859. His parents were James and Levina (Moffitt) Oldham, the 
former a native of Tennessee and the latter of Knox county, Ohio. 
Both were brought to Rush county in childhood by their respective 
parents and were here reared and educated. James Oldham followed 
the vocation of farming throughout his active life and from the time 
of his marriage until death he lived on the farm now occupied by the 
subject of this sketch. He was eighty-one years of age at the time of 
his death. He owned 180 acres of land in Center township, Rush 
county, and eighty acres in Randolph county, Indiana. To him and 
his wife were born eight children, five of whom are living, namely : 
Mollie, Ella, Charles R., Lillie and Chester. Charles R, Oldham 
received a good practical education, having attended the common 
schools of Center township, the school at Mays, and then two years 
at Spiceland Academy. On completing his studies he turned his 



250 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

attention to farming, devoting his energies to the home farm up to 
within a year of his marriage, when he went to Ringgold county, Iowa. 
Returning to Rush county a year later, he was married and then for 
two years he operated rented land in Center township, but once more 
he went to Iowa, where he remained about four years. Returning 
to Indiana, he located on rented land in Hancock county, where he 
remained for about five years, at the end of which time he bought 
eighty acres of land, which he sold three years later. For two years 
he rented land, and then bought 100 acres in Center township, which 
he still owns. On the death of his father he bought the old homestead 
farm, consisting of 180 acres of excellent land and where he now lives, 
thus giving him a total of 280 acres of land. Mr. Oldham and his 
sons operate all this land and have been rewarded through the years 
by a satisfactory measure of success. He carries on general farming 
operations and also gives some attention to live stock, feeding about 
two carloads of hogs annually. On February 28, 1884, Mr. Oldham 
was married to Martha Huddleson, a native of Center township and 
the daughter of John J. and Elizabeth (Turner) Huddleson, the 
former of whom was a farmer and the owner of 100 acres of land in 
Center township. To Mr. and Mrs. Oldham have been born five 
children, four of whom are living, namely: Herschel, a farmer in 
Center township, who married Nellie Heiner; Ralph; Clarence, and 
Ruby, wife of Marion Stoten, of Knightstown, Indiana. Mr. Oldham 
is an earnest member of the Methodist Episcopal church at Spiceland, 
Ind., while his political faith is that of the Republican partv. 

HARRY E. STAGER, whose fortunes since 1889 have been 
identified with Rush county and who at present is the owner of a 
well-cultivated property in Ripley township, a community in which 
he is held in high esteem, was born at Jonestown, Lebanon county, 
Pennsylvania, November 25, 1862, a son of Henry and Mary E. 
(Roebuck) Stager. His father, who in early life was a teacher and 
later turned his attention to the wood-turner's trade, enlisted during 
the early days of the Civil war in an infantry regiment of volunteers 
from Pennsylvania, and took part in the battle of Bull Run. Con- 
tracting disease while in the service, he returned to his home and there 
passed away while still a young man. Harry E. Stager acquired a 
public school education at Jonestown, and as a youth learned the 
vocation of miller, which he followed for some eighteen years. It 
was while he was thus employed that he came to Rush county in 
1889, and continued to interest himself in this line for several years 
thereafter. He then turned his attention to the creamery business, 
and for seven years was successful in conducting the creamery at 
Carthage, at the end of that period disposing of his interests and 
purchasing his present farm in Ripley township, a tract of ninety- 
four, acres which he has continued to cultivate. Mr. Stager is indus- 
trious, progressive and enterprising and has combined these qiialities 
with good management in a way that has brought him well-merited 
success. He has substantial and attractive buildings and modern 
equipment and in every way is considered representative of the best 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 251 

agricultural element of the community. On March 31, 1891, Mr. 
Stager was united in marriage to Sallie R. Gear, who was born at 
Carthage, a daughter of Henry and Mary E. (Hill) Gear, well-known 
and highly respected farming people of this county. She received 
her education in the public schools of Carthage and at Earlham Col- 
lege, Richmond, Ind., and is a woman of superior attainments. Two 
children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Stager: Mary Inis, who 
married Allen T. Blacklidge, of Rush county, and has one child, 
Betty, and Henry G., who is unmarried and assists his father on the 
home farm. Mr. Stager, the elder, belongs to the Carthage lodge of the 
Masonic fraternity. "With his family, he holds membership in the 
Carthage Methodist Church, and in politics he is a Republican. 

THEODORE HUMPHREY, a substantial farmer of Richland 
township, is a native son of the old Hoosier state, having been born in 
Union county, Indiana, on April 25, 1846, and he is the son of Robert 
and Margaret (Crist) Humphrey, both of whom also were natives 
of Indiana, the father having been born in Union county and the 
mother in Franklin county. On the paternal side the subject is 
descended from sterling old Scottish stock, his grandfather having 
been John G. Humphrey. Robert Humphrey grew to manhood, 
received his early education and was married in his native county. 
He followed farming pursuits there until 1848, when he located in 
Decatur county, where he bought a farm, to the operation of which 
he devoted himself thereafter, excepting one year when he farmed in 
Franklin county. He was the owner of 100 acres of land. To him 
and his wife were born four children, of whom the only survivors 
now are the subject of this sketch and a sister, Amanda. Theodore 
Humphrey attended the schools of Decatur county and on attaining 
mature years took up farming on the home place, his father having 
died some years previously. He remained with his mother until he 
was twenty-nine years of age, when he married and came to Rush 
county. He first began his farming operations here on rented land, 
and so continued for thirteen years. He then bought his first farm 
of eighty acres and so successful was he in its operations and so wise 
his management that he was enabled to increase his land holdings to 
240 acres, all in Richland township. He made many permanent and 
substantial improvements on his land, which he devoted to general 
agricultural purposes and stock raising, and gained a high reputation 
as a progressive and enterprising farmer. He has been retired from 
active business pursuits since 1910 and is now enjoying the fruits of 
his former years of toil. In 1875 Mr. Humphrey was married to 
Elizabeth J. Stephenson, who was born in Anderson township. Rush 
county, the daughter of Newton aud Rosanna (Mitchell) Stephenson, 
both of whom also were natives of this state. Newton Stephenson 
was a farmer by vocation, having farmed on rented land in Anderson 
township and also farmed in Tipton and Boone counties, this state. 
To him and his wife were born five children, of whom Mrs. Hum- 
phrey is now the only survivor. To Mr. and Mrs. Humphrey have 
been born four children, namely : Robert, who married Margaret 



252 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Diekiuson and has three children, Guy, Bertha and Dale; Grace, a 
professional nurse, who was graduated from the Frankfort Hospital, 
at Philadelphia, Pa. ; Frank, who married Bessie Brickler and has 
two children, Harold and Dorothy; Mattie, who died at the age of 
seventeen years. Mr. Humphrey and his family are members of the 
Spring Hill United Presbyterian Church of which he is an elder. 
Politically, he is a Democrat. 

GEORGE W. DARNELL, whose residence in Anderson town- 
ship covered a period of about a quarter of a century, was a well- 
known farmer and stock raiser and a citizen honored for the con- 
scientious discharge of his duties in whatever walk of life he pur- 
sued. His death, therefore, December 1, 1910, was sincerely and 
generally mourned. Mr. Darnell was born on December 25, 1862, 
in Scott county, Kentucky, a son of James and Mary Darnell, both 
natives of the Blue Grass state, and farmers who passed their en- 
tire lives in Scott county, Kentucky. Of the children of James 
Darnell and wife only two came to Rush county, George W. and 
his brother, John Darnell, who now resides near Falmouth. George 
W. Darnell received his education in the district schools of his 
native state, and when his training in this direction had been com- 
pleted took up farming as an employe of others. He was past his 
majority when he came to Rush county and for a time worked in 
the fields as a hand, but at the time of his marriage began farming 
on his own account, and two years later located on the property in 
Anderson township upon which was spent the balance of his life. 
Mr. Darnell was a Democrat, a faithful member of the Christian 
church at Milroy, and affiliated with the lodge of the Modern 
Woodmen of America. He was united in marriage with Ella Bar- 
ton, daughter of James A. and Lucinda (Amos) Barton, and to this 
union there were born four children : James Clarence, who mar- 
ried Mabel Foster and has four children, Mildred, Kenneth, Mo- 
rine and Lorene ; Mary E., who is unmarried ; Clara Barton, who 
married John Vansickle and has two children, Dorothy Mae and 
Earl; and J. Albert, who is unmarried and resides on the home 
farm. Mrs. Darnell was born on the farm on which she now lives, 
in Anderson township. Her father, a native of Kentucky, came to 
Rush county as a young man, here met and married Mrs. Barton, a 
native of Rush county, and passed the rest of his life here in agri- 
cultural operations. There were five children in the Barton fam- 
ily, of whom two survive : Mrs. Darnell, and Lura, who married 
Henry Davis. Mrs. Darnell is a helpful member of the Christian 
church at Milroy. 

CHARLES B. KENNER is one of the prosperous farmers of 
Noble township, who finds it profitable to feed his grain to cattle and 
hogs, and is making a success of his agricultural labors. He was born 
in Brown county, Ohio, January 31, 1858, son of William L. and Mary 
(Bordon) Kenner, both of whom were also born in Ohio. William L. 
Kenner was reared, educated and married in his native state. He 




GEORGE W. DARNELL 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 253 

learned the carpenter trade, and from that went into ship building 
work, and in the latter connection went to Covington, Ky., living in 
that city from 1858 until 1866 when he came to Rush county, located 
in Noble township, and here began farming, alternating work at that 
calling with carpentering until his death which occurred in 1872. 
His widow survived him until 1890, when she passed away. While he 
farmed to quite an extent in Noble township, he rented his land. He 
and his wife had nine children, seven of whom survive, namely: 
William Taylor, Belle, William Frank, Charles B., Ella, Dan and 
Ralph. Charles B. Kenner attended the country schools of Rush 
county until old enough to work out as a farm hand in the summer 
and a sawmill operator in the winter, and he continued to follow 
these two occupations for seven years. At the end of that time he 
was married, and then began farming, for twelve years renting 
land for that purpose. He and his wife then inherited the home- 
stead of 135 acres of land from her father's estate, all of which is in 
Noble township, and moved to it, and here they have since resided. 
Mr. Kenner raises about forty-five acres of corn and the same amount 
of small grain, and feeds it to hogs and cattle, feeding out from 100 
to 150 head of hogs annually. All his life he has been a general farmer 
and stockraiser and believes that his land is best adapted to the pur- 
poses to which he devotes it. Mr. Kenner married Priscilla, daughter 
of John S. and Priscilla (Thompson) Looney, and they became the 
parents of five children, namely: Ray, who is the eldest; Grace, who 
married Harry Armstrong and has two children, Charles Borden and 
Robert Allen; Clarence, who married Rhoda Applegate and has one 
child, Marcella ; Arthur, who married Bessie Baring ; and Louise, who 
is deceased. In politics Mr. Kenner is a Republican and he is a mem- 
ber of Little Flat Rock Christian Church. 

FRANK HUBER, one of the well-known agriculturists of Center 
township, this county, was born in that township on March 12, 1879, 
the son of Fred and Katherine (Hoff) Huber, the former a native of 
Franklin county, Indiana, and the latter of Dearborn county, Indiana. 
The father followed farming all his life, in Center township during 
the major poi"tion of this time, being the owner of eighty acres of 
land. He and his wife were the parents of five children, all of whom 
are living, namely: Claude, Elizabeth, Cora, Mable and Frank. The 
last named was educated in the common schools of Center township 
and after leaving school turned his attention to agriculture, working 
on the home farm up to the time of his marriage. After the latter 
event he worked by the month as a farm hand for about a year and 
then began to operate rented land, in which method he still continues, 
now renting his f ather-in-law 's farm of 100 acres in Center township. 
He also owns twenty-five acres of land in that township. He is a 
thoroughly practical and painstaking farmer and carries on a general 
line of operations, raising all the crops common to this locality. He 
also gives due attention to that most valuable adjunct of the up-to- 
date farm, live stock, raising about sixty head of hogs a year. He 
keeps the place in good repair and is considered a good farmer. In 



254 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

1S98 Mr. Huber was married to Elsie Lyons, who was born and reared 
in Center township, the daughter of Charles and Florence (Downey) 
Lyons, both of whom also are natives of Rush county. Mrs. Lyons 
was a cultured and well educated woman, having supplemented her 
public school education by attendance at a normal school at Xenia, 
Ohio. Mr. Lyons was a farmer and stock-buyer, having bought stock 
over much of the surrounding country. He was successful and 
owned 125 acres of land in Center township. To him and his wife 
were born three children, Blaine, Nellie and Elsie. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Huber have been born three children, namely : Pauline, who is the 
wife of Clay Shields, a farmer in Center township ; Carroll and Mar- 
garet, who are attending school. Politically, Mr. Huber is a stanch 
supporter of the Republican party and gives his influence toward the 
advancement of every enterprise or movement for the general welfare. 
D. D. BALL. It is a well authenticated fact that success comes 
not at the caprice of chance, but as the legitimate result of well-applied 
energy, unflagging determination and perseverance in a definite 
course of action. The subject of this sketch sought no royal road to 
success, but has followed the well-beaten paths of those who have won 
in the battle of life along legitimate lines. As county agent of Rush 
county he is today giving a service to the community of inestimable 
value and second in importance to no other line of effort. D. D. 
Ball was born in Rushville, Ind., on February 11, 1894, and is the 
son of James H. and Carrie M. (Overman) Ball, also natives of Rush 
county. Here the father was reared and educated and later took up 
farming and stock raising. He became a very successful breeder of 
Shorthorn cattle and Poland China hogs, and also was extensively 
engaged in the grain business here for some years. Several years ago 
he moved to Roswell, New Mexico, and later to Enid, Okla., where 
he now resides. To him and his wife were born six children, namely : 
Myron 0., Donald D., James R., Harold H., Cedric 0. and Florence 
H. Donald D. Ball attended the public schools of Rushville up to 
the second year in high school, when the family moved to New 
Mexico. There he completed his high school course and then entered 
Purdue University, where he took the course in agriculture, receiving 
his degree from that institution in 1917. Soon afterward he was 
appointed county agent for Daviess county, Indiana, filling that 
position until 1920, when he was appointed county agent for Rush 
county, which position he is now filling to the entire satisfaction of 
all who are interested in the advancement and development of better 
farming methods and conditions. On February 11, 1919, Mr. Ball 
was married to Hazel Plummer, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Edwin 
Plummer, and they are the parents of one child, Anna Belle. Mr. 
and Mrs. Ball are active members of the Methodist Episcopal church 
in Rushville. He is a member of the college fraternities, Delta Tail 
and Alpha Zeta. Personally, Mr. Ball is genial and obliging in man- 
ner, gives evidence of a thorough knowledge of the subject which he 
has made his life work and has created a most excellent impression on 
those with whom he has worked or come into contact. 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 255 

WESLEY S. CATT, a retired farmer of this county now living 
at Carthage and who is included among the old and honored citizens 
of Rush county who have rounded out more than four score years and 
are now passing the evening of life in comfortable retirement, was 
born on a farm in the neighboring county of Hancock, a son of Michael 
and Matilda (Hatton) Catt, the former a native of Ohio and the latter 
of Kentucky. For the greater part of his life Michael Catt followed 
farming in Hancock county, where he was well known and highly 
esteemed. Wesley S. Catt received his education in the district schools 
of that county, after leaving which he worked on the home farm until 
reaching the age of twenty-one years. The call for troops for the 
Union army called him into the service at that time, and for three 
years he fought with the Ninety-ninth regiment, Indiana Volunteer 
Infantry, as a private of Company B, establishing an excellent record 
as a brave and faithful soldier. Returning from the service with his 
honorable discharge, he again located on the home farm, where he 
remained until the death of his father, in the meantime having 
married. After the elder man's death, Mr. Catt's brother, Jacob 
Catt, bought the home place, which in turn was purchased by Wesley 
S. Catt, who continued its successful operation until his retirement, 
when he located at Carthage. At this time Mr. Catt's son, Noble S. 
Catt, owns and operates this property, which consists of eighty acres. 
During his career as an agriculturist Mr. Catt proved himself a 
capable and progressive farmer and kept fully abreast of the various 
advancements made in his calling. He won the esteem and confidence 
of his associates, and these qualities he possesses in his full share in 
the community in which he now makes his home. On September 1, 
1865, Mr. Catt was united in marriage to Mary L. Clark, who was 
born in Hancock county, a daughter of James and Mary (West) 
Clark, and to this union there were born four children, Pauline, wife 
of Hiram Weed, of Elwood, Ind. ; Laura B., wife of Charles Benson, 
a farmer of Ripley township, Rush county ; Noble S., who is operating 
the farm in Hancock county, and Albert, deceased, formerly a farmer 
of Hancock county, who married Katherine Beaver, and had three 
children, Irine, Dorothy M. and Mary E. Mr. Catt is a member of 
the Masonic fraternity, belonging to the blue lodge at Carthage, and 
in politics is a Democrat. He is a Methodist and holds membership in 
the church of that denomination at Willow Branch, Hancock county. 
CHARLES M. TROWBRIDGE, one of the most successful 
farmers and stock breeders of Rush county, and a well-known citizen 
of Center township, is a native son of the county now honored by his 
citizenship, having been born in Center township on January 13, 
1878, and is the son of James W. and Sarah II. (Gorman) Trow- 
bridge, both of whom were born in this county and here spent their 
entire lives. James Trowbridge was a farmer by vocation, mostly in 
Center township, remaining actively engaged in that work until 1908, 
when he retired from active business and moved to Mays, where he 
now lives. He is the owner of 114 acres of land in Center township 
To him and his wife were born four children, of whom three are 



256 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

living, A. Jesse, Charles M. and Herbert G. ; Stella, who was born on 
February 27, 1879, died in May, 1916. The subject of this review 
received his educational training in the public schools of Center town- 
ship, Carthage and Mays. He then engaged in teaching school, but 
after one year of this work, he turned his attention to farming, in 
which he achieved a pronounced success. He first purchased forty 
acres of land in Center township and to this later added another forty 
acres, so that his holdings now amount to eighty acres. He has made 
many permanent and substantial improvements on the place, which is 
now one of the best equipped and most attractive in the township. 
Practically all of the buildings have been erected by him, he has 
installed an up-to-date electric light plant and has hot and cold 
running water throughout the premises where desired. In addition 
to carrying on a general line of farming, Mr. Trowbridge gives special 
attention to the raising of fancy live stock, especially on pure-blooded 
Duroc Jersey hogs, in the breeding and raising of which he has met 
with much more than ordinary success, gaining a reputation which 
far transcends local boundaries. He raises about 120 head every 
year and holds two sales a year. His animals are registered and 
most of them go to the Southern states. Mr. Trowbridge's success and 
efforts in the handling of pure-bred stock has been recognized in his 
election to the presidency of the Indiana Duroc Swine Breeders' Asso- 
ciation, in which position he -is now serving. His farm, which is 
known as "Woodlawn Stock Farm," has gained a high standing 
among the leading farm plants of northern Rush county and Mr. 
Trowbridge is considered one of the most enterprising and progres- 
sive citizens of his locality. On May 17, 1899, Mr. Trowbridge was 
married to Ruby M. Moore, a native of Rush county and the daughter 
of James O. and Lucy (Souder) Moore, both also natives of this 
county. Mr. Moore was a farmer and owned eighty acres of land in 
Posey township. He and his wife had three children. Maude, Ruby 
and Jennie, the first-named being deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Trow- 
bridge have a daughter, Lois M., who was born on November 17, 1908, 
and is now attending the Center school. Mr. and Mrs. Trowbridge 
are members of the Center Christian Church, of which he is a trustee. 
In his political views he is a Republican and takes a keen interest in 
public events, especially as relating to his county and community. 

LARKIN DAVIS, one of the leading citizens of his commu- 
nity and eminently entitled to representation in a work of this 
character, whose fine farm is located in Richland township, was 
born in the neighboring county of Franklin on July 25, 1868, and 
is the son of Jefferson and Sarah (Thompson) Davis, the former a 
native of Kentucky and the latter of New Jersey. Jefferson Davis 
was but a boy when his parents brought their family to Indiana. 
They entered iand in Franklin county and established a farm, where 
Jefferson was reared to manhood. He was married there and later 
he bought a farm of 160 acres in that county and devoted himself 
to its operation until about 1880, when he sold out and bought 210 
acres of land in Decatur county, along the Rush county line. There 




££)^d 


erl 


d 


t 






















! 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 257 

he made his home until a few years prior to his death, from which 
time he made his home with his daughter, Nancy, until his death, 
which occurred in 1913. His wife had passed away in 1900. They 
were the parents of eight children, six of whom are now living, 
namely: Jefferson, Mary, Nancy, Monroe, Larkin and John. 
Larkin Davis received his educational training in the public schools 
of Decatur county and since attaining manhood's years he has con- 
tinuously applied himself to agricultural pursuits. He remained 
with his father until he had attained his majority, when he rented 
land and farmed on his own account for three years. He then 
bought the place on which he now lives, his first purchase com- 
prising seventy acres, to which he lias since added by purchase, 
until he is now the owuer of 110 acres of land, lying in Rush and 
Decatur counties. Mr. Davis is an up-to-date and progressive 
farmer, adopting modern ideas and maintaining his farm at the 
highest standard of excellence. He carries on general farming 
operations and also gives some attention to live stock, annually 
feeding about seventy-five hogs. On October 2, 1890, Mr. Davis 
was married to Lulu Hite, the daughter of George W. and Eliza- 
beth Hite, but, after a happy union of almost a quarter of a cen- 
tury Mrs. Davis passed away on September 23, 1915. Mr. Davis is 
an earnest supporter of the Republican party, and his influence is 
always given to the advancement of every movement for the ad- 
vancement of the general welfare. Because of his business success 
and his consistent life, he has richly earned the high place he occu- 
pies in the esteem of the entire community. 

LAWRENCE L. ALLEN, a well known grocer at Rushville, who 
has been prominently identified with the business life of that city 
for years and has spent the most active part of his life in this county, 
whose interests he has ever had at heart, is progressive in all that 
term implies and yet is straightforward and unassuming in all the 
relations of life. Mr. Allen was born in Putnam county, Indiana, on 
February 17, 1880, and is the son of William H. and Margaret 
(Lovett) Allen. He received a good practical education in the com- 
mon and high schools of Greencastle, Indiana, and shortly after leav- 
ing school, at the outbreak of the Spanish-American war, he enlisted 
in the One Hundred and Fifty-ninth regiment, Indiana Volunteer In- 
fantry, with which he served about ten months. After his discharge 
from the army Mr. Allen went to Chicago, where for about five years 
he was connected with the grain business. He then came to Rushville 
and engaged in the grocery business, with which he has been identified 
continuously ever since. He began business in a modest way at his 
present location, starting with one boy as a helper, but his business 
grew steadily through the years and now he employs seven persons, 
runs two delivery wagons and enjoys the largest patronage of any store 
of the kind in Rushville. He carries a high grade of goods and 
courteous treatment has always characterized his relations with the 
public, so that today he stands at the head of the grocerymen of his 
17 



258 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

community. On March 8, 1904, Mr. Allen was married to Kate W. 
i Ihurchill, who was born and reared in Rushville, the daughter of 
William and Anna R. (Bush) Churchill. Mrs. Allen is a cultured 
and well educated lady, having been a student in Depauw University 
at Greencastle, after finishing her high school course here. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Allen have been born four children, Churchill, Anna R., lone 
and Avis, all of whom are students in the public schools of Rushville. 
Politically, Mr. Allen gives his support to the Democratic party and 
he sustains fraternal relations with Phoenix Lodge, No. 62, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and Rushville Lodge, No. 35, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, as well as Murat Temple, Ancient Arabic Order of 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, at Indianapolis. He and his wife are 
members of the Methodist Episcopal church at Rushville. Person- 
ally, Mr. Allen is intensely interested in everything pertaining to the 
advancement of the community, giving his support to every enter- 
prise calculated to improve the general welfare. 

HERBERT HOLDEN, one of the successfid young farmers of 
Noble township, is devoting his time and talents to the cultivation of 
his valuable farm of eighty acres and producing his share of the 
foodstuffs of the world. He is a native son of Rush county, born on 
December 7, "1889, in Richland township, son of Jesse and Lola (Hite) 
Holden, also natives of Richland township. Jesse Holden was reared 
and educated in Rush county, and here he was married. At the time 
of his death he owned 240 acres of valuable land in Noble township. 
He and his wife had six children, Bessie. Charles. Herbert. Mabel, and 
two who are deceased. Herbert Holden received his educational 
training in Noble township, and as soon as he was old enough he began 
assisting his parents in operating their farm, remaining at home until 
his marriage. At that time he bought forty acres of land to which 
he added forty acres more in the fall of 1920. and now has a desirable 
property in which he takes considerable pride. On December 13, 
1914, Mr. Holden was married to Fannie Mock, daughter of John 
and Agnes Mock. Mr. Holden belongs to Little Flat Rock Christian 
Church, of which he has been deacon, and in which he for years has 
been a prominent factor. Fraternally he maintains membership with 
the Knights of Pythias of Rushville. He votes the Democratic ticket. 
A hard-working, energetic and thrifty man, Mr. Holden deserves the 
success which has already attended him and has a bright future before 
him. 

LEWIS M. CLARK, a well known and substantial retired farmer 
and landowner of Noble township, now living at Rushville, is a native 
Hoosier and has lived in this state all his life. He was born on a farm 
in Bartholomew county, May 27, 1849, son of Leonard and Mary 
(Marr) Clark, both of whom also were born in that county, members 
of pioneer families there. Leonard Clark and wife were the parents 
of eight children, all of whom save two are still living, those besides 
the subject of this sketch being Minerva, Alice, Emma, Pink and 
Frank. One son, George, died after reaching maturity and one child 
died when quite young. Reared on the home farm in Bartholomew 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 259 

county, Lewis M. Clark became a farmer on his own account as a 
young man and owned a small farm, which he operated until after 
his marriage when he came to Rush county and rented a farm from 
his father-in-law, Benjamin Frazee. Upon the settlement of the exten- 
sive Frazee estate he and his wife received a tract of 500 acres in Noble 
township and there made their home until their retirement from the 
farm and removal to Rushville, where they now reside, they and their 
family being very comfortably situated at 631 North Main street. 
Mr. and Mrs. Clark are members of the Christian church and are 
Republicans. Mrs. Clark was born in Noble township, this county, 
Madaline Frazee, daughter of Benjamin and Ruth (Thompson) Fra- 
zee, the latter of whom was born on April 6, 1835, daughter of Elder 
Thompson, a pioneer Christian minister of this county and concern- 
ing whom extended reference is made in the chapter on the churches 
of Rush county elsewhere in this work. Benjamin Frazee, who in 
his generation was regarded as the largest landowner in Rush county, 
was a native of Kentucky, born in Bracken county, that state, April 

6, 1824, son of James and Catherine (King) Frazee, both of whom 
also were born in Kentucky, the former born on March 10, 1SO0, and 
the latter, November 13, 1801. "William Frazee came to Indiana with 
his family in 1829 and settled in Rush county, where he and his wife 
spent their last days, his death occurring here on September 11, 1877, 
and hers, February 17, 1S76. Benjamin Frazee was five years of age 
when he came to this county with his parents and he grew to man- 
hood here, a farmer from the days of his youth. At the age of twenty 
be began farming on his own account and in 1851 bought a tract of 
forty acres in Noble township, paying for the same $625. This was 
the nucleus of his later extensive landholdings, which he gradually 
increased until he became the owner of 2,000 acres of land in this 
county. It was in 1854 that Benjamin Frazee married Ruth Thomp- 
son. To that union were born six children, those besides Mrs. Clark, 
who was born on February 6, 1855, being John H., July 22, 1857; 
Laura Dell (deceased), August 3, I860; Alice (deceased), December 

7, 1862; Catherine, May S, 1869, and James Edward (deceased), 
November 15, 1872. Mr. and Mrs. Clark have three children, Lewis 
Cecil, Elsie and Marie, the latter of whom is the wife of Charles 
Offutt, a well known Noble township farmer. Lewis Cecil Clark is 
the state agent for the Ben-Hur Life Insurance Company of Missouri. 
He married Agnes Hale. Elsie Clark married Dr. N. G. Willis, of 
Connersville, Ind., and has two children, Clark and Ruth. 

JAMES F. WILSON, a well-known farmer of Noble township, 
was born in Ripley county, Indiana, July 25, 1874, son of William 
and Margaret (Marsh) Wilson, both of whom were born and reared 
in Ripley county. They attended school in that county and were 
there married. For some years they remained farming people of that 
region, but later moved to California, where they are still interested 
in agricultural pursuits. Two children were born to them, James F. 
and Louis H. (deceased). James F. Wilson also went to the Ripley 
county schools and later began farming, renting his grandfather's 



260 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

farm. In 1896 he came to Rush county, and from then until 1918 
worked for others, but in that year began farming on his own account 
and is now operating 120 acres of land and raising about 125 hogs 
annually. Mr. Wilson was married to Mrs. Harriet (Gruell) Wilson, 
daughter of Charles and Catherine Gruell and they have two children, 
Donald and Robert. By her first marriage Mrs. Wilson had six chil- 
dren, Merle, Thelma, Carl, Lowell, Monroe and Roland. Mrs. Wilson 
belongs to the Methodist Protestant church of New Salem. In 
politics Mr. Wilson is a Democrat, but aside from exercising his right 
of suffrage does not take an active part in party matters. He is a 
friend of the public schools and the good roads movement and may 
be depended upon to give his support to those measures looking toward 
an improvement of his home township. 

ANDERSON ARMSTRONG has spent his entire life within 
the borders of Rush county and his persistent efforts have bene- 
fited alike himself and the community. He is the scion of an 
excellent old pioneer family and he himself has been a witness to 
and a participant in the wonderful progress which has character- 
ized this section of the country during his lifetime. Anderson 
Armstrong, of Noble township, who is living retired after a long 
period of earnest endeavor, was born in that township on August 
3, 1847, and is the son of Henry and Amanda (Anderson) Arm- 
strong, the former a native of Franklin county, Indiana, and the 
latter of Boone county, Kentucky. Henry Armstrong was but 
four years of age when his parents brought their family to Rush 
county, and here he grew to manhood, securing his education in 
the common schools. He followed farming during all his active 
years and was eminently successful. To him and his wife were 
born six children, Leonidas, Florence Belle, Mo Dell, Pleasant H., 
George Elmer and Anderson. The subject's paternal grandparents 
were James and Mary (Lyons) Armstrong, the former a native of 
Franklin county, Indiana, and the latter born in Lynn county, North 
Carolina. They came to Rush county in 1827, being numbered 
among the pioneers of this section of the country, and they en- 
tered a tract of land in Noble township. Anderson Armstrong 
received his educational training in the public school at New 
Salem and he remained on the home farm with his father until 
1880, wlien he moved to the farm where he now lives. Two years 
later he w r ent to Lawrence county, Missouri, where for thirteen 
years he was engaged in farming and stock raising. He then re- 
turned to Rush county and again engaged in farming on his pres- 
ent place, which comprises fifty-five acres of excellent land, which 
he has well improved and maintained at a high standard of agri- 
cultural excellence. In addition to general farming, Mr. Arm- 
strong also has given special attention to the breeding and raising 
of pure-bred Poland China hogs. Industrious and a good manager, 
Mr. Armsti'ong has long enjoyed an enviable reputation among his 
fellow citizens and stands high among the enterprising farmers of 




AXDERSOX ARMSTRONG 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 261 

the county. In 1880 Mr. Armstrong was married to Nancy Jane 
Reeve, the daughter of Benjamin F. and Elizabeth (Parker) 
Reeve. To them have been born four children, namely: Harry B., 
who married Grace Olive Kinner and they have two children, 
Charles and Robert; Blanche, who is unmarried, remains at home; 
Ralph died on April 9, 1920; Chester died on November 6, 1892. 
Mrs. Armstrong was born and reared in the same home in which 
she now lives. Her mother was a native of Kentucky, and her 
father was born in Virginia, ne.ar the scene of the battle of Bull 
Run. He moved from Virginia to Kentucky with his parents and 
located in Mason county. He was twice married, first, in Ken- 
tucky, to Elizabeth Driskell, to which union were born eight chil- 
dren, George W., Francis M., Martha D., Henry C, Sarah D., Mary 
E., John B. and Eliza M. After the death of his first wife, Mr. 
Reeve married Elizabeth Parker, a daughter of Judge Parker, and 
they had three children, Hester, Benjamin F. and Nancy Jane. 
Mr. Reeve came to Rush county on March 3, 1833, and settled on 
the farm where Mr. and Mrs. Armstrong now live and here he 
farmed wih success, increasing his land holdings to 360 acres. Mr. 
and Mrs. Armstrong are members of the Little Flat Rock Chris- 
tian church, to which they give generous support, and in his polit- 
ical views Mr. Armstrong is a stanch Republican. He has always 
evinced an intelligent interest in all things pertaining to the gen- 
eral welfare of the community and is. held in high regard by all 
who know him. 

LUTHER SUTTON, one of the prominent and successful men 
of Center township, was born in the township in which he now lives, 
on February 26, 1869, and is the son of Samuel H. and Naomi A. 
(Davis) Sutton, the former a native of Center township, Rush county, 
and the latter born in Wayne county, Indiana. The father followed 
the vocation of farming throughout his active life, dying at the com- 
paratively early age of fifty-three years. He was the father of two 
children, Nellie and Luther. Luther Sutton received his educational 
training in the common schools of Center and Washington townships, 
his vacation periods being spent in work on the home farm. He 
remained at home until his marriage, when he rented eighty acres of 
land in Center township and began farming on his own account. Two 
years later he returned to the home farm, where he has remained to 
the present time, looking carefully after the interests and welfare 
of his mother, who is now eighty years of age. He now rents the 
home place of ninety acres and is meeting with a satisfactory measure 
of success. He is careful, painstaking and methodical in his opera- 
tions and carries on a general line of farming, also raising some live 
stock. On October 7, 1896, Mr. Sutton was married to Cora M. Cole, 
who was bom in Fayette county, Indiana, the daughter of Jerry G. 
and Rosetta (Wooders) Cole, the former of whom was a farmer by 
vocation. They were the parents of seven children, all of whom are 
living, namely: Alva, Walter. Arthur, Russell. Horace, Mamie and 
Cora. To Mr. and Mis. Sutton have been born three children, Lela 



262 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

R., Goldie M. and Earl B. Mr. and Mrs. Sutton are earnest members 
of the Center Christian Church. Politically, Mr. Sutton gives his 
support to no particular party, preferring to vote for those candidates 
which meet with his approval, regardless of party lines. Progressive 
and enterprising, Mr. Sutton enjoys the confidence and good will of 
all who know him. 

FRANK C. MOORE, who has long been one of the influential 
citizens of Rush county, in which he has spent practically his entire 
life and has merited the success which he has achieved and the 
enviable position which he holds in the esteem of those who know 
him, is a native of the old Buckeye state, having been born in Brown 
county, Ohio, on September 27, 1852, and is the son of Thompson and 
Mariah (Stephens) Moore, the former a native of Ohio and the latter 
of Kentucky. Thompson Moore was reared to manhood in Brown 
county, where, on attaining mature years, he followed the vocations 
of farming and milling. He was married in that county and remained 
there until 1853, when he came to Rush county, Indiana, and located 
at New Salem, where he and his father erected a grist and saw mill, 
which he operated for about fifteen years. He then sold out and took 
up the vocation of farming about one mile south of New Salem, where 
he bought 160 acres of land. There he built a home, cleared and 
improved the land and continued his farming operations there a 
number of years. He then sold out and bought a farm in Tippecanoe 
county, this state, but a short time afterward moved to the state of 
Kansas, where he bought a farm and spent the remainder of his days. 
To him and his wife were born seven children, of whom the survivors 
are Fannie, Alfred and Frank C, the immediate subject of this 
review. Frank C. Moore received his educational training in the 
schools at New Salem, after which he began farming with his father, 
with whom he remained until his marriage. He then began farming 
on his own account, renting land for a good many years. He was 
successful in his operations and then bought forty acres of land, onto 
which he moved and farmed that place one year. During the follow- 
ing year he rented another farm, at the end of which time he sold his 
forty-acre tract and bought 120 acres, which he later increased to 
145 acres. He always devoted his efforts to general farming and 
stock raising and has uniformly met with a satisfactory measure of 
success. Starting in life a poor boy, he has gained his present enviable 
position solely through his own efforts and is honored by his associates 
because of his achievements. Mr. Moore was married to Lida Hed- 
rick, the daughter of John and Mary (Taylor) Hedrick, and to them 
have been born eleven children, namely : Nelle, who became the wife of 
Frank Cupp and has three children, Clyde, Clarence and Abelena; 
Bessie, who became the wife of Louis Barber; Pearl, who became the 
wife of Roy Barber and the mother of three children, Merle, Dorothy 
and Thomas; Ruth, the wife of Raymond Sefton; Iona, the wife of 
Willard Farthing ; Suda ; William, who married Pearl Shaw and has 
three children, Frank, Webb and Irene; Webb, Charles, who mar- 
ried Lela French and has one child, Paul; Edd, who married Mary 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 263 

Barber and has one child, Leonora; George, who married Pauline 
Smith and has one child, Arnold E. In his political faith, Mr. Moore 
has been a lifelong supporter of the Democratic party. William 
Moore, above mentioned, is the superintendent of the Oklahoma City 
high school and has for the past three years represented the state of 
Oklahoma in the annual meeting of the National Education Asso- 
ciation. 

JESSE HENLEY, trustee of Ripley township and for years one 
of the prominent factors in the development of the Carthage neigh- 
borhood, a member of one of the first families there, was born in 
Ripley township, March 16, 1866, a son of Robert and Mary (Newby) 
Henley, natives of North Carolina. Robert Henley was a child when 
brought to Rush county by his parents, in 1837, and here grew to 
manhood on the farm which his father had entered from the Govern- 
ment, in Ripley township. On April 24, 1856, he married Mary 
Newby, who had been brought as a child to Rush county in 1832, and 
this worthy and highly respected couple passed their lives in Ripley 
township, where Robert Henley accumulated a property of 343 acres. 
They were the parents of four children : Hiram II., of Rush county ; 
Albert, of Indianapolis; Mrs. Pennia Trueblood, of Richmond, 
Indiana, and Jesse. Jesse Henley was given good educational advan- 
tages in his youth, first attending the schools of Carthage and later 
Earlham College, at Richmond, for two years. On leaving college he 
secured employment as a bookkeeper in the office of the Rushville 
Natural Gas Company, at Rushville, but after one year returned to 
Carthage, where he embarked in the lumber business with his brother, 
Hiram H., and continued therein until 1908. In that year the partner- 
ship was dissolved, Mr. Henley disposing of his interests in the busi- 
ness, although still retaining his holdings in the machinery and prop- 
erty. He has since interested himself in farming, in which he has 
attained much success. His business abilities have been so directed as 
to give him high standing in business circles and in the confidence of 
those with whom he has been associated. Mr. Henley's services to 
his community in official positions have been numerous and valuable. 
In 1899 he was elected trustee of Ripley township, a capacity in which 
he served for four years, and at the end of that time was appointed 
secretary of the board of school directors at Carthage, acting also 
in that position for a like period. In 1912 he was appointed to com- 
plete the unexpired term of A. 0. Hill, in the office of township 
trustee, and in 1914 was elected to that office and again elected in 
1918, his term to expire in 1922. On November 20, 1895, Mr. Henley 
was united in marriage to Jennie Overman, who was born in Ripley 
township and was educated in the schools of Carthage, a daughter of 
Oliver P. and Florence L. (Nixon) Overman, natives of Ripley town- 
ship. Oliver P. Overman, who was a lifelong farmer, served as a 
soldier of the Union for three years during the Civil war. Two 
weeks after enlisting as a private in the Sixteenth regiment, Indiana 
Volunteer Infantry, he was captured by the enemy, but was later 
exchanged and rejoined his comrades in time to go down the Mississ- 



264 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

ippi and participate in the siege of Vicksburg. He was a valiant 
soldier and in later years a popular comrade of his G. A. R. post. 
Mr. and Mrs. Overman were the parents of three children, all living : 
Carrie, Jennie and Frank H. Three children have been born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Henley: Mildred F., a graduate of Earlham College, who 
is now a teacher in the public schools of Carthage; Mary I., who is 
attending Earlham College ; and Ruth Eleanor, who was graduated 
from the Carthage high school with the class of 1921. Mr. Henley is 
a Republican and he and the members of his family belong to the 
Friends Meeting at Carthage. 

JAMES W. ANDERSON. It has been the privilege of James 
W. Anderson, one of the large land owners of Rush county and a 
substantial agriculturist of Anderson and Richland townships, to 
realize many of his worthy ambitions and through the exercise of 
good judgment and business sagacity wrest from his opportunities 
a large measure of success. Mr. Anderson was born on a farm in 
Richland township, on August 5, 1874, a son of James W. and 
Livonia (Hopkins) Anderson, both natives of the neighboring 
county of Decatur. James W. Anderson, the elder, was born at 
Greensburg and grew to manhood there, where he received a pub- 
lic school education, and was married as a youth of nineteen years. 
Following his union he came to Rush county and located in Rich- 
land township, where his means being limited, he was not able 
to purchase an improved property, but bought instead about 190 
acres of timber land. This he set about to clear, a task which he 
accomplished, and not only lived to see his land producing large 
crops, but to witness his landed holdings increase to 2,000 acres 
in Rush county, property in Decatur and Tipton counties and 
about 1,400 acres in northern Missouri. With these holdings Mr. 
Anderson was the largest landowner of his time in Rush county, 
and was known far and wide as a successful trader in farms. His 
farming operations were devoted principally to the raising of 
mules and hogs, a field in which he met with marked success. His 
industry, shrewdness and absolute integrity combined to make him 
an important figure in business circles, while the worth and sin- 
cerity of his devotion to the principles of good citizenship were 
never questioned. He was a member of the official board of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, and in his political allegiance sup- 
ported the Republican party. Mr. Anderson died on November 
29, 1892, and his widow survived until May 26, 1905. They were 
the parents of six children, of whom four are now living: S. B., 
Mary E., Lyle H. and James W. James W. Anderson, the youngest, 
received his educational training in the public schools of Richland 
township, and after leaving school entered upon his duties as one 
of his father's assistants on the home farm. After his father's 
death he remained on the home place until his marriage, when he 
built a modern home on a tract of 144 acres in Anderson township, 
Avhere he is now living. For the greater part of his career, Mr. An- 




JAMES W. ANDERSON 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 265 

derson has farmed with his brother, Lyle IT., and his sister, Mary 
E., the three now controlling 700 acres of land. . Mr. Anderson 
feeds out about 300 hogs annually and a carload of cattle, and 
keeps from thirty to fifty head of mules on his farm. He has a 
modern and well-furnished home, ample accommodations for his 
stock, and excellent general improvements. He regards farming 
as a science, to be studied and improved indefinitely, and takes 
great interest in his chosen occupation. In 1915 Mr. Anderson was 
united in marriage to Florence Elstun, daughter of Frank and 
Emma (Crane) Elstun, and to this union there have been born four 
children, Frank William, James Robert, George Donnell and Rush 
Elstun. The family holds membership in the Methodist Episcopal 
church at Richland. Mr. Anderson is a member of the lodge of 
the Knights of Pythias at Milroy. He gives his support to the 
Republican party, and for six years served in the capacity of trustee 
of Richland township. He is a broad-minded and progressive man, 
well posted on current events, and entertaining sensible opinions 
on questions of public interest. 

MRS. JANE MORAN, of Rushville, widow of the late Patrick 
Moran, is a native daughter of the Emerald Isle, born in County 
Galway, but has been a resident of this country and of Rush county 
for many years. She was twenty -nine years of age when she came to 
the United States from Ireland. After a brief residence at Milford, 
Mass., she came to Indiana and took up her residence in Rush county, 
where not long afterward she was married to Patrick Moran, also a 
native of Ireland, who had become a farmer in this county. After 
their marriage she and her husband made their home on the farm, 
reared their family there and continued to make that place their 
home until their retirement from the farm and removal to Rushville, 
where Mr. Moran 's last days were spent and where Mrs. Moran still 
lives, having a very pleasant home at 730 North Willow street. 
Patrick Moran, who was born in 1835, was but fourteen years of age 
when he came to the United States with his parents, the family pro- 
ceeding westward to Indiana and settling in Franklin county, where 
Patrick received his schooling and grew to manhood. As a young 
man he came over into Rush county and bought a tract of eighty 
acres in Rushville township. He at once began the development of 
this tract and after his marriage to Jane Toolen, made his home 
there. He later bought an adjoining "eighty" and thus had a farm 
of a quarter of a section which he developed into an excellent piece 
of property. Incidental to his farming Mr. Moran became well 
known as a road supervisor and it was he who superintended the con- 
struction of the Winship pike. He was a Catholic, as is his widow, 
earnest members of St. Mary's parish at Rushville, and when the 
parish entered upon the task of erecting the new St. Mary's church 
it was he who gave security for the loan for the erection of the 
edifice. He also was a member of the local council of the Knights of 
Columbus and in other ways took an active interest in parish affairs. 
It was in 1908 that Mr. Moran retired from the farm and moved to 



266 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Rushville, but he did not live long to enjoy the relaxation which he 
had justly earned, for his death occurred in the following year, 1909, 
he then being seventy-four years of age. Mr. and Mrs. Moran had 
nine children, of whom all are living save two, Patrick and Jane, the 
others being Beatrice T., May, Katherine, Elizabeth, Joseph, Nora 
and John. Mrs. Moran 's parents were Owen and Nora Toolen, both 
born in Ireland. 

JOHN W. BEYER, a well-known farmer of Noble township, who 
is recognized as a representative citizen of Rush county, was born 
in that township, October 3, 1865, son of John and Mary Jane 
(Emmett) Bever, natives of Rush county and Ohio, respectively. 
John Bever was reared in Noble township where he was educated 
and where he spent his life, devoting all of his mature years to farm- 
ing and stockraising. He was a son of John and Nancy Bever, both 
of whom were born in Kentucky, but migrated to Indiana and settled 
in Rush county. The homestead of John Bever contains 160 acres of 
land, and he specialized in raising pure-bred Short Horn cattle and 
Poland China hogs. Seven children were born to John Bever and 
his wife, four of whom survive, "William, Ross, John W. and Lora. 
John W. Bever attended the Pinhook school in Noble township, and 
after he ended his school days he began farming with his father, 
remaining on the home farm until his marriage. Following that event 
he started out for himself on rented land, biit after four years as a 
renter he was able to receive a fair price for his stock and equipment, 
so sold and moved to Anderson, Ind., where for twenty-four years he 
was engaged in a decorating business. However, the appeal of the 
soil was too strong, and in 1913 he returned to Rush county, locating 
on his present farm, where he is carrying on general farming and 
stock raising. He grows about thirty-five acres of corn annually which 
he feeds to hogs and cattle, having about sixty to seventy head of 
the former. Mr. Bever was married to Ida, daughter of William and 
Sarah Ann Carney, and they have three children, Arthur. Hazel and 
Margaret, the latter of whom married Alton Lentz. Mrs. Bever 
belongs to the Christian church. Fraternally, Mr. Bever maintains 
membership with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks of 
Anderson, Ind. He is a strong Republican, but has never been an 
office seeker. Upright and hard working, Mr. Bever has deserved 
the success which life has brought him, and with this material reward 
has come another, equally well-merited, the respect and esteem of his 
fellow citizens. 

JOHN W. STOTEN, a prominent and well-known citizen of 
Center township and one of the creditable representatives of the agri- 
cidtural element in Rush county, is a native son of the old Hoosier 
state, having been born in Dearborn county on June 6. 1859. He is the 
son of James and Hannah (Morgan) Stoten, both of whom were also 
natives of Dearborn county. About the year 1864 they brought their 
family to Rush county. Seven children came with them and one was 
born after their arrival in this county. Mr. Stoten followed farming 
here all the remainder of his life and became an influential and 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 267 

respected citizen. John W. Stolen was reared on the paternal farm- 
stead and secured his educational training in the Farmington and 
Hinchman schools. He remained on the home farm, assisting his 
father, until about twenty years of age, when he began to work out 
as a farm hand, continuing in this way for about five years. Then 
he began farming rented land on crop shares, but three years later 
he changed to cash rent, on which basis he continued to rent land until 
1917, when he bought the place where he now lives, consisting of 
sixty acres of land in Center township. He keeps the place in good 
repair, raises all the common crops of this locality and also raises 
some live stock. On September 7, 1892, Mr. Stoten was married to 
Bertie Smelser, a native of Union township, this county, and the 
daughter of John P. and Rebecca (Barnes) Smelser, both of whom 
were natives of Rush county, where Mr. Smelser followed farming 
throughout his active years. Of the seven children who blessed the 
union of Mr. and Mrs. Stoten, five are living, namely: Wallace, a 
farmer in Posey township, who married Lavonna Ruby and has two 
children, Merrill W. and Howard \V. ; Marion, a painter, living in 
Knightstown, Ind., who married Ruby Oldham and has one child, 
Wendell M. ; Teddy, Donald and Effie ; and Mildred, who died at the 
age of two years. Mr. and Mrs. Stoten are members of the Center 
Christian church. Politically, Mr. Stoten is a stanch supporter of the 
Republican party and stands at all times for the best interests of the 
community. He possesses many excellent personal qualities and is a 
popular member of the circles in which he moves. 

JACOB WINFIELD HITE, now living retired at Clarksburg 
and who, prior to his retirement, had been engaged for many years 
in agricultural pursuits in Richland township, this county, where his 
steady industry had gained him success, is a member of an old and 
honored family of which further mention is made elsewhere in this 
work. He was born on a farm in Richland township, June 10. 1852, a 
son of William N. and Sarah (Fisher) Hite, the fonner a native of 
Virginia and the latter of Clermont county, Ohio. The Richland 
township schools furnished Mr. Hite with his early educational train- 
ing, following which he pursued a course at Richland Academy, and 
then took up farming in association with his father. He was one of 
the elder man 's assistants until 1879, when he was married, and in the 
establishment of his own home rented a part of the property on which 
he had been born. After spending five years as a renter, he pur- 
chased a part of the home place, consisting of 135 acres, and during 
the active period of his career increased his holdings to 240 acres, all 
in Richland township. Mr. Hite demonstrated his ability as a general 
farmer and raiser of live stock, and frequently fed out as many as 
150 hogs annually. He retired from active pursuits in 1916, and 
two years later removed to Clarksburg, where he has since made 
his home, occupying a comfortable modern residence. Mr. Hite mar- 
ried Allie M., daughter of Eliza Hood, and to this union there have 
been born three children, Bertha, who married Fred Goddard and 
has two children, Alice and Anna ; Nina, who married John Sidebot- 



268 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

torn and has three children, Carter, Winfield and Marjorie; and Wil- 
bur. Mr. and Mrs. Hite are members of the Christian church and have 
supported its movements generously. He is a blue lodge Mason, and 
in his political adherence is a Democrat. Mr. Hite has gained pros- 
perity and esteem while pursuing his industrious and well-directed 
career, during which he has not only set an example of practical, 
intelligent farming, but of public-spirited citizenship. 

W. R. VANSICKLE, a progressive farmer and stockman of 
Anderson township, this county, owns what is probably one of 
the finest herds of registered Jersey cattle in this part of the state. 
Mr. Vansickle was born in Anderson township on May 7, 1877, a 
son of John and Margaret Vansickle, the former of whom was born 
in Madison county and the latter in Dearborn county, Indiana. 
John Vansickle was young when his parents moved to Rush county 
and settled near Rushville. He was a farmer in this county until 
1897 when he retired, moved to Decatur county and still lives 
there. Of his eight children three survive, Albert, W. R. and Ben, 
of whom W. R. Vansickle is the only one living in Rush county. 
In boyhood W. R. Vansickle attended school in Anderson town- 
ship, then worked as a farmer for six years in the township, and 
after that was engaged in the livery business at Milroy for two 
years. Upon returning to agricultural life he rented his present, 
farm of 132 acres, then belonging to the late William Bowles, 
which he conducts largely as a stock farm. Mr. Vansickle is justly 
proud of his herd of twenty-six registered Jersey cattle, with the 
registered bull "Wildoos-Plymouth Lad" at the head, and is doing 
well his part toward upholding the prestige of Rush county as a 
fine stock center. On March 19, 1895, Mr. Vansickle married 
Grace Smith, daughter of George W. and Mary A. Smith. He is 
a member of the Masonic lodge at Milroy and of the lodges of the 
Knights of Pythias and the Odd Fellows at that place, having 
"passed the chair" in the last named organization. He is a Re- 
publican and hearty in his support of the policies he deems best and 
wisest for the country. 

WILLIAM BOWLES, who is mentioned above and who in his 
generation was one of the best known residents of Rush county 
and the owner of an excellent piece of property, part of which is 
now owned by W. R. Vansickle, in Anderson township, was a na- 
tive of Harrison county, Kentucky, but had resided in Rush county 
since the days of his boyhood. Mr. Bowles was the son of Robert 
Bowles and was but a child when he came here from Kentucky 
with his parents, the family locating in Anderson township, where 
he received his schooling and in time became one of the prominent 
figures of that community. He started out as a poor boy, with no 
special advantages, but his energy and foresight counted in the 
race and he died possessed of more than 400 acres of land. Mr. 
Bowles was widely known as a trader and his investments were 
made with wise discrimination. He died in February, 1904, and at 
his passing left a good memory. 




WILLIAM BOWLES 




W. R. VAXSICKLL 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 269 

LUTHER G. RENEGAR, included among the agriculturists of 
Rush county, a prosperous husbandman of Ripley township, and a 
resident of Rush county since boyhood, is a native of North Carolina, 
having been born in Yadkin county, that state, August 23, 1877, a 
son of Moses and Alice (McDaniels) Renegar, who were born in the 
same state. The parents came to Rush county when their son, Luther 
G., was a child, and for years were well-known and highly respected 
residents of Jackson township. The mother died on April 18, 1918, and 
the father now resides in North Carolina. They were the parents of 
eleven children, Luther G., Betty, Arthur, Lelah (deceased), Irvin, 
Leonard, Samuel, Harvey, Grace, Russell and Irene. The district 
schools of Jackson township and Shelby county furnished Luther 
G. Renegar with his educational training, and after completing his 
studies he began farming as a hand in the fields. He continued thus 
employed until his marriage, when he commenced his independent 
career, first as a renter. After renting for nine years, during which 
time he conserved his means carefully, he invested his savings in his 
present property, a tract of seventy-eight acres situated in Ripley 
township, not far from Carthage. Here he has made numerous im- 
provements, having repaired all the buildings and put up entire new 
fencing, in addition to installing much up-to-date equipment. He is 
progressive in his views and operations, keeps fully abreast of the 
advancements being made in his vocation and is accounted a capable 
agriculturist and an excellent judge of live stock. His activities as 
a general farmer are extensive and as a breeder of live stock he ships 
about 125 head of hogs each year. On August 23, 1905, Mr. Renegar 
married Myrtle Aldridge, who was born in Tipton county, Indiana, 
and was brought to Rush county at the age of two years and here 
educated in the public schools. Her parents, natives of Rush county, 
attended the Locust Grove schoolhouse and were engaged in agricul- 
tural pursuits throughout their lives. They were the parents of six 
children, of whom four are living : Walter, Minnie, Homer, and Bert 
(deceased), Myrtle and Shirley. Mr. and Mrs. Renegar have two 
children, Donald L., born on April 25, 1907, and Roy A., July 18, 1909, 
both now attending the Walnut Ridge school. Mr. and Mrs. Renegar 
are members of the Methodist church at Carthage, the movements of 
which they support liberally. Politically, Mr. Renegar is a Republi- 
can, although he is not a politican and has not sought preferment at 
the hands of his party or his fellow citizens. As a fraternalist he 
holds membership in Ivy Lodge, No. 27, Knights of Pythias, at 
Rushville. 

WILLIAM 0. PRAZEE, of Rushville, owner of a farm just south 
of town and well known throughout the community, is a native son of 
Rush county and has lived here all his life. He was born on a farm in 
Washington township on April 19, 1852, son of John and Mary Jane 
(Caldwell) Prazee, the latter of whom also was born in Indiana, 
member of one of the old families of the neighboring county of 
Fayette. John Frazee was a native of the Buckeye state, born in 
Butler county, Ohio, who came over into Indiana with his parents in 



270 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

the days of his boyhood, the family locating in Payette county where 
he grew to manhood and became engaged in farming. In 1846, not 
long after his marriage he came over into Rush county and bought a 
quarter of a section of land in Washington township, where he estab- 
lished his home and where he spent the remainder of his life, one of 
the best known and most influential residents of that community. For 
eight years John Frazee served as justice of the peace in and for 
"Washington township and as "Squire" Frazee was widely known 
throughout that part of the county. He and his wife were the parents 
of ten children, of whom but four now survive, those besides the sub- 
ject of this biographical narrative being Felix, Fannie and Louis W. 
Reared on the home farm in Washington township, William 0. Frazee 
received his schooling in the excellent schools of that neighborhood and 
as a young man became engaged in farming on the place, renting the 
farm from his father and directing its operation, and for twelve years 
was thus engaged. In 1896 he moved from that place to another 
farm, but eighteen months later disposed of his farming interests and 
moved to Rushville, where he became engaged in the livery business. 
This did not prove to his liking, however, and eighteen months later 
he sold his livery barn and bought a farm of seventy-two acres in 
Rushville township, which place he presently sold and then bought an 
"eighty" of the old home place in Washington township and there 
re-established his home, remaining there until he sold out and returned 
to the vicinity of Rushville, buying the eighty-acre farm which he now 
owns south of town. On this place there is a gravel pit of apparently 
inexhaustible dimensions from which since 1912 Mr. Frazee has sold 
about 30,000 yards of excellent gravel. It was in 1895 that William 
O. Frazee was united in marriage to Emma L. Stewart, daughter 
of John S. and Margaret Stewart, and to this union one child has been 
born, a daughter, Elsie M., who married Paul Newhouse. Mr. and 
Mrs. Frazee are members of the United Presbyterian church and have 
ever taken a warm interest in the work of the church, Mr. Frazee for 
years having been a member of the board of trustees of the church. 
Politically Mr. Frazee is a Democrat, but reserves the right to vote 
independently should the needs of the occasion seem to warrant in his 
estimation of the needs of good government. 

JOHN HEATON, who for many years was connected with the 
agricultural life of Rush county, is now living in honorable retirement 
in Noble township where he is held in high esteem. He was born on 
the farm that is still his home, on April 13, 1846, son of Joseph and 
Elizabeth (Armstrong) Heaton, natives of Noble township and Flem- 
ing county, Kentucky, respectively. When he was about three years 
old Joseph Heaton was brought to Rush county by his parents, John 
and Hester (Jarvis) Heaton, who settled in Noble township in 1822, 
at which time they entered land from the Government. Here they 
passed the remainder of their lives, and were always engaged in farm- 
ing. Joseph Heaton was reared in Noble township where he received 
his schooling as well as his practical training as a farmer under his 
father's watchful supervision. Marrying in this township, he here 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 271 

began farming, at first in a small way, and while attending to his own 
land he also worked out by the day in order to secure some ready 
money. As he could he kept on baying land until at one time he 
owned 305 acres, and he continued to live on his farm until his death, 
January 10, 1901. His wife died in December, 1891. They had six 
children, James, Salena, John, Thomas, Sanford and Oscar. John 
Heaton attended the local schools of Noble township, and after he had 
completed his schooling he began to farm, remaining on the home- 
stead both before and after his marriage. He continued to work in 
partnership with his father until the latter 's death, and then secured 
the home farm of 130 acres, where he has since continued to live, and 
where until his retirement he carried on a general line of farming, 
being quite successful in his operations. Mr. Heaton married Mary 
Conner, daughter of Thomas and Phoebe (Ryker) Conner, and they 
have two children, Bert and Vonnie Belle. Bert Heaton married 
Anna C. George and has two children, Mary and Robert. Vonnie 
Belle Heaton married Carl "Wilson and has three children, Harold. 
Dorothy and Catherine Louise. Bert Heaton and his wife belong to 
Little Flat Rock Christian Church and he has been an elder, deacon 
and Sunday school superintendent of the same. His political convic- 
tions make Mr. Heaton a Democrat, A quiet, hard-working and 
thrifty man Mr. Heaton has always done what he considered to be 
his duty toward his family, church and community, and his present 
prosperity has been fairly earned through legitimate effort. 

W. RILEY RHODES, a well known farmer of Center township, 
is the scion of one of the old and respected families of the northern 
part of Rush county, his paternal grandfather having entered land 
here in an early day, and he has spent his entire life within the bor- 
ders of this county. By persistent industry, good management and 
clean living, he has attained not only material success, but also the 
confidence and respect of the entire community. Mr. Rhodes was 
born in Center township, this county, on February 6, 1866, and is 
the son of Lewis R. and Elizabeth J. (Leisure) Rhodes, the former a 
native of Ohio and the latter of Kentucky. Lewis R. Rhodes was 
brought to Rush county by his parents when four years of age, the 
trip being made in the typical overland wagons of that early day. 
He received such education as was possible to obtain in the primitive 
log-cabin schools of the day and his youthful years were spent in the 
work of the home farm, for his father had entered eighty acres of 
land in Center township. Here he remained up to the time of his 
marriage, when he began farming on his own account. For awhile 
he operated the home farm on the shares, but eventually he bought the 
place from his father. He was prospered in his business affairs and 
at one time was the owner of 400 acres of land in Center township. To 
himself and wife were born eight children, five of whom are living, 
namely : W. Riley, Frank, Noah, Serena and Cora. W. Riley Rhodes 
was reared under the parental roof and secured his education in the 
Center school. He took an active part in the operation of the home 
farm, remaining with his father until 1899, when he located where lie 



272 HISTOEY OF RUSH COUNTY 

now lives, a place comprising eighty-five acres, which he farmed in 
partnership with his father until the latter 's death. He then inherited 
this tract, and also bought forty acres adjoining, thus giving him 
125 acres all in one body. Here he carries on general farming opera- 
tions, and also gives some attention to the raising of live stock, feeding 
about 100 head of hogs a year. He has made many substantial im- 
provements on the place and is considered an up-to-date and progres- 
sive farmer. On February 15, 1899, Mr. Rhodes was married to 
Hattie Sears, who was born in Henry county, Indiana, the daughter of 
James W. and Mary E. (Emmons) Sears, both of whom were born 
and reared in Henry county. Mr. Sears was for many years a black- 
smith at Spiceland. Four of their eight children are living, namely: 
Eva, Walton, Oscar and Hattie. Mr. and Mrs. Rhodes have a daughter, 
Myrle V., born on December 12, 1901, who was educated at Center 
school, being a graduate of the high school. On June 6, 1920, she 
became the wife of Ralph Moffitt, a farmer in Center township. Po- 
litically, Mr. Rhodes gives his support to the Democratic party. Per- 
sonally, he is genial and unassuming and enjoys to a marked degree 
the good will and esteem of all who know him. 

EDWARD A. FARTHING, former trustee of Richland town- 
ship and former township assessor, and who, after a life of energy 
and usefulness, is now retired from active labor and enjoying the 
fruits of his former years of activity, was born in Franklin county, 
Indiana, on May 10, 1856, and is the youngest of the three children 
born to his parents, William Alfred and Grabella (Hite) Farthing. 
The paternal grandfather, Edward Farthing, who was a native of 
Rockbridge county, Virginia, came to Indiana in an early day, be- 
coming one of the pioneer settlers of Franklin county, where he 
entered a large tract of land and there spent the remainder of his 
days. William A. Farthing, who was born in Rush county, grew to 
manhood in Franklin county, was married there. After the latter 
event he located on a small farm in that county, but several years 
later he moved to Howard county, Indiana, where he bought eighty 
acres of land and devoted himself to its cultivation. He was suc- 
cessful and gradually increased his land holdings there to 250 acres. 
He remained in Howard county until 1873, when he disposed of his 
holdings there and, coming to Rush county, bought the land where 
his son, Edward, now lives, the entire tract then comprising 234 
acres. Here he conducted general farming and stock raising, with 
considerable success, until his retirement, when he moved to Clarks- 
burg, where he lived until going to make his home with his daugh- 
ter near Indianapolis, where his death occurred in January, 1902. 
He was a man of active and industrious habits, keen and sagacious 
in his dealings and at one time was the owner of 284 acres of land. 
His wife died in June, 1897. They became the parents of three 
children, namely: Omer, of Indianapolis; Ella, deceased, and Ed- 
ward A. Edward A. Farthing was reared on the paternal farm- 
steads and received his education in the public schools of Howard 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 273 

and Rush counties. After completing his studies, he farmed for a 
while with his father, later renting a part of his father's land in 
this county. After the latter retired from active labor and moved 
to Clarksburg, the subject rented the entire farm of 234 acres, 
which he operated until 1898, when the land was divided among the 
children, and since that time Mr. Farthing has operated the land 
belonging to himself and his deceased sister's estate. He has been 
successful in his operations and is numbered among the progressive 
and enterprising agriculturists of his section of the county. Mr. 
Farthing was married to Gertrude Dobbyns, the daughter of Mr. 
and Mrs. Thomas Dobbyns, and to that union were born two chil- 
dren, Berney, who married Luverne Davis, and Willard, who mar- 
ried lone Moore. Mrs. Farthing died on April 17, 1918. Mr. 
Farthing has always been an ardent supporter of the Republican 
party, and has been active in his participation in public affairs, 
having served one term of four years as trustee of Richland town- 
ship and a six-year term as assessor. He is a member of the Chris- 
tian church, of which he formerly was an elder, and is keenly inter- 
ested in every movement calculated to advance or promote the 
public welfare. 

LEWIS E. HITE, whose career is an expression of well-directed 
and intelligent industry and of devotion to the best interests of the 
community, has passed his life in Rush and Decatur coiinties, in both 
of which he is the owner of land which has come to him through the 
exercise of thrift, good management and business sagacity. Mr. Hite 
was born on a farm in Richland township, Rush county, September 
7, 1849, a son of William N. and Sarah (Fisher) Hite, the former a 
native of Virginia and the latter of Ohio. William N. Hite learned the 
trade of blacksmith in his native state, and came to Indiana as a young 
man, becoming an early settler of Richland township, where he entered 
land from the Government. While gradually getting his land into 
condition for crops, he worked at his trade in the little shop which 
he had erected on one corner of his land, but as his operations as a 
general farmer and stock feeder grew to large proportions, he gave 
less and less attention to blacksmithing and finally abandoned that 
trade altogether. When his original eighty acres were cleared, he 
began to add to his holdings, and at one time was the owner of 460 
acres of good land, all located in Richland township, where lie was 
known as a substantial general farmer and feeder of hogs and cattle. 
His life in this township was passed on the same farm that had been 
his original home, and there his death occurred on September 27, 
1896, when he was eighty-five years of age. Mrs. Hite, who was 
born in Ohio and came to Indiana in young womanhood, survived 
him until October 2, 1913, and was also in advanced years at the 
time of her demise. They were the parents of ten children, of whom 
six are now living, David F., Lewis E., Winfield, Eliza Jane, Irene 
and Lola. Lewis E. Hite secured the advantages to be obtained by 
attendance at the district schools of his day in Richland township, 
18 



274 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

after leaving which he began to assist his father in the hard work of 
clearing and cultivating the home farm. He remained with the elder 
man until the time of his marriage, when he embarked upon a career 
of his own, buying ninety acres of land in Richland township, which 
he increased by industry and good business management to 202 acres, 
lying in Rush and Decatur counties. He has always been a general 
farmer and stock raiser and his efforts have been attended by success. 
Mr. Hite married Mary Elizabeth Miller, who died leaving three 
sons : Edgar E., who married Eva Cartmel and has one child, lone ; 
Albert, who married Cora Dunham and has two children, Edwin and 
Mary Alice; and Carlos Clair, who is unmarried and resides with his 
father, whose assistant he is. After the death of his first wife, Mr. 
Hite married Mrs. Clara (Gross) Bowman. Mr. and Mrs. Hite are 
members of the Christian church, of which he was formerly treasurer 
and is at present a member of the board of trustees. His political 
allegiance is with the Democratic party, but he has avoided the thorny 
paths of the office-seeker, contenting himself with the casting of 
an intelligent vote. A man of sterling general worth, he is respected 
by all with whom he is associated, and presents, in the extent of his 
success, an example worthy of emulation by the youth of the rising 
generation. 

HERBERT W. CHAPPELL, an energetic and progressive young 
farmer of Ripley township and the owner of a well-cultivated and 
valuable piece of property, has passed his entire life in Ripley town- 
ship, where he was born on April 11, 1895, son and only child of John 
W. and Marcia (Binford) Chappell, the former a native of North Caro- 
lina and the latter of Rush county. John W. Chappell came to Rush 
county from the Old North state in young manhood, and here spent 
the rest of his life in farming. While he did not reach advanced 
years, he profited through his native industry and good management, 
and at the time of his death was the owner of 114 acres of Ripley 
township and the possessor of a well-established reputation for 
honesty, fair dealing and good citizenship. Herbert W. Chappell was 
given excellent educational advantages in his youth. He first attended 
the public schools of Walnut Ridge, and after his graduation from 
the. high school there and at Carthage was sent to Earlham College, 
where he spent two years. Having decided upon a career in agri- 
culture, he next took a short course in that vocation at Purdue Uni- 
versity, leaving that institution in order to take over the management 
of the home farm several years after his father's death. He conducted 
this for himself and his mother until the latter 's demise, when he 
became the owner of the land. The Chappell farm is one of the model 
properties of Ripley township, upon which there are improvements 
of the most modern character, the buildings including a new resi- 
dence and barn built by Herbert W. Chappell in 1917. In addition 
to carrying on general farming he has been successful in his stock 
raising activities, and is shipping about seventy head of hogs to the 
big markets every year. Mr. Chappell is unmarried. He is a mem- 
ber of the Walnut Ridge Friends Meeting. In political matters Mr. 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 275 

Chappell takes an independent stand, preferring to rely upon his 
own judgment in his choice of candidates and issues rather than to 
party dicta. 

LUCIEN B. OSBORN, a well known farmer of Rushville town- 
ship now living retired in Rushville, was born in Union county, this 
state, but has been a resident of this county most of his life. He 
was born on July 25, 1849, son of Larkin and May (Howell) Osbom, 
both of whom spent their last days in this county. Larkin Osborn was 
a native of Kentucky who came up into Indiana from the Blue Grass 
state in the days of his young manhood and settled in the neighborhood 
of Fairfield, where he married and where he remained until in 1851 
when he came to Rush county with his family and bought a farm of 
225 acres two miles south of town in Rushville township. In addition 
to his general farming Larkin Osborn engaged quite extensively in 
the raising of live stock, with particular attention to hogs, and 
developed a fine piece of property on his farm. On that place he 
spent his last days. He and his wife were the parents of eight chil- 
dren, three of whom are still living, the subject of this sketch having 
two brothers, Theodore and Lewis, the former of whom also is a resi- 
dent of Rushville township. Lucien B. Osborn grew on the farm and 
received his schooling at the Sugar Orove school. He was but four- 
teen years of age when his father died and he thus early began to 
assume mature responsibilities, he and his brother Theodore operating 
the home farm after their father's death. After his marriage Mr. 
Osborn bought a farm of sixty-nine acres west of town and there 
made his home for about three years, at the end of which time he 
sold that place and moved to Shelby county, where he bought a farm 
of seventy-nine acres. On this latter place he made his home for 
sixteen years and then returned to Rush county and bought back 
his old farm west of Rushville and again established his home there. 
As his affairs prospered Mr. Osborn added to his holdings until he 
became the owner of a fine farm of 102 acres, all under cultivation, 
and on this place he continued to make his home until his retirement 
from the farm and removal to Rushville, where he and his family are 
very comfortably situated. Though retired from the active labors of 
the farm Mr. Osborn continues to take a supervisory interest in the 
place and is still quite extensively engaged in the raising of hogs, 
with which he has had much success. It was in 1880 that Lucien B. 
Osborn was united in marriage to Harvina Gruell, who was born in 
this county, daughter of Isaac and Sarah (Young) Gruell, both of 
whom also were born in Indiana, the former in the vicinity of Water- 
loo. Isaac Gruell came to Rush county with his parents in the days 
of his youth, the family locating on a farm west of Rushville where 
he grew to manhood. After his marriage he established his home in 
that same vicinity and there spent the remainder of his life. In addi- 
tion to his general farming Isaac Gruell carried on a wide practice as 
a veterinary surgeon and was widely known throughout this and 
neighboring counties. He and his wife were the parents of eleven 
children, of whom seven still survive, those besides Mrs. Osborn being 



276 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Charles, George, Laban, Newton, Samuel and Jennie. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Osborn three children have been born, Bert, Fred and Jennie. 
Bert Osborn has been twice married. His first wife, Lavon Hilligoss, 
died, leaving him one child, Lowell, and he then married Myrtle 
Smith, by whom he has two children, John and Thomas. Fred Osborn 
married Beatrice Austin and has one child, Wilma Mae. Jennie 
Osborn married Chase Cross and has three children, Ollie, Mary Ellen 
and Anna Belle. Mr. Osborn is a Republican. He and his wife are 
members of the Methodist church. 

CHARLES V. SPENCER, vice-president of the Farmers' Fed- 
eration of Rush county, whose splendid farm is located in Rich- 
land township, and who has spent practically all of his life in this 
county, is descended from sterling old Scottish ancestry, his pater- 
nal grandfather, John Spencer, who was born and reared in Scot- 
land, having come to this country in an early day. He became ar- 
dently identified with the then new republic and fought for this 
country in the War of 1812. Among his children was Rodrick 
Spencer, who was born in Butler county, Ohio. While the latter 
was still but a lad, the family moved to Franklin county, Indiana, 
where he was reared to manhood, and where he was married to 
Mary Masters, a native of Pennsylvania. He became employed as a 
farm hand, but at the same time he seriously took up the study of 
surveying and civil engineering, in wiiich he became accomplished 
and in which he was engaged to a greater or less extent during 
most of his active years. Some time after his marriage he moved 
to Metamora, Ind., where he was employed as a clerk and book- 
keeper, but subsequently he located near Spring Hill, Decatur 
county, 'and for several years was engaged in teaching school in 
that vicinity. Several years later Mr. Spencer came to Rush county 
and located in Richland township, where he bought eighty acres of 
farm land, to the operation of which he gave his attention. He 
also gave considerable attention to civil engineering and for twen- 
ty-four years he served officially as surveyor of Rush county. A 
few years prior to his death he was elected county assessor, serving 
about six years, and then, because of the failure of his health, he 
retired from active life and spent the remainder of his days quietly 
on his farm. He had been successful in his business affairs and 
had accumulated an estate of 200 acres, all in Richland township. 
In addition to general farming, he also had given considerable 
attention to the raising of live stock, and he held a high rank 
among the successful agriculturists and public spirited citizens of 
Rush county. To him and his wife were born five children, of 
whom two are now living, John L. and Charles V. Charles V. 
Spencer was reared on the paternal farmstead and received his 
educational training in the public schools of Richland township. 
After completing his studies he turned his attention to farming, 
renting from bis father a part of the home farm. In 1895 he re- 
ceived from his father 120 acres of the farm and he has devoted 







|w^ i 


I ^fl 



CHARLES V. SPENCEE 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 277 

his attention to farming continuously since. He has achieved a 
notable success as an agriculturist and has increased his land hold- 
ings to 390 acres, all of which lies in Richland township. Mr. 
Spencer also gives serious attention to the raising and feeding of 
live stock, feeding from 400 to 500 hogs and about two carloads of 
cattle a year. He is progressive and up-to-date in his methods and 
no citizen of Richland township occupies a higher place in general 
esteem than does he. In addition to his agricultural operations, 
Mr. Spencer is also actively identified with several strong financial 
institutions in this section of the state, having taken an active part 
in the organization of the Clarksburg State Bank, of which he has 
served as president since 1912, and he also assisted in the organ- 
ization of the Broad Ripple State Bank. In 1920 he was elected 
vice-president of the Farmers' Federation of Rush county, and is 
now serving his second term in that capacity. Mr. Spencer was 
married to Mary Margaret Logan, the daughter of Hugh and Cath- 
erine Logan, and they are the parents of one child, a son, Howard 
L. Spencer, who is now a student in the high school at Clarksburg. 
Mr. Spencer and his family are active members of the Presbyterian 
church, of which he is now serving as treasurer. Politically, he is a 
Democrat, and fraternally, he is a member of the Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons. 

JOHN E. KIRKPATRICK, one of the progressive agriculturists 
of Center township, this county, has performed well his part in life 
and it is a compliment worthily bestowed to say that this locality is 
honored in his citizenship. Mr. Kirkpatrick was born in Center town- 
ship on the 4th day of September, 1866, and is the son of James B. 
and Malinda M. (Newhouse) Kirkpatrick, both of whom also were 
born and reared in Rush county, the father in Union township and 
the mother in Jackson township. James Kirkpatrick followed agri- 
cultural pursuits throughout his active life, mostly in Center town- 
ship, where he became the owner of 500 acres of farm land. To him 
and his wife were born eight children, five of whom are living, namely : 
Samuel D., William B., John E., Mary and Amanda. John E. Kirk- 
patrick received his educational training in the Carter school in Center 
township, and after completing his studies he devoted himself to work 
on the home farm, remaining with his father imtil his marriage, when 
he began farming on his own account, locating on the farm where he 
now lives and which now comprises 165 acres of land. He first 
started in as a renter, but later bought thirty-five acres, the remainder 
of the land coming to him as an inheritance. Mr. Kirkpatrick has 
made fine improvements on the place, including new buildings and 
his farm is now one of the best improved and most attractive in this 
community. He carries on a general line of farming and raises about 
150 hogs a year. On January 12, 1886, Mr. Kirkpatrick was married 
to Flora M. Sample, who was born in Marion county, Indiana, but 
who received her education in the Ball school in Center township, her 
parents, Asa E. and Sarah A. (Ketley) Sample, having moved to 



278 HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 

Rush county when she was nine years of age. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Kirkpatrick was born a son, Lewis M., on November 23, 1S96. He 
attended the Center township common schools, graduated from the 
Rushville high school, and was then a student for three years in 
agriculture at Purdue University, at Lafayette, Ind. On Sep- 
tember 1, 1918, he enlisted in the United States service at Rushville 
and a few days later was sent to Purdue, going first into the Auto 
Mechanics' Corps, from which he was transferred to the Motor Trans- 
port Corps. He was graduated from the Transport Training School 
at Purdue on October 31, 1918, and on November 27, 1918, was pro- 
moted to the rank of corporal. After being held at Purdue for two 
months, he was sent to Fort Sheridan, where he remained for six 
weeks, and on December 16, 1918, he was transferred to Fort Wingate, 
New Mexico, where he remained up to the time of his death, which 
occtirred on April 13, 1919, after an illness of one week. His body 
was brought back to his home and now lies in East Hill cemetery, 
Rushville. Mr. and Mrs. Kirkpatrick are members of the Center 
Christian Church and give their support to all worthy benevolent and 
charitable objects. Politically, Mr. Kirkpatrick gives his support to 
the Democratic party. He possesses many splendid qualities of head 
and heart and enjoys the confidence and esteem of those about him. 
BIRNIE BEAVER is one of the industrious and reliable farmers 
of Noble township, classed with the rising generation of agriculturists, 
who are acknowledged to be as broad and scientific in their methods 
and as fruitful in valuable results to the community as the workers 
in any other branch of modern industry. In the field of agriculture 
it has often happened that the fathers and grandfathers have secured 
the broad and fertile tracts of land which the sons and grandsons have 
brought to their full capacity of productiveness. The rough, pre- 
liminary labors of the pioneers are as necessary as the developing 
work of the after generations; all combine for the general advance- 
ment of the wonderful agricultural interests of the country. Mr. 
Beaver was born in Rushville township, Rush county, -June 25, 1888, 
a son of Morrison and Florence (McGrew) Beaver. He received his 
education in Noble township, where he was taken as a child, and on 
leaving school his appreciation of land tillage waned temporarily, and 
he sought release from the ceaseless round of duties on his father's 
farm as an apprentice to a drop forger, at Newcastle, Ind. However, 
after following that vocation for eight and one-half years, he returned 
to the home place and resumed agricultural activities, and at the 
present time is farming 160 acres of his father's which he has brought 
to a high state of cultivation, in addition to twenty-five acres which 
he rents. He has about fifty to 100 acres in corn and thirty- five 
acres in small grain, and feeds out about 200 hogs a year. Mr. 
Beaver is progressive in his methods and energetic in his work, and 
is steadily forging his way to a place among the substantial men of 
his township. He is a Republican. Mr. Beaver married Alicedell 
Jay, and they are the parents of two children, Florence L. and 
George Morrison. 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 279 

LYLE H. ANDERSON, a practical and zealous farmer of Rich- 
land township, and one who for many years has promoted the best 
interests of the community, was born on the farm which he now 
occupies, May 26, 1871, a son of James W. and Livonia (Hopkins) 
Anderson, the former born at Greensburg and the latter near Kings- 
ton, Ind. James W. Anderson was born on March 24, 1832, and grew 
to manhood in Decatur county, Indiana, being nineteen years of age 
when he married the seventeen-year-old Livonia Hopkins, who was 
born on January 20, 1834. Shortly following their marriage, Mr. 
and Mrs. Anderson came to Rush county, where the former bought 
190 acres of timber land. This he transformed through industrious 
labor into productive farming property, and subsequently became a 
prominent and successful trader in land, increasing his own holdings 
to 2,000 acres in Rush county, other lands in Decatur and Tipton 
counties and about 1,400 acres in northern Missouri. He was said to 
have been the largest landholder in Rush county during his day, and 
in his farming operations also was widely known as a dealer in hogs 
and mules. In all of his operations he was guided by high business 
principles and his community knew him as a man of sound and sub- 
stantial worth. He was a member of the official board of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church, and in his political allegiance was a Republican. 
Mr. Anderson died on November 29, 1892, and his widow survived 
until May 26, 1905. They were the parents of six children, of whom 
four survive: Alice, who married William Winship and died in 1908; 
S. Bernie, a resident of Rushville township ; Mary E., who resides on 
the old home place ; John, who died in infancy ; Lyle H. ; and James 
W., on the home farm. The educational training of Lyle H. Ander- 
son was acquired in the public schools of Richland township, and upon 
leaving school he devoted himself to farming on the home place, in 
association with his father. At the elder man's death, the sons 
assumed the responsibilities attendant upon the cultivation of the large 
property on which the home was situated, and for some years Lyle H. 
Anderson has been associated with his brother, James W., and his 
sister, Mary E., in the ownership and operation of 700 acres of land. 
About 500 hogs annually are fed out, and cattle by the car load, and 
some fifty or more mules are kept on the place, on which the improve- 
ments are modern and the buildings substantial and attractive. Mr. 
Anderson is unmarried. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, of which he was a steward for some years, and has been a 
subscriber to religious and educational movements as well as to those 
enterprises which have been promulgated by public-spirited citizens. 
His political belief makes him a Republican. 

JAMES M. BROOKS, a well-known farmer of Ripley township, 
and an honored veteran of the Civil war, is a native son of Rush 
county, his birth having occurred in Ripley township, on February 
28, 1848, his parents being Robert and Ellen (Templeton) Brooks. 
the former a native of Maryland and the latter of Ohio. Robert 
Brooks was a young man when he went to Ohio, and there met and 
married Ellen Templeton, the couple subsequently coming to Indiana 



280 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

and locating in Ripley township, this county. Here the father 
entered 160 acres of land from the United States Government, and 
was engaged in farming thereon during the remainder of his life. A 
man of industry, he developed a valuable property, and by reason 
of his integrity and good citizenship won a high place in the esteem 
and confidence of the people of his community. He and his wife, 
who like her husband was held in the highest respect, were the parents 
of three children, of whom only James M. now survives. James M. 
Brooks was educated in Ripley township, where he attended the 
Walnut Ridge schoolhouse. Leaving school at the age of fifteen years, 
he presented himself for enrollment as a soldier of the Union army, 
and in 1863 was accepted as a private of Company E, Ninth regiment, 
Indiana Volunteer Cavalry, an organization of which he was a member 
until after the close of the Civil war. Mr. Brooks participated in 
numerous hard-fought engagements during the last two years of the 
conflict, among them being Franklin, Nashville, Springhill and Sugar 
Creek. He received his honorable discharge at the close of the war 
and was mustered out of the service in August, 1865. On the com- 
pletion of his military duties, Mr. Brooks returned to the home farm 
where he was associated in agricultural operations with his father 
until his marriage. He then began farming on his own account, as 
a renter, and was thus engaged for about five years. His wife then 
inherited sixty acres of land, in Ripley township, and on this Mr. 
Brooks has continued to be engaged in general farming and stock rais 
ing to the present. On August 10, 1872, Mr. Brooks was united in 
marriage to Mai-y E. Woodley, who also was born in Ripley township, 
daughter of Isaac and Mary (Cloyd) Woodley. natives of North 
Carolina, who for many years were engaged in agricultural pursuits in 
Rush county, where they were well known and highly respected by 
all. Nine children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Brooks: Frank; 
Alice, who is married ; Albert, who is married ; Fred ; Walter ; Charles, 
who is married; Roy, married; and Hallie and Benjamin. With his 
family, Mr. Brooks has been an active member of the Friends 
church for many years, attending at Walnut Ridge, and in politics 
is a stanch Republican. He is one of the popular members of the 
Grand Army of the Republic, and it is needless to add that his are 
among the most interesting of the reminiscences of Civil war time 
which enliven the annual campfires. 

WILLIAM R. MARTIN, a well known and substantial farmer 
and land owner of Union township and former trustee of that 
township, is not a native son of Rush county but lias been a resident 
here for more than twenty years and has come to regard himself 
as much a part of the community as though "native and to the 
manner born," and takes as deep an interest in community affairs 
as though all his life had been spent here. He was born on a farm 
in Union county, this state, January 16, 1867, son of Samuel and 
Mary (Lafuze) Martin, the latter of whom also was born in that 
county, a member of one of the old families there, and both of 
whom spent their last days in that county. Samuel Martin was 




WILLIAM R. MARTIN 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 281 

born over the state line in Preble county, Ohio, a son of Austin 
Martin, a Virginian, who had been a resident of Ohio since the 
days of his young manhood. When Samuel Martin was about five 
years old his parents moved over into Indiana with their family 
and located in Union county, where they spent the remainder of 
their lives, developing there a good farm. Samuel Martin took up 
farming in his turn and after his marriage to Mary Lafuze estab- 
lished his home on a farm in his home county and continued that 
vocation the rest of his life, becoming the owner of an excellent 
farm of 195 acres. His wife died in 1907 and he did not long sur- 
vive her, his death occurring in 1909. They were the parents of 
six children, of whom five are still living, those besides the sub- 
ject of this sketch being Charles 0., Oscar B., Walter M. and Sam- 
uel L. William R. Martin was reared on the home farm in Union 
county and received his schooling in the neighborhood schools. 
When twenty-one years of age he bought a team and began farm- 
ing on his own account, renting a piece of land nearby, and con- 
tinued as a renter for about four years, at the end of which time he 
bought a tract of 100 acres in Brownsville township, Union county, 
and, having married meanwhile, established his home there. Mr. 
Martin remained in Union county until 1900 when he disposed of 
his interests there and came over into Rush county and bought a 
120-acre farm in Union township, where he remained until 1910, 
in which year he moved to the eighty-acre tract on which he is now 
living in that same township, erected on that place the modern 
house in which he is living and has since continued to make that 
place his home, he and his family being very comfortably and pleas- 
antly situated. As his affairs prospered Mr. Martin added to his 
land holdings from time to time until he became the owner of 572 
acres in Rush and Fayette counties, but has since disposed of a 
portion of this land and now has 280 acres, all in this county save 
an "eighty" over in Fayette. Mr. Martin is farming 200 acres 
and in addition to his general farming feeds out about 150 head of 
hogs a year. His place is admirably improved, the farm plant be- 
ing well equipped and up-to-date, and everything is "ship-shape," 
he long having been recognized as one of the consequential farm- 
ers of that section. In 1889, while living in Union county, William 
R. Martin was united in marriage to Ollie R. Leab, daughter of 
Emanuel and Sabra (Clevinger) Leab, and to this union four chil- 
dren have been born, namely: Fred E., who married Lillian Rea 
and has two children, Janet and Alice Ruth ; Orville S., who mar- 
ried Ruth Laughlin and has one child, a daughter, Ellen Jane; 
Thomas O, who married Ocie Kirkpatrick and has one child, Alvin 
Noel, and Ruth, who is at home with her parents. The Martins 
have a very pleasant home on rural mail route No. 10 out of Rush- 
ville and take an interested and hospitable part in the community's 
general social activities. They are Republicans and give proper 
attention to local political affairs, Mr. Martin having served for 



282 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

six years (1909-15) as trustee of Union township. Mr. and Mrs. 
Martin are members of the Methodist Episcopal church at Fal- 
mouth and Mr. Martin has served as a member of the board of 
trustees of the church. Mr. Martin is a York Rite Mason, a mem- 
ber of the blue lodge at Rushville and the Rushville Commandery, 
Knights Templar, and is also a noble of the Ancient Arabic Order, 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, affiliated with Murat Temple, 
Indianapolis. 

JAMES MADISON ("MAT") BEVER, who maintains a high 
standing among the substantial farmers of Noble township, where he 
is the owner of a fine farm of eighty-two acres, has devoted his 
entire life to agricultural pursuits, in which his ability and industry 
have enabled him to achieve success. Mr. Bever, more familiarly 
known among his many friends and acquaintances as "Mat" Bever, 
was born in Noble township. May 28, 1870, a son of James and Harriet 
(Emmett) Bever, both natives of Rush county. James Bever. who 
was an agriculturist in Rush county throughout a long and industrious 
life, started in a small way but through inherent capability and per- 
sistent endeavor achieved marked success in his operations, and at 
the time of his death in October, 1897, was the owner of 415 acres of 
land and occupied a high place in the esteem and respect of his 
fellow-citizens. His widow, who survives him, is a highly regarded 
resident of New Salem. Mat Bever received his education in the 
country schools of Noble township, and after leaving school engaged 
in farming in association with his father. At the latter 's death he 
embarked in operations on his own account, and now carries on gen- 
eral farming and stock raising on his well -cultivated farm of eighty- 
two acres, lying in a favored locality in Noble township. He has 
made numerous improvements on this property which now presents 
an attractive appearance, with substantial buildings and modern 
equipment. Mr. Bever is accounted an experienced and capable man 
in his business, and feeds out from eighty to 100 hogs per year. Mr. 
Bever married Jennie Smith, daughter of David Smith, and to this 
union there have been born three children : Mayme. who married 
John Hedrick and has two children. Harold and Maurice; Ruth, who 
married Elmer Ryan and has one child, Donald; and Gladys. Mr. 
and Mrs. Bever and their children are members of the United Breth- 
ren church. In politics he is a Republican, although be has taken 
no particularly active part in public affairs and has not cared for 
public office or preferment. 

AUGUSTUS WILLIAM WILKINSON, proprietor of an up-to- 
date bakery plant at Rushville and one of the enterprising and pro- 
gressive business men of that city, is a native of the Blue Grass state, 
but lias been a resident of Rushville since the days of his boyhood. 
He was born in Spencer county, Kentucky, January 6, 1871, son of 
Dr. L. P. and Matilda L. (Summers) Wilkinson, both natives of North 
Carolina, whose last days were spent in Rushville. Dr. L. P. Wilkin- 
son, who for years practiced the dental profession at Rushville, was 
educated for the medical profession and for a time practiced that 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 283 

profession in Kentucky, to which state he had gone upon becoming 
equipped for practice in North Carolina, but later became more 
attracted to the dental branch of surgery and as a dentist spent the 
rest of his life. He was married in Kentucky and remained there 
until about 1880, when he came to Indiana with his family and located 
at Rushville, where he opened an office for the practice of dentistry 
and there spent the remainder of his life. He and his wife were 
the parents of seven children, of whom four are still living, those 
besides the subject of this sketch being Stillwell, of Rushville; Rosa 
B., of Brownstown, and Sally, of Medora. A. W. Wilkinson was 
seven years of age when he came with his parents from Kentucky to 
Indiana and his schooling was completed in the Rushville high school. 
Not long after coming here he entered the bakery of J. W. Carnine at 
Rushville and in that establishment learned the baker's trade, which 
he later followed as a "journeyman" until 1911, when he opened an 
establishment of his own at Rushville, equipping the same with up-to- 
date appliances for effective operation, and from the very start has 
made a success of the business. Mr. Wilkinson knows the value of 
modern equipment and not long ago renewed his plant with machin- 
ery of the most up-to-date character, with a capacity of 3,000 loaves 
daily, and has now the only retail bakery in the city and is doing an 
excellent business, his progressive methods recommending the prod- 
ucts of his ovens to a discriminating and growing trade in and about 
Rushville. In 1895 A. W. Wilkinson was united in marriage to Daisy 
Mae Wilson, daughter of John W. Wilson, and to this union three 
children have been born, John W., Gertrude and Lillian Pauline. 
John W. Wilkinson is an efficient aid to his father in the operation 
of the extensive Wilkinson bakery plant and Miss Gertrude Wilkinson 
is a teacher of commercial forms in the high school at Connersville. 
Mr. and Mrs. Wilkinson are members of the Christian church and Mr. 
Wilkinson is a deacon in the same. He also is a Royal Arch Mason 
and has been "through the chairs" in the local lodge of the Knights 
of Pythias. Politically, he is a Republican and has ever given a good 
citizen's attention to local civic affairs. 

HARRY T. MILLER, who is conspicuous among the enterprising 
farmers and stock raisers of Noble township, has succeeded in his 
chosen life work through the qualities of persistence, sound judgment 
and honorable dealings, which have earned for him the esteem of the 
entire community. Harry T. Miller is a native son of Rush comity, 
having been born in Richland township on October 28. 1886, and he 
is the son of Eliphilet and Mollie Miller. He is indebted to the com- 
mon schools of Richland township for his educational training and 
after completing his studies he took employment as a farm hand for 
six years in that community. During the following four years he 
cultivated a farm of ninety-four acres in Richland township, and 
then he moved to Noble township, where he rented a farm of 240 acres. 
Two years later he located on the farm where he now resides, com- 
prising 175 acrs, and here he is farming with a gratifying measure of 
success. He carries on general farming, raising all the crops common 



284 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

to the locality, and he also feeds about 200 hogs annually. lie 
is thorough and methodical and is up-to-date in his ideas relative 
to farming. Mr. Miller was married to Sylvia Walker, daughter of 
Daniel and Belle (Kennedy) Walker, and they are the parents of 
three children, Donald, Dorothy and Gladys. Mrs. Miller, who is a 
native of Rush county, is a lady of many estimable qualities of char- 
acter and is a popular member of the circles in which she moves. 
Politically, Mr. Miller is a Republican. 

FRED GODDARD, trustee of Richland township and a sub- 
stantial land owner of that township, was born in Clinton town- 
ship, Decatur county, Indiana, on November 18, 1880. His paternal 
grandparents were John and Louisa (Miller) Goddard, natives of 
Kentucky, who came overland to Decatur county, Indiana, settling 
in Clinton township, where he bought a tract of land and devoted 
the remainder of his active years to its cultivation and improve- 
ment. Among their children was a son, Oliver, who was born and 
reared to manhood in Decatur county, and who married Anna Wel- 
linger, a native of New Jersey. Oliver Goddard gave his attention 
to farming on the old homestead until after his marriage, when he 
rented other land and so continued until 1883, when he bought his 
first farm, comprising 104 acres. He was successful in his opera- 
tions and at one time was the owner of 640 acres of good farm 
land. He devoted himself to general farming and stock raising 
until 1914, when he retired from active business pursuits and moved 
to Greensburg. To him and his wife were born seven children, of 
whom six are now living, namely : Fred, Margaret, Henry, Robert, 
Oliver, Jr., and Benjamin. Fred Goddard received his educational 
training in the public schools of Clinton township, Decatur county, 
and after leaving school he assisted his father in the operation of 
the home farm until he was twenty-three years of age, at which time 
he was married. He then engaged in farming on his own account, 
renting 210 acres of land in Clinton township, to which he devoted 
his attention during the ensuing nine years. In 1912 Mr. Goddard 
bought the place which he now occupies in Richland township, and 
onto which he moved the following year. His first purchase was 
seventy-eight acres, to which he later added by purchase until he 
is now the owner of 162 acres. He has made a number of perma- 
nent improvements to the place, including an attractive and con- 
veniently arranged house, barn and other necessary farm buildings, 
the general appearance of the place indicating him to be a man of 
sound practical ideas and discriminating judgment. Mr. Goddard 
has met with success in the handling of live stock and feeds about 
120 head of hogs and a carload of cattle each year. He also gives 
close attention to the breeding of pure bred Duroc Jersey hogs, 
his stock commanding above average prices. Mr. Goddard was 
married to Bertha May Hite, the daughter of Jacob W. and Alice 
(Hood) Hite, and their union has been blessed in the birth of two 
daughters, Alice and Anna, both of whom are attending school. 



FRED GODDARD 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 285 

Mr. Goddard and his family are members of the Presbyterian 
church, in the work of which they take an active part, and Mr. 
Goddard is a trustee of the church. He has always given his sup- 
port to the Republican party and is now serving his first term as 
trustee of Richland township. A man of good business qualifica- 
tions and accurate judgment, he is proving a good public official 
and enjoys the esteem of the entire community. A lifelong resi- 
dent of this section of the state, he has been a witness to and a par- 
ticipant in the splendid development which has characterized this 
locality and because of his life and labors has earned his position 
among the leading farmers and influential citizens of Rush county. 
J. LEVI LORD, M. D., who for nearly a quarter of a century 
has been practicing medicine at Mays, this county, is a native son of 
the county now honored by his citizenship. He was born in Posey 
township on December 10, 1858, the son of James J. and Sarah 
(Billings) Lord, the former of whom was born in Kent county, Dela- 
ware, on October 11, 1828, and the latter born in Butler county, Ohio, 
on January 4, 1837. They were brought to Rush comity in their child- 
hood and received their education in the schools of this county, their 
marriage taking place in Jackson township on October 11, 1855. Here 
Mr. Lord followed farming pursuits and became a man of prominence 
and influence. To him and his wife were born seven children, of 
whom four are now living, Doctor Lord having a brother, William A. 
Lord, and two sisters, Mrs. Lily J. Lawson, and Mrs. Harriet L. 
Leisure. The deceased children of this family were Francis 0. Lord, 
who became a substantial farmer of the eastern part of Howard 
county, this state, and who died on April 9, 1921, in his fifty-ninth 
year, and Ann and Elsworth, who died in infancy. Doctor Lord 
received his elementary education in the public schools of Howard 
county, Indiana, whither his parents had moved in 1860 but when 
nineteen years old (in 1877) he returned to Rush county and made 
his home with his uncle, Henry Lord, who assisted him in the comple- 
tion of his education. He attended the Rushville high school, where 
he was under the instructions of David M. Graham as superintend- 
ent and Mrs. R. A. Moffitt, principal. Then he taught four terms of 
school in Union township, this county. Having determined to devote 
his life to the practice of medicine, he matriculated in the Medical 
College of Indiana, at Indianapolis, and graduated on March 1, 1882. 
Doctor Lord first engaged in the active practice of his profession at 
Point Isabel, Grant county, Indiana, where he remained nearly five 
years. He then moved to Marion, Ind., where for eleven years he 
was numbered among the active and successful doctors of the com- 
munity. During this period he served two years as coroner of Grant 
county, his commission bearing the signature of Governor Isaac P. 
Gray. While living at Marion Doctor Lord owned an interest in a 
drug store. The Doctor has always taken a keen interest in political, 
religious and educational matters and was one of the first advocates 
of the establishment of the normal college at Marion. He remained 
in the latter city until 1898, when he returned to Rush county and 



286 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

entered upon the practice at Mays, where he has since remained and 
where he has built up a large and representative patronage. Doctor 
Lord is a careful reader of the best professional literature, keeping 
himself in touch with the age in latest discoveries pertaining to the 
healing art, and his practice covers a wide radius of surrounding 
country. On March 14, 1883, Doctor Lord was married to Queen V. 
Hamilton, who was born in Rush county on July 31, 1861, the daugh- 
ter of Francis and Elizabeth (McManus) Hamilton, both of whom were 
natives of Rush county. These parents had two children, Queen V. 
and Mary B. Doctor and Mrs. Lord have three children, all of whom 
are married and have established homes of their own, as follows : 
Charles W., a farmer in Washington township, who married Jennie C. 
Hamilton and has two children, Beatrice J. and Norman K. ; Clarence 
H., a farmer in Center township, who married Leila Mull and has 
one child, Francis R. ; and Ralph H., now engaged in the mercantile 
business at Dunreith, Ind., who married Leonora Pickett and has two 
children, Helen M. and Rosemary. While Ralph Lord was a student 
in the public schools, he was the winner of five consecutive medals in 
oratoi-ical contests given under the auspices of the Woman 's Christian 
Temperance Union. Politically, Doctor Lord is independent, reserv- 
ing the right to vote in accordance with the dictates of his own judg- 
ment. Fraternally, he belongs to the Tribe of Ben-Hur at Marion, 
Ind., and the Improved Order of Red Men at Mays. He is an earnest 
member of the Center Christian Church near Mays, and gives his 
support to all worthy benevolent movements as well as to all enter- 
prises for the advancement of the general welfare. During the time 
of America's participation in the World war, Doctor Lord volun- 
teered his services in behalf of the medical corps and was enrolled for 
service on November 9, 1918. 

WALTER E. PATTON, classed among the leading representa- 
tives of farming and stock raising in Richland township, where he 
is carrying on extensive and successful operations on a tract of 280 
acres, is a member of a substantial and well-known agricultural fam- 
ily, and his entire life has been passed in the atmosphere of the 
country. Mr. Patton was born in the neighboring county of Decatur, 
December 24, 1875, a son of Samuel R. and Mary E. (Humes) Patton. 
His father was born at Richland, Rush county, and attended Richland 
Academy, shortly after leaving which he enlisted for service during 
the Civil war, as a member of the One Hundred and Thirty-seventh 
regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry, with which he served for three 
years and participated in a number of important engagements. Upon 
receiving his honorable discharge he returned to Indiana and located 
at Greensburg, Decatur county, where for about a year he conducted 
a general store. Subsequently he located on a farm near Spring 
Hill, in the same county, which he had purchased from his father, and 
continued to cultivate that land until 1879, when he sold out and 
came to Rush county, locating on a farm of 280 acres in Richland 
township. Mr. Patton was a man of education and ability, and was 
frequently called upon to serve his fellow citizens in responsible 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 287 

public offices. For two terms he was trustee of Richland township 
and for a period of nine years acted as a member of the board of 
Rush county commissioners. Mr. Patton married Mary E. Humes, 
who was born in Hamilton county, Ohio, and they became the par- 
ents of seven children, of whom five are living, C. 0., Harry B., John 
E., Walter E., and Elma. Walter E. Patton secured his education in 
the schools of Richland township, after leaving which he took up farm- 
ing with his father and remained at home until the elder man's 
death in 1903. At that time, Walter E. Patton and his brother, H. B., 
took over the home place of 280 acres, which they have since operated. 
Mr. Patton has kept his farm well improved, and has centered his 
activities in general farming and stock raising. He now has from 
100 to 125 acres in corn and eighty acres of wheat, and feeds out 
about 300 hogs per year and two carloads of cattle. In addition he 
always keeps a large bunch of mules on his place. He is a man of 
energy, capability and reliability, and stands high in the esteem of 
his associates and the confidence of all with whom he has come into 
contact. In September, 1903, Mr. Patton was united in marriage to 
Elsie O. Marshall, daughter of John S. and Cora (LaRue) Marshall, 
of Franklin county, and to this union there has been born one child, 
a daughter, Pauline, who is attending school. Mr. and Mrs. Patton 
are members of the Methodist Episcopal church at Richland. He is a 
Mason, belonging to the blue lodge at Milroy, and his political views 
cause him to support the candidates of the Republican party. 

ADOLPHUS T. MAHIN, superintendent of the city light and 
water plant at Rushville, was born in Walker township, this county, 
May 4, 1857. His parents were William E. and Elizabeth (Hodge) 
Mahin, both of whom were born in Rush county and reared and 
educated in Walker township. William E. Mahin grew up on his 
father's farm and when prepared to begin farming for himself, 
bought eighty acres of land in Walker township, paying $8 an acre 
for a part of it that now commands a price of $250 an acre. He 
followed agricultural pursuits all his life and at the time of death 
owned 160 acres in Walker township. There were six children in the 
family and all are living: Alpheus E., of Connersville, Ind. ; Charles 
W., a minister, residing in Oklahoma; Addie, of Greencastle, Ind.; 
Melvina, of Kokomo, Ind. ; Sarah, of Elwood, Ind. ; and Adolphus T. 
The last named after enjoying public school privileges in Walker 
township, attended Holbrook College, at Lebanon, Ohio, and later 
the Eclectic Medical College, Cincinnati, from which institution he 
was graduated. For the past twenty-two years Mr. Mahin has been 
identified with the electric light plant at Rushville. The initial 
installation was in 1892 and by 1894 the plant, the second municipal 
plant in the state, was in first class order. For four years the plant 
was located near the C. I. & W. railroad tracks, removal then being 
made to its present situation, when a water plant was installed. 
These utilities have been enlarged to about five times the original 
area, the present capacity of the three engines in use amounting to 
1,051 horse power. The electric plant of 855 horse power, has 804 



288 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

connections for light and heat, and there are 1,320 water connections 
for domestic and commercial purposes, water being pumped by electric 
power from ten driven wells. The success of this great public enter- 
prise is largely due to Superintendent A. T. Mahin, who has devoted 
himself closely and effectively to the affairs of the city light and 
water plant since 1907, prior to which time for six years he had been 
district manager for the Central Union Telephone Company, with 
headquarters at Connersville, Ind. On September 8, 1876, Mr. Mahin 
married Josephine Fouche, who was born in Tipton county, Indiana, 
a daughter of James B. Fouche. The father of Mrs. Mahin followed 
milling in both Tipton and Rush counties, for fifteen years being 
engaged in that industry at Rushville, during which time he lost one 
mill by fire but immediately rebuilt. Of his eight children the fol- 
lowing are living : Wilbur T. and Mattie, both of Indianapolis ; Frank 
E., of West Baden, Ind. ; and Mrs. Mahin, of Rushville. Mr. and Mrs. 
Mahin have four children, Maxwell E., Howard, Florence and Mar- 
garet R., all of whom have domestic circles of their own except the 
youngest daughter, who resides with her parents. Maxwell E. Mahin 
is a farmer in Fayette county, Indiana. He married Bertha Hnbell 
and they have two children, Francis and Mildred. Howard Mahin is 
a farmer in Rush county. He married Hazel Readle, and they have 
one son, James H. Florence Mahin married AVilliam McGuire, an 
architect of Indianpolis. Miss Margaret R. Mahin was graduated 
from the Teachers' College at Indianpolis and is now (1921) teaching 
in the Webb school in Rushville township, this county. Mr. Mahin 
and his family belong to the Methodist Episcopal church at Rush- 
ville, of which he has been treasurer for twelve years. In politics he 
is a Republican but has never sought public office, serving, however, 
one term in the city council. He is a member of the Masonic frater- 
nity and belongs also to the Red Men and the Odd Fellows. 

ALBERT M. IIITE. The general farming and stock raising 
interests of Rush county have a worthy representative in Richland 
township in the person of Albert M. Hite. Not only does Mr. Hite 
maintain the reputation for business-like effort established by his 
father and pioneer grandfather, but. has augmented this by a dem- 
onstration of what may be accomplished when one has youth, am- 
bition and a clear brain in the twentieth century. Albert M. Hite 
was born in Decatur county, Indiana, January 27, 1888, a son of 
Lewis E. and Mary Elizabeth (Miller) Hite. William N. Hite, 
father of Lewis E. Hite, was born in Virginia, where he learned 
the trade of blacksmith, and as a young man came overland to 
Indiana, and secured eighty acres of land in Rush county. For a 
time he continued to follow his trade in a little shop on one corner 
of his farm, but later turned his entire attention to farming and 
became one of the successful agriculturists and stock feeders of 
his locality. He accumulated 460 acres of land in Richland town- 
ship, and died in his eighty-fifth year, in 1896. He married Sarah 
Fisher, who was born in Ohio, and she survived him until 1913. 





HH 


* 


St «*■ \ 

L - 1 ' 




*v^l 




fyj 



ALBERT KITE 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 289 

They had ten children, of whom six are now living : David F., 
Lewis E., Winfield, Eliza Jane, Irene and Lola. Lewis E. Hite 
was born in 1849, in Richland township, and as a young man 
adopted farming, a vocation which he has followed throughout his 
life, being now the owner of 202 acres, located in Rush and Decatur 
counties. He now makes his home in Fugit township, in the latter 
county, where he has a well-cultivated property. Mr. Hite married 
Mary Elizabeth Miller, who was born in Franklin county, Indiana, 
and she died leaving three sons : Edgar E., who married Eva Cart- 
mel ; Albert M., and Carlos Clair, the latter of whom is unmarried 
and resides with his father. After the death of his first wife, Lewis 
E. Hite married Mrs. Clara (Gross) Bowman. Albert M. Hite re- 
ceived his education in the public schools of Decatur county and 
farmed in association with his father until several years after his 
marriage, when he secured his present property, a farm of ninety- 
eight and one-half acres in Richland township, this county. Under 
his judicious management this farm has developed into one of the 
model properties of its size in the township, it being devoted to gen- 
eral farming and stock raising. On August 31, 1909, Albert M. 
Hite married Cora Dunham, who was born in Berrien county, Mich- 
igan, daughter of Enos and Alice (Hethman) Dunham, natives of 
that same county, and they have two children, Edwin and Mary 
Alice. Mr. and Mrs. Hite belong to the Christian church. He is 
a blue lodge, chapter and council Mason, and is a Democrat. 

JOHN R. WEIR, a successful farmer and carpenter of Noble 
township, this county, was born in Laurel township, Franklin county, 
Indiana, on October 17, 1857, and is the only child born to his parents, 
Ashbury and Jeannette (Searne) Weir, the latter a native of Ham- 
ilton county, Ohio. Ashbury Weir was born and reared in Franklin 
county, Indiana, and, after completing his education he applied him- 
self to the vocation of agriculture, which he followed during his 
entire active life, being the owner of thirty acres of land. He died in 
August, 1859, and was survived by his widow, whose death occurred 
in 1902. She had been brought to Franklin county when about 
twelve years of age, her parents settling north of Brookville. After 
the death of her first husband, she became the wife of George Weir 
and to them were born five children, of which number four are living, 
Oliver N, Malissa, Sarah and Oren. The subject is descended from 
sterling old English stock and his paternal grandfather, who was of 
direct English descent, came to Indiana from North Carolina. John 
R. Weir attended the common schools in Franklin county and when 
old enough he devoted his energies to work on the home farm, where 
he remained until he had attained his majority. He then rented a 
farm, on field rent, operating it until he was twenty-four years of 
age, then for nine years operated land for cash rent. He then came 
to Rush county and rented 225 acres of the McCoy farm, to the cultiva- 
tion of which he devoted himself for thirteen years. He then bought 
the farm which he now owns, in Noble township, comprising fifty-one 
19 



290 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

and a half acres of land, which he operated until 191G, when he retired 
from farming: and has since followed the trade of a carpenter. His 
farm is well improved and is a valuable tract of land. Mr. Weir was 
married to Lucinda Huntsinger, the daughter of Adam and Mary 
(Abercrombie) Huntsinger, and they are the parents of four children, 
Leora Mae, Sarah Alice (deceased), Jeremy Francis and Goldie Edith, 
Jeremy Francis Weir married Ella Kingery and they have two chil- 
dren, Earl Carlos and Maurice. Mr. Weir and his family are identi- 
fied with the Little Flat Rock Christian Church. Politically, he is a 
strong adherent of the Republican party, while, fraternally, he is a 
member of the Knights of Pythias at Laurel and the Improved Order 
of Red Men at Andersonville. 

McCLELLAND APPLE, one of the substantial and well-known 
citizens of Center township, has spent his life in this county, and 
has been successful in his business affairs, building up a valuable 
estate. He was born on the 19th day of April, 1866, in the township 
now honored by his citizenship, and is descended from sterling old 
pioneer stock, his paternal grandfather, George Apple, having come 
to Rush county in 1826 and entered eighty acres of land, a part of 
the subject's present farm comprising this original entry. The sub- 
ject's parents were Jabez and Mary A. (Rhodes) Apple, both of 
whom were born and reared in Center township. Rush county, the 
father's birth occurring on October 30, 1837, and the mother's on 
April 5, 1840. The father followed agricultural pursuits all his 
life and became the owner of 170 acres of land in Center township. 
To him and his wife were born six children, four of whom are living, 
namely: Alva A., Mary M.. Cora L. and the subject of this sketch. 
Sarah Jane and Rosa Almoretta died in infancy. McClelland Apple 
attended the Shively Corner school in Center township, his vacation 
periods being spent in work on the home farm. He remained with 
his father until his marriage, when he began farming on his own 
account, at first renting sixty acres of land in Center township. He 
continued to rent until 1920, when he moved back to the home place, 
140 acres of which he bought, and of this land all is tillable excepting 
about five acres of timber land. Mr. Apple carries on a general line 
of farming and stock raising, feeding about 150 head of hogs a year. 
He keeps the place in good repair and is numbered among the pro- 
gressive and enterprising farmers of Center township. On December 
23. 1888, Mr. Apple was married to Ida B. Clark, a native of Center 
township and the daughter of George W. and Elizabeth ( McBride) 
Clark, the former a native of Hamilton county, Indiana, and the latter 
born and reared in Rush county. George W. Clark was a farmer, 
owning ten acres of land in Center township, and also followed the 
carpenter trade. To him and his wife were born five children, four 
of whom are living, namely : Anna J., John J., William H. and Ida 
B. ; Fred C. is deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Apple have had eight children, 
of which number seven are living, as follows: Ola C. Mary E., George 
J., Russell L., Luva L., Clara A., Leroy and Inez M. The deceased 
child was Mary E., who died at the age of eight years. Ola C. Apple 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 291 

who is a farmer in Center township, married Ruth M. Earnest, who 
died on February 16, 1920. George J. Apple, who is farming in 
Ripley township, this county, married Mazie M. Newsom. The rest 
of the children are unmarried and at home. Mr. and Mrs. Apple are 
members of the Center Christian Church. Politically, Mr. Apple gives 
his support to the Democratic party and lends his influence to the 
advancement of every enterprise for the general welfare. 

JAMES ARNOLD, who followed farming in Hanover township, 
Shelby county, for a number of years, but who is now living in 
Carthage, Rush county, was born on December 11, 1852, in North Caro- 
lina, a son of Frank and Betsey (Dosset) Arnold, also natives of the 
Old North state. Frank Arnold, who was a farmer throughout his 
life, brought his family to Indiana in 1858 and settled in Shelby 
county, where he acquired land and rounded out his career in the 
cultivation of the soil. He and his wife were the parents of five 
children, of whom four survive, Alfred, James, Emily and Elizabeth. 
In his boyhood, James Arnold experienced much of hardship and 
little in the way of advantages as they are enjoyed by the country 
lad of the present day. He attended the district school and after his 
schooling was finished gave his attention to farming in association with 
his father, remaining under the parental roof until the time of his mar- 
riage. After his union, he was without capital and his career was 
therefore started as a renter, which continued to be his status for 
about twenty years. He then purchased a property of about fifteen 
acres which he operated for several years, then selling out to pur- 
chase a forty-acre tract adjoining forty acres which his wife had 
received as an inheritance from her father. This land was located in 
Hanover township, Shelby county, and Mr. Arnold continued its 
operation until 1912, when he disposed of his entire property and 
moved to Carthage, which has since been his home. While practically 
retired from active affairs, Mr. Arnold acts as a straw buyer for 
the Carthage Board and Paper Company. In 1875 Mr. Arnold mar- 
ried Theodosia Graham, who was born in Shelby county, daughter of 
James and Margaret. (Kendle) Graham, and to this union there 
were born nine children, of whom seven are living : Walter, of Mor- 
ristown, Ind., who married Sarah Unger and has three children, 
Jessie, Glenn and Blanche; Maggie, who married Harry Talbert, 
of Morristown, and has eight children, Maude, Clifford, Nella, Porter, 
Harold. Mary, Robert and Myrtle; Frank, of Shelby county, a farmer, 
who married Ethel Dennis ; Pearl, a sawmill man of Washington, Ind., 
who married Vera Rutherford, and has three children, Earl, Velma 
and Alice; Oler, a farmer of Shelby county, who married Eva Van- 
syock, and has three children, Louise, Juanita and Mary; William, 
of Carthage, who married Grace Holbrook, and has two children, Har 
old and Martha J. ; and Ona, who married Forest Rawuls, a barber, of 
Carthage, and has one child, Helen Juanita. Mr. Arnold and his 
family belong to the United Brethren church at Gwynneville. He 
has been a supporter of the principles of the Republican party, and 
for eight years was assessor of Hanover township. 



292 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

JOHN E. HARRISON, former county commissioner and a 
well known citizen, farmer and stock raiser of Anderson township, 
this county, was born in that township on September 20, 1854, a 
son of Josiah B. and Jane (Ricketts) Harrison, both of whom were 
born in Nicholas county, Kentucky. Josiah B. Harrison came to 
Rush county with his parents when he was twelve years old, grew to 
manhood and was educated in Anderson township, married here 
and engaged in farming and stockraising in Anderson township 
all his active life. He prospered and owned a farm of 160 acres. 
Of his family of seven children five are living : Martha, of Greens- 
burg, Ind. ; I. 0., also of Greensburg; Ira, of Illinois; William, of 
Colorado, and John E., of Anderson township. The last named 
attended the district schools in his native township, the university 
at Valparaiso, and the normal school at Danville, one year each, 
after which he taught school for two years. Mr. Harrison then 
became a farmer in Decatur county, where he remained eight 
years, but when ready to settle permanently, he came back to Rush 
county and in 1888 bought 220 acres in Anderson township. He is 
now operating 340 acres, all in one body, and carries on general 
farming and stockraising, feeding 150 head of hogs a year. Mr. 
Harrison has improved his property and has a comfortable modern 
farm residence. In 1881 he married Lista Jane Keisling, who was 
born in Anderson township on October 5, 1861, and died on May 
23, 1916. Her parents were Lloyd and Mary Keisling, the latter 
of whom was born in Rush county and the former in Decatur 
county. Lloyd Keisling came to Rush county, a miller by trade, in 
1852, and settled on the place in Anderson township now owned 
and occupied by Mr. Harrison. Mr. and Mrs. Harrison have the 
following children : George, who married Goldie Cox and has two 
children, Opal M. and Pearl; Orie, who married Frank Kennett, 
and died in 1908, leaving two children, Russell and Robert ; Ben, 
who married Glendora Harrison and died on March 5, 1920, leaving 
two children, Dorothy Bernice and Phoebe Jane; Elmer, who mar- 
ried Lucy Power and has two children, Marjorie and Cecil, and 
Claude and Lillian, both of whom live at home. Mr. Harrison is a 
Republican and served as a member of the board of county com- 
missioners from 1911 to 1919. He is a member of Milroy Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, at Milroy. 

HENRY J. MILLER, a well-known and representative citizen of 
Rush county, a successful general farmer aud stock buyer, at New 
Salem, was born in Ripley county, Indiana, on February 6, 1882. and 
is a son of Henry and Mary (Weasel) Miller, the former a native of 
Cincinnati, Ohio, and the latter born in Harrison, that state. The 
father grew to manhood in his native county and then came to Deca- 
tur county, Indiana, where he was employed as a farm hand for a 
number of years. Eventually he bought eighty acres of land in Ripley 
county, on which he located and to the cultivation of which he devoted 
his attention for almost a half century, when he retired and is now 




JOHN E. HARRISON AND WIPE 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 293 

making his home in New Salem. He was married in Decatur county 
and to this union were born five children, four of whom are now living, 
namely: Elizabeth, John, Felta and Henry J. Henry J. Miller 
received his education in the common schools of Ripley county and 
after the completion of his studies he was employed as a farm hand 
for several years in that county. He thou came to Rush county and 
for about ten years he was similarly employed and was also engaged 
in buying stock for Aaron Wellman. He then entered into a partner- 
ship with Mr. Wellman and for nine years they have continued to buy 
live stock through this section of the country, being among the best 
known men in their line of this section of the country. Mr. Miller 
also looks after the cultivation of 160 acres of land, which he rents 
in Noble township. He gives considerable attention to the feeding of 
live stock, having fed about 440 hogs iu 1920 and is now feeding about 
a carload of cattle. In 1901 Mr. Miller was married to Anna Dausch, 
the daughter of William and Julia Dausch, and their xinion has been 
blessed in the birth of two children, Lawrence aud Delores. Mr. and 
Mrs. Miller are members of the Roman Catholic church, while, frater- 
nally, Mr. Miller belongs to the Knights of Columbus, the Improved 
Order of Red Men and the Modern Woodmen of America. 

LEROY BITNER, a well-known farmer of Rush county and a 
substantial landowner of Center township, was born in that township 
on May 14, 1876, and is the son of Benjamin P. and Charity (Rich) 
Bitner, who also were natives of Rush county, the father having been 
born on February 9, 1839, and the mother on November 5, 1840. Ben- 
jamin Bitner followed farming during all his active years and became 
the owner of 290 acres of land in Center township. He and his wife 
were married on February 5, 1860, and became the parents of eight 
children, seven of whom are living, namely : Albert, Mary, Ida, Min- 
nie, India, Walter and Leroy. Leroy Bitner received his education in 
the school at Mays and then, up to the time of his marriage, he 
remained at home assisting with the farm work. After his marriage, 
he rented land and began farming on his own account, carrying on 
his operations for a year in Center township, moving then to an 
eighty-acre farm in Ripley township which he rented from his father- 
in-law for about a year. Mr. Bitner becoming the owner of this fai-m 
by inheritance, Mr. Bitner moved to his father-in-law's farm, which 
he rented for about ten years. At the end of that time he bought the 
place where he now lives, comprising 109 acres, which he has continued 
to cultivate to the present time, with success and profit. He is also the 
owner of 200 acres of land elsewhere in Center township. Mr. Bitner 
carries on a general line of farming and also gives due attention to 
stock raising, that most important adjunct to successful farming, and 
feeds about 350 head of hogs a year. He keeps his farms well 
improved and is considered one of the leading farmers in his town- 
ship. On October 18, 1899, Mr. Bitner was married to Stella J. Gilson, 
who was born and reared in Center township, the daughter of William 
and Samantha (Kirkpatrick) Gilson, and to them has been born one 
child, Ruth M., wife of P. Parrish, a fanner in Center township. 



294 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

Politically, Mr. Bitner gives his support to the Democratic party and 
he takes a keen interest in public affairs, giving his support to every 
movement for the advancement of the general welfare. 

W. A. CAMERON, a former farmer in Richland township, but 
now retired and living in New Salem, was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, 
on April 30, 1857, and is a son of Alonzo and Cordelia (Lee) Cameron. 
The father, who was born and reared in Cincinnati, was married there 
and for a good many years he followed the business of contracting, a 
part of the time in partnership with his father. They erected many 
of the best buildings in Cincinnati at that time, including the Cincin- 
nati hospital. To him and his wife were born three children, Lydia, 
W. A. and one who died in infancy. Lydia is the wife of Robert 
Dorsey. W. A. Cameron received his educational training in the 
public schools of Hamilton county, Ohio, and Franklin comity, 
Indiana. At the age of nine years he was brought to the latter 
county by his grandparents, with whom he thereafter lived. After 
completing his studies, he remained on the farm with his grandfather 
until his marriage, when he bought eighty acres of land in Franklin 
county. He devoted himself to the cultivation of that land until 
1906, when he came to Rush county and bought a farm of 246 acres 
in Richland township. He was eminently successful in his farming 
operations and seven years after locating there he was able to retire 
from active work and moved to New Salem, where he is now living. 
Mr. Cameron married Rachel McCrady, the daughter of Mr. and 
Mrs. George McCrady, and to this union have been born seven chil- 
dren, of which number two are living, namely: Bessie, who became 
the wife of Edward Scott and they have three children, Dorothy, 
Robert and William; George married Jessie Beaver, to which union 
were born two children, Floyd and Walter Dean. After the death of 
his first wife, he married Hattie B. Shriner, the daughter of Renatius 
Shriner. Politically, W. A. 'Cameron is a stanch supporter of the 
Republican party, though not an aspirant for public office. 

REUBEN B. HENLEY, who during the active years of his career 
followed two occupations, those of farming and carpentry, in Ripley 
township, is now living in comfortable retirement at Carthage, where, 
in possession of a pleasant home, he is enjoying the rewards of an 
industrious and well-spent life. Mr. Henley was born in Ripley town- 
ship, Rush county, October 19, 1845, a son of Micajah and Ruth M. 
(Bentley) Henley, the former a native of North Carolina and the 
latter of Rush county, Indiana. Micajah Henley came to Rush county 
in young manhood and passed the rest of his life here, becoming the 
owner of 120 acres of land in Ripley township and applying himself 
industriously to the pursuits of agriculture. He and his wife were 
the parents of eight children, of whom seven are living: Reuben B., 
Caroline V., Mary S., Harlan H., Eve H., Lenora and Rose. The third 
child in order of birth, Lavina, is deceased. Reuben B. Henley was 
educated in the district schools of Ripley township, where he attended 
the Beach Grove schoolhouse, and on completing his studies took up 
farming in association with his father. He was thus employed until 



HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 295 

the time of his marriage, when he embarked upon an agricultural 
career of his own, having, just before that time, purchased eighty 
acres of land in association with his brother, Harlan H. Henley. The 
brothers farmed in partnership for about twelve years, when Reuben 
B. Henley bought his brother's interest in the property, but after 
several years disposed of the entire tract and became a renter. He 
continued to be thus occupied until 1910 when he gave up farming 
and moved to Carthage, where he applied himself to the carpenter 
trade, a vocation which he had learned in his youth and which he had 
followed intermittently throughout his career. In 1917 he gave up 
all active pursuits and settled down to a life of quiet and contented 
retirement. Mr. Henley was married in 1872 to Rachael Young, who 
was born and educated in the rural districts of Rush county, daughter 
of Joseph W. and Sarah (Binford) Young. Of the five children of 
Mr. and Mrs. Young, Mrs. Henley is the only survivor. Pour children 
have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Henley, of whom three survive : Her- 
bert O. Henley, an electrician of Greenfield, Ind., who married Jessie 
Kurts and has had two children, of whom one is living, Kurts ; Lillian 
R. Henley, who is unmarried and makes her home with her parents, 
and Harry Grant Henley, a United States rural mail carrier out of 
Carthage, who married Ruby Stevens and has two children, Ruth B. 
and Florence M. Mr. Henley has been ever ready to discharge the 
duties of good citizenship and at various times has been called upon 
by his fellow citizens to occupy offices of public trust. For eight 
years he served as road supervisor of Ripley township and for a like 
period acted as township assessor, while in 1910 he rendered service in 
taking the census of that township. He is a stanch Republican in 
politics, and his fraternal affiliation is with the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, past noble grand of the Carthage lodge. With his fam- 
ily, Mr. Henley belongs to the Friends Meeting at Carthage. 

JOHN W. LOGAN, a retired farmer and substantial citizen of 
Rushville, was born in Des Moines county, Iowa, December 16, 1850, 
a son of Thomas and Sarah (Lafforge) Logan. Both parents were 
born in Rush county, Indiana, where they were reared and married. 
In 1847 they moved to Iowa, where the father followed farming for 
seventeen years, then returned with his family to Rush county, 
where both parents died in advanced age, the father, November 12, 
1912, and the mother, November 14, 1914. Their burial was in the 
Hurst cemetery near Homer. The father prospered in Rush county, 
acquiring 400 acres of land. John W. Logan is one of a family of 
twelve children, the other survivors being: Elizabeth J., of Hunting- 
ton county, Indiana; Harriet A., of Noble township, Rush county; 
Mary E., of Walker township, Rush county; Emma, of Milroy, Rush 
county; Alice, of Whitley county, Indiana; Clara, of Huntington 
county ; Myrto, of Rushville ; and Mattie, of Walker township, Rush 
county. In boyhood John W. Logan attended the district schools in 
Walker township for a time and then began farming for his father, 
with whom he remained until twenty-eight years old, at which time 
he bought sixty acres of land for himself, in Walker township. He 



296 HISTORY OF RUSH COUNTY 

took a great deal of interest in this property, on which he lived for 
thirty years. He not only developed it into a profitable farm enter- 
prise, but made it attractive by erecting substantial farm buildings 
and making other improvements. Although he made no feature of 
exploring for gas, he had one well on the property that he converted 
to his own use. In 1902 he sold that farm and bought 185 acres in 
Union township, which he still owns, operating it until 1917, when 
he retired from active business life and moved to Rushville. Here 
Mr. Logan bought a handsome, modern residence located at 1209 
North Perkins street. On September 18, 1879, he married Mary E. 
Hilligoss, who was born in this county, daughter of Elliott and Ros- 
anna (Sells) Hilligoss. Mr. and Mrs. Logan have five children: 
Grace, the wife of Rue Miller, a farmer in Walker township, who has 
one child, Lotus; Frank L., a farmer in Union township, who married 
Nellie MeMillian, and has three children, Russell, Wayne and Wava; 
Fred R., a farmer in Union township, who married Ruby M. Me- 
Millian, and has one child, William J., Thomas E., now operating the 
home farm in Union township, who married Clara Kirkpatrick. and 
has one child, Lucile M. ; and Sally Jane, who married Lowell C. 
Vickrey, a farmer in Union township, this county, and has one child, 
Loren L. Mr. Logan and his family are members of the Plum 
Creek Christian Church. He has always been a Democrat in his 
political views but has never aspired to public office. 

JOHN F. KRUG, a well-known farmer of Richland township, 
whose life has been characterized by industry, honesty and stead- 
fastness of purpose, is a native son of Indiana, having been born in 
Decatur county on April 9, 1882, and he is a son of John G. and 
Christina (Loons) Krug, the latter a native of Hamilton county, 
Ohio. John G. Krug was born and reared in Bremen, Germany, 
where he remained until twenty-eight years of age. He then emi- 
grated to the United States, coming at once to the Middle West and 
locating at Cincinnati, Ohio. Sometime after his marriage, which 
occurred in that city, he moved to Ripley county, Indiana, where he 
took up farming. Subsequently he moved to Decatur county, In- 
diana, where he remained until bis removal to Richland township, 
this county, whence he again returned to Decatur county, where he 
spent the remainder of his days. During practically his entire life 
he devoted himself to agricultural pursuits and was a man of indus- 
trious habits and staunch character. He and his wife became the 
parents of six children, five of whom are now living, as follows : 
Mary, Margaret, Elizabeth, John F. and Anna. John F. Krug was 
reared in the parental home in Decatur county and secured his edu- 
cation in the public schools. Upon taking up work on his own ac- 
count, he was for a time employed as a farmer by his father and 
others up to the time of his marriage. He then rented a farm of 
eighty acres and operated rented land until 1917, when he bought 
the farm on which he now resides, comprising eighty-five acres. 
He is farming 296 acres altogether and is achieving pronounced 





jHHP£#tel 




Ik 


We^ ^ tj 




f* 




^ >£*!*■ 


k\\i 


Tm v *-/ 


\i 1 


• It \r 


sUm!* 





JOHN F. KRUG AND WIFE 



HISTORY OP RUSH COUNTY 297 

success. Mr. Krug also gives some attention to live stock, feeding 
two ear loads of hogs a year. Mr. Krug was married to Myrtle 
Christian, the daughter of Wesley and Nannie (Young) Christian. 
They are members of the United Brethren church, of which Mr. 
Krug has been one of the most active workers, having served at 
one time as superintendent of the Sabbath school and is now assist- 
ant class leader and assistant Sunday school teacher. He has al- 
ways been an earnest supporter of the cause of total prohibition of 
the liquor traffic and stands staunchly for the best things in life, 
exerting his influence for everything which promises to better his 
community in any way. Mrs. Krug also was born in Decatur 
county and was there reared. Her father, Wesley Christian, was 
born in Ohio and her mother was born in Kentucky. Wesley Chris- 
tian was a substantial farmer in Decatnr county and he and his 
wife were the parents of seven children, those besides Mrs. Krug 
being Edward, Albert, Lucy, Miriam, Lena and Bina. 

VAN HOOD,